Mysteries of Neverville: The Runestone of Light

Mysteries of Neverville: The Runestone of Light

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(417.48 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The runestone of light that has protected the town of Neverville for thousands of years is missing. With nothing to protect the town, an evil fog has surrounded the people inside. You are the daughter of Cygnus Rastlin, the greatest guardian of Neverville and must return to the town to stop the evil from spreading. Find out who is lurking in the fog! Is it the notorious necromancer Grimhall, who was once captured and buried inside a stone chamber by Cugnus Rastlin himself? Who is behind the disappearance of the runestone? Will you be able to save the innocent people of Neverville from their grim fate by restoring the runestone to its rightful place?

  • Immersive magical atmosphere
  • Elaborate storyline with many different characters
  • Play unique puzzles and overcome obstacles

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 540 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mysteries of Neverville: The Runestone of Light

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(417.48 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mysteries of Neverville: The Runestone of Light is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 22.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I WISH I LOOKED LIKE VALERIE! Not a bad game which I played in an afternoon. You have Normal, Hard and Detective modes of play. I played on Detective throughout the game. The graphics are very good. I had no trouble finding items in the HOS and locating all the clues. I didn't really notice the music. The hidden object games were standard and pretty easy to play. I didn't spend that much time of them. There were no teeny tiny or blurry undecipherable objects to find. The mini-games I quite enjoyed. I've seen them all before. A couple of puzzles peaked my interest when they were harder than they looked. Nice surprise. All up I think the game took me about three and half hours. A nice afternoon spent (raining and cold - middle of winter - blah). Overall, I recommend this game. I think its worth playing.
Date published: 2014-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An Average Game ... But Enjoyable ... Average To Good Graphics, Sounds & Story ... But Nothing Special Or Wow Factor ... A Very Short Game, But Was Worth A Voucher ...
Date published: 2014-06-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ending was awful! The editing in this game was not very good, and the ending is the perfect example. I was collecting (3) parts of the rune stone, to finish the game...but, after collecting the 3rd piece, the game went into a cutscene. I thought, ok, this is the end - now to just put the 3 parts together....but, instead, the screen went to black with the big words THE END. That was it, nothing dramatic or climactic - just a cold ending. The game play was good, but nothing outstanding. It started off strong but ended very weakly.
Date published: 2014-06-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just a Little Too Flat For My Taste (Based on Demo) I liked the fact this game was released as a stand alone SE, which we have not been seeing lately. I just could not get into this game. The characters were flat, although the VO actors did better than most. This story of "evil fog has taken over the town" has been exhausted, and there was nothing original about the story that grabbed me. I liked that you could skip the HOG's and I do give props to the developer for including this as an option. The HOG's are not interactive and very old school. I felt bored with them and they are not original and interactive like: Cadenza, Rite of Passage, Myths of the World, etc. Graphics were blurry and not up to par with what we have been accustom to. Slow cursor and game play. The game actually froze on my computer, which never happens to me with Big Fish Games, so I am surprised. The writing on the cut-scenes was extremely blurry and did give me a headache. I did appreciate the puzzles which had a new little twist and were pretty difficult. I like more adventure with puzzles, instead HOG heavy like this game. All in all, not too bad of a game, just did not capture my attention to make me purchase.
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing new in this game and very short! I've just finished playing this game, it took me about 2 -2,5 hours, and I'm a very slow player, I like to look around in the game. Not very long, but I didn't really mind since I used a PCC that was about to expire. Nice to have an SE that's glitch-free and worth a free credit. Graphics are clear, but old school, more like 2011-2012 games. A lot of puzzles, some very simple, some really tough! HOS are visited twice, simple lists, but sometimes very challenging! I really liked the story, clear and pulls you in, you want to know what's happening, although we've seen this kind of story all too often. It's nicely told with some good cutscenes. And I (our heroine that is) look gorgeous! Fierceful and very attractive! Our assistant-townkeeper is nice to look at as well -:) Ending doesn't leave you hanging, but is VERY abrupt. It really comes way to soon! Very little scenes to visit, there is no map, but you certainly don't need it! It's very simple to move around, and you only have to go forwards and backwards, with one crossroad.... Waaaay too easy! A nice game if you want to play something relaxing that doesn't take too long. A good buy for a PCC that's lying around. I advise you try before you buy! Have fun all!!!!
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Started Out Very Promising Then Poof! Review Of Completed Game Game Features: 3 play modes: Normal/Hard/Detective - Can't be changed during playing. Must create a new profile. I tested all of these before I actually started "playing the game" and for me: All modes have sparkles/black bar tips. Hint charges at a snails pace in all modes but if you click on it outside of HOS a box will come up telling you what to do and you can click if you want it to transport you to the area you need to be in. This game says something about "achievements." I came across no achievements. I'm not sure what that is all about?? No big deal for me since I'm no longer a fan of this fluff. All I want now from a game is a good/great story and game play with characters that talk. You can skip HOS and puzzles except for in Detective mode. Inventory doesn't lock but stays down until you click on it. There is no map or journal. HOS: All found by word list. No interaction. Scenes are visited twice. The graphics nicely done here however a few objects were a bit too small for me so I did have to use a few hints here. PUZZLES/MINI GAMES: I'm not a fan. Less the better. I prefer games more on the adventure/HOS side. More adventure though. Having said this: These for me in this game were tedious and boring. Not a 'puzzle/mini game" day for me. I skipped most of these. Adventure Side: For me while there was some back/forth I found this to be pretty lite. I had no problem with the game not having a map. I never got lost in this game especially with the black bar tips. I didn't use the hint here. I only used the hint before I actually "started playing the game" as I mentioned. Just to see what it would do. A test. Visual/Sound Quality: I really liked the graphics/artwork. While the characters are unanimated and wooden appearance still a well done here especially the voices - excellent. The music seemed fitting to the game. This game also says you "come across many characters" in the Big Fish blurb for this game. Well I didn't come across "many characters" only a total of 4 and one being the lead character "Valerie" so I'd hardly consider that "many" in my downloaded version of this game. Level Of Challenge: At first this developer didn't ring a bell with me so I had to search and I have played a couple of their games in the past that I enjoyed. I see from their home page they have been making games since 2007 so I'm deducting a star in regards to the play modes. Why have 3 play modes if all are going to be the same in regards to sparkles/black bar tips. Sorry but this developer should know better. They've been around for awhile.Please do a custom mode in your next game offering. I prefer no sparkles/no black bar tips and a quick hint/skip button just in case needed. Story Line: While definitely nothing "new" to the story I started out being really intrigued and wanted to see where it would take me but that just seemed to fizzle out and go poof after the demo time. This here meaning while it did come to conclusion but ended way too abrupt for me. I do think this developer here could of put a bit more effort into the story. So this is my reason for the "poor" rating here. Not the story line itself just that I thought more effort could of been put into the story. My Play Time: This was about 3 hours for me and that was skipping most of the puzzles.May be more or less for you of course. Fun Factor: Overall I give this 3 stars. This for me started out to be a very promising game. I was so excited to see a SE released that wasn't part of a CE but then just fizzled out and went poof as I said. My problem wasn't the game length I just think more effort could of been put into the story especially from a developer who has been around since 2007 at least according to their home page. Also too many puzzles for me. I'm glad I used a punch card code for this. This in my opinion is worthy of that or the daily deal/catch of the week $2.99 price. Not anymore than this. Just an OK time passer game in my opinion. Thanks though Big Fish and Developer. Not a bad game but not great either. Oh and a great big smile and wink to the developer here: I do thank you for NO animal helpers. Much appreciated. Yes please keep those out. Enough of those already! As always, give it a whirl and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2014-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Restore the Runestone of Light Storyline: You are Valerie, daughter of Cygnus Rastlin, and as you are on your way home your carriage is attacked by a Wolf Spirit. When you arrive at Neverville, you are told that Wolf Spirits have arisen everywhere. You must find your father, because ONLY he knows what to do. Graphics: Rather old school. Definitely not the HD quality we are used to these days. Sound: The background music wasn't too bad. I certainly didn't need to tune it out or turn it off. Game Play: Arthur, your father's trusted friend, has betrayed everyone. The Guardians of the Light must find the runestone, which is apparently now in pieces. You know you have to find the those pieces and restore them, so why is your father (who "knows what to do") so important? And where is he? In an hour of game play you never see him. You will meet various characters who will require quests before they will offer any help whatsoever. For instance, the Gypsy who needs you to get the ingredients to make a potion so she can see a little piece of the puzzle. HOGs: Very easy to find the items. The hint button took an extremely long time to recharge, however, here's a new twist I've never seen before - you can SKIP the HOG and still get your inventory item(s). Wow! I didn't really need to skip the HOG but I did it once just to see what would happen. Mini Games: Some we are used to and some are actually quite new. MOST of the them are extremely difficult, even on the easiest level of game play. This Glam-ma is not interested in this game at all. It confused me right from the beginning. Why is the father who "knows what to do" never seen? Yet, apparently your character knows exactly what to do - find the pieces of the runestone and game over. And the Gypsy's foretelling that someone close to your father will betray him - of course, it was Arthur, we found that out fairly early too. I don't think this game has much to offer. It is definitely not a purchase for me. However, please do give it a try. It's only an hour and it's free. Happy Father's Day Weekend and Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2014-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Been there done that... This game would be fantastic for those who like the games of 2012. Same kind of graphics. Personally, I dont really like; unless the story is really something out of this world. The story is the kind of story you listen to a thousand times. Nothing original. But, for new players, it is appropriate. I dont bane it and I dont recommand it. The players has to see all by it self!
Date published: 2014-06-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Neverville? Trying to be fair, although not sure how this game made it's way to BFG. Hopefully, gamers will try the demo first and then read the reviews, otherwise, again, undeserved high reviewer marks are downright deceiving. 1st of all, I'm not fond of gnomes although the gnome mini game is creative but childish. Overall, this is okay for children or if you've never in your life played a pc game--ever and maybe you've never played a game with a Dark Lord who vanishes amidst black smoke while threatening to destroy the town of...Neverville. Really? Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from played 45 minutes, Casual No Journal, No Task list, No Map. HOS items difficult and puzzles difficult. I Never resort to Hint but used many times in this game. I would not even waste a Punch on this game.
Date published: 2014-06-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Same old, same old but worse (based on demo) In this day in age of HOS games, you'd think developers would have a good idea about what makes for a successful game. Good graphics, sound that fits the game, strong storyline, and a certain level of difficulty are all must haves for gamers these days. Unfortunately this game totally misses the mark. First there is no map which may not bother some people but I like to have it. Secondly there is no journal so you are forced to either pull out pen and paper or hope you have a really great memory in order to hang onto the information necessary solve the puzzles located throughout the game. Thirdly the HOS have items that are either partially hidden behind other objects (which you are unable to move out of the way) or they are shadowy figures of what the object is. Fourth, if you want to change any of the options during game play, you have to exit back to the main menu, make your changes, and then restart your game. The one positive about this game is the graphics. They pictures are good and the audio is tolerable. Unfortunately that is the only nice thing I can say about this game.
Date published: 2014-06-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The worst Game Played yet I can not believe I spent my money on this. The storyline was awful, the challenge level was so simple even at the highest level was so easy and the fun factor was not there. The game is too short and characters didn't have any feeling. Hate to say this I have never written such a poor review, but this game deserved it. Save your money,
Date published: 2014-06-16
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_21268, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mysteries of Neverville: The Runestone of Light

The runestone that has protected the town of Neverville for centuries has disappeared. Now, the evil necromancer Grimhall is threatening its people. Can you save them from this grim fate?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.