Dark Strokes: The Legend of the Snow Kingdom Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Strokes: The Legend of the Snow Kingdom Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(354.95 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Inspired by the timeless tales of the Brothers Grimm, Dark Strokes: The Legend of the Snow Kingdom offers an experience rich with magic and wonder. From its breathtaking opening scene, in which a hunter saves a princess from an uncertain fate at the hands of a Snow Knight, to its stunning conclusion, Dark Strokes 2 will captivate you with a world abounding in beauty and detail, puzzles and mini-games unlike any you have solved, and a story of unprecedented depth.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus chapter that expands the adventure
  • Hand-drawn fairytale locations
  • Challenging puzzles and mini-games
  • Captivating story about love and magic
  • Strategy guide, tutorial, and unlimited hints

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 788 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Strokes: The Legend of the Snow Kingdom Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(354.95 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Strokes: The Legend of the Snow Kingdom Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 63.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best This is one of the nicest games I've played. The graphics are absolutely splendid, the storyline is fantastical but good and the game play is very smooth. Most items are used quickly and several things are done per scene rather than just running back and forth collecting things. The puzzles are just challenging enough with the HO scenes nicely done rather than just junk piles. There is a jumpable Map and the Hint button is great too but you probably won't need it. Definitely worth buying.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Games just get better and better What a beautiful and awesome game! Lots to click on, I noticed you can interact with many things in each scene. Even a little snail sliding along, a bunny that hopped away, ice sickles that fall, just very interactive. They are achievements to obtain, snowflakes to collect. Highly unique puzzles. Beautiful wallpapers and lots at that!! Tons of extras for this collectors edition. I knew I would buy this 2 minutes in. The scenery is breathtaking. Unique story line. Well done game developers!!! This is a 10 stars all the way!
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular story line This is the most engaging story line. Well told and revealed in clever ways. The game has such a novel way of progressing the story. Beautiful art work, excellent cut scenes and voice overs. I had so much fun with this one.
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must buy game A hero, a Princess trapped in a snow globe he must free, her father the King, Ice Knights blocking your path, hot air balloons deliver packages that when opened people disappear & you must restore the kingdom 10 minutes into the trial I knew I had to have this game. Graphics are great. Music is expected for the theme and I left it on as it was soothing & unobtrusive. I usually mute it HOGs are clear. Some need you to find an item to play it. Some are find one item to find the next item etc.. Some are straight forward. Play a mini game to reach your next destination. Find the snowflake in each scene collectable. There are achievements for not skipping mini games. The skip button charges quickly. There is a difficulty button to choose the level of casual or hard. Acquire your bobcat helper which you name. Collect the scrolls for storyline background as you go. I like the storyline. I had a problem not being able to play fast enough to find out what happens next. The hint button recharges quickly. The voice overs are ok, but only a very minor thing & I ignored it. I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What an adorable game! Definitely one of the best games especially if you are a beginner. HOS plays very simple and fun. The story is line is like Snow White to Cinderella. It will not scare you out of your boots, but a beautiful story where the 2 prince's had to save their loves and one becomes evil because of the loss of his true love. The Bonus chapter awesome!
Date published: 2014-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Snow Kingdom Come This game "packs" a lot of punch. You are Alan, a friend of the princess. Her father the king has ordered her to be taken out of the kingdom for her own protection from the "ice knights." However, through deception they manage to confine her to a crystal ball prison. You must rescue the princess, defeat the ice knights and their leader, and thereby save the kingdom. Airships and hot air balloons are also featured. I left out a little so as not to include any spoilers, so you'll have to trust me that it actually does make sense. The drawing is very colorful, almost #not quite# fairy tale-ish in style. Voices are very well done, except for the princess' whose voice is slightly annoying #sorry, princess!#. The princess also pops up a lot with "back-seat driver" style comments like We've got to do #this#," or We've got to go #somewhere#." It seemed to be a way to keep her involved in the story while trapped in the ball. There is a lot to read also, in the form of scrolls, books and other dialog to fill in the back story. Hidden object scenes were very well done, using different styles including logic and progression. This kept them very interesting. As for the puzzles and mini games #including a snowball game, of course#, it was evident that the developer put a lot of thought into them and, while not difficult, they fit perfectly into the story's setting and were a lot of fun to play. Music is also soothing and dreamy, not too intrusive. Sound effects are well done as well. A pet lynx provides assistance in hard to reach places, and potions help with otherwise impossible tasks. The Collector’s Edition includes 35 collectible snowflakes, achievements, strategy guide and a bonus chapter, as well as the usual array of pseudo-extras. While princess & save the kingdom games are usually not my style, I found this to be a very well thought out and executed game. Even though it's been a long winter, I can stand a little more snow.
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Like this game!! I have played hundreds of game so it is nice when one comes along that really grabs you. This is just such a game. Visually stunning, sound/music is excellent. The storyline is somewhat similar to some games but there is a twist to it. The HOG's are different and some have to be assembled. Lots of extra's in the CE version and with the special going on today buying it is a no brainer. As always, I say play the try me version but I bet you buy it in the first 10 minutes. Have fun!!
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely fairytale!!! Quit different than thought:-) Everyone knows the legend of the Snowqueen by Christian Andersen. This story is different... the kingdom faced hard times and in order to overcome them, King Henry agreed a bad deal with a magician. Now this magician wants his part of the contract fullfilled and thus the golden apple. But only the princess can touch i without getting transformed to stone. So she is in great danger. This is the storyline - but what i really love are the wonderful graphics, the nice music, the flow of actions, the perfect design... there are so many little things where you just stare and are delighted with (for all the locks and valves are designed great!!!) I do love this kind of stories, especially when the game has a good flow and you almost feel being part of the fairytale.The developers really did a beautiful job here to make us players joyful! Thanks!!!
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing game! This game is truly amazing. Quality is perfect and storyline couldn't be better. I really enjoy it.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I just finished this game and I enjoyed it very much.It wasn't hard to navigate around.The graphics were clear and the voice overs were great.I loved the story from start to finish. I'd recommend this game for all levels of play.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I really enjoyed this game! It's visually beautiful and the story was great. It has a nice little twist.
Date published: 2014-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Golden Apple This is a good fairy tale with a surprise ending (perhaps a sequel will be coming). There are 10 chapters, 3 bonus chapters, magic scrolls, snow flakes and morphing objects to find. You do go back to the hidden objects more than once but I didn't mind it in this game. The mini-puzzles for the most part are not hard and you can skip them. You have a map, strategy guide and hint button. I really liked the graphics, the town and atmosphere of the game were very well done.
Date published: 2014-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Buy I wasn't sure of this game at first when playing the demo, but I wasn't long into it and really loved it!! The storyline is great and this game doesn't leave you hanging. The ending (Bonus Chapter) does not disappoint like I've had in some games. It was a good long game and well worth the money. The graphics are very well done. I also love games where you have to find all of a certain item in each scene. Most games only have one type of object to find. But in this one, you had to find so many snowflakes, magic scrolls and morphing objects. I give this game a big thumbs up!!
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We have a winner! Now this game was worth waiting for! Excellent (slightly cartoonish but awesome!) graphics which I happen to love, wonderful story! Excellent mini-games (not seen many of these before) even awesome hidden object scenes - interactive and find multiples of objects. To the devs - Well done! This is excellent and surpasses all my expectations!
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautify Game I love to see these beautiful games. Visually outstanding!! The story line was compelling enough to keep my interest. Music was nice and soft. Puzzles were a mix, so did not get bored. I highly recommend this game!!
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I played this on beta and loved it, have been waiting for it to come out and bought it straight away
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story I found this to be a wonderful game. I recommend the game
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Snowy Kingdom ?Hot Air Balloon ? Fruit ? I have played this game twice now !! What a great family game and enjoyed the characters and the plot to the storyline. The Princess and the hero game. But the plot leads to some new news about the bad guy, which I found fun for the entire family, Nice visuals and HO'S were fun too, I can see us playing this game in our top ten when my grand kids arrives soon.Puzzles are not difficult but we enjoyed them. So storyline, puzzles, Ho's and the wonderful ending buy this game you wont be sorry if you love a good fairytale. Great job to the developers and please keep this type of game coming, a must buy in our household.
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from another great game I totally enjoyed the demo and will buy this game but when it comes out as regular, great hint and map but I really don't care about extras so the collectors edition is not important to me but the game is great. a definite buy! I recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good game I enjoyed this game, and the bonus chapter. It was very well done. I especially like the snow. It seemed to be snowing all the time. And I liked the little animal helper. It had well-constructed mini-games and hidden object scenes. A thoroughly good game.
Date published: 2015-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Wellknown stories combined in an original and entertaining way.
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I needed If you're looking for something pretty and light to destress with, this fits the bill. Yes, it is easy, but I found it to be the relaxing kind of easy rather than the boring kind. The only major complaint I had about it was that you can't turn off the VOs. Most of the VOs managed not to be too irritating, but I wish the option had been there.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was a good game I enjoyed most of the gameplay. I will even say I enjoyed the bonus chapter if you exclude the horrible voiceovers in that section of the game. A Big Con for me was the Strategy Guide, it was simply awful.
Date published: 2014-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting fairytale HOG This is probably going to appeal to people who have no objection to animal helpers and who appreciate fairytales. The game has good graphics, the story flows well and the HO scenes and mini games are well done. Having completed the game and bonus chapter, I note there isn't a feature whereby you can complete the sets of collectibles f you've missed any (which I did), so unless you want to go back and replay under a different profile, you will be left feeling a bit disgruntled. Four stars for this reason.
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Colorful Exquisite Graphics! I love the beauty of these Graphics, absolutely breathtaking! The Game was easy and relaxing, making it very enjoyable. The Storyline was a nothing special ~ kidnapped Princess which needs to be Saved, yada, yada, yada ~ which has been done to death. If the Storyline would have been better I would have given it a much higher score. Nothing else much to say about it ...
Date published: 2014-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Brilliant Gameplay + Average Story= Hard Decision! BASED ON DEMO I really liked the first Dark Strokes by this developer, so naturally, my expectations were pretty high. I can say with 100% assurance that this is not as good as the first Dark Strokes, but I think this game did live up to my expectations! It's not all about the story, I think it's about the gameplay too. The story is good, but not great. It certainly has a slow start. It takes almost to the end of the demo to get in to. I thought this story was nothing but fantasy junk, then I got in to it and it was okay. It's true what they say, this story is nothing like the first Dark Strokes, so it probably shouldn't be under the name, but it was a good game all the same. The story coasted along as I expected, with only one major twist. The end of the demo left me on a cliffhanger, with one of the most exciting twists I've seen! I certainly didn't see that coming. It was a really nice twist to an otherwise lacking story. This game also includes a little backstory of how the events in the game came to be. This is done through a little machine thing. This was a really nice, unique addition to the story. What I didn't like about the story was the girl in the glass ball/snowglobe thing. She just kept popping up at random times and quickly became a pest. This was the worst part of the story. I don't think it was necessary. She popped up and told us things we already knew (like: “Look! We're on the airship!”). It was really annoying and dragged down the story a bit. The gameplay... Oh my God, the gameplay! I have been crying out for new, fun stuff and this game has DELIVERED! The HOS were different, the puzzles were different, the gameplay was different, and it was a blast! The HOS were good. There were two types: there was the standard junkpile and a junkpile with a little alteration. The first HOS was the altered junkpile. You had to find certain items to make up one larger item. This was really fun and I enjoyed it. The second was a standard junkpile with a few extra step objects. The good thing about this was that some of the extra step objects needed more than one extra step to complete. Overall, both types of HOS were enjoyable. The puzzles were brilliant too. They were so fun and unique. I loved every one of them (and I could solve them too!). The first one was my favourite. You set up a saddle to ride the horse in to town and then you clicked the arrow to go there. Most developers would have made it just one long cutscene, but this one turned it in to a puzzle! You have 4 tries to get the horse in to town without hitting an obstacle. If you hit an obstacle, you lose a life. You have to switch paths to avoid the obstacles. This puzzle in particular was extremely fun and unique. It was a really good addition to the game. I hope to see puzzles like this in future games! The other two puzzles I came across were good too. They were very fun. They even had a difficulty setting, which was awesome, and a great addition to the gameplay. This game is packed with new, awesome features. I'm so glad at least one developers has listened to my pleas. To start with, this game has + objects. These are inventory items that you need to interact with to complete. This is not necessarily new, but is not used in many games, so was a great addition. We also have an animal helper in the form of a lynx, which you get to name. I must be going soft, because I love him/her! I named my lynx Fabian. The Lynx is a great help. It gets things in places you can't reach while staying within the laws of physics (ie: climbing tress, jumping on tables, etc.). Again, this is not necessarily new, but isn't used often, so it's a great feature. One more new feature that is actually relatively new is the potion. You have a set of potions (they are unlocked throughout the game, and I'm guessing it's a set due to the extra space) that can be used for different purposes. There is only one potion unlocked during the demo (towards the end). This is levitation. It is used a few times and is really awesome. And, of course, we have the little machine thing that can read the past of someone. This can be achieved by collecting various story slides. This is a great addition to the game. This is nothing like your standard HOPA. This is a really good change from the norm, and experienced players like me will love the new gameplay. I wouldn't recommend this to beginners though, because of all the extra stuff. Overall, this has really good gameplay. If I had to make one criticism, it would be that there aren't enough HOS. I only came across two in the demo. The graphics are pretty good. They are drawn with a good amount of detail. All scenes, character desings and everything else was clear. The voice-overs are standard. I have no issue. FEATURES 2 modes of difficulty: Casual and Advanced, Differences are sparkles, misclick penalty, hint charge times, etc. I played Casual. Hint/Skip- both recharged at a reasonable rate for the difficulty I chose. Hint is useful outside HOS. Diary- keeps track of events. Map- interactive and helpful. Animal Helper- a lynx which you get to name. Used quite often. Used to reach things in high or small places. Potions- Only one is unlocked through the demo. This is levitation, which is used often. + objects- inventory items that you need to interact with to complete. There are quite a few of them. Machine- this is for seeing in to people's pasts, which can be accessed by collecting story slides and placing them in to the machine. This is a backstory to the main game. CE EXCLUSIVES Achievements Collectible Snowflakes (35)- used to unlock “trivia” section in bonus content. Collectible magic objects (10) Collectible magic scrolls Bonus Chapter Strategy Guide- picture only Concept Art Wallpaper Replay HOS & Puzzles Music Re-watch cutscenes Something called “characters”. Unsure what this is. Overall, I'm undecided. This has absolutely AMAZING gameplay, but the story is average. I don't know what to do. Part of me is saying go for it, because of the awesome gameplay, but part of me is saying no, because of the average story. I think I might go for the SE. I would recommend the SE to you because I don't find the SE worth it. This earns four stars from me.
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't diss the Lynx! This review is based on a bit beyond the demo cutoff. First off- I need to comment on the animal haters. I understand the general sentiment that some games have become way too cutesy (I agree to an extent), but come on...your helper in this game is not some domestic puppy or ridiculous talking cat that doesn't even look like a cat - it's a LYNX! A real wild animal! How cool is that? Most lynx (minus bobcats, so 3 out of 4# are endangered, including the North American lynx. Our lynx helper looks like a cross between the North American #or Canada# lynx and the Eurasian lynx. I wish the DEVs had taken this opportunity to provide natural history info on Lynx in the bonus section...they really are so mysterious and elusive that most people have never even heard of them, let alone know much about them! OK, sorry, but my point was to choose your battles. I personally think it's great that this DEV decided to choose such a unique animal as a helper. Maybe it'll increase awareness for conservation? If nothing else, notice a deliberate choice to use a real wild animal, which is #in an oblique sense# a learning/exposure opportunity. Unless you really hate all animals - including endangered unique wildcats - then I don't really understand all the helper-hate I'm seeing for this particular game. Right, so, stepping off of my "use of wild animal helpers to promote conservation awareness" soapbox now. :# The graphics in this game are really lovely. The movement in cutscenes is really interesting; they play with perspective and try to have the "camera" move while panning something. This provides a cinematic feel that is quite new and enjoyable. A lot the story is still unanswered as of yet, but I like that - keep me guessing for awhile!! I wish I could comment on the whole thing when I'm done, but my job will preclude me from finishing for awhile #thus making my review less likely to be seen#. Anyway, the VISUALS are great. The music is actually quite lovely, although I hope there is more variation than I've seen thus far. Some of the minigames have been pretty challenging - but in a good way! And hey, being able to choose the difficulty of a minigame is a GREAT idea. I know it's been done before, but I don't encounter it often. Honestly, I have #almost# zero complaints thus far. I am bothered by the inability to customize the difficulty settings so that active areas on the map can be visible for any mode other than Casual. Heck, I don't need hint and skip at all if I have that "active area" map feature! Other than that, the gameplay has been smooth, appropriately paced, and with just enough questions to keep you going. Maybe this will be a five star and I just didn't know yet. The development and resolution of the storyline is what will elevate this game from a four to a five-star rating.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Like The Last Dark Strokes BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS This game is not even remotely like the first Dark Strokes game. I am having a hard time imagining any excuse for releasing it under this series title. It is nevertheless a well-made and enjoyable game, which at least is that much it has in common with the first game. The opening is excellent; exciting, intriguing, and the graphics are fantastic. This is a somewhat dark fantasy, with enough of the unusual about it to make it stand out among lesser games. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The graphics are great. Clear and detailed, with strong colours and excellent artwork. It is fairly dark for much of the demo, perhaps a little too much so for some. The animated cut-scenes are a delight, and the little touches are fun. Clicking around at anything interesting provided me with lots of gratuitous fun, as owls turned their heads, butterflies flew away, and rabbits escaped down their holes. The story is told in many ways – shadow plays, scrolls, and mini-games, all of which adds variety to the visual experience. The sounds are a bit loud, but after lowering them, the music was very relaxing and pleasant. I would have enjoyed more ambient sounds. The voiceovers vary. The narrator’s voice is wonderful. The girl’s I could really live without, and I am of two minds about the heavy Southern US (?) accent of one of the other characters. WHAT’S HAPPENING? You are a forester who rescues a beautiful young maiden from a seriously scary attacker with unknown intent, but black magic at his finger tips. She stays with you, brightening your life, until a hot air balloon drops a gift on the porch. Upon opening, the package freezes absolutely everything in your cabin, and assaults your girl – I’ll leave you to find out the results of that. In any case, it is clear you must follow the balloon to the city to find out how to undo what has been done, and to discover the mystery of the young girl’s past. GAMEPLAY The gameplay is a little different than your standard HOPA. Although it is primarily puzzles and HOPs, both of them are unusual in style. The 3 HOPs in the demo are an interactive search for pieces of an item you must assemble, a multiples of (musical instruments), again interactive, and a more traditional interactive word list. The mini-games/puzzles are unusual too. They include more than one panorama-style game, each of a different nature, and a game in which you must choose the right path, on the go, to avoid obstacles. Another is one where you choose the way, hoping to avoid unseen obstacles. Many involve small amounts of easy assembly or construction work. As well, items in inventory can be combined, or changed by extra clicks. Sometimes they have other items inside them. The hint is directional. The interactive jump map indicates where actions are available, and you can choose from 3 difficulty levels. There is a shadow box that stays above hint and gives back story when the slides for it are found. And there are potions that stay with us and grant special powers. There is a helper, and it is cute, also very useful. As well, there is a fair amount of interaction with other animals along the way. I really had a hard time with the other 'help' we got from the girl we saved - her inane assistance was driving me batty! It all fits into this story, but seems strange to have so much cute in a Dark Strokes game. Many who enjoyed the first game will probably be very disappointed with this one. CE BLING! Achievements and collectibles – 12 scrolls, 35 dreadfully easy to see snowflakes, and 10 ‘magic’ (morphing and hard to see) items found in the HOPs. The achievements are displayed with the pet in its room. There are both story and performance achievements. The demo covers the first 3 of 10 chapters, and the bonus play is a further 3 chapters. The strategy guide is pictorial only. I have never tried to use one like this, and I am intrigued about discovering how useful it really is. The gallery has the usual wallpapers, concept art, music, videos, and character dossiers. There are also replayable “mini-games” and “puzzles”. Seeing I couldn’t get a look at any of these extras without buying, I cannot tell you whether HOPs fall into either of these categories, or how many there is of anything. COMBINED IMPACT This is a fine game, and I really enjoyed playing it – for what it is. Which is a darkish fantasy game with some unusual touches. Linking it with the first Dark Strokes, though, seems almost like false advertising.
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game For Everyone Although spring has finally arrived to my part of the world, winter still seems to be the underlining theme of our games. Our story begins with our handsome hunter, Alan Wood, who rescues a beautiful maiden from the clutches of an ice knight. We discover that Adele has been sent away from the Sky Kingdom by her Father and now seeks refuge at Alan’s cabin. Not long after, a mysterious package arrives at the door and before you can say Brothers Grimm, Adele is trapped inside a snow globe and the adventure begins as Alan needs to return to the Kingdom to find a way to set her free. A wonderful fairy tale filled with an assortment of characters, magical creatures and a lot of ice and snow making for a thrilling Hidden object, Puzzle and adventure game. At first the graphics were a bit discerning what with the cartoon artwork but once I began to play, I totally became immersed in the story as well as the game mechanics. With three difficulty modes to choose from, game tools include a diary, a map for travelling, a cute baby Lynx for retrieval of far away objects, and the infamous snow globe with Adele inside who occasionally pops up to let you know what needs to be done. Hidden object scenes are challenging enough and come in variations, mostly interactive and there is a fun factor to them. I loved the mini-games, some are arcade style with a level of difficulty that you can adjust and some are interesting enough which please me immensely. Puzzles involve a lot of back-tracking when applying your inventory items but then the map helps you with that. Extras are plenty as there are scrolls and snowflakes to collect throughout the game. You also have morphing objects within each hidden object scenes and a list of achievements to earn. Although the game seems to be more standard that a CE game, what with the graphics and sound effects, I did love the small details that the developers added like biting into fruits or tapping a creature and watching it scurry away. Somehow, they did manage to bring images alive which I do applaud. Still the extras do make it a collector’s edition and although I thought the graphics were substandard compared to many other recent games, I still enjoyed playing the demo and will take advantage of the April Shower sale today. We have a damsel in distress, a handsome woodsman and obviously some sinister enemy out to stop them. I also think it is age appropriate so the entire family can get into the fun. I just wish that voice-over was added to our Alan Wood which would have made the game more real.
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Endearing storyline; loved the narrator's voice I played the CE and just finished the bonus game. Lots of activities; too much dialect though. Visually it was stunning; good music--repetitive. Good story line, but in my opinion Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father still reigns king. One of my favorite activities was obtaining the tapes mainly because the actor who was narrating had a beautiful, deep voice and I could have listened to him over and over again. A couple of the VOS were too slow. The activities within the HOS were varied and very clever indeed. The puzzles were not difficult. I played in hard mode; the map was okay in the main game. No map in the bonus game. Hint button was good. I got most of the achievements not all. Sometimes the map would show no objects to be found even though some scenes still had things to accomplish. Other than that, the game was good. I would recommend it.
Date published: 2014-04-18
  • y_2020, m_2, d_23, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_20858, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Strokes: The Legend of the Snow Kingdom Collector's Edition

Enter the enchanted realm of the Snow Kingdom!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.