Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon
Exclusive

Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(316.48 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Charon's train has left the station, and you’ll never believe who’s on board.

You and your fiancée were supposed to be happy, but someone's destroyed your wedding day, and your lives together. Now her ghost beckons to you from the train of death. Can you put this vicious deed to rest – and help Charon bring justice to your love's tragic end?

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 684 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(316.48 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game. I liked the story line and the mini stories within the game.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not too Bad of a Game This is posted after completing the entire game. I rather enjoyed this game. There were parts that didn't seem to make sense to me, but all in all, I'm glad I bought it. It is full of dark horror, murder and revenge, but that's what the game is about. I did get bored a few times, but then something would catch my attention and off we would go again. The graphics were good, and the voice overs and cut scenes were well done. The various voices depending on where you were in Europe were funny. I know they were to be serious and they did go along with the game, but I got a tickle each time they spoke. Level of challenge is rather difficult to determine. The hidden object scenes were at times rather difficult to complete and I was forced to use the hint button more than I would like. Where I had my most sever challenge was the mini games. Half of the time, or more, I could not determine what I was suppose to do and would end up skipping them. The instructions were the challenge. I will play this again sometime and I'm sure I will understand them better, but for this I just did not understand. There are mini games I haven't seen before and some odd items in the hidden objects. Kept me on my toes. There is a wonderful hint button which recharges quickly and an interactive map which is just marvelous. There are times when the story just doesn't let you know what you are suppose to be doing or where, but the map will save you most of the time. There is also a journal uniquely written as postcards. Going back to them helped quite a bit and made the journey much easier. Keep an eye on the lens which will be given to you at the beginning. It will show you the dark sides of the scene and give you and idea of what is to come. The story is pretty much explained in the details of the game, but I have to admit I did get lost in the story line. It begins in a rather confusing manner, but alas at the end it all comes together. It appeared to me that perhaps the designers ran out of some things to do and started making up the story as they went along. It was a decent story with new characters I haven't seen. I am not sorry I bought it and look forward to playing it again in the future.
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Huh? I Guess I Got It Wrong! BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS If you haven’t read my review of the CE for this game, please don’t. I don’t know where my head was that day, but clearly it wasn’t on the job! While the facts are correct, some of my responses to the game seem way off, having completed the game! *shame-faced teary-eyed * So. This game starts out with a wedding, but the honeymoon’s not all it could be. The bride is murdered at the altar, and we, the groom, are left unconscious. The graphics are fine, nothing brilliant, but quality. As are all aspects of this game. Except a couple of niggling bits. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The graphics are good, but not great, although the artwork is appealing and has that eerie magical ‘ectoplasmic’ green that works so well for anything supernatural. The HOPs are bright and colourful without seeming out of place. One thing I liked, we find a newspaper with a relevant story on the front page. The photo comes “alive” and the narrator tells us some back history, all with the newspaper still encasing the ‘photo’. I thought it was nifty. The narrator/main character’s voice is used wonderfully. Some of the other voices are not so good, but none are bad. The music has a lot of crashing piano chords and other exciting stuff, orchestral for the most part – always at one extreme or the other. Sometimes, it is beautifully ethereal. WHAT’S HAPPENING? Your bride is killed on your wedding day, you are knocked unconscious, and wake with a train ticket in your hand. You just manage to catch it before it leaves the station. On board, the ghost of your bride begins the explanation of what has happened and what you must do. The train belongs to Charon – the ferryman who takes souls over the Styx. Caught up in a battle between Charon and a gang of evil doers, your wife and the others aboard cannot pass over until these men are lured to the train and disposed of . That’s where you come in. The game is broken up into the capture of 4 of these villains and thereby rescuing your wife. Another reviewer called the story preposterous, and it is. But it’s also an involving story, that kept me playing. My problem with it is the inconsistencies. From the pronunciation of the name Charon, of which there are 3 variations, to the book referring to the train as the “Phantom (i.e. not the Haunted) train, to the villain who loudly declares he’s going to follow you onto “that train” - the train that he has spent hundreds of years avoiding in order to stay immortal - it seemed like someone else besides me was falling asleep behind the wheel. GAMEPLAY There seemed to me to be more adventure tasks than either puzzles or HOPs. Despite the fact that the HOP scenes are visited twice, they feel scarce. They are interactive lists with a greater degree of interaction than the norm, but they are still not all that exciting. There are more puzzles, and they are a problem for me. A lot are very well done original games, which unfortunately had vague or confusing instructions. Others required 5 steps of the same mini-game to open the lock. And some were just plain difficult. And the worst of all, where to me it looked as though the puzzle was solved, even after resetting and doing it all again, the game insisted I hadn’t solved. And without a SG, no way of knowing why/how! There is a journal, an interesting interactive jump map and directional hint to help you, and 3 degrees of difficulty to confound you. COMBINED IMPACT I did like the game. I am not as ecstatic about it as I was for the demo. The weird inconsistencies in story, the difficulty of the puzzles, detracted a bit from my enjoyment of it. But it is still a good game, worthy of an SE price.
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting I waited for this SE to come out since I had a lot of fun playing the demo of the CE. CE has absolutely nothing to qualify it being a CE. No collectables, achievements etc. But I wanted to play it since the story seems really interesting. Graphics could be better, HOS are plenty, but sometimes really small so hard to find. There is a map and journal, and a magnifying glass that lets you pick up on ghostly scenes. I like everything connected with ghosts and this is no exception. You have to lure the murderers of these lost souls stuck on the train onto the train and bring them to justice. It seems to be fairly long but not a hard game to play. Pretty straightforward. Give it a try, it is definitely worth it and a very good SE. Skip the CE
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Solid Game A game with a Victorian backdrop, slightly leaning towards the steampunk genre. Well paced game with a strong clear storyline. Clean graphics with fun and interesting puzzles. Quite quick charge on hints and skips. Would have liked more hidden object scenes.There seemed to be a lot to do and it felt like an epic game. It actually felt a bit tiresome at times because it just seemed to go on forever, but better too long than too short. You definately get your moneys worth with this standard version.
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WHY A 3-STAR RATING This game is very good with a very good storyline; HOWEVER, I will NO LONGER give a game higher than a 3-star rating when said game has a hint system that REFUSES to recognize that the "rest the tools" are NOT within my inventory and I STILL NEED to collect them in order to proceed. After returning to all the other areas that I'd already played in, the hint button STILL would NOT even recognize the fact that I'd even returned to the area in which I needed to gather the "rest of the tools". After much frustration, I resorted to coming onto the BFG game site and opening up the walkthrough (thank goodness this game has 1) and ascertained where I would find the 1 item needed to open up the other item to gather the "rest of the tools". I play games to relax and to have my gray brain cells to continue to work (at my age, I need to start using as many as I have to continue to stay in the "real world") not to "knock any of them out" by banging my head against the wall.
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Lazy Sunday Afternoon Game. I won't go into detail about the story as other reviewers have done a splendid job -- thank you so much. I will tell you why I rated this game as I did. I liked the story premise, but it could have been so much better and the ending certainly could have been longer. It has a terrific interactive map, showing areas where things could be done and transporting you there. I always love this feature. The help feature had free directional hints and acted normally other times by pointing things out with a circle affect. The hint recharges reasonably fast. I read so many reviews that complain about the number of HOS in a HOG, but I'm complaining there weren't enough HOS in this HOG! The ones presented were very easy and sometimes repeated. Some of the mini games were okay and fun, but some of them I didn't understand and used the ever so lovely skip button which recharges rather quickly. I disabled the custom cursor because of the drag; there were times the game sort of lagged; and the one scene on the bridge where the statue holding the book of crystals sort of merged with the guy in the coffin in the carriage (changed scenes and went back and it was normal again) -- other than those minor things there were no technical issues. This would be a great game for a beginner because there is a lot of "hand holding", i.e., pointing out what to do next. I don't mind the help but some "expert puritans" might. I always play in the relaxed mode. I don't think it's suitable for young children. It's not an R rating in my opinion but definitely PG because of the mature subject matter, e.g., murder and death. As always I suggest you play the demo and read several of the reviews. I hope you read mine and it's helpful.
Date published: 2014-04-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lots of Issues I loved and hated this game. While it was interesting traveling to different countries to save your betrothed, the cursor was real "iffy" and sporadic. The reason the challenge was excellent was because the explanation on some puzzles made no sense to me. That being said the skip button works well. :) I think it could have been better.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from boring I bought this after playing the CE. As I got into this, I felt I had made a mistake. It just bored me. It didn't flow well, and compared to the new games that are out, the scenery wasn't even that great. It was too easy, no challenge, and while it had a good story line, it was just not enough for me. I think this is a great beginner game, so I'll recommend it for that reason only. With some of the great games that are out there, I'm just going to have to be more selective as to where I use my "free" game codes.
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from "Haunted Train" Fails To Leave The Station Sorry, I did not like this one. It did not feel "creepy" as some others have described. It was certainly trying to, but instead came off as ... uh... silly? Others have described the basic story behind the game. Though the premise is kind of "out there," it definitely had potential. However, the developers did not manage to pull this off. Trying to rescue your wife's soul, wonder what sort of woman you married?. Second, the game is way too easy. Many times an object is picked up, then used almost immediately. Puzzles require little or no thought. Third, I felt the voice acting was not convincing. This is where the train truly breaks down. Voice acting, if done well, can help to "suspend your disbelief." That didn't happen here, not even close. The actor sounded to me like they were just reading lines off a page. The drawing is well done and is of a standard with the better games. The story is set in the past, as far too many are, and a good job was done with the artwork in capturing the spirit of times gone by. The music and sound effects are helpful in this respect as well, just enough to capture the mood without being heavy-handed. Just barely 3 stars. I'd buy only with the sale or when I have an extra credit. Possibly even as a DD. Otherwise, I will wait for the "next train."
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Get Off My Train This is a nice creepy game... the kind I like. You are set to be married and someone kills your bride. Now to set her soul free from the train of Charon, you must find her (dead) attackers. The graphics and color are just delightful. The music is unobtrusive, I did not notice it. There are nice HOS, some interactive, some where you put things back into a scene. There are very few HOS which to me is a plus. To HO lovers, however, this may not be a good thing The puzzles are cute and original but very very simple. One puzzle you repeat quite a few times, and a few others you just copy the info out of your journal. The game itself is very very linear. Not much challenge here. You get a journal and a map. Also, you get a pair of "supernatural detector" glasses? I think the developer did a wonderful job with this story. I did not feel this game was worthy of CE status so I did not purchase at that point. Yes there is a strategy guide and a bonus chapter. That is it. No achievements, no extras of any sort. Unless a game has a wonderful bonus game, I tend to lean toward the SE as I am not a fan of wallpaper, etc. Today, being offered as an SE, I took another look at it. The game is easy. Very easy. The story is good. Not great. But decent. Some parts of the story are so far out in left field, they stop being believable. I'm on the fence with this one. I believe the games being offered as of late are lacking any sort of challenge. As always, try it for yourself.
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Little Train That Couldn't My review is based on completing the game on a Mac and then studying the strategy guide again to prepare for this review. I purchased the CE version but this review is of the main game with references to the CE . I didn’t care for the game and I’ll try to explain why as fairly as possible. Of course I wanted to like it. I spent the money on it but it just didn’t work out. There were some positives: A. The Sights: It was a winner artistically. Throughout the game you progress through a variety of cities beginning in Western Europe and ending in Eastern Europe. Each one of the locales had a particular European feel to it. So, props to the environment, or "set design" people. B. The Sounds: The voice actors were good and the lip-synching was as well. (Just a little editorializing here: how come this bad game has great lip-synching while some great games recently have no synching or terrible synching? It doesn’t make sense to me.) C. The other thing that was good was…er… Wait. I'm sorry. That's all I can say about the game that is positive. Two schools of thought now: 1. If you can't say anything nice don't say anything at all. 2. If you can't say anything nice come sit by me. Come sit by me and I’ll tell you about the game…: A. The animation was very poor. Here are a couple of examples to illustrate: 1. In one scene a lemon was being squeezed into a cocktail shaker. The lemon hovered over the shaker, there was no "liquid" going from the lemon to the shaker. After a moment the lemon was gone. Big deal? Maybe it’s not, but we have certainly seen games where you'd know that liquid was being poured into a container from another source. 2. An item, fallen between the cracks of a grate on the ground needs to be extricated. I had a hook in my inventory. As the hook neared the grate, but before it actually reached it, the grate mysteriously rose. Hmm, maybe the grate was haunted. These don't seem like fatal flaws, but they are very typical of the play throughout the game. There is a serious lack of attention to detail. B. The story line that propelled us through Europe was preposterous: A bride has been murdered by the evil Count Orlock on her wedding day. The husband (whom you play in this first-person adventure) mentions that it’s supposed to be the best day of their lives and he thought all their troubles were behind them. RUH ROH!! There was already trouble in Paradise and this trip hadn't even begun yet!! Somehow the Mrs. boards Charon’s train to Hades and the undead husband gets on as well. In the “old days" Charon ferried across the river Styx but now he prefers to travel by train. Life is so complicated since the invention of the wheel…but I digress. Earlier, several souls who weren’t too keen on Hades as a destination ganged up, revolted and escaped. Charon is searching for these malcontents. In the meantime the souls headed to Hades are stuck on the train (STUCK????, depending on the quality of the food and service, the train seems like a much better deal than Hades any day of the week). It turns out that Charon release your (dead?) wife IF YOU HELP HIM CAPTURE THE EVIL COUNT ORLOCK. In other words, Charon has the power to release your wife's soul to you, but he won’t do it unless you help him. That’s just NOT COOL!!! C. It's a hidden object game and there are many items to “collect” that move the game forward. I think most gamers are looking for HOGs and/or mini-games when they buy a Hidden Object/Puzzle/Adventure. If it’s HOGs you seek, you’re not going to be happy: There are 10 total. They are of the list-pick variety. There are 20 mini-games/puzzles. The HOGs are uninspired. The mini-games never leave the train station. Here are some examples: 1. 5 times you play a game in which you place tokens on the map that details your path. You’ll play this game on your way to France, Italy, Germany, Czechoslovakia and Transylvania. The tokens represent various aspects of the locale to which you're headed. On your way to France for example, the first set of tokens might include Croissant, Borscht, pasta and, Paella. OK. Guess. Yes! Croissant. The next set of tokens might be famous buildings. Place the Coliseum instead of the Louvre and it's back to the start for you. (I'll save you time: this is the first puzzle of the entire game, of course, and it's not the best. Nothing about it is fun. It's pedestrian). 2. Three times you’ll complete puzzles which require no more skill than a trip to your journal. There you’ll find out how to properly accessorize french characters on a poster; properly arrange the limbs of two mannequins, and later on, correctly position two armored knights. (The accessorizing one is the second puzzle of the game. It, too, is boring and requires no skill. The answers "are out there.)" 3. The final puzzle of the main game of Spirits of Charon asks you to align concentric circles with symbols on them in a way that will form a path to the center. Uhm, no. As I mentioned, I purchased the Collector’s Edition and tried to access the bonus chapter. I couldn't retrieve any inventory nor could I access the monocle (a tool that allows you to "see" para-normal things the ordinary eye cannot grasp). This monocle is part of the main game as well. Without inventory or monocle it's really "game over.” So, the game was over for me. TO BUY OR NOT TO BUY. TO CE OR SE. Your first decision is whether you want the game at all. If the answer is yes, you need to decide on the CE or SE. If you buy it this weekend you’re going to get a good price no matter which one you buy. Too bad this is the featured game. Here’s what I think about the Collector’s Edition: I don't know why there is one. I have no idea what the value proposition is. Maybe you can figure it out: This is what you get (and don't get) if you purchase it: A. The “who cares” assortment of wallpaper, concept art and music that's re-playable. B. A bonus Chapter that I couldn’t play. I can only tell you that the strategy guide says there are 8 HOGs and 5 mini-games/puzzles. C. An ok strategy guide. D. There are no morphing objects, collectibles or achievements in the main game of the CE (or in the bonus, I imagine). While I think gamers make too big of a deal about these things, the reality is, if we are asked to pay more than twice the price of an SE for a CE, there better be some pretty good features for all that extra money. I don't recommend this game as a CE for sure and if you're even contemplating buying it as an SE make well sure you use a coupon or it's on serious sale (like right now). This isn't a full game. I don't think you should pay full price. Sorry Ladies and Gentlemen. IMO this game does not deserve a recommendation. I do recommend trying the hour-long trial (the one I didn't take advantage of). Caveat Emptor.
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Game is messed up... something was wrong with the images. Some things were viewable but for the most part the whole game is distorted. Imaging glitches!
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your time Not a true HOG game, and the few HOG's were repetitive and poor. Boring story and just plain silly.
Date published: 2014-10-11
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_20539, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon

Charon's train has left the station, and you'll never believe who's on board!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.