Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Metzengerstein Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Metzengerstein Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(425.24 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

ERS Game Studios proudly presents the next installment of the Dark Tales series!

The sole heir to the Metzengerstein line is being plagued by visions of a mysterious spirit shrouded in fog. You and your faithful friend Dupin set out for Hungary to get to the bottom of things. But what starts as a routine investigation quickly takes a dark turn when the ghost kidnaps Frederica! Can you uncover the dark past of the family and rescue her before it's too late? Find out in this chilling hidden-object puzzle adventure!

  • The Metzengerstein curse takes a strange turn in the bonus game!
  • Earn achievements and find collectible cards from the Dark Tales series!
  • Replay your favorite mini-games and hidden-object puzzles
  • Get music, wallpapers, and art from the game
  • Try the integrated Strategy Guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1206 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Metzengerstein Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(425.24 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Metzengerstein Collector's Edition is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Splendid artwork and an even better Bonus Game! Wow, that was a first: The main game was pretty awesome but the bonus game was even better, with a story unfolding that gad a good tempo and cohesion. Only downside for me: in the mini HOG scenes, when you had to combine objects, the cursor didn't change into an active hand or something, so it ws impossible to know which two (or second) item to combine the first into. Pitty. And that "stole" the 5 star for me.
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good! Not for the faint of heart types or small children! Some cam[y fun horror moments. I must say that Poe's great detective is too prone to state the obvious, and there is a lot of repetition in the messages and dialogue. I have liked most of this series, and if they get one person to actually read some Poe, who is one of the best American authors ever, then they have done a great thing. Bless you all! Peace.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lot's to Keep You Busy! Nice to be treated to another Poe story. I enjoyed wearing out moving about locations to seek, find and solve. One thing if a true journal was provided -- finding solutions to some puzzles in the journal would add another level of difficulty. Good work team.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Who's that assaulting our Frederica? We must save her! I don't know about Daddy Baron dearest! And those two dolls, especially the one with the three button eyes, was unsettling, indeed! I love these developers and appreciate their hard work in this project. Based upon the demo I just finished I'm giving the game a rating of 4-stars only. Why? Well, aside from the couple of puzzles in the beginning, one which was moving the candle around the circle without the flame touching the edges, for one, is annoying to me and a waste of time. The other was you have to complete a picture of a Raven, select a glass piece and a highlighted piece to swap it. Sorry to say I am definitely not a fan of these senseless puzzles period! Waste of time and of my patience. Let's get on with other things. I loved the storytelling mini-game very much. That's a plus. I liked the HOP, simple and so far not interactive. Would have been nice to have some interaction. The storyline is great, I think, at least what I could tell from the demo. The voiceovers, though not bad, should have had accents. Mary should have sounded like Ava or Zsa Zsa Gabor--without the 'dahling' phrase though. Love the European flair, the mansion, the crystal vase on the table with some hot tea in a beautiful cup and saucer--porcelain, of course. I mean we're in Budapest are we not? I even got to drink Mary's hot tea. Thank you, Mary! Hope you don't mind? Those are the lovely touches that appeal to me in games. I love mansions and Victorian homes and lovely grounds. The more the merrier! While in the mansion I only got to cover three or four rooms--is this not a mansion? Where were all the rooms? Perhaps I'll see more when I buy the game! While the Baron is in his office, Mary, his wife, asks me to see him and the room is completely dark. I take my lighter and hover it over the room. The Baron is on the floor calling out to me to 'turn on the light' as he's pointing a candelabra with three candles at me!? As far as I could tell that mansion had no electricity, so 'turn on the light?' Wrong term, devs! Well, I lit the candles with my lighter, which I had to assemble beforehand. I think having a nice supply of matches would have been feasible. Little things like these that lower the ratings for me but please understand, I think this game has such potential that I'm thinking about buying it--on discount, that is. I want to play the rest of the game. I love the ambiance. The graphics are appropriate for the storyline. Lots of dark colors--some fuzzy and it's not my computer. It's raining outside with lightning flashing now and then in the sky. Love that. I guess this is to be expected of anything Edgar Allen Poe! Going in and out of the mansion was a pain in that rain, but what are you going to do? It is what it is! A game! The music is typical -- nothing new but okay. I like the sound effects, though. Wouldn't dare type the names of the feuding families--could cut and paste them from the review but heck no! I should make a note of the spelling though, just in case. LOL! Four levels of play and I love to customize mine. I was impressed with the organization of the map to the left, strategy guide, task list, and a camera to take pictures whenever there is a purple fog; and to the right is your hint button, etc. Not your typical inventory box but items that you achieve are kept in a circular huddle. Cool! Slow start to the game but I was starting to enjoy myself regardless of the negatives. I'm looking forward to getting this game and I definitely recommend it. Try the demo and see for yourselves! It has such potential!
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from That's "Metz-AHN-ger-steen" Setting: Budapest, Hungary. To quote from the original Edgar Allen Poe story, "The families of Berlifitzing and Metzengerstein had been at variance for centuries. Never before were two houses so illustrious, mutually embittered by hostility so deadly. The origin of this enmity seems to be found in the words of an ancient prophecy — “A lofty name shall have a fearful fall when, as the rider over his horse, the mortality of Metzengerstein shall triumph over the immortality of Berlifitzing.”" Ok, so we do have Poe and Inspector Dupin, so it can't be all bad, right? Its a shame I can't say the same for the voices. No accents whatsoever. Dupin is even referred to as mon-se-your (somewhere the French are cringing). The artwork is fine, pretty much what you would expect from the creators of the Puppetshow series. In fact, you'll hear a brief clip of Puppetshow music at the very beginning. Game play consists of 15 mini-games and 21 HO scenes. There are no morphing objects. Most of the mini-games during the demo were simple, but there were a couple that you will work at a little. One was a three-stage puzzle arranging objects according to color with each stage having a different layout. Hidden object scenes were mostly standard; the list type, choosing objects from a narrative, and find x number of an object. There are the usual locks and assembling of various shapes to fit the locks. During the demo, I found myself somewhat stumped several times regarding what my next step was. Especially with the first task to get inside the Metzengerstein house. It took me quite some time to complete. Either I am dense or they are trying to challenge us a little more - of which (ahem) I hope the latter is the case. CE extras - aside from the usual stuff that I refer to as pseudo-extras (wallpapers, music, etc.) there is very little. Just 15 collectible cards which are not very interesting because they don't contain any information. The story isn't particularly compelling, its the usual family curse, separated young lovers, mystical villain stuff we're used to. Of course, the reason we're used to it is because we like that sort of stuff - or at least we keep buying it. Because of the lack of any worthwhile CE extras - unless you are insanely in love with Dupin - I recommend getting the SE when it is available. As Poe would say, "In criticism I will be bold, and as sternly, absolutely just with friend and foe. From this purpose nothing shall turn me."
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad to be working with Mr. Dupin once again! I'm so happy and excited to once again be solving mysteries with the very handsome Mr. Dupin! The game has kept me entertained and focused while I'm dealing with a horrible toothache and that's a very good thing! The game is very good and I am enjoying it but I have to say it's not as creative nor as challenging as the first 4 in the series, as a matter of fact the game is easy, really easy!! I believe I'm witnessing what I've witnessed far too many times in my relatively long life. They sacrificed knowledge and experience for younger workers who don't have as much experience or talent, but will work for far less pay. I could be wrong but I'd sure like to know what happened to the people who worked on the original ERS games because there is no doubt these are not the same people! We saw it in the last installment of Redemption Cemetery and the Telltale Heart which were both horrible and now in this game which is far better than the above, but it's nowhere near as good as their older games. Now, that being said we still have the awesome ERS graphics, music and voice overs, and the handsome Mr.Dupin! I personally like easy relaxing games sometime especially when my tooth is throbbing and I don't wish to further tax my mind or body (lol lol), but I fear the more advanced players looking for a real challenge will not find it here.
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A FAMILY FEUD TURNS DEADLY OR DOES IT? Detective Dupin is back in the latest Dark Tales game Metzengerstein. You have traveled with Dupin to Hungary at the request of Mary von Metzengerstein whose daughter was attacked by what she calls a ghost. After you arrive on the scene you find that the attack could have been the result of a very long family feud. So now it is time to roll up your sleeves and delve into a new Dark Tales mystery. Alas, my favorite game detective has undergone some changes in recent years and he now looks rather worn and tired but I guess being involved in all these strange mysteries over the years has taken its toll; or maybe it is because he is now traveling in one of those rare and dangerous, early automated carriages that caused problems in the mid-19th century – lol. The graphics are as dark and gloomy as they are in most of the EAP Dark Tales games, and in Metzengerstein they create a perfect setting for the game’s theme. The sound package was mediocre at best with the voice acting being very bland, with not even an attempt at the proper accents. The game offers four modes of gameplay including a custom setting. In the Custom mode you can set the hint and skip buttons in a range of 5 to 200 seconds. There are 5 chapters in the game and when the demo ended I was beginning Chapter 3 so this might be a short game. Your tools include an interactive map and also a camera that will provided filmed clues. The HOP scenes are fairly standard but do include some variety. During the demo there were two storybook type HOPS where you must find the bold print items that are hidden in the scenes, a standard list type scene, and one where you find a certain number of an item. Most of the scenes are revisited but they usually change in “type”. I didn’t notice an option to switch to an alternate match 3 game rather than looking for objects. The mini-games were well integrated into the gameplay but they were fairly typical of puzzles normally presented by this developer. I didn’t find any of them to be difficult during the demo but they usually become more challenging as the game progresses. One feature I like is that we can choose the level of difficulty on some mini-games. My least favorite types of mini-games are those manual dexterity types, particularly the ones where we are racing along a path and must avoid obstacles. The CE package is very “light” but it does include a limited number of collectibles to find and achievements to earn as you play the game. The remainder of the package includes a bonus game, the strategy guide, replay of mini-games and HOP scenes, wallpapers, screensavers, concept artwork, music and replay of the cutscenes or movies. If you happen to Dark Tales Metzengerstein is a study in family dynamics. What happens when your family is embroiled in a long-term feud that has deadly consequences? As much as I love this developer, the Dark Tales games are not my favorites and this game seems somewhat tedious and plodding – at least in the beginning. Even though I only played the demo before stopping to review the game, I must say there are times when the game seems quite chilling, particularly towards the end of the demo time. I love good mystery games but don’t particularly care for bloody scenes or gruesome images. The game is not excellent but it is good and I did find myself hitting the buy button. Even though I didn’t care for the scene at the end of the demo, I have to continue the game to find out who, or what, is behind the mystery. These “cliff-hanger” endings will get me every time! I highly recommend that you try the demo before you buy to see if this is a game you will enjoy.
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Based on Demo I liked this game. Has new take on hidden objects and different challenges to continue through to the next obstacle. Based on the demo I would buy this game. Does have a map and hints work well. Couple of hidden object scenes were a bit dark but it was a good challenge.
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Hatfield's And The McCoys of Budapest First of all, my grandparents came to America when they were around 13 years old. Even though they lived in the states most of their lives, they had very strong accents, and never could pronounce words correctly that began with the letter v, they would pronounce it with a w, vine sounded like wine every single time, even at the ripe ole age of 84. This game is supposed to take place in Budapest Hungary, yet they don't have even a hint of an accent, German or Hungarian? If all of the people doing the voiceovers speak perfect English. then why not have the game take place in America? Oh well, minor details right? Dark Tales has another Edgar Allan Poe story to tell, a story about the Hatfield's and the McCoys, well actually the Metzengerstein's and the Berlifitzing's (no v's to worry about here) These two wealthy neighbor's have been feuding since the beginning of time, and Detective Dupin's services are required when Frederica von Metzengerstein becomes the victim of a what her father believes is a harbinger of the family curse! This ghostly apparition tries to lure Frederica to the dark side as he demands she follow him, through the purple fog, but a hero hidden behind a cloak always seems to save her just in the nick of time. Could Death himself be calling her to the afterlife? Is the hero hidden in the shadows trying to save Frederica to break the family curse? Who knows but surely, Detective Dupin can sort all the facts out and solve yet another Dark Tales mystery. Why only 4 stars? In my opinion, the storyline is good but not great. The game seems stagnant at times, it seems to drag on and take too long getting from point A to point B. The Hidden Object Scenes are repetitive, not only are the scene locations repeated, but most of the HOP's are the same type, finding Keywords while Frederica reads her diary. I also think this game offers very little for a Collector's Edition. There are Achievements to earn as most CE's offer, but the only real feature is 15 Collectible cards that can be found tucked away in a zoom zone occasionally. The Mini Games offer nothing new, and really nothing exciting. A few of the games are available with a difficulty mode of Casual or Hard, but not many of them which is unusual for this series. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Trace symbols with the mouse aka candle, without going outside of the outlined shape. 2) Complete the picture by swapping triangles to available highlighted slots. 3) Move the letters to their correct spots based on the clue. 4) Rotate three discs to complete the picture. 5) Set the correct combination to the lock. 6) Turn 4 horseshoes in the correct order, turning one horseshoe may affect others. 7) Move skulls to their correct slots based on color, along the tracks, skulls cannot cross over each other. This Collector's Edition has 18 Achievements, 13 replayable videos, 10 Wallpapers, 7 Concept Art pictures, 5 Screensavers, 3 Music Soundtracks, 16 replayable Mini Games, 21 replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 15 Collectible cards, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Should be all 5 stars but... I must say I'm disappointed in ERS. I was really hoping for a big improvement after The Tell-Tale Heart which was definitely not up to the standards of the previous games in the Dark Tales series. This game has great graphics and a good story line. However, it is really disappointing to have to skip a game because it is unsolvable. The solution in the Strategy Guide is not possible. I never skip games; I would rather spend a couple of hours on a difficult game and solve it than skip. Why aren't these issues dealt with before the final release? I am not the only player who has had these problems.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fizzled out like an old Flame ... This Game had potential, at first the Story seemed intriguing but then it turned out to be just an old rehash forbidden love story, where they're dead but they're really not ... YAWN. A lot of ridiculous and BORING tasks to be done which made sick of the Game and hoping it would end very soon. The Church burning in pouring Rain I thought ridiculous! In hindsight, I would NOT buy this Game again, neither will I play it again.
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nevermore Metzengerstein For Me GREETINGS FELLOW FISHIES I am taking a quick dip into the pond today to share my thoughts and feelings about Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe’s: Metzengerstein. First, let me say that I really wanted to like this game. After all, a game based on an actual Edgar Allan Poe story involving an old Hungarian belief in “metempsychosis” (a phenomenon wherein the soul of a human leaves the body at death and enters into the body of another creature) should make for an exciting, and delightfully creepy game. Unfortunately, for me, this game was as exciting, delightful and creepy as a warm bath. While I did not encounter anything I would call an actual puzzle, this game does offer an array of simple mini-games. The mini games themselves are quite straightforward and do not present much of a mental challenge, which for me is the deal breaker. Being more of an adventure game enthusiast, I love games that have a wide variety of fairly challenging and sometimes difficult puzzles to solve. If my brain hurts, I am a happy girl! Having said that, this game is not actually terrible, and I humbly submit that many people will enjoy it. The graphics are well drawn, although they do not have as much definition and attention to detail as I personally find visually appealing. The HOGs are well done, with items large enough for even my tired old eyes to locate. The voice over acting is fairly good, the environmental sounds are well done and the musical score is appropriate. The game play was smooth and without glitches. I appreciated the feature of having both collections and achievement indicators on screen. I also think it is a nice touch that the cursor transforms into a roving eyeball over areas of interest. Despite my lack of enthusiasm for this particular game, I remain an ERS fan and look forward to their next offering. HAPPY GAMING! ~B
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from don't know much about history, don't know much biology... *banging my head against the wall of the pond* WHY do I sometimes fall for the Poe series?! Seriously, I should know better. Let's start with the fact that Dupin suddenly looks like he was fished out from under a rock full of bourbon and half-dried off for this installment. Are they just trying to age him? :suspicious: Any who, game is fraught with nonsensical answers to the usual fix-this-with-that (why can't I use the scissors I already have?!! Why do I need shears instead? And where are they?! GAAA!) Don't know if this kind of thing was trying to add difficulty to what was always a rather easy play but enjoyable series, but instead it just added needless frustration to me. My recommendation is to steer clear from this one, especially as a CE. And extra CE content is practically non-existent. Should've been offered in the now (unfortunately) non-existent category of "enhanced". BF might want to think about bringing that back.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from too many things ... I wanted to love this game as i like the serie's very much. But unfortunately, this is not a well-built game. You carry around way too much things in your inventory which diminishes the fun of playing a lot. If you have so many things you don't know, where to go first, what to do first - i only get through this game by using the hint-button a lot and after a while the sound when you use it, really gets on your nerve. For me there is no smoothness in gameplay in this game.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Way too short for the price! Visually a nice game to play but I thought it was very short for the price of collectors edition. Once I got into it....the credits started to roll...:(
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Dark Only played the demo but was very dark with little lighted areas. I prefer the well lit, visible games. A lot of jumping around to get 1 item that did mean much. The HOPs were good; some difficult some easy (only about 3 in demo). I won't buy it but I will recommend it for those who like this type of game. I think with brighter, happier graphics I would like it.
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Oh, dear! The Poe mysteries are among my favorites, and I am sooo disappointed that I can only give this game 3 stars! Firstly, the voice of Dupin has either markedly deteriorated or it is not the same actor. They don't give the voice credit so it's impossible to know. But I cringed every time I heard that softer midwest American accent, and the poor French accent. And he didn't have that sexy edge that we've all come to love! Secondly the pace was too slow for me, and in the running around and going back and forth I often forgot what the current goal was. I was often confused by the characters, mostly because they weren't really well defined. One female antagonist is in the first part of the game, and suddenly appears right at the end...I couldn't figure out at first who she was! And there were places that were just lazy; lighting a fire with just blocks of wood and a lighter? Not even any kerosene thrown on it, and it bursts in to flame. Seriously? This is a game that could be played piece meal, just for the fun of finding things, but it is definitely not story driven. Not a bad game but definitely not up to EAP Mystery standards. And things just weren't consistent. In the middle of this melodramatic story, we have a funny little owl with one of his cute little wings missing. What has that to do with this story??? Talk about distracting. I recommend this game but only as an SE. I really wanted to give it 4 stars, but with all the above problems, it really didn't earn them. If you haven't checked out my current favorite yet, (see over on the left of this review) do so. It is well worth the money!
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A SAD DARK TALES GAME I OWN NEARLY EVERY DARK TALES CE GAMES. SO I WAS EXPECTING A GREAT GAME, BUT THIS WAS NOT GREAT IT WAS BARELY EVEN OK. I PLAYED THE ENITRE 90 MINUTES JUST TO GIVE IT THE CHANCE TO PICK UP. BUT THIS IS ABSOLUTELY BORING AND DULL AND VERY DISAPPOINTING OVERALL. I WON'T EVEN BUY THE SE WHEN IT COMES OUT. DO BETTER NEXT TIME DEVS.
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great game but not worth the CE price I played for the trial hour and fell in love with the game. This installment of the Dark Tales series grabs your attention from the moment you start playing. I won't bore you here with all the in-depth details of the game or reveal spoilers as so many other reviewers do. I'll let you read all the five star reviews for that. I'll just say the graphics and audio were excellent and helped to fuel the mood of the game. I was immediately drawn into the story line and the trial hour flew by. The puzzles I encountered were fun as were the hidden object scenes. There were two things keeping this game from getting a high rating. First, the location of the story is Budapest, yet accents were horrible and the voices they chose really didn't fit the characters you were looking at. People should have sounded like Hungarians. And one would think a French person would know how to pronounce the word "monsieur". To me, this failure at autheniticity is simply laziness. And lastly, I enjoyed everything else about Metzengerstein except what's being offered for the $13.99 price tag. There's simply nothing in the way of achievements or collectibles to justify asking such a high premium for this game. As always, I will wait for the SE version and purchase it then. However, it's a great story by Edgar Allan Poe. I definitely recomment you try the game for an hour and make your own educated decision.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not intuitive While I play several HOA games at Intermediate level, this one had me stumped during the entry scene. The fog was hard to capture and the clues seemed random. Once I got in I was equally stumped with direction. I went to the Strategy Guide just to understand some of the functions - something I never do! This was more frustrating than fun.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from what happened???? wow..this was a very strange game. no sense to any of it. tasks are weird and a lot of work, no fun, for a single play in this game. just bad...good luck.
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from More of the Same Old, Same Old... Sorry, but this was just too boring to finish even the demo. It's just more of the same old, same old kind of story with the Dark Tales: Edgar Allen Poe's games. Some may well enjoy the game, but I'm not one of them.
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Shoulda Listened to Granny Gruff ... BASED ON COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS CHAPTER This had to be the most nonsensical disappointment of a game I've ever played on BigFish. Bottom line = The demo is pretty good but just after it, all logic and storyline creativity go right out of the window. There is no way to suspend disbelief when you have to build the bucket to put out a fire in the stable (again, cause you do it in the main game too) but you have to go all the way into the house, into the lord of the manor's bedroom to get water to put it out! Yes, he has a marble fountain in the middle of his wooden bedroom and I'm sure he lets the servants traipse in at all hours to get water for the stables ... and did I mention that you already did that same thing in the main game? Pfffffff. Or let me not forget the library (that you spent quite a bit of time exploring in the main game) that was miraculously moved to the basement in the bonus chapter but was still the same room with the same huge window! LOL. Wow....... The storyline in the demo also looked pretty decent - an interesting Poe twisty story with a somewhat supernatural twist, but NO it looses all steam and descends into the predictable, mundane land of HUH? So while the artwork is absolutely beautiful and the VOs well done (except for Dupin) it isn't enough to save this game.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Love hidden object games! Very disappointed. I bought it because I knew I would like it as I have the other Edgar Allan Poe games and now I regret that I did.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from After I Built the Bucket to Put Out the Fire.... Yes, Gamers, we have sunk to a new low - You have to build the bucket to hold the single splash of water to put out the fire at the door of the old church. I might have gotten past that, but I'd just been searching in the burnt out barn, not once, but twice. What's wrong with that, you ask? The fire was days ago - there were two newspaper articles about it - and yet, the embers were still active and burning in the pouring rain! I would recap the story, but it is beyond my powers at the moment. Good stuff: the VOs and sound effects are good. The are the usual game elements and some CE bling. Bad stuff: Just about everything else! Ignore the mixed time periods and the craziness if you will, but I can only mourn the passing of a once great series as I behold the sad remnants of what the DEVs would pass off as a finished game. I'll provide the sack cloth if someone will douse the fire and gather the ashes! For your own sake, please try the demo first.
Date published: 2016-07-22
  • y_2019, m_7, d_18, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_25170, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Metzengerstein Collector's Edition

Can you save the Metzengerstein line before it's too late?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.