Dark Parables: Goldilocks and the Fallen Star Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Parables: Goldilocks and the Fallen Star Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(445.80 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Eipix Entertainment presents the next installment of the beloved Dark Parables series!

The Kingdom of Barsia has been invaded by mechanical beasts that are attacking its citizens. You’ve been called in to investigate these attacks and discover the origins of a mysterious artifact. Can this artifact save the kingdom… or will lead them down an even darker path? Only you can help Queen Valla discover the answers. Find hidden objects and solve puzzles to further your investigation and uncover the dark secrets lurking just beneath the surface.

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“Beautiful and life like graphics, as if you could touch and interact with storyline! My jaw hit the table and stayed down the whole time. Bravo!”  - Brandon, beta tester

“Excellent graphics combined with a very smooth flowing story line made this game a joy to play.”  - Megan, beta tester

  • The fallen star offers a wish, but who will make it?
  • There's more to Jack's return than meets the eye in the bonus game!
  • Did you catch all of the snowflakes? If not, try again!
  • Replay every HOP and mini-game to your heart's content.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 893 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: Goldilocks and the Fallen Star Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(445.80 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Parables: Goldilocks and the Fallen Star Collector's Edition is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 81.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game liked the story line ,art/graphics mini games where a challenge
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My two cents Ever since the Dark Parables games were bought out by this new company the quality has really gone down hill. I feel like that is really evident in this latest game. The puzzles and games are still definitely up there with the originals, but the art has taken steps down and the story was so disjointed, I don't even know where they were trying to go with it. There were elements of the goldilocks tale with in the puzzles, but it was never mentioned in the story line at all.
Date published: 2015-11-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from the first Dark Parables game I did not like I've bought all of the Dark Parables games, Collector's Editions when available. I like the games so much that I bough the CE of this game without hesitation. I won't do that again, this time I'll play the demo first. The "twist" to the parable that Dark Parables is known for was there and the title sounded exciting, but I didn't enjoy it because I didn't feel like I was playing a DP game. There was just no magic, no sinister mystery. I put "poor" for the storyline as well because it may be all right for another type of game but it doesn't fit a DP. I also didn't like the character of Goldilocks, a first as well for a DP game. A recurring character that I do like made an appearance which I can only assume is a plot point for a future DP game but was grating because barely anything was done with this character. Then graphics, I've always enjoyed the beautiful HOS in DP and the items you can put together when you find all the parts, but I remember thinking when I saw the first HOS, what's this? This is so grainy and plain. Some of the items you put together looked all right, but still that was not the quality and beauty I have come to expect from DP. Moreover the quality of Hidden Object games improves every year, both visually and in ingenuity, but this didn't feel like an improvement at all. It's classic and not what I expect in 2015. This is not enough to put me off DP games but it is not a step in the right direction. DP needs to return to the magic of the previous games and it needs to get with the times.
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's just ok... The Dark Parables series has lost it's luster. I'm not going to give details on the storyline as many others have done that, just my overall "feel" of the game. The game was ok, but it didn't have that magic quality like all of the others did before Eipix took over #Mermaid was their first one for those that are new to this series#. The graphics are well done for the most part & the music's satisfactory but the storyline was weird. Goldilocks has the "Midas touch"? Since when? I guess I expected something completely different than what I got. I love FROGs but the sound that Eipix uses when the three parts of an item come together sounds like something out of a scary movie, not a fairytale; it doesn't fit the theme of the game. Also, I don't like that I have to click "continue" when the characters speak. I purchased & played the whole game, but I was able to stop & walk away for awhile. I wasn't drawn into the game & caught up in the mystery & wonder that I was when Blue Tea Games handled the series solo. I wish Eipix's would leave the elements alone & stop trying to put their stamp on this series. However, ever so slowly, they're removing their mark from each story. This was far better than Mermaid but nowhere near as good as Rapunzel.
Date published: 2015-11-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Darkness Descending...on a Tight Budget... but OK I am a longtime fan of Dark Parables, and practically all things Blue Tea. I have also played and enjoyed a lot of Eipix's games that I didn't think twice purchasing this latest offering. In a nutshell, I was rather disappointed. Perhaps the game's greatest weakness is that it belongs to such a beloved series. On its own, Goldilocks is an enjoyable game with a good storyline, above-par graphics and a familiar yet fun gameplay. However, it pales in comparison to its predecessors, particularly my favorite Dark Parables namely Rise of the Snow Queen, Ballad of Rapunzel, Red Riding Hood Sisters, and Jack & the Sky Kingdom. The FROGS, while yet well-drawn, lack the imaginative craftsmanship that used to make me click on an inventory item just to stare at it. There are no cinematic-type videos, no emblems, no standout music. But my biggest gripe is that the story - the major draw for me into the Dark Parables series - doesn't have that immersive and flowing narrative. There are no interesting characters to draw you in, no exciting plot twists, and on occasion, even no sense. It's almost as if the writers were working on a bunch of brilliant concepts but simply ran out of time, interest or budget and just mashed everything together. The H&O scenes seem to be descending into the realm of the "dark and tiny." For a game series that held creative and hiding-in-plain-sight H&Os as its signature, this is akin to betrayal. And the voice-acting... er... I didn't say anything, did I? I rather enjoyed the mini-games. Not too hard, requires a bit of gray matter and with some replay value.
Date published: 2015-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Eipix and Blue Tea = Odd Couple Based on Main and Bonus Games Straight up, I'm not fond of this quirky relationship between Eipix and Blue Tea. Eipix tends to make action-packed games, and Blue Tea makes sweet, darling lil' soothing games. Hence my pronouncing them the Odd Couple. I can only imagine the Skype conferencing between the two devs trying to hammer out a good Dark Parables game. The Goldilocks character tends to strike only one pose, like she was in an advert in Vanity Fair. "Get to the castle!" (Vogues it). "Hand me the artifact!" (Vogues it). "Did I leave the iron on?" (Vogues it). The puzzles are standard to newish fare, and lots of them. I did not appreciate the same puzzle repeated in the artifact 4 times. The FROGs are standards Blue Tea MO, and I'm tired of them, because they never vary. There're 40 snowflakes to find, some of which are invisible. There are also morphing puzzle pieces that go into your parables book; complete them and you get to read stories of the kingdom of Barsia. No hooded villains, yay. The main game is rather long, the bonus game quite short. CE bling includes the ability to go back and retrieve missed snowflakes and morphs, replayable FROGs and puzzles, a short making-of video, plus the usual. Is it worth a CE? Umm, I don't think so. That is unless you really like Blue Tea type games mixed with Eipix. I think there's so little variety in Blue Tea that I'd rather go with a straight Eipix game. Plus with a short bonus game, I'd either do a sale or wait for the SE.
Date published: 2015-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from a rushed job definitely this had a rushed feel to it - with cut scenes that finished abruptly, graphics not crisp and clear - storyline with random fairytale characters and truly awful music. How we all miss the original Blue Tea Games.! I did not even finish the demo. No buy for me.
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If I have to find one more fragment, I will scream! I've finished the main game and am half-way through the bonus game. There is no doubt in my mind that the devs, innovative as they are, put a lot of work into this game. The graphics, on the whole, are quite beautiful but the same old stuff. Some fragments were difficult to find. There's usually 9 to 10 items in your inventory at a shot. The flow is not all that great. I didn't find all the snowflakes, the game is long, which is a good thing, but in this case, I can't wait until it's over. So many objects to collect and I'm bored with those; I'm definitely bored with collecting fragments--not exciting at all. The storyline is odd. Visually this game is lovely and the sound is great. The map was pretty decent and the hint button works. I customized my level to be slightly harder but still the game flow was frustrating. The puzzles were very tricky and tedious, and I skipped a few but only because I was frustrated and lacked interest in some of them. I was not fond of the token mini-games at all. Those bored me, too. Devs, you can do better than this. Do something about your HOS/fragments--maybe every other HOP scene use those but as it stands now it's a bit too much. Those are ho-hum...but the objects to be found were ornate and beautiful but there were far too many of them. So non-challenging! I still recommend this game because others may really end up liking it.
Date published: 2015-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I love these Dark Parable games but this one was a let down for me. I played through to the end but was eager for it to finally be over.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK but... This is not a bad game. Its not a good game either. It's "OK" - nothing special - and that makes it forgettable. I liked the graphics and the sounds but I don't really like FROGs or playing the same type of mini-game repeatedly - the Artefact game was the same but harder each time and the type of game I hate. Despite not liking FROGs, I've always loved the Dark Parables series because the game storylines have been intriguing and fun. That seems to have disappeared. Oh dear. The Dark Parables series have always been several steps removed from the fairy-tales they are based on but touch on most of the major plot points; the only connection in this game with the Golidlocks story was the princess's nick-name #used once as I remember# and the bears that were the symbol of one country. I'm not sure why Jack is there or what really happened #and I finished the game#. I just hope new games are better.
Date published: 2015-11-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from (Based on the demo) I'm so disappointed I love Dark Parables but I did not have fun this time . Is the story line so thin that we have to spend so much time on going back and forward to find parts of items (the hunting horn, the artifacts of the statue etc etc...) ? I'm really disappointed.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Confused by all the high grades OK, it’s pretty in some spots and has nice music It’s got all the extras But I hate the sound it makes when I do the wrong thing. Which is often You see, the hint system and guide are not very good, IMHO. That’s what the rest of this review is about, so stop reading if you don’t care about that. Warning: SPOILERS 1) I could not figure out those runes on the step of the shrine to get the last piece of hunting horn. The closeup of the steps of the shrine said I saw these runes somewhere. Well, I could not remember where. But when I hit the hint button, it did not send me to the location where I had seen them. Instead, it just took me back to the closeup of the steps of the shrine. Finally, I randomly clicked around in two scenes, but still didn’t find the rune sequence. 2) While consulting the guide to get the rune sequence, I noted that it said to “place all 5 statues" on the steps of the shrine and also to use the hunting horn piece. But there are not 5 statues even though there are spaces for 5 statues. There are 4 statues and one hunting horn piece. And I could not find the 5th statue, though I looked around some more. I also consulted the strategy guide for a hint about where the 5th statue might be and could not find one. So, after wasting 2/3 of the demo just to get beyond the 1st 3 scenes, I am have played a little farther. It’s fun enough, but I am still worried that, because I did not have 5 statues to place, I will be unable to proceed at some point. I did run the demo out, but only because I wanted to give the game a fair chance. Also, I am certainly not sucked into the world of the game, and I wasn’t even before I got stuck. So I am confused by all the 5 star grades. I think 5 stars should be reserved only for those games that you cannot stop playing even if it is bedtime. I am barely recommending this one. It seems ok and it works well, but parts of the gameplay=too frustrating. I will probably wait for the SE.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Time to retire this series... Hi all. Well, here we have another in this series. This is not the Goldilocks I remember! This game is set up exactly the same as all the other in the series, with a few differences. The graphics seemed a little blurred to me, especially the close up scenes. Colors were okay, but somewhat faded and not as sharp and clear as others in the series. Music was nice. Voice overs were okay, but very few. You don't speak, you are just written dialog. However, you could click through if you read faster than the "speaking" characters. Sound FX were quite faint, and I even had the environment sound at max. Game play was very good, no problems at all during the demo and it fit my large screen quite nicely. HOPs are fragmented pieces, which have become quite boring. It is definitely time to upgrade the HOPs in this series. The HOPs are junk piles, with some items with color and others none. Puzzles were painfully simple and took no brain power at all. Hint system is very helpful and it does transport to longer locations. This comes in handy, since you do a lot of back tracking in this game, just as you did in all the others. Collectibles...40 snowflakes that are extremely hard to find. They blend in color, with most being only an outline, and most are very small. This is the challenge to this game. You also collect parables...again. These are also very small and not at all easy to find. I have most of these games and liked them all, but this one left a lot to be desired for me. It is not a bad game, just nothing new. Same game, different story...sort of. I beta tested this one a few months ago and didn't rate it very high then. Sticking to that now. I am sure there are people who will like this game, but I feel it is geared more toward a beginner who has never played any of the others. No, no buy for me. Honestly don't feel this is CE worthy and I know I won't get it even as an SE, which is unusual for me. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may like this one. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What In The World Was This All About? The game had a certain charm to it, which is why the three stars, but it is, in summation, the single most incoherent plot I've come across in years. There is, of course, a young woman with golden hair and there are bears. It may be a late teaming between developers that resulted in this muddle, or perhaps it was always like that. If the former, the teaming of the writers wasn't a happy one; if the latter, the player's best hope is to get hold of a bottle of whatever the author was drinking and hope for the best. The good: LOTS of game play, hurrah! for a change. Brilliant scenes, fun mini-games. A map that was the rational player's only hope of finishing the thing. The less than good: the plot, or plots, or whatever this was supposed to be. We have Goldilocks herself, a singularly unsympathetic character redeemed by a hug given to a little boy whose name we do not know and who does not figure in the game aside from being turned into a golden statue and mysteriously resurrected at the end. Jack, who pops in from his beanstalk and out again, and then in and out, golden himself for a time and altogether baffling as to his presence at all. An evil automaton queen, an inventor with no discernible purpose except to hold this mess of a plot together, magical, weirdly-shaped pieces impossible to locate in the junk-pile HOS's, and a main character whose motivation to remain in this fantasy madhouse is entirely inexplicable except for the fact that she, and the player, are riding this hideous beast to oblivion. There is a horrible fascination here: you can't stop playing because it's just so bizarre that it has a certain dark beauty to it. If, however, you're the sort of player so jaded by cliche that you can depend on the map to tell you what in the world you're supposed to do next without complaint, then the novelty of certain of the puzzles will attract you and the monotony of the hidden object scenes won't repel you too much. The music is repetitive and not particularly atmospheric. The voice acting is not to be blamed for the sheer grating awfulness of the lines the actors are compelled to recite. And yet I'm recommending the game. Why? Because it was fun. Not, perhaps, for the right reasons, but the truth is I enjoyed playing it just to see what weird plot developments were going to happen next.
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from played Casual til end of Demo I beta'd this back in October. I've purchased all of the DP games - my favorite being the Little Mermaid one which I gave 5 stars. This one seemed graineyer than previous ones. I think it could have been better with a little more work; sometimes it was unclear as to what to do next. I suggest you definitely try this before you purchase; don;t be fooled by all the 5 stars.
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dark Parables is the same old, same old. I found this to be the same type of story line and game play as all other Dark Parables. I have not been a huge fan of these games, but love EIPIX games and always give their newest games a try. I was disappointed. The level of challenge is not there and the mini games are not new except for the one on the artifact box where you must move stones a certain way. The hidden parts HOG is not fun for me but if you like this type of HOG you won't be disappointed. It is a good game for beginners and intermediate game players. This review was based on the completed demo game.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for a Rainy Weekend A little shorter than I could have hoped for, but the price point was good; better than going to a movie. The outstanding level of artwork I've come to expect from Eipix was present and looks to be getting better. The HOGs, on the other hand, are a variant. They are the "find the pieces of an object that you need to move forward" and leave me sighing for true cluttered drawers or closets filled with bizarre detritus. These actually remind me of the early Mortimer Beckett HO games. One thing that was a REAL problem was the inability to access "Info" (as in the directions for the puzzle) on the very last puzzle, the game-ending, villain-crushing, puzzle. The "info" bar was so small that you could not open it w/o going back to the previous scene. This is the kind of glitch that Quality Control is supposed to catch, IMHO.
Date published: 2015-11-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another Eipix Clone!! This is just another example of Eipix taking over a well established and brilliant game series and putting their stamp on it, to the detriment of the game. Eipix games are fine as stand alone games, but I'm afraid every other series of games that they have taken over are too much alike. Same sound effects, same colours. Same, same, same. I had no intention of trying another one of these but downloaded it to at least give it the benefit of the doubt. (Hope springs eternal) Only played 20 minutes of the demo and then deleted it. Yet another disappointment. The best of the DP series were, without doubt, the earlier ones when Blue Tea alone were making them. Now, there aren't even morphs which were a great feature of the DP games. Colours in the FROGS are not as sharp and beautiful as they used to be. Hate the sound effects now. Just not the same and unless Blue Tea start making them alone, I will not be buying any more of them which makes me quite sad as I loved them. I'll probably go back and play some of the first few games in this series to cheer myself up. Can't say I hated it but definitely didn't like it much. however, that's just my opinion, and as always, try before you buy.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Midas Mascarades as Goldilocks With Regrets As the Detective, you are to investigate the reports from an obscure kingdom of mechanical beasts attaching the populace. In a horrid mash-up of old tales, Goldilocks turns things into gold - ice, people, whatever! For unknown reasons, Jack from Jack and the Beanstalk fame is involved and the queen seems blood thirsty and her daughter, Goldilocks, is anything but the misguided child from the fairy tale. Somewhere, an ancient quarrel between the goddesses of the sun and moon is involved as is the war engendered by that quarrel. There is magic, mechanical creatures, and enough rigmarole to confound the best of us. Did they kill the Dark Parables series? They sure did try. Everything in this game is average, except the sorry story-line which weeps for revision. DO NOT buy without playing the demo. I won't buy at all.
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Eipix ruins another parable! I have always purchased the new dark parables games when they came out. The past few i have purchased after they partnered with eipix just ruined them for me, but i remained optimistic. I am sad to say that i will not be purchasing any more dark parable games. Goldilocks and the fallen star has no story line. Yes beautiful scenery but the magic and intricate details of the characters and the plot have been ruined for me. Thank you Blue tea games for showing me the wonders you came up with for the parables. Eipix i suggest you stop making dark parables.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from UNDER PAR Love most all of the Dark Parable games, have purchased most every one available. This one was more annoying than anything. The background sounds were shrill and the music... no words. The constant pop up of the tool bar was very distracting, and when locked in place it takes up 1/4 of the view. Just didn't like it at all. Didn't even finish the trial. I know they can do better. This one's just not for me.
Date published: 2015-11-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad Graphics & VOs Ruin This Otherwise Good Game Eipix usually has fairly solid story lines and this game is just like all of the other Dark Parables in that regards. Where it fails is the cheaply done intro, menu, and cut scenes. They amount to fuzzy moving cutouts and sketches. BF absolutely needs to find a few more "mature" voices for the female characters. The childish, "valley girl" manner of speaking of the younger actors is ruining almost all of the games these days.
Date published: 2015-11-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This is not Goldilocks I am a fan of the Dark Parables series, but that loyalty is dwindling fast. Since Eipix has taken over, each game release disappoints me more and more. The gameplay is just like all the other DP games, with puzzles that are not too difficult. This is fine with me since I play the game for the storyline. It's a relaxing, fun series that I can immerse myself into w/ the story and graphics. That being said, it's the story that really upset me. I like how the previous DP stories had a twist to them, and how they're linked together, someway. Goldilocks had nothing of the original fairytale. Only mention of the 3 bears, bed and porridge was a puzzle game...not even in the storyline. That bothers me! I don't mind a twist to the old fashion fairytale, but when you completely change the story, why bother naming the heroine Goldilocks at all? There's no correlation between her name and the fabled story. As for the graphics, it was disappointing. Not on the same level as the earlier DP games. It took me months to convince myself to buy this one in the series, esp after being disappointed w/ the previous 'Queen of Sands'. I don't regret buying it on sale, but I definitely would haven't missed anything if I didn't. If you were disappointed w/ the recent past releases in this series, then you'll be more so w/ this one. Happy hunting!
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Up To My Expectations I own all of the Dark Parables. The fragmented HOS that this series is famous for are not very well done. Some of the parts are very small or in a very dark part of the screen which requires liberal use of the Hint button. The some of the mini games are very repetitive. If you did not like the first one, you will not like the rest of them. Other mini games come with no instructions on what to do. Even after clicking on "Skip", I did not understand how to play it. The story left a lot of questions and problems did not get resolved, except the prologue said they were resolved. I am sorry I bought it. I will think long and hard before I buy another.
Date published: 2015-11-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay but not Great ~Completed Collector's Edition~ While I'm pretty loyal to the series, I have to say I'm not impressed with this one. Similarly sad as the game with Jack and the Beanstalk, they didn't really go as far as they could have to make the game enthralling. First the pros: +The map allowing a player to jump from area to area that also has indicators of where a player still has an objective to complete. Without it, there would be a LOT of trudging back and forth... +The music was lovely. You can have it as a soft background sound without it getting in the way. It's their usual classically based sounding music that's neither annoying or too much. +The voice acting, as per their usual, was very well done with few exceptions. (the big burly guard could have gone with something a little gruffer but it was okay as it was I guess.) +The graphics were as lush and as rich as any of the other games in the series. Some times a little Too lush if you're a stickler for collectible/morph hunting as I am. Which leads us to the cons... -The morphing "Parable story pages" were a pain in the rear to find. Admittedly they, and the collectibles, aren't Essential to the game but if you're playing the CE it's kind of a thing, you know? -Game play was a lot of back-n-forthing. You find a bit here, meander around until you find where it goes. You Definitely will end up using the map A Lot. Because it's a boring trudge through the same scenes over and over. They may be rich and lush but one can only oooh and aaah so many times before they want just shoot the game. -When I say game play, it sounds like I mean there's a lot to do. There Isn't. I finished the game in a very sad hour and a half. Admittedly I skipped some of the really dull puzzles along the way. -That's another negative... While the game had a few puzzles and HOgs in it, none of them really took much thought. I ended up skipping some of the puzzles simply because they seemed to be more padding than anything to further the game itself. They didn't draw me in and give me any reason to care if I skipped or actually tried to complete them. And the ones I didn't skip only took Maybe a couple minutes to complete. And that's With all the "go find this piece, then come back, place it then go fetch another piece" stuff. With the map jump, it was barely enough to keep me awake much less interested. I played this one "casual" and while I'm sure Some of the negative aspects might have improved on a higher difficulty, I just couldn't bring myself to care enough about the game to play it again just to see if it might be interesting. The long and short of it is this... If you're a fairly inexperienced player, I Suppose you could find this one fun. But I would suggest you try one of the series more interesting games like the Red Riding-hood Sisterhood or "The Final Cinderella". They're superior in story, game play and just better done in general. But if you're an intermediate or better player, probably the only reason to get this one is if you're a collector like me and have to have all the games in a series even when they aren't the devs' best works. Otherwise, I have to say give this one a pass unless you can get it for cheap. To the Devs: Sorry guys... Had to be honest. I Know you could have done a Lot better work than this. Which is why it was so disappointing.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from sans cant get my head around this one played the others and like them but this one is confusing for me
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Deeply, deeply disappointed. Previous Dark Parables fans: buyer beware! Truthfully, the reason I was so disappointed in this game was not the game as a standalone, but as a long-time fan of the series. I suppose putting this game up against its competitors still leaves it in the top-tier, but there was some clearly sloppy execution that isn't at ALL what I've come to expect from a Dark Parables game. 1) Where are my Morphing Objects?! One of my favorite things about the Dark Parables series, and one of the reasons I always buy the Collectors' Edition, was because of the Morphing Objects that help to refill your hint meter faster. Here they have been replaced with lame, clumsily hidden static snowflakes, and a scant few "Parables" pieces--some morph, but some are just stuck randomly into the scenery where it's not clear what they are. 2) Spelling/grammar errors. Really?! I can bypass a few mistakes in the script here or there--I know even the best editing team isn't going to catch everything--but it seemed like every other written piece, whether character dialogue, written on an in-game object itself, or even the end credits, had a mistake. There were apostrophes where there shouldn't be, misuse of homonyms, uncapitalized proper nouns--perhaps the most glaring, in the Bonus Chapter (non-spoilery, don't worry) you need to find an object that is important to two characters--and I quote, "a symbol that's important to them two". -_- 3) Clumsy and awkward plot/series tie-ins This is tricky to talk about without giving too much away, but suffice it to say that I'm pretty sure that half of the story and content team have never actually read Goldilocks and the Three Bears. That's not to say I was looking for a verbatim rehashing of the story--I KNOW that the Dark Parables series is famous for its clever spins on well-known tales--but this one was not only wayyyy off the map, but also repetitive. A story very similar to this "golden curse" was already used, and handled much better, in the bonus content chapter of one of the previous Dark Parables series games. Seriously? You couldn't think of /anything/ different? To make matters worse, the tie-ins to previous characters/games were handled horribly. Putting a laundry list of books on a shelf didn't make me fondly nostalgic for earlier games, and bringing a character back that hadn't been particularly well-received from an earlier game to selfishly deal with his own conflict--which isn't even (re)explained until the bonus chapter? Yeah, OKAY. (By which I mean, not okay at all, what the heck?! How does that look to new fans?) The music was eh, the mini-games weren't fun or creative and there were very few of them, and I believe those that did exist weren't levelled at all to account for difficulty. The only piece of the entire game that I felt stood up to the standard I've come to expect from a Dark Parable was the "build a new inventory piece from stuff from a HO scene", where the artwork was still fairly intricate and pretty. At least something was handled well. To anyone who reads my review who's considering whether or not to try the Dark Parables series--please do NOT buy this game. ANY of the previous games will be much more up to standard--I started with the second game in the series, based around the Frog Prince, and up until now I really haven't been disappointed. The Final Cinderella and Rise of the Snow Queen are still two of my favorite-ever hidden object games--I am really hoping that this one was a rushed fluke and Blue Tea will bring the quality back up to snuff after seeing these disappointed reviews from longer-term series fans.
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Story Was a Mess Let me start by saying I really enjoyed the old DP games and I usually like games by Epix, but I wish Epix had never taken over the DP series. This game is a mess. The story has nothing to do with the fairy tale. They brought in a character from a previous game, but he is selfish and unhelpful. The FROGs are not that much fun. The mini games were so-so. The morphing objects are gone. To open the parables you "find" random blobs by accident. The collectibles are snowflakes that you can't even see in most scenes. I was so disappointed in this game and think I am done with DP unless Blue Tea takes it back from Epix. I would highly recommend the first games in the series, but would not recommend this game.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sorry, but I can't abide Eipix in my Blue Tea. Dark Parables: Goldilocks and the Fallen Star CE Review based completed demo PROLOGUE... The idea behind the Dark Parables series—to both modernize and twist familiar fairy tales—is a brilliant one. And for years, Blue Tea created games with this premise that included engaging story lines, stunningly ornate and colorful graphics, and original gameplay. Sadly, the idea only came to fruition for a few games. Most players agree that The Red Riding Hood Sisters was the last decent episode, and that Blue Tea's collaboration with Eipix—beginning with The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide—hammered the last nail in the series' coffin. ONCE UPON A TIME... Goldilocks is actually Princess Leda of Barsia, and she's apparently related to King Midas because everything she touches turns to gold. Barsia, ruled by Queen Valla, has been at odds with the neighboring kingdom of Olesia, over an ancient artifact. Now it appears as if they will go to war, Barsia with mechanical golden bears and Olesia with mechanical silver stags. As Master Detective, you're called upon to investigate the artifact and, hopefully, bring peace to the area of Symhir. Surprisingly, you encounter your old friend Jack (of Beanstalk fame), and he hints that there's a deeper plot afoot. This sounds confusing because it is. The story line was thin on the ground. What little was presented during the demo was overly detailed with information unrelated to the plot, which merely added to the confusion. PLAY THE GAME... HO scenes are, of course, all fragmented objects. Each FROG scene is a search for one object which has been broken into pieces. Instead of a list, the panel depicts images of the pieces, but that doesn't necessarily make the task easy. Light and shadow might slightly change the color. The piece may be partially hidden behind something in the scene. Or it may be artfully hidden in plain sight. Puzzles and mini-games were mostly retreads, formulaic and simplistic: • a small version of "all lights on" that uses rune stones • swap locks to match keys • move tokens to their destinations only on paths that match their shape (requires a bit of planning since the tokens change the paths they touch) • follow instructions to rebuild a mechanical bear's power cell Adventure mode consists mostly of cluttering the inventory with nearly identical shaped objects, each with a complicated name like "Goddess' Sun Helmet of Doom." (Ok, I made that one up, but you get the idea.) Most were actually keys, destined for matching insets. If you read my reviews, you know how thrilled I am with this tired device, especially when repeated ad nauseum. SIGHTSEEING... I did love the graphics, as they reminded me of Jan Brett's children's books. If you have young children, do them—and yourself!—a favor and look up his books. Beautifully detailed depictions of Nordic landscapes and villages abound, all in suitably muted colors, both neutral and jewel tone. The style of both still and animation is reminiscent of a graphic novel rather than the hyperrealism we often see, and it's a welcome change. SOUNDBOARD... The music was also enjoyable and caught my attention more than once. A few of the pieces are the ethereal ambient soundscapes that, to me, are what game music should be. Much like movie soundtracks, these types of compositions add to immersion. Environmental sounds and voiceovers were done well. TOOLBOX... The inventory panel locks open and shows plus items. I do wish all developers would program the arrows to move to the next panel of items rather than just one item at a time. The jump map is interactive, showing your location, your objective, and where you can do things. And you have the artifact which will provide things to you once you find the shaped keys for its insets (ugh). OH BOTHER! I encountered no technical difficulties, lags, translation or grammar errors, or other problems. OOH! PIECE OF CANDY... In the bonus game, discover why Jack returned. Replay the FROGs and puzzles. Find collectible snowflakes and parables. Earn performance achievements. Peruse the SG. And enjoy the developer's portfolio of sights and sounds, including wallpaper, concept art, and soundtrack. EPILOGUE... I can't recommend Goldilocks and the Fallen Star for several reasons. First and most importantly, I found the gameplay tedious and repetitive. It was typical of an Eipix game...the same content with a new paint job. Second, the story line was weak, cluttered with unnecessary details, and not engaging. I'm not interested in playing a game when I don't really care what happens. Third, even though I generally have no eyesight difficulty with games, even if they're overly dark or items are small, I still have no idea what I clicked on when shown the first snowflake and parable. Neither looked like anything except small details in the background. Yes, you should have to work for collectibles, but you shouldn't have to spend five minutes per screen scouring every pixel to no avail. It interrupts gameplay and destroys immersion. I do recommend the following Dark Parables episodes: Curse of Briar Rose, The Exiled Prince (my personal favorite), Rise of the Snow Queen, and The Red Riding Hood Sisters.
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from FLAWS APLENTY!! Once more puerile offerings!! This is another in a string of failings; it is devoid of and seriously lacking in, good immersive storyline, great atmospheric graphics, or worthwhile game-play.......sadly the death knell has left a once loved series almost too much to bear bothering with! With graphics in an unimaginative sorry state which is carried throughout this problematic game and without respite, puzzles are woefully inadequate excuses of what puzzles are meant to be - 'challenging'! These are pathetically simple and the compilations are laughable - these are for 1st graders or younger!! Plus why the huge cursor? Although in earlier games in this series, the fragment pieces to find in the HOG scenes were occasionally slightly larger, they were on average, 'normal' in size...well they were compared to this game which shows them generally as ridiculously oversized - DP: Goldilocks and the Fallen Star lacks what makes a game great.....or even halfway to 'good'. Now NO one likes the constant trekking back and forth and good games or better, now widely show that proverbial thorn to have seen its use limited and replaced in favour of incorporating an interactive map thereby allowing the player to 'click on a point on the map' to instantly transport them to the selected area of their choice; this keeps the game flowing and unfolding with minimum game-lag, but not so here...here the map still shows the outdated white/red squares depicting where a task can be performed and that's it, consequently be prepared for A LOT of back and forth trekking and/or clicking the hint button! Unfortunately, there isn't anything new here with any improving or updating chances to the game being lost, and consequently the game looks old and dated with flaws aplenty....plus there are NO challenges.....in effect it is a walkthrough game - it holds your hand and walks you through it every step of the way. All in all, this is disappointing offering with NO fun factor and most definitely, NOT a single challenge!! The only positive thing I can think of saying about this latest Dark Parables fiasco is the 'click here to uninstall' option. I'm in agreement with many members regarding how some really excellent series have changed and not for the better, and this is another that is far removed from what it once was.
Date published: 2015-11-25
  • y_2021, m_1, d_24, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_81
  • loc_en_US, sid_23866, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: Goldilocks and the Fallen Star Collector's Edition

Who is trying to destroy the Kingdom of Barsia?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.