Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(343.11 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Charon's train has left the station, and you’ll never believe who’s on board.

You and your fiancée were supposed to be happy, but someone's destroyed your wedding day, and your lives together. Now her ghost beckons to you from the train of death. Can you put this vicious deed to rest – and help Charon bring justice to your love’s tragic end?

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus chapter that explores Charon's origin
  • Wallpapers, soundtracks, and concept art
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 759 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(343.11 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Collector's Edition is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 65.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game, i really enjoyed the story line of this game, the puzzels were challenging in some parts it took me a few min to work them out but it wasnt so hard that you cant figure it out without skipping, i find games with voice overs are better to play, then you dont spend the whole game trying to read instead of watching the story.
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An intertaining ride! This is based on the demo. Three modes of play: Casual, Expert and Professional. Interactive map. There is written dialog also, which you can use the space bar to speed up. Also an option for no sound, which I've noticed some people like that feature. Has 12 chapters, plus a bonus. HOS are somewhat interactive and some are different, such as placing correct items with the correct person. I found this to be a different and fun game and intend to purchase it. BF is really coming up with some good ones lately.
Date published: 2014-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Collector's Edition Now this makes a change a game about France. It makes a change to play a game based on a foreign country for a change
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS GAME IS WORTH EVERY BIT OF YOUR TIME/MONEY! This game has heart and soul of love lost and found. The escaped villians get there just due after committing terrible crimes. I am always amazed how the developers of these game produce such great graphics, its amazing. As these developers well know, when you have a great storyline along with great graphics and good music, it's always and winning combination. The mini-games were good without making you crazy. I look forward to the next game. Thanks.
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haunted Train is fantastic I really enjoyed the demo of this game and will purchase it. Liked the interaction of the hogs. The map is very helpful. To me it was a great game. The demo was over with before I knew it. Really kept me intrigued.
Date published: 2014-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun I enjoyed this game very much.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HAUNTED TRAIN , BEST GAME OF NEW YEAR !!!!! ORIGINAL STORY LINE GREAT! LOVE THE SPIRITS NEAT MINI GAMES, SCENES GREAT,I COULD GO ON AN ON! GIVE THIS ONE A WHIRL ! YOU'll LOVE IT !
Date published: 2014-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun story, Fun Game!~! The story is a bit sad but interesting. I liked the voice overs with the exception of Olivia who was a bit over the top sometimes. The storyline is very interesting and keeps you going. The puzzles are fun and some are new which is a breath of fresh air. Overall a very fun game!~!
Date published: 2014-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All aboard.....Haunted train!!! Wow this adventure has everything and more. This journey takes you to a whole other level of spine tingle mystery. I was extremely surprised to discover how long the story takes to complete. You must solve 4 murders and save Olivia, then the bonus round takes you further without straying from the story. It continues.... This is a marvelous quest that will leave you wanting more! I would rate this above 5 stars. I highly recommend!!!
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Collector's Edition If you wanna be spooked than this is the game for you..it's down right fantastically scary loved it. Great storyline with terrific graphics and well matched eerie music. There's plenty of puzzles to do so they'll definitely keep you busy. Highly recommend. Thanks Big Fish
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my kind of game Two things about this game that will make me buy it; 1st: it is a fun and adventurous game and 2nd: It has a train in it and I'm a train nut!! This is one of those games that really caught my eye. The story line is nice and progressing through the story is challenging, fun and not boring. It has it's share of HO's but they are not every two steps and they actually help you progress to the finale. Graphics are good and colorful and well drawn and the characters are interesting and not overly comical. Their voices actually match the person. True, it does jump back and forth but it is done tastefully and done to logically progress and not just to find something to open something else. I'm also going to try the SE version to see which I should buy. Definitely recommend this game to all you fun lovers out there.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Collector's Edition Another great hidden object series to play
Date published: 2015-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Variety Nice variety of games and puzzles, has map which is a plus for me. I enjoyed this game, not a lot of dark sinister objects. Easy to follow and understand
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Deadly fun First off, let me just address my main complaint--those horrific accents. Since when does a woman named Medici have a Southern drawl that Scarlet O'Hara would envy? The white-haired boy never had the accent of the place where he was. And I kept waiting for Charon to say "Arrr, matey!" at any moment. Some may not mind, but I found it jarring and distracting. Now, on to the good stuff. Good storyline, great graphics, very clear HOGs (I've played some that you need a magnifier for), good musical background, and the action moved along at a satisfying pace. I did hit a glitch in the bonus game waaaay at the end, but it was minor--just a repetition of the dialog and a sudden change of scene when I accidentally hit a key on the keyboard, so it may have just been me. The gameplay wasn't always intuitive, but at least the hint button actually was useful in providing direction, so much so that I didn't have to consult the Strategy Guide very often. All in all, I would be most interested in and willing buy a sequel if it was up to the standard of this game. But, please, get the accents right next time.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from CE Extras and bonus game not required I thoroughly enjoyed this game and purchased the CE on sale. After finishing the bonus game, I would say that you can wait for the SE - unless like me you were so drawn into the story and gameplay that it was worth buying for early game play. The main story is a decent length 5 hours or so and story resolves satisfactorily that extended story isn't required. There aren't any achievements, collectibles or morphing objects. The story, scenes, music, voice overs are really well done.
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Liked It! It has been a while since we have had a creepy tale involving murder, vengeance and retribution. Our story begins with a wedding and unfortunately ends with death as Daniel’s bride is snatched from his embrace and taken away by a shadowy figure. In order to retrieve her from the train of death, Daniel finds himself enslaved to the biddings of Charon, a sort of grim reaper, who strikes up a deal: in return for his bride as well as bestowing peace to several restless souls onboard, he must locate and bring to the train their murderers where they will end up paying the piper. Our adventure begins as we take to the streets of several European cities, first starting with Paris. A very well constructed and entertaining story turned into a simple HOPA game that unfortunately is brought to us as a CE, not entirely well-deserved. However taking into consideration that there is a sale on today, I am tempted to purchase it in order to see where the story takes us. The graphics are mediocre at best, a bit dark and blurred in some scenes. I have to applaud developers for sound effects, voice-overs and music which were well done. Main menu offers you three modes of difficulty and your tools include a journal of sorts, a mystical pair of glasses that detect paranormal, a map that will indicate areas of interest as well as transport you and a hint system that merely points the way. I enjoyed the adventure as you begin to examine scenes and pick up objects necessary. There is a lot of backtracking but thankfully you have the map for this. Hidden object scenes are frequent and standard lists of items with slight interaction. Some objects are very obscured or hidden away on the top far of the scene making it difficult to spot them. Mini-games were old and very simple to solve. Then entire game is mostly running from one spot to another and the real challenge is trying to remember where to use your inventory. Haunted Train, Spirits of Charon would have been an excellent game had the developers added a bit more challenge as well as some extras. There are no collectables, no achievements, and no real challenge. It is a straight forward HOPA with an engaging story which I found engaging and will prompt me to buy. I liked it and will give it four stars only because of the story. I finished the demo well within the hour without having to use a hint or refer to the SG. The game looks to be long but pretty straightforward. I have managed to put Bluebeard on board and am definitely interested to see what other culprits there are out there. I liked it!
Date published: 2014-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unique storyline, good gameplay...NOT worthy of CE status Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Developed by Deep Shadows Collector's Edition Review based on demo (casual mode) IN THE BEGINNING... You play as Daniel. Your new bride Olivia was cruelly murdered on your wedding day by Count Orlok. You were knocked unconscious and awoke with a train ticket in hand…a ticket entitling you to ride the Hades-bound train belonging to Charon, the infernal ferryman. Charon makes you a deal: lure Count Orlok and his nefarious crew of evildoers onto the train so they can be transported to the afterlife where they belong, and he will return Olivia to you. You will also free the souls of several others who have been trapped on the train, those who were victims of Orlok and his minions. PLAY THE GAME... Standard adventure interspersed with interactive HO scenes, puzzles, and mini-games. The HO interactions range from simple (open or move something to reveal the object) to multi-step. The puzzles and mini-games are about 75-25% unique to familiar, and present a nice range of difficulty. SIGHTSEEING… The graphics are much clearer than they appear in the screenshots, with objects being clearly recognizable and backgrounds artistically rendered using lush colors and lots of dimension. The animation is smooth and well-done with objects represented more realistically than characters (as is the norm). SOUND WAVES… The music is extremely well done, managing to remain ambient yet accent drama in the game. Game sounds are quite dramatic. There's an epic flourish every time you find an item. Ambient sounds are appropriate. Voiceovers are extremely well done, although some of the accents are questionable. The conductor sounds rather like Inspector Clouseau, and Charon's voice reminded me of a bad Irish brogue. TOOLBOX… I didn't use the map, but I understand it is a jump map. Your journal is in the form of postcards and, when it stores clues, it jumps to the correct page when you reach the puzzle where you need the clue…quite nice. Inventory is lockable. Black bar hints are annoyingly direct, pretty much telling you exactly what you need to do. I don't recommend playing in casual mode, even if you are a rank beginner. Lastly, you have a magical monocle with which you can detect supernatural activity and items. (It glows when you may use it.) EXTRA, EXTRA… And now we come to the conundrum. There's nothing to justify this game as a CE: no achievements, collectibles, morphing objects, etc. You get a bonus adventure, the SG, and the usual offerings (which are not "special" in any way, being as the developer has them on hand as a by-product of developing the game). THE LAST WORD… Unique storyline. Interactive HO scenes. Mostly unique puzzles and mini-games. Captivating gameplay. Likable characters. Beautiful graphics and animation. Excellent music and voiceovers. However, I can't recommend this game, because it is not worthy of CE status, in my opinion. I most definitely will recommend the SE when it comes out.
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NOT TOO BAD..ARTWORK WELL DONE I thoroughly enjoyed this game and purchased the CE on sale. After finishing the bonus game, I would say that you can wait for the SE - unless like me you were so drawn into the story and game play that it was worth buying for early game play. The main story is a decent length 5 hours or so and story resolves satisfactorily that extended story isn't required. There aren't any achievements, collectibles or morphing objects. The story, scenes, music, voice overs are really well done.
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to get hooked! In a word 'liked it'. At the start it felt like just another HOD, but by the time the Bluebeard was chained, I was very hooked indeed. I the HO scenarios were interesting without being too tough, graphics good though I wont go as far as saying 'great' You have seen graphics like this before. The story was intriguing and was the reason that kept me playing, and visiting different places in search of a character was definitely an addition. In the negative, it was not that spooky or touching.
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Let's get them off that train! Based on demo trial. I sort of would like to offer an extra half star, because this is a lovely game visually. Graphics and cut scenes are helpful but not overwhelming. Was a bit reluctant even starting this game because of the overall blackness of the subject; a train holding folks on the way to hades. However, it's easy enough to follow and you want to destroy the evil and release the captives. I don't generally offer much info as I don't want to risk preconceived conclusions on the merit of the game. I will say I must add this to my collection.
Date published: 2014-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from overall okay and interesting but not the CE for me as I played the demo I found myself a bit confused at first but as I finished the demo figured out what was going on and got into the game. there is a great hint button, a map but the map didn't do much since it really doesn't tell you where there is something to do but I do want to finish this one and save everyone, I just need to wait for the se because I don't use or care about extras anyway and the CE just seems pointless for me. I do recommend this game and will buy the regular version when it comes out.
Date published: 2014-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very spirited game This is a lovely game. Cut scenes made me feel like I was part of a movie. Everything was pulled off nicely. HO's were all very well done. The characters were entertaining. There is a map that you can jump with. Really can not think of anything to dislike. Another must buy list game.
Date published: 2014-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game this is an excellent game I purchased after I finished the demo the only thing I found wrong with this game is that it has some bugs as in keeps stopping but you just restart game it did it twice for me through the game other than that I would recommend this game it was really enjoyable to play
Date published: 2014-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Haunted Train etc./ Hidden object Did the pre-release 1/2 hour. Story line a bit complex. Visuals and sound - OK. Jump map functioned well. Don't think this qualifies for CE status.
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the game itself, however, not as a CE This is a nice creepy game... the kind I like. You are set to be married and someone kills your bride. Now to set her free from the train of Charon, you must find her attackers. The graphics and color are just delightful. The music is unobtrustive, I did not notice it. There are nice HOS, some interactive, some where you put things back into a scene. The puzzles are cute and original. The game itself is very very linear. Not much challenge here. You get a journal and a map. Also, you get a pair of "supernatural detector" glasses? I think the developer did a wonderful job with this story. This by no means however is a CE. Yes there is a strategy guide and a bonus chapter. That is it. No achievements, no extras of any sort. Unless a game has a wonderful bonus game, I tend to lean toward the SE as I am not a fan of wallpaper, etc. This is a game I will look at again when it arrives as an SE. I hate to take away from the game itself by giving it a lower rating because the game was good. Just needed more oomph to be a CE and really needed more challenge.
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Old game ! The tech in this game is too old, it seems ancient. The story line is not that exiting...It really is dated
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ghost rides A good game for people who love ghost games
Date published: 2014-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A FUN GAME! I remember when I first demoed this way back when, I hated it BUT I decided to give it another chance and Im sooo glad I did! This is a 5 star game in my opinion but because there is nothing exciting about the CE and because the bonus chapter is not needed and really is just a bunch of hidden object scenes & going to all the same places, I give this game 4 stars. Had I bought this as a standard edition however, I would have 5 starred it. I have to admit that the beginning is a little corny but once you are aboard the train and go into the different places to release souls, the game gets better and becomes kind of spooky. I loved going to all the sinister people's houses and luring them back to the train where Charon takes their souls. Each story line was unique and touched on stories I already knew but gave them each a fresh breath of air! The hidden object scenes are interactive but the game does not highlight which objects are interactive so its a guessing game which I found a lot more fun than being told which ones to use by it being bolded or something. There were a nice variety of puzzles, most were easy but a few were a brain tease and I enjoy harder puzzles so they were all doable in my book. You visit each hidden object scene twice. There are different modes of play, 4 I believe (sorry if Im mistaken about this). The CE is really not worth the extra money. There are no collectibles or achievements. You get the cutscenes, music soundtrack and concept art. The game completely ends in the main game so the bonus chapter was not needed nor did it have any real story behind it. And the bonus chapter was VERY short. I played for about 5+ hours and once I got through the cheesy opening scenes and really gave this game a chance did I enjoy it! It is definitely worth a trial if not a buy. I am happy I chose to give it another shot!
Date published: 2015-08-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed Feelings This review follows my playing the full collectors edition game. I enjoyed the main game. The storyline was creative and a little different from other games I've played. It wasn't super deep, but fun. The game play was fine, not great, not bad, just fine. The voice overs were okay. In general, a fine game, There were a few glitches. I probably wouldn't pay full price for it, but if it's discounted, or you have a coupon, go for it. My complaints were around the bonus game. The plot was sad, there were several glitches, and puzzles were frustrating. It's like they just threw something together at the end to make a bonus game. Definitely wouldn't recommend the collector's edition.
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Haunted Train Has Some Issues - Review Of Completed Game STORY: You take on the role of Daniel. It is your wedding day and your bride Olivia has been killed and you've been knocked unconscious. When you come to you have a train ticket in your hand and you just manage to catch the train before it leaves. Once you are on board "the ghost" of your bride Olivia explains what you must do Charon, the train master who takes souls over the Styx would be more than glad to let your bride go but first he sends you on a quest to find four villains who have died but refuse board the train to the afterlife. If you manage to capture all four, your bride will be given back to you. The setting of this game appears to be early 1900's and starts off in Paris but you'll visit several different European cities throughout the game. 12 Chapters plus bonus chapter 3 PLAY MODES: All have sparkles and black bar tips. Only the hardest mode has the hint/skip disabled. I played the middle of the road mode. Hint is directional outside of HOS. Hint/skip didn't seem to take too long. JOURNAL: Is the "floppy" cards down at the bottom which holds notes and some used for puzzles. MAP: This is transporter and shows where there are things to do. MONOCLE Shortly into the game you get one of these that helps you "see" ghostly people and areas. GAME PLAY: Lite adventure. Emphasis on HOS and puzzles. HOS: All found by interactive word list and the same scenes are visited twice. Some scenes for me I thought were well done and graphics clear along with some cleverly hidden, some not so clear and grainy, and some downright "Sanford & Son junkyard. I did have to use a few hints here. PUZZLES: Not a fan. Less the better. Some of them while I found them to be easy they were different from what I've seen in other games and some the usual run of the mill that varied in challenge for me. I did skip a few of these. ENDING: Main game came to conclusion for me. The bonus chapter does start off where the main game ended as far as location and Charon sends you on one "last" quest and all areas but a couple are from the main game. The ending of this which also came to a satisfactory conclusion for me however seems to hint a sequel. Whether or not there will be one well time will tell but that was my impression. MY PLAY TIME: Main game 5 hours. Bonus Chapter 1 hour. CE EXTRAS: Bonus Chapter, Strategy Guide, 8 wallpapers, 6 music and 9 concept art I honestly wanted to rate this higher but this had some issues for me. I'm gonna start off with the positive for me though The graphics/art work is right up my alley. I had no problem with the graphics except for a few of the HOS I thought could of been more sharp and clear. Also era appropriate. The story held my interest and I liked the characters. Voice overs a well done along with sound effects. I also enjoyed using the monocle throughout the game. This was also long enough for me as I don't need for games to go on for many hours. As for collectibles, achievements, morphs, meh, I no longer need this extra "fluff" in my game. Now for the issues: First off after the demo I got 3 access violation errors. I didn't have to start the game over but it was an annoying disruption of my play time so I deducted one star just for that. My other star deduction is I don't understand why this developer has 3 play modes if they are going to sparkle/black bar tip all of them and just disable hint/skip on hardest mode. Just do a custom mode and let us choose what we want. Since I absolutely LOATHE this. ENOUGH with the cutesy animals especially when they don't fit with a game that is suppose to be creepy. I shouldn't have to give a dog a bone and cat some milk. Are you kidding me??? Thank goodness this was VERY BRIEF. Yet another game if I would of had to name them dress them up, well this would of been getting the stop madness, cut off and pull the plug rating. My last issue since this is a CE I thought the bonus chapter should of been all new locations and NOT just about all from main game. As for my "recommending" this game. If you are one that the extra fluff is important then well no I don't. While this stuff is no longer important to me well I didn't and wouldn't pay $13.99 I would definitely get this on sale like I did in my opinion. As always, give it a whirl and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2014-01-12
  • y_2021, m_10, d_24, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_65
  • loc_en_US, sid_20289, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Collector's Edition

Charon's train has left the station, and you’ll never believe who’s on board!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.