Nevertales: Hidden Doorway Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Nevertales: Hidden Doorway Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(314.86 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Mad Head Games proudly presents the newest additional to the Nevertales series!

Your boyfriend is doing an internship to help with his writer's block, and it's been days since he last contacted you. What starts as a simple check-in to make sure he's OK quickly takes a dark turn when you find his spirit missing from his body! Where has it gone, and what's waiting behind the ominous "Doorway"? Find out in this exhilarating hidden-object puzzle adventure!

  • Stop the corruption spreading through Taleworld in the bonus chapter!
  • Find morphing objects in every hidden object puzzle.
  • Gather collectibles to unlock bonus content.
  • Use Ian's novel to change the story in your favor!
  • Retell your story with wallpapers, profiles, and music!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 792 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nevertales: Hidden Doorway Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(314.86 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Nevertales: Hidden Doorway Collector's Edition is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Other devs had better take notice...Madhead has just raised the bar again! REVIEW BASED ON completed game + bonus chapter + extras MY GAMES How long was I stuck at five hundred and four? Every game that I tried was too easy…a bore! For this, I made room gladly on my hard drive. And I’m proud to announce: I own 505. :-) PROLOGUE I loved the first two episodes of this series—The Beauty Within and Shattered Image—and gave them both five stars. The storylines were interesting and gameplay was enjoyable. Smoke and Mirrors was too easy, and the storyline moved slowly. I never bothered with Legends, based on reviews that said gameplay was easy. I decided to try Hidden Doorway in the hopes that Madhead had revived this once-great series. Better look sharp, devs. Madhead has raised the bar again! ONCE UPON A TIME ????? Your boyfriend, Ian, is interning with established writer, Benjamin Bells. You finally receive a strange video call from him; Ian claims he’s in danger…from his mentor. Naturally, you immediately go to Mr. Bells’ house and find Ian behind a locked door. He hands you a book, telling you that you must change the story. By the time you get through the door, Mr. Bells and Ian are vanishing through a portal of some type. And Mr. Bells is doing his best to stop you from following them, insisting that he has to “stop Ian” at all costs. What’s going on here? Note: While this episode is not part of the stories involving Belle and her family, it is still a valid part of this series, as it concerns Taleworld. PLAY THE GAME ????? Adventure mode finds you following Mr. Bells through strikingly different “tales,” as he does his best to stop Ian from bringing darkness to Taleworld. You’ll not only have to fight against the darkness being introduced to the various tales, but also against Mr. Bells’ own stories. Some of this is done via traditional gameplay—interacting with the environment through your inventory—while some is done via changing the story to your advantage. Yes, you heard that right. (LoC: low through high. FF: medium to high.) HO Scenes are varied in presentation, interactive, and challenging. For the most part, the objects are actually hidden! Some of the variations: • a mixed presentation of straight list, interactive list, and related pairs where one or both require interactions, • interactive list where each object hides a fragment of a lock, • silhouettes…find three of each type, most objects require interaction, • related pairs, • find the highlighted words in the narrative, • find three of each drawing while listening to the backstory, and • find three that correspond to each given category. (LoC: medium to high. FF: medium to high.) Puzzles run the gamut from quite easy to “requires functioning neurons.” These are all after the demo: • Repeating puzzle: In the storybook, choose which word to modify, then choose from the five available choices. (LoC: low to high. FF: awesome.) • Use the magic magnifying glass to gather clues at the crime scene. When you have them all, tag them and place them in the correct order. (LoC: medium. FF: high.) • Several levels of increasing difficulty: A number of figurines are set up on a board. Each has a goal and a directional arrow. Move each figurine until it reaches its goal. The first board merely requires you to move each in a straight line, but they become more difficult, requiring strategic planning. (LoC: low to high. FF: high.) • Three levels: Rotate the “sight glass” to reveal rune fragments. For each level, choose the rune fragments that together complete the displayed rune. (LoC: medium. FF: medium.) • Asteroids! I’m not even kidding. (LoC: medium. FF: high) SIGHTSEEING ????? The graphics are so varied in style that I’m not sure where to begin. Fantasy scenes are whimsical while modern scenes show realism. I’m fairly sure the entire palette was used, but used wisely and with taste. Color evokes mood subtly but with great success. Zoomed in, everything has beautiful detail and texture. The NPCs are well-drawn with realistic articulation and movement and excellent facial expressions. Both in-game and cutscene animation are smooth. SOUNDBOARD ????? The music is varied and well-integrated. “Eternal Garden” is a piano minuet against a backdrop of strings. “Puppet’s Strings” reminds me of a film noir soundtrack, while “Breakthroughs” calls to mind an epic movie. There are four variations on a theme called “Hideaways,” parts one through four, and all are markedly different in style, mood, and tempo. Environmental sounds are appropriate, but not overwhelming. Game sounds are unobtrusive and not annoying. Voiceovers are excellent. (Mr. Bells’ voice reminds me of Atrus from the Myst series.) TOOLBOX ????? Inventory panel locks open and includes plus item. And, miracle of miracles, the arrow keys function as “page up” and “page down” buttons instead of just moving forward or back one item at a time. Full stars! The map transports and has “something to do here” indicators. Style-wise, it’s interconnected screenshots of the scenes, so you can tell exactly which place is which. There’s no journal, nor is one necessary. You have a helper for part of the game: an adorable levitating robot with shears at the ends of his arms. He stays onscreen and is unobtrusive. Nor must you name or dress him. There are no irritating gimmicks. BUGS & BOTHERS No technical difficulties, lags, or annoyances with Mac OS 10.11.6. OOH! PIECE OF CANDY ???? • Bonus Chapter - Help Ian seal the darkness in once and for all. • Collectibles: There’s portal symbol in each scene; an icon near the inventory panel reminds you whether you’ve found it. If you find them all, each one is a piece of a jigsaw puzzle which, when completed, unlocks four Treasure Hunts: fantasy, science fiction, crime, and drama. • Morphing Objects - There’s one in each HO; the collectible icon works here too. Collect them all to unlock the Avatars. • Replay HO Scenes - All 16 of them, including getting any morphing objects you missed. • Replay Puzzles - No. *weeps copiously* But you can play a bunch of levels of the gardening puzzle. • Performance Achievements - Nope, and I didn’t miss them one tiny bit. • Developer’s Portfolio - 17 wallpapers, 22 concept art, 10 downloadable soundtracks, 24 Avatars, • Other - Strategy Guide, Nostalgia (4 HO scenes from previous games) EPILOGUE - Overall Rating: (34 total ?) ÷ 6 = 4.83 ? (rounded to ?????) I absolutely recommend this game without reservation. While it’s not the longest game, it more than makes up for that with quality gameplay that’s challenging and fun. Happy gaming, fishies! RECOMMENDED BY THIS DEV (???? or above, based on my rating at game’s release) from this series: The Beauty Within CE, Shattered Image CE from the Rite of Passage series: The Perfect Show, Child of the Forest CE, Hide and Seek CE from the Dark Realm series: Queen of Flames CE, Princess of Ice CE, Lord of the Winds CE from the Cadenza series: Music, Betrayal, and Death CE, Havana Nights CE One-Offs Beyond: Light Advent CE, Maze: Subject 360 CE
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Really Good Game. The graphics are perfect and the gameplay very smooth. The voices are good as is the music. Helper - It's a flying mechanical device that is perfect for topiary. It doesn't talk so it's not intrusive but does lurk in every scene, and is prone to getting damaged. Map - I've not seen this style of map before but it was very good and easy to navigate. The HOS (20 of them) are varied and interactive and the mini games/puzzles are enjoyable and not too difficult. 32 Collectibles are all the same with one in every scene but I forgot to look for them as I was too eager to continue playing. 27 Achievements - including an endless puzzle for getting a score of 60 Extras: Some are not available until you have all the collectibles or have finished the Bonus Chapter. Replay 16 HOS Scrapbook Nostalgia Gardening Puzzle Treasure Items
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REALITY IS FLUID IN TALEWORLD Have you ever wondered what it would be like if you could rewrite the storyline of a game? Well, that's exactly what you get to do in Nevertales: Hidden Doorway! Helen receives a frantic video from her boyfriend Ian Barton, claiming his mentor Benedict Bell, isn't who he says he is, and that he's in dire need of her help. Helen rushes over to Mr. Bell's house to find Ian trapped behind a door bound by otherworldly chains. Ian shoves a novel he wrote, "The Hidden Doorway" through a small opening between the chains explaining that reality is fluid here, like fiction, and with his book she is able to change the story to a more favorable outcome! Helen sets out to free Ian from Mr. Bell who seems to have gone off the deep end, she quickly realizes that she has become a character in the stories that he has written and must outwit the author as she searches for Ian within the chapters world. Helen has an even bigger problem however, just who is the monster in reality, Ian or Benedict Bell? Ian's novel will be your guiding light in this world as well as Taleworld. At certain points in the game, you will read a paragraph, words in purple text can't be changed directly, but the words in blue text can be altered to have a more favorable outcome. When you click on the word in blue, several items will be presented at the top of the page, you must the choose the item that will best suit the situation and change the outcome to a favorable outcome by using that item. This Collector's Edition also has a Hidden Collectible Sign in each scene, as well as the usual Achievements to earn, which also allows you to earn Gold, Silver and Bronze stars for each of the 9 Achievements. The Hidden Object Scenes have a Morphing Object to find and an icon indicator to remind you to look for the Morph which is something I appreciate because I have a hard time remembering when they are within the HOP. There are Interactive List finds, Silhouetted Shape finds, Multiples of each item finds, items listed that simply move to expose fragments to complete a puzzle, and even smaller Zoom Zone scenes with just a handful of items to find. (note that some zoom zones have arrows to move the scene up and down, some have rotation arrows that allow you to flip the item to see the back of it) I really enjoyed the Mini Games, they weren't too frustrating yet not too simple either. Below are brief descriptions of some of the Mini Games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Arrange the pie shaped pieces so that the ball can roll down through the maze at the bottom. 2) Cut all the bushes by controlling the scissors. Scissors will cut in a straight line until the hit a hedge wall or other obstacle and the scissors can't cross their own path. 3) Select and rotate the two suns until the positions of the smaller planets align with their bigger versions. 4) Recreate the image by selecting square tiles and placing them in the correct squares. 5) Rotate the safe numbers using arrows from the clues you found earlier. This Collector's Edition has a Hidden Sign in each scene, 9 Achievements available in Gold, Silver, and Bronze categories, a Morphing Object in each Hidden Object Puzzle, 16 replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 22 Concept Art pictures, 17 Wallpapers, 10 Music Soundtracks, Avatars, a Scrapbook, a Gardening Puzzle, a Nostalgia Section, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Innovation abounds with the love and art of storytelling This is a truly innovative game. Far beyond what we usually see. The storyline is so clever, you cannot stop rooting for the good guys to win. There is something so special and precious about good storytelling. This game has put us in a quest to keep out the dark storylines, to keep our stories happy, good and pure. The mystery of who is the good guy and who is the enemy runs throughout. With multiple location changes represented by the very stories we are fighting for. Everything about this game has been thought out to make the gameplay elegant, detailed and innovative. It is a perfect game and many thanks to the genius at Mad Head Games for yet another winner!
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THREE CHEERS+ BUT A TEAR AND A SIGH I enjoyed this game more than any Ive played for quite a while. the sense of innovation, the suggestion of choices of path in changing the book (done so carefully that one hardly notices that there is only one path forward) the feeling of inventiveness in games and puzzles , graphics and in PARTICULAR at the end of Tale 2. then in Tale 3 the messages from outside which remind me of Philip KDick (for example in Ubik). the negative I felt was that the plot did not hold the same level of invention to the end, we are told it is not clear what the motive of the bad guy or force is, but then it does not become clear at the end either.. perhaps it is just some usual demonic force wanting to destroy everything or perhaps (this would be more interesting but it is not set up within the story) it is an author's own self destructive side. I think the REAL PROBLEM (stress ? ) is that there is a limit to what one can do in this type of game. it is not Dostoevsky finally and cannot be , or Proust . a tear and a sigh no doubt from both developer and player realizing the limits of this form. like bright colored bubbles even the best of these... And make no mistake this is one of the very best! so if you are looking to this review to decide about buying and playing I absolutely suggest you do so. there is no better lately from big fish games.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another excellent Nevertales When I saw this new sequel for Nevertales this morning, I had to add it to my collectiion. Very well written, beautiful graphics and never disappointing imagination of these developers. It sure is a bit different what the story is concerned, but that is what I love. I was getting tired of the never ending fairy tales, rituals and vampires, sort of speak. This is refreshing. Very well made HOPS and mini games. No it is not a very hard game to play but it has a smart flow and it totally kept me interested. Of course you have your collectables and morphs and bonuses at the end. But it was the story . graphics and overall, the gameplay, why I chose this game to be a 5 star. Keep it up Mad Head !
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging, fun, new puzzles, makes you think, LOVE IT In all my years of playing these games, they begin to be a lot alike in some ways. This game is different and I love it. It challenges you to think and be part of the game. This is a new and novel way to play. Please read all the reviews that give you the blow by blow because they are so in depth and helpful. My suggestion is to do the play/try me after that and see for yourself if this game is for you. Gotta go, back to playing the best new game out there. Have fun!!
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Writing My Very First Review For! Thank you Mad Head Games, Thank you Big Fish Games! 10 minutes into the trial I knew w/o a doubt, I had to have this game! Love all their others, love the challenges that make me lose track of time, make me think. I've purchased many really good games, this will be one of the best. This one is challenging, yet in the best of ways, & it's fun & definitely quite unique! Best game for me, by far, in awhile, can't wait to get back to it!! Know this will be another game I'll play more than once. Feel I stepped out of the box & into a new & hopefully beginning trend in what's to come in the future. Still love many of the oldies & goodies, but this is really fun w/a fresh approach & reminds me why I love to play games (not to mention how good it is for the "Senior" brain cells. Yay!!
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Five bells and five stars rating for this fantastic game! Mad Head Games are at the top of my list! These developers are true thinkers in every sense. They've taken heed to the reviewers' comments. This is my fourth Nevertales game and my favorite thus far. I'm in the middle of playing the Main Game of this CE version. Everything about this game is top notch--the well-scripted dialogues, excellent voiceovers; beautiful graphics and fantastic music. Great map, hint button and much more. You must save your boyfriend, Ian before it's too late. His eyes have turned yellow and his spirit has gone from his body. There are doorways that require you to choose a very innovative method of passing through them.The tasks are so intelligently thought-out, that it's hard for me stop playing. Now that's what I call a game! The strategy, the logic, the flow are the best I've encountered in a long time. Sure, I've given five-stars before for a particular genre but this game is by far a "head" above the rest--that is, a Mad Head above the rest! Innovative, well-organized and thought-provoking. I enjoy the mini-games and hidden object scenes--though some are not difficult they are fun to accomplish and different. I love my lil' mechanical, flying helper--my Edward Scissorhands of the garden, if you will. I like being in command of the storyline. What I also like about this game is when you need to collect two or more items to complete an object, for instance, like find the parts of a bird, you can still use one of the parts which eliminates clutter in your inventory, rather than wait for all three to use it. These devs thought of everything and should win an award for this wonderful production. They've got my vote! I highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Right For Me I have not purchased many CEs recently. Either the storyline is too familiar-the puzzles or HOS too difficult-the collectibles too difficult to find-or a combination of the above. Although I have been playing BFG for many years - I am an older player & only consider myself as an intermediate player. Using the hint/skip button a lot I get frustrated & usually do not purchase the game, The puzzles & HOS-while not too easy-were doable The storyline was different enough to keep me engaged & logical. The only thing I would have liked was an option in the HOS-match 3-mahjong -or some other. As I said-this was just right for me
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WALKING THROUGH THIS DOORWAY HOLDS SOME SURPRISES As the game begins Helen (your character in the game) receives a strange message from boyfriend Ian saying that his mentor Sir Benedict Bells isn’t who he says he is. Ian sounds distressed and while he is speaking the phone goes dead so you rush over to Sir Bells’ house to see what is wrong. When you arrive at the house you find things are a mess and Ian is in trouble. It seems that Sir Bells is hiding some secrets, or is he? It isn’t long before you won’t know who to trust or believe in this new Nevertales game. Since this is a Nevertales game after all, some things are familiar but yet presented in a different way from other games in the series. In this game you will enter the Taleworld through the Hidden Doorway but you get to rewrite the stories to change the outcome – but do you want to? The developer has shown so much creativity with this game that even I was surprised. You will need to be on your toes and actually think about what you need to do as you work to save Ian and find the truth that is behind the Hidden Doorway. The graphics are excellent and crisp with my only minor complaint being that there is a tad too much of the blue tone that is present in the game at times. Of course all of the Nevertales games have had that blue or purple tint so this game is in line with the others. The game has all of the other technical features that one would expect from a top-tier developer including an excellent sound package. The game also includes an interactive map to help you move quickly between scenes. The HOPS are well-designed but there are far fewer of the traditional type that we normally see in HOPA games. There are some that are the standard list type, some are silhouette type and then there are the storybook types but all of them are excellent. Where Hidden Doorway excels is with its puzzles. The puzzles are a bit different and some are actually challenging. There is a puzzle early in the game that involves mowing a garden and the first two levels are easy but by the third level, it becomes tricky. I actually love the garden puzzle and had a lot of fun figuring it out. The CE version of the game includes 32 collectibles to find and morphing objects that are found in the HOP scenes. Of course, there are 27 achievements to earn for those who love the challenge. Extras include a bonus chapter, a 56-page strategy guide, artwork, wallpapers, music and replay of HOPS. A few extra goodies include a Nostalgia Section, Scrapbook, Garden Puzzle included and Avatars. Do I really love the game? The answer to that question is I am not sure that I am swept away by the storyline. In some ways the game has a feeling of the old Drawn series (one that was never my favorite) but perhaps that is because of all the blue tones in those games as well. I can’t put my finger on what I don’t like about Hidden Doorway but it is most likely the game’s theme. Although I have all of the Nevertales games, they are not the games I really want to replay because I find most of them less than exciting. Maybe this one will be better and I will play it with an open mind because it might surprise me. As always, I recommend you try the demo to see if Hidden Doorway is a game you will enjoy.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart and fun! This is a great game! One of the unique features is that you get to rewrite the future based on reading the book of the person you're trying to help...very fun! The HO scenes are good and the puzzles interesting. The story line is great, and the graphics a pleasure to look at. The game plays well, and the demo zoomed by. The game has all the CE bells and whistles and is a sure buy for me!
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game Finally a Hidden Object game with different type challenges. I don't buy many games, but I will buy this one!
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soul Searching Fun Very good game. Good game flow that kept my interest, Nice cut scenes, Collect Symbols in the shape of the Portal doors, Morphing objects in HO's, Great HO's, Jump Map, and love the tin helper. Really like how this one played out
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game. This was a great game. Good graphics.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow!!! I'll keep this short. Best game I've played here in easily 2 years! I have to save up!
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Play the demo first... ...if you love achievements. You will get an achievement if you play through the demo without any hints. Other than that, Mad Head Games has put out another great story to the Nevertales series. This one is definitely unique in the way that you are able to change how the story is written. That is pretty cool. You have a little robotic helper, and you do have to fix him from time to time. However, unlike many of the other helpers that games offer, this one doesn't sit on the side waiting to be called; rather, he follows you every where you go. As far as the story goes, you have to save your boyfriend's soul from his mentor. However, neither may be who they seem and it's up to you to decide who's good and who's not. If you're familiar with Mad Head Games, then you already know that they are tops as far as visual and sound quality goes, plus their games are loaded with extras, such as morphing items, collectibles, extra games (aside from the bonus game), and the usual HUGE hidden object puzzle at the end. I will admit that I've only played through the demo before purchasing the game. I got through the demo in less than an hour, so that tells me that the game itself is probably about 4 hours or less for the main game, with about an hour for the bonus, which seems to be usual for Mad Head. Over all, I highly recommend this game. Even if you've never played any of the previous games in the Nevertales series, you don't need to because this game is it's own story.
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ENTER A WORLD OF TALES AND REWRITE THE FUTURE IN A 5-STAR MASTERPIECE PROLOGUE – 6 CHAPTERS – EPILOGUE – BONUS CHAPTER – REVIEW BASED ON DEMO PLUS CHAPTER 3 OVERVIEW: Welcome to the world of tales, Helen! Test your literary skills as you rewrite your way through a series of stories brought to life by Benedict Bells, a famous author. This author has captured your boyfriend Ian’s soul, but for what reason? Bells has been a mentor to Ian, an aspiring writer. A secret doorway connecting the real world with Taleworld, created by writers, holds the key. With pen in hand, enter a series of these tales to locate and free Ian’s soul while battling obstacles thrown in your path. Time is running out! Save your boyfriend before both the game and your story end. Kudos to Mad Head for another outstanding 5-star game with its suspenseful, well-written story. Did Mad Head enter Taleworld and bring back the story for this game? No matter! You will be kept on your literary toes running from one tale to another in this game. Each tale has a different setting and the graphics well depict each tale. The HOP scenes are creative. The puzzles are all easy except for one puzzle in the demo; however, they are thematic and creative as well. This is great game especially written for those who have a penchant for writing. “THE HIDDEN DOORWAY.” You receive a “popup book” written by Ian in which you will edit words to change the outcome of the story. You must choose between two words which will either provide a change in the scene to help you proceed or provide an inventory item to help you proceed. HOP SCENES: The scenes include lists of items to locate and silhouette. One of the scenes sees you using a telescope to locate items. PUZZLES: The puzzles vary in style and difficulty. They include two maze puzzles. In one you must create a path for a ball to descend from the top of the maze to the bottom. The other maze puzzle has three parts, each one increasing in difficulty in which you must eliminate shrubs with some shears. There is also an easy jigsaw puzzle and a fiendish planetary puzzle in which you must move planets into position. This is not an easy task! There are mini-interactive puzzles throughout where you must locate items to replace words in a book to change the story. AFTER THE DEMO: Chapter 3. The plot thickens as you enter Taleworld. You discover some secrets about Ian. Write yourself into the story and try to solve the mystery behind this game. The HOP scenes include more lists of items, a matching scene and a storybook sequence explaining in more detail about the story behind the game. . The puzzles are all easy and include matching puzzles and a sequence puzzle. LEVELS: Casual Writer, Experienced Writer, Master Writer, Critic (Custom) Hints and Skips: 15 to 90 seconds EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the start of the game 27 Achievements - 9 gold, 9 silver, and 9 bronze Collect 32 Doorway symbols Collect Morphing objects throughout the game Replay 16 HOP scenes Concept Art, Music, Wallpaper, Avatars, Nostalgia Section, Scrapbook and a Gardening Puzzle Strategy Guide – 56 pages HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE: HOP SCENES: A. List of items to locate. Interactive and very creative. B. Silhouette. Locate 3 each of 4 silhouette items before removing the silhouette. C. Using a telescope, locate symbols on rocks to open a portal Very creative! D. List of items to locate. As you locate items, you uncover pieces of a picture. AFTER THE DEMO: E. Using a magnifying glass, look for clues around the scene. Very creative F. List of items to locate G. Matching scene. Match up a letter or package with a symbol of something on the package. H. Storybook sequence. Silhouette. Locate items while hearing the story of Taleworld. PUZZLES: Puzzle Rating: (1) Extremely easy 2) Easy (3) A little difficult or time consuming (4) Moderately difficult (5) Difficult Book puzzle: Throughout the game you will refer to a book written by your boyfriend, Ian, “The Hidden Doorway.” You will choose words to either provide items you need to help you in the scene or change the environment in some way A. Maze puzzle. Switch four pieces so that a maze is created to move a ball from the top of a circle to the bottom. Rating: 2 B. Maze puzzle. Cut bushes in a garden using garden shears so that all bushes are eliminated. You must go in a straight line and not retrace your steps. 3 X. Increase in difficulty 1 to 3 C. Moving tiles puzzle. Rotate two circles to moving planets to their proper position on the orbits of two suns. Not difficult if you use some logical reasoning in positioning them. Rating: 3 D. Jigsaw puzzle. Replace the proper pieces back onto a diagram to create the picture of a bird. There are more pieces than needed in this puzzle. Not that easy! Rating: 2 AFTER THE DEMO: E. Match up clues with a crime scene. Rating: 2 F. Matching puzzle. Rating: 1 G. Sequence puzzle. Place books in the correct order by random guessing. Rating: 2 H. Matching puzzle. Match up symbols with those on a cryptex.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Duct tape Made me laugh! You know how it is when you have a knife early in a game, use it and then lose it, only to need a sharp object later on in the game? How many times have you screamed to the game "don't throw that knife/matchbox/shovel/wrench/screwdriver away!"? This game does not do that with duct tape. Loved it.
Date published: 2021-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What if the fairytales were to come alive? Now that I've finished the game, I can't quite say if I liked it or not. I mean completely. The main game is really-really good, which surprised me I dare say. But then the bonus game was really bad, with the highlight of its finale. I mean, why must all games copy one another? Why must always the final scene be about a last battle, that is usually so ugly designed and without any concept, for its solving... I have no words.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Portals + Storybooks + Evil = ? - Review of completed game Your boyfriend Ian is being tormented by someone or something that seems to be taking over his body and stealing his soul. A famous author, Benedict Bells, for some reason does not want you to help Ian and is working against you. There must be more to the "story," and you must rescue Ian! Well, unfortunately there really isn't more to the story, but that's the one and only thing that keeps me from giving this a five star rating. The rest of the game is very good; interesting puzzles, beautiful scenes, good acting, nice music and just enough extras to be worthwhile as a CE. The play remained interesting to the end even though the player, Helen, repeats the same pattern over and over. Somehow the developers took portals, storybook re-writing and Big Evil and meshed them together into a decent game. I found the play was mostly fairly easy, but there are a few puzzles that will take time to work out, (don't skip!) as well as one or two morphing objects that are extremely difficult to spot. I must also add that use of some of the inventory items varied from very unusual to "No, never happen." CE extras include bonus level, strategy guide (not available when finished ) 32 collectible signs (only a few are well hidden), 16 morphing objects in HOPs (re-playable), four bonus HOPs, Defense puzzle (think "Asteroids") and a multi-level gardening puzzle which unlocks the fourth bonus HOP. The bonus level was about an hour's play and while it extended the main story, it did not add anything new. You play as Ian in the bonus level. I have Never been a Nevertales fan, but I do like this one and highly recommend it, even as a CE. This is one Hidden Doorway, er, portal, that you don't want to miss
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from CLEVER GAME WITH ATTENTION TO DETAIL I really like this one. The construction was very detailed right down to the cursor being a book. The graphic visuals were very well done and of course the HOPS and mini games were good, and unique to the storyline. The storyline left me wanting to know a little more in the demo to keep me interested; and the music did not compliment it as it should. All in all, this is a very good game and I recommend it to beginner and intermediate players. Thanks, Mia.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mentors Are Not All They Are Cracked Up to Be Budding writer, Ian, was selected as the new protégé to award winning author, Benedict Bell. You play as Ian's girlfriend, Helen, who has just received an alarming call from Ian. Ian's phone abruptly went out and Helen rushes to Mr. Bell's house. Ian is in trouble, Mr. Bell is the cause, and Helen must save Ian's soul! Good stuff: A variety of HOPs, good mini-games, lovely artwork, collectibles, and CE bling. Bad stuff: Soul stealing is old, but Nevertales is usually entertaining and this game seems on the right track. I'm not entirely sold on the story, so you'll have to try the Demo for yourself and make your own determination. I did like the game play but felt there was a lot of back and forth - if I go through a portal, I don't expect to jog back and forth through it again. And again. If that sounds like I'm on the fence, I am. I can't decide whether to buy the CE or wait for the SE.
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice addition to this series... Hi friends! Well, we have #5 in this series, unless my count is off. As always, I mostly review on the game play and not the story line, as others do a far better job of that than I. The graphics in this game are very well done, very clear and nice. Even the cut scenes are pretty clear. Colors are true, without the blues and pinks that are so annoying. Game play was really nice, with no problems during the demo. I really liked the music, which I usually always turn way down. This time, it was a bit suspenseful where needed and nicely done. Voice overs are fairly well done, but they are few and far between. At least we had a lot of sound FX to fill in the gaps. We don't have a "helper" as such, but we do have a book that lets us pick what we want to use to help move along in the game. I actually found this to be fun. I almost had an uncontrollable urge to pick something silly to see what happened, but was afraid I would get stuck and not be able to fix it. Do be aware that because you are traveling between worlds or time, there are very bright lights now and then. HOPs are a combination of interactive lists, straight lists and silhouette type where you find a certain number of the same item. Items are not difficult to find and the HOPs are pretty clean and clear. Pay attention, because there are morphing items found in the HOP scenes. I did not see that you could switch to a match game or anything else. The puzzles were not challenging or difficult, but one did take me a little bit to complete. Hint system is helpful, but I did not see a transport to longer locations. Maybe because I really didn't go all that far for the items I needed. SG is the usual and does show where all the collectibles are located, in case you miss one. Collectibles are really lacking in this game. All I've found so far are very large "signs," which look like double rings. Can't help but see them. This was very disappointing. I beta tested this one way back in March...long wait! I see that the devs must have actually listened to some of the suggestions for a change. Of course, they didn't listen when I suggested more in the way of collectibles, but that's not a deal breaker in this game. I like the story and the game has enough action to keep you moving and interested. The demos went much too quickly. As I said, this is not a really challenging game, but I like the story and how nicely it flowed, so I didn't have to use the SG or the hint...okay, I did use the hint button twice. How else am I going to know if it works or not? I think this game will appeal to all levels of players. Yes, I am adding it to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from always return your books to the libary enjoyed playing the game no complaints
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What happened to my Nevertales series? My all time favorite game is Nevertales, A Beauty Within. This game was so unique with excellent graphics. Beauty is in a league of its own. So, comparing this Nevertale game, it was a huge disappointment. I thought the characters looked very cartoonish and the story line left me not connecting with the characters. I really didnt want to save anyone. I did however like the concept of the story. Moving from differen't book worlds is fun for me and the games were not to hard, just right. Bottom line is, this game is good compared to a lot of other games out lately but it just didn't have the little special touches that I expect from my favorite developers, Mad Head.
Date published: 2017-06-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from KINGDOM OF BOOKS REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS This is an okay game with gorgeous graphics, but the story line is weak and a little dull. In the main game you play Helen to rescue your boyfriend Ian. The bonus is all about Ian. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Casual Writer, Experienced Writer, Master Writer and Critic modes of play; * Journal; * Interactive map; * 9 Achievements (Bronze, Silver and Gold); * Find 32 Collectibles. The graphics are stunning, very colourful and fitted well with the game. The music is orchestral and piano. The hidden object games are interactive straightforward, silhouette and finding one item to use to find another, etc. These are all exceptionally easy to do and only take a couple of minutes each. There is one morphing object per HOP. Most of these are easy to spot, but there are a couple that took me a while to find. There are lots of mini-games to play. These are all very easy to do and I didn't see any unique or different ones that I haven't played before from this developer, which was a bit disappointing. I didn't need to use the interactive map at all because you are only going a couple of steps forwards or backwards and you stay in the same scene until everything is done. There is plenty to do in the Extras. You can find all the collectibles that you may have missed or wanted to do later in the game and then do a simple puzzle. There is also a Treasure Hunt to be done. You can also replay the gardening and defense puzzles as well. You can also replay the hidden object games to better your score. All up the game and bonus took me about 5 hours or so. Its a nice game to play if you just want to chill out and don't fancy a challenge and also would be great for kids as there is nothing in the game that is frightening or violent. Overall, a pretty and colourful game designed for a chill out afternoon or for younger members of the family.
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh. Seriously; Meh. Not really that much to it. The story was rather weak.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sorry for low score, I just didn't find it exceptional! I was disappointed in this game. The graphics as usually were Great, the music is beautiful, but the story was meh, and the game play was kind of too easy. I can't find any major fault with the game other then it's short and it just ends it seems out of the blue. We who purchased the CE get to finish but if you buy the SE which I normally do, you will go away feeling very disappointed, that should not be! Games need to finish at the end of the main game than they can add whatever bonus they so choose. The game uses the same old gimmicks some which I don't care for because of movement that gives me a headache and some I just find boring now that they've been used so many times by so many game developers. I think my disappointment comes from loving Nevertales the Beauty within that I had such high hopes for this game and they just were not fulfilled! It's not a bad game it's just not a 5 star game and I don't understand how anyone can give this game 5 stars. If Nevertales the Beauty within or Beyond light Advent were 5 Star games, which they were, than this one can not rate 5 stars because it does not come close to how fabulous Beauty within or Beyond Light Advent were!! I'm sure many people were overjoyed with the game but if they are being honest they would admit this game fell short in comparison to the games mentioned above as well as many other 5 star games. I would recommend the game of course, but don't pay full price wait for a really good sale!! I would suggest you purchase the CE edition so you can wrap the game up nicely.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice concept, not great execution This game comes across as being what started as a really interesting idea, but I don't think they playtested it enough. There were often times while I was playing that it was not clear what I was supposed to do next. I would find items and it just didn't make sense what I needed to do, which is not an issue with the majority of the top-rated games I've played. The visuals were ok, but definitely could have used a little more love, especially compared to some of the more beautiful games offered. The audio was decent enough, but there were several moments that the sound effects made no sense or the music was actually jarring. I feel like this would have been really easy to pick out had there been sufficient playtesting (not by people working on the game who are so familiar with it that a lot of those minor details become invisible to them) The storyline was clunky and uninteresting. The idea was not fully developed and I got to the point where I just didn't care anymore. They developed the professor so much that I immediately trusted him and felt no motivation to go around him, but felt forced to because that was the game. Games shouldn't be dragging the player along by the ear, they should be a tantalizing treat the player runs eagerly down the hallway after. Each world was interesting, but only the first two were. After that, the book worlds seemed like an afterthought, which made me not want to play this anymore. The last world was slapped together and had no cohesion with the other worlds. There was no theme or purpose. It seems clear to me that they weren't sure what to do with it and that's where I lost interest in the game. All of this would have been captured had there been more playtesting before this game was released in the first place and I think the game would have been much more fun if the developers worked with more feedback to improve the game before releasing it. If I could go back, I would have passed on this game. It wasn't worth the time.
Date published: 2016-10-08
  • y_2021, m_10, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_25459, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nevertales: Hidden Doorway Collector's Edition

Can you save your boyfriend before it's too late?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.