European Mystery: The Face of Envy Collector's Edition
Exclusive

European Mystery: The Face of Envy Collector's Edition

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(383.87 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

A series of robberies takes a deadly turn in European Mystery: The Face of Envy! You’ve been called out of retirement again by an old friend in Italy. Something very unusual is happening on the streets of Rome... Nobles are being robbed of their jewels in broad daylight and falling dangerously ill afterward. As you begin to investigate, you realize that the case is even stranger than you first thought - the villain takes on the physical traits of his victims right before your eyes! But who is he? And what is his mysterious plan? To find out, you’ll have to explore the sights of Rome and solve challenging puzzles in this thrilling Hidden Object adventure!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus mystery that takes you to the city of Dresden!
  • Wallpapers, concept art, and videos
  • Wonderful music tracks from the game
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1223 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

European Mystery: The Face of Envy Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(383.87 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
European Mystery: The Face of Envy Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun hidden object game! I like the part where you take gemstones and create tools that you need in the game! A very relaxing game! I give it 5 stars!
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A nice sequel Even though there isn't much to do and there are too many cutscenes, I love the cohesive structure and the storyline of European Mystery and I like this one. Maybe the previous was better.
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An other great game Loved it. Played the demo bought the game. The only thing it is a little slow between the scenes, other than that it is worth it. Nice graphics, good story line.
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! This is a fine sequel to the first European Mystery, which I loved also very much. My only complaint is the achievements, I like those, but I got one for not skipping a minigame, which I just skipped ...duh! So that's a bit silly, but overall such a wonderfull game.. nice graphics and a nice change in HOS... which is welcome nowadays for me at least And with the sale today, no doubt, it's a buy!!
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving the European Mystery Series! I enjoyed Scent of Desire, but Face of Envy has sealed it for me. I officially love this series, and I can't wait for the next one!
Date published: 2014-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loads of fun Great game well worth the CE version. Will play again. Good Luck Fishes!
Date published: 2014-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!!! ANOTHER EUROPEAN MYSTERY LOVED THE FIRST SCENT OF DESIRE. GRAPICS ARE GREAT AND CLEAN. HOS ARE NOT A STRAIN ON THE EYES. MIMI GAMES THAT I PLAYED IN DEMO WERE FUN AND NOT FRUSTRATING. ONLY PLAYED THE DEMO FOR 10 MINUTES AND I KNEW I JUST HAD TO ADD THIS ONE TO MY COLLECTION. THESE DEVS DID IT AGAIN WITH ANOTHER GREAT GAME. CLEAR GRAPICS.....GREAT SOUND....GOOD STORYLINE. NOT SURE WHAT COLLECTABLES ARE AVAILABLE BECAUSE I DID NOT PLAY THE DEMO LONG ENOUGH TO FIND OUT. (HAD TO BUY 2 FOR 1 SELL) THIS BUY EARNED ME ANOTHER FREE GAME COUPON. TRUST ME TRY THIS GAME AND SEE WHAT YOU THINK. CANT HURT.
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE FACE OF GAMES TO COME! GREAT GAME ! EASY, FUN, AND SUSPENSEFUL! COULD GO ON , BUT NO TIME TO , BACK TO THE GAME
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Game Yes, it might not be the most challenging game, but i do love these kind of games. The graphics are gorgeous, the story is interesting and keeps you going, the inventory, where you can create new items is nice... I would recommend this game strongly to everybody, who wants to have some pleasant moments in another country. They are doing really well, these developers, i just love this serie's!!!
Date published: 2014-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SUPER WINNER WINNER BIG FISH DINNER Oh my goodness, I'll go broke for sure! Awesome game! Thanks BFG!
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A nice game!!! I enjoyed from the very start. Not much to complain about. Worth taking a look gamers.
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loads of FUN ! Loved the graphics and storyline... Glad I purchased it !!
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game! I really enjoyed playing this game. It was long and the graphics were good.
Date published: 2014-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked it! A good fast paced game with interesting puzzles. The storyline was also a little different. Why wasn't it 5 stars...I am not sure, it just didn't overwhelm me I guess. Well worth playing tho...enjoy!
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice game... Finally got to demo this one...yesterday was my birthday and I had a house full of family. Gee, I don't know why, but they'd rather I spend time with them than play my games...silly people. Anyway, I have the first in this series and really liked it. I was glad to see another one. This game has very nice graphics, bright colors, clean and clear. Game play was very good, no problems with anything so far. There are voice overs, which are well done, but I wish there were a few more. I'm lazy, so the need to click on the "x" after a conversation was annoying, but not a deal breaker. Not a lot in the way of sound FX, but what we had was also well done. The inventory bar does lock. When I couldn't find a "lock," I just clicked on the lion in the center...clever. There is a jump map, which is very helpful, as you return to the same areas multiple times. It did seem a little cluttered to me and the identification icons were a little small for my old eyes. SG was exceptionally short, but was helpful when needed, with clear instructions. Hint system was also quite helpful and showed you exactly where or what you needed to do, and filled quickly. There are a lot of collectibles, which are not all as easy to spot as you may think, and a lot of achievements. I loved the HOPs, even though constant interactive gets real old after a while. They were well done and items were not difficult to find or figure out. Puzzles were nice, very much the same and not difficult either. This game is not extremely challenging, but I found it quite fun. The story and game play flowed well and kept me interested, and made me want more. Yep, gotta have it for my every growing collection of CE games. I think all levels of players will find this one enjoyable. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good one to add to colloection I have given it 4 stars for a number of reasons, would have given 5 as I know I will enjoy it (this is on the 1 hour only) but one thing I hate in games is where the prompt line keeps repeating "not my finest hour" I'm afraid that didn't work", you don't say if you can't be constructive, say nothing! It gives no indication what so ever of what would work. I don't need my hand held and try not to use hint but there are times I'm not capable of being a mind reader! The voice overs are good but not in sync so you find yourself looking at the words to avoid the silly look on the faces and lips, if you know what I mean. Because I decided I would write a review #my first ever# I did not get as far as I would have liked #plus I am a bit slow anyway# it's alright for you young ones. The story line is interesting albeit a little familiar, the level of challenge is probably a bit too easy for those hard core gamers but then I like to be able to understand the instructions and sometimes just don't get it and I hate running around trying to get the message or having to go Ax3 Cx5 etc. I lose patience! I found the quality really good, the hogs were clear if sometimes a little misleading, a pair of scissors were really long nosed cutters/pliers and a file looked more like a letter opener until going into inventory. The crystal box helps you to make things #interesting# so you can go forward in the game, there are 25 masks to find. There are achievements, I'm not one for those as I'm normally concentrating on my next move and they just annoy me. I needed the tutorial for the first 5 minutes as I did not realise the reason for the box, I cancelled it after that. I do hope I've given nothing away as I have no idea if any of the things I've written are spoilers. I will buy the CE and especially as it's 2 for 1 it's a bargain and will give me some hours of fun!
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Face of Envy Has Familiar Scent In this game, you play a retired detective called in to investigate a series of attacks and robberies against wealthy people in a European town. It was because of your success in the last case, Scent of Desire, that you are being consulted again. The villain here seems to have some supernatual power which enables him to alter his appearance using the stolen jewelry. The time and place are not stated; however it seems to be set in the 18th century. The drawing styple is semi-realistic, and it is well rendered, but not especially distinctive. That is a nice way of saying that it looks like a lot of other games. The hidden object scenes are mostly straightforward. However, during the trial period there is one scene where each object in the list requires an additional action to collect. There are many short mini games which serve as locks. These are designed well to fit into each scene, which is nice, but stripping that away they are mostly the standard types. What is not standard is your kit with which you can use a charged crystal and other materials (i.e. gold and silver) to create special jewelery objects. You must be aware of what you need and use items from your inventory to add to the kit. This is a good idea as it increases the experience of participation and immersion n the story. There the usual achievements for skillful play. There are also 35 masks to collect. The masks seem to be fairly well hidden, or at least they don't jump right out at you. This is a solid game with a few twists and is a good follow up to the first in the series, but it's not going to make other developers green with Envy.
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Bit Short of the Mark Well...as much as I think this game is good, I also think it overdid itself with trying to be better than most and perhaps falling short for some of us? That being said I did enjoy all the usual, graphics, storyline, characterizations, interacting HOS, cute little critters to help us along the way etc. etc., this game really does have a lot, but to me it had some initial complications that took me some time to sort out. As I am only an intermediate player I found the whole area surrounding the use of the gem box and what to do with the gems frustrating. Once I got the gist it was okay, but I spent too much time in the trial trying to understand the expectations. I had so many back and forths before I finally had to go into the strategy guide to figure it out. And...that was only near the beginning. So, unfortunately my trial was cut short and I feel somewhat reluctant to give a true review. I am intrigued by this game and want to move forward but am a bit hesitant. In all fairness, the only way to give a game its true merit is to play it in its entirety, but we can't all do that unless we buy all games so we do the best we can with trials. There is no doubt that the developers have reached above on this one to give us the extra oomph, and that is good, we all need that to keep up our interest but for me I found enough challenge at the casual level. Hey, maybe it's just me that's missing the mark, but I wanted to throw it out there for anyone else who may have similar thoughts.
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review of Completed Game Storyline reasonable, great flow with cutscenes strategically placed. HOS varied and most items on the list are interactive. Only one visit to each HO Scene, and there are not too many of them. some puzzles easy, others more difficult. PROS: Custom difficulty, which everybody should offer these days. Hate overclick penalties with a passion. I found it more fun to play without blackbar tips, without the sparkles (always), but still keep a reasonable recharging time for the hint and skip options. There is a transportable map which is necessary because the play is not always linear and there is backtracking: locking inventory; masks to find; decent graphics, music and voiceovers. Nice game length. CONS: wonder when devs will shake it up a little and rely less on list HOS, although I was not particularly annoyed with them here. Actually, they did succeed better than most, because some inventory items needed had to be created in a jewel box. That was refreshing. So I really don't have too much to complain about here. I enjoyed it....you should at least try the demo and see for yourself.
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Scary Guy! This guy with the blue flaming eyes is a bit scary! Graphics and cutscenes are great and overall very good gameplay. Nice variety of HOS as well and mini games are fun to play. Always like to collect something and in this case it was masks. Lots of achievements to earn which are always a plus for me. Glad I did the tutorial to understand the crystals to be charged and what to do with the jewelry box in creating things. Even though this game isn't outstanding, I definitely recommend playing.
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Excellent Game!! oh BLAM games! how I love thee. Not only are their games extremely well made with absolutely stunning graphics to boot but everything is so colorful! And the voice overs are fantastic! Puzzles are always tweaked to be somewhat original & I love their interactive hidden object scenes. This series is fantastic as I loved the first one just as much. I would have given 5 stars if I had bought the standard edition because the game itself is a 5 star game. Great story line and although done before, had no idea what it was really about til it was almost over so it was told quite well. It had a gimmick thing that you make jewels with only fitting since the game is all about jewels. You also collected light beams with it. I didn't really get why you did that but it made the game more interesting. Only thing I didn't care for was the helper and you have to name him! But he's an ermine & you get an achievement for using him 5 times and whole game you only use him 6 times so he really wasn't a bother. I really don't like helpers but since they were a fad for awhile I get why he was here. Like the game so much anyways that I don't care he was there. Only reason for 4 stars over 5 is the bonus chapter kind of bored me. It was a bonus, did not add anything else to the story and was a separate case involving gems. The main game ends with a real ending and closes all loose ties. The achievements are the usual fare & you have 25? I think Masks to find throughout the game & bonus chapter. I personally did not need all the fluff because the game was so good. I stopped looking for the masks even though they were pretty easy to spot. I liked the game so much I didn't even care about extras. Thats how you know you got a great game. What I also love about this game is the music! It was done so well and fitting for where they are and what you are doing. I can't wait for the next installment in this series which has just come out! A lovely game. I recommend the CE if you love all the extra fluff but its not needed with a game this fun so if you can live without finding things & a bonus chapter, the standard edition would be the way to go. Kudos devs! Always a pleasure playing your games!
Date published: 2015-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Let's visit Rome! The second game in the European Mystery series by Blam Games -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Their first game was so great that when this one came out I was pretty excited, but still I have to try the demo first. This time the game is set in Rome. There are 4 levels of difficulties. Bonus content is pretty much the usual stuff except the Mask Room. The graphic is crisp, nice VO. Map is pretty useful. HOGs are diverse, puzzles are moderate. There's problem with the achievements, as I skipped and used hint button sometimes but still I receive achievements for solving puzzles without hint or something. There's something definitely not right here with the achievement, and I think I can easily collect all of them. The only problem I had with this game is the very slow loading especially when there's cutscenes. It takes around 5-10 seconds each. The game dev. is quite stingy in giving the demo, only 1 chapter is available for demo and the SG doesn't show anything but Chapter 1. I think I will buy this game, pretty nice, shows Rome and its famous landmarks, quite engaging story.
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glitchy is the Face of Envy Wow thought I was in a old 70 Japanese film. The mouths are all over the place and out of sink with the voice overs. The other glitch in this glitchy game is I used the hint button during a HO and got an award for finishing the HO without using one hint. Huh? That aside the game was very well ran in story and very beautifully drawn. Plenty to do and the HO's had lots of interaction. Fairly easy game but was very fun. I would buy it even with its Glitchy face speakers. The game over did it on the awards and under did the collectable. Love love love the box I make things in and the critter companion to help me solve some issues. The map will jump you to wanted locations and was beautifully drawn.
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Demo was decent My impressions based solely on the demo. (of which I completed with 23 minutes to spare.) The Story-line is fine from a just the bit I got from the demo. It doesn't lay everything out in one fell swoop, which is fine because the appeal of this type of game hinges on a bit of mystery. And it does pique my curiosity. I do like the visuals, they are appealing to the eyes, not overly garish. Sound is nice as well, the voice work is decent, though it doesn't sync as well as it could with the mouths of talking characters. I generally skip the mini-games in demos, because they are usually the standard fare but they did look like they could present a proper challenge for some players. Not sure I would get the CE just based off the demo, maybe the SE. I am curious to see what is going to happen, so I may buy it. So try the demo.
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from formatted While the mechanics and the visuals in this game were great, I just couldn't shake the sense that I had played this game several times before. I seemed so similar to the dark canvas and dana knightstone games that I had to think they had made some location changes and a few character changes but used essentially the same theme and format. I also noted a few oddities. You were in the bakery when someone threw what appeared to be a molitov cocktail through the window but the next second everything was normal? What? And the sound had this effect that happened over and over of a coin dropping? Now I do play with headphones but still. The other thing was in the bonus chapter. During the game you are a detective, of course. who is chasing a jeweler that is trying to change his appearance to look like a noble who is the husband of the woman he is infatuated with. However in the bonus chapter you are the detective but you look just like the criminal? So are you the noble or the detective? Anyway if you haven't played all those other games, this one is quite well done.. beautiful with lots of locations. Be warned that they do the it's locked.. it's missing thing to death but a lot of games do that. I liked the achievements and the one collectible masks (only 25) but for me this one had trouble holding my interest as it seemed to be a repeat of so many others before it. Nothing new, nothing out of the box so to speak. A good sort of standard CE that seemed very similar to those that came before it. If you're new to this type of game this is a beautiful, well executed one. If you've played all the others you may get a serious case of de jua vue.. I have no idea how to spell that but you get the point.
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Be careful where you touch I played about 10 minutes of the demo using the 'custom' skill level before buying the game. I totally agree with one reviewer who was completely annoyed with the nonresponsive remarks whenever you click on something because you are investigating it or trying to solve it with the wrong item -- they made no sense whatsoever! For example, I clicked on a cord, with just the cursor, to see if it was something I needed to deal with, and got something like "A good tool, but not useful here". That was in the main game...the bonus round actually has appropriate remarks to what you are attempting. I also agree with another reviewer who complained about how touchy the game is when it comes to where your cursor is when interacting with objects. I tried about 20 different times - in 3 re-visits to one area - to have my companion ermine retrieve something of a good size, and no matter where I placed him on or near the object, I got one of those frustrating responses and he was sent back empty-pawed. I FINALLY clicked him just right and he was successful. That is one of many, many instances of this in the main game. What REALLY frosted my cookies was, after I completed the main game, I accidentally clicked 'Play' in the main game section and it restarted the game without a courtesy message that I'd already completed it and should create a new user...and it wiped out my collected masks!! Maybe they designed it that way, but it seems like a bad choice if they did. So, starting the bonus round I am back to mask #1, yet all my other achievements remain intact. I am VERY disappointed! Beyond that, the game played in a logical manner without constantly having to wonder what the heck the next step should be. I enjoyed the HOS and the puzzles/minigames. I am not one for storylines, conversations, or caring if the costumes and locations are correct for whatever the time period is, so can't comment on those. I love the custom difficulty level and voice mute options. I enjoyed the scenery, ambiance and the music. The interactive map worked well, especially with all the places that had to be revisited, and the hint button was a useful one. I am only about 15 minutes into the bonus round and wish the main game had been more like it during my explorations, but am glad I played it.
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from And it started off so impressively ....but after awhile... The quality and uniqueness of the graphics in the demo convinced me to purchase this game. And it's still pretty to look at but the game design doesn't work for me: e.g., enter a room and the game says "What can I use here?"...click on the table "What can I use here?"...click on a spot where I should send my animal friend and the cursor doesn't change, nothing glows in the task bar just, you guessed it, a message at the top that says "What can I use here?" Really glad I bought this one on sale so I don't feel so bad about uninstalling it.
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring I loved the first one but this second is boring and ugly.
Date published: 2015-04-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Please Advise You are a formerly retired detective apparently called out - again - to help a friend. People are being robbed. There is a sketch of a suspect. After you arrive, there is a murder. You start investigating, much like all the recent games. there are achievements to collect, all of which the game awarded me in an annoying and continuous stream, even though I had not earned most of them. There are HOS and minigames, much like all the recent games. There are the usual moments when you ask yourself, "What were they thinking?" Like the murderer so anxious to escape, he dives out a window and then you find him strolling casually down the street, repeatedly, till he gets annoyed that you are following him. Or like the local authority who called you in, locks every gate behind himself, but leaves you to make your own keys, or better yet, file, break, or jimmy the locks open. Lucky you. The only twist is the jeweler's invention you appropriate from beside his lifeless body. It creates items from blueprints, charged crystals, and assorted items you collect as needed. There is lovely artwork, an interactive map, diary, and the usual CE perks. But they are just not enough. I like a good story. There is none. I like some character development. There is none. I like a reason to finish the game. There is none. It has potential that was not carried out. Please be sure to try before you buy. And then tell me how to rate a game I just don't care about?
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Interactive Cartoon--Nothing More-- It appears that most games have evolved as interactive cartoons rather than games which challenge us while being interesting and/or suspenseful. Not so on any level with this game and I have the preceding EM game but did not make this purchase. I cannot understand how a game this boring gets high marks. Is every single game worthy of high marks? No, however, seems like the same reviews are for every game and it seems that every game is awesome. Reviews are becoming as cookie cutter as the games. On the other hand, I apologize to Developers who went through all that work only to produce a game of such immeasurable boredom that it's insulting to true gamers. However, if games get glowing review marks, then Devs may truly believe their game is a good one and continue to produce poorer and poorer quality games--these razzle dazzle cartoons-- and we have plenty of those rolling in our way! Thank you to Grannie_Gruff for an honest review. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2014-02-18
  • y_2020, m_8, d_10, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_20520, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

European Mystery: The Face of Envy Collector's Edition

A series of robberies takes a deadly and supernatural turn!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.