9 Clues: The Ward

9 Clues: The Ward

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(423.53 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

After responding to a distress call from a secluded psychiatric hospital, a young detective and her partner find themselves struggling to solve a murder. As they press the patients and hospital staff they find that there are dark truths being kept from them. Each new clue only raises more questions. Who killed Doctor Crow? What drove one of the male nurses insane? Who is Zed Rascov? Why is the name of a little girl, Ginger, carved into the wood-paneled wall of the dead doctor's office? Can you unravel the mystery? Find out in 9 Clues: The Ward!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1461 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

9 Clues: The Ward

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(423.53 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
9 Clues: The Ward is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 80.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1st Game I've Really LOVED In A LONG, LONG Time Engaging storyline even though I usually don't like games with sinister, evil things. In this case it's creepy puppets. Graphics are a definite upgrade despite not being completely realistic. VO are spot on with mouth/character movement. Music goes along with the storyline. HINT/SKIP buttons are quick to recharge. HOS/Puzzles are interactive & a cut above the mundane, usual fare we have come to expect. You can substitute Mahjong for the HOS but the HOS were so new/different & great that I didn't even bother. There's the usual journal & map but I never did try the map. All in all a GREAT game & I whole heartedly agree with the rest of the "over the moon" reviews. Give the demo a try & see if you agree.
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Way Better Than The First - Completed Game If you haven't played the first game in this series: 9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek it's not necessary. This game stands alone. GAME PLAY: I thought the HOS and puzzles were pretty well balanced in this game. This seemed to start off with very few HOS however picked up more into the game. The adventure traveling back/forth I thought was pretty lite. Just like the first game in this series there is a Detective Mode which occurs at times, in which you find clues for your character to investigate; and then provides a reenactment of what believes has taken place, based on the clues. 3 play modes: I played the hardest. NO sparkles however black bar tips for some things. JOURNAL: This holds objectives that also pop up on the screen and also gives info on the people you encounter. TRANSPORTER MAP: You get this shortly into the game. HOS: All found by standard word list. The scenes are visited twice. There is some slight interaction with some of them. If you don't feel like doing the HOS you can play Mahjong. PUZZLES: The usual run of the mill found in many games here on Big Fish. I came across nothing new. They can be skipped. Some did have a reset button. VISUAL/SOUND QUALITY: I absolutely loved the graphics. Very fitting to the game. I also liked the characters and the voice overs excellent. I definitely got the creepy-eerie feeling from this game and I mean this in a great way. LEVEL OF CHALLENGE: My one and only criticism here and is my usual criticism in just about every review that I write: Black bar tips on the hardest mode. Please do a custom mode for your next game offering. STORYLINE: This definitely won't be for all due to subject matter and not for the faint of heart. However for me... I was hooked to this from the get go and held my interest to the very end. The story definitely has some twist and turns to it. MY PLAY TIME: This was about 5 hours for me and I enjoyed every bit of it except for the puzzles but I'm not a fan of these. The rest of the game really made up for this especially the detective mode - LOVED IT. FUN FACTOR: I enjoyed this one much more than the first in this series. I must confess I almost didn't download this but oh so glad I did. This game also flowed smooth as silk for me. I had no tech issues whatsoever. Overall 5 stars from me. There was just way too much that I loved about this game to rate it any lower than 5 stars. Thanks Big Fish/developer for a great game and the sale. What a pleasant surprise to get this on sale but I would of paid $6.99 for it. More like this and from this developer please.
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO NO NO NO! The Demo CAN'T be over yet!!!!! Wow, wow, wow and MORE wow! Just when I thought I was getting disinterested in this game - twists, turns, and .... LOTS more! If you dislike creepy dolls and I MEAN SERIOUSLY creepy this game is not for you. If you are squeamish about MURDER, people falling or being pushed (?) out windows, this game is NOT for you. I have to admit, there were a few shockers (GASP) for me and it takes a LOT to get that reaction from me. Weird visions, creepy dolls, murder or suicide (nah, definitely murder), nasty people (nurse Ratchet?), kind nurses - awww, bombs, and just MORE of everything! You play a Detective in a PI firm, gone to an asylum answering a call that was traced to your office by .... someone ... but who? And who is Ginger? And why is some creepy doll person killing everyone? Find out these answers and more in this game. There are 3 levels of difficulty. An optional tutorial - eh, pretty basic if you know this genre of game. A journal you're not told about is in the lower left corner. READ it OFTEN. It has tabs for the people you meet - important info goes in there, Clues, also important, and Objectives - VERY important as this list changes constantly and there are always several objectives at once. The hint button recharges fairly quickly. And a transportable map, which you have to locate during the game (hah!) - but I didn't use it. The game play is amazing. In certain locations, you have to find 9 clues. Once those clues are found, you have to put together the pieces of the puzzle to figure out the sequence of what happened. But, it doesn't end there. Don't leave! Because now you have to search that location for items to put into your inventory. And, yes there are HOGs in every location, sometimes you go back more than once but the previous items are gone and your items are not hard to locate. A mahjong game is an alternative. I would not say it is a HOG heavy game. The mini games - amazing, new, innovative and some of them require patience, patience, patience and perseverance - don't give up too easily. They're fun! This game may not be incredibly long as I found 2 of the 9 "clues" before the demo ended (with 1 minute to spare). The previous 9 Clues game wasn't terribly long but this one ... Oh My Gosh! Suspense, Weirdness - LOTS of weirdness. This game is totally MINE! HAVE to get it!!!!! I hope this encourages you to at least try the demo. Purchasing a game is always a personal choice. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A worthy purchase! This is a gem of a game! The storyline was so different to the usual 'saving the world, brother, sister, mother, lover, etc', and although the story could've been a little more intriguing in places, it did work. I don’t give the story away in reviews simply because I feel it can spoil a gamers experience, finding out the who, where, why, when, and what happens next, is part of the fun of playing a game so I won't say, lol. Its great to see a map that allows the gamer to 'jump' from location to location; by just hovering over a blue circle for each accessible area on the map it saves the back and forth trekking which I loathe. The game-play is fluid, graphics may not be 'high tech' or to everyone's liking but they are still very good and it isn't just graphics that makes for a good game, it’s a combination of many well-presented factors coming together. I found this game to be a worthwhile purchase, in fact I was hooked playing the demo and just 'had' to have it..
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Developers Artifex Mundi Delivers A Spell Binding Game Since the story is the game along with exquisitely hand-drawn art work, somber music and a creative new hidden object find that is called the Detective Mode. Clues are selected in a scene rather than picking objects from a list. Interactive Map has 3 levels-1st floor, 2nd floor & basement. Gamers are in for a treat. An immediate buy! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rate this game 6 stars!! Awesome fun! Innovating and different! What a great game! Absolutely LOVED it!! Others already gave great reviews about what happens in the game, so I won't repeat that. But nice to see an whodunnit game with very real characters (not a ghost in sight!# combined with an oldskool asylum game. I was so positively surprised with that! I just finished playing and all in all I had about 5 to 6 hours of great fun with it! This is a wonderful whodunnit story with some very scary and surprising moments. Fantastic voiceovers that make the game come to life #your boss can be irritating though...# Music and SFX were great, and added to the feel of the game. The game has a very good pace and flows really nicely. There are some really fun and new features in this game, like the detective-mode, which made the game even more captivating. HOS and minigames are good. Graphics very clear with realistic colours #nice change from pink and purple!). All in all I just adored this game and had more fun then I had in ages! And all of this for the SE price!! Stunning! Try it, like it, buy it and have loads of fun! Enjoy!
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC! Even better than Serpent! The Mnemosyne Asylum has a bunch of skeletons in their closets, starting with a fire in 1949 started by a pyromaniac patient, which took the innocent life of a young girl named Ginger. The asylum has had financial troubles since, causing the degradation of the building and the care the patients receive, now something more sinister seems to be at hand, Jonathan Crow has been murdered! The murderer could be just about anyone, Klaudia Kreuz, the cold mannered director, Gordon the alcoholic groundskeeper, any number of patients could fit the profile as well. It's up to you and Detective Owens to solve this case one clue at a time before it's too late for everyone... Just as the title suggests, this game is based upon finding 9 clues in each crime scene, and even HOS you come across. When you enter a crime scene you will see question marks indicating it's time to search for clues. If you chose casual or advanced settings your cursor will flash when upon a clue and you simply click on 9 separate clues around the room. After all clues have been collected, 9 picture boxes will appear and you will need to rotate the clue boxes until they are in sequential order, this is called Retrospection. The Hidden Object Scenes are slightly interactive list finds that are repeated once, and you can choose to play a game of mahjong instead. The mini games are actually interesting, simple puzzles such as guiding an ambulance along tracks, making sure you stop at all of the intersections once. I liked the game where you had to disarm a bomb with a number code by connecting color coded wires to two different symbols to form the correct numbers. This game is just a stand alone standard edition, don't expect a lot of frills, but you can expect an outstanding story and unique features, certainly worth a coupon in my opinion, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, my all time favorite game This has got to be one of the best games I have ever played. It is like reading a book so clever that you can’t put it down, or watching a movie so exciting that you’re sitting on the very edge of your seat. Except that, unlike a book or movie, you are an interactive part of the story. The puzzles and HOS are only secondary events. If you like games that are so hard that when you finally figure them out, you think you are pretty smart, this game is not for you. If you like games where you search for puzzle piece after puzzle piece, so you can solve a puzzle, then search for puzzle piece after puzzle piece, so you can solve another puzzle, on and on, this game is not for you. If you like Hidden Object Scenes so obscure, you have to click on every single dot on the screen to find them, this game is not for you. But if you like adventure and a great story plot, with yourself as the hero, you will love this game.
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OH YES!! This review is based on 'demo' only but it's a 'buy' for me! You start off receiving a phone call from an asylum for help from a 'mysterious' caller. Upon investigating you witness him jumping #?# out of a window. And you're off to start the investigation. You have a Journal which contains your objectives, the clues you'll come across and the people that you meet. Be sure and read it! You will 'pick up' a map that is transportable and shows where you have actions that need to be completed. Now, on to the game itself......the HO scenes are an interesting mix, you have the option to play Mahjong instead if you wish. You come across this somewhat 'creepy' puppet that when you pull on it, it gives you cryptic messages. In one scene I had to find 9 clues which I had to assemble in order of the sequence of events in which they happened. The items glow 'orange' when placed in the right spot for those who want to know. Inventory 'seems' to be used in a logical way and quickly and I found that the game progressed quickly. Can't wait to find out how it all turns out.
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 9 Clues; The Ward I couldn't wait til I finished the demo, so I could purchase this game! I love it! Everything about it, the graphics, music, storyline, everything. It was different then any other game I've played. You really do get to be a Detective in this game!
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun To Play..... My review is based on the beta game. I have played the previous game and when I was offered the chance to play the beta I jumped at it as I thoroughly enjoyed the earlier game, Secret of Serpent Creek. I was not disappointed, and forgot I was playing a beta version until the trial was finished. The quality was excellent, the music non-intrusive, there are the usual choices of skill level. If you like HOA games this should tick most of your boxes.
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy Fun!! This is my kind of game. A terrific game! Really excellent detective mystery taking place in an asylum - where it seems the lunatics have taken over the asylum. A body here and there, clues to gather - and so full of suspense! Everyone seems so weird, so who is the murderer? Most of the time you don't need a walkthrough, but if you really need help, try you tube. Enjoy this game! You won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2014-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart, Mature, AND Fun! The only reason I found this game was because it showed up in my "You might like this". I prefer realistic characters to fantasy ones, so I gave it a shot - not even looking at how old it was, whether it was ever a CE, or the reviews. I was hooked RIGHT AWAY and wound up playing the game in two sittings. The pace of this story was just right, the voice acting was spot on, the characters had actual individual personalities, all of which gave the puzzles and HO scenes a sense of purpose (too often in these games I feel like I am solving a particular puzzle just because someone figured it was time to throw in a puzzle - not because it actually made sense or mattered to the game story.) I play to relax, so I played the game on the first difficulty level, but I may wait some time and go back and play it on the harder levels, I like it enough to try it twice. I hope they make more of these.
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Game Not To Miss!! I downloaded this (as well as the first 9 Clues*recommend*) and I'm quite pleased with this! I've been looking for great detective games and I couldn't stop playing this one! I won't give away anything --certainly this is worth a dl if you're looking for games with suspense and a good script/atmosphere/voices/puzzles (no hand holding-!-- & no SG) also this second installment was 7 hours for me! Hidden object scenes were clear (sometimes I had to look up meanings of certain items but more fun for me!) and were relative with what you needed to proceed. It was like playing a movie almost and was at the edge of my seat all throughout. I've played all of the games by AM but this and the first Enigmatis are maybe my faves. I hope to see a lot more to come!! Thanks Devs! *one happy fishie*:^D
Date published: 2014-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Brilliant Game! The Ward is an exceptional improvement from Serpent's Creek on every level; visually, plot-wise, and in terms of level design. The story does a good job of trying to break away from some of the 'safe' HOG plot lines that most companies haven't really tried to breach yet. It handles itself as if it's for a slightly older audience, (Perhaps 15-ish on up) which is great, seeing as most paying BF customers are adults! Most of the puzzles were not frustrating for me, and the voice acting was on-point for everyone except the lead character. The cast was very 3 dimensional, breaking away from arc-typical personalities such as The Damsel in Distress, The Wise Old Person, The Helpless Little Girl, and so on. They were flawed people, but had done good things as well~ The ambiance and music was atmospheric, and the length of the game was good for the price~ Definitely worth playing, and I'm looking forward to the next installment for this series!
Date published: 2014-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent sequel, I hope it continues. Loved it!!! I think maybe I was a detective in another life, because I like this sort of game. Makes you think and doesn't just walk you through it. Yes, you gather clues in "clue mode" and then put them together in the order that they happened. At that time, the detective verbally tells you what they think happened. Breaks up how the HOPs are done. Make sure you do a thorough search of each area before moving on. There is a jump map that is quite helpful, as you do a lot of running in this game. Areas are well identified and areas of interest are marked accordingly. Regular HOPs are interactive and well done. Items are not difficult to find and scenes are pretty clear of clutter. You can switch to a Mahjong game, but I prefer the HOPs myself. Puzzles are not difficult and so far I haven't found any that took very long to complete. Hint system fills very quickly and is quite helpful. I think there is enough in this game to keep you moving and interested. You don't want to skip any dialog, especially during the clues. They do help you through the game. This is an asylum #familiar#, so there are lots of noises and things that jump out at you. You will also see murder and mayhem. So, if you don't like that sort of thing, you won't like this game. It wasn't really gory at all, more of a hint and sound than actually seeing something bad happen, at least during the demo. Don't know how long this one might be, but I only found 2 clues during the demo so now I have to play it out and see what the other 7 might be. This is a nice SE and one that I enjoy playing. I think any level of player would find this one entertaining. A buy for me. Kudos to Artifex Mundi and team!
Date published: 2014-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mystery game keeps us guessing This Game has a fantastic storyline, just when you think you know who the killer is, that person is disqualified. I won't say how. The hidden objects are easy to find and do not get in the way of the storyline as so many hidden object screens do. I enjoyed the voice overs for all characters. My favourite games are Mystery Detective and this is now one of my favourite games. I never had to use help , it is a great game in my opinion. There were no dark places for the hidden object screens. I hope there will be more games like this, I love solving crime stories that are full voiced. My opinion is after I finished the Game. I was sorry to see it end. This Game I would have paid for a bonus game in collectors edition I thought it was that interesting.
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just who is Mnemosyne ?? Lots of other reviewers have given fantastic descriptions of this outstanding game. It's not too often that we are presented this brand of excellence without the need to pay CE prices. I will not go into any game specifics since , I have said, others have given apt and in depth accounts of the game play. What I want to add to the discussion is who Mnemosyne is. She is the goddess of memory in Greek mythology. Mnemosyne is the daughter of Uranus and Gaea. She gave birth to the 9 Muses fathered by Zeus. I can only gather from this information that memories are vital to the game and given there are 9 clues to decipher there may be some connection to the myth. So, I need to buy this gem to learn if and how the myth correlates to the story of The Ward.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from creepy story keeps you this game keeps you playing the story is great very interesting love it
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I loved the story. The game play was fun. I liked the investigating. Hidden object scenes were different and fun!
Date published: 2015-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Game to Die For! Ok, so my review title may be unsettling. The storyline is basically out of a whodunnit detective story. No supernatural or fantasy related elements...well, with the exception of creepy dolls that appear all throughout the story. The story follows you, the female half of private investigating team (sorry male BFG players!), and her partner, Crocodile Dundee--I mean, Detective Owen (I blame his dashing Aussie accent), as you head off to an island where an asylum is located after a distressed phone call to your office was traced coming from there. While outside, a doctor, Dr. Crow, was pushed out of the window right before your eyes. It's up to you and Owen (obviously, your character will do most of the dirty work) to find out who killed Dr. Crow and why you were sent there. What I liked about this game is there's less back and forth journey amongst the rooms which I find irritating and tiring in some HOG/Adventure games. There's no FROG elements here so if that's part of your thrill, this game isn't for you. As I said, this is mainly a whodunnit crime thriller game so expect some blood and (kinda) graphic depictions of violence and murder which some players may find squeamish. You have been warned. If like me, you're into crime thriller stories, then this is your cup of tea!
Date published: 2015-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Who done it" Artifix Mundi has overreached themselves with this unususal game. It’s brillant ! A tale, like a play on theatre, which makes sence without giving you a headache to try to follow it, and it’s actually exiting too ! All the (some unusual) HOS’ compliment the game, as well as the relatively challenging and fun puzzles. The scene is a mental hospital, where we meet both staff and patients, and our detective has to figure out who - done it” Wont’ say what. To help us, we have a map, a journal, and a well functioning hint if one gets lost on the way. The people are cartoonish and they move about talking, playing each their roles. The story has 7 acts and in each act you have to find clues which get sorted via cinematics. It’s like a cartoon film with HOS’ and puzzles to be solved before you can move on. Voice-over fits characters, haunting sounds and music back up the sinister storyline. Fine art work accents the atmosphere of the story. I won’t say any more - try it, don’t think you’ll regret it ! I decidedly recommend this game. ( but it's not really suited for small children I should perhaps add ).
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seriously Great Game! I enjoyed everything about this.
Date published: 2015-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can't believe I almost missed this gem! What an awesome game! It was a gift that kept on giving. When chapter 7 came, I was like - Wow - another chapter! There is nothing negative that I have to say. Keep it up, devs!
Date published: 2014-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from more like this please I really liked this game. I hope this continues soon.
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different type of Hidden Object Game for me Loved it! Good story line not your usual HO game. Adventurous. Love the way you have to figure these clues. Will be purchasing it to add to my collection. It's been a while since I've written a review. Stop playing the HO games got bored, but this one bought me back to life. Thanks!
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Want more of these types of games! I'm almost finished with this game, but wanted to write a small review. This game is somewhat long, and it's one of the most fun times to play I've had in awhile. Somewhat sinister, but you also get to use your brain. Also, a different game than most featured on BF. Fantastic!
Date published: 2014-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So much fun! This is a fantastic game. From the story line to the characters, the game is a real bargain. I have been looking for a good detective driven game, and this fills the bill. Throw in creepy sound affects, lots of cool clues and things to do, and it's a winner. A few HO scenes that can be played as mahjong (which is a real winner for me), puzzles that are quite doable, and very good graphics, and this game is well worth the price.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Wow! and Wow! Doing a quick review so we can buy the game! This is so awesome! Kept us on our toes. Is creepy & fun at the same time. We played in casual mode. The hidden object scenes are a bit unusual and you can also switch to majong tiles game. The games were clever & fun. Sorry, I know this review isn't much help, but if you play the demo, you surely will buy the game!
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from like a breath of fresh october air loved this game. so interactive.i felt i was in a movie. superb thank for an enjoyable evening..love the characters, the suspense the wholesome colors. kept me going till the end. enjoy fishies.
Date published: 2014-10-06
  • y_2019, m_10, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_21778, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

9 Clues: The Ward

Discover the secrets that lie buried in the eerie, crooked halls of Mnemosyne Asylum!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.