Mystery Case Files: Prime Suspects ™

Mystery Case Files: Prime Suspects ™

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(45.99 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Queen's Hope Diamond has been stolen! It's up to you to search for clues throughout 22 levels, find the offending culprit, and recover the stolen gem in Mystery Case Files: Prime Suspects™. Expand your investigations through the game's 29 unique locations by finding items that will unlock subsequent levels. Thousands of clues are cleverly hidden within the beautiful illustrations, creating a new game experience each time you step into this masterpiece of visual indulgences!

  • 22 ever-changing levels.
  • 29 unique locations to explore.
  • Constantly-transforming items and clues.
  • Like Prime Suspects? Try all of the MCF games!!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 2000/Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 6.0
  • Hard Drive: 54 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Crude Humor
  • Mild Blood
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Prime Suspects ™

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(45.99 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Prime Suspects ™ is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 61.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from awasome game this was one of my very first mystery case files games.and i still enjoy playing it,,.and olso like Hundsville ,and ravenheart. the the designer of this game Please make another one like this one ,...
Date published: 2020-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My first Mystery Case Files game 'Prime Suspects' is the second installment of the hidden object and puzzle video game series 'Mystery Case Files' which follows on from the first installment 'Huntsville'. After taking down the criminal organization S.T.A.I.N. which has terrorized Huntsville, you - the detective - is called upon to Capital City to investigate the disappearance of the Hope Diamond. You are tasked to single out five "prime suspects" from a list of suspected individuals and figure out who from those five was behind the disappearance. As my first MCF game, it introduced me to the series that I know and still love today. During the late 2000s, when my family had a PC with no decent graphics card to run 3D games properly, this was one of those games that entertained me and is the game that got me interested in the hidden object genre. As the second MCF game, it improved upon the first one. While it still becomes repetitive eventually, this game introduced additional game mechanics which make it more challenging than the first. This include locations which require a flashlight or x-ray tool to check, granting limited view, and two additional puzzles when finishing up a case. The finale is much more forgiving yet challenging compared to the first game, too, which is why I can recommend this more than the first one. If you're gaining interest in the hidden object video game genre, I recommend 'Prime Suspects' (and the first game 'Huntsville', too, but I prefer this one) as your first game.
Date published: 2020-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not For My Eyes This one was pretty much like the first (Huntsville). Very hard to see objects, limited time and only 4 hints spread across multiple locations. I was thrilled that I managed to make it through at least a half a dozen suspects (there are 22) but I eventually grew weary of the time constraints and squinting at the screen. The puzzles at the end are lots of fun though, so if you have great vision and unlimited patience, maybe try it out!
Date published: 2020-05-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from an old, yet beautiful game! even from the second game of the mystery case files series, one could tell that this company would perform miracles. each episode was and is ahead of its time, leaving all others behind! loved the graphic art!
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was a suspicious game Well, Huntsville was boring but prime suspects was better than Huntsville. It is because prime suspects had hidden object scene plus we needed x-ray device to find some of the hidden object scenes. Also there were three types of puzzles at the crime computer after each suspect's location. It was overall a good and suspicious game.
Date published: 2013-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An older game that holds up well but has some annoying bits. The MCF series seems to have peaked with Dire Grove and has gone steadily downhill since then, according to the general reviews of the later games. With that said, I wanted to go back in time and play the earlier games to see how they looked with the technology that was available at the time. Madame Fate and the Ravenhearst games were known for their junkpile HO scenes and Prime Suspects is no better, but it would be unfair for me to compare it to the later games since those ARE expected to get better with time and the advanced technology. What I didn't like here was the timed feature of Prime Suspects, as I find it too stressful to be fun and I play for relaxation and the ability to observe the entire landscape at my leisure. I tend to appreciate games more when I can just sit and gaze at the beauty and talent that went into each scene and I couldn't do that with this game. It was just hurry and try to find each item as quickly as I can and I hated that. In addition, I detested the flashlight aspect to finding hidden objects. I found it to be not challenging but absurd. I like to read the entire word list first and then scan the picture as a whole. That way, I come across the items in a more natural way and I find that to be much more fun than trying to find a single item within a small circle of light. The puzzle at the end of each suspect's investigation was repetitious so it became tedious quite quickly. And the hints were limited so you really had to plan when you thought you REALLY needed to use one! It just took too much of the fun away for me. In that respect, I'm spoiled by the newer games that have hints that refill after a time. I just knew that I'd never play this game again since I own so many others that I enjoy more and that I've replayed often. My review of Prime Suspects was based on the hour demo. Judging by some other reviews here, the demo is representative of how the remainder of the game plays out. I couldn't wait for the demo to be over so it's obviously a no buy for me, but I can't in good conscience give it a thumbs down for others to enjoy. Prime Suspects came early in the series and many people obviously are still playing it and love it. And for those who love the series as a whole and want the entire collection, by all means get this one too! MCF has been one of the more successful and innovative series in computer gaming and it's interesting to see how the games have progressed over the years. It's just not for me but I'll still recommend it for those who fancy it.
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from FIND OUT WHO STOLE THE HOPE DIAMOND This is an oldie which I've had for years and decided to pull it out and give it another try. The graphics are very cluttered and grainy which made a lot of objects hard to see. Some are at the very top and corner of the screen which you can't see so you have to use the hints to guide you. But overall I managed to find most of them. There is only one piece of music which is fine and goes well with the game. The challenge is good and you are up against the clock to find all the items in the different locations and then either do a jigsaw puzzle, find matching pieces or find planets, etc. You need to do this before time runs out or you start that chapter again - yikes! And yes, I had to repeat a couple of them. The game took me about 4 hours or so to play. I hope MCF update this game - just like they did with Madame Fate - you just never know! There is a certain ambience about this game and you can't help but like it - horrible graphics and all. If you like a lot of HOS then you will like this game. Give it a trial run before you buy.
Date published: 2014-07-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Come Down My first Mystery Case Files was Dire Grove and this one is really lame in comparison. The hidden object scenes are too cluttered. The puzzles are good but I guess I need a story line that is more interesting than this simplistic "eliminate the suspect by first finding a bunch of stuff and doing a puzzle".
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An OK Game This game was pretty much like all the other MCF games. It was good once you got going Good Parts: No nonsese approach Almost exactly like Huntsville The puzzle minigame at the end Some were prime suspects some weren't OK Parts: Fairly good ammount of time to solve the cases Some objects were a little hard to find Bad Parts: The Flashlight and X-ray thing. I hated having to find a battery to use on the scenes. And even when you did, you had to drag the mouse along Some objects were way too hard to find Overall, I would reccomend this game, but play Huntsville first.
Date published: 2012-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Brilliantly Dull After playing the first MCF, I was skeptical about playing anymore of the series. I bought the whole series two months ago. I am consistent and want to play in order. This was slightly better than Huntsville. There was more variety in this game, but some items are hard to find. Finding items with a flashlight or sleuth tool makes the game more challenging. You can easily miss items and want to "pull your hair out" most of the time. I keep reading the games are better. I want to like MCF, but so far this receives a subpar rating.
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Slightly better than Huntsville but still... I believe the second installment of the MCF series is as mediocre as the first one but I have to admit it is a bit more improved. Still, the timed aspect annoys me and there is a lot of repetition that leads to boredom. Most importantly I found the game to be too long for what it had to offer and after a point I became tired of it and just wanted to finish it for the sake of completing it. There were some funny names and stories of suspects though, which made it bearable. And let's not forget how aesthetically improved it was from Huntsville. Again, I only recommend it for those that enjoy a pure hidden object game.
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not again This game was soooo lame....and I'm sorry but I had to say it. It gave me a headache.
Date published: 2016-07-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sequel to a Smash Hit...and It's Still Good Oooookay…I know that I’m going to make pretty much everyone irritated by giving this three stars, but for two very different reasons: either they’ll think I’m being stingy with my review, or they’ll think I’m handing out stars for a song. (Further frustration will probably result when it’s discovered that I gave Mystery Case Files: Huntsville more stars. Oh well…) Before you continue reading, please note that this game is almost all hidden object searches. If you don’t enjoy those types of games, give this one a pass. As I’ve mentioned earlier, I’ve been a devoted fan of this series since 2008, and I’ve played almost all of the games. I loved Huntsville and Millionheir very much, and I was very excited to play the second in the series. When the rubber hit the road, however, I just felt a tad bit…drained. Don’t get me wrong—it’s a phenomenal game. People may say the graphics are shoddy or it’s too repetitive, but I never had a problem with those “perceived flaws.” The variety was very refreshing after the same puzzles after *every case* in the first one, and I believe this is actually the game’s strongest point. Interestingly enough, this is only one of two Mystery Case Files offerings where the guilty culprit can change from game to game. Still, I felt like this particular game went on a little too long. Maybe it was just that I had Ravenhearst to play as soon as I was finished. Maybe it’s that the searches were occasionally impossible. (This was the first game where I ran out of time in a search, and I was *not* a happy camper.) But the magic of the first game didn’t seem to be as potent in this second installation. Although this is great, it was at one point my least favorite in the series—until the recent games came out… Nevertheless, this game shouldn’t be shunted to the side: it’s got variety over its predecessor, it’s got memorable characters, and it’s funny—oh, so funny. (I wish the new games were as eclectic and witty as the early ones…) All in all, this is a solid, grade-A game. Go get those elusive Prime Suspects!
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dull as dishwater. I absolutely love Mystery Case files games.. I have them all so on the sale day I bought this old game thinking it must be good as I love all the others.. WRONG! It generally is just Hidden Object scenes with junk pile basic search.. some are flashlight in the dark (very annoying) and some are simple junk pile. The hidden objects can be challenging but it is the repetition I found tedious. You go back to the same scene at least 10 times and re-search.. after finding about 30-40 items you then get to do either a match two cards game or wordsearch or jumbled picture puzzle.. none are challenging and it gets very boring after a while. I think because it is an old game, "of its time" it was a great game but now with all the other choices and stories and challenges put into IHOG and HOG this one is really dated. GIVE IT A MISS and try all the other FANTASTIC MCF games.
Date published: 2011-12-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Innocent Beginnings BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS Well, you know, 2008 is a long time ago in the world of games, so it should not be a surprise to anybody that this is a simple HOG with awesomely awful graphics and no ‘bells & whistles’. And, for me, blindingly boring gameplay. For what it is, though, it is still very clever. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The HOP scenes are some of the most junky and overstocked HOP scenes you’ll ever see. 100s of items without rhyme or reason, or any connection to the story. Distorted objects, some half hidden behind other things. And some very, very tiny items as well. But somehow, I managed to find all the items on the lists without hint most of the time. There is no animation or interaction, so the scenes look very flat and lifeless. The atmosphere is created by the background sounds. These are on a separate track, so you can adjust for your own preferences on music, sound effects and background noise. The music is like the visuals. There seems no connection between it and what’s going on. WHAT’S HAPPENING? Someone has stolen the Queen’s Hope diamond, and you are on the case. You must narrow down a list of 21 suspects by establishing where each of them was at the time of the crime. GAMEPLAY For the most part, this is standard HO gameplay of the time, with 22 levels involving 30 locations, each of which is visited 3 times over the course of the game. What makes this game unique is the packaging. Each level represents one suspect, and you receive some (very amusing) background data on the person before launching into a search of the areas relevant to them. So, first, the info. Then, at each level, a number of search locations on a map, with a number of objects needed to be found. Each new level includes more locations, and higher levels revisit earlier ones. There is a (very generous) time limit, you score points per level, and you have a limited number of hints per level (5). You only need to get most of the objects listed, usually 2-3 less than the total. At the end of the chapter, you complete a picture puzzle that tells you where the suspect was at the time of the heist. This is MCF, so it’s not skippable. As the levels progress, they become more and more complex, and you must do more than just find the HOs, or must find them using unique tools or in different ways (e.g. multiples of). Ultimately, though, it is all about the objects. COMBINED IMPACT I wasn’t around at the time this game was released, so I don’t know how it compared to others, but even today, many of the strictly HO games are less interesting in the way they present their levels and locations (I’m thinking of series like “Big City Adventures”, where you just seem to go round and round the map and its 25 locations). I can’t handle the graphics, and am not a big fan of pure HOGs in any case, so I’ve played it, and will probably never play it again. It is an interesting artifact for my game collection, but I can’t recommend it for its fun value.
Date published: 2014-01-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Same Word Search Over and Over Again! This Game had potential but many objects were so small that they were very difficult to make out. The icing on the cake was when the Word Search repeatedly gave me the same "Find 10 Meteorological Words" 3 times! I mean seriously? Is this an error in the Game when it just give you the same Word Search over and over and over again? Because of this I decided to uninstall it. NO Buy for me.
Date published: 2020-05-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Phew! I finally finished this last of the first three Mystery Case Files games, all of which I purchased on an impulse in a bundle sale, and made myself play as punishment. I guess I thought they were all like Fairing Point. No impulse purchase ever again. This game, like the two previous games, is a pure hidden object game, with an occasional minigame thrown in. No real story, no real investigation, just a bunch of (admittedly funny) vignettes presented in the journal, and thereafter forgotten, drowned out by the numerous HO scenes. The HO sequence at the end was particularly mind-numbing as I had to seek a single object hidden in one of about 15 HO scenes. Big Fish, thanks for the lesson. Now I buy nothing without playing the demos.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SERIOUSLY?? Why is this so highly rated?? It's just HO's! Simple, basic, back-to-back HO's!
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from mystery case files the game is boring and does not present a challenge. i wish i had not bought it. what a waste of money.
Date published: 2013-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I don't recommend I don't review most games, but had to review this since it was so awful, the picture is crowded, hard to find - ex: too small, transparent etc. Hated that it is timed when you can't even find the tiny objects after staring at scene forever. I wish I hadn't bought this and had reviewed it first. I guess some people would say it was challenging, but I found it frustrating. There really isn't a storyline just HOS scenes over and over
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Boring Another boring hidden object game with no challenge, MCF 1-4 are the same, although MCF 3 'Ravenhearst' was the beginning storyline of quite a few but honestly, you can play the others without it! I do regret buying the whole series.
Date published: 2016-01-26
  • y_2021, m_11, d_29, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_676, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Prime Suspects ™

The Queen's Hope Diamond is gone. No one is talking. It's up to you to recover the stolen gem. You be the detective.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.