Gunspell

Gunspell

PC

Also available on

Match 3

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(116.71 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Become a member of a powerful order that protects the Earth from all kinds of otherworldly creatures. Travel through the worlds, fight monsters, complete different quests, upgrade your weapons and magic.

Vampires and demons, heroes and monsters await you in realms of Gunspell!

  • The best blend of puzzle and RPG!
  • Match 3 battles with lots of features
  • Many different strange worlds to explore
  • Tons of different weapons, items and spells!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 386 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Gunspell

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(116.71 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Gunspell is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 20.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gunspell I have played other games similar to this and this is the best one of this type
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting But Complicated Battle Match 3 John is a detective who discovers that his sister's house has been broken into and his sister has been missing for 6 days. He's even more surprised to learn that his sister works for an "Order" that hunts down aliens who want to invade our planet for it's resources. Because of his skills, the Order makes him a member and assigns him to the exact case his sister Alex was investigating when she and her fellow officers went missing. You will fight enemies you come across, in a Match 3 game on a honeycomb style grid. There are Mana tokens of different colors, Energy tokens, Silver tokens and Skulls. The skulls with larger roman numerals deliver more powerful blows to the enemy. Like other battle matches, energy tokens revive your health, as you take turns playing the match 3 game with your enemy. Matches of 5 or more will give you a bonus turn. The Mana tokens recharge the weapons and amulets you earn when you win a battle, such as a pistol that harms your opponent's health, the Ring of Durability or a Bullet Proof Vest which protects you from the enemy's blows when activated. All weapons and Magic Spells can be upgraded to provide a little more protection each time. Quest's are given that you accept, and there are caves to explore and other various locations that will net you some type of reward such as gold, silver and crystals. Items that you win can be kept in your backpack, but you have to buy storage slot's to keep them in first, or you can choose to sell them if you don't want or need them. You can visit the ZEN icon at any time to collect extra silver, mana or healing strength which is a really relaxing game where tokens fall from the top, as they reach the section near the bottom, you must click on the matching buttons of the tokens that are in that section, and of course they fall a little faster as you progress. I will admit, there is a lot of information to figure out, and the tutorial isn't that great, so you are kind of thrown to the wolves. It is doable however, and eventually you figure out what you are supposed to do, when and why. There are Stats on each enemy, which is helpful so you know ahead of time what it takes to defeat him. There is also a Help section on the home screen that covers some of the basic features, so get your battle gear on and enjoy!
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cross a Crime Plot with a Wizard War and You Get....This? As a fan of m3 battle games I thought this'd be kind fun and it is....sort of. The downer (a fairly large one# is the puzzling instructions. But once you get past the baffling "what to do" and plow ahead #recommended) you'll find a passibly good magic/battle mix with the expected leveling up, armor and spell improvement and mysterious places to explore. Problem is, there could've been a bit more flexibility in customizing the character icon and clarifying in-game tips. The story is a fairly creative twist on the "Where's my sister" plot and the cool thing is that the player is as bewildered and frustrated as the main character! Where did my sister go? Why? What kind of "agent" is she and how do I find her? All will likely be answered by game's end and getting there get more interesting as you go on. Monsters, gold, mysterious caves and dire spells all make for a fun adventure but lots of patience is needed to truly "catch on" to the mechanics and actions required. Try it and see. Just be ready for a true "learning experience" but also lots of fun along the way.
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A nice BattleM3/RPG I am a fan of battle M3s and it is good to see one with an RPG mix. The storyline is basically of a policeman searching for his missing sister. He joins a secret Order and goes on missions, during which he battles monsters, discovers treasure, meets traders, explores caves. All of this is set out neatly on a hexagonal "action" screen, some cells of which show monsters, caves, treasure or traders. You can only move your player one cell at a time. Moving onto a cell with a monster brings up the battle screen. On the bottom left are items you are currently using – “equipped” in RPG terms. On the top are cells for additional storage, which have to be purchased for money or resources. Items can be swapped from storage to the equipped area, or sold. Clicking on an item reveals its statistics, the effects it gives you during battle. Battle is turn-based. The tiles you match give you various effects, healing, experience points for levelling up, money, instant damage to opponent (skulls) and mana for activating some equipped items. For example, you start off with a gun which has a red border around it. Match red gems to activate it. When victorious in battle, you then have a rewards screen. Clicking on the reward gives you its statistics and you have the option to take or sell. Some items may be duplicates of what you already have and you can sell it: However, an important point to note here is that over time the durability of your equipped items wears down. Keep monitoring your equipped items and grab a free replacement when you can by selling the equipped item and taking the free reward. There’s a lot more to this game than I experienced during the demo, as I used the time battling every monster around! I barely touched on the magic spells and there is also a workshop which comes into effect later. This hints at the longevity of the game, with lots to do. A definite purchase for me.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Magical Match-3 Adventure Hi Fishies! :) Gunspell is much like Puzzle Quest. It's a jump into Match-3 with RPG (Role-Playing Game) elements. Your sister is missing and you have to go find her. She seems to have gotten herself involved in a sinister supernatural situation (how's that for alliteration!) and it's up to you to battle your way to her and figure out what's going on at the same time. GRAPHICS: 4 out of 5. Excellent. Crisp and clear. Large fonts for us sight-challenged persons. There are no options for brightness, size, windowing or anything. You get what you see. Change anything you don't like in your computer's settings or get used to the darkness. SOUND: 3 out of 5. There is only an off/on button for sound effects and for music. That's it. Not very good, people. Otherwise, the music (once you turn your own speakers down) is sufficiently eerie for the subject. GAMEPLAY: 2 out of 5. There are five languages to choose from and I suspect that the spelling and grammar in one of those (likely Russian) will be better than it was in English. Sorry, but that's important to me to get me to want to play. The cursor seems smooth and all, but the instructions on how to understand the inner workings of the RPG aspect are lacking at best. How do the upgrades to your magic schools work? Doesn't say. What exactly are the buttons here and there for? Doesn't say. Trial and error, frankly, is not good enough. You and your computer opponent take turns on the same board, making moves. The strategy is in trying to block your opponent from making damaging moves against you while finding good moves for yourself. Think ahead and watch everything your opponent does carefully. FUN FACTOR: 3 out of 5. I love RPGs. I love Match-3. Does this combination work? Yes. As well as Puzzle Quest? No. The graphics are better, but the in-depth play isn't. Sorry, but this could be better. It's good, but not quite enough. The isometric (diagonal) style of the Match-3 is interesting and fun and can be quite challenging. OVERALL: 12 out of 20. Limited thumbs up. If you really love Puzzle Quest 1 & 2, then give this a shot. If you like unusual twists to Match-3, try it out. If you're desperate to try anything RPG, load up the demo. Otherwise... I very much recommend the demo first. This is really only for hardcore fans of quirky M-3/RPG mash-ups.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It might have been fun if I could have figured out what was going on . . . You are a cop, and you are looking for your sister. Her apartment has been broken into, and she is missing. Somehow, you find a gun store. It turns out that, although you never knew it, she’s an instructor there, but the boss hasn’t seen her for days. Then suddenly, you are battling monsters. It was unclear to me whether the gun store guy lured and trapped you, or whether you ended up battling monsters to save your sister. There's no segue. The battles are match-three battles. You earn items to protect you and make you stronger, but you can’t keep them, necessarily. For example, when I won a second amulet, I had to sell one of them because I didn’t have room for both. And I had no idea which one I should have kept. After you win a match-three battle, in which your moves earn you points to hurt the monster you are fighting, you go to a screen, I guess a store, that summarizes your performance and gives you the item you earned. This is where I got the amulets. Apparently you can also buy items because there is money. I totally did not understand what the screen meant or what I should do. When you return from this screen you are in a field with a bunch of hexagons. You are standing in one of the hexagons, and if you click on other hexagons you can sometimes move there, but some are blocked. The edges of the screen are covered with fog, so there are few hexagons actually available to you. One hexagon said, “You found something interesting,” but what? There was no explanation of what was found or what was interesting about it. And sometimes when you click on a hexagon, you get a new battle with another monster. I have always wanted to play one of these “Magic”-type games, but I don’t understand how this game works well enough to buy it. Yes, I am a tyro at this type of game, so consider the source of this review. But I looked for places where there might be instructions and didn’t find any. I am unsure what my long-term goals are or how to achieve them. I don’t know how I ended up fighting monsters in a mysterious foggy underworld (I guess it is an underworld) instead of standing in a gun store. I also have no idea if I am ever going to get answers about where (or who!) my sister really is and why she was working in this gun store, which is what I am really interested in. Once I was fighting the monsters in the match-three games, there was no indication that I would ever return to the storyline. So I went back in to look for instructions and answers. It allowed me to start a second game, but the character in the second game was still “John D,” just like in the first game. Plus, it was annoying because I could not leave the game. I had to play two match-three games with the intervening screens before it would let me out. I was again magically in the catacombs of "the order” fighting monsters instead of to the basement of a gun store. And I still didn’t know why. I don’t know whether I should recommend this game or not. Maybe I will buy it if I am going to run out of time to spend a free coupon someday. But only if I can read a description online of what the heck I’m supposed to do and why. I WOULD like to find out what happened to my sister.
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bummer After starting this game over at least 10 times, I still can't finish it because of no gold and no money. I read a review of another game that had the same problem. A couple of times I've gotten stuck in the same world, can't defeat the monster and have no portal to get out to another world. Stuck again and had to quit. Fun in the caves but lots of gems which don't amount to very much in the scheme of things. It's addictive especially if you like being defeated. There would be a lot more fun if there was hope of finishing to the end.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from TOO CONFUSING Just found this tedious and confusing.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from You are NOT in control - no need for any strategy! This game is a port over from the android devices. It is programmed by novices who have no idea how to be subtle, complex, and innovative. The game engine is simplistic to the point of absurdity. You will know very early on whether you will win each battle - no matter how far ahead or how expert your strategy if you aren't suppose to beat the opponent you will NOT. The game is repetitive: pretty much the same opponents, same match three elements, and little in the way of fun! There are absolutely no guides to be found anywhere. Many of the "power ups", weapons (usage), magical items, etc. seem secondary if not relatively impervious to effecting any outcomes. The only way to have any real effect on your opponent is to match skulls on the match three game board. I have played for about three hours... cannot stand it any more! T-E-D-I-O-U-S.
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Turn based M3 Gunspell is a pseudo M3 with the difference that the M3 portion seems to be only an excuse to launch into some sort of made for television story with no point and no interest. You make your move and then the enemy makes theirs. No word on who or what the enemy is, just an enemy which makes poor choices of moves on the same board you were using. If you try to lose, you still win. This becomes a turn based game like tic-tac-toe with all kinds of extra nonsense of some kind of spy thing. I lost interest within 5 minutes. Quick no vote. Bad game.
Date published: 2015-07-29
  • y_2020, m_6, d_1, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_23327, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Gunspell

Story driven rpg-adventure where guns and magic act together! Explore strange worlds, defeat monsters and complete quests.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.