Mortimer Beckett and the Crimson Thief

Mortimer Beckett and the Crimson Thief

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(348.44 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Finally home after his astounding journey, Mortimer resumes his simple life and peruses the daily newspaper. One by one, famous artifacts from museums and private collections around the world are missing. The person claiming responsibility for the thefts goes by the moniker - the Crimson Thief, a ghost that the police can do nothing about. Mortimer however, jumps on the case and is determined to find the stolen goods while bringing the thief to justice.

  • Follow Mortimer around the world in this exciting adventure.
  • Visit Paris, Rio, London, and more in search of stolen artifacts.
  • Search for useful items to solve whimsical puzzles.
  • Play amusing mini-games to foil the Crimson Thief.
  • Play Mortimer Beckett and the Secrets of Spooky Manor

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 379 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mortimer Beckett and the Crimson Thief

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(348.44 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mortimer Beckett and the Crimson Thief is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 22.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Non stop challenge from beginning to end! Moritmer Beckett series sets a standard to adventure puzzle games. I have all three of the others and love them. The stories always keep my interest and the puzzles are challenging, something that is hard to find with puzzles today. I know people like "easy" games but sometimes having everything given to you takes the fun away from the game.
Date published: 2015-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS SERIES I don't usually submit reviews, but when I saw this series come up on BF I almost jumped out of my seat with joy. I absolutely love this series and wish the creators were able to do more of them. It may not be for everyone, but I found them to be most enjoyable, and once I started playing, I couldn't stop till the game was complete. Try them, you too may find them a lot of fun.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two Thumbs Up! I love this series. Very different the usual adventure games. I am ready for more!
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Could do with some dusting-off, but hey, it was made in 2011 and still manages relevance. The simultaneous best and worst thing about this game is its unique interface. I liked it once I gave it a chance because it was just so nice to have something fresh, but at the start of the game it was very frustrating. Rather than having a blank inventory which you fill items into, Mortimer Beckett is apparently psychic and knows exactly which items he'll need at every new destination. And, rather than having "pockets" of hidden-object locations that take you out of the main scenery of the adventure, as most games today do, Beckett's inventory items are hidden /within the main scenes themselves/. The great thing about this is that you are never wasting time finding objects that you won't end up using, unlike games that give me a whole laundry list of random items when it takes me two seconds to find the one item I'll leave the HOG pocket with and eight years to scratch off every other item in the randomized list. All of the items are also used in fairly sensible ways, as well--there were only a few instances of 'oh, you have to use the SCISSORS to cut that square, you can't just use the knife you already have in your pocket.' So the build of the game was thoughtfully conceptualized. The other tiny item I love that they included is the ability to get a hint about what an item in your inventory is supposed to actually DO. In a lot of other games I'm like, okay, I know you are trying to subtly guide me to this location in this scene, so I guess I'm gonna try random inventory items until I find one that works. Instead, they've built both item-hints AND location-hints in--you can use the small red '?' in the corner of your inventory items to get a clue about what you're supposed to do with them, whereas your magnifying glass large hint button will guide you to a particular location. TAKE NOTE, CASUAL GAME-DESIGNERS! This is something I wish had been more thoroughly executed in modern games. My problem comes in with the execution of said style--if the art were clearer or the game came with more 'modern' options like active-item sparkles, I feel like the items and action places would've been easier to find. That said, if you come in knowing that this is from 2011, you can lower your expectation re: the other game's minor flaws. There are no fancy voice-overs, the art is pretty hokey (maybe stylistic, but sometimes makes it tough to find items in-scene), and as some other reviewers have mentioned, occasionally Mortimer breaks a few laws to make an omelet, and ****very minor spoiler**** at the end of the game we STILL don't know who in the world Carmen Sandiego is. My last reason for leaving a high recommendation is that--this game is so /clean/. It's not at all scary and I could absolutely see playing it with a younger relatives. A lot of games have gotten 'gritty' and have lost their humor and charm--Beckett is charming and self-deprecating, and when all else fails, there's a hint button which is very, very useful. I had a good time and was happy I spent a credit on it. It was a lengthy game that got better as it went along--something that's rare with non-CEs these days.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from fun game i would give it more stars if u had a strategy guide with it because i can't get past the car parts mini game
Date published: 2019-12-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very good game I'd give this game three and a half stars if that were possible. I enjoyed playing the game very much. I did have problems finding objects that I needed for the game, but the hint button was available for help when needed. The game did have a serious problem though, without which I would have rated the game 5 stars. There are a few mini-games to play, and there is no skip button. Some of the game directions were quite a challenge to figure out. Not only that, if you are unable to finish the mini-game, you can't go on with the game. I did finish the game, but several times I had to close the game down and check the inadequate forum. When that didn't work I had to search the internet for clues on how to proceed. This finally did work, but was unnecessarily difficult. A little better game design and a better forum would make a huge difference. I still recommend the game, but be prepared for some hard work!
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mortimer I did not get to finish it. I could not get past the bombs.
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Short Game This was just ok. It only took me a couple of hours to finish, so I thought it was pretty short. The puzzles were way too easy. Only get this on a good sale.
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from WHERE IS THE SKIP BUTTON AND WRITTEN DIALOG? This is the 4th in the Mortimer Beckett series and the worst of them all. All these games have individual HOs placed in various scenes within each location. There are no piles. The HOs that must be found are shown as a picture and once you find one, it "activates" and can then be used somewhere else in the location to find other HO. I found myself going back and forth over and over again to the various scenes, something that really irritates me. I also had an issue with the audio. There are 3 controls for audio; music, ambience/background and sfx. There is no separate control for voiceovers. As is my usual practice, I turned all audio off. Imagine my surprise when the introduction to the game had Mortimer's lips moving along with other body animations, but there was no dialog to read. I quickly stopped the game, turned on the sfx audio and started again. Now I could hear Mortimer with no problem. But leaving sfx audio on meant that everytime I clicked on something, anything, including the hint button, I got these awful beeps, bops, boops, etc. Totally annoying. So I should go turn off the sfx audio again, right? Well, I'm not sure; what if there are cut scenes later in the game that have no written dialog and I need it back on to hear what is going on? My choice will be to leave all the sound off and ignore any dialog. Otherwise the clicking sounds will drive me crazy. There is no choice of difficulty levels, which didn't mean much to me until I got to a puzzle that I could not figure out. All the hint button would say is that I needed to solve the puzzle. Another extremely annoying and frustrating issue because I cannot continue until I solve the puzzle. There is a walkthrough available, just not on BF. A look at the BF forum for this game, however, did give the solution for the puzzle I was struggling with. But having to leave the game to find an answer before proceeding is another turnoff for me. There are too many things that annoy me about this game for me to be able to recommend it.
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from hidden objects, way hidden. Review simple: this game 'sucks'!
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mortimer, don't quit your day job. This is one of those 'rip your hair out' games. You have to find objects to use to complete tasks and proceed further - fine, love it. BUT, you also have to solve puzzles with ABSOLUTELY no guide. I'm not talking about 'hand-holding' or walkthroughs, I'm talking about finding something and being told it's a puzzle. There is no solution (ie find a way to.... or assemble according to...) You literally have no idea what you are doing. I do not understand the 5 star reviews.
Date published: 2015-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor hidden object game i found this game confusing and frustrating. 10 minutes of play left me irritated. not fun.
Date published: 2016-05-11
  • y_2020, m_2, d_16, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_22897, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mortimer Beckett and the Crimson Thief

Who is the Crimson Thief? Can Mortimer piece together the clues to finding all the stolen items? There is much more to this new mystery than meets the eye.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.