Dark Romance: Heart of the Beast
Exclusive

Dark Romance: Heart of the Beast

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(431.70 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Your father’s illness has taken a turn for the worse. Now only the fabled Rose of Life can cure him, but it grows only in a kingdom far from your home. And you aren’t the only one after it. The powerful witch Claudine craves its rejuvenating powers, and has stolen it from a prince, cursing his kingdom. She’ll stop at nothing to make sure she’s the only one who can use the Rose. Team up with the prince and work together to stop Claudine. Your father’s life, and the lives of the prince and his subjects, hangs in the balance.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1015 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Romance: Heart of the Beast

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(431.70 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Romance: Heart of the Beast is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ever interesting not bored fun like it very much wish their was more
Date published: 2015-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Graphics. Interesting Twist. Enjoyable Journey! Overall: Good graphics, sound, music and scenes. The storyline pulled you in with two characters switching to complete varying tasks, a nice change. Characters were diverse and appealing. Nicely done scenes and well thought out locations. The game offered great visibility and clarity in hidden object games and mini games. The game moved forward with continuity and purpose and without a lot of backtracking. Inventory objects made sense and it was obvious where most needed to be placed which was refreshing. Graphics: Very well done, some are on the bright primary color tones but they pretty much balance out. Sounds: Didn’t have to turn off or down. Music: Didn’t have to turn off or down. Characters: Well-crafted characters with emotions, but they should have passed on running upstairs and attempting to make some of them talk. Voice overs were nicely done. Some were beautifully crafted, while others a bit over the top, but for the most part all the characters were distinctive and detailed. Hints: Worked well and quickly. Map: Good resource for next task and teleport. Hidden Object Games: Very visible objects with a variety of find objects, combine objects, and some word lists. The object scenes were interesting and offered enough challenge to be fun, some a little cartoonish, so this would be a good game you can play with the family. Mini Games: Well done creations with easy to frustrating games. Enjoyed the easy one but skipped the more difficult ones. Not a mini fan. The last one involved a large circle with a mirror to destroy all the little creatures and the villain within which required positioning the mirror to connect to various points and encompass all. I found it annoying and was disappointed that I had to skip this last, and what I thought should be pivotal at end game. Mini fans will like the games.
Date published: 2016-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from another good game has a custom level. interactive map. an evil figure has turned all the people into animals for a young man she is attracted to. she is trying to recapture her youth and beauty and then he would stay with her or so she thinks. a beautiful woman is trying to solve the mystery and she has help from the animals. there is a half-human, beast-like figure that helps her more than the others. you play both characters off and on throughout the game. i didn't use music. the graphics were great. the longer the figures stay in animal form the more their human side disappears so it is imperative that she solves this as fast as possible. sequel......i feel sure.
Date published: 2015-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertaining, Colorful, and Good Value As A SE BASED ON COMPLETED SE GAME I didn't think this game had enough extra content to warrant CE status, I DID enjoy it enough to revisit it and got the SE with a game coupon. I wasn't disappointed and it just got better after the demo. I LOVE puzzles and even though most of the puzzles here were pretty simple, they were visually lovely...and FUN. I especially liked the one with flowers, pictured below the game page video. Its not hard, but you can expect to see that level of DETAIL in the puzzles, and that was entertaining to me. The graphics here were colorful, crisp and defined, and most welcome after wading through the grainy "parable sands". I also HAVE to mention the EXCELLENT voiceovers. There were quite a few characters here and NOT A SINGLE ONE sounded like they were reading their lines. THAT went a great way towards keeping me immersed in the game. For those who are interested, the inventory locks, the map "jumps", and I had no need of a strategy guide. Some GOOD twists in the HOGs, the complexity of playing as TWO characters, and the Devs obvious sense of humor where the animals were concerned, and I spent an enjoyable afternoon/evening unaware of the rain outside. Thank you Devs and BFG.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for My Granddaughter This posted after playing the demo. I enjoyed this game, but I think my granddaughter would like it even more. Besides, this isn't the first time I've used Big Fish to get her to come visit. It is interesting and easy to follow which makes it fun for me. I'm past the stage of using my mind to extremes. The graphics are well done and the sound, including voice overs are very good. Colors are nice and pleasant and the music is just about right for me. The challenge is fairly simple. I did all the mini games and for me to do that is amazing, so hence they must be relatively easy. I found a couple different kinds of hidden object scenes and some that were interlaced with the story, like putting together butterflies to find the correct path. There was a list and an interactive one in the demo. The demo only lasted about 50 minutes, but in that time, I got involved with the story. Big Fish does a great job setting the scene for the story, so there is no reason to waste your time rehashing it here. It is interesting and I'm hoping my granddaughter comes soon so I can see how it ends. I don't usually post on demos, but this one is a special kind of game. I would say it will work better on kids than on adults, but it is good nonetheless. Give it a try.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beastly Prince Finding the Rose of Life is proving to be a difficult task for Beatrice. This magical life giving flower has been stolen by a witch who desires youth and vitality (don't we all) and will stop at nothing to keep the rose for herself! The true owner of this fantastic flora, Prince Jonathan, has been cursed with a spell of beastly proportions, once a handsome young man, now neither man nor beast! Fortunately, Beatrice has found an all revealing frame, which revealed that all of the Prince's servants have been transformed into animals! Can Beatrice save these cursed souls before the beast inside takes control? Dark Romance has a very unique feature, in order to progress, you must switch between characters. You will start out playing the character Beatrice, and then click on Jonathan's portrait to play the game from his perspective. It's incredible how you are able to play from both characters perspective, flawlessly. There are plus signs on some inventory items that usually require you to combine two inventory items together, many have a small puzzle to complete before using the item. The Collector's Edition of this game has Achievements to earn, 10 Magic Objects (cauldrons etc) 26 Hidden Butterflies and Collectible Portraits of each character that Claudine turned into an animal. The Hidden Object Scenes are incredibly varied, and you have the option of playing a Match 3 game instead of the Hidden Object Puzzles. There are progressive silhouetted shapes, where you find the first item that matches the silhouetted shape and use that item in the scene to expose the next item and so forth. The HOP I thought was creative required you to find a mushroom for a hedgehog to eat which made him move away from a lantern which would move to light up another section which revealed another animal, each animal you fed resulted eventually to light up the entire scene, and then you received a list of items to find with some slight interactions such as opening a purse or moving a blanket. The Mini games range from quick puzzles to solve such as putting correct shapes needed to complete a butterfly sketch, to longer puzzles such as using rotation buttons to move a tile with Jonathan's picture, to the Castle opening, avoiding obstacles along the way that the tile couldn't access. All puzzles were extremely easy, in fact most of them can be figured out without even reading the instructions! The Collectors Edition has music, Art, Wallpapers, 26 Hidden Butterflies, 10 Magic Objects, Collectible Character Portraits, Achievements, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, But Short Wish this game had gone on a little longer. I was enjoying it, but because it's so easy I guess that makes it shorter because you're not spending as much time trying to figure out what to do next. Not a bad game but it ended too soon.
Date published: 2015-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game and story! I really liked this game. The story and puzzles are great. I like everything but the ending, which to me was to short, Having played the first game in this series I was expecting a great ending. When Heart of the Beast ended abruptly I was rather disappointed. But other than that I truly liked everything else. I do recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Nice Story Romance It was fun and a little challenging...but it was a bit short. It didn't take long to finish after purchasing. The animal characters and the trolls or magical characters were interesting. Nice graphics and a nice story romance. First game I actually liked. No glitches or problems.
Date published: 2015-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Enjoyable, but a little too sweet & simple The really original feature in this game is the double game play - switching from one character to another. The gameplay was just interesting enough to make me want to finish the game. But the characters are very onedimensional, the graphics are a bit too blurry to my taste, and the story itself, well, oh, if you are very much into simple fairy tales you will enjoy this. The ending was really too sweet... yuck. Do find out for yourself, though.
Date published: 2016-01-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I was expecting This game has to be the worst one that I have downloaded and played from this site. There weren't near enough HOS and the story was kind of lame. There was really no challenge at all.
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good game I like it! The story line, though not amazingly original, but was pleasant. The HOGs I really enjoyed and very colorful.
Date published: 2015-06-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wondering When the Fairy Unicorns Will Show Up Assembling butterflies to show the glittery way?? People turned into animals by a Wicked Witch??? A magical picture frame that shows you their True Form??? Reeallly??? OMG! I lasted exactly 16 minutes. Play this one with your six-year-old.
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Barely okay This got boring very quickly as there was no challenge at all. What started out as enjoyable soon became tedious and I was glad it only lasted about two hours. Storyline, same ol' good guys vs. evil witch. Mini games, way too simple. Recommend for a first time HOG player. For anyone who's played a few, this has nothing new to offer.
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I wish I hadn't wasted a credit on this This game is beyond easy, even on the expert level. I finished the entire game in about 90 minutes. There is absolutely no challenge AT ALL. If you are looking for a mindless game, this is the one. At first, switching between characters was interesting, then it got tedious. And the picture frame thingy to see the animals in their "true" human form and communicate with them became annoying, only because they had nothing to say other than their sad sob story and why they needed Beatrice's help. So, not fun, sound quality was good, but the animation with the sound was awful, no challenge, and the story line was just a riff off of one we all know very well. This game is boring and nothing special.
Date published: 2015-05-26
  • y_2019, m_10, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_23018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Romance: Heart of the Beast

Only the Rose of Life can cure your father’s illness.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.