Forgotten Places: Regained Castle

Forgotten Places: Regained Castle

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(432.24 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

When Jane was a child, she tragically lost her parents in an accident. It's now the early 20th century and Jane is a young woman trying to keep the past behind her. It's clearer than ever that her past will always be a part of her when she receives a letter from her guardian, Sir Charles Willmore, who lives in an ancient ancestral castle. Upon opening the envelope, she finds an empty sheet inside on which the message "You're next!" magically appears. Jane hurriedly gathers her belongings and heads to Sir Charles to ask for an explanation. Jane could never have anticipated what was waiting for her.

  • Visit 54 unique and atmospheric screens
  • Uncover the castle's secrets
  • Enjoy 15 Hidden Object scenes
  • Find 21 mini-games and 14 puzzles
  • Earn prizes, bonuses and other surprises

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 457 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Forgotten Places: Regained Castle

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(432.24 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Forgotten Places: Regained Castle is rated 2.6 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not easy to play, but... Well, this one is a riddle, really. To be totally honest with you, it's not easy, to play or to even enjoy. First of all, in every scene that your female character speaks, you must press the next button, wait until she finishes, wait until the perfume bottle shows up and then continue your course. Oh, and did I tell you? The characters don't actually talk, just move their lips and no sound is heard. That's so... old school? Not even that. But, in its defense, this HOG has 59 different scenes in total (I mean wow!) to explore, a map that's very-very helpful and its actual gameplay makes scenes and sucks you in. So that's a huge plus. But, if you wanna play an easy-in-the eye game, then skip this one. But, I suggest you give it a go! (or two).
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ?????? The reason for the Question marks in my title is because I couldn't really think of what to say. I really did want to like this game but the controls made me crazy! It seemed that every time I wanted to click on something I had to wait for the scene to catch up. The click and crag from the inventory is a bit difficult. There were times that I just couldn't get a grip on the item without several tries. Maybe it's just that I am tense today but I play to relax and this didn't do the trick. The story seemed okay and I think I would've really liked it if not for the navigation/control issue. Please, anyone reading this try for yourself. I was so excited to see a Adventure/HO Standard Edition but it just didn't work out for me.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Clunky and Uninviting This game had the potential to be pretty cool. But it seems like an attempt to be different just made the game not at all player friendly. The interfaces with the girl are slow and the functionality seems to have been broken up to just be annoying. I didn't like that the back button and the compass are separate from all the other controls and that everything seems so manual. And there are actions that are required to be taken that have no impact on the game. (i.e. turning the light out in her room before she could leave) The forced zoom in and out at first seemed helpful but quickly got old. Just overall not a pleasant game to play and I would not recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be so promising This game has great potential to be a really awesome game. Unfortunately, the things that keep it from being so are mostly centered around moving through the various scenes in a smooth, meaningful way. I found it very frustrating that you are unable to click into a scene until you either SKIP or FORWARD the character's thoughts. In addition, having to back out of each scene by clicking the back button at the top of the screen doesn't help the flow of the storyline and it's purpose. Overall, the navigation limits this game. I played until the end of the demo but feel I could have been so much further along in the story had the navigation been easier.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good time passer This is based on the demo. Pros: You can choose your language; there is a left-handed mode; and extras are available after game is finished. You can find 57 butterflies. Cons: You have to hold the mouse on objects and drag them to where they can be used. You have to back out of scenes when you are through with them. HOS are just ordinary, not interactive. There is written text; lips don't move. Graphics are ok - little cartoonish. Three modes of play.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Clunky Graphics are good and pace of game play is just right but it is clunky trying to move in the game you must click on forward to progress to the next screen or back to leave a room or hidden object game. Did not finish the free trial period got very frustrated with having to remember to click on just those two items I could not enjoy playing
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cumbersome Play! Te game play drove me up the wall. This has to be a game pulled off the shelf of days gone by. Suggest that members give the game a try for yourself.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I'm Just Going To "Forget" About This Game I have to agree with fellow reviewer ritchieprod, this game has very annoying mechanics, which is a shame because this could have been an awesome game. For starters, every time you use an inventory item you have to click and then drag it to the exact spot to use it, annoying. There are no voiceovers so you have to read a dialog box every time a character has something to say, that part I don't mind, but you have to click the forward icon to make the inventory bar reappear otherwise you cannot click on anything in the scene to hurry the process along, super annoying. You also have to click the X when leaving a close up area or click the "back" icon on the top right of the screen to move to a previous location, very annoying. Whenever you enter a different scene, every possible direction available to move to shows up with giant arrows, irritating. Every time you find a document or clue, the diary pops up to show you the same thing you just read and I prefer to click on the journal or diary when I need more info or reference the clue, annoying. The graphics are okay, but has an overabundance of greenish and grainy hues, mildly annoying. The good news, every scene has a Hidden Butterfly for a total of 57, and I really liked the clever way they were able to blend realistic butterflies of various colors into the scenery. The story is actually pretty engaging, it's Jane's 21st birthday and she receives a letter under her door at the boarding school she attends. The letter reads, "you'll be next" which leads her to believe that Sir Charles Willmore, the man who raised her after her parents were killed, was in danger. When she arrives at his castle, she is informed that Sir Charles suddenly passed away, and the butler, Gavin thinks his death had something to do with his discovery of an ancient family artifact. This relic is a mysterious and intricate box that requires several keys that have been lost through the years and are presumed to be somewhere within the numerous rooms of the family castle, no biggie! The Hidden Object Scenes all seem to be Listed items with very basic interactions such as clicking on a lid to expose more items. There could be other variations after the demo but I have no intention of purchasing this game. The Mini Games are sparse, but I have listed brief descriptions of a couple of the puzzles you'll encounter during the demo itself: 1) Find pairs of images by flipping over two square tiles at a time. Each tile has only half of the picture. 2) Open the hidden alcove by rotating wooden disks to align the three openings, moving one disk affects others. This game had too many annoying features that slowed the pace of the game down so much that it made playing unenjoyable for me, however, if those clunky features don't bother you, it could wind up being a perfect adventure. For me it's a no go.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hidden Object Game Terrible game - no directions on what you need to do.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not very fun The graphics are okay. However, having to back out of scenes and poor navigation make this not very enjoyable. The story line has substance, and with improvements in basic game play, this could have been fun.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Annoying to Play I bailed during the first scene. The game play is way too slow for me. You have to hit the "forward" button every time a line of dialog comes up on the bottom of the screen before you can do anything or interact with objects. The artwork is not bad and the story seems mildly interesting but the awkwardness of playing was too much for me to get through the demo.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Had Potential to be a Charming Little Game I didn't make it past the opening scene. I got frustrated with every item being explained to me by the character. This may be OK with a novice player. However, experienced HOG players will soon tire of the unnecessary diaglogue.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing game The artwork is pretty, but not lit very well. Details are hard to see, especially in the HOPs. The game movement is too slow - too many steps to do simple tasks. There is difficulty moving scene to scene and so many "rooms".
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A 'niggly' game. Demo only. Maybe I'm becoming too particular, but what a let down! New game? Casual/normal/expert modes. No custom (unless I missed it.) I don't use sound. There is a left handed option. The graphics are ok, with good, vivid colours, in the scenes I played. In this S.E., there are collectables, and unlockable extras. I didn't come across the option to change game mode during play. Hint/skip really slow to fill. Items need to be clicked in inventory, then dragged into place. A lot of the time, I had to click an item twice, even three times, to pick it up. To exit parts of a scene, I couldn't just click outside the box. Could only exit, from top right hand corner. If there had been only one, or two niggles, I would definitely have bought it. There's too many, though. As always, though, it's personal preference.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Old. Static. They must have dug this one out of a to-be-refurbed pile. It is very static. Some of the reviews mentioned animated scenes. I never found one in the Mac version. The main character moved through the scenes like a cardboard puppet on a stick. HOS objects were also very difficult to see. Not that I got very far into the game. I couldn't take the clunky navigation.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from For children under 10 Extremely slow game. Cannot compete with other games. Pictures are good. I stopped after half an hour because of the slowness, so I don't know about the whole game but I guess it's the same thing all the time. I'm sure young children will love it.
Date published: 2017-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A game mechanics nightmare... Review based on: 16 minutes of demo Overall rating: ? What my rating means: You couldn’t pay me to play this game all the way through. Major drawbacks: Game mechanics I was unable to become immersed in the story and gameplay because I was constantly distracted by the awkward, slow, and difficult game mechanics. Being an adventure game fanatic, I don’t mind reading tons of text in a game. But there must be consistency in how it’s presented. In this game, text was presented three ways: 1. Our heroine’s remarks appeared in the inventory panel, and you were prevented from playing until you’d clicked an icon labeled “forward” under her portrait at the bottom right of the screen. 2. Game instructions appeared at the top of the screen. Again, you were prevented from playing until you’d clicked an icon, this time at the top right of the screen. 3. The journal automatically opened when you collected information, necessitating clicking an icon to close it. This was unnecessary, since you were afforded an opportunity to read the information when you collected it. Navigation is another game element that must be consistent. In this game, it was all over the place…forward, to the sides, etc. Instead of the “go back” area being located logically just above the inventory panel, it was a small icon at the top right of the screen. (And when you have a large screen, it feels like you’re moving your mouse for DAYS…lol.) Zoom boxes were not identified with the usual magnifying glass, but by a “go forward” navigation arrow, leading you to believe you were entering a new area. The game did not close zoom boxes or HO scenes when you were finished either; you had to click an icon in the top right of the screen to close them. Inventory items had to be dragged from the inventory panel to the screen, and the game was rather touchy about where you placed them. And I found that, in HO scenes, the hotspots were rather large; I often clicked on an adjacent object rather than the one for which I was aiming. Lastly, my system cursor appeared and became superimposed over the game cursor, but lagging a bit behind it with every movement. I was going to try and make it through the entire demo, but that was the last straw for me. Too many distractions! In trying to keep up with the crazy game mechanics, I lost interest in the storyline and gameplay.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Boring Not a fun game at all!! My gaming son could have done MUCH better.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dark Where on earth did this game come from its very frustrating and slow there is nothing in this game I like . Looks and plays like a throw back from the 1900
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from don't bother I downloaded the trial and only played about 5 minutes. It runs slow, you don't use the standard back arrows to move around, you have to click the back button at the top. Instead of grabbing inventory items you have to hold down the mouse and drag them. Deleted the trial.
Date published: 2016-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from just awful this game is a throw back from the 2000's. just bad. no storyline, you have to hold your mouse down on anything you do, just an awful game. gamers, pass this one up.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from May be on the right track I'm sorry, but the 1 hour trial was like molasses, game play slow and frustrating. I won't sugar coat it here, this was one boring game to get through. Every time there was text speech, which there is no voiceover, you could not do anything until the speech text went away which was up for a long time. It's frustrating as you couldn't click on the lower portion of screen to go to another area, you had to click the arrow at the top right of the screen; this is not how games these days work. I do have to say that graphics aren't bad, other than some HOs were very dark and hard to find items, also the story may progress to be interesting, so if this developer works on the very old functions that make this game operate in such a manner that it bores you, they may have a good game someday.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Back to the mothballs! If I could give zero stars I would! Very old style - static scenery, dark and uninteresting. No custom level available, you can only go where the "story" wants you to go which means no exploring. In order to use inventory items you must drag and drop, you cannot just click,. And in order to move from one scene to another you have to constantly click the little button in the corner (includin HO's). All told - very boring,slow moving and not worth your time. I lasted about 20 minutes before the boredom became overwhelming and I deleted the game. Very disappointing!
Date published: 2016-07-05
  • y_2019, m_6, d_15, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_25208, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Forgotten Places: Regained Castle

Follow trails, uncover secrets in hidden object scenes, and solve various puzzles on your quest to break the curse of the Willmore clan!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.