Beyond: Star Descendant Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Beyond: Star Descendant Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(451.29 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Mad Head Games presents the next galactic adventure in their breakthrough series: Beyond!

Thomas’s birthday started out so well, but among his presents was a strange device carrying a mysterious message claiming to know the truth about his past. When Thomas leaves to meet the mysterious stranger behind this message, it’s up to you as his mother to find Thomas and bring him back home. Travel across the universe, journeying across strange new planets, and gathering clues to discover Thomas’s true origin and the dangerous power growing inside of him. Can you convince Thomas to come back home? Find out in this heart-warming hidden-object puzzle adventure.

  • Stop a galactic overlord from destroying Earth in the bonus chapter!
  • Collect hidden rockets in every scene to unlock bonus content!
  • Earn impressive achievement awards for your otherworldly game play!
  • Test your skills in the ultimate hidden-object puzzle and a bonus jigsaw!
  • Relive your favorite moments with screensavers, concept art, and music.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 837 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Beyond: Star Descendant Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(451.29 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Beyond: Star Descendant Collector's Edition is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Game - Recommend Really enjoyed MadHead games lately. The game was really fun and the storyline was different. I've played it several times including the bonus game. Liked going to different planets and the characters/aliens including the portals. The dialog could be a bit hokey at times but still enjoyed the game overall. Level of challenge was good but I enjoyed it wasn't too hard so you can still be challenged but yet relaxing.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond is a nice change from the usual This game is definitely worth trying the demo on. I've own hundreds of hidden object games over the years, and this one involves the usual kidnapping and rescue effort, this time in an interplanetary setting (but it is different from the same old, same old horror genre that we've grown bored with). Gorgeous graphics, a straightforward story line , and a few different type puzzles - not terribly difficult, but still a good mix - from placing objects in a story book, to finding words to unlock other parts of the HO's, and more. In the CE, each HO scene contains a morphing object, and every scene, beginning with the living room, contains a hidden rocket to be found. Yes, the game has portals to travel through, and a little robot buddy, (sort of like the Disney Wall-E) to give you a hand from time to time. I enjoy the 3-D graphics of your hand reaching from the outside of the scene, into it - very much something new in the HO Games format. All in all, this one's a keeper, if just for being a bit newer and different.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New and Different - Best game in a long time On his birthday a boy finds out he is adopted and his father has sent someone to bring him home. Except the father is an intergalactic megalomaniac and the adoptive mother is a cool detective determined to get her boy back. Graphics are great. Quite a few of the HOGS and other games are new and interesting - not not altogether too difficult - just a good challenge. Most importantly the story makes sense and the game is lovely to look at and move around. The map makes moving around easy. Also it took quite a while to play and I got a great deal of enjoyment out of it. Extras allow for getting those three or four collectables you missed, replaying the HOGS and games and a bonus chapter that is a prequel. Altogether a delightful weekend with this game.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completed Game plus Bonus There have been only two games in recent history that when I finished them I sat back in my chair and said "WOW". This is one of them. For me, I felt like it was as much about the adventure and story than most games that are put out for something to throw in puzzles, mini games, and HOs. I enjoyed every breathtaking moment. The bonus game is not necessary for the experience as it is a prequel to the main game. (it was about an hour or so long.. perhaps a little longer)
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Scifi with an absorbing story! I have the first Beyond game. It's one of my favorites. So I've waited a long while and wondered if there would ever be another game in this series. Here it is...just as splendid and awesome as the first. And a unique new story that stands on its own. The concept of this game was different than others games I've seen recently on BF. The story holds it's own because it is different though is about a mother rescuing her son who has the ability to make portal. The game play is fantastic..the way Madhead games always delivers. The puzzles are a variety of old with a blend of some new. The graphics are excellent as well as the music score. The voice acting is superb. I recommend this game to those that are looking for something different, likes a great story with adventure and keeps you wanting it not to end. Also, if you like scifi or not you might find yourself surprised! Having the SE or CE are worth it.
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TRAVEL TO ALL THOSE WONDERFUL PLANETS REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS If you love a sci-fi, then you're in for a treat. The main game is about Sarah to rescue Thomas from Kaine and the bonus is a preclude of how it all began from the beginning. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Planet, Nebula, Galaxy and Cluster modes of play; * Interactive map; * Journal; * 14 achievements (some with 3 stars) * Find 31 rockets in game and bonus. The graphics are stunning - very colourful and crisp. Travelling through the different scenes and planets was a real treat. Sound is good and the music is mainly orchestral. The hidden object games are interactive straightforward, silhouette, matching pairs and spot the difference. These are fairly easy to do and doesn't take long to get back to the game. There is one morphing object per HOP which always has a good challenge. There are huge variety of mini-games to play. Most of these are pretty easy, but a couple had me playing for a while. I enjoyed them all and did them without any frustration or boredom. I found I didn't need to use the interactive map at all because you are only going a couple of steps forwards or backwards, so it wasn't necessary to use it. There are 31 rockets to find throughout the game and bonus. Some of these are really hard to spot. Down at the bottom on the right hand side of your screen, the rocket glows brighter when you have found one in that scene, just in case you miss it and go back to that scene later. You can do these altogether later if you wish. When you have found them all, you can play a bonus super HOP. As usual, I didn't get all the achievements. I didn't finish the game in 4, 5 or 6 hours - never have, never will. I like to take my time and play the game without feeling rushed just to get an achievement. There is an achievement about royalties which I didn't get either, but I'm sure many fishies will get them all. There is also a puzzle to do in the extras which will take a few minutes. And of course you can replay the HOPs to better your accuracy and time. All up the game and bonus took me about 8 hours to play during the course of the week. I enjoyed it, but found it just needed just a bit more of a challenge. Still, we can't complain cause we don't get many sci-fi games to play. Definitely comes recommended. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond Imagination...!!! Loved the first game. I am happy that more Science Fiction themed storylines are being created these days. From What I've played thus far (and to be honest, it's only a couple of hours), I can see that I will enjoy this one as much as the last one.
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!!!!!! WHAT A TRIP I have the first episode Beyond: Light Advent and that was fun. With this episode, I played the demo first and was sold on it in the first ten minutes or less. I thought I would write this review before purchasing. I love the graphics. The team from MAD HEAD GAMES, that put their time and effort into producing such quality graphical scenery, should be congratulated. Fantastic, amazing, colourful and I really like the architecture. Audio is very good and the storyline seems interesting enough to make me want to continue playing. Being a sci fi fanatic this game is right up my alley. The HOS are very good and varied. There is a map to help you move from one scene to another and collectibles and morphing objects to gather. The little robot helper is a wonderful touch and adds to the adventure. I have to admit though, travelling through the wormholes on the rollercoaster ride was very realistic. So much so it messed with my equilibrium and I had to look away from the screen. It made me a little dizzy, but what a ride. Thomas and his Mum look set for a wild ride of their own as they try to make their way back home, having to deal with futuristic villains and talking robots. Thomas has this amazing power where he can create portals. With this new found power he is able to create portals to help his Mum. I like this game, but I must admit that the thing I love the most is the graphics. I cannot say enough about them. Visually the game is brilliant and one of the best I have seen in a game for quite a while. Well done!!! I recommend this for intermediate and expert players. Thank you MAD HEAD.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MOM TO THE GALACTIC RESCUE! A mother's love knows no boundaries, she will travel to the end of the world, and other world's if necessary to protect her children. When Thomas receives an unusual present for his 11th birthday, his mother Sarah proves she's willing to do anything to keep him safe, even if she has to travel to a planet she's never even heard of, planet Nenshe. Sarah has always known Thomas was a star child, but she never suspected that he would one day return to the stars, and certainly not like this! Mad Head games has done it again! They have proven that a sequel can be just as brilliant as it's predecessor, and who doesn't like a good alien story, right? I do however, have a few complaints with this particular game, starting with the Morphing Objects that are only available within the HOP's. This is the same feature offered in the first Beyond, but I hate it when I forget to look for the morph because I'm caught up in the moment and there's no way to return if you do forget. Can you imagine how epic this game would be if it were offered in the game scenes themselves. I also found the graphics to be a bit bland, I get that its otherworldly, but the graphics are unappealing, I just hope they improve and perhaps move along to that jungle planet they talked about. I also wish they would have made a better attempt at tying the story to the first Beyond, but perhaps that will be clarified later on as well. You do have to put up with a sidekick with this game, a Robotic Suitcase, he's adorable and reminds me of Number 5 (remember # 5 is alive??) but they could have been a little more creative considering this planet is light years ahead of us in the technology department. This Collector's Edition has the usual Achievements to earn, the Morphing Objects within the HOP's only and 31 very well blended Rocket Ships to find in every scene, so not much has changed from the original features. The Hidden Object Scenes have the typical Interactive List finds, but they also have fantastic and futuristic finds as well. One of my favorite HOP's was in a three part series which was a feature I enjoyed throughout the first Beyond. The first scene requires you to locate 3 navigation points by finding the exact galaxies shown. Then you eliminate the dimmest star by taking a section from the inventory bar and placing it onto the correct star to replicate the star shown. Finally you find planets that match the descriptions being told. In this CE, each HOP has a Morphing Object, and an icon to let you know if the Morph has been found which is helpful when you are doing a multi-layered HOP. The Mini Games are decent, and geared to be mechanical or space themed. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Trace the path shown with a laser pointer to attract the cat. 2) Arrange the books so that the spines form the symbol shown. 3) Multi-layered puzzle where you first place gears so they all make contact. Then you move ink tanks to their colored coded positions by sliding tiles to an empty space. Finally you swap picture fragments to create a ticket image. 4) Rotate the labyrinth using directional arrows to drop the ball into the hole. (I thought I needed that gravity ball?) 5) Rotate the wheels to complete the path from right to left, rotating one wheel may affect others. 6) Find the misplaced items in the scene an place them correctly to hear a story. This Collector's Edition has 19 replayable Hidden Object Scenes and 1 Bonus HOP, Morphing Objects within the HOP's,Music Soundtracks, Jigsaw Puzzles, 22 Character Biographies, 14 Achievements to earn, 12 Wallpapers, 31 Hidden Rocket Ships, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Captivating I agree with all the accolades of others on this game. The Beyond series is one of my favorites from this developer. We have been spoiled lately with the bounty of great games. Thank you, Mad Head, for your delightful imagination in creating such dream-like worlds and characters. I always look forward to the games you create. Kudos to your gifted staff who continue to put together some of the most visionary creations. So, welcomed and refreshing.
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would Give 6 Stars! Games were unique, graphics were excellent, good soundtrack, storyline made sense. I needed a game like this--something a bit different. When you go on the rollercoaster...I mean, come on...I had to smile. Puzzles were not the run of the mill and that was what made this game a standout. Once I started, I didn't want to stop playing.
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A TERRIFIC ROLLER COASTER RIDE THROUGH THE GALAXY AND BEYOND When the first Beyond game arrived at BFG I was so swept away by a wonderful sci-fi game (something I would love to see more often) that had excellent gameplay, puzzles and HOP scenes. Beyond Light Advent is such a great game that I have played it several times since its release in July 2015. Today my wait for a sequel is over and Star Descendent seems even better. Star Descendent is so excellent that it will probably be at the top of my list for best HOPA game this year. Today is Thomas’ 11th birthday and among his presents is something special that is sure to change not only his life but that of his mother Sarah (you) as well. While you are busy taking care of a kitchen mishap, Thomas opens a present that soon has him on a voyage of discovery and danger. Follow Thomas on an incredible roller coaster ride that will take you on the adventure of a lifetime. The graphics in the game are beautiful as another world and the universe come to life. I love everything about this game and the graphics and sound are just a part of what make it so terrific. I don’t want to tell you too much about what to expect because discovery is part of the fun in Star Descendent. Early in the game you find a cute mechanical friend who helps you on your journey but you will find others as you progress. You also have an interactive map that will help you navigate through the game. While you are moving through the experience you will learn some amazing things about your son but most importantly the journey reinforces the love and bond between you and your son. The HOPs in the game are so well-designed and creative that they were fun to play – even the storybook style that I don’t usually enjoy as much as some of the other types. The puzzles are excellent and, again, very creative with some that are not the usual fare. I found most of the puzzles to be quite doable and, even though some seemed difficult for me, I think others might find them easy. I love puzzles in games and the ones in Beyond Star Descendent are, IMHO, terrific and fit well in with the storyline. If you like the CE version of HOPA games this one includes 31 collectible rockets to find, 19 morphing objects, achievements to earn as you play the game, bonus chapter, strategy guide, wallpapers, character gallery, music, replay of HOPs and a puzzles. By now you have probably guessed that Beyond Star Descendent was an instant buy for me. No need to think about it or even wait for a special sale because I have been waiting almost seven months for the game to be released. This development team has created some of the best games that I have played since they first came to BFG several years ago with the Rite of Passage series. It seems like their skill and creativity has increased since that time and Star Descendent is proof. I am not sure if it is the theme that has made the game so wonderful but whatever the reason, this is what a game should be – refreshing, different and fun to play. IMHO, Star Descendent is most likely one of the best games this year and, if there are competitors, most of those will be from this developer. It is refreshing that they are not cranking games out so fast that they lose the spark of creativity in the process. Now it is time for me to go back and finish this excellent game. Even though I love the game, please try the demo to see if it is one you will enjoy as well.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We should vote. Rename MHG, Mad Head Masters!!! BASED ON COMPLETED DEMO I fully agree with Penmom36's perfect review of this game. I too, love the morphs but HATE the morphs in the HOS! Please put them back in main play. I missed EVERY morph in the demo....I had no idea they were in the HOS. Wish I'd read the other reviews before playing. This developer is a FORCE to be reckoned with! I loved the first Beyond, which was off the hook, and this one has a terrific story. The rollercoaster cut scenes were amazing... too bad you can't replay them in bonus content. I hate to nitpick but I am not a fan of these graphics either. Imagine, if this game had the same graphics as the game FRIGHT? With the live actors? Yikes! Break the bank! At least they were more colorful then Maze 2 & Shadowplay. But I feel like a bunch of us die hard casual gamers that buy and buy these games will probably have a larger monitor to play them on. I for one, bought a larger monitor to see HOS better years ago. This game in its windowed, original, state, is designed to fit a 16" screen, larger than a lot but....graphics still degrade on a 24" monitor. Thankfully, MHG has a great options selection where you can turn off the annoying game "miss-click", and pickup sounds. Most the DEV don't use a sound to pick up and "oops your wrong sound". Wish they would dump those altogether. In Rite of Passage + their earlier games it was a buzz-musical sound, now it’s a finger click noise that is just so annoying. I was able to adjust that in options and fix the aspect ratio which clears graphics a pinch, but they still stretch out to fill a larger monitor. Most of the bonus content tabs showed VERY little of what they are giving you. Most were locked until the game is purchased & played. I just wasn't wowed enough by the bonus content to buy the CE version but I'll definitely buy the SE once released. GRRR. When we buy the CE we want the goodies up front! Why are they locked until after the end of the game, when it's time to uninstall it? If it had a screensaver jigsaw....Or better yet just a screensaver, up front....I actually would have bought this CE too. They need to lose the Jigsaw idea...We saw that in Maze Broken Tower and it was a boring puzzle that didn't convert to a screensaver OR a wallpaper. I bought and completed -Beyond: Light Advent CE and to this day it is one of the most creative games I have EVER played!! I think both Beyond games will appeal to kids & adults alike. This developer is consistently thinking outside the box with ideas that WORK!
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FIVE STARS FOR MAD HEAD UNIQUE GAMING STYLE Mad Head is onto a unique gaming style that their BEYOND: LIGHT ADVENT shares breaking routinely dark and foreboding gaming parameters. Still, other developers, especially the big bucks programmers may develop exciting changes as well depending on sales--or am I still in outer space? Reviews can be misleading and many gamers purchase based on reviews which is why I repeatedly complain that BFG gamers are dished out the same boring and predictable themes. And which is why many of my reviews simply are never printed and are usually disliked. Wasn't always this way as I go back years and have hung in there while many older and better reviewers have gone such as top reviewer Nilosh. This is clearly a 3-4 star game, however, we gamers seriously need a change in games offered up so I smacked that 5th star in there gladly especially since we're flying through the galaxies! Some aspects, such as reading the discussions in a bolder font and more challenging puzzles could improve, the game is rather good. Familiar theme of child abducted and protective Mom to the rescue, Star Descendant places itself in a category all it's own with a creative twist on this older theme especially far from the gloomy, dark atmospheres and into the glorious and mysterious outer worlds. Thoroughly enjoyed the simulated roller coaster ride and travelling to another planet outside the Milky Way. Did you feel those G-forces? Gender and younger age appropriate. I like going after the bad guy and I like winning, however, I PREFER challenges rather than eye candy, morphing objects and the like that only waste my compulsive disorder time. With more work and, hopefully, more developers accepting that change is overdue, we gamers will get our fair share of challenge versus bells and whistles. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEYOND is beyond my expectations For some reason the sci-fi style games have generally not appealed to me and it's not that I am anti sci-fi. When I saw that Star Descendant was of that ilk my first impression was this is a game I'd ultimately elect to pass on. Boy was I ever wrong !! Mad Head has become one of the best developers in the HOPA world. MH hardly ever produces a dud. In this version a youngster ( Thomas ) is teleported from Earth to the planet Nenshe. The boy has extraordinary powers he was unaware of and the bad guy ( Kaine ) claims Thomas is his son and will do anything to keep the lad away from his mom who got to the new planet via a portal opened by a robotic that needed to be fed a tin can, and iron bar and a couple of other items to power up. There is a small section in a futuristic amusement park and a roller coaster ride that even on a PC looked way cool. Initially mom is thwarted by a humanoid ( Seth ) who later on realizes that Kaine is evil and wants then to help mother. This is where the demo ends. From the story alone, I want to go further. The game is beautifully drawn and the characters are life-like which is always a good thing. The HO segments are interesting and most of the puzzles offer little challenge. One good one involves locating various shaped objects to a landing site and there is only one way to do so. During the demo I never even looked for any collection items or morphs since I became so engrossed in the story and the means to go further. We are fortunate that October and November has produced some fine games and hopefully a new MCF will arrive in a few days. I will certainly acquire Beyond and give it my highest possible recommendation
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sci-Fi-Morific Morific for More Terrific game. Absolutely contender for game of the year award. Great game play and lots of little interesting twist to things along the way. Found a kids rocket at the beginning of the game as a collectable but did not see or notice anymore as I was so sucked into the story itself. What a wonderful game. Goes to the top of my to buy list.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TAKE A ROLLER COASTER RIDE............. INTO THE UNKNOWN BASED ON COMPLETION OF THE DEMO: When I first read the details about this game, I just knew that this wasn't my type of game. I don't necessarily like the sci-fi-type of games, but I'm glad I gave this a try because I was pleasantly surprised. I'm not going to go into detail about the game (like some reviewers have a tendency to do) because this takes away something from playing the game and trying it out for yourself. It's like someone giving you a gift, but telling you what it is, even before you open it. Here are my PROS & CONS: PROS 1. An excellent storyline. 2. Good graphics: colors are distinct, clear, and concise. 3. The music adds something to the overall theme of the game providing more excitement and suspense. 4. The mini-games/puzzles are fun to play, although some of them are a little on the difficult side. There are many of these in the 90 mins of demo play. 5. The HOS's are creative, and not just your typical 'find the item' type that is a standard. There are fluorescent vine-eating bugs to find, a book that opens up to provide you with the background on Kaine and his father (you have to put objects back in their proper place), parts of space tools/objects that you need to find and put together to aid you in your quest, and others as well. 6. My favorite two things in the game are the roller coaster (it looks so realistic), and distracting the cat off of the book with the use of a light pointer (that cats love). CONS The only negative thing I can say about the game is that the demo ended way too soon. As always give this game a try. If you're like me, and this just isn't the type of game that you normally play....stop...be adventurous...and give it a try. You may be pleasantly surprised (as I was). Enjoy :)
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game!!! Story, graphic and music are so amazing. Mad Head did it again. I love everything of this game. Ok, I don't like science fiction but this one has so much more. I'm absolutely convinced that this one is a top game
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you for being different No, seriously, thanks for a different storyline than usual. I think I played the last of this series as well, and it's nice to have a space theme.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game The storyline is very interesting and intriguing. I enjoyed every minute of this game.
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YOUR CHILD IS AN HONOR STUDENT – MY CHILD IS A SUPER STARCHILD! 5 CHAPTERS PLUS A BONUS CHAPTER OVERVIEW: Get ready for the roller coaster ride of your life in this fantastic 5-star sci-fi game. Years ago, as a secret agent, you discovered something out-of-this-world in one of your cases - an infant. As your maternal instinct kicked in along with your biological clock, you adopted this tyke. Today is his 11th birthday and you will soon discover the joys of dealing with a rebellious pre-teen after he discovers you are not his biological mother. When he heads off to a carnival, you follow him, watching him board a roller coaster. You follow and you both will be coasting through the galaxy on a thrill ride of your lives. Have you ever envied those parents of those super sports kids? Well, no longer. Your son is an up-and-coming superman – able to open portals with the sweep of his hand. Wow will you be the envy of your neighborhood! Your super kid is also an heir apparent to rule the galaxy. However, you are now going to have to deal with his long-lost father, Kane, who wants full custody of your tyke. This game is quite a blast into the cosmos of fun games. I LOVE this game! It was an automatic purchase for me! It is a carnival come-to-life! The story is loosely based on an old 1978 movie of Superman. The graphics are excellent with the space theme incorporated into the HOP scenes and puzzles as well. There are an equal number of puzzles and HOP scenes. However, I do feel the HOP scenes are better constructed than the puzzles. The collectibles are rockets ships and characters from the game. There are morphing objects as well. It will be a mommy-and-me adventure; your son is the helper in this game. I do not feel that game is very challenging; however, I do feel it is light-hearted fare which is fun to play. HOP SCENES: The scenes are the normal fare we see in most games. However, there is one which I feel is exceptional. It is multi-step HOP scene. First, you search a map of the galaxy for stars adding an additional item to each star order to remove it. Then, you replace items back into a scene and finally you find planets listed in BOLD letters based on cryptic clues. It is thematic and quite creative! There is also a storybook scene to explain the heritage of your tyke and a couple of lists of items. PUZZLES: I do not feel the puzzles are as creatively designed as the HOP scenes. They are all easy – a tad too easy for my taste. There is one moderately difficult connection puzzle in which you must connect lines between two like items without crossing lines. The others include a multiple-step one consisting of an easy gear puzzle, an easy switch puzzle to create a ticket for the roller coaster, and an easy slider puzzle in which you slide three colored slats into position. There are two variations of a maze puzzle. In one you rotate a maze with a ball creating a path so that the ball exists the maze. The second requires you to rotate 3 dials to create a path for energy to flow. There is also a tracing puzzle to move a light beam from one end to another in an “S” shaped figure. LEVELS: Planet, Nebula, Galaxy, Cluster (Custom) Hints and Skips: 15 to 90 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game 14 Achievements – Each has 3 parts Collect 31 rockets Collect the 11 characters from the game Morphing objects Replay 19 HOP scenes Bonus jigsaw puzzle 12 Wallpapers and Music Strategy Guide: 52 Pages HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: A. List of items. B. Mini-HOP scene. Locate 5 tokens. C. Multiple-step in a multiple-universe. Take a roller coaster ride through the universe with various scenes (1) Locate items in the galaxy on a map of the skies. (2) Replace items back into the sky to create the silhouette to be removed. (3) Sentences with planets to be removed in BOLD letters. D. List of items. E. Storybook. Locate and replace items into the proper place and find out about your awesome son. 3X PUZZLES: Puzzle Rating: (1) Extremely easy 2) Easy (3) A little difficult or time consuming (4) Moderately difficult (5) Difficult A. Manual dexterity puzzle. Using a laser pointer, trace a path from Point A to Point B on a S-shaped symbol without touching the edges. Rating: 1 B. Switch puzzle. Create a peace symbol by switching books on book shelf. Rating: 1 C. Multiple step. (1) Gear puzzle. Place gears in the correct position so that the teeth on the gears touch each other. (2) Sliding tiles puzzle. Slide 3 colored panels into the correct location. (3) Switch puzzle. Switch files to create a ticket. All puzzles are extremely easy. Rating: 1 D. Maze puzzle. Rotate a maze to lead a ball from the top of the maze to exit the bottom of the maze. Rating: 2 E. Maze puzzle. Create a path for a power force to move from point A to point D by rotating three wheels. Rotating one wheel affects the others. Rating: 2 F. Connection puzzle. Connect like objects together without crossing lines with each other. Rating: 3
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW..what a great game!! Came to this game rather late but WOW!! Kinda Tough Going as there are NO Instructions for the Games. Fairly Frustrating as I had to skip many to get thru but will try to figure them out next time - Game is Very Challenging ; HOP's very fun tho and the story line makes it very worth while. Graphics are LOVELY - well drawn, good color range and keeps on subject - GREAT Design with very little 'Clutter'. The "History Book' segues are excellent - great concept and very well rendered. This is the second of three games - I pick by the number of Stars that have been generated by good reviews - this one is almost 5 Stars and I agree!!
Date published: 2019-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great story and gameplay but not at all worth Collector's Edition The most you get with the CE is a bonus game that lasts maybe half an hour if you're not completely frustrated at the lack of being able to access things you're supposed to use to carry on. I, however, tried numerous times to click keys that were apparently not working until I broke down and clicked the only hint I used in all of the game. sigh. I gave the game 4 Stars instead of 5 because a few things did bother me. I absolutely love Mad Head Games. I love seeing new things come out because they don't have the usual boring game ideas others have and their graphics are amazing. BUT I gave this one a 4 because 1)Even if you go with minimal tips, they should tell you that the only morph object stuff you will find is in the HO areas, not the storyline. The storyline has rockets that you find but they don't tell you that either. I don't need or want sparkles on every single thing in the game but I do want a basic "HOPs have morphs, storyline has rockets". 2)Again, the CE isn't worth it. Sure you get bonus play but you don't get anything from getting achievements and you go back and see a bit of storyline that they pretty much walked you through in the story anyway. 3)Okay, this one may be a Big Fish issue but the image along with the game is that of a young blonde woman. Yep, she's in the game...for about 2 minutes, when she fusses on a parrot and shoots at you. She is NOT a main character, a playable character or anyone you know or need to know anything about. It's a pretty face to sell a game. I greatly applaud, standing ovation kind of applause, that the storyline is a mom saving her son and the world. Heck yeah! As a mom, even kinda a neighborhood foster mom to their friends, I would absolutely cross the galaxy for them. So for that alone I would have given a 5 star but the rest of it just didn't make it worth it for this one. I'd love to see more Beyond storylines and I still can't wait until their next game. I just don't know if I'll be going the CE route again.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The kid is really cute! I'm nearing the end of the Main Game and I must report that it's a game worth purchasing whether SE or CE, doesn't matter. The graphics are the very best thing about it though. The music is wonderful, as are the voiceovers. The storyline is interesting. I'm at the point now where I'd like the game to end. I wasn't too crazy about the mechanics of the game...constant clicking on items at times to complete a task, and using some items more than once. I play most of my games on my laptop and a game like this needs to be seen on a big monitor. As I mentioned, the graphics are one of the best I've seen and quite lovely. Kudos to the devs! What I liked were the mini-games. Some were challenging and some were easy, but different and fun to accomplish. The hint button is good and so is the jump map but you will be going all over the place. The objects to find were very innovative and the devs need to commended for their hard work. I definitely recommend this game but am rating it a 4-star.
Date published: 2017-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as good as the first Beyond game - more fantasy than sci fi I so wanted to love this game. I have been begging studios to write more sci fi games, literally. I honest-to-God send emails to game studios telling them that I want to play sci fi HOPA games, including this studio. I fell in LOVE with the first Beyond game. The characters were awesome, the environment was cool, the sci fi was high tech, the art was bright. Unfortunately, very little of that was carried over to this second game. This was little more than the typical "other world" fantasy game that so many HOPA studios put out. The villain was dark and evil. The aliens wore costumes that looked like they were from Robin Hood's time instead of an advanced sci fi culture. The technology was really close to being magic based - I was almost collecting potions to put the tech together. I hate to be this negative about a game that I begged for. But this was not sci fi. It was fantasy with a sci fi flair. Space opera?
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome everything...except gameplay. REVIEW BASED ON completed demo (Mac OS 10.11.6) ONCE UPON A TIME ????? It’s your son Thomas’ birthday, and among his presents from family and friends is gift without a tag. Thomas opens it to discover a bizarre device containing a mysterious message claiming he’s been lied to, and offering him the truth. So he sets out to meet his anonymous benefactor, leaving you to follow him across the universe to a galaxy under the iron fist of a despot determined to use Thomas and his newfound powers for evil. PLAY THE GAME ??? Initially, gameplay design was innovative. You actually saw Thomas’ hand pick up and hold objects, and retain them when they were going to be used immediately, rather than being placed in an inventory. Once the player character changed to Sarah, the design reverted to the traditional method: even if you were going to use an item immediately after you found it, it still went into your inventory. I found some of what was required cumbersome and silly. For example, at one point, I used tongs to remove a grating and take the two items hidden in the recess underneath. During this, the tongs returned to the inventory after each action, so I had to choose them again. Why didn’t they just stay in my hand? At another point, I used hedge clippers to take a plant sample to lure insects so I could capture them…to devour the plant. Why didn’t I just use the hedge clippers on the plant? HO scenes offered some variety with easy to medium challenge. • Basic list in four panels. Each panel, when completed, reveal a key. The four keys were used to open a chest for the final object. • Three-part. First, match three pairs of galaxies. Second, eliminate six configurations by adding the given object to the correct configuration. Third, choose the correct six planets based on the verbal clues given. • The backstory is related via a pop-up book. For each scene, find and replace three items. Puzzles were all extremely easy. • Three-part. First, a basic gears puzzle. Second, a 9-tile slider. Third, an 8-piece swap jigsaw. • Rotate the maze to move the sphere to the goal. • Drag all crystals to their matching goals without crossing paths. • Simon Says in three levels. Repeat sequences of 3, 4, and 5. NUTS & BOLTS ???? The interface was nicely designed with all items well-spaced. I’m not sure either map or journal were necessary; I didn’t use either during the demo as each area was limited and no clues needed to be referenced. You get (and lose) a robot helper, then get (and lose) Thomas with his powers. Four difficulty levels, including custom. Separate volume levels for music, voiceovers, and ambient sound. Full, special features, or no tutorial. Navigation was intuitive and hotspots were adequate. SOUNDBOARD ????? I enjoyed what I heard of the soundtrack, as it was appropriate to the game theme and accented dramatic parts of the game. Ambient sounds and voiceovers were both excellent. SIGHTSEEING ????? The graphics varied in style depending upon the location, a detail I appreciated. The palette was absolutely beautiful, especially as there was no overriding color theme. And I loved the pop-up book. NPCs were well-rendered and moved in a lifelike way. The animation was fabulous. OOH! PIECE OF CANDY ???? In the bonus chapter, stop the villain from destroying Earth. Collect the hidden rocket in each scene, and the morphing object in each HO. Earn performance achievements and use the SG. Replay HO scenes plus a super HO and a jigsaw puzzle. (No replayable puzzles…again. I thought we talked about this, Madhead?) Dev’s portfolio includes wallpapers, screensavers, concept art, and soundtracks. HOW I RATE GAMES Based on having bought 515 computer games (and having played hundreds more), a game should have a well-developed and entertaining storyline, logical and challenging gameplay, intuitive game mechanics, a variety of music and ambient sounds, and professional graphics regardless of style. END OF LINE Overall Rating: 26 total ? ÷ 6 categories = 4.3 ? (rounded to ????) I’m rounding down because the gameplay I experienced wasn’t all that challenging, logical, or fun. Perhaps it gets better as the game progresses. Since my rating hinges largely on everything except gameplay, and this is a game, I’m not going to recommend it at this point. I’m not sure I’ll purchase it, to be honest. Several fishies loved it, even aside from the “five stars for nearly every game” reviewers, so I recommend trying the demo. RECOMMENDED BY THIS DEV These are games I rated ???? or above at the time of their release. Some may be older, so please compare your system specs with the game’s requirements before downloading, and happy gaming, fishies! Beyond: Light Advent CE Cadenza: Music Betrayal and Death CE, Havana Nights CE Dark Realm: Queen of Flames CE, Princess of Ice CE, Lord of the Winds CE Dawn of Hope: Skyline Adventure CE Maze: Subject 360, The Broken Tower CE Nevertales: The Beauty Within CE, Shattered Image CE, Hidden Doorway CE Rite of Passage: The Perfect Show, Child of the Forest CE, Hide and Seek CE, Deck of Fates CE
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from To the stars and back... Hello, friends! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and not the story line, as others do a much better job on that than I. I believe this is #2 in this series. The graphics are exceptional, very clear and crisp. Colors are quite bright and true. Game play was excellent, with no problems during the demo and it fit my large screen quite well. Voices were age and character appropriate and there was much more character interaction than what we have had in the last few games. Sound FX are really nice. I actually liked the music in this one. It had that "edge of your seat" rise and fall in all the right places and at the right time to give you a feel that something not so good was about to happen. Animation was very well done, but a few times, the character jumped from point A to C without a step in between. Be aware that because you are traveling to other worlds, you will see bright lights twirling around. It is not frequent, but they are there. HOPs are nothing new or exciting and seem to be straight lists. Some scenes are a little cluttered, but not to the point where it is difficult to find what you are looking for. I did not see that you could switch to something else if you didn't care for the HOPs. You do have to find a morphing object in each HOP, which isn't as easy as you may think. So far, I have accidentally found each one. Puzzles are new in some respect and the same in others, but I found them to be fun and occasionally challenging, but not difficult. The hint system is helpful, but it does not transport to longer locations. Yes, you do quite a lot of back-tracking, but you do have a jump map to save some time. The only collectibles I found are 31 rocket ships. They are silhouettes and can be any size, but all seem to be the same shape. This was very disappointing. Definitely needed more collectibles. I beta tested this one way back in April. Can't believe it took this long to come out. I really liked the 3D affect in this game, e.g., your arm reaches into the scene to pick something up, use a key, etc. It made the game seem more realistic and made you part of it. The story was a bit different and I found it interesting enough to make me really want to play on and see what happens. When I beta tested this one, I gave it a 4.5, only because of the lack of collectibles. Everything about the rest of this game is very well done and I think most all level of players will find it interesting. Yes, I am going to add this one to my ever growing collection of CE games. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from OUTER SPACE FUN This review is short but sweet...all I can say is its a great game ..I'm not one for science fiction but I enjoyed this game enuff to buy it!! well worth it!!
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed with this Mad Head seems to be going through a bad period right now. Like with the Maze sequel, I had high hopes of this game and on the visual front at least, I wasn't disappointed: the scenes are beautiful. But as anyone who's read other reviews I've written will know, beautiful ain't enough. It wasn't enough for Maze, so it won't be enough for Beyond either. The storyline is as thin as the intestellar airspace itself, but padded out with throwaway characters and harmless bad guys that pose no real threat. The son character was so irritating, he made me wish for any other species as a sidekick, other than human. And all the major obstacles in the game feel and seem like they were written purely to fill time until the ending: hence we have a baddie who locks us up, only for an improbable way out to materialize in the form of your escaped son, and a crew of interstellar kidnappers who are going to throw you out a hatch until... oh hang on, they throw you out a hatch. There was no imagination put into the suspense in this storyline and as such, I am seriously struggling to finish it. Now that I'm nearly at the end, I also find myself looking at the exact same scenes that I saw in the beginning, and I'm starting to a bit ripped off, as well as bored. It's better not to release a sequel at all than to do one that adds nothing to the original, Mad Head... keep that in mind for next time, please! We expect better from you.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too boring... Found this game mind numbingly boring. Stupid story, disjointed game play, puzzles I skipped as weren't interesting enough and HOPs nothing out of the ordinary. Graphics were ok as was music. Clever at the start whereby you were more interactive with the characters, but this interaction soon ended. I usually love these devs games, but for me this fell short. Collectables were rocket drawings in each scene, (which weren't easy to find) and morphing objects in HOPs. I played to end of trial hour, but was glad when time was up. It started in a creepy old fairground, and had it stayed there I'd have bought in a jot. Turned into a bad sci fi 'C' movie! The 'son' opens portals for you, but it's not clear which places are needing a portal, and I really don't like portals (nor amulets) in games. Some will love this game I'm sure, but for me it was all very hum drum and no fun at all.
Date published: 2016-11-19
  • y_2019, m_10, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_25733, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Beyond: Star Descendant Collector's Edition

Travel beyond our galaxy to bring your lost son back home.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.