Off the Record: The Italian Affair Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Off the Record: The Italian Affair Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(480.80 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Enjoy a new episode in the Off the Record series! Are you willing to ditch your vacation plans to track down the most famous thief in Venice? He’s a slippery suspect who has outwitted the best police minds in Italy. You’ll soon discover that he won’t be easy to find even with your crack detective skills – because they don’t call him ‘The Fox’ for nothing…

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Watch the behind the scenes video
  • Collect morphing animals and letters throughout the game
  • Earn special Achievements
  • Get soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Try the available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1376 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Off the Record: The Italian Affair Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(480.80 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Off the Record: The Italian Affair Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 65.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FOR THE COLLECTOR SUMMARY: A fun game with lovely scenery, wonderful sounds, silhouette HOS, puzzles and mini-games of varying degrees of difficulty, and a LOT of collectibles in the CE. STORY: LaVolpe (the "fox") is a modern-day Robin Hood, reported to have stolen the Marco Polo relic from the Venice Museum. You play as a journalist who goes to Venice to uncover the true story. PLAY DEVELOPMENT: As you begin to explore Venice for evidence of the Fox, you encounter LaVolpe. He tells you he retired 5 years ago, but he still gives as much as he can to the unfortunates. However, his ex-partner (beautiful Gabrielle) is framing him for the theft. He needs you to help clear his game, but instead of being straightforward, he will only give you clues to find her. So lucky-you takes off for Venice. You encounter a HOS (silhouettes and interactive) and puzzles / mini-games (of varying degrees of difficulty) along the way. The ratio is largely in favor of the puzzles and mini-games. HOS are clearly defined and not very crowded. Puzzles are interesting and require the use of items you will find in the mini-games, HOS and lying around. ARTISTRY AND SOUNDS: Graphics are beautiful but occasionally could be more detailed. They reflect the beauty of Venice. Sounds are awesome - hear the water trickling, bells tinkling, et al. Very real sounding. Voice overs are pretty good (if you're looking lip syncs, don't unless you happen to speak the right language - the developers wouldn't change the lip movements just because they release in various languages). OTHER STUFF: There are 4 modes of difficulty, including one which you can customize. Dialogue is spoken and written. You also take pictures after you focus your camera. CE EXTRAS FOR THE COLLECTOR: There are a lot of collectibles: 36 souvenirs, 52 fox figurines, 16 letters, 8 audio tapes, 22 pictures and 10 travel guide pages. There are also achievements and morphing objects. So if you are a collector, this can be heaven!
Date published: 2014-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A phenomenal adventure and virtual tour of Venice! A very delightful experience! I have had the tour of my life! I actually felt like I was riding in the Gondola! My review is based on the completed CE version. This game is virtually beautiful in every way. Great storyline, magnificent graphics, a variety of HOGs, VOS awesome, game flow is excellent! Great cutscenes! What can I tell you! I respect and understand the reviewers who weren't too pleased with this game, but for me, it rocks! Load and loads of tasks to complete. An ingenious game that kept me engrossed the whole time. I didn't get bored once. That's saying something! The music, though repetitious, was lovely. After you complete the game, check out the extras and you will be able to download any of the music segments with titles. I particularly liked the one entitled, Discovery, which had somewhat of a brief Bond flavor. I also encourage you to read the credits after you complete the entire game. The EIPIX developers really outdid themselves on this one. It seems to me they really enjoy what they do. Very talented bunch! I found 41 of the 52 foxes, and most of the souvenirs and the letters, but in the extras you can finish what you missed. I played this in expert mode and did skip a few puzzles but you must be patient with some of them. Some tasks were easy and some were challenging. Great map, hint button and strategy guide if you needed it. I had a mop in my inventory for a while and thought, I'll probably be using it for some kind of spill. Nope! Butter knife was not for buttering your toast either. That may seem elementary but it was fun nevertheless. Bravo to the developers. This Italian-American thoroughly enjoyed the game and highly recommends the CE version to all.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very enjoyable mystery Great graphics and minigames. Storyline was believable, twists and turns not overdone. I like the customizable hint, skip, and difficulty options. Great job by Eipix.
Date published: 2014-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love all the extras! This game was so much better than it initially sounded. Lovely graphics, cut-scenes and voice-overs. The game was perhaps a little too easy - not really any challenge to it at all. What i liked best was all the extras. Three different sets of bonus items to find as well as morphing items. Even after the game you still had bonus souvenirs to collect, and a short puzzle to complete if you wanted to look at extras such as music etc. Storyline flowed well and made sense, but was totally predictable. Bonus game wasn't essential to the story, and was more of the same. Length of game was passable. Definitely recommend the CE for all the extra things to find.
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eccellente! This game is excellent! Beautiful graphics, nice music, great setting! Adventure, mystery, plot twist! Voice overs are nice, but some are lacking the Italian accent. Puzzles are challenging, but not super hard. HO scenes are moderately difficult. I like the option of customizable difficulty level. Overall, a fun game, very easy to fall into the story. As a side note... For cgi characters, some of them are cute! ;) Bravo developers/artists :)
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game I usually do not write reviews unless I really like a game. I loved this game. I actually played this game 3 times. I love the collectibles, morphing items and achievements.
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Influenced O one thing I want to say at the outset...if you push the ? to learn how to play a puzzle while the inventory is up also, you can not read the instructions as the two overlap. It took me a couple of tries to find that when the inventory is not up, one can open the instructions alone and read them. I have to admit that reading the reviews influenced me greatly in this purchase. However, that said, I have played the demo with my partner as we are wont to do...we both liked it, felt that it was straight forward, liked the variation on the H obj game part to be refreshing, are eager to do those puzzles we skipped for dealing with the time limit, and really felt comfortable and interested simultaneously with the game. With the weekend sale, it was a no brainer for purchasing it. Now if I can just get off the kick of doing the jigsaw puzzles and spend more time on doing all those hidden obj games I have in the "Q" to do...I might just get to do this one that I am really excited to get to LOL...
Date published: 2014-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unique Game really enjoying it I love murder mysteries , ghostly games, fantasy games, so I almost passed this game up thinking it would just be catching a thief. I found this Game to have everything I need in a game to keep it interesting, graphics, voices, animation, storyline. I love not going from one hidden object to another screen that breaks up the storyline for me. I enjoy everything about this game. I love Adventure, interactive hidden objects, hate random items on list especially non interactive. This game is NOT boring who do you believe between boyfriend/girlfriend in finding truth behind robbery.
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thoroughly enjoyed this! This game did everything well. I even appreciate the souvenir room. Going back to each scene gave me a chance to appreciate the artwork. It was quick without being dull. I am not always a fan of gamers forcing you to replay hogs or redo puzzles for achievements. This was left entirely to my discretion. The behind the scenes was a glimpse of what it would be to work in that environment. All good! The game was well planned and moved smoothly. even the bonus chapter was five star. Great Job!
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Great game, fun story, I have feeling that I was in Italy :) Must play.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun for everyone! Absolut fan of this game! I like the live actors in the cinematics, and the gameplay is just fine! The HO scenes are great, love the transition in that bell tower! Never seen that before. The art is really beautiful, I wanna to go to Italy now :) I'll track down that culprit, even if that's La Volpe himself! :)
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I like this game a lot! The setting (beautiful Venice), and the graphics are really nice! I played a lot of hopa games, but this one I love because it's so realistic. I enjoyed playing and listening the music! The credits are awesome, with those collectable pictures, that you can watch later in extras :) Even the credits are hopa :) I recommend this game to everyone, I just finished the demo, played with my kids, and they loved it too!
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Off The Record: Italian Affair CE I truly loved this game! The variety of different types of HOG and the storyline are great! Very beautiful artwork and very challenging if attempting to do the casual without using hints. I think they were really creative in the development of this game. Played it through three times on different levels just to challenge myself. Almost as good as an Easter Egg Hunt! !!! Highly recommend this game for all HOG lovers.
Date published: 2014-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great job!!! I really like this game, I like the features: the tape recorder, the camera (especially the camera)....There are a lots of achievements. They are really making an effort in this game. I like the credits a lot, the music is some fine rock'n roll :-) , great idea for the achievement in credits, with timeline pictures, I didn't see that in other games that I have played. Eipix is really doing a nice job, just continue like this :)
Date published: 2014-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Italian Affair Just finished this one!! The whole series as well as other games by these people are just great. The credits are a blast to read. Wonderful imagination these people have. The game is Very engrossing. Keeps you on the hunt. Give it a try and be sure to read the credits. A whole other story there.
Date published: 2014-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BUON GIORNO! A SUPERIOR PLEASANT GAME OF INTRIGUE! Five stars for a game that does not start off with a grisly murder scene or kidnapping theme. La Volpe--The Fox is suspected to have stolen a priceless piece of art in the magnificent city of Venice, Italy! Yay! Even veteran gamers will have to sit still for a brief tutorial and learn some of the game's mechanics. After practically sleeping through a seemingly endless number of over-rated 5-star review games, here is something unique and maybe a bit more challenging. Another Yay! You are a notable top journalist given the assignment of writing a story of the priceless theft and we get to fly off to enjoy beautiful Italy! Pass the bread sticks, please! Collectibles, puzzles and morphing objects--which even I don't mind finding--bold and brilliant colors abound in this game of cat-and-mouse. This game is to be enjoyed as much as a sumptuous plate of homemade spaghetti and meatballs--my specialty! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2014-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT! And the EXTRA'S are AMAZING Loved the game. Really loved it. But the best was the extra's. The behind the scenes and the photos. A glimps of the people who make the games we love and how they do it. I highly recommend this CE!!!
Date published: 2014-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Italian Affair is Off The Hook As an investigative reporter, you have been assigned to travel to Venice to follow up on the latest museum theft by La Volpe (the fox). After you arrive, you discover there is a twist to the story, as well as a mysterious woman who is stalking you. The first Off The Record - Linden Shades was a good, fairly long game with a strange story line dealing with powerful artifacts, rituals and forces. This one begins with the theft of one of those artifacts. As mentioned, this is set in Venice, and it is an extraordinarily clean, pristine and idealized version of the famous city. Oddly though, no one here has even a trace of an Italian accent. The heaviest accent detected during the trial was one that, if anything, sounded Swedish. There is lip synching of the dialog. That aside, the play is fairly standard with a plus: the hidden object scenes are multidimensional, sometimes panning through three or four mini-scenes. The difficulty level is fairly low, but they are so pleasing to look at that it can be forgiven. Puzzles and mini-games fit very well into the story, but were not as impressive as the hidden object scenes. There were some actions that required clicking in a precise spot as well. This being Italy, you also get to ride a motor scooter. The story advances slowly as you collect clues left by La Volpe as to the mystery behind this latest theft. The Collector's Edition is aptly named. There are four, that's right four, collectible items: foxes, scrolls, morphing objects, and letters of the alphabet. There are also achievements, pseudo-achievements and pseudo extras. The combination of artwork, game play and collectibles make this Affair worthy of strong consideration. This one may belong On The (game manager) Record.
Date published: 2014-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Dance !!!!! That is my feelings. Another fantastic game. I love the discounts. Sometimes a little expensive for me. I also hate to wait five days for games like this. Please give us more.
Date published: 2014-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a different adventure hidden object game with a twist which I enjoyed. You have to play it! An Excellent hidden object game
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definit purchase! This one is really good! Movie style and real personnages!
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Hidden Object Game I would like to give Eipix a 5 star rating on this one. They just keep getting better all the time. Great replay value. Diabolical with their clues! HOS that have large objects so you can actually see items, wonderful, no squinting! Beautiful graphics and music.
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ciao Bella! Another creative Eipix game comes to life with the sites and scenes of Venice, Italy. I enjoyed the beta of this game and it is even better now. You are a reporter chasing La Volpe - The Fox - a thief whom you meet at the Bell Tower to find he is being framed by his ex-partner Gabrielle, who is still in the theft business. You are supposed to clear his name, by following clues that really give you a flavor of Italy, from a trip via gondola to a motorcycle ride through the city. You are helped by a fox head hint button, an interactive map with activities marked, and a unique camera that requires different filters for different photographs. Your photo then becomes a clue to use to open a briefcase or whatever. The HOS are so much fun -- not too hard. Each one is unique, from multi-scene silhouettes, to pictures on paper that open up mini-HOS within the scene as well. The mini-games are pretty easy so far - have not had to skip yet! There is so much to do! You have 52 fox figurines - one in each scene, I think - with an icon on the screen to let you know if you've found the one in that scene. Also, there are 16 morphing letters, 10 travel guide pages, and 17 other morphing items as well. Your achievements are counted on screen also, so you can visit and see them. There is the regular CE bling of soundtracks, wallpaper, screensavers, art, puzzles, HOPs, strategy guide and bonus chapter. Plus - one of my favorites - a behind the scenes video and a souvenir room you cannot see until you finish the bonus game. Hope you will also enjoy it. Off to purchase!
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ah, Mystery - A Great Follow Up to the First Off the Record Off the Record the Italian Affair is another outstanding game by one of my favorite game developers. It seems like it wasn’t too long ago that EIPIX became a familiar name in the casual game industry and during that time they have, IMHO, presented some excellent games. Although “The Italian Affair” starts in a similar manner to final cut, another game by this developer, who can blame them from stealing one of their own ideas – lol. Once again we are an investigative reporter after a hot story – this time the target is La Volpe a renowned thief who has stolen a valued treasure. With a mysterious woman popping up now and again this proves to be an interesting adventure. I always love the exceptional graphics in an EIPIX game and coupled with all the bells and whistles of The Italian Affair, I am not disappointed. Not only are the graphics clear, they are beautiful and coupled with the voice overs and soundtrack we are in for a treat. Another thing I appreciate is that we have a custom mode available for gameplay and it is one that offers a variety of options. The gameplay tools are those that we normally find in HOPA games but not all of them are readily available. I was very surprised when I was chewing up demo time with the first HOP because I couldn't find something and when I attempted to use the hint button, I was told that it wasn’t yet available. I’ve never seen that before so I had to muddle my way through to find an item that was quite well hidden. Of course we have the HOPs that this developer normally includes in its games but as I mentioned above some of the items are challenging but the scenes themselves are terrific and have enough variety that they are not boring. I enjoy the incorporation of the progressive silhouette type scenes and those that also include mini-puzzles. We also have puzzles outside of the HOPs that we encounter during the gameplay and I always enjoy these. This developer often includes fairly easy puzzles that do become more challenging as we move forward with the adventure. The CE content for The Italian Affair is well worth the additional price for the game. We have several areas that are only available after the bonus game is completed – one being the Fox’s Den. There are tons of collectibles to find and many achievements to be earned. Throw in the pictures that we can paint after completing the bonus game and I believe we will find a lot to recommend purchase of the CE. I think that those who only purchase the SE will be missing a lot of what makes this game special. As much as I enjoyed the first Off the Record game, I believe that this game will be even better. The game has an excellent story and an air of mystery. Where Linden Shades was rustic, The Italian Affair is far more sophisticated. This game is a visual feast and I am sure that I will have several hours absorbed in the atmosphere of Italy as I make my way through the adventure. Although this game is an instant purchase for me, I recommend that you at least try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Robin Hood Of The Art World Fantastic! You're in for a treat today, this is a very entertaining game, off the Record, of course. The extras seem to keep coming as the game progresses, there are 10 travel guide pages to collect, 16 letters of the alphabet, 17 morphs, and 52 collectible fox figurines, I have a feeling this is just the tip of the iceberg. You are investigating a story about an art thief dubbed the Fox, who has come out of retirement, but wait, there's a crazy lady following you! She claims it's the Fox, the Fox claims it's the crazy ex-lover framing him! This game has a real quality about it, everything is so realistic, from the people all the way down to the pigeons. You will earn achievements, for not using the hint button or even finishing a mini game quickly. You will have slots in the panel for different business cards, press cards etc. to allow you to access them quickly and there are slots for fox collectibles, maps and even a camera which is a mini game in itself. When you use the camera, you need to put buttons on the correct setting, then focus the picture using a top and bottom button and once in focus you click the button to take the picture. There are a lot of mini games, some quite simple, some take some tinkering. Simple puzzles like following directions to make an Italian ice cream, or ringing bells in the correct order as shown on a music sheet, these are easy and fun. Other puzzles such as turning 2 different discs with partial pictures in three sections, this takes a few minutes to figure out how many frames are turning per click and adjusting both sections so they synchronize up. The HOS are mostly progressive interactive silhouettes where you find the first item that matches the silhouetted shape and use that item in the scene, for example finding a letter opener and using that letter opener to open an envelope which exposes the next object and so forth. I was thoroughly entertained by this game, go ahead and check this one out, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Who's the Baddy?" La Volpe is back from retirement it appears and you are sent to Venice to track him down. But all is not what it seems: * a mysterious employer * a strange woman questioning who you should trust Who will you believe in your quest to uncover the truth and get your 'scoop'? A full on CE with so much to seek and collect that doubtless some will be put off. Not me though, I love having to take the time to find things and, in the main, they are not impossibly hidden. It slows down the gameplay, yes, but it also stretches it out and stops me from barrelling through in my haste to uncover the story. Four choices of challenge - Casual/Expert/Insane/Custom. I always play trials on Casual but will step up when I play again. As said above, this game is dripping with CE bling: * Travel Guide pages * Fox figurines * Letters * Morphing objects * Achievements to earn, although I wish there wasn't one for playing the tutorial. Anyone but an absolute beginner cannot therefore win the 'earn all' achievement :-(( From the demo, it seems that HOSs outweigh puzzles and, again, this will disappoint many players. HOSs are various so far: * All silhouettes so far but... * Find -> use -> find ->use * Find 4 then 'transport' to further HOSs to find more * Mini HOSs and puzzles within objects Puzzles are a good range with some requiring a lot of thought/logic to succeed. Tools to help: * A jump map which, in casual, shows active areas * A camera with filters to collect and use as the situation requires. I always get a frisson of excitement when I hear this developer's intro music. They have never yet disappointed me. All in all, this is right up my street and, fingers crossed for a weekend sale, will be joining my collection. If not, still reckon it's worth the money though. Try it and I hope you love it as much as I do.
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gloriously Artful BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS In a word. Beautiful. All of it. Everything about it. From the first seconds, this game is beautiful. And classy. And extremely professional. In a different league, really, to the first Off The Record, which was a great game, but for reasons that didn’t specifically include the beautiful art and sound. Everything works. The opening cut scenes are interesting, in an investigative journalist way, not insane crashes or wild witchery, and beautifully crafted. Venice is, of course, a great location if you want to showcase some artwork of your own. The sound tracks are also great. The music is mostly light and airy, gentle – creating an atmosphere that is delicate with a whiff of intrigue. But there is plenty of variety. The voiceovers are excellent. Again with that Eipix signature dialogue device, lip synched cameo shot, with the larger shot still. I loved the sound of gulls. It never occurred to me to think of gulls in Venice, but of course, it makes perfect sense. WHAT’S HAPPENING? You are the journalist who investigated Linden Shades (first Off The Record game), now famous. Le Volpe, The Fox, an art thief who allegedly retired 5 years ago, has committed another heist at the Museum in Venice. You are supposed to be going there for a holiday, but your boss has got a lead, and you would never knock back a chance to find this character, who has managed to remain both anonymous and at large. So you’re off on a working holiday now, with little time for the sights. The story has some interesting twists almost immediately. You’ll have to keep on your toes. GAMEPLAY This is easy gameplay for the most part, there’s plenty of help with a directional hint, and interactive jump map. The map has spectacular aerial shots of the locations. Lockable inventory. Journal with notes. Later, tapes with interesting historical info. You also have a camera. This is used in specific situations where it can, with the help of an acquired special filter, and via a mini-game, reveal otherwise hidden information. There are also inventory plus items that combine or require extra actions. HOPs: all silhouettes so far, but... one is progressive interactive, another is replace the silhouetted objects, another has zoom in windows with mini-word lists. Some, the scene involves only 4 or 5 objects, cuts to another place and another small silhouette list. I preferred the panning found in other Eipix games. Puzzles, not many and none that I’d call hard. Which means too easy for the hard core crowd. Way too easy. But there are 3 difficulty levels, plus a custom level. You receive useful cards, such as press pass, which are kept in a separate section of the inventory. Adventure play is straightforward, intuitive mostly, but fun. Plenty to do. I love the interface, but it is a little crowded, with journal, achievements, collectibles indicator, menu, and guide on the left and map, useful cards, hint, camera, and I’m sure at least one other thing I have forgotten on the right. I found myself backing out when I didn’t want to, or pressing the wrong thing if I got sloppy. CE BLING! There is so much fun to be had after the game that it’s almost too complex to explain. Collectibles: 36 fox figurines. Not easy. I did not find one! 10 travel guide pages. 16 letters of the alphabet. Morphing objects in the HOPs – I forget how many. I found one. All the other beauty is definitely distracting. Achievements, lots of both performance and story. Displayed from main menu in a gallery in the museum, also accessed from the journal. I like the way the achievements are grouped together by type into different show cases or other furnishings. Gallery items: Wallpapers, screensaver?, concept art, music. Making of photos and behind the scenes video. Even pix in the credits, according to my understanding of one of the achievements. Replayable HOPs (10), and puzzles (30)!, which are accessed by a simple puzzle. An in-game SG of course, the bonus chapter, and an area in the extras called the Terrace, which I’m guessing is a souvenir room for the other 36 collectibles. COMBINED IMPACT A glorious game filled with beauty, art and intrigue. A high brow and more sedate version of “Smithsonian Hope Diamond”.
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Molto Bene!!! As investigative reporter, your vacation is abruptly cut short with a phone call beckoning you to Venice where the infamous thief La Volpe (The Fox) has struck again. A relic has been stolen from the Museum and you find yourself following clues that lead you to right to The Fox. According to his story, he has been in retirement for five years and is being framed by an ex partner, Gabriella. He has laid out clues that you need to follow in order to trap the real culprit and once again make headlines. Once again these developers do not disappoint with their stunning graphics, beautiful artwork, well acted voice-overs and special affects. When I see a game begin with a message to turn up the volume, I know that I need to done the earphones and prepare myself for a real treat. Although I do have to mention that the beginning of the game is intensely familiar; being a journalist and meeting a stranger at a café, opening a box with a message in it. Did we not just do that recently in Final Cut? I am sure some will complain that we are seeing a pattern here with storylines and game mechanics, which seems to be apparent with many game developers. However, I find that I enjoy these types of HOPA games and have yet to become bored of them so I continue to add them to my collection. I suppose one day I will tire of them and look towards something new. We begin with three modes of difficulty with customized settings added on. Game tools include a journal, jump map and a special camera to use on certain scenes (which we have also seen). There are a variety of Hidden Object Scenes to play, some with silhouettes and actions that need to be taken, some with mini games involved and some with standard list of items to locate; all easy to solve but entertaining non the less. Puzzles are plenty and there is a lot of backtracking to do but the map will help out with that. Mini-games are interesting but not very challenging which is something I wish developers would consider in the future. Extras are plenty to boot and for those who enjoy them, you won’t be disappointed. There is a list of collectables that includes travel guide papers, photos, fox figurines and letters that make out a word in the main menu. There are achievements to earn as well as a souvenir room which will probably require you visiting scenes to find an object at the end of the game. There are also extra puzzles and HO scenes to play along with the bonus game. Yes, I realize we have seen all this before and I anticipate we will be seeing more of these games; that is unless developers come up with something completely different. Still I liked the story and the scenery as well as the game play. Although I do wish they had made The Fox look a bit more interesting as he looks like a regular Joe. An Italian affair has adventure, intrigue and some interesting puzzles and I will be buying it once I come across a sale on Ces. Have a great week-end everyone.
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good little game Enjoyed playing, but not my cup of tea.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun, but story plot predictable This was a fun HOG. Lots of hidden objects and not so much puzzles which I prefer. However, the puzzles were easy. The plot however, was very predictable, but this was still a good game to play.
Date published: 2014-07-21
  • y_2019, m_4, d_19, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_65
  • loc_en_US, sid_20863, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Off the Record: The Italian Affair Collector's Edition

Track down the wily Fox’ before he slips away into the beauty of Venice!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.