Nightfall Mysteries: Haunted by the Past Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Nightfall Mysteries: Haunted by the Past Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(463.16 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Vast Studios, creators of the popular Nightfall Mysteries and Dark Canvas series, invites you to solve another thrilling mystery!

Your grandfather Charles was a kind and passionate man, beloved by all those who knew him. His death came as quite a shock to everyone around him. But you barely have time to mourn before you find yourself in the middle of an unexpected mystery. It turns out Charles did not die of natural causes – in fact, he had feared for his life! But who would want your grandfather dead? Find out before you become the next family casualty in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Discover Viggo's deadly secret in the bonus game
  • Find hidden masks and replay puzzles and mini-games
  • Get the available Strategy Guide
  • Enjoy concept art, wallpapers, and soundtracks

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1077 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nightfall Mysteries: Haunted by the Past Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(463.16 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Nightfall Mysteries: Haunted by the Past Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 44.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game! Great storyline easy HOP and puzzles really enjoyable game I loved it.
Date published: 2015-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Mystery Exciting mystery with great visuals and exciting events
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game What I liked most about this game was that there were not too many HOS. What I did not like was that the instructions for a couple of the puzzles made no sense. Neither my husband nor I could figure them out and we are fairly smart with puzzles. I had to resort to the guide which I hate doing. I prefer never to use hints or guides because it detracts from my overall satisfaction with finishing a game.
Date published: 2015-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i HAD FUN PLAYING THIS GAME i don't have an awful lot to say about this game except that it was enjoyable. It was not to hard and wasn't stupid easy. Just pleasant and fun. The storyline was one that I was able to follow without having to remind myself about where I was and what I was doing. It seemed like two regular people having an adventure. Just what I was looking for. I recommend at the very least that you give the demo a try. Nothing ventured, nothing gained!
Date published: 2015-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a challenge, but enjoyed it nonetheless This game is much more elegantly executed than "Blackhill Manor" was... the visual quality is excellent and the voice actors are what I would expect from a top quality game -- they didn't use somebody's best mate's sister to provide the voices. I personally enjoyed the storyline. It was much less in the gothic melodrama style than its predecessors. I am actually looking forward to the next game to find out what happens to Viggo. The one area where I thought it didn't perhaps live up to the other titles in the series was in level of challenge. As I recall, the mini-games were more challenging in "Blackhill Manor." #I cant remember as far back as the others#. The find-and-use narrative was at pretty much the same level as most H/O Adventure games. I was seldom at a loss regarding where to go or what to use next.
Date published: 2015-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A PUZZLING WHO-DUN-IT! This is definitely a fun game and I enjoyed it. It has all the bells and whistles of the latest game releases and it's also falls in the mystery genre which I really enjoy. The only "huh" moments I had were in the storyline itself as some things just didn't add up or were a stretch... but hey folks 'it's a game'. The premise is based on suspended reality. Thank you for a great time... Keep them coming!!
Date published: 2015-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Moral Of The Story: Treat Everyone You Know With Kindness And Respect, You May Live Longer! I found this story rather odd, Christine just learned that her Granddad, Charles Crenshaw, has passed away. She didn't find out through a letter, nor did an attorney contact her, not even a distant family member bothered to send her a quick text. Nope, she read about her Granddad's passing in the newspaper! If that isn't odd in itself, it would seem that granddad was writing a desperate letter to Christine, stating that he was being followed and was fearful for his own safety. He signed the letter with a simple name, Charles. I don't know about you, but my grandparents signed letters to me, with what we called them, grandma and grandpa! Another feature I will never understand, is collecting 15 audio tapes spewn about the town. Some of the tapes are recorded by granddad Charles, some recorded by granddad's caregiver, Lily. Who does that, who sit's down, pops in a blank cassette, records a 30 second rundown of another persons behavior, and then hides the cassette in the church, or in another random building for safe keeping? I know, I know, it's just a game right! Besides a few imperfections in the story, the story is still a good who-dun-it mystery. The graphics are decent, and the game has definite entertainment potential. There are 15 Audio Cassette Tapes to locate, which gives you insight to the story from that characters perspective. There are 46, very well hidden masks to collect throughout the game. Each scene has one happy face mask and one sad faced mask, and there is an icon on the bottom left of the screen to help you keep track of which masks have been found. If you enter the bonus room where the masks are stored, you can access a bio of the characters as you collect specific amounts of masks. The hidden Object Scenes are a hodgepodge of variations, interactive silhouetted shapes, requiring you to find items that match the silhouetted shape shown, standard list finds, and finding several items of one kind such as 12 napkins. The most unusual HOP, required you to find items to feed a very hungry hamster, one at a time as indicated by the hamsters "thought bubble". Some of the Hidden Object Scenes are repeated, however, the second time around is usually a different style of HOP. The Mini Games are good, nothing new, but nothing mind boggling either, such as lighting all purple candles and distinguishing all yellow candles (clicking on one candle would affect the results of other candles) Another game required you to swap tiles to create pathways that allow a blue, green and purple gem to travel from the top to the bottom. This Collectors Edition has 15 Audio Cassette Tapes to locate, 46 hidden Masks, an Art Gallery, Wallpaper, Music, Achievements, re-playable Mini Games and Hidden Object Scenes, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing Story... Not So Amazing Gameplay BASED ON DEMO I wasn't familiar with this series, so I had no idea what to expect from it. Well, I have definitely been delivered a pretty good game! The story was brilliantly crafted, and honestly, I can't find a fault with it. The story started off with a bang and got me right in to the action from the get-go. It progressed with a clear and logical flow and was at just the right pace to keep me interested. I was especially impressed by the great developments in the story. There was twist after twist, some in the form of cutscenes, some in the form of notes, all of which were fantastic, unexpected and added to the story tremendously. I especially liked the audio tapes. I thought they made the story a lot more interesting. But what I was really impressed by was how well the developers have done a murder mystery. There is something shady about every single character I came across in the demo, so I have absolutely no idea who the murderer could be, which only added to the suspense and made me want to keep on playing. And, to top it off, the demo ends on a brilliant cliffhanger which I really was not expecting! Kudos to the developers for a flawless story! The gameplay, however, paled in comparison and a tad basic for my liking. The HOS were okay. They came in a couple of varieties: silhouette HOS and standard junkpile. A couple of the scenes had a bit of variation (for example, the hamster one), but that was about as variant as they got. The HOS were quite easy and simple, identical to ones I would see in a 2012 game. I wanted a little bit of interactivity. Maybe one of those assemble the item scenes? I honestly found them a little boring. Had they been jazzed up a bit I would have been a lot more interested. The quantity is good though. I found 5 HOS in the demo, with a couple of scenes repeated twice. The puzzles were good, actually. The thing I liked about them was they were not too complex, and didn't require a ton of thought. So all I had to do was enjoy them.. and that I did. The puzzles were all ones I'd seen before, but were still enjoyable. Even though the majority of puzzles were easy, I did have to skip a couple (the one with the candles and the one with the fuses), but I really didn't mind, because they were still nice to attempt. The quantity of the puzzles was good too. There were 6 in the demo and, unlike the HOS, none repeated. I was quite pleased with the adventure component. It was both prominent and fun, even though it was quite basic. Due to its basic nature, I expected the game to be quite easy, but looks can be deceiving. The game was actually quite challenging for me and I had to use the hint and map a lot more times than I care to admit. So good job to the developers for sneaking some challenge in to a simple design! When I say the adventure component was basic, I do mean BASIC. The design and execution of the adventure component is exactly the same as 2012. I was extremely disappointed to see that there were absolutely NO extra features here. No + objects... no helpers... absolutely nothing. It had quite an impact on the fun factor, to the point where I got bored with the game, and had it not been for the amazing story I wouldn't even think about purchasing. For their next game I am sincerely hoping Vast flex their creativity and think outside the box, because as it stands, the gameplay is quite linear and was nowhere near as fun as it should have been. In terms of basic features, I was extremely pleased to see a diary. It kept track of all events and added an insight to what the main character was thinking, which I think is key to any story. I also think the difficulty levels have been done quite well. There is a custom difficulty, but I played advanced. Advanced had no sparkles ANYWHERE, which was pleasing to see. There were map indicators, but because of the game's difficulty, I can tell you that I needed them, so this time I won't be complaining. The graphics were quite good. I found they were drawn with nice, realistic detail and great colours. All scenes were clear. I also liked the character designs. I thought they were realistic, but I wish there had been lip-synch. It would have made the game better. The voice-overs are standard. I have no issue. FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Casual, Normal, Hard and Custom. I played Advanced and was pleased to see no sparkles anywhere. Differences in others are standard. Hint/Skip- both recharged at a decent speed for Advanced and the hint was helpful outside HOS. Diary- The diary is divided in two sections: one for notes and one for audio tapes. The diary also keeps track of events, which was very helpful. Map- The map was interactive and quite helpful. It also had indicators, but I didn't mind because of the game's difficulty. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter Built-in Strategy Guide- does not show HOS solutions Achievements- a mix of gameplay and story based Collectible masks (46)- I did not attempt to find these. Replay HOS & Puzzles Wallpapers Soundtrack Concept Art WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? I would definitely advise you to go with the SE. Bonus Content is extremely limited and is only basics. MY PROGRESS The demo actually goes in to the very start of the third chapter. I finished it in 62 minutes. There are 6 chapters in the main game. An amazing story and not so amazing gameplay means I am left with one almighty purchase dilemma. The story is crafted well, but the gameplay left much to be desired. What had the potential to be a 5 star game is now only a 4 star one. But still, I highly recommend it. The story is too fantastic to ignore.
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice story, challenging collectibles... Hi all. Well, here we have the 4th in this series. Yes, I have the other 3. Graphics are the same as the other games, pretty good. Characters are a bit stiff, but well done. Colors are bright and mostly true, with some areas of blues, but not over-powering. Game play was very good, no problems during the demo and game fit my large screen very well. Of course, the ability to "pick" your screen size is a nice added feature, as well s the cursor size. Now, if they would just add the ability to adjust the hint refill time.... Voice overs were well done and age appropriate and the characters seemed to have some emotion and not just be reading from a script. Music wasn't too bad, but I prefer listening to the sound FX and voice overs, so I turn it down to background noise. HOPs were the usual silhouettes, some interactive and lists. Items were not difficult to find and the HOPs were fairly clean and clear. Puzzles were not difficult either and I saw nothing new. Hint system was helpful, but the "sparkles" were almost too light and easy to miss, even on easy mode. I always demo on easy to get the feel of a game and then replay at max for the challenge. SG was easy to follow, but I seldom use it except to make sure I have all of the collectibles. Jump map is very useful. There is a lot to do in each scene, so you are constantly running back and forth for one item here and there. Collectibles are audio tapes that give you more info on what is happening and why in the story. You also have 46 theater masks to collect. These are somewhat of a challenge in that they are quite small in most scenes and either blend into the background or are opaque in color. There are 2 in each scene and there is a box in the bottom left that tells you if you have all of them before you leave. I like this feature. This game isn't all that challenging, but it is an interesting story and I found myself wanting more when the demo ended. I think this one will appeal to all levels of players. Yes, I will get this one to add to my ever growing collection. I have the need to see where it is going. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Logic Fails Yet There Is a Certain Charm Yes, the title explains my position on this game. Logic goes down the drain as only part of one room in a large mansion is destroyed and Grandpa dies in the fire. I might buy that he was drugged or gassed in the fire, but there was a live-in-caretaker to call for help after the explosion. And if the firemen were so quick that they saved all the rest of the house, why is the water still pouring out of a hydrant after the funeral? Since when do all the deceased's friends and late wife know about the funeral, but not his granddaughter? With such a localized fire, why would it be labeled an accident? BUT the mystery is central here - Once you realized there was a threat to his life, who killed Granddad? From that point on, the game gets better. The HOPs varied including a riddle type; there were mini-games that could be a bit challenging; the soothing violin music would lapse into silence at solemn moments; the artwork was well done; and, in spite of your husband being emasculated, the VOs were OK, or you could just read through the dialogue boxes. You will find both collectibles and voice tapes along the way. The collectibles were well hidden. The tapes give you bits of the story to mull over. Is this the game of the year? No, but you may find it an enjoyable way to while away the long frigid weekend. As opinion on this game seems very divided, you should take a look for yourself.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Good Graphics, Sound, Effects, Animations, Voice & Video Bits ... A Very Enjoyable Game With Plenty To Do ... However, I Did Find Myself Back Tracking A Lot In The Bonus Game ... Well Worth Getting This CE Version On A Special Deal ...
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soap opera meets crime drama Your grandfather has just been murdered by a Molotov cocktail thrown through his window. Why? You and your husband go to the funeral and low and behold someone tries to kill you both as well. Then you discover your grandmother had an affair. Mon dieu ! What next. The story is as improbable as sre most soap operas but don't try to over think it. Graphics are clear. HOS's varied. Puzzles range from fairly easy to challenging, some could have been more clearly explained. There is a interactive map. Toing and froing is fairly minimal. It is nice to have a game that is set in a relatively modern setting - very nostalgic for those of us that remember cassette tapes and VHR tapes.There are different difficulty levels offered so you can make it as easy or as challenging as you want. Play this game for the sheer entertainment of it, with no spooky ghosts, goblins, witches or monsters.
Date published: 2015-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reality Based HOG If you're into purple and pink fairies and mystic portals to another dimension, this game is NOT for you. Easy game play, and a coherent story line, and if you're a Downton Abbey fan, you'll recognize one of the main characters.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairly good and entertaining "Soap" First of all: great review Sunnyglow! I have nothing to add to this fantastic review. My comment: it really follows the theme of the series in a nice manner. I love this kind of game-recipe: a potion of love, crime and secretiveness. So this was a buy.
Date published: 2015-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review of Completed Game This series is one of my all time favorites and I absolutely adored this game. I will say that the first two in this series are the absolute best ones and even though they are "old school" by hidden object game standards, they have an intertwined plot that is soooooo good. I remember playing it and just being wowed that the sequel tied the two together in a way I was not expecting and I can't think of another game that has done a sequel so captivating to the original story. In fact when I finished the sequel, I had to replay the original because I wanted to see it play out again as the sequel is like a prequel to the original. They are both such good games. I highly recommend them. The 3rd game in this series wasn't as good as the first two but I liked it yet I liked this game sooo much more. VAST does something in this series I really like and that is finding and playing cassette tapes. It gives the game another dimension and when they first did it in the original game, it was one of those new ideas that no other developers did so I have always liked their creativity and I was psyched to see them integrated throughout the game. It gives the game more depth. I will say that unless you LOVE collectibles and achievements that the bonus chapter is really not needed. The bonus game ends on a cliffhanger but unless the developers do another one of these, it doesn't warrant buying the CE as the story wraps up in the main game. I haven't seen a game from VAST in awhile so even though it ended on a cliffhanger...I really doubt we will ever see a 5th one much to my dismay...but fingers crossed!!! There are 3 modes of difficulty and a custom mode. I liked that I could turn off black bar tips completely. Also, there are a variety of hidden object scenes and some of the puzzles were a bit tricky or time consuming. I like having my brain cells challenged from time to time. You can still skip a few games without losing the achievement so that is nice too. For people who like a challenge they can do the puzzle and if you don't it won't affect you getting all the achievements. I used to be really caught up in getting all the achievements and collectibles but just because a game has those elements doesn't make it a good game so I'd rather have substance and quality over getting a trophy.. Christine and Viggo are back to solve a mystery. It seems everything in this series is set around an orphanage and an asylum so it stuck to the theme of previous games although it wasn't set directly in them. It was pretty obvious who the bad guy was but I really liked where the game went. I really hope there is another one of these but I won't hold my breath.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty nice game I own the first game in the series (Asylum Conspiracy) and that's it so I know a bit about the background of the story, but the graphic has totally changed from the first one, I almost didn't recognize them. I prefer the first game graphic though, more colors, less gloomy. The puzzles are especially easy even for me who don't like puzzles. The HOG is also very simple and easy to solve. Map is interactive. There are 4 modes of difficulty. Extras are the same old same old, only I couldn't really find the collectibles. Actually nothing really special about this game. For me as a CE maybe it's not so worth it so I think I will just buy the SE.
Date published: 2015-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting ... The Storyline was rather good, better than in most Games. The boy was fully justified in what he did. If my parents did that to me, I would kill them also! Two things I didn't like about this Game - 1) The Hint button was VERY SLOW to recharge, making the Game incredibly slow and 2) We should be able to go back and find the missing Masks that we missed. Otherwise I would have given it a much higher score.
Date published: 2015-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WHO KILLED CHARLES? YOU WILL BE SURPRISED Review of completed Game and Bonus. In the main game you play Christine, the granddaughter, along with your husband Viggo. The bonus game is mainly played by Viggo. There are: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Easy, Normal, Difficult and Custom modes; * Interactive map; * Achievements board; * Find a total of 46 theatre masks in game only (2 at each scene); * Journal; * Listen to audio tapes. The graphics are mostly quite good. There are a few cluttered scenes where I had to look carefully around. Colour is good and not garish with lots of pinks and blues, etc. Sound and music are fine. Music is mainly piano and orchestral. There were a good variety of hidden object games. These predominantly were straightforward and silhouette. There were a couple of HOS where a question was asked and you answered by getting the correct item. Some of the HOS were very cluttered and hard to see, but eventually I slowly got them all. The mini-games were quite good and had a good variety. Some of them were sliding puzzles, balance the scales, direct light through the prisms; matching pairs; matching keys; putting out yellow candles and keeping purple candles lit; rearranging tiles, copy the tune of the piano keys, etc. None of these were too hard and I didn't spend much time on them. There were 46 theatre masks (game only) to collect. Some of these were very hard to find, so a good level of challenge there. When you have collected them all, you do a puzzle. Most of the achievements were easy to get - solve HOS and mini-games in under a minute; complete the game in Difficult mode, find all the theatre masks and listen to all 8 audio tapes - you know, the usual collection we get in most games. I found I didn't need to use the interactive map at all. You don't venture off more than a few steps and you tend to stay within the same area until all tasks had been completed. All up the game and bonus took me about 6 hours. I'm not entirely convinced that this game is CE worthy. Yes, you can replay the HOS and mini-games, but collecting the theatre masks and doing a couple of extra puzzles may not be enough for some fishies (myself included). I missed the morphing objects and harder mini-games and being kept very busy. However, it will fill in an afternoon. Happy playing.
Date published: 2015-02-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Break Out Your Old Cassette Player Setting: You are Christine. Your grandfather Charles Crenshaw has just died in a suspicious fire at his home. Before he passed, Charles had written a note to you warning of impending danger. So you, with your husband Viggo, are determined to find out what this was all about. There are several other characters as well. For example, during the trial we're introduced to Charles' caretaker Lily and her brother Devon, Charles' ex-wife Birdie, and also a man named Greyson. The drawing style leans more towards realistic, but is short of photo-realism. There is no dominant color palette. I do not recall hearing much music or sound affects. There are four difficulty settings. Hints and Skip refills can be separately adjusted between 30 and 95 seconds. There is a transportable map (much needed) and a journal. CE extras: There are 46 collectible theater masks with an indicator in each scene to show if you've collected them. Also, there are a number of journal clues, which are old-style cassette tapes to listen to. The purpose of the tapes is for the various characters to tell their part of the story. There is the bonus level, strategy guide and the usual pseudo extras also. Summary: I found the game-play to be pretty ordinary, there was nothing particularly memorable or innovative that struck me. But the story is kind of interesting, despite requiring a lot of reading and listening to the tapes. If you are primarily looking for great game-play you may be disappointed. On the other hand, if you play more for the stories than the puzzles, you may find this one interesting enough to enjoy.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Who killed your grandfather and why? This storyline goes from one crisis to the next, without a clear explanation as to why. Someone killed your grandfather Charles Crenshaw by a molotov cocktail - right - and then they try to freeze you in at the funeral, send you a flower bomb, and sink the ship you're visiting! A bit too much, I think. Even with all that happening, I was a bit bored by the gameplay. You are the granddaughter Christine, with your boyfriend? husband? Viggo, attending the funeral and receiving a letter from Charles telling you he's being stalked. So like a good grandchild, you decide to investigate. The lips do not move in the voice-overs, but the graphics are quite nice. The HOS are varied - a list, find all the cloth napkins, feed the hamster, find items based on a written clue. Can't remember any mini-games. You have a map with objectives marked, as well as collectibles. You have 46 masks to find, some quite well-hidden. You also find audiotapes that advance the story - it seems Charles is quite angry with Birdie, his ex-wife, since she had a child that wasn't his. Not sure what that has to do with the story, or why someone keeps trying to kill you like they did your grandfather. The story is OK, but not sure it is a CE.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing new but they tried ... I got bored, was not involved, found the puzzles cryptic, HO were also uninteresting...It was not creepy, just boring
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not overly exciting game I have just finished the demo and i do not plan to purchase this game. The story in itself could well be an interesting tale, but ... The setting is unremarkable, and drab, The art work was ok, but dated and dreary. The characters are stilted with little to no personality. Puzzles were ok, Ho's were rather fuzzy. (some better than others) As for the game play, one just plods along... carrying out a series of not very challenging pick up and place the items in order to move forwards . Nothing innovative or new , just a repetition of what we have seen and done a hundred times before in other games. It did not feel real and it was not much fun. There were grammatical errors in the texts which are very annoying to me. I would not go as far as to give this game a rating of "poor", but can hardly say it was "good" either. I might not have rated this game so harshly if it were a standard edition that had come out a year or two ago, but I don't consider that it is up to par with today's expectations of a CE game.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What A Disappointment for a CE! Although I DID enjoy the storyline....at least this game had one....that kept me moving forward wanting to know more...I felt that that was the 'only' redeeming factor in the game. Yes....you have a 'very' helpful jump map that shows areas of interest plus a journal & the 'tapes' that you pick up throughout the game to give you further insight into what is going on.....BUT that's about IT! Well....except for the 'masks' that you collect.....2 for each scene....and it shows you right there on your left hand side whether you have collected them or not. The HOS are pretty standard for todays games....lists, or finding numerous objects of the same kind 'silhouette'. The puzzles came with VERY vague instructions....so much so...I was glad of the SG.....which was little to no help in this area. I completed the 'Bonus' game....because that's just me......and sure enough it ended leaving us to expect 'another' Nightfall Mystery on the horizon. I don't think that THIS player will be trying to solve it!
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bit of a boring game I wanted to like this game as havnt bought any games this year, as just havnt clicked with any. I like the hos and the hamster is a cute idea. I didnt like, yet again, to be looking for gears etc. I wish devs would come up with some new ideas for the inventory stuff. Its nearly always the same old things, and I am getting bored of it all. Finished the demo and it was ok but not good enough for me to buy it.
Date published: 2015-02-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A bit corney The characters were a bit on the Corney side. Story was good enough and nice HO's. Three different types of HO's. It has a jump map and good hint button. Lots to do. This game is entertaining enough to go on my to buy list but probably a rainy day special.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT a CE While the game was fine, it should not be Caled a CE. Luckily, I didn't pay full price for it, or I would have been even more disappointed. I only played it twice and the game was finished. Please make sure you pay half price or less!
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from puzzles and HO games "OK" Kept dozing off! The story line is weak. Christine finds out about the death of her Grandfather in a newspaper article. Why didn't she acknowledge her Grandmother when she arrived at the funeral home, very rude! How is it that Charles and Birdie are her Grandparents....did they have more children and where are they? The secretary tells her she did not have to come because everything was under control...who would say such at thing to a grieving family member. I am playing it again...maybe I missed something...when I dozed off! If it's free, I recommend this game, if not, there are better ones on BF.
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun before the glitch I enjoyed the gameplay. The HOS were different than usual, which I liked. However, there was a glitch in my game play and I couldn't finish the bonus game (that I bought! So frustrating) so that brought my level from a 4 to a 3.
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What a disappointment To be fair, this review is based on only the demo, as the game was so meh and unengaging that I couldn't be bothered to go farther. I was initially excited to see another Nightfall Mysteries game, and was looking forward to another chapter in Catherine and Viggo's struggle to defeat and/or escape the Vansig family. Instead, I was presented with a bland soap opera. The other entries in the series were dark, creepy, occult-ish mysteries, with stylish graphics and interesting stories. This… is none of those things. What happened, Vast? Did your story notes get lost in a HD crash? Did the writing staff all come down with amnesia? The nifty drawn characters are gone, replaced with boring, generic "realistic" ones. The voiceovers are bland and lifeless. You can tell the actors are just reading their cue cards, putting as little effort into it as possible. Viggo was especially disappointing. No more ornate mansions or creepy asylums. No mad scientists. Just an ordinary modern town full of ordinary people. No mention of anything in the previous games. No Vansigs, no Detective Thomas, no stagehand character. If it weren't for the character names, you'd never know this was a Nightfall Mysteries game. So, like I said, I didn't make it past the demo. Does it get better? Do the Vansigs show up? Does the nonsense with Birdie somehow tie in to the pre-existing storyline? If not, there's really nothing to recommend here.
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I am haunted by this poor excuse for a game Let me start by indicating I lasted about 20 minutes into the demo and decided rather quickly this edition of Nightfall Mysteries was poor. It begins with Uncle Charles dying in a fire when someone tosses a Molotov cocktail through a window of his estate manor. Right then and there I knew the game might be disastrous insofar as the story line is concerned, The old man just stares in disbelief and his home begins to burn. Why not just run away and leave the building? So his niece Christine and her beau Viggo arrive for the funeral. I would not think a funeral parlor would be an apt place to be searching for missing door knobs, a hammer to remove nails from a wall panel, etc. Evidently Vast games thinks this is necessary. So for me the story gets a bit more ridiculous. We need to perform more tasks in a nearby cematary because an angel key is hidden within in order to open the iron gate to Charles' estate. Give me a break !! Once we enter the estate grounds, we see immediately that the manor is only partially damaged leading me to wonder again why Charles didn't get away from the burning section. What becomes even more ludicrous is that someone else is still living in the house. I cannot see myself residing in a partially destroyed home. Furthernore how come the entire house wasn't ravaged in the blaze? A bit later, somebody throws a time bomb bouquet through yet another window. Viggo responds rather quickly but the lady living there faints and only a rose tea can revive her. This is where me and the game parted company. The story is so outrageously lame that I could not continue. The HO segments and puzzles are all of the been there done that variety. Vast has provided some decent games in the past. This one borders on atrocious based on the story alone. Couple that with run of the mill tasks to perform makes this an absolutely no buy for me. For those who disagree, enjoy.
Date published: 2015-02-21
  • y_2022, m_5, d_26, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_22442, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nightfall Mysteries: Haunted by the Past Collector's Edition

Track down the truth about your grandfather's death!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.