Dark Parables: Queen of Sands
Exclusive

Dark Parables: Queen of Sands

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(357.33 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Townspeople are disappearing in the provincial city of Montafleur as its streets are overrun by nightmarish creatures that vanish into a purple mist. The Red Riding Hood Sisters were called in to investigate, but they've got their hands full chasing a ferocious beast last seen along the outskirts of town. Explore the lush French countryside as you team up with Ruth and Brianne to uncover the dark secrets behind Montafleur's world-famous perfumes. Unmask the true villain, before their nightmares spread to the entire world!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 606 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Fantasy Violence
  • Use of Tobacco
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: Queen of Sands

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(357.33 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Parables: Queen of Sands is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 27.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favourite! I love this games series. I literally troll the site waiting for the next installment, and each new game just gets better and better!
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scent Of Dreams The bustling town of Montafleur France was founded by Baron Hubert de Montafleur whose legendary perfumes revolutionized the industry. He used his riches to construct the beautiful city, and his spirit lives on through his son Eric. Something horrible has happened in Montafleur, there have been sightings of shadowy mists and beasts with incredible strength! A strange purple mist has turned everything into horrible creatures, legend has it, the Queen of Sands is behind all this chaos. Does any of this madness connect to the perfume factory that put this town on the map? At least you won't have to fight the battle alone detective, because Ruth and Brianne from the Red Riding Hood Sisters are already on the case! I prefer, and recommend the Collector's Edition because of the Collectible Parables which are a famous feature of this series, several items are required to complete each parable story. When a group is complete, you will get to play a short tale about that parable. The parable items can Morph, so keep alert. The Collector's Edition also has collectible Herald of Montafleur's, hidden throughout the game, for a total of 39, and 12 Achievements to earn, mostly the usual achievements such as using the map or finding objects quickly in the FROG's. Dark Parables is all about the Emblems. Every door, and just about everything else will require at least one emblem to open it. Therefore, you will scour each location looking for the correct emblem, often traveling back and forth several times as you try to accomplish each objective. Several inventory items are plus items requiring you to combine that item with another item or putting broken pieces back together. The Hidden Object Scenes are those famous FROG's where you are tasked with finding several fragments that make up three separate sections. When all the fragments have been found, the three sections will combine to make a single inventory item. The Mini Games are never difficult and are usually quite entertaining. Many are puzzles where you swap sections to complete a puzzle or interactive stage plays, or arranging several symbols so that the correct symbols are in each column and row as indicated by the drawing examples shown. The Collector's Edition has Concept Art, and Wallpapers (within the Art Gallery), replayable Mini Games and FROG's (play against the clock for a better score) collectible Parables (morphs), collectible Herald of Montafleur's, a Souvenir Room, Bonus Video's, Movies, beautiful Music, Achievements, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter (The Seven Ravens) Enjoy!
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game!!! Loved it! Great story, great graphics! I recommand this game!!
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Parables: Queen of Sands This game was like the rest of the Dark Parables series. I found the story less interesting than I usually do. There were some exciting moments but maybe I'm getting too used to these games. The items collected, especially in the hidden object puzzles, were beautiful and detailed as usual in Dark Parables. Maybe it was lacking a little colour. Something seemed a little dull about it. Hard to put my finger on it. Try the demo and see what you think. Compared to other games of this genre, it is good and that's why I recommend it.
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Frags Game - Mini Games Instructions Not Great Because I have enjoyed other games in the Series, I'll be a little forgiving. Nice graphics, good storyline, don't listen to music, somewhat easy challenge level. Only issue is that the instructions for a few of the mini-games were absolutely horrible! Didn't make any sense. Might be a language translation issue? This is not the first time this has occurred in this Series. Since the Credits show Beta Testers, perhaps they should also pay attention to the Mini Games Instructions??!! I don't enjoy skipping Puzzles because of poor instructions. Even with the above, it was enjoyable. Length was good. Not too short, but also didn't drag on forever.
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game. I have all of the DP series. I have liked them. The storyline is a little fuzzy sometimes.But my problem with this series is the ORNATE HOs.!! The first one I saw, I said: oh goodness, I forgot about these! They hurt my eyes and always give me a headache!! I liked the puzzles in this one; I thought they were very good! I always prefer puzzles to HOs. I also loved the boards. They were fun. I had no problem with anything else.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The "Fairytale Detective" is back on the job! Dark Parables: Queen of Sands Based on both the CE and SE demos. A young girl walks across the town square, stopping at a market stall where a young man hands her an apple. Their fingers brush as she takes the apple ..... and then she ............ collapses! YOUR character (affectionately known as "the Fairytale Detective" love ) is sent to Montafleur, France to investigate, and put a stop to (of course) the "beasts" from the forest terrorizing the townsfolk and the "shadowy creatures" in the forest. Difficulty: Casual, Hard, Insane and Custom Graphics - starts out grainy but improves immensely when the actual game play starts. Voice overs were very well done. Sound fx were great. I love it when you can hear the littlest sounds. I didn't feel the need to turn down/off the music so, while it doesn't stick out in my mind (now several hours after having played the game), I take that as a sign that it wasn't annoying. There is a tab for "Objectives" near the hint button that sparkles when a new task is available. Not terribly crazy about the transportable map. Love that it shows where you are, actions need to be taken and final objective for that area ... but dislike that you click on your "x" or "!" or whatever icon to get to your next location but ... you AREN'T! After you click on the little icon, you have to click again in the upper right side of the map where a pic of your location is in order to actually GET there. Double-clicking. Seems superfluous. HOGs (FRAGS - fragmented pieces to find that builds into 3 bigger pieces that, when found, build into a single item for you to use). I DISLIKE FRAGS. Really, really, really dislike them. Unfortunately, FRAGS are the only HOGs that Dark Parables games have. Mini Games - fun, some innovative and new. Easy to extremely difficult (for me anyway). In both the CE and SE: Find 2 Parables (Sandman and Seven Ravens). You need to locate the pages, in groups of 3 each, to complete each book/parable. I'm going out on a limb and say there are 5 groups of 3 pages to make 15 pages for each Parable. Now, you don't get ANY indication that you've found anything. Nor where a page might be. Nor what the significance is of locating the entire book/parable. sNor if we NEED to finalize the book/parable in the Bonus Game, which would suck if you bought the SE. A whole lot of "nors" for my taste. Hmmmmm?!?!?! I really like the Dark Parables series. I believe I own every one, even though most are in my "dungeon of unplayed games" - poor things. I'm STILL so on the fence which to get - SE or CE ---- HELP!!!! Once again, this is a standalone game. No need to have played previous games in this series. IMO every level of experience will enjoy Queen of Sands. Join me in this beastly investigation in Montafleur, France. ENJOY!
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from a challenge if you like puzzles get this it will get you thinking
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sorry I bought it. Too much purple/pink in every scene. The task bar poking out from the left was super annoying. The graphics were fuzzy and I'm not a big fan of HOS that make you find pieces of the object. Not sure of the length...I started playing another, better, game on another computer. I cannot recommend this game. 2015
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from R.I.P., Dark Parables The "Dark Parables" franchise has been limping along since Blue Tea decided to hand off the reins to Eipix and Big Fish. Although Eipix is one of the better developers in the HOG stable, whatever charm and magic the original games had are now irrevocably, irretrievably gone. Most telling of all is the absence of the parable collectibles in the SE version. If anything distinguished the series from others, they were it.
Date published: 2015-07-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Time to retire this series... Still not excited about the SE version either (see shortened CE review below), though it is okay. I will get this one with a PCC and add it to my collection, only because the PCC is about to expire. I like FROGS, but this one needs an upgrade or retirement...maybe add a mix of HOPs to refresh it a bit. "Wow, this will make #9 in this series! Well, I only have 7 of them, but liked what I have. Graphics are not as clear and clean as the other games and seemed a little fuzzy to me. Especially on close-ups. Colors are very bright with not a lot of blues or purples for a change. Game play was good, with no problems during the demo. There is very little dialog and not really much in the way of sound FX either. Very disappointing. You do have to find a lot of fancy totems, that looked more like mini shields to me, in order to unlock door, locks and some puzzles, so there is a lot of back-tracking in this game. Jump map left a lot to be desired. You had to click on the area and then click again in the upper right corner to actually go anywhere. Fortunately, the hint did transport, but my eyes didn't like the wavy frame around the jump area. SG is the same as usual. HOPs are nothing new for this series and really are junk piles. Puzzles are extremely simple and not many so far in the demo. Collectibles are morphing Parables. When you find them, you get more of the story...same as all the others in the series. I only found 4 of the 6 in the demo. They are not easy to spot. Other collectibles are "Herald of Montafleur," which are actually Fleur DE Lis. Some are pretty well hidden, but you can still see them without much eyestrain. I beta tested this one a couple of months ago and as a note to myself, gave it a 3. I can see that they did not pay attention to any suggestions, as I questioned the time period and the use of a hand-held tape recorder. A bit out of place on that one. I think I'm just getting tired of this series being the same old same old. Maybe it's time to retire this one and move on. I will recommend this one to those who haven't played the others, or just like this type of game, but I'm not sure it's for me anymore." As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the same I purchased this with high hopes of it being as great as the other games in the dark parables series. And I were very disappointed. I only had to get a few seconds into the game to feel as if something was not the same. And that is because Blue Tea is no longer in on the Dark Parables series. With this game, they tried their best to copy whatever magic Blue Tea had, but didn't succeed. It all seemed very forced, and the storyline were very predictable, there weren't much mystery, like in the rest of the games. In stead we pretty much got everything handed to us on a platter. I would not recommend this game - and definitely not if you are expecting a Dark Parables game.
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Storyline ... The Graphics were very good but it had the same old Storyline ... How hard is it to create a GOOD Story line these days? It must be extremely difficult because the Game Developers just keep on churning out the same old rubbish over and over again. This story fails miserably. Didn't hold my interest at all. I didn't even care what happened at the end. I expected a story much better than this.
Date published: 2015-08-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fractured Fairy Tale Fail Here is yet another game with the uber-annoying objectives banner that keeps popping out from the left edge of the screen, plus utterly pointless black bar commentary like, "What could possibly be used here," "Think, think, think," etc. If there's a way to turn all that off, I haven't found one. Overall, I found the game play to be repetitive and boring, the artwork overloaded with bling, the HOS exactly the same -- repetitive, boring and too much bling -- and the storyline an incongruous pastiche of fairy tales and fairytale characters.
Date published: 2015-07-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring and repetitive This series used to be a lot better. This one is an endless repetition of find a token or crest, put it in it's place and get two more tokens or crests. Graphics are decent, story moves very slowly and HO scenes were decent years ago but now are just uninspired. I found no redeeming qualities.
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from a little better than mermaid but still not good DP Queen of Sands a little better then the Mermaid nothing like the DP's from Briar Rose to Rapunzel. The graphics are Eipix for sure & Blue Tea's graphics, story line & all is not seen much except in the name. The graphics are cartoony compared to earlier DPs & the story line still is awful, tho a little easier to follow then Mermaid. This is the 2nd time playing Queen since I got Goldilocks CE (should have played the demo to see if any better but didn't so will probably be disappointed on that one as well) I replay the series to keep up with what is next but Mermaid I couldn't even finish this time & it is looking like I won't be able to finish Queen as well due to the awful hard to follow story line, if there actually is one, & the fact not much makes sense. Besides the cartoony graphics, which after playing the earlier ones the graphics are just hard to see so different as well as no cursed objects, no real story line, the parable notes characters are not anywhere unless they are the morphing looking blobs again & the characters are not really in tune with DPs that we have come to love. Eipix is good in their own way but them taking over developing the DPs has not been a good thing at all, & I like most of Eipix's other games but this is just killing the series between the awful graphics, story lines, characters & just a mish mash of stuff thrown in in order to try to keep w/ Blue Tea's way of bringing in past DP characters in each series . I see that Blue Tea was involved in these last 2 games in the series but I don't think they had much say in anyway but in name. I said after mermaid I was gonna play the demo before getting anymore but I just keep hoping it will get back to some degree of what it was & how it was before the takeover or collaboration w/ Eipix. It would be very nice if Blue Tea would take back the series get rid of Mermaid, Queen & if Goldilocks is like these last 2 games then that as well & redo them all in the way & manner they have done the DPs from the beginning. The FROGS are not even well done, the mini games are atrocious & make no sense whatsoever, a mechanical board that 4 things have to go into & all for 2 sentences maybe 3 that have nothing to say at all...A mini game that you have to find all these things from a bubble that doesn't even have a story behind the mini game that helps tell the story of what it is or why... Please if ya'll are not gonna try to keep with the way it was & how it was & have a decent story line that makes sense easy to follow & keeps with the way of DP then do not even do it cuz you just kill the series with what ya'll have been turning out.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Boring Gameplay + Fuzzy Graphics = No Sale Based On Demo There is no doubt that this game is "pretty", but the grainy/fuzzy graphics take the bloom off the rose. There is a prominent glare factor in the HOS. In the past, Blue Tea HOS were CRISP and DEFINED. No peering through Eipix sunbeams. In addition, the graphics have ruined the beautiful complexity of the items found in the FROGs. We get a very brief look at each ornate object before it gets deposited in our "fuzzy" inventory. If they are of similar shape, and many are, there is practically no telling one from another. The gameplay is simple to the point of boredom. It is all about going "there" to get "this" to open "that". Pick up "that", go back "there", open "this"...on and on. We play a few mini-games that require little thought in between. The hybrid fairytale story ended up being so confusing, and the gameplay so boring, that I just couldn't care. I always base a positive recommendation on whether or not I'd want to replay a game. In this case, I didn't like enough of it to buy it. Because we all have different views on what is "fun", I suggest at least trying the demo. I hope you find some fun today. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2015-06-19
  • y_2019, m_5, d_18, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_23081, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: Queen of Sands

Team up with the Red Riding Hood Sisters to defeat the nightmares!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.