Sable Maze: Sinister Knowledge Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Sable Maze: Sinister Knowledge Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(484.28 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Daily Magic Productions invites you to wander down another twisted path in the latest installment of the Sable Maze series!

After years of speculation, the McCordan Library has finally been found! Rumor has it that this labyrinthine library was built to house five legendary tomes, but a series of puzzles and traps guards them. You’ve been called in to overcome these tricky obstacles and track down the tomes, but you quickly realize why he hid them in the first place... The power they contain could destroy the entire world if they fall into the wrong hands! Navigate the treacherous maze as books come alive around you in this exciting hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“Just the sort of game I love, visually stunning, lots of hidden object games and other mini games, a match 3 option and hidden puzzle pieces to find at every scene. A sumptuous, immersive setting and storyline and nicely paced. Can't wait to buy it.”  - Amelia, beta tester

“I realy liked playing this game. I purchased three other titles in the Sable maze series, and this is the best yet. Hope to play the full version very soon.”  - Caleb, beta tester


  • Explore the original tome locations in the bonus chapter!
  • Consult the helpful strategy guide.
  • Earn challenging achievements.
  • Discover hidden collectibles.
  • Enjoy wallpapers, concept art, soundtrack, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1117 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Sable Maze: Sinister Knowledge Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(484.28 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Sable Maze: Sinister Knowledge Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This a gem! It's outstanding in every way. The scenes are clear and full of detail - they are a book lover's dream - a library that I would love to find and live in. The puzzles and tools are LOGICAL - that one thing I look for in every in every game I play. Perhaps the only thing I found a tad difficult was the constantly revolving hint button, but I eventually got used to it. I could go and describe more, but that would spoil it, all I can say is I wish I'd just found it and even now I am delaying playing the bonus chapter so it doesn't end too soon.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a game that's entertaining with a decent storyline Almost through with the game and am thoroughly enjoying this for a change. A story without ghouls and princesses, and kidnapped children in crumbling castles or asylums, etc. The game is mixture of hidden object and other puzzles, that I would say are a mixture of difficult and not so much, which makes the game enjoyable and not frustrating. The five tomes are remarkably different scenarios, each one an adventure in itself. The graphics are wonderful and the logic in the games is pretty well laid out, so you don't have to wonder how do I get there from here. Pleasant way to spend an evening or a weekend.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Game!! I love books and so i love this game. The storyline is very interesting and the graphic beautiful. This is really a amazing game.
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yesss! Great graphics, music, and the story line was great. Always loved books, but now I'll be a little more wary of them. Really should get this game. It's a real gem! Other reviewers gave the overview, so I'm just getting excited about it.
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sable Maze: Sinister Knowledge Collector's Edition Loved this game from the moment I opened it. I don't often buy the CE version but I couldn't pass this one up. Finally a decnt game I can thoroughly enjoy. Great pick BF.
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Book Lovers rejoice this game is for us! After years of speculation, the McCordan Library has finally been found! Rumor has it that this labyrinthine library was built to house five legendary tomes, but a series of puzzles and traps guards them. You’ve been called in to overcome these tricky obstacles and track down the tomes, but you quickly realize why he hid them in the first place... The power they contain could destroy the entire world if they fall into the wrong hands! Navigate the treacherous maze as books come alive around you in this exciting hidden-object puzzle adventure game! As a true bibliophile I was in my glory surrounded by books and bookshelves filled with books, having great literature come to life while doing puzzles and hidden object scenes was glorious! I Loved it! I found the scenes and graphics delicious! The music and voice overs were great and most of the puzzles were right up my alley, easy to moderate in difficulty. The HOS scenes were fun and very interactive. The flow of the game was wonderful, you kept moving forward and you used up most of your inventory relatively quickly, there was some back and forth but not a whole lot. It was really just so fun and relaxing to play, the time seemed to fly by! I can not wait to go purchase this game, I'm not even going to wait for the SE I must have it now!! I highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "In A World Of Secrets, Literature Is Our Only Truth" Lars McCordan has been missing since 1930! Who is Lars McCordan? Lars McCordan was a collector of fine literature, his library was filled with books from all genres, but rumor has it that Lars had a secret library, a dangerous library! This secret library is said to contain 5 Tomes, and the first Tome of Truth can activate the other four. Lars certainly knew how dangerous these books would be in the hands of the wrong person, so he and other members of The Secret Society Of Tome Keepers, built a separate and hidden library. This is no ordinary library, this library contains literature's finest genre's hidden within a labyrinth maze, a Fantasy section, a Horror section, Adventure and even a Mystery section. No one knows what happened to the creator of the McCordan library, but when the last known McCordan relative passed away, the Lars McCordan estate was purchased by your newest employer, Colin Englund. Mr. Englund has invited you, an accredited literary historian, to witness the unveiling of this magical library. Mr. Englund has been unsuccessful at disarming the vast locks and traps that protect the library that can supposedly come to life within the real world! But of course, that's our job right, one mini game lock at a time! I really enjoyed this game and bought it immediately after the demo ended, and I might add that the game will hold your interest after the demo as well. The graphics are very realistic, at least as realistic as it can be considering the book's characters have just come to life. There are plenty of Collector's Edition extras, Collectible Coins that are used to purchase different storybook characters (and game characters) Morphing Jigsaw Puzzle Pieces, that you can assemble and set as a Screensaver, and of course, Achievements to earn for different milestones. The Hidden Object Scenes are varied, nothing really new or exciting, but they aren't bad either. You can opt to play a Match 3 game if you're not into the hop. There are Interactive List finds, Interactive Progressive Silhouetted Shape finds, and even FROG's, one of my personal favorites. There are also several Zoom Zone's that have Multiple Item finds and each time you "travel" to a new book genre, you must first find several torn picture fragments within the entire scene, and reassemble them together. This is super simple because there are outlines of each piece displayed. The Mini Games are pretty good. I will admit that several of them have a feature that drives my bonkers (moving on one affects others) but for the most part the games aren't too difficult. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Arrange the symbols in the correct order. 2) Spot the difference in three different pictures. 3) Turn over the stones so that all symbols are visible, clicking on one stone may affect others. 4) Place items in the scene correctly. 5) Select the bells until the image on the bells are the same as the image above them, selecting one bell may affect others. 6) Rotate the circles to the correct positions and then select the tiles to position them. 7) Help the horseman reach the castle by finding and using the correct items to overcome obstacles along his path. 8) Pull the chains to the correct heights, pulling one chain may affect others. 9) Rotate the circles to their correct positions. 10) Paint the image according to the clue. Select the areas you want to paint and then select the color at the top. Only adjacent selected areas will be painted. 11) Move the token to the other side, you can only move forward to a highlighted area. This Collector's Edition has 19 Developer Diary pictures, 16 Concept Art pictures, 10 Wallpapers, Morphing Jigsaw Puzzle Pieces to create 6 different Screensavers, 5 Music Soundtracks, Collectible Coins to purchase 8 Character figures, 6 levels of Tome-Maze puzzles, 15 Achievements to earn, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boy oh Boy - Can't wait to finish this game!! I really like playing this game. It is a mix of all my favorite HO's and it is an interesting story line. Keeps you busy and thinking and it is fun to play. You have all read the blow by blow details so I will not cover them again, it has been done really well already. This game is one that I will play many times over and enjoy it every time. Hope you try it out and find that you like it too!! Have fun, that is what it is all about.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mom told me books are our friends... not in this case! First, say hello to Mr. Jenkins. Give that cat a big hug. :) I love everything about this game. The story is awesome and different, no finding a relative. The voices are superb and yes the game is definitely on the spooky side. Story: You get invited to Collin Englund's mansion to find the Tome of Truth. Upon arriving you meet a woman named Valerie Masters. To be honest, she seems like a flight risk waiting to happen. She tells us that Collin is waiting to greet him. After you're on your own to find the Tome. Once you find it, he turns his henchmen on you and tells you you're fired and now Collin can find the rest of the tomes and run the world! Right, our guy won't be letting that happen. Valerie thinks she can capture him all by herself. Yeah right. Well on with the story and the game. Graphics: Absolutely gorgeous. I stopped and looked for a bit. Music: Fits perfectly with the game. Mini Games: They are fun and different. Not frustrating in the least. A very nice variety. H0GS: A nice variety there too. FROGS and other type. Map: Has a red exclamation point to tell you you have a task there and it's a jump map. Hint: Works very well outside the H0GS. All in all again, awesome game! Thank you devs, top notch job. I highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SABLE AMAZING!! SINISTER KNOWLEDGE, I WAS TAKEN IN FROM THE BEGINNING! EVERYTHING FROM THE STORY TO THE SOUND ARE EXCELLENT! A MUST HAVE HOG FOR ALL HIDDEN OBJECT FANS! GREAT ADDITION TO THE SABLE MAZE SERIES!
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sable Maze: SAinister Knowlege Collector's Edition Another great game in the series to play
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally!!! Well, finally a game with with great imagination and intelligence. Love this game already and have only played for about 10 minutes. Thank you developers.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PICK UP A BOOK AND OPEN UP A WHOLE NEW WORLD – A GAMING MASTERPIECE REVIEW BASED ON THE DEMO PLUS CHAPTER 3 - 6 CHAPTERS PLUS A BONUS CHAPTER OVERVIEW: WOW! WHAT A GREAT GAME! The world of books is coming to life in this 5-star puzzle fest! In a labyrinth of secret passage ways and booby traps, you, as a literary historian, are off to locate some legendary rare books. These tomes have the ability to literally open up new worlds! This entire game is a creatively designed puzzle. I LOVE the story behind the game. Enter a literary labyrinth – a virtual library with tomes for different styles of literature. The graphics are colorful. The pace is excellent with many activities within the game. There are an equal number of HOP scenes and puzzles in this game; however, the HOP scenes themselves either contain puzzles or are puzzle-like themselves. Such a beautifully created game. So creative – a gaming masterpiece! Extras include a collection of coins to purchase figurines of characters in the game and jigsaw pieces to create some jigsaw puzzles. Now – put down that book and stop a madman bent on destroying this world by creating his own with a special quill and paper! Sounds rather like any writer, doesn’t it? Does that place writers into the category of madmen creating their own virtual realities? This game was an automatic purchase for me! HOP SCENES: In the demo they are very creative and include quite a variety of different types of scenes as well. There are sentences with items to be located highlighted in yellow letters. There are also a series of three scenes involving pictures in which you must locate the differences between the pictures. There is a FROG sequence, a list of items to locate, and a silhouette scene. There is an optional Match-3 game to play in lieu of the HOP scenes. PUZZLES: Based on the demo there is quite a variety of puzzles and they vary in difficulty from easy to moderately difficult. As stated, the complete game is a puzzle. There is a logic problem in which you must deduce the order in which 5 symbols must be pressed according to clues given. There are two matching puzzles. In one, you match up bells so that symbols above them match those on the bells; in the second puzzle you create a maze so that tokens are able to take a path to their matching symbol on the sides. There is an easy, storybook maze puzzle involving moving obstacles out of the path of a horseman. There is a paint-by-number puzzle; however, this one is a little tricky and requires some logic to complete it. AFTER THE DEMO: You will enter other literary worlds. The next is the world of horror, my favorite genre. (I bet you thought it was humor – but you are wrong!) More great puzzles continue in this literary labyrinth. There is a fiendish moving tiles puzzle with tokens which must be moved into their proper locations. Other puzzles include a logic problem, a slider puzzle, and an easy manual dexterity puzzle. I only played one HOP scene and it was an interactive search and replace scene. LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Hard, Custom Hints and Skips: 1 to 100 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game 15 Achievements – some with multiple parts Collect coins to purchase 8 figurines Collect puzzle pieces for 6 jigsaw puzzles Strategy guide - 58 pages 16 Concept Art, 10 Wallpapers, Music, 6 Levels of a Tome Maze HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: Optional Match-3 game A. Sentence. Locate items listed in YELLOW letters and then interact with the scene. B. Find the differences. Locate 6, 9 and 12 differences between two scenes with 3 sets of pictures. C. Jigsaw puzzle. Locate pieces and create a scene. D. FROG E. Replacement. Mini-scene in which you locate items and replace them back into the scene F. Silhouette. Interactive. Locate and replace items back into the scene. G. Mini-HOP scene. Locate 10 feathers H. List of items to locate AFTER THE DEMO: I. Sentence. Locate items listed in YELLOW letters. Interactive PUZZLES: Puzzle Rating: (1) Extremely easy 2) Easy (3) A little difficult or time consuming (4) Moderately difficult (5) Difficult A. Logic puzzle. Deduce the order of five symbols by a given set of clues. Rating: 3 B. Moving tiles puzzle. Uncover tiles so that all of them are uncovered. Moving one affects the others. Rating: 3 C. Matching puzzle. Ring 5 bells until the image on the bell matches the image above it. Ringing one affects the others. Rating: 2 D. Maze/Matching puzzle. On a circular board, move the outer circle so that the tokens on the inside of the circle are able to amble through a maze to connect with its like image. Rating: 3 E. Maze puzzle. Help a horseman get back to his castle by interacting with the environment to remove obstacles in his path. Rating: 2 F. Weights and balances puzzle. Move 5 chains containing tokens to the same height as their corresponding token on the side of the scene. Moving one token affects the others. Rating: 3 G. Rotating circles puzzle. Rotate three interconnecting circles until images on the circles correspond to a matching groove. Rating: 2 H. Paint-by-number puzzle. Paint a picture by selecting the color from three pots of paint which will then fill in that section. However, you can only paint a section which is next to either the pot of paint or the color. Rather difficult. Rating: 3 AFTER THE DEMO: I. Logic puzzle. Move a token from left-to-right two spaces at a time. You may not backtrack and must exit exactly using two spaces. Rating: 3 J. Slider puzzle. Rotate rings to recreate an image in the center of the circle. Rating: 2 K. Manual dexterity puzzle. Bulls eye! Hit two chains with pots of acid when the chains are in the center of the target. Rating: 2 L. Moving tiles puzzle. Move a whole lot of tokens into their proper location. Rating: 4
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for standard edition This game was good until the last 1/2 hour, then seemed like they rushed to get it done. Became very easy. The bonus content also seemed rushed. Good game for standard edition purchase maybe on a coupon. At least you could forward thru the cutscenes. HO puzzles and mini games were fairly fun and quite a bit more challenging for an adult than other games out now.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It just .........ended. What? Good game, liked the puzzles and most of the HO's but the endings to both the main game and the bonus game, just ended. How do I explain this. Just so little when you reach the end. Kept thinking another screen was going to come up and it didn't. Also when will they learn to put the "Skip" button for the scenes on the right side?
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good game to play on a rainy day! This is my fifth Sable Maze game and I must commend Daily Magic devs for their cleverness of the mini-games and variety of hidden objects. The music, the storyline, the graphics are very good. I just completed the Main and Bonus games. The voiceovers were very good but when Moriarity used the term "Wow" in his dialogue I wondered if indeed that word existed in that era. But after a little research on my part, I found that "Wow" was first used in 1513. So I stand corrected and satisfied. There were wonderful moments in this game but it was a bit quirky at times. I'm giving this a low 4-star rating due to the quirkiness plus the fact that some of the inventory items remained there for such a long time that I started to get a little concerned. The game-play was good and the flow varied. Once you're through with one completed scene, it is then blocked. I know that can add to the challenge. I customize my games by turning off the glints and sparkles. I don't need that extra help but there were times some of the tasks did not make sense. You do have the guide if need be. A very good map. No map though in the Bonus Game. Good hint button. I collected over 70 collectibles and not all the puzzle pieces. Dang! But most of the tasks were awesome though and again I commend the devs for their attention to detail. Some of the tasks were elementary at best. I liked the fact that we had the option to play a match game instead of the HOPS. The Bonus Game was rather short and also quirky, but offers yet another adventure I'm sure. I wish that I would have been able to go back and find the rest of the puzzle pieces. However, the game was interesting enough to hold my attention. Good job, devs!
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game but Puzzles are Way Too Easy This is a great game. Graphics are good and even though the story is similar to others, there are enough interesting and unique bells and whistles to keep my interest. My only complaint is that the puzzles are far too easy. I'm not a fan of extremely difficult and time-consuming puzzles but most young children could solve these.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice game, excellent HOPs... Hi all. Well, we have #6 in this series. As always, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story to others who do a much better job than I. I beta tested this one back in May and really liked it. Game play was excellent, with no problems at all. Colors for the most part are quit clean, clear and true. Graphics and animation are very well done. Not a lot of music, but it was there when needed to liven things up a bit. I especially liked the sound FX. Mostly you hear them when you are outside, e.g. birds, frogs, etc. Voice overs are few and far between in the demo, but are quite well done. Voices are age and character appropriate. Your voice is never heard, but you can read whatever it is you are saying to another character. HOPs are a very nice combination of interactive lists, silhouettes and fragments. The scenes are very clear and items are not difficult to find. You are not over-run with HOPs and you can switch to a match 3 if you wish. Puzzles are not difficult, but a couple did take me a little time and thought to complete. Hint system is very helpful and you do have the transport feature for longer distances. There is quite a lot of running back and forth, but for some reason, I didn't get bored with it. SG is easy to follow if you need it, and the pictures of where collectibles can be found are quit clear and large enough to actually see. Collectibles are not many, but are well done. There is a morphing jigsaw puzzle piece in each scene. They blend fairly well, but are not all that difficult to find. You will have 6 puzzles to complete, so there are a lot of pieces to find. You also find "coins" that are quite large and have a book in the center of them. You use these coins to purchase statuettes of the characters. Didn't see that they did anything else. I really like this series, and I do have all of the others. The dev seems to change them up just enough to make each one a bit different and interesting, so you don't get bored. This story is a little different and I found it to be quite entertaining. I don't give 5 stars easily to any game. It has to be exceptional and this one comes close. When I beta tested it, I gave it a 4.5, mostly because I felt it needed more challenging collectibles. I had fun with this one, it kept my interest throughout, and I think all levels of players will find it fun. Naturally, I am going to add this one to my collection of CE games. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sable Maze: Sinister Knowledge Collectors Edition I enjoyed playing this game. The graphics were well presented, the story line was good and the navigation through the game was easy to follow.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Book, Candle, and Feather I usually do not like games that are like this, but this one was very good. Long ago a maker made a Library type game that put me to sleep. Morphing puzzle pieces, collect coins with a book imprint; nice job on the coins appearance, Different types of HO's and if you don't like it you can play match three. Good Characters, nice game flow, some critter action, and a jump map. Puzzles were really easy. This goes on my to buy list. The game was very well done.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not my cup of tea but will be an excellent game for those who like this type. Game has excellent sound and the voices matched mouth movements. Picture quality was very good - clear and bright. I'm trying very hard to be fair to the game but it really wasn't something I would buy. Maybe I was just too tired but it seemed that I struggled to figure stuff out. I used the hint button, then the SG more than I would want in a game that I'd buy and, even with that, I finished the demo with only 4 minutes left in the allotted demo time. I kept trying to see the logic to the flow and it wasn't there for me. I stress for me because I really believe many others will very much enjoy Sable Maze. As I stated in the beginning of my review it looks good and it sounds good. It has an acceptable storyline even if a bit predictable (I knew immediately who the 'bad guy' was going to be) but still acceptable and even believable even though fantasy. It has the bells and whistles of a standard CE so no complaints there either. At the end of the demo, though, I had no wish to play any further so this is a no-buy for me. I suggest others try it out before buying because I'd bet lots of you fishes will like it and I do recommend Sable Maze, just not for myself.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sable Maze: Sinister Knowledge Collector's Edition I love this game; do not like that I can't go back to complete achievements in the extras section. Didn't see puzzles or HOs in the extras section. I replay puzzles and HOs when they are hard or unusual, and replay games to get better achievements. Could not complete the jigsaw puzzles; did not realize there were six. If you don't care about achievements, etc., buy the game, otherwise, pass it up. I am angry!
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An ok game (A 2016 game) I thought it was just ok. Not outstanding in any department. It’s an easy game with plenty of mixed ability puzzles and 10 or so HOPS. With the HOPS you can play match 3 instead. The graphics are just ok. I think if you are looking for an easy relaxing game where you don’t have to think too much about the storyline it might be fine. Also suitable for beginners. Fills the whole screen. Has all the modern options of a 2016 game.
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh about sums it up! I really wanted to like this game. Books that come to life! This should have been a wonderful storyline, but it fell flat. The interaction between characters is mostly non-existent. The game itself was slow moving. I had to force myself to finish and to finish the bonus chapter as well. The games were either fairly challenging or too easy. I did enjoy the match three mini games though! The artwork and music are great. However, this should have been a good game and was not. I did play the demo before purchasing and figured it would pick up. The game had potential, but did not capture my interest.
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ups and Downs - Mostly Downs Please read the BFG site synopsis of this game - it is as adequate as you could want. Download and play the demo next - you will find everything exactly as you would expect, with the game elements you expect and the ordinary CE bling. As an avid book collector of a specific genre, I so wanted to like this game centered on a secret library and legendary magical books. When I filled out the survey after the Beta trial, I tried to make very pointed suggestions. Unfortunately for gamers everywhere, I was apparently writing in Sanskrit, which none of the Devs reads. This is an incredibly ordinary game with all the usual - and you don't know how it pains me to write that word - logic flaws in its story-line that have been plaguing new series games this year. The basic premise has potential; the execution falls down mightily. Please play the demo before considering purchasing.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good story bad flow This game should have been good. I have all the other Sable Maze games and I have enjoyed them. It seemed to me that this one did not flow well. It felt disjointed and awkward. The baddie is so obviously the baddie and yet we get no time to talk to him other than two lines right at the beginning. I presume he reappears later, I have not finished the demo sadly - we have no motive for him buying the place or why he wants the library etc etc.. but straight away I am bored. In particular I feel the gameplay is not fluid. A no-buy for me.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for beginners Some reviewers were frustrated at how simple this game is. I tried it and understand why. I not that good a player. I was able to easily do the puzzles. If I can do them without a problem it indicates they are not that challenging. The morphing objects are really easy to find as they morph into a giant jigsaw puzzle piece that you can't miss. The collectables are easy to find when you click on an area of interest. They are large and quite visible. This is a good game for beginners. If you are an experienced player you are likely to be disappointed. Try the game first. You will know fairly soon in the game if it is right for you.
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from sable trouble this game should have been great, it was not. voice overs were awful, so much to and fro, storyline leaves early in the game. you have puzzle pieces to gather, and not much more. i do not remember the others in this series being this slow. i could go into who shot john, but, big fish does that for you when you are eyeing this game to buy. just not up to snuff.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A SLOW-PACED GAME THAT NEEDS A BOOST OF ENERGY You’ve been commissioned by Colin Englund founder of the Hullbright Institute of Literature to examine some antiquities but as always this might not be easy since the tomes were hidden and you must find them first. Oh, yes there is more! It seems that the estate of Lars McCordon is full of puzzles and traps that must be disarmed before you can begin your search. Alas, just another day in HOPA land – lol. The graphics are much better than usual for this developer and, thankfully, do not heavily rely on varying shades of purple. The voice overs were good but the characters seemed almost cartoonish. There is a transporter type map that has sections added to it as needed once you enter the library. There is an interesting variety of HOPS including a FROG scene early in the game. Most HOPS are interactive and interactive, but I don’t particularly care for silhouette scenes and Sinister Knowledge seems to have an abundance of them. As is generally the case, the puzzles range in difficulty; however, many of them are not the types of puzzles that I particularly like and it seems like I spent a lot of time spinning or pulling various items to gain my prize or entry into an area. One puzzle I did enjoy early in the game involves placing items around a circle by following their correct path from beginning to end – much better than those toggle type puzzles. The CE version includes morphing puzzle pieces that are used to complete six puzzles, collectible coins that are used to purchase statues of the game’s characters, and achievements to earn. The remainder of the package is fairly standard. Not the most stellar CE package but better than some. I must admit that I have enjoyed most of the Sable Maze games so I don’t know why I am not enthused about Sinister Knowledge. I felt the game was very slow and seemed to go nowhere fast. I don’t particularly care for games based on the “enter a book” theme and, IMHO, some others have been done far better than Sinister Knowledge. The story is rather predictable and then with puzzles that I don’t like, it makes the game a bore for me. I know there are many gamers who will find this game absolutely wonderful but I am not one of them. Even though I don’t care for the game, as always, please try the demo to see if this is a game you will enjoy.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Game does NOT make any sense! I really tried to like this Game but after playing the Demo, I thought it was the worst in the series. The Story line is vague, unclear, and doesn't make any sense! What's it all about? Game is SLOW and BORING ... running around with many pointless tasks to do. I was waiting for something exciting to happen but it never did. Finally gave up and uninstalled the whole thing. I hope I never see it ever again!
Date published: 2016-09-19
  • y_2019, m_7, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_25433, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Sable Maze: Sinister Knowledge Collector's Edition

What secrets are hidden in the legendary McCordan Library?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.