Myths of the World: The Black Sun Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Myths of the World: The Black Sun Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(430.55 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Eipix Entertainment presents the newest addition to the Myths of the World series! Your hometown's commander has gone missing, and you've been called in to investigate. Before you get far, a strange creature turns your father into stone! It's a race against the clock as you track down the beast and try to save the town. Will you find the monster in time, or will you become its next victim? Find out in this spine-tingling Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

  • Join forces with an unexpected ally to save a dying town in the bonus chapter!
  • If you're stumped and need a helping hand, reference our comprehensive strategy guide.
  • Collect hidden lizards to add to your terrarium and find morphing objects.
  • Earn achievements and collect statuettes to add to your souvenir room.
  • Enjoy replayable HOPs, mini-games, soundtrack, concept art, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 857 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Myths of the World: The Black Sun Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(430.55 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Myths of the World: The Black Sun Collector's Edition is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Commander of the Petrified Those under my command must have went into hiding. So just how did the Basilisk change into a monster during the day? HO;s were just ok, puzzles not much better, but improved as game went on. The use of inventory was really good and Character decent enough. Story line was good till the Basilisk killed during broad day light. There are some Morphing objects a ok jump map, and some critter action. Goes on the bottom of my to buy list for a sale or rainy day.
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I love this series and have all the other games so was looking forward to this one...what happened Devs? I found it annoying in that there was soooo much backtracking between locations and the storyline just didn't engage me the way in which they have in the past. Puzzles and HOs were all a bit forgettable. Sad!!!
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent gameplay eclipsed by ridiculous storyline. My initial excitement at seeing the title of this series—Myths of the World—transformed into disappointment after the first few episodes when I realized that the title was mere clickbait. We've yet to see much of the world, as eight of the eleven episodes have been set in Europe. And the myths have been given short shrift, being used only as a framework on which to hang a cookie cutter storyline: a revenge scheme with some supernatural element having nothing to do with whichever myth graces the title. The Black Sun ignores the rich history of solar eclipse mythology, using the event only as the harbinger of the return of the basilisk, a lizard-headed humanoid with fully-functioning vocal chords and a thirst for vengeance. (Apparently, THIS basilisk was not hatched by a cockerel from a serpent's egg, since I didn't see gigantic pieces of eggshell, a huge serpent, or an enormous cockerel anywhere. Just as well; this town has enough trouble.) Based on the Baron's accent, the clothing and armor, and the over-the-ear glasses, we're in 17th century Germany...and our character is a female commander-at-arms. (It may have been called "the Modern Era," but it wasn't THAT modern.) Also, the only total solar eclipse in the 17th century wasn't visible in Europe except in the Pyrenees. I may be nitpicking, but writing requires research; you can't just toss plot elements together and expect a coherent story. Lastly, the plot twist is blatantly obvious about 20 minutes into the demo. It's not much fun when you already know who the bad guy is, and the game still has hours left to play. The gameplay does offer variety and some original puzzles. My favorite was a complex lock requiring three crowns to be raised. I had to slide several segmented snakes along tracks to open gates which allowed other snakes to move, kind of a back-and-fill process requiring strategy. My next fave was a musical instrument requiring me to move a wheel from one end to the other. Some keys were already labeled with an arrow/number representing the direction/number of spaces those keys would move the wheel. Other keys had only an arrow, but had controls for me to designate the number of spaces. More strategic planning. HO scenes were creatively presented, each one different from the next. My favorite was an interactive bestiary in which I had to find the characteristics of the creature while being questioned by the healer. My next fave was matching up two objects in the scene which, together, created a word on the list. There was some quality original gameplay here, which I would really like to encourage, but I can’t get past the ridiculous storyline and shoddy exposition. The series is called “Myths of the World,” and this one is about solar eclipses; most myths about eclipses explain them with stories of gods or beasts either hiding or eating the sun. This could have been an epic tale of Fimbulwinter, perhaps deviating from canon to create a quest to get the sun back from Skoll, the wolf who ate it. THAT is myth. This isn’t.
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Solid 3.5....Just Not For Me, I Guess! I do enjoy this series, overall, but this game is not a purchase for me...at least in the CE form. I may get the SE with a coupon, or in a daily deal. There was nothing special about it that made me want to keep playing. I did get a bit confused in the 3rd HOS...couldn't tell if there was a morphing object in this puzzle, or not. In the "Extras" it looks as though I missed it, even though in the puzzle there is no indicator that there is one (A circle on the right side of the puzzle tells you how many you've found when you hover over it)...and I never found it, after 3 tries. I wonder if it's a glitch in the game? I guess it's just a mystery I'll never have an answer for... (If this is confusing, it will become clearer as you play, I hope.) As always, try out the demo for yourself!
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not all that great Downloaded the demo but I dont know it was just too boring for me. Just not for me.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No Go For Poor Eyesight I would have enjoyed the game but as an elderly person with poorer eyesight it was difficult to see the game much of the time due to the darkness of the scenes. I had figured this would be the case because of the screen shots but was hoping for a way to brighten it, as some of the games have had. If there was one I couldn't find it. My computer settings were at the brightest, I tried tilting the screen, lighting it, nothing worked. Otherwise, I think it would have been a good game, but it's a no buy because of that. I'm recommending it because if you don't have vision problems it's pretty good.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Defeat the King of serpents Welcome to the medieval town of Lunden. You are called to solve the mystery disappearance of the guards commander. The Inn owner is your proud dad, which gets turned into stone by a evil Basilisk; short after your arrival. With the help of the towns healer and with a modified, mystical weapon; you will defeat the monster. It is unclear who turned the Basilisk stone monument into a living creature. At least I couldn't figure it out till to the end of the demo. I not even have the desire to do so as the story turns out to be boring . There are a lot of puzzles to solve during the game and the HOP's more on the interactive side or you can switch to Match 3. You can collect Lizards and morphing objects and earn a ton of achievements. The graphics are well done, gives it a real medieval touch. Set your own level of challenge and try , you might have more fun than I did.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ANOTHER BORING EXCURSION INTO THE MYTHS OF EUROPE OVERVIEW: Hey “pumpkin!” Congratulations! You are now a commander – all decked out in shiny armor in this boring cookie cutter 3-star game. Get ready to kick down a few doors and perhaps shatter a few glass ceilings as you, a female commander, take on your first assignment, defeating a shapeshifting basilisk. This is no ordinary shapeshifting lizard, he also petrifies people, turning them into stone. Armed with a supercharged hammer, the Protector, you are off to stop this beast. Act quickly! You only have two days, during a solar eclipse to stop this beast intent on revenge. This game will appeal to all levels of gamers, those who love European myths and legends, hiking and yodeling through the Alps, and perhaps lizard lovers. The graphics are nicely done as usual for this developer. The story is another assembly line version of a dozen other of this developer’s games. However, the puzzles and HOP scenes are creatively designed. HOP SCENES: The HOP scenes are the best part of the game. They are well-crafted and include scenes in which you locate items and then interact with them within the scene. There is an impressive story book scene in which you locate items using a potion book as you answer questions about the beast. PUZZLES: THE EASY: The puzzles vary in design and difficulty. In the demo there are several easy puzzles. There is a matching puzzle involving keys. There are two puzzles which are more HOP scenes than puzzles. There is a storybook scene in which you locate items and place back into the proper position within the scene. There is also a puzzle in which you use a telescope to locate items hinted at within the story. THE MODERATELY CHALLENGING: For those more experienced gamers, there are two challenging puzzles. One is a maze puzzle in which you must pop up three crowns using worms. You must angle them into position which requires some strategy on your part. The other puzzle is one you must move a wheel from one end to the other. The difficulty here is that although some keys may be numbered as to spaced moved; there are others which are not. You need to figure out the space sequence logically. SUMMARY: Ho-hum! Sorry to say I am disappointed at the direction of this series. The series is named “Myths of the World;” however, a more apt name would be “Myths of Europe.” With most of these myths being centered in Europe, they are now becoming cookie cutter versions of each other. It is yet another lackluster werewolf tale – in this case the wolf has been replaced by a basilisk, a were-basilisk no less. Although the graphics, HOP scenes, and puzzles are beautifully created, to me, it is still a boring game. POTION WEARY! I dislike the weird theme of this game. I also am tired of creating potions in all the games recently. This will be a pass for me. For those love this series – enjoy! LEVELS: Animal Tracker, Beast Hunter, Monster Expert, Adventure Seeker (Custom) Hints: 10 to 120 seconds Skips: 10 to 400 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game Your helper is a hammer “The Protector” used throughout the game. 27 Achievements Replay 13 HOP scenes and 23 Puzzles Collect 39 lizards 8 Wallpapers, 4 Concept Art, Video, Music, Souvenir Room, Skipping Stones game, HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: A. Multiple step. (1) List of items. Locate 3 of each item. (2) Silhouette (3) Replace items back into the scene. B. List of items. You must match up two items to remove them. Rather unique C. Storybook. Quite creative. Use a potion book to find the items. You are asked questions as to the description of the beast. D. Silhouette. Search, replace and interact with the scene. Mini-HOP scene – list of items is within the scene. PUZZLES: (1) Easy 2) Moderate difficulty (3) Difficult When you use “The Protector” hammer you will play a matching game. Match up symbols, followed by a tracing puzzle. A. Matching/Sequence. Match up keys connected by strings in sequence. Rating: 1 B. Manual dexterity game. Ready, aim, fire. Center a crossbow to fire at the beast. Rating: 1 C. Storybook. Search and replace. Look for misplaced items and return them to the proper location. D. Maze puzzle. Lead mechanical worms into the proper position through a type of maze to pop up three crowns. Requires some strategical moves Rating: 3 E. Sequence/Logic puzzle. A little toughie in which you must figure out the amount of moves to move a wheel from one end to the other. The difficulty is that some of the keys are not marked as to the spaces. Rating: 3 F. Sequence puzzle. Remove a string from a parcel through a series of holes in the package. They must be pulled in order through the parcel. Rating: 1 G. HOP puzzle. Using a telescope, look for items hinted at In the story. Rating: 1
Date published: 2017-03-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from In this Title What can I say!!!!!! I've played most of the games from this company, and this game is the worst!!!! Graphics are horrible, the story line is so poor.
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from If the Basilisk is Human During the Day, How Did He Attack Dad This Afternoon? Since the basic premise of this game is broken during the intro, you know how thrilled I am! You arrive home from guard training to take the place of the local missing commander and investigate reports of an attacking monster. Shortly after your arrival, the monster turns Dad to stone. The local Baron orders both an investigation and results! But the monster, according to the local healer, Lisa, is human during the day, a monster at night, and will die at the next eclipse which will occur in two days. Dad became a statue in broad daylight as did another local craftsman. You saw the basilisk that attacked Dad. And, surprise, that two days till the eclipse is gone without the sun going down! You repair a boat and go across the river after the basilisk destroys the bridge and the eclipse has started by the time you get across. Talk about time flying! Are we all confused by Devs who set up their story and then tank it? Good stuff - all the required game elements are here, with the usual selection of time wasters and logic drainers, along with CE bling. You will have a special weapon that Dad used during his guard service which will involve extra puzzles Bad stuff: Along with the basic sabotage of the story there were some decidedly odd things - one local guard immediately assumes, despite your uniform, that you are a bad guy and attacks. The next one that happens along after you defeat the first guard, waits while you go get your orders that Dad hid in the bar. The healer's head was floating over the cauldron after the player said she left. Also, the coachmaker's lock figurine was found under Lisa's bed. Once again the story is disjointed and confused with little to attract us to the characters. Beyond all that, we again have, to quote BFG, "stone-cold" statues in our story. (Hey, guys, not a good sign when they use the same phrase to describe yesterday AND today's games in their blurbs.) I found nothing here to make me want to purchase this game. You may find something to like. Please try the Demo for yourself.
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring, no challenge, not CE worthy! Hi all! Another Myths of the World, #11 in this series. I do not have all the others, I only have 8 and not all of those are CE versions. As always, I review on the game play and seldom on the story line, as others do a much better job of that than I. The graphics in this addition aren't as well done as previous games. We have some very nice scenes and others that are a bit blurry. Some graphics are more cartoon like as well. I did notice that when the lady was mixing the potion, when she finished and stepped away from the cauldron, her head seemed to have copied itself, and was just floating where she was standing when she moved away from the pot. Then the head stayed floating there when she left the scene. Weird. Colors are bright and true for the most part. Game play was excellent, with no problems during the demo. The voices aren't too bad, but seem somewhat silly on some of the characters. The sound FX are pretty nicely done and can be hear throughout the demo. Music just doesn't seem to fit this game and what is happening. HOPs are a combination of interactive lists, pairs and silhouettes. They are fairly clear and items are not difficult to find. We do have morphing items in 13 of the HOPs, so be on the lookout for them. Puzzles are not too bad, but mostly quite simple and took no time or brain power to complete. I just do not care for the "tracing" puzzle at all. There is a lot of running back and forth, but eventually we do have a transport feature show up. Didn't even bother with the map. Hint system is quite helpful as well. Collectibles are only lizards of various colors. Most are fairly large, but are well blended into the background and not all that easy to see. I was disappointed in the lack of nice collectibles. This game could certainly have used them. I did like this series, but this one was just very slow, to the point of me getting bored. Not much character interaction either, and no real challenge other than to try to spot the lizards. It is a pretty simple and easy to follow game. I just don't feel it is CE worthy. I often feel that the SE makes a much better game, so I will put it in my puddle and give it another shot, but I seriously doubt that I will purchase the game. Personally, I think this one is geared more toward the extreme beginner. The devs just didn't give this one the attention it needed. I see that some have given this 5 stars, even though their review wasn't on the plus side. Sorry, I can't do that. I will only recommend this game for new beginners who just want to get a feel for this type of game, but not for anyone else. I gave this one a 2. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-03-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My Dad's Petrified of Basilisk's Your assignment as Commander has brought you to your hometown and Dad couldn't be more proud of you all dressed up in shining armor! The Baron has issued martial law, because a giant basilisk has been selectively petrifying the townsfolk. When the giant lizard turns your very own father into stone, you immediately take action as commander instead of daddy's little girl. Further investigation reveals that your father and a few other men followed questionable orders given to them by the Baron himself, on a hunting trip over 20 years ago. After a rare occurrence of the Black Moon Eclipse, the basilisk was transformed into a bipedal monster by night and by day, takes the form of a human! His gaze turns its victim to stone, with no known reversal cure. To defeat the Basilisk, you must first figure out what happened on that hunting trip, but the answer may not be the answer you want to learn about your dad. Before dad turned to stone, he gave you an important gift, a weapon he used in the war, and had modified by an alchemist with a powerful gem. The newly forged "Protector" is capable of battling foe, and shielding the innocent, after playing a mini game naturally. I was utterly bored with this game and couldn't wait until the demo ended. I found the graphics to be cartoonish at times, the tasks at hand monotonous and the storyline ridiculous. There was nothing about this game that make me want to play it after the demo. The Hidden Object Scenes are varied with Multiples of the same item finds, finding Pairs of items that are Associated, and Progressive Interactive Silhouetted Shape finds, some of the HOP's offer a small puzzle or Mini Game. At least this game offers a variety that will suit just about everyone's taste, the scenes are clear and the items are recognizable. The Mini Games were good, but nothing really impressive. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Select pairs of keys that are connected by the same string to remove. 2) Assemble a mosaic picture offered in a Hidden Object Scene. 3) Shoot the arrow when several bars are in the green zone. 4) Select and place items in the scene where they belong. 5) Select a symbol on the item and then on the Protector until all have been removed. (this game is played each time you use the Protector) 6) Drag the energy ball along the pattern without going outside of the lines. (this game is played each time you use the Protector as well, with different symbol designs) 7) Raise all of the crown tiles by selecting snakes to move along the rails to open and close compartments until all sections of the crown are raised. 8) Press all the keys to move the wheel to the other side. Keys can only be used once, numbers and arrows show distance and direction, wooden knobs adjust the number of moves on blank keys. 9) Pull out the string by selecting the correct holes. 10) Find evidence of the basilisk, according to the clues. Select arrows to move the telescope, move the eye slider to adjust the focus and then select the evidence found. This Collector's Edition has a Souvenir Room, Skipping Stones Games, 13 replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 23 replayable Puzzles, 19 Videos, 7 Music Soundtracks, 8 Concept pictures, 8 Wallpapers, a Terrarium, 27 Achievements, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2017-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sorry You know I have not played this type of game for a while. The graphics are horrible, it totally lacks emotions in character and voice.. It seems that it was just slapped together. I am truly amazed at the contents of the game especially from Epix..
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is the first game I never finished I managed to get to the fourth chapter, all the while saying "I hate his game." It's boring, confusing, makes no sense. The mini games are weird, too. Don't waste your money.
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from All I did was skip This was hard and not fun for me. The collectible lizard was so hard to find that I had to use the guide=No Fun. I like just looking for and finding hidden objects. They just had to make it complicated which equals no fun. I just want to play a game and RELAX. The storyline is good and others will love this but not for me. I can't, not recommend just because I hated the puzzles because it's not a bad game just not for me. No buy for me.
Date published: 2017-03-28
  • y_2019, m_3, d_16, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_26346, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Myths of the World: The Black Sun Collector's Edition

Can you stop a stone-cold monster before it's too late?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.