Campfire Legends: The Hookman

Campfire Legends: The Hookman

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(109.24 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Turn off the lights, turn up the sound and play the scariest hidden object game ever!

Christine is heading to her parents' cabin for a romantic weekend with her boyfriend, when her plans go horribly wrong. Her excitement soon turns to dread, as she discovers a ransacked house and develops a sense of unease.

Experience the chills of this fateful night and discover the frightening urban legend yourself!

  • Brilliant mix of puzzles and hidden objects
  • Experience bone-chilling surprises
  • Enjoy beautiful graphics
  • The scariest hidden object game ever!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 122 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Campfire Legends: The Hookman

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(109.24 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Campfire Legends: The Hookman is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 22.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why has Campfire Legends not been reviewed yet? Because of the storyline it is important to play this series in sequence: The Hookman, The Babysitter, Last Act. The Hookman starts out with some girlfriends sitting around their campfire wanting to hear a spooky story. One of the girls begins an "urban legend" tale about The Hookman. But one of the others chimes in, saying that it is a true story of a family that was murdered years ago and they all are anxious to hear about it. That's where our fun begins... We find a young lady arriving at the cabin in the woods for a fun getaway. Her boyfriend is late, as he usually is, for everything, so she isn't yet concerned. Mom and Dad arrived earlier, but left a note on the cabin door saying they are out exploring. So now the girl is all alone and it is getting late. Creepy and baffling things begin happening. Having trouble entering the cabin at first, she finally succeeds and inside is where the creepiness escalates. The lights don't work, that means a trip to the basement. After restoring the electricity, she sees something bad happened there. Things are torn up and broken, scattered everywhere. So, she has no clue yet as to horror she will soon be dealing with who is out there lurking in the dark, scary woods. Now our HO fun, puzzles/games, challenges come into play. There is a lot of putting things back together, going back and forth, getting things to work again. A busy game. In my opinion it is very challenging, but not impossibly so. I imagine the experts will think it's a snap! I am intermediate, but pretty darn good at it, finally! The objects are very well hidden and not the usual way of using the found items, and the hint system is different. Difference is good, it takes away the ho-hums. You acquire hints, only 5 max at a time, by finding fireflies. You must remember to always search for them throughout the game, lest you totally run out of hints. They are quite small and blend well into the scenes, but not impossible to find. When help is needed just click on one of the bugs in your collection and it unlocks a hint. I was worried about all this at the start, but was able to get along fine with much hard thinking and few hints. Much easier really than it sounds. Actually, when I did use a hint I found another bug almost right away to replace it. I love everything about this game. The graphics are clear, the color good, the music is grim and fitting, good storyline. All the HO scenes, puzzles, interest factor, scary moments, challenge were excellent in my opinion. I like that there is a definite sequence to playing the games. Hopefully, you will enjoy as much as I did. For me, it was money well spent. P.S. I am 69 yrs oId, not ready yet to become a tired, bored old lady and I own approx. 500 games, maybe more. And why? you may ask, or not. Because, they make me think and challenge myself. They help keep my mind clear and strong, provide wonderful entertainment, take me to their fantasy worlds. Thanks, Big Fish, for keeping that spark in me bright and constant. Much love to you all...
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LIVING A NIGHTMARE Women are sitting around a campfire telling scary stories. When one of the campers finishes a story, another one speaks up and says that wasn't exactly how it happened. Despite the annoyance of the original storyteller, she begins to tell her version. Christine ends up at her parents' cabin for the weekend alone because her boyfriend is late showing up. Strange things start happening immediately. After restoring the electricity, she finds that the cabin has been ransacked. One thing she does right away is to fix the radio. Using it, she finds that a very dangerous man has escaped the local sanitorium. The demo ended as she tried to find the pieces of the phone to call the police. The HOS are woven into the story in an excellent fashion. For example, when you find the phone, you immediately get a visual list of parts that you must find to fix it. These parts can be anywhere in any of the scenes. I like this better than picking up something that sits in inventory forever until you finally get to the point in the game where you need to use it. The storyline is the center of the game, as opposed to just a vehicle to move among HOS. That makes me want to finish the game to see how it turns out. Considering there are 2 more games in the series, maybe it is a cliffhanger? Hints are acquired by finding and clicking on fireflies. A maximum of 6 can be accumulated. Using one firefly will give you a hint like telling you that you need to be in the bedroom. There is no map. You can exchange hints to purchase "tips" which I'm thinking are like mega hints, maybe taking you to the right location and pointing to the exact item you need to get. That's just a guess as I never found myself in a situation where I felt I needed a mega hint. This is an intriguing game to me, but always try before you buy.
Date published: 2016-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from allisgr1 short but sweet, I need to check out the other campfire games !! (obviously I would give more stars had it been longer)
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GATHER AROUND THE FIRE AND I'LL TELL YOU A STORY Wow, if you love a good story and fancy a decent challenge, then come and play this game. Now, this game is a little out of the norm. There are no modes of play, a journal or anything really. You are on your own. You have to collect little bugs as hints, if you need them. I absolutely loved the challenge. The graphics are very good - bright and colourful and kind of like reading a comic book. Do you remember the days of camping out and sitting around a camp fire with your friends with a torch under your chin telling horror stories? Well, you will love this story. I jumped a few times, then laughed, as I felt a bit of an idiot. Sound is good and there is creepy piano music to keep you company throughout the game. There are no hidden object games but there are plenty of mini-games to do. These can be challenging but not too frustrating. I did them all without any head banging. There are sliding tiles to put in the right place, getting the wires connected to the car, put pieces of paper back together, etc - plenty to do. There is a lot of moving around finding items you need but you are not travelling around to a lot of locations. You can't get lost or wondering where to go next. All up the game took me about 5 hours to do, but I wasn't playing fast (well, you can't anyway). This game is challenging but just keep an eye out for the little bugs, if you need them. I used 2 hints, but didn't need the rest. This game comes definitely recommended. I am now going to load down the next two episodes - 'Campfire Legends - The Babysitter' and 'Campfire Legends - Last Act'. DON'T LOOK BEHIND YOU ...
Date published: 2015-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Challenging Twist On An Urban Legend! This is a spin on the classic campfire tale "The Hookman" with albeit a more pleasant ending. Being that the game is nearly a decade old, it doesn't have any customization, maps or endless hints & skips as the newer games do. This game was really challenging! Many items were tough to see and you had to collect hints in the shape of bugs. In the beginning, the bugs reappeared practically as soon as you used one. The reason I could only give it 3 stars is that after a while I had to roam from screen to screen just to find one bug, and it took 5 in order to skip some of the rather difficult puzzles.
Date published: 2018-10-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Well, it's nothing if not consistent And I mean consistent "need to fix an item - search everywhere for parts to fix item - fix item - find another item that needs fixing - search everywhere for parts to fix item - fix item - find another..." You get the idea. It's very redundant. And as much as I love HO games and coming across the occasional fun puzzle, I didn't like the fact that you couldn't skip the puzzles unless you had enough bugs. And you needed enough bugs to open 3 sets of tips BEFORE you could skip the puzzle. I can't even explain it right because it's just pure silliness.
Date published: 2019-02-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Always Hopeful I am always s hopeful that, based on reviews, a hidden object game will be just that, a hidden object game. I wish that the reviewers would state, this is an Adventure game with a few kinda HO scenes dropped in for amusement. This game would be so much fun to play if it were truly a HO game. Big Fish needs to put the HO adventure games in the adventure game section as those that like adventure games put down those of us that like HO games. This game has lovely colors, a fun story line and the music is enjoyable. But, if you are an HO person like me, forget it, it is another lie, this is not an HO game. I gave it 2 stars for being graphically well done and no more because it is not a HOG.
Date published: 2017-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could have been great...... I was really excited about this game and the two others I found in the series. But unfortunately I was left disappointed. The graphics are alright and its quite spooky (that cat scared the heck out of me!) but the game play isn't what I was expecting. The whole thing is one big hidden object scene. Instead of an adventure inventory based game with some hidden object scenes in it, you've got a hidden object based game with some inventory based action in it. Every location you enter has items to find which are displayed at the bottom of the screen and you have to find them all before moving on, and some of the objects are tiny so they're really difficult to find. If this sounds like your kind of game, then by all means go ahead, but I couldn't get past the demo unfortunately. Just not for me.
Date published: 2016-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unable to find a hook I would have loved to get through this game, especially because one of the girls around the campfire looked like Velma! but I couldn't even make it past the first HOP. Finding the key to the cabin was easy - but having the shutters be clickable at that point was tiresome. Having thought that the key might be there, I clicked on them - only to be returned to the "find the key" scene. In the shed, I stumbled over two objects by just clicking around. I didn't see them until I picked them up! I used the two "bugs" I had for the next two. I couldn't see the last object to save my life - got my cursor de-activated for a few seconds because I clicked too much - and that's when I quit. Don't punish me! I'm a potential customer, not a baby! I also disliked the handling of the inventory. Having the items I had over on the left, obscuring part of the scene, I couldn't lock it (even if that option was available). And I kept thinking I had the items I was searching for, since they were there, in color, down where the inventory usually is. I am disappointed that I couldn't play this game. I wanted so much to see the story of the Hookman!
Date published: 2016-05-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Complicated way to skip puzzles made playing this no fun for me Well, I did the trial and uninstalled right afterwards. I like a challenge as much as the next player, and I was moving along well enough until I got to that blasted fuse box puzzle. The hint system consists of you earning them by finding fireflies that look more like beetles. They could be anywhere in any scene but are soooo hard to find at times. And to be able to skip any puzzles, you have to unlock three different areas of the "skip" by finding multiples of said fireflies to do each "unlock". The developer made this "casual" game far more complicated than it should be. There are a few scares in the trial hour which I would've loved seeing throughout the game but being stuck in one place for so long with the fuse box just turned me off wanting to play more. I'm an experienced gamer so I'm not complaining to those who love this kind of gameplay. I've played other games where you have to earn your hints so it's not that. It's that you have to have so many fireflies collected for each of the three areas before you can skip the puzzle at all. This slows down the gameplay considerably and, for this gamer anyway, just made me annoyed because it kept me from learning more about the story so it is a "no buy" for me. From the few other reviews so far, there are gamers out there who like the challenge that this game offers, so for those people I say demo the game first and see how it feels. It's an excellent indicator of whether you'll like what you see but for me I'd seen enough.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Extremely Difficult I have played numerous hidden object games but this one is so hard. I spent more time trying to find walkthroughs online to figure things out then I did actually playing the game. If you can't figure something out there is no timer for hints. You have to find little bugs in order to get a hint. If you have no bugs, you have no hints, you can't move on. You can't skip puzzles unless you find a certain amount of bugs throughout the game so if you are stuck on a puzzle you simply can not move forward in the game. When you are looking for hidden objects they are spread throughout many different scenes so you have to go back and forth between different rooms/scenes to find things and that is really hard. If you like this type of challange then this game is for you, but for someone like myself who likes to play these games for fun...it was way too complicated and waste of time.
Date published: 2015-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from too short not worth the cost only needed to use hint on one puzzle too short of a game
Date published: 2015-09-10
  • y_2019, m_6, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_22887, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Campfire Legends: The Hookman

Turn off the lights, turn up the sound and play the scariest hidden object game ever!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.