Tales of Terror: House on the Hill Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Tales of Terror: House on the Hill Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(398.21 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

When you signed up for a ghost tour at an old estate, you were just hoping to spend some time with your sister, who loves the paranormal. But the brochure never mentioned the real danger you would encounter the second the doors close behind you. Walls shift and corridors expand, creating a terrifying maze that separates you from your sister. Now you must outwit dangerous traps and find a way out before the house claims another victim. Summon your courage and get ready for thrills in this Hidden Object Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Play the bonus game to rescue the remaining survivors!
  • Available comprehensive Strategy Guide
  • Collect hidden heart medallions in every scene
  • Concept art, wallpapers, and a soundtrack

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 901 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Tales of Terror: House on the Hill Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(398.21 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Tales of Terror: House on the Hill Collector's Edition is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 72.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very original game The story is fresh, the gameplay is clear and easy, actors are perfect, voiceovers are normal. The game becomes slower after 2 hours of playing but if you exit the game and then run it again the performance becomes good again.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very enjoyable, good storyline! It is a very enjoyable game, sort of on the line of the "HOUSE on Haunted Hill Movie". I can't wait to purchase and find out what happens. Do all the missing persons over time get saved or just the few with your group. What is it about this Scary House?? If you like Horror Movies. books or games, I think this ones for you.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from KrEEpy KEWL Based on the Demo I thought it was awesome, and no need to say anymore, you will just have to check it out for yourself ... things that go bump in the night, and Wicked Kewl sounds, I kept looking over my shoulder and making sure all the door were LOCKED! Bahahahah !!!
Date published: 2014-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from challenging fun game really enjoyed the game with real characters too! with brain testing puzzles I will enjoy playing this game again!
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This would have made a nice "B" grade horror movie! I kept expecting to see Vincent Price pop in at any minute (kidding) . Characters were realistic and believable. Title is enough to get your interest. Minigames were challenging and varied. HOS were a bit too easy, but overall I enjoyed this game. It was worth a CE and I did on occasion look into the strategy guide.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! This is an all-around great game. Beautiful, moody graphics and environments, a creepy and entertaining mystery, nice atmospheric music, lots of hidden object scenes and a good amount of fun but challenging puzzles. It also offers collectables, achievements and a mapping system that's easy to use. If you like haunted mysteries set in creepy old mansions, this is the game for you. Can't wait for the sequel!
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game, enjoyed playing Nice little story..your on a ghost tour and when you arrive things go terribly wrong. The effects are fun, while not mind blowing its really enjoyable. I was kept interested throughout the game, mini games were fun with some level of difficulty but no real stumper's. Map was nice and made traveling through the game easy and fast. Overall ki really liked it, music was not annoying, bright enough to see. i look forward to the seqeul!
Date published: 2014-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game, i really enjoyed it! I think it can easily have sequels later on.. reminded me a bit of the house with the 1000 doors, but then it became something completely different. the map really helps get around. most enjoyable game!
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Great Graphics, Sound & Frilly Bits ... A Great Bit Of Entertainment, And The Flow Into The Bonus Scene Was Very Fluid ... I Got Mine On Special, So Very Happy With The Value For Money ...
Date published: 2014-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hounted Train: Frozen in Time Collectors Edition Good game, but Too much talking, graphics are good, should be a little more challenging.
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting Game This latest Tale of Terror is the usual Hidden Object/Puzzle Solving/Find Bonus Items game. It does have an interesting storyline and a good bonus chapter. What I truly like about it is the fact that, in the bonus chapter, you see two or three rooms in the house from a different point of view since you are playing the bonus chapter as a different character. I haven't seen this in any other game I've played on here. I recommend this game if you enjoyed the other Tales of Terror.
Date published: 2014-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'll wait for the SE. I'm sort of sick of collectibles and morphing objects. Tales of Terror: House on the Hill CE Review based on Completed Demo PREFACE… Who doesn't love a haunted house? This is a new twist on the "missing relative" genre of HOPAs, and I'll admit I was pulled in. There are resemblances to the movie "The Haunting," based on Shirley Jackson's "The Haunting of Hill House." ONCE UPON A TIME... You and your sister Hope, who loves the paranormal, sign up for a tour of a haunted house, reported as having appeared out of the ether several month ago. As you enter, the doors slam behind you, the rooms begin morphing, and you and Hope are separated. You periodically glimpse a hooded figure who continually balks your progress with traps as you attempt to find Hope and escape the house. Further, you encounter others also trapped, and one who states he's been trapped for years! What's going on? Can all this be part of the tour? Or are there darker forces at work? PLAY THE GAME... Since the rooms morph and the hooded figure sets traps for you, things are constantly changing, and that presents a new challenge for adventure mode. Just when you think you can move on…boom! Something new to figure out. The HO scenes are interactive and the puzzles, at least thus far, are unique. SIGHTSEEING… Beautiful graphics in stunning colors and textures abound. Animations are smooth and lifelike, and live actors do a great job of adding to the immersive experience. SOUND WAVES… The music is appropriate, but not outstanding. Environmental sounds are done well, and voiceovers are excellent. TOOLBOX… You have a jump map with the current objective noted (but not available actions), a journal to narrate the story and note clues, and a lockable inventory. EXTRA, EXTRA… Extras include a bonus game in which you rescue the other survivors, the SG, heart medallion collectibles integrated in every scene, and the developer's portfolio. THE LAST WORD… I've kind of outgrown the collectibles, achievements, and morphing objects at this point. To me, they're just distraction from playing the game. I generally don't make use of anything in the developer's portfolio, unless the music is truly epic. So I have to say that the bonus game and SG aren't enough for me to purchase the CE here. I will get the SE when it's released, though.
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not so much hand holding.... Not the best of graphics, no academy award winners here for their acting, not a bunch of bling (which I do not care for), not too many HOS and a few puzzles. I enjoyed playing this game! I like to play a game where there is not too much hand holding and you actually have to think or remember where to go to use a item. You have 46 hearts you can find during game play and continues in bonus game. I of course I only found 45. Only one short! How frustrating!:) No need though, since you do not do anything with them. A fun game to play to me!:)
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game - Just Not a CE Let me begin by sharing a “secret”. Many reviewers, including myself, get a head start on our reviews by playing the beta test of a game. When I played the beta for Tales of Terror House on the Hill, I found the game to be only so-so with nothing memorable that would make it a game that I would ordinarily enjoy. In fact, I had a difficult time playing for a short time without almost falling asleep. That being said, I am very happy to report that some changes have been made since the beta to spice up the game, and I actually find that it is much better than I originally anticipated. I will not give a synopsis of the story only to say that there is a mystery involving a haunted museum on the hill. In the past many visitors to the museum have disappeared and the museum was closed for a period of time. Now that the museum has re-opened for business, foul deeds are once again afoot and we must rescue our sister who has become a victim of the “ghost.” The graphics in Tales of Terror House on the Hill are generally very good and set the scene for our ghostly adventure. Many times I don’t enjoy live actors in a game but their use in this game is very good and adds to the overall quality. In some games with live actors the devs have not even made an attempt at lip-syncing but not so with this game, since all of our characters are lip-synced. Overall the entire sound package is excellent and adds a lot to the quality of the game. There is not much to add to what other reviewers have mentioned about the tools or other options in the game, so I am not going to go over them again but what I do want to comment on are the puzzles. Finally we seem to have a game with well thought out puzzles and I am doing my happy dance. The puzzles included thus far in the game have been different than the usual run of the mill type we find in most games. Some of them even seem a bit more difficult up-front, which normally doesn’t happen in HOPA games because the developers might not want to scare people off from purchasing their games. Not so here, we have excellent puzzles that require some thought and at the same time serve a purpose and are quite entertaining. Now comes the difficult part and here is where I have to admit that Tales of Terror House on the Hill falls far short of expectations. IMHO, this is not a CE worthy game and doesn’t come close. Granted it is a very good game but it doesn’t meet the mark of what I want or require in a CE. The major downfall here is that there is no strategy guide to be found, and I have no idea what’s up with that. If there is no strategy guide, then this game in no way deserves the CE label – end of story. The developer just might have made a grave mistake by not including a strategy guide, if there is one available, in the demo. If a developer expects to sell a CE game at a higher cost, then they must include the strategy guide since there is no justification for its absence. There are many things I like about Tales of Terror House on the Hill, and one of those is the great story. That being said, the lack of a strategy guide gives this game a much lower score as a CE. I hardly ever use the guide in a game but I have come to expect its inclusion in a CE gams. As an SE game I would give House on the Hill very high marks but when it comes to being a CE, I say save your money. For me the CE is a no buy even at the sale price today. I will wait and definitely purchase the SE since Tales of Terror House on the Hill is a good game, it’s just not a CE. As always, I recommend that you at least try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Terror in the House on the Hill Based on Demo: I was pleasantly surprised by this game. Graphics are much improved with realistic moving characters & lip sync. Story premise is not original but moves along with some interesting twists & turns. HOGS are interactive & the mini games are pleasant enough. Music is quite nice. Although, the lack of a SG in the demo is a downer. It's so nice to finally find a game that TRUELY earns 4 Stars!!
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Scarey At All! This Game is OK but I was expecting something more scarey. The Story is lacking the WOW, factor and is rather boring actually. Graphics are very nice, colourful and detailed. The Music was poor. The Hooded character was NOT scarey at all. How did he get to be so Evil? Apparently it was the House that did it but we don't know how. A good Game for a rainy day but I wouldn't play it again.
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quirky and scary If you like a good story, this game will be right up your alley. The actors are very good, the music was only playing occasionally, the HOS and games were also good as was the art work. There is an extra chapter of bonus play, as well as wallpapers, concept art, and a place to view collectibles and statues of the characters you've seen. There is no SG, not necessarily a bad thing. The map will transport you. Somehow, though, it seems more like an SE than a CE, but I can't explain why. I do really like the actors and cut-scenes. They are very well done. The storyline draws you into game. As I have to have a good story, I really enjoyed this game!
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, but not a good CE This is a very well produced game. The live actors blend well into the scenes (not just dummies standing there as in some games) and their lips move with the words. The story is good and is well told, although I thought the spider towards the end was poor. It didn't make any sense and was completely unnecessary. Game play is good with good HOS and puzzles. The HINT button works well, and there is an informative jump map. There is an SG, but it isn't needed. I would give this game five stars as an SE, but not as a CE. As with most CEs, it isn't worth the CE price. There are some dumb collectibles, a waste in my opinion, and achievements. The bonus chapter looks like it was produced by the B-team, very short and very stupid. I highly recommend this game but only as an SE.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's All Good Until a Glitch Interrupts the Game I was loving the demo version of this game - the storyline is interesting, the graphics are great, and I really enjoy the live action (as corny as it can be sometimes). I liked that the HO games were even fun and inventive, and weren't the focus of the game. Unfortunately, a glitch occurred and I couldn't finish the demo. There was a part where the player was supposed to pick up a music sheet. For some reason, the music sheet never went into my inventory and I couldn't progress any further in the game. Hence, the four star rating, instead of a five that I would have liked to give. Hopefully it will work better for others!
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tales of Terror: House on the Hill Collector's Edition Not a fan of the live actors in this game. Everything else about this game I liked. Puzzles were challenging which I prefer over easy. Something about this game reminds me of early Azada. So ya, it's a good buy for me.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Will Purchase. Played the demo. I like the look of this game. The game was fun to play. But, there is nothing new, exciting, different or challenging in the gameplay. After all, it is just a game.
Date published: 2014-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game, Great Graphics Story interesting, good graphics, fun puzzles. everything i look for in a game and of course a challenge
Date published: 2014-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from CREEPY HOUSE You are invited to go visit an unusual house. Nothing is what it first appears. There are many hidden objects to find (you do go back to some of the same ones), but they are partly interactive. There are some very good mini-puzzles and some very familiar ones. You have a strategy guide, a book, a hint button. There are achievements and 46 hearts to find. My only complaint was that both the main game and bonus seemed to end very abruptly.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game with Strategy Guide Alot of reviews felt there was no strategy guide, I bought the game, lo and behold, there was the missing guide in the upper left corner. It's a great game.
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Hidden Object Game The game is easy to navigate through and has some very good mini-games throughout.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a bad game I decided to dig through some older games, and this one sounded good. I've had fun with it, but it got 4 stars because the people who made the game put themselves in as the characters. You've got a fantasy game with real people. It never works. I guess these guys think they are going to be immortalized by doing this. I just find it weird, and egotistical. There's a map for hopping from place to place. No wearing out your shoes in this game! And those hokey sounds of people being ghosts...Ooooooooo...is perfect! Graphics and voices are clear, and the volume can be pretty loud. I always use headphones when I play, so only I hear the games. I knew something was up with the man being so helpful, I just didn't realize what it was. I don't want to spoil for people who haven't played, so I won't comment on that, but it did catch me off guard. This is a fun game. Lots of stuff to do, and I've been able to do almost all the puzzles, and the HOP's are able to be solved without hints. I only play the games in the evening as a way to wind down. I also always play on casual, as I want to relax, not stress. The plot is easily followable, even over a several night period of playing. I can start playing the next day, and know right where I left off. I can't do that on a lot of the newer games. I'd say, Play It!
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for a newbie ... not so much for an expert I've been playing HO games for many years now, so I guess that I'm an expert :) I certainly had high hopes for this one... being titled 'haunted house'. Well those hopes fell flat after the game play commenced. Some areas moved rather slowly, and the audio was out of sync with the action. Much of the hi-tech graphics and interplay were honestly junior level at best. No actual 'scare' factor anywhere. And the search achievements repeatedly failed to cancel out, which forced me to move my mouse. And that should never happen. For a game titled 'haunted house' it was grade level at best. And I don't mind virtual characterization, but captions are furiously irritating. My sound is always on, and my hearing is jut fine, so the added captions are basicially pointless. And most of them drag or move slowly anyway, which rudely takes away from the actual game play. Overall, I expected this game to be more the adult level, gore-factor comparison, of the Ravenhurst series. But it wasn't. For serious spook and Haunt fans, it will disappoint.
Date published: 2015-09-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Short... I loved this game when I first started playing it. It was the usual scary house tale we see but still was fun to explore. Obviously if a house appears out of nowhere, you should probably not go inside of it for a tour. Just saying...At least your character was smart but your sister, not so much...but I digress... The game has live actors and although they are okay at first, as time goes on, they are horrible. Please get them acting lessons! But I overlooked this as I liked the main game. There are 3 different modes of difficulty and I chose the hardest which had no hints or skips although this can be changed in the settings menu. Even though I was on hard mode, the map told me where to go and there were black bar hints on everything so there was no real challenge. Puzzles were not that challenging and hidden object scenes were mildly interactive but still engaging. There are achievements to earn and you collect hearts throughout the game. I had trouble finding most of them. The reason the game was just ok to me was because of the length. This game started out strong and I was immersed. I was just getting really into it when it ended. It had an ending that you didn't need the bonus chapter for but it kind of went nowhere. The scary factor went out the window when the bad guy was shown so early and there was not much conclusion to the house itself or anything that the player would want to know more about. Then the bonus chapter was about an hour, maybe and was hidden object scene after hidden object scene with no point to it and you could just tell it was thrown together for the sake of having an extra but not the sake of having a great bonus game. For a game that started out so riveting and inviting, I felt disappointed when it ended and like someone let the air out of my sails. What could have been a great game turned into a boring, short story with no real climax or ending that left the player with any emotion. It was a real let down and I would recommend the standard edition but only with a punch coupon because its length is not to be desired and the ending is just not worth the time you put into the game. A real shame...
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Full of bugs and errors I would have enjoyed this game more had it not been so riddled with errors. Here are the biggest: * Sound effects repeat several times even after completing the action the sound effect was for (i.e., hitting a rock with a hammer). * Some sound effects never went away (the three buzz saws being the most notable). I had to quit and restart the game to get the annoying sound to stop. * Some hidden objects were completely wrong and I only completed the hidden object scene by randomly guessing. A "glass bottle" was a pitcher, for example. * Some instructions for mini-games were completely wrong -- instructions for a different mini-game would display. These and more made the game more annoying than fun.
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good HOG, minor changes would make this excellent Just played through the CE game, so here's the conclusion: - Overall a good game - basic puzzles (nothing ground breaking) - Interesting story, though offers nothing that really stays in your mind longer than how long the game takes to play - I love it when you have the chance to increase/decrease how challenging the game is, and with this game you can. Though the cursor is still taking some fun out when it changes around certain areas. - The acting in this game is POOR. It uses real life video of characters and you can tell they're just reading their lines and nothing more. It's so poor it's not even funny. I still give this HOG strong 3/5, though I wouldn't buy this unless you have a coupon or it's -50% day.
Date published: 2014-06-15
  • y_2020, m_11, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_72
  • loc_en_US, sid_20866, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Tales of Terror: House on the Hill Collector's Edition

Find your sister and escape from a terrifying haunted house!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.