The Secret Order: Ancient Times Collector's Edition
Exclusive

The Secret Order: Ancient Times Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(442.44 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

You have been summoned to the headquarters of the Order of the Griffin, but the place is in a state of chaos when you arrive. The artifacts you recovered in your last adventure have become unstable, breaking down reality and trapping your father! Now you must travel back in time to destroy the artifacts before the reaction destroys the world. Can you track down the mysterious kingdom where the artifacts were made and save the future from destruction? Hop aboard the Royal Griffin to find out in this thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Save Aeronheart from a dangerous force in the bonus game!
  • Gorgeous wallpapers and concept art
  • Replayable puzzles and mini-games
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1445 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Secret Order: Ancient Times Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(442.44 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
The Secret Order: Ancient Times Collector's Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GORGEOUS! This is a stunningly beautiful game. Artwork is full and rich and minutely detailed. Lovely color palette. Great storyline, interesting characters; kings and fairies, trolls and elves. (Who doesn't love having their own griffin to ride all over the kingdom?) Decent voiceovers. Unintrusive music. I played off and on for several days so it seemed like a long game to me. I don't often buy CE's, but I got a deal and glad I did. The bonus material on this one was entertaining and fun, though not as long as I'd have liked. All that being said, I felt that the HOS's were too easy as were the mini games. I'm always looking for a higher level of challenge and although the story was involved and challenging, puzzles were not. Transitions between screens was sluggish but not a big deal. I played on advanced so didn't use the hint button much. There is a baby griffin to help you get items that are out of reach, a terrific map and a running diary. I really enjoyed this game and recommend it!
Date published: 2014-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Secret Order! The original Secret Order is nicely summarized at the beginning of this game to establish the setting and the premise, so even if you didn't play the original, it is OK. You are Sarah Pennington, and you and your father belong to the Order of the Griffin and you're summoned to headquarters to find your father and other members in danger, caused by ancient artifacts that come to life. You must travel back in time to 1896 to the London Griffin Museum before it is burned down by Master Blackfire. You must find King Amadan and his mysterious kingdom of Aeronheart to destroy the ancient artifacts. Got all that? What I enjoy about this game is the theming. You feel like you are in 19th century London - even though you arrived there by the Royal Griffin time travelling ship! The voice overs are British and you travel via horse and carriage over cobblestoned streets. You have to find and charge a "time stone" in order to use the ship. Of course you eventually meet up with your Pet Griffin, who helps you with those higher up areas. I need one of these in my house! The teleporting map is very nice, marking your activities available, in casual mode. There are three modes of play -- no custom, however. The HOS in the demo were all lists, with the exception of a very small assembly one. You can choose to play a Mahjong game instead. The minigames were fun -- particularly one in storybook form where you have to use items within the scene to eventually advance the knight to save the princess from the dragon. I also like the card matching one -- easy, but fits the story. There are 12 collectible golden dragons, 12 turquoise unicorns, and 12 amethyst griffins -- easy to spot because of color. There is a Bonus Chapter, a Strategy Guide - not needed if you use the map and Hint Flower Button. Also the normal CE Bling of wallpaper, art, sound, movies, and mini-games. And an achievement room with items pertinent to the game. While it doesn't have as much to do as other CEs, I purchased and enjoyed the previous Secret Order CE, so I trust this one will be a good buy as well. Try it and see!
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You are in for a treat I tested this game months ago and have been waiting for the full version to come out. It is a truly great game,far superior to many HOGs and with really interesting variations on the usual formats. Graphics superb, story grabs straight away. Hope you all enjoy it. I know I am going to!
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Fun This game was gorgeous. The storyline was engaging and I had a clear sense of what tasks needed to be done. There also weren't a ton of hidden objects scenes and the few they had were well done. The map was also very good. I can't think of anything bad to say. Just superb and really long too. I definitely got my money's worth.
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite This is a great game. Graphics, challenge, the mahjong tiles are exquisite. The main thing that I like about this one is that not only is it really long, the chapters are set in such a way that it makes it perfect to play for an hour or so, then stop as you change locations. Not like others in which I easily forget where I am if I stop and start again <senior moment, perhaps> Someone in the forum asked about morphing objects, I didn't find any reference to them or find any of them in the game.
Date published: 2014-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Hidden Gem If you want value for money this is the game for you it has collectibles ,a map which is always useful ,fantastic bonuses ,loads of puzzles not to difficult but make you think. There are so many levels to this game.I kept getting newer games and enjoying them usually unload when I am finished but this I will keep and play and not use map worth the challenge hence Hidden Gem
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exiting advanture game This game is fabulous. Could play for hours.
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Updated review after second time through I first played this as an SE in 2014. Today I replayed the game and started to submit a 5 Star review. To my surprise I found I had already given the game a 4 Star review after the first time through. The game is five years older so why would I enjoy it so much more? Because I just played the first two games in the series, and the storyline in this third game now had more meaning to me - it made all the difference between 4 and 5 Stars. Since I can't resubmit a review for the SE, I am doing so for the CE, which has to be even more worthy of the rating. (You'll have to decide for yourself if it is worthy of the extra cost.) As always, try before you buy! As the disparate ratings prove, we all bring different expectations to a game.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally, a nice challenge! Hi all. Well, another addition in the Secret Order series. I have the first two and did not find that either of them warranted a CE. This one is different. Awesome intro into the game, pulls you in right away. Excellent graphics and game play, no problems. Animation is very nice, with voice overs fitting the characters that actually have some "emotion" to their voices. Music wasn't too bad, but I always turn it down unless there are no sound FX. This game has very nice sound FX that change with whatever is happening in the game at the time...makes it more believable. There is a jump map that is quite helpful and areas are identified very well #you don't have to guess where something is#. SG is the standard, but a bit fuzzy. Hint system is quite helpful, so you really don't need to use the SG. Hint fills fairly quickly. You get a very helpful griffin as well, for the "higher" places you can't reach. I'm not positive, but it sounded like he was humming while he waited for me to use him...maybe it was me and I just didn't know it. HOPs are the usual, with standard and find the parts and pieces. Items are not hard too find, but some are a little too small to jump out at you. The skip button seemed quite slow on the charge. You can switch to Mahjong, which I don't particularly care for. Puzzles were the usual, but with a bit of a twist to make them different and fun. They aren't as easy as you think and some take a few minutes of thought to complete. I found them quite enjoyable and challenging for a change. There are a number of achievements and collectibles to find as well, e.g. #12 of each# golden dragons, amethyst griffins and turquoise unicorns. These are not as easy to find as most, but not difficult if you pay attention. They are a little small. You had to find runes to travel to another time period. Not sure this is throughout the game or what yet. They were very easy to spot. Even though I did not buy the CE on the first two games, I found that I really did enjoy this one and it was challenging enough to keep me interested throughout the demo. I do have the need to play it though and see what happens, so a definite buy for me. I think this will appeal to all levels of players, especially the advanced player who wants more challenge. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Visual Feast of Mythical Proportions Based on whole game and bonus - Be Warned, Spoilers Possible. Everyone has already put the story into words so well, so I'll just concentrate on my likes and dislikes throughout my experience. If you like your games packed to the hilt with things to do and find, and enjoy a fantasy world full of mythical creatures, kings and queens, legends of folklore, Greek Gods thrown in, and fantastical castles with terrific animation (but without the sickly sweet of the usual prince/princess fairytale story), then I think you'll like this. The graphics on my screen are outstanding and attention to detail is astonishing (have a look at the intricate carvings in the Achievement Room and you'll see what I mean). It's not surprising, really. These devs are using the software made by Artifex Mundi. Playing on Windows 7 I had no problems throughout at all. The teleport map was very fast with seamless transitions and no freezing problems anywhere from start to finish. There is an awful lot going on here. You have the 3 sets of collectibles to find (36 altogether). They can be in main scenes or in secondary pop-up windows. Because of their distinctive colours, it's not difficult to pick them out. All collectibles end with the main game. You receive a Golem's heart which requires crystals in order to charge to reanimate increasingly stronger objects and statues. You also have spheres that need to be charged along the way in the main game and you travel to other worlds when you have found tokens to take you there. Then, there are the achievements which are a bit disappointing. There are 22 in all, but only really 4 are skill based (very simple to achieve), the rest (including the 5 in the bonus) are story based so you'll get them anyway. It disappointed me that the one time I achieve and collect everything there was no award for that. This game is heavy on the puzzles - I counted 28 in the main game, 13 in the bonus as opposed to only 10 HOPs in main game and 4 in the bonus. I found the puzzles extremely easy - a few (found in the bonus) I'd even hesitate to call puzzles at all. HOPs were fairly uncluttered and items easy to spot. The main game ends as dramatically as it began and it was a good ending. I thought, from what Sarah said right at the end, I knew where the bonus was leading me. I was wrong. It takes you on yet another trip with more mythical creatures so her hint was probably aimed at the next Secret Order. Recommended!
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Secretly; I like this order Great story. Got me kicked into high gear as soon as the music and the tumbling archway. I only found the one flower when tutorial showed me that one and never found another flower there after. Found other things. The griffin and then I think it was a unicorn later. Well the collectables are really hard to find or just not there. The puzzles and activity were great. Love the game the atmosphere it presented and the characters too even though they were mostly gloomy. Oh my first HO which the HO's were good, but trying to find the fifth coin which looked like a lady statuette was holding in her hand held out. Would not allow me to take it so never did find that fifth coin. Had to play Mahjong my favorite game and theirs was a mean looking one. I liked it. Goes on my list to buy.
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well worth playing This is the third installment in The Secret Order game series. It's not necessary to have played the first two in order to enjoy this one, although some characters are the same as in the prior two games. This is a fun adventure-lite game, with HOPs included for those who enjoy them; and the story is a nice blend of genres. It's clear to me that the developer of this game put a lot of time and effort into it. I wanted to include this additional note for players: for some reason, the second game in the series, The Secret Order: Masked Intent Collector's Edition, is not included on the Collector's Edition page that lists all CEs that have been released - but if you do a search under all PC games or go to the Hidden Objects Games page, it is listed there. If you play the demo of The Secret Order: Ancient Times and you enjoy it, I would definitely recommend the second game as well (I haven't played the first game in the series - yet). Give the demo a try and see what you think. Happy gaming. :-)
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Welcome home to me! This game is a stand alone-sequel to 'The Secret Order: Masked Intent' and employs the same basic premise; you must travel back in time via the magical ship 'The Royal Griffin'. This time it is to destroy artifacts that have become unstable and are threatening to destroy the world. Excellent graphics and music Story is nothing new, but is well done Strategy guide HOS can be switched into mahjong game, which is always a plus for me Lots of collectibles: 12 amethyst griffins, 12 golden dragons, 12 turquoise unicorns, plus you adopt a baby griffin who can reach things for you. There are also achievements, the standard " finish a puzzle in 3 minutes" etc I was hooked by the opening, especially the dramatic soundtrack. Loved, loved, loved it! I played the entire demo and was disappointed when it finished. After travelling for 3 months, and only having sporadic internet, I was happy to find a game I wanted almost as soon as I got home, so this is a definite buy for me! As always, play the demo and decide for yourself. We all have different taste, and the demo is there for a reason.
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from VAGUE The only reason I'm giving 3 stars instead of 4 is because the directions on 3 of the puzzles were so vague as to be useless. After rereading the instructions, I still didn't know what the goal or how it worked and therefore had to skip them.
Date published: 2014-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just Not My Cup of Tea If you haven't played the previous Order game, you get enough info at the beginning of this one that it can be a standalone game in and of itself. The game picks up where the last one ended, you are sent back in time by your father, who apparently was caught in some kind of energy blast (not explained very well). You find your way out to the pair where an old ship awaits and whisks you to 19th century London. Along the way, you meet many characters who will help you, but you have to provide them with something first. (Nothing in life is free). The hint button takes a bit to recharge. There is a map, strategy guide and, oh, you have to find the "flower" before your hint button will work. Takes a little bit of time but overly much. You also get a journal that keeps your notes as well as objectivesc handy. There are numerous achievements to acquire and in addition to a helpful pet griffin, you need to collect along the way 36 griffins - 12 in each of the following colors: amethyst, gold and I believe teal. Not sure if one is in every scene or not - I found a few during the demo but not in every scene I visited. The HOs varied and the mini games went from easy to a bit hard (for me). I did tend to hit "skip" a lot to get more into the gameplay. All in all not a bad game. I did not play the previous game - again, not my cup of tea. If I don't get the "wow" factor at the end of the demo I just won't purchase it. The temptations were there - love those collectible griffins and the little cutie who's your pet/helpmate. But, at the end of this demo I just went, oh ok, instead of the "OH NO!" that I like to feel when the free trial is over. I would recommend this game from beginners to experts. This Glam-ma says you can't lose by trying the demo - IT'S FREE! Just not for me. Have fun.
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from very ordinary There were no surprises here. They just dialed in the typical stuff to find and the way to find it. And threw in some unicorns and dragons to find as extras. Just no excitement and the puzzles were hard to figure out how to do, not that they were hard to do, but try to put a mirror where it belongs and it does not go and then suddenly another mirror does..who knows why? That sort of nonsense just does not charm me at all. O and you have a friend griffin looks like a parrot and over and over it simply gets things that are too high to get. Has a problem tugging them off too, the same problem each time. and there were some things in the dark but most things were clear enough, just hate when I have to click an area to see if there is something there that I can not see. Seems sort of mindless and dull. O well maybe some of you will like it...try it of course and see or not for yourself
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Quite There Yet As an another reviewer stated, not too keen on the previous games of the series but I decided to try this one anyway. Im sorry, but for me it just doesn't cut it. The graphics are poor considering the other developer's games. The storyline seemed good, but the for me, the graphics kills it. I'll usually stick it out for the full demo hour unless it's really bad. I got 20 mins into this one and it still didn't grab me. Sorry, but like the others of this series, this is not a buy for me. I really wanted to like it.
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is an ok game. This a great game for a HOP beginner. The graphics were pretty and the soundtrack was nice but the puzzles were so simplistic. I played the entire game in 4 hours including the bonus game play. If you want a brainless day of playing then this the game for you. If the puzzles were a little more challenging it would have been a more worth while game. I was having to force myself to stay awake at times. If you decide to embark on this adventure, you've been warned. You'll need caffeine.
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK, but not exciting I remember the 1st and it wasn't special either, but I did purchase. Graphics are tired, story not exciting, challenge is ok on puzzle and HOs were semi-tough. I may give this one another try when the SE comes out, but it didn't hold my interest to the point of "I can't wait to get back to the story to find out how it ends"; I definitely can wait. SE may be good for a boring rain day....we'll see later. I am recommending to new players but not those who have been spoiled by the well written, exciting games that have come out.
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So much promise, but no! It started out so great then just went lackluster. The graphics got worse, with not enough animation, and it just go boring. The storyline was ok, but just the same as any other. It could have been so much better if they kept the momentum going from the beginning. I did not particularly enjoy this game.
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A not so fun game Very disappointed in this game. The visuals were not sharp and reaction time of the cursor was slow to say the least. I only played the demo, but was glad I had not purchased the game. The HOPs were the same old, same old tired version of looking for objects with only one or two needing you to find scissors to cut boxes open, or missing pieces of objects. All in all the storyline was dull. Some of the mini games were well done, but took too much time away from demo play. I can't recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-10-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from sigh I loved the first game of this series.. not sure if I played the second?.. but this one just seems tired. Gone are the crisp bright graphics. Everything here is brown, brownish red and purple. And small. The storyline started out okay but then became a series of find these pieces to get that. over and over. It might have been better with some talking from her but I often forgot what I was doing and why. This is missing, back forth back forth. We hardly use the ship, tired old mini games.. two turn the pipes games for example and some rather silly stuff. Put down a piece of cheese to get the mouse to scare the elephant to drop a bottle. right okay. I dunno. There was no flow here, no drama, no excitement. Just a very long series of it's missing and lots of back and forth back forth back forth.. find this piece for that.. this is now missing, find this piece for that, this is now missing. . It almost put me to sleep several times. Not much for achievements. mostly just for playing the game. Some collectibles. These guys needed to inject some life into this game. For me it just made me wonder why I was doing this.
Date published: 2014-06-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't like this game.... I remember the last one in this series, and I didn't buy that one either. I found the HOPs just run of the mill junk pile, the puzzles were ok but nothing amazing and the music drove me nuts so turned it off. The graphics were fuzzy too. Too much chit chat and too many cut scenes, the story was boring and the game play slow because of the ongoing chit chat etc. I decided to play 'hardcore mode', but still had hand holding black bar tips. The hint system was good, and the skip refilled at a good speed for the mode I chose. I find it very hard not to buy CEs, but this one I didn't want. I played until the hour trial was up. The items you find (as in the last game in this series) are too similar in shape and colour. Once again a cute creature to help you, and some collectables. Don't know what it is about these games, but don't make me want to rush home to continue playing them. I'm sure it'll appeal to some though.
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fuzzy everything I did not bother playing this game for more than 30 minutes. It really sends you back in time - initially I thought it was developed for MSDOS based computers because its graphics simply looks awful. It is so fuzzy so that you cannot simply see anything. Even the cursor looks oversized and it does not blend into scenery. Storyline is very average featuring nothing new but old back-and-forth gameplay. HOS scenes are very foggy also. At the end of the 30 minute gameplay I simply fell asleep in front of the computer. Dah.
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Bored! Well you can't please everyone and this one did not. Was very bored through out the trial and kept hoping my time was up.I would say try it first.
Date published: 2014-05-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sorry purchase !!!! I did try it out. I needed just something to pass the time. That is all. I wish it was on sale. I would have not been so mad. Seeing the hidden object was my only reason to buy. Still waiting for the so great ones. Bring them on.
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work in Windows 8.1 with Pen I downloaded this as a top-rated game, but it can't find a setting where it will recognize pen/finger input. The opening graphics look magnificent, but try before you buy!
Date published: 2014-07-07
  • y_2020, m_11, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_20864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Secret Order: Ancient Times Collector's Edition

Destroy artifacts in the past to preserve the world’s future!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.