Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(453.46 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Dire Grove has been plunged into a record-defying cold, and wild animals threaten at every turn! You've been called in to uncover the source of the town's troubles. But you quickly find yourself in the middle of a feud between the local hunters and the mysterious Mistwalkers who live in the woods. Can you prevent an all-out war? Pick your gender and use an innovative deduction mechanic as you try to discover the secret behind Dire Grove's curse!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

"I really enjoyed this game. The graphics were outstanding and I like the more challenging puzzles. The hints were excellent. Overall, this is the best MCF yet!" – Georgia, Beta Tester

"MCF has hit it out of the park with this one! I cannot wait for the game to come out!" – Morgan, Beta Tester

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1327 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(453.46 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 59.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another quality MCF game I have played all the Mystery Case File games and find Sacred Grove to be up to the usual MCF standards. Although the storyline is not as exciting as some of the others, it has a solid and deep story and the puzzles, especially the few rather complex ones, are quite entertaining. Very few HO style puzzles, which I personally prefer. Overall a quality quick-play game.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As usual from MCF...it's great! I'm not understanding how the reviews have this game at 3 stars but its certainly 5! Out of all, the storyline is the weakest but still good. And I only say that because it didnt seem to follow the storyline from Dire Grove. The puzzles are amazing but tricky. But is that not half the fun? The graphics are beautiful! This is definitely the type of game I strive to find!!
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best in the HO A fantastic game I did not want to end. There is some really challenging puzzles, great quality HO scenes and easy to use interface. The storyline is intriguing and holds continuity throughout the game. The interactive puzzles were my favourite part about the game - with some downright challenging and needing some time to figure out. A true testament to this genre of game.
Date published: 2016-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game with great puzzles I love games which offer challenging puzzles. I absolutely love the ones where you have to work out the sequence of events in order to solve the puzzle. I was not so keen of having to sit through a lot of dialogue now and again that was not easy to skip through. I like to just get on with the game. Overall, I really enjoyed this game. More of these please.
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed it!! So glad I ignored the other negative reviews about it not being connected to the original story, but a lot of the series games, do completely change the story line, and still keep the main title. My kind of game, as there are loads of puzzles, so I found it very entertaining, with a lot of challenge, especially the super puzzles which there are a lot of. Good value, and will definitely replay this one. Only trouble I had with this game, is the sound kept going in and out, and had to restart the game a lot of times. This seems to happen to a lot of Elephant games, I have noticed. That is why the poor score for Visual/Sound Quality. Otherwise a great game.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWSOMMMMMM EVERY THING ABOUT THIS GAME WAS AWSOM. THE PUZZLES WERE VERY TRICKY. IT TOOK ME SEVERAL TIMES TO SOLVE SOME OF THEM,BUT WHAT THE HECK. I HOPE EVERYONE ENJOYED THIS GAME AS MUCH AS I DID. I REALLY LIKED THE INNERACTION WITH THE CHARACTERS.
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it You can't go wrong on a "Mystery Case Files" game, no matter if it's a first or a sequel. I bought the CE on a 2 for 1 deal and enjoyed everything about the game, the bonus and the other ending. I missed a couple puzzle pieces, but got all the collectibles.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent mini games I had to write about the mini games in this game. There are a number of mini games in here that require solving 5 or 6 parts in order to complete them. These are wonderful. I haven't been so challenged in some time. Have fun! I am!
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF does it again! Challenging with a story line you can follow. For experienced players use the master challenge mode. If you like MCF games you won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Good Game I have to say that this is the best game I've played in a long time. Love the story. Just buy it and play it!!!
Date published: 2015-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent puzzles! I highly recommend this game. The art is beautiful, the map was helpful, and the puzzles were challenging and interesting! Please try this game. I think you'll like it!
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game This game is superb in excellent game play and time.
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice sequel! I loved the sequel of Mystery Case Files Dire Grove. The Mystery Case Files series has always been a winning choice for hours of fun.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game yet by some way I have been a big fish member for a few years now and can honestly say that this is a game you all must play. There are puzzles which are challenging and original and give you a real sense of achievement to complete. I personally prefer puzzles to hidden object searches and if you're like me then I wager you won't find a better game at big fish than this. I can only hope that these guys continue making games using this format.
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging, fun and extensive! Great game. I loved it, and I strongly recommend this game. I have played many adventure games, this is one of our favorites. The puzzles can be difficult - which is what I prefer :)
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has it All! Great work went into this game. The story, challenge, and artistry of Dire Grove, Sacred Grove, shows the team putting it together wanted the customer to enjoy the experience and perhaps learn how to complete a puzzle they haven't encountered in another game. Whatever awards are given to gaming teams, this team deserves to compete and be awarded at the highest level!!!
Date published: 2019-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the mystery A good game you are the detective and you have a lot of clues to find good play not short
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game in spite of a few glitches I want to start right out to say if you get stuck on a part of the game, try disabling special effects. Otherwise you can not progress. In spite of that, I did enjoy the game enough to stick with it until I figured out the problem and then the rest of the game ran great. The puzzles are sometimes intricate but challenging. The graphics fantastic. It was a long game. It took me a couple of days to finish. The only other thing that bothered me is the voice dialog as it shows the Master Detective's image as male but the voice was female. LOL!
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Hit from Dire Grove This is posted after playing the entire game. I have to say, I really enjoyed this game. I believe I have all of the Mystery Case File series and this one is one of the best. It was just plain fun with an exception which I'll get to in a minute. One thing I loved, it asks if you are male or female. I got to say male and everything was in a man's voice. I didn't have to go put on a dress to play... LOL The visuals were awesome. With graphics like this it's almost like being there. Sound was great and the music was very enjoyable. The soft jazz that plays during hidden object scenes is good, relaxing and I would like to have the whole album, but it just didn't seem to go with the story. Effects including voice overs were wonderfully done. Can't say enough about this part of the review. The challenge was there. I don't like mini games and this was no exception. I tried to play all of them, but I just couldn't figure out the majority. There are several different kinds of minis as well as hidden objects, so you won't get bored going down a list. You have a kind of journal. It's an evidence board where you can review what you have found out on your investigation. There is a lot of moving around in this game, and the map will be your very best friend in the world. I don't know if I would have the patience to figure out where to go on my own. It sure is handy. All the back and forth and moving around was the reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I was living on the map. The story is different even though it references the other Dire Grove game. It does have its own beginning and a few plot twists that caught me off guard a couple of times. Good story along with almost believable characters. There is a lot to this game and I do believe you will enjoy it. It's raining and cold here in the FL Panhandle and I spent my day saving Dire Grove. What did you do?. :-)
Date published: 2014-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Mini Games The storyline was good. There was a lot of back and forth. I used the map mostly to save time. Sometimes you have to use it to get to the scene,but the map was the most helpful one in any game I have played. The mini games were excellent. I did have to get help for some parts, but they were still great. They were the best part of the game for me.
Date published: 2016-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good time overall I know that this is already an older game, but I hadn't played it all the way through until now. I hoped that this was a sequel to Dire Grove, because I LOVED that game, but while it takes place in the same locale, it's not really a sequel. The storyline was a little weak for MCF games, but the way you gather clues is novel and I liked the set parameters. It gave me a path to follow. I love the mini game puzzles, though they can seem impossible (and improbable) at times. You're encouraged to click everywhere to figure out how to solve the puzzles, and they made me think differently. I really didn't like the dialogue and wanted to skip it, though I recommend at least to read through it, since some dialogue contain clues. Play this is you love MCF games (or Elephant Games!)
Date published: 2015-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful scenes, easy to understand. I enjoyed this game so much that I immediately played it again once I had finished it. I rarely do that. Very pretty scenery and interesting story line.
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It could have been better I really think if this game hadn't been so click-y, and didn't have so much dialog that you have to keep choosing, it would have flowed more easily and would have been more enjoyable. When I see how well the 13th Skull game went, I want to hold all the MCF games to the same standard, and maybe that's unfair. I know that Escape From Ravenhearst may have been too painful for many gamers, but it is another example of a well-thought through storyline, where all the components seem to work together. For that reason, I just found this one to be...meh.
Date published: 2018-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An example of how more is less I played the original Dire Grove, which I loved so bought this without hesitation. I was disappointed to find there is very little detective work/adventure in it. Most object interactions boil down to remembering where you saw a certain missing shape and fill it in (use hint button rather than scroll through a dozen locations) - there were very few real life object interactions like using a saw to cut a tree etc which are far more interesting. The mega puzzles are extremely far-fetched. They often boil down to using trial and error rather than logic to solve - ended up using the Hint button again, and I am someone who does this only as a last resort. The so-called "innovative deduction feature" is pretty pointless. The false sense of dialogue is completely unnecessary as you need to go through all lines anyway. The story is quite absurd but, then again, so are many others in this genre. I finished the game but I highly doubt I will replay it any time soon.
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If I were a young teenage boy . . . . I would’ve loved this game ( I imagine ), but since that’s not the case, here’s what I old pensioner think: fine artwork, lots of spectacular locations, sound track and music fitting the action, varying types of HOS’, good puzzles, but especiallly those, of which there’s one for each chapter of the game, are great fun; full of humor and imagination. Pretty difficult and challenging though. But the story and the characters of it, and the written/spoken dialogues which can’t be skipped, were for me a drag - never “connected” or stirred my interest. So I don’t know wether to recommend this game or not. The story is too complicated and the voice over not “real” - gung ho stuff which doesn’t appeal to me.
Date published: 2015-04-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad, but not up to MCF standards... I bought this game after seeing other reviews; I am a big MCF fan. This game really isn't as good as the others (the conversations with other characters were tedious# but the game effects and rendering are gorgeous, as all MCF games are. The story is okay, but I found myself skipping the puzzles to open things #I never did that in other games) and not really caring how it ended... just wanted to get through the game. I will be wary of the next MCF title- but will still play it, and hope for better than this game.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty Blah I've played all of the MCF games, and loved them all except one. But this one was a bit lack lustre. There's a lot of back and forth so you don't really feel like your advancing much. Also towards the end there's this whole new character that shows up, turns out to be vital. But it feels like it comes out of no where and in one scene he has nor memory and then voila suddenly knows who he is. Kinda spoilt the ending for me. I played the collectors edition but didn't feel it was worth the extra $7
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Game of the year? Certainly NOT the game of the year. Once again I can't figure out how these winners are picked. This installment of the Dire Grove series is not living up the the original which was very exciting and great fun to play. I agree with other reviewers that this game is riding the coat tails of one of the best games presented on Big Fish. I advise you to get it when it hits the daily or weekly special.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure how to feel.. This game is not the sequel to Dire Grove that I was imagining - it is more a Mystery Trackers type game than an MCF game. It's well done, and fun - fairly easy, with a few complicated games thrown in - but just doesn't feel like Dire Grove. If you like Mystery Trackers, give it a try. If you are hoping for a return to Dire Grove, know that they use the setting but not the style, and they have changed the format; this is almost all adventure type stuff, with only a few HO scenes in it. While I am enjoying the game, I can't help but feel a little bit let down, because I was hoping for more MCF type play. They don't use live actors (a pity IMO) but the voice-overs are well done, and the style is pretty. Overall, a bit of a disappointment in terms of wishing to revisit Dire Grove, but a decent game to while away the Christmas hours.
Date published: 2014-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not like the original Dire Grove at all This review is for the demo for this game. I was glad that the Mystery Case Files was going back to Dire Grove. The original was a really great game so I was looking forward to this one. However, where the first Dire Grove game was really great and was the first Hidden Object game that startled me when the people trapped in the game interacted with you in live-action scenes, this game has none of that. My impression of this game is that it's based on the real events (in the Mystery Case Files universe) of the first Dire Grove made into a hidden object game and it's a poor sequel to the first one. I will eventually play the full game just because it is the newest Mystery Case Files game but that's about the only reason I am recommending it in this review...
Date published: 2014-12-25
  • y_2019, m_11, d_17, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_59
  • loc_en_US, sid_22231, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove

A deadly secret lurks in the woods of Dire Grove!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.