Nancy Drew: Ghost of Thornton Hall

Nancy Drew: Ghost of Thornton Hall

PC

Also available on

Adventure

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

(Large File: 2.14 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Sorry, no trial version available.

Jessalyn Thornton’s fateful sleepover at the abandoned Thornton estate was supposed to be a pre-wedding celebration, but the fun ended when she disappeared. While her family searches for clues, others refuse to speak about the estate’s dark past. Did something supernatural happen to Jessalyn, or is someone in Thornton Hall holding something besides family secrets?

  • Take on the scariest Nancy Drew case ever!
  • Unlock Achievements as you play
  • Unravel perplexing and spooky puzzles

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2493 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nancy Drew: Ghost of Thornton Hall

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

(Large File: 2.14 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Sorry, no trial version available.

Customer Reviews
Nancy Drew: Ghost of Thornton Hall is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 44.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nancy Drew: Ghost of Thornton Hall Incredibly Excellent! The story is outstanding! I could hardly wait to complete the game to its end and to learn what had happened with all of the characters. The game was very challenging. I had to restart it twice to ensure that I had followed it correctly. I did not want to restart it, BUT I am so glad that I did and I FINISHED the STORY (game). The story and the challenges kept me awake daily (two days) until I knew the ending. This should tell those who read this review, that the game is TRULY worth the time and challenge to find out how it ends.
Date published: 2015-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from one of its kind i play HOG for long time this one is not like any other game i played although you have to buy without trying it at first..don't hesitate to play.. it's worth it. no HOG scenes. very difficult puzzles .. i mean mind challenging. i really felt like a detective. (played the hard version).
Date published: 2015-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So impressed! I was so impressed with this game. After playing "Treasure in the Royal Tower," I was hesitant to play any ND games. However this one is much newer and the developers really improved upon many things I hadn't cared for in the Royal Tower one. Things I loved: -The characters were great. I especially loved the voice acting. -There was always plenty to do, and most scenes had something to interact with, as opposed to just walking around having "filler" scenes. -The puzzles were challenging and kept me interested. -The graphics were great -I definitely found myself sucked into the game! Cons: Really not much. There was one glich I hit where I completed a task and it didn't seem to register that I did. However I went through the motions again and it worked the second time. My only other complaint is very minor. Just an annoyance really. My least favorite puzzle involved the clocks in Charlotte's bedroom. I was thankful when I had that one finished. Much to my disappointment I get toward the end of the game only to find that I have to do the whole thing a second time! I feel like that was kind of a cop out, like they ran out of puzzles so they put that one in there twice. Overall I loved the game and would highly recommend it!
Date published: 2014-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Nancy Drew Game Yet! Amazing fun with this Nancy Drew game. I felt like this is one of the best storylines that Herinteractive has used. It is intriguing and creepy. The Puzzles aren't impossible like most Nancy Drew games but they are challenging. The location of the game is perfectly scary in the deep south. For the best game play, play in the dark at night! So spooky! I highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging but logical One of the things I never really liked about the Nancy Drew mysteries is that they were sometimes too complex or they would have you running around a lot. This one is different and for that reason, it is one of my favorites. While the puzzles are challenging, which I appreciate, they make sense and fit in very well with the plot. There's not too many places where you have a "fatal error" and have to scramble to figure out which I like as well. Easy going and fun game.
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NANCY DREW: GHOST OF THORNTON HALL I am so happy to finally find Nancy Drew in a Haunted Mansion. Some games with Nancy only made it sound like it was haunted...this one really is...Ghosts are in living color and it really does scares you, I had to stop...wait till daylight and I really LOVE THIS GAME.
Date published: 2014-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Nancy Drew game so far I have played all the ND games, and this is the best so far. I loved the changes that have been made. Clues on the task bar, and being able to speed up the conversation. There were only a few times that I had to go to a walk through. Even though there is no trial, there is no other games like these. Worth buying!!
Date published: 2014-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I love this game!! It's so cool and creepy!
Date published: 2014-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ghost Story Great story line, kept me guessing till the end.
Date published: 2014-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Game What a great game for those ND fans!! I couldn't wait for BF to get this game so I bought it out right! Enjoy the game!!
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Haunting Experience Nancy Drew has been sent to Thornton Hall to solve a missing person case. Everyone has steered clear of this case because the manor is haunted. Jessalyn and her cousin spent the night in this family manor for a fun bachelorette party, now Jessalyn is missing. Is this a case of cold feet or cold dead ghosts? This is a very large file game, make sure your computer can handle this game due to the fact that there is no trial version available. This is NOT a hidden object game. This game requires you to solve the case by searching for clues, talking to family members and solving problems. You will have to read books, manuals and journals in order to complete certain tasks. You have a smartphone which will be used to call family members and people related to the case. There are two different modes of difficulty with the biggest difference being able to use hints. The tasks are added automatically such as finding a way to charge Jessalyn's phone. On the basic mode you are able to click on the question mark next to the task and ask for a hint, which will simply tell you the steps you need to take for that task but doesn't show you where the items are. This game has beautiful graphics, trying to navigate around can be difficult at times because of the 360 degree navigational system, but you will eventually catch on. I loved the different characters you meet, Colton in particular, they are lifelike and well detailed. When you are talking to a character, several options of questions are available and I usually ask all of the questions so I don't overlook a detail I might need later. You will receive an EMF reader to check different areas for strength of activity as well This isn't an easy game, but it is an adventure game with an exceptional story. If you are tired of the same ole games, give this game a try, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This games crazy creepy!!! Anyone who's has played the ND games will want to play this game. It stays true to form: the graphics are ridiculously amazing, the sound effects are super creepy. They've made this game a total freak-out, which is fitting since you are investigating a haunted mansion. The characters are a little average, except for Harper who is by far the most entertaining ND character EVER!!! She's flippin' nuts!!! The puzzles aren't too difficult in this game, even on the senior detective level. Even if you get stumped, there are plenty of walkthroughs and guides online since this game has been out for over a year. Big Fish is waaaayyy behind on the Nancy Drew games. I wouldn't recommend this game to someone who has never played any of them before as a it may be too hard for them to keep up with. But to the die-hard fan I'd say this is a must-play!!!
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Go Wrong with Nancy Drew! Honestly, you can't go wrong with Nancy Drew. They are great engaging games with humor, thoughtful puzzles, interesting characters and storylines. If you are new to Nancy Drew, this game is a little darker and scarier than others, but definitely worth while. These are the type of games that are played over a couple of weeks, especially if you want to get the fun awards and Easter eggs. They are fun and rewarding. I just love Nancy Drew!
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Spooky I have many ND games and I have always favored the older games because they have good story lines and the scenery wasn't as dark as some of the newer ones are. I had the honor of testing this game and loved it. It is now among one of my favorites; a spooky old manor, interesting characters to interact with, nice sound track, good colors, and it is not just one puzzle after another like some of the other games are. There is a good story, you have been summoned to find a missing bride to be. Upon entering the house the hall and stairwell are kind of dark, but when you enter the rooms it gets light enough for you to see. There are several people to interact with, other places to visit which includes a spooky grave yard and mausoleum. There are 2 levels to choose from, amateur (regular puzzles, hints,detailed task list) or master sleuth(challenging puzzles, no hints, basic task list). Extras include; 13 awards, outtakes, and teaser(preview of another N.D. game). If you like a good ghost story, you will enjoy this one. There are some scary moments so this might not be good for younger players, you might want to play it before you let them play alone. Definitely has good replay value. I find this game chilling and exciting, like curling up with a good mystery on a rainy night! Enjoy!
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another winner from the Nancy Drew series... Nancy Drew games games are almost a genre of their own. They are adventure heavy point and click and you will NOT find ANY H0S whatsoever in any of them. IMHO you must have patience and/or be in the mood to truly use the 'ole gray matter because there are no hints and they are not designed in the same manner as most BFG games, though there are strategy guides as well as walkthroughs online if you look for them via G@@gle. So, as you probably already know, Nancy is a young amateur detective who 'stars' in the series of games by HER Interactive #of course, most loosely based on Nancy Drew books#. Each game is unique unto itself. Personally I enjoy all of her games with few exceptions and this particular episode finds Nancy searching for answers in a haunted mansion where you #Nancy# have arrived to investigate the disappearance of a bride to be and heiress to the family business. There are so many unique and interesting puzzles and lots of 'chills' in store as you work you way through the mysterious challenges #including interrogation of suspects, solving puzzles, and discovering clues# in finding answers to determine the fate of the bride-to-be and figure out just who is telling the truth and whether there truly is, in addition, a true "haunting" occurring at Thornton Hall. I purchased and played this game as a 'boxed' PC-CD and I can tell you that BFG's price is WAY lower than retail and SO worth the price tag and effort in gameplay. If you are a Nancy Drew fan, or are willing to take on the challenge to become one, this is an episode you don't want to miss! Happy gaming ~ have fun! : )
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really enjoyed this game Nancy receives a call very late at night from Savannah Woodham (if you have played Shadow at the Water's Edge, then you will remember Savannah from this previous game). A girl has been presumably kidnapped from Thornton Hall (located on an island off the coast of Georgia), and Nancy agrees to take on the case. I really enjoyed this game. It has a very spooky atmosphere and one of the characters that you meet is one of the oddest and creepiest individuals I have encountered thus far in a Nancy Drew game (once met, never forgotten). Compared to the other games in this series, I would say that the puzzles were medium in difficulty. There are different endings to the game, depending on what you choose to do or not do. The game has a "Southern Gothic" feel to it, and for that reason alone I found it quite distinctive. And yes, there is a ghost! My only real "negative" about the game is that it is quite dark and that you will most likely find yourself turning up the brightness settings in order to be able to see it properly. A small quibble, but it might be an issue for some players, so I felt that it should be mentioned. Have fun. :-)
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One of my favorite Nancy Drew games! Thornton Hall really brings up the creep factor, in a way that I definitely felt lacked in the previous games in the series. As far as a Nancy Drew plot, this is one of my favorites; it was interesting, eerie and kept you guessing, although I left the game feeling like some story elements were missing. As always, the games rely on a mixture of dialogue and puzzles to solve the game. If you have played Nancy Drew games in the past, you will probably cruise through most of the puzzles. If not, they will prove a mild challenge. In general, I always recommend Nancy Drew games, and if you haven't played one this is a great one to start. If you have played one, I doubt you're reading the reviews because you're undoubtfully already addicted.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun! I have played most of the Nancy Drew games and this one did not disappoint. The only quarrels I had with it were: The change from night and day The mussed up part of the storyline Otherwise, I loved it! I thought it was great!
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty nice game! I enjoyed this game. I loved the graphics very HD and realistic Pros graphics the surprises and genuine fear you get from the game' The Thornton mansion was creepy and cool Cons some of the puzzles were a bit difficult I didnt like the ending because I thought it fell flat , pretty disappointing
Date published: 2015-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nancy Drew Is Not for Wimps This is my first Nancy Drew game, and it was different from most other games I've played. I didn't see a walkthrough/strategy guide like your typical games, but I did find one online, but not like what you might expect from typical Big Fish Games. There is no hint button. Some tasks have a question mark and will give you limited hints to help you along. This is a very challenging game! There were many things I simply would not have had a clue about were it not for the strategy guide I found online. Now that I know what to expect, I'm looking forward to playing another Nancy Drew game. Since the game is so challenging, you really have to think about how things are related. There were details about history and even science scattered around. I'm totally going to try using a potato or orange to power a light bulb as soon as I get my hands on some of those insulated wires with alligator clips. I left the sound playing throughout the game. Sometimes a sound was a clue that something had changed, and I'm not sure I would have noticed otherwise, and if you were trying to read the dialogue, it went pretty fast and did not wait for you to catch up before switching screens. So, the sound was helpful. The mini games were in place for locks and hidden compartments. I got the clocks to work the first time, but on the second go, I could not get them to be consistent. I set them all for 11:00 and watched how fast they went. Then I backed them up from 12:00 by that much. Seems like it would have worked, but it wasn't, and we were about to burn to death. I had to use all of the hints until the game finally revealed the solution. Now, the graphics seemed a bit "old school" in that they were heavy on the computer generated graphics as opposed to the artistically painted graphics seen in other games. However, because of this fact, the scenes were much more interactive, and some locations offered 360 degree views. Now, with that said, the game was not in as strict a sequence as most games. You could go back and revisit places and talk to people. You could even ask more questions. It was more about you putting the clues together and discovering the truth. The mood and the music was very suitable. The southern accents were extremely overdone, but some of the dialogue was funny. Nancy did make a remark to a character as if the way he dressed was an appropriate measure of intellect. I'm from the south, and I realize we can be talking about genetic engineering using proper grammar, and we sound dumber than people from the Midwest talking about fishing. I watch TV, and I know there are dumb people in every state, so I wish people wouldn't do that and make such an ignorant assumption. It's not worth the chuckle you get out of a select group. The game was very entertaining, and I'll be looking to play more Nancy Drew games from now on.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Challenging Fun This game is gorgeous and yes, a bit creepy. I played in the hardest level, and found it quite difficult. I love that - if I'm not challenged, I'm bored. The story is unique, the characters are well voiced, and the game play is logical. There are no skips however, so anyone not willing to stick through a puzzle should give this game a miss. In the easier level there are hints and other kinds of help, while in the more difficult level you get no help at all. If you like ghost stories, and are interested in a really challenging puzzle game, definitely give this a try.
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Difficult but entertaining Very challenging puzzles, could not have finished it without using walk-thru's (I use Universal Hint System). The story line is great but there is way too much dialogue - a lot of it unnecessary. I dreaded every time Nancy had to use her phone - talking to Ned and Bess is especially painful, avoid it if you can. But despite all this, the game was fun & would recommend it to Nancy Drew fans.
Date published: 2014-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NOT FOR SISSIES This is only the second Nancy Drew game that I have played, and I totally agree with other reviewers that if you are new to adventure games (this is definitely not a hidden object game), this one should be avoided. Actually, all the Nancy Drew games are fairly hard and very different from most of the other adventure games, so they take a little getting used to. I really needed to use my brain on both the Nancy Drew games I've played. Since my experience with Nancy Drew games is limited, I can't really say whether this game is better or worse than others in the series. I can tell you that I fell in love with the voiceovers and the characters; those Southern accents were marvelous. And what could be better than a mystery set in the Deep South? I played the Amateur/Casual level and can't imagine how much harder the higher levels would be. Certainly nothing that I would attempt. There are walkthroughs available on the internet but I was a long way into the game before I felt the need to look one up. The hints available in the casual mode go a long way to keeping you on track. But I did reach that point eventually, and, given all the levels within the game, even the walkthrough takes some concentration. I'll continue playing Nancy Drew games, as this one definitely is a good one. But they aren't games I would play if I was looking for a few hours of relaxing fun. I love a challenge sometimes, but I don't like to be frustrated and there was just enough frustration in this game to keep me from rating it a 5 star.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Spooky, Atmospheric & Very Difficult! Out of all the Nancy Drew games I've played, this was definitely a more challenging one. As compared to the Tomb of the Lost Queen, I practically had to always consult a walkthrough for puzzle assistance. Mind you I was playing on amateur sleuth too! Maybe I had so much trouble because I am better at word puzzles than numbers. The one thing that really shines in this game is the creepy ambiance of the Thornton property and the ghost sightings; paired with the eerie music this made for quite scary game moments. I would have liked a little time difference in the game (day and night) like Ghost Dogs of Moonlake has, but that's a personal preference. If you are looking for an easier mystery this isn't for you, however, if you would enjoy a challenge and can handle a bit of spookiness, then, by all means, this could be the game for you. as it is best suited to older players.
Date published: 2018-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the best in the series I have played almost all the games by Her Interactive. Some stories and the game sequencing are great and in others it is disjointed as it was in this one. At times it was clear what to do and at others it wasn't. There wasn't a natural flow to solving the puzzles and putting the hints together. The storyline was confusing for me - to keep track of the characters (family tree). Overall, I did enjoy it and only got frustrated when I wasn't sure what was next (used the walkthrough a few times). Varying difficulty on the puzzles and too much going on in the storyline (adding in family tree and third party help). I hope Her Interactive makes the games for tablets.
Date published: 2015-01-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I love a good challenge but... Nancy Drew: Ghost of Thornton Hall is challenging, however, I'm debating whether to unload the game or just keep it around until I feel like playing it to the end. I'm 2/3rds in to the game and I'm bored. I bought this game and should have played the demo. There's lots of dialogue; lots of written material to read; good clues and the game does make you think, and it makes you work, too. That's not a bad thing! The graphics are dark, murky, and muddy and coming from outside and then to the mansion and to the cemetery and back again is frustrating to me. The flow? There is no flow! Gameplay? You're own your own except for the folks you come in contact with and your friends that you speak to on your cell phone to get some clues. I found a lot of clues and that was pretty cool. It's not a bad game--I'm just not in the mood for it, and there should be no distractions, and I had some; but I'm completely turned off by the graphics. I still recommend the game because to each his/her own!
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from There are better entries than this one. Been a user of BFG since 2006 and this is the first review I felt compelled to write. I have played a few ND games previously and thought they were overall pretty entertaining with interactive characters and challenging puzzles. Ghost of Thornton Hall? Where do I begin? It's a departure from previous games as there's no toggle between night and day, no fun mini games and limited scenery. The main antagonist (ghost) is barely introduced by the other characters and I had a hard time keeping track of all the family members they talked about. The dialogue was stiff, poorly paced, just out of place and too much! It started off interesting with a middle of the night call and took a nose dive into Snoozeville as soon as you get off the boat. The puzzles were sufficiently difficult as to be expected from Her Interactive, but they almost seemed kinda shoe-horned into the overall experience. There's a ghost afoot, but hang on while I listen to these unnecessary recordings. In general, I was expecting more from the game because the reviews led me to believe it was fantastic. The creep factor was there at times because it is a ghost story after all (and only takes place at night!), but that was the only upside to this game. Other ND games feel more immersive into the world in which they take place and the layout usually feels bigger. Ghost of Thornton Hall could have been great, the bare bones are there (pun intended), but sadly fell flat.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ghost of Thornton Hall The game is too dark. I can't see anything. Adjusted brightness. Nothing but black screen for the most part. Can't find anything, because I can't see anything. I'm very disappointed.
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wouldn't have bought it if there had been a trial game It's too dark, the navigation is monotonous and who wants a game where you can be killed periodically? I see why they didn't offer a trial version. Few would buy it. Sorry I bought it.
Date published: 2015-04-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hard puzzles with no skip, means Game over for me :( I own nearly all Nancy Drew Games since the first release. my favourites are the ones I won, that did not have hard puzzles or need for fast reflexes. I was enjoying game until I got stuck with puzzles I can't solve even with help of a walkthrough. The Game had just begun and now I realize I have wasted my money yet again on a Nancy Drew that will never be finished. I saw someone complain they thought the voices were badly done all I have to say they may need to get a new sound card or new speakers because the southern accents and all voices are easily understood. I deducted stars because it looks like another Game will be left unfinished because like all of Herr Games there is no skip if you get stuck in amateur with hard puzzles. I have wasted money again as much as I LOVE Nancy Drew I HATE there is no skip! I am stuck on the puzzles and it isn't as easy as reading the walkthrough because they are complicated puzzles . If You haven't played Nancy Drew warning if you do not like racking your brain over puzzles, don't buy this game. I have encountered a dead end with hard puzzles even with walkthrough I can't solve it. The storyline is interesting but there are too many puzzles that ruin it for me. I am still at the beginning and stuck trying to get back to Harper for the 2nd time. I ask for help on BFG Forum but thus far no one has offered help. I know Herr would sell many more games if they would add skip to the puzzles. I do appreciate there are built in hints for knowing where to find items, or people. One of the best parts of Nancy Drew I enjoy is the cell phone conversations with Bess and Ned. If you like hard puzzles with no skip I recommend the Game. If you don't like hard puzzles with no skip, I suggest you don't buy the Game or you will regret it the way I do now.
Date published: 2014-05-27
  • y_2019, m_8, d_16, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_21162, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nancy Drew: Ghost of Thornton Hall

Expose the fate of Jessalyn Thornton and unveil the truth about a family ghost in Nancy Drew: Ghost of Thornton Hall

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.