Dark Strokes: The Legend of the Snow Kingdom Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Strokes: The Legend of the Snow Kingdom Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(354.95 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Inspired by the timeless tales of the Brothers Grimm, Dark Strokes: The Legend of the Snow Kingdom offers an experience rich with magic and wonder. From its breathtaking opening scene, in which a hunter saves a princess from an uncertain fate at the hands of a Snow Knight, to its stunning conclusion, Dark Strokes 2 will captivate you with a world abounding in beauty and detail, puzzles and mini-games unlike any you have solved, and a story of unprecedented depth.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus chapter that expands the adventure
  • Hand-drawn fairytale locations
  • Challenging puzzles and mini-games
  • Captivating story about love and magic
  • Strategy guide, tutorial, and unlimited hints

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 788 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Strokes: The Legend of the Snow Kingdom Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(354.95 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Strokes: The Legend of the Snow Kingdom Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 63.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely fairytale!!! Quit different than thought:-) Everyone knows the legend of the Snowqueen by Christian Andersen. This story is different... the kingdom faced hard times and in order to overcome them, King Henry agreed a bad deal with a magician. Now this magician wants his part of the contract fullfilled and thus the golden apple. But only the princess can touch i without getting transformed to stone. So she is in great danger. This is the storyline - but what i really love are the wonderful graphics, the nice music, the flow of actions, the perfect design... there are so many little things where you just stare and are delighted with (for all the locks and valves are designed great!!!) I do love this kind of stories, especially when the game has a good flow and you almost feel being part of the fairytale.The developers really did a beautiful job here to make us players joyful! Thanks!!!
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I just finished this game and I enjoyed it very much.It wasn't hard to navigate around.The graphics were clear and the voice overs were great.I loved the story from start to finish. I'd recommend this game for all levels of play.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I really enjoyed this game! It's visually beautiful and the story was great. It has a nice little twist.
Date published: 2014-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What an adorable game! Definitely one of the best games especially if you are a beginner. HOS plays very simple and fun. The story is line is like Snow White to Cinderella. It will not scare you out of your boots, but a beautiful story where the 2 prince's had to save their loves and one becomes evil because of the loss of his true love. The Bonus chapter awesome!
Date published: 2014-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Game In This Series ... Great Graphics, Sounds, Effects, Voice & Video Bits ... This Is A Great Follow Up From The First Game ... Loved The Influences From Old Classic Stories, Fairy Tales & Movies ... A Really Good Mixed Bag Of Stuff Brought Together For A Great Game ... The Bonus Chapter Is A Nice Follow On To The Main Game With Plenty Of New Locations ... I Got Mine On A Two-For-One Deal, So Great Value ...
Date published: 2014-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from you would think it was an ERS game when other reviews said it wasn't like the original, I was glad and had to buy it, I didn't like the first it was a play and delete for me. I don't like when a game changes time period, like when they where dressed old England then end up in an American amusement park yeck. this game is not overly challenging but fun and relaxing, like I said it reminds me of an ERS game, which is the drawing and scenery I cant resist. I have to replay it cuz I didn't find all the collectibles and morphs. there are 35 snowflakes, 12 scrolls and 10 morphs. the morphs are only in the HOs and only in the main game same as all the collectibles which surprised me. nice voice overs and the lips move! yah story was well done, put a nice twist on old tales. so if you're a fan of you know who, you have to try this game.
Date published: 2014-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best This is one of the nicest games I've played. The graphics are absolutely splendid, the storyline is fantastical but good and the game play is very smooth. Most items are used quickly and several things are done per scene rather than just running back and forth collecting things. The puzzles are just challenging enough with the HO scenes nicely done rather than just junk piles. There is a jumpable Map and the Hint button is great too but you probably won't need it. Definitely worth buying.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Twist on Fairy Tales (finished game) I have never enjoyed a game so much as this one; while I found the puzzles to be mostly easy (I usually have a problem with them) there were a couple that I did have to skip. The storyline was to me a mixture of fairy tales with some twists thrown in and what looks to be a hint of a sequel at the end of the bonus game which contains 3 chapters. The developers really came through with this game. It took me most of the day to finish the main game as well as the bonus chapter I was sorry to see it end, though to me the bonus was not as good as the main game and loved the twist at the end of the main game. 1--graphics, sound, cut scenes, voiceovers are excellent (especially the males) bright and colorful 2--hint is directional only 3--transporter map (beam me up Scotty) also tells you where you have tasks to do 4--interactive HOS; mostly lists; you need to put together some items, find several pieces of an item; sillohouetts(sp?) in bonus game; also there are morphing items in the HOS to find (some not so easy) 5--different modes of play and you can change the difficulty mode for the puzzles 6--magic scrolls to collect 7--animal helper 8--achievements to earn 9--snowflakes to collect 35 some are not so easy to spot I would say that this is equal to or better than the Dark Parables line of games (only not so dark). This is a game the whole family can enjoy (even the kids). It is not really a sequel to the first Dark Strokes (which I have) but a brand new story and if they do another I hope we do not have to wait 2 years for it.
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautify Game I love to see these beautiful games. Visually outstanding!! The story line was compelling enough to keep my interest. Music was nice and soft. Puzzles were a mix, so did not get bored. I highly recommend this game!!
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from another great game I totally enjoyed the demo and will buy this game but when it comes out as regular, great hint and map but I really don't care about extras so the collectors edition is not important to me but the game is great. a definite buy! I recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story I found this to be a wonderful game. I recommend the game
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Snowy Kingdom ?Hot Air Balloon ? Fruit ? I have played this game twice now !! What a great family game and enjoyed the characters and the plot to the storyline. The Princess and the hero game. But the plot leads to some new news about the bad guy, which I found fun for the entire family, Nice visuals and HO'S were fun too, I can see us playing this game in our top ten when my grand kids arrives soon.Puzzles are not difficult but we enjoyed them. So storyline, puzzles, Ho's and the wonderful ending buy this game you wont be sorry if you love a good fairytale. Great job to the developers and please keep this type of game coming, a must buy in our household.
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it!!! This new Dark Strokes game is fantastic. There is so much to do and a storyline that pulls you in from the beginning of the story. Adele, the princess, is sent away from the her father's kingdom because of a pact made between the man in the dark cloak and the king. He has come back after many years and is after Adele. You rescue her from the ice knight and take her home with you where she opens a package dropped from an airship and she is sucked into the snow globe. Your goal is to get her out of the snowglobe and to find out what has happened to the kingdom where everyone who has opened a package has disappeared. There is so much to do and find. There are snowflakes to find, 12 magic scrolls, 10 magic objects (in the hos) and 15 achievements. You have 3 options for difficulty, casual, advanced and hard. The music is not annoying and rather soothing. The visual is really beautiful and really well done. And the level of challenge is not too hard, not too easy. This game is extremely well done and can't wait to own it.
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular story line This is the most engaging story line. Well told and revealed in clever ways. The game has such a novel way of progressing the story. Beautiful art work, excellent cut scenes and voice overs. I had so much fun with this one.
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Games just get better and better What a beautiful and awesome game! Lots to click on, I noticed you can interact with many things in each scene. Even a little snail sliding along, a bunny that hopped away, ice sickles that fall, just very interactive. They are achievements to obtain, snowflakes to collect. Highly unique puzzles. Beautiful wallpapers and lots at that!! Tons of extras for this collectors edition. I knew I would buy this 2 minutes in. The scenery is breathtaking. Unique story line. Well done game developers!!! This is a 10 stars all the way!
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We have a winner! Now this game was worth waiting for! Excellent (slightly cartoonish but awesome!) graphics which I happen to love, wonderful story! Excellent mini-games (not seen many of these before) even awesome hidden object scenes - interactive and find multiples of objects. To the devs - Well done! This is excellent and surpasses all my expectations!
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Snow Kingdom Come This game "packs" a lot of punch. You are Alan, a friend of the princess. Her father the king has ordered her to be taken out of the kingdom for her own protection from the "ice knights." However, through deception they manage to confine her to a crystal ball prison. You must rescue the princess, defeat the ice knights and their leader, and thereby save the kingdom. Airships and hot air balloons are also featured. I left out a little so as not to include any spoilers, so you'll have to trust me that it actually does make sense. The drawing is very colorful, almost #not quite# fairy tale-ish in style. Voices are very well done, except for the princess' whose voice is slightly annoying #sorry, princess!#. The princess also pops up a lot with "back-seat driver" style comments like We've got to do #this#," or We've got to go #somewhere#." It seemed to be a way to keep her involved in the story while trapped in the ball. There is a lot to read also, in the form of scrolls, books and other dialog to fill in the back story. Hidden object scenes were very well done, using different styles including logic and progression. This kept them very interesting. As for the puzzles and mini games #including a snowball game, of course#, it was evident that the developer put a lot of thought into them and, while not difficult, they fit perfectly into the story's setting and were a lot of fun to play. Music is also soothing and dreamy, not too intrusive. Sound effects are well done as well. A pet lynx provides assistance in hard to reach places, and potions help with otherwise impossible tasks. The Collector’s Edition includes 35 collectible snowflakes, achievements, strategy guide and a bonus chapter, as well as the usual array of pseudo-extras. While princess & save the kingdom games are usually not my style, I found this to be a very well thought out and executed game. Even though it's been a long winter, I can stand a little more snow.
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Like this game!! I have played hundreds of game so it is nice when one comes along that really grabs you. This is just such a game. Visually stunning, sound/music is excellent. The storyline is somewhat similar to some games but there is a twist to it. The HOG's are different and some have to be assembled. Lots of extra's in the CE version and with the special going on today buying it is a no brainer. As always, I say play the try me version but I bet you buy it in the first 10 minutes. Have fun!!
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Golden Apple Of Opportunity Concerned for the starving people of the Sky Kingdom, King Henry agrees to a golden deal with a mysterious cloaked man. The King must follow specific guidelines for planting and nurturing this Tree of golden leaves, and in exchange the Queen will pick a Golden apple that will appear in 18 years to give back to this Icy stranger (Don't eat that apple!). Fast forward to present day and rescue a damsel in distress, and fall in love with Adele the most beautiful woman in the Kingdom! Everything is going well until a strange gift arrives at your door, a gift with powerful magic. In an instance Adele is trapped inside this gift, a snow globe of the Sky Kingdom. What a treat we have with this Dark Strokes edition. There are 12 magical scrolls to collect, 35 hidden snowflakes, Achievements to earn and even 10 Magic objects to find in hidden object games! You will find and name a baby Lynx that will help you as you try to find someone to break the snow globe spell and free Adele (on the plus side she's much more portable that way) You will also find a Slideshow theater and as you come across slides you get bits and pieces of the Kings deal with the devil, it's really an interesting plot that makes you want to hear more! This game is a fantasy themed game, and I think the devs tried hard to reach demographics of both male and female gamers. I never really thought about the fact that most of these games are targeted for women until one of my favorite reviewers stated how excited he was that a recent game was from a male perspective! Now I feel guilty when I love the glitter, unicorns and Prince Charming:) The Hidden Object Scenes start out with finding missing outlined pieces by opening drawers etc. until the item is complete. then we move on to finding several musical instruments. Don't worry, there are still the classic list find objects, some requiring slight interactions such as picking up a key and using the key to open a lock. (don't forget to look for magic or beyond objects) The mini games are pretty easy in my opinion, my favorite game was riding the horse to the Kingdom. It's not a new game by any means but I could have ridden that path all day. The object was to guide the horse by zig zagging through debris on the 3 lane road as the horse moved faster and faster. Another game I enjoyed was throwing snowballs at warlocks that popped up on stage without hitting the Princess who also popped up. I can't think of anything negative with this game it seems they put in the kitchen sink as well, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I played this on beta and loved it, have been waiting for it to come out and bought it straight away
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must buy game A hero, a Princess trapped in a snow globe he must free, her father the King, Ice Knights blocking your path, hot air balloons deliver packages that when opened people disappear & you must restore the kingdom 10 minutes into the trial I knew I had to have this game. Graphics are great. Music is expected for the theme and I left it on as it was soothing & unobtrusive. I usually mute it HOGs are clear. Some need you to find an item to play it. Some are find one item to find the next item etc.. Some are straight forward. Play a mini game to reach your next destination. Find the snowflake in each scene collectable. There are achievements for not skipping mini games. The skip button charges quickly. There is a difficulty button to choose the level of casual or hard. Acquire your bobcat helper which you name. Collect the scrolls for storyline background as you go. I like the storyline. I had a problem not being able to play fast enough to find out what happens next. The hint button recharges quickly. The voice overs are ok, but only a very minor thing & I ignored it. I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairytail Mash-Up A very playable game with a good mix of logic and object finding. Little bits of fairy-tail stories cleverly mixed to produce it's own little saga. Plot-twists keep you guessing to who is the good, bad and the ugly! Beautiful artwork graphics, the layout to find your way around is good. Little cinematics you collect on the way gives it an added dimension. A good game if you are new to Hidden Object Games. If you are a little more experienced with such games it may be worth to adjust the setting to a harder mode if you really like to be challenged.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Help free the Princess and save the kingdom So the Princess of the Sky Kingdom is trapped in a snowglobe and is being held hostage by a ice knight. No surprise you play as her lover trying to get her back. Smooth gameplay with some good music. Liked having the occasional HO scene where you had to find pieces to recreate something rather than just the list of items. Mini games for the most part were straight forward, some were a little more complex and required a little more thinking, and some I had to skip. The snowflake achievement was great, but a little difficult to achieve as they were extremely small in some scenes but it adds to the challenge of the game, the same goes for the morphing object is a bunch of HO scenes. Like the other Dark Strokes game, the bonus was good in giving some insight into what caused the antagonist to become the villain. You don't have to play the other Dark Strokes game to understand this one as both are meant to stand alone, but I recommend getting it.
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I needed If you're looking for something pretty and light to destress with, this fits the bill. Yes, it is easy, but I found it to be the relaxing kind of easy rather than the boring kind. The only major complaint I had about it was that you can't turn off the VOs. Most of the VOs managed not to be too irritating, but I wish the option had been there.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was a good game I enjoyed most of the gameplay. I will even say I enjoyed the bonus chapter if you exclude the horrible voiceovers in that section of the game. A Big Con for me was the Strategy Guide, it was simply awful.
Date published: 2014-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting fairytale HOG This is probably going to appeal to people who have no objection to animal helpers and who appreciate fairytales. The game has good graphics, the story flows well and the HO scenes and mini games are well done. Having completed the game and bonus chapter, I note there isn't a feature whereby you can complete the sets of collectibles f you've missed any (which I did), so unless you want to go back and replay under a different profile, you will be left feeling a bit disgruntled. Four stars for this reason.
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Colorful Exquisite Graphics! I love the beauty of these Graphics, absolutely breathtaking! The Game was easy and relaxing, making it very enjoyable. The Storyline was a nothing special ~ kidnapped Princess which needs to be Saved, yada, yada, yada ~ which has been done to death. If the Storyline would have been better I would have given it a much higher score. Nothing else much to say about it ...
Date published: 2014-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice hours of fun I must say I enjoyed the game. The graphics was lovely for me as I like looking at pretty things. The story line was interesting , maybe a bit fairytaly but acceptable. I would welcome more mini games and more challange. On the whole I had a lot of fun playing it and I recommend that game
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Endearing storyline; loved the narrator's voice I played the CE and just finished the bonus game. Lots of activities; too much dialect though. Visually it was stunning; good music--repetitive. Good story line, but in my opinion Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father still reigns king. One of my favorite activities was obtaining the tapes mainly because the actor who was narrating had a beautiful, deep voice and I could have listened to him over and over again. A couple of the VOS were too slow. The activities within the HOS were varied and very clever indeed. The puzzles were not difficult. I played in hard mode; the map was okay in the main game. No map in the bonus game. Hint button was good. I got most of the achievements not all. Sometimes the map would show no objects to be found even though some scenes still had things to accomplish. Other than that, the game was good. I would recommend it.
Date published: 2014-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't diss the Lynx! This review is based on a bit beyond the demo cutoff. First off- I need to comment on the animal haters. I understand the general sentiment that some games have become way too cutesy (I agree to an extent), but come on...your helper in this game is not some domestic puppy or ridiculous talking cat that doesn't even look like a cat - it's a LYNX! A real wild animal! How cool is that? Most lynx (minus bobcats, so 3 out of 4# are endangered, including the North American lynx. Our lynx helper looks like a cross between the North American #or Canada# lynx and the Eurasian lynx. I wish the DEVs had taken this opportunity to provide natural history info on Lynx in the bonus section...they really are so mysterious and elusive that most people have never even heard of them, let alone know much about them! OK, sorry, but my point was to choose your battles. I personally think it's great that this DEV decided to choose such a unique animal as a helper. Maybe it'll increase awareness for conservation? If nothing else, notice a deliberate choice to use a real wild animal, which is #in an oblique sense# a learning/exposure opportunity. Unless you really hate all animals - including endangered unique wildcats - then I don't really understand all the helper-hate I'm seeing for this particular game. Right, so, stepping off of my "use of wild animal helpers to promote conservation awareness" soapbox now. :# The graphics in this game are really lovely. The movement in cutscenes is really interesting; they play with perspective and try to have the "camera" move while panning something. This provides a cinematic feel that is quite new and enjoyable. A lot the story is still unanswered as of yet, but I like that - keep me guessing for awhile!! I wish I could comment on the whole thing when I'm done, but my job will preclude me from finishing for awhile #thus making my review less likely to be seen#. Anyway, the VISUALS are great. The music is actually quite lovely, although I hope there is more variation than I've seen thus far. Some of the minigames have been pretty challenging - but in a good way! And hey, being able to choose the difficulty of a minigame is a GREAT idea. I know it's been done before, but I don't encounter it often. Honestly, I have #almost# zero complaints thus far. I am bothered by the inability to customize the difficulty settings so that active areas on the map can be visible for any mode other than Casual. Heck, I don't need hint and skip at all if I have that "active area" map feature! Other than that, the gameplay has been smooth, appropriately paced, and with just enough questions to keep you going. Maybe this will be a five star and I just didn't know yet. The development and resolution of the storyline is what will elevate this game from a four to a five-star rating.
Date published: 2014-04-07
  • y_2019, m_9, d_20, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_20858, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Strokes: The Legend of the Snow Kingdom Collector's Edition

Enter the enchanted realm of the Snow Kingdom!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.