Leaves: The Journey

Leaves: The Journey

PC

Also available on

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(79.07 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Leaves: The Journey is an artistic exploration and puzzle-adventure game full of real sculptures in a surreal dreamscape. Collect and combine information and solve a huge variety of challenging puzzles and mini games.

Your sudden arrival on the high plateau of the Stony Mountains caused quite the commotion among the Treefruities. They even forget to hold onto the leaves of their home tree causing a great calamity when a gust of wind scattered the leaves across the lands of Mononino. Help the Treefruities get their lost leaves back and enjoy this amazing journey. Explore the fantastic land of Mononino where strange creatures and secrets are waiting to be discovered.

  • Artistic and thoughtful puzzle design
  • In the tradition of Samorost and Machinarium
  • Challenging puzzles and unique mini games
  • Explore four vast worlds
  • Composers Gary Marlowe and Daniel Hoffknecht

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 306 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Leaves: The Journey

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(79.07 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Leaves: The Journey is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 102.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Challenge! If you love games like Machinarium, you'll love this beautiful and unusual and mind-bending game. It's very challenging, in a way that so many games these days are not! And the artistic presentation is lovely. These really unusual and thought provoking games are few and far between. I absolutely love it.
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AT LAST!!! AT LAST a real game without horror, blood, gore, supernatural etc. This game is a true challenge, a genuine feast for the intellect. There are no instructions beyond 'find the leaves', no hints, no easy reset button, no dialogue, just amazing graphics, charming characters and truly mind-bending puzzles. It does take a while to get into it (it took me about 30 mins to work out how to play the game) but once you get the gist it is a thoroughly addictive, utterly delightful experience. If you get stuck youtube have video walkthroughs. Enjoy. Big Fish should have more games like this one.
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Gorgeous! I have never left a review, even after being a very long time BigFish player but LEAVES moved me to write. This is the most beautiful, challenging game I've played in many a year since the days of MYST. If you want something fast this is not for you. It requires a lot of patience but worth every minute spent with it. Thank you for a wonderful creation.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ridiculously pleased with myself This is a fascinating game, and because of its lack of instruction and help, I find I am ridiculously pleased with myself when I solve another little piece of the puzzle. It's not that difficult, just different and requires a little bit of patience. I find it works best for me if I leave the game altogether if I start to feel a bit frustrated with lack of progress. Usually when I go back to it there is a sudden epiphany and I find myself solving the next step and moving forward. Probably only for the patient puzzle player, but I love it!
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO CLEVER! I really like this game... no hints system, just you and the game. Puzzles are not easy as I like. Noises and graphics simples but efficients. Maybe this game will not please to begginers or hidden objects lovers but for those who like challenge and puzzles, this is the game for you!
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thoroughly excellent! My first thoughts upon entering Leaves, was "Myst": there is a rather lovely, surreal feel to the whole game, which reminded me so much of that well-loved game of old. The game moves in a similar fashion as well, with you having to solve puzzles to progress, using hints and items which you pick up along the way. Yes, the game is a challenge - one minute you will be grinding your teeth with frustration, several (quite a lot of several, in many cases!) minutes later you will be overwhelmed with a smug feeling of satisfaction when you finally have that "eureka! light-bulb" moment, and solve the puzzle - but that is a good thing! Too often, these days, games do too much hand holding: Leaves lets you find your own way. It's immersive, it's compulsive, and deserves to be highly recommended - I love it :-)
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunningly immersive and challenging puzzle adventure! Review based on: full demo Overall rating: ????? What my rating means: It’s so superb that I’d gladly pay full price for it. SHORT & SWEET SUMMARY REVIEW Travel through a surreal landscape, solving unique puzzles that’ll make you think and finding the leaves of the home tree. This game is a breath of fresh air and proof that creative game developers with innovative ideas are still out there! More details on the specific elements of the game below the fold… ———————————————————— STORYLINE The adorably cute Treefruities’ home tree has lost all its leaves in a powerful gust of wind. Since they can’t leave their tree, it’s up to you to travel across the land of Mononino, collecting the leaves. On your way, you’ll encounter curious creatures, enchanting environments, provocative puzzles, interesting items, and onerous obstacles. EXPLORATION As is par for the course in adventure games, you’ll want to have a notepad and pen handy to jot down clues that are presented, because this game does NOT hold your hand. It expects you to use your brain. Don’t let that scare you off. You’re free to experiment, and you can’t do anything wrong. Be observant of your surroundings, too. (If you use an inventory item, and it remains in your inventory, there’s a reason!) PUZZLES Puzzles range from medium difficulty to extremely challenging. (Loud cheers!) Included among those I encountered during the demo: • A circular jigsaw with wedge-shaped pieces and a rather convoluted design that increased the difficulty. MEDIUM • A key-lock puzzle that required pattern-matching skills (depicted in the second screenshot above). MEDIUM • A fragmented, freeform jigsaw where the pieces did not always conform to the outline, but still fit within it. The pieces could be rotated. DIFFICULT • A clock puzzle using a clue from earlier in the game. EASY-MEDIUM DESIGN You can navigate wherever you see arrows at the edges of the screen, or where there are ladders or doorways. Your cursor will light up when you hover over navigable areas, zoom boxes, and items of interest. Move your mouse to the top of the screen, and a pull string will drop down; click it to reveal your inventory. You can access the map by pressing “m” on your keyboard. Areas where there are leaves are noted, so you don’t miss any. PRODUCTION Lovely graphics, animation, and music make for a completely immersive game. CONCLUSION I knew within 15 minutes that this would be a YES for me. If you prefer challenging games that don’t lead you by the nose, then Leaves is your kind of game. You’ll actually have to figure everything out here, without hint buttons, animated helpers, long annoying conversations with NPCS, cutscenes, journals, strategy guides, or a bunch of codes in your inventory. Just your brain.
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something different Love the game, a lot of fun puzzle and not really easy. No hint button, and quite complicate to find out, how the game works. ESC Button is the trick to get into the menu by the way. The graphic is beautiful, an the game quit challenging. Without the walkthrough on youtube, I probably could not have done it :-). If you look for something new, without voiceover or background music and not a real story line. (we have to find the leaves which fall of the tree) which is different, and if you love puzzle and a lot of thinking, this is your game. I like it.
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! Nice Change From The Norm. Love the challenge. Finally figured out how to make sure I collected all leaves in each scene. Only one puzzle so far did I have to find a cheat to finish. This is a welcome and fresh strategy game. Thanks Big Fish for stepping out of the box and giving your gamers something to really use the brain and reasoning skills. Nice graphics and music. Love seeking and finding the hidden creatures throughout the game. Haven't finished yet but am having a great time.
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GAME STYLE SOLIDLY IN THE CATEGORY OF ADVENTURE with leaves & items to collect & puzzles to solve Available at BFG since 2017. Review based on demo. What solid fun! Crazy, surreal and weird, but in a peaceful, serene kind of way. I am loving every second of this! Please get more games like this! More than anything the whole thing reminds me of the little kids' TV adventure, "The Clangers" from the 70's. You will collect items from scenes and use them in other scenes. You will also come across puzzles. As you collect leaves, you open more scenes to investigate. ************************************** HERE ARE SOME HINTS FOR NAVIGATION- MENU- press ESC MOVEMENT/TRAVEL: On any given scene, if you move your cursor to your screen edge, and a white arrow appears, you can move to a scene in that direction. CURSOR LIGHTS UP: Hovering and scan your cursor across ALL items you see in the scene. If the cursor LIGHTS up, it means something is to be done or collected. Click the mouse, and something might fly into your inventory. Like in a typical HOPA game, you have to decide where to use it, which might well be in a totally different scene. INVENTORY: If you hover your cursor to the top of the screen, you will see a circle drop down. Click on it and your inventory appears. There are spaces for the leaves you collect, and other spaces for your inventory items. Inventory is NOT lockable. EXIT a scene- to reverse out of any scene- go to bottom of screen and select the arrow that will appear. ************************************** GRAPHICS - Widescreen or Full screen. Good enough to create the right ambience, but not super detailed. PUZZLES: NOT skippable. NO instructions. Easy to medium difficulty. If you find it fun figuring out what to do in a puzzle by yourself, then this will be enjoyable, otherwise not. SOUNDS – I didn't see any adjustments in the menu. No music, which is good for me (since no adjustments). Your background sounds are a relaxing mix of, white noise-outdoor sounds and effects of the environments and creatures you see. MAP: NOT TRAVEL. Will show you where you are in the scheme of things, so that you can work your way around. JOURNAL: NO DIFFICULTY SETTINGS – 1 MODE ONLY HINT: NO HINT CHARACTERS: From what I've seen, none as such. However, beasties and creatures seem to be lurking here are there!! Thanks for having this game on BFG!
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a gem! Every once in a blue moon, Big Fish offers a gem of a game and Leaves is one of them. If you like hand-holding, cutsie helpers, hints, supernatural stories, etc.....this is NOT a game for you. but.... If you like the Tiny Bang type of game, like using your little gray cells and have the patience to figure out the puzzles and your next move, you will love this game. Guaranteed!
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful game Wow! I haven't had that much fun since the Tiny Bang Story. Part of the fun is that you have to find out what is expected from you and how to achieve that. You can feel that this game is made with love and fun! A mustbuy for me and for anyone who likes the Tiny Bang story, Shaban or Machinarium.
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strangest Game Ever - but love it A complete departure from anything Big Fish has offered; as far as I know. Outstanding challenge! Music eerie and befitting for the game. But I have no clue what it is going on! LOL Love this game.
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am intrigued What an exquisite brilliantly thought-out game, so good for the gray matter. If you ever loved Machinarium games, you will definitely love this.. Beautifully done and many places to go with intriguing puzzles to do as look for the lost leaves. Story, I am not sure for it will tale some time to finish it. Give it a try, I recommend this game.
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best I have ever played This is by far one of the best games I have ever played. If anyone is old enough to remember Myst, this harkens back to that. There are no instructions, so be prepared for a challenge. You really have to think this one through, but don't get discouraged. The music is great and didn't bother me to listen to it for a long time (which did happen while I tried to figure stuff out), the art work is amazing, the animation remarkable to look at and a little strange. It is hard to be sure, but so worth the effort. IF you are up to it...
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OUTSTANDING PUZZLE ADVENTURE! YAY! Please leave a gracious BFG comment for an original and challenging puzzle adventure. No crying that the game is too difficult--no skip, no help, no step by step strategy guide. That's the point in playing games, especially a challenge! When playing cards, do we hold all aces up our sleeves? I think not. There's plenty of mind bending, boring games from which to select. Let's give a warm BFG thanks! Original and mind bending. Love it. Yay! Thanks so much! Enjoy!
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delightfully difficult Beautiful graphics Simple story Work everything out for yourself
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from head scrathing anyone! You must return the leaves to the fruit tree after having the impertinence of landing with a thud and shaking them loose. Basically if you liked Shaban or The Tiny Bang Theory then this is the game for you! Be warned ! you may spend the first ten minutes of the demo trying to figure out how to even start! I have only completed the demo so but a buy for me!
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic & Challenging Puzzle Game Fantastic! This game has subtle yet gorgeous graphics and it also has wickedly clever puzzles. A more cerebral game but well worth playing!
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun adventure game Solving the riddles is big fun.
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME. Pure adventure!!! For all the folks who left such negative & stressed out reviews... RELAX ;) This type of game is amazing (AND relaxing) once you settle in & start exploring all aspects of your environment. There really are LOTS of hints along the way! Sometimes its handy to have a piece of paper handy (for eg. to jot down a pattern), but once you've explored a few scenes & enjoyed all the quirky cleverness that has gone into the flora & fauna of this universe, the next steps will come easier. The sequel "LEAVES- the Return" is just as excellent~ and the story comes full circle.
Date published: 2019-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging and very rewarding I was warned-this is a difficult game until you get the hang of it and then once that happens, it is beautiful, challenging and fun. There is a very good built in hint feature once your figure out how to access it - another puzzle but not that hard. Give it a try if you are tired of looking for objects in non sensical places, getting rust off of locks and swords, car crashes, finding the parts to wells etc. I highly recommend this game to people who like logical puzzles.
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenge yourself! Stunningly immersive and challenging puzzle adventure, you owe this game to your brain! You won't be sorry you tried both Leaves the Journey and Leaves the return, if you get stuck there's help.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a game worth playing Being a fan of the "original" Mystery Case Files and being let down from all the cookie cutter games that came after, this is an absolute gem. If you require hand holding this is not the game for you. Negative reviews I think are because people gave up too soon, It is meant to challenge & if you love puzzles that require using your noodle you'll love it!
Date published: 2018-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please make more of these!! Loved the challenge of this game. New, different and refreshing! There are no hints but there are clues that must be worked out. I highly suggest you try it. There are walkthroughs on youtube that are helpful, but do not simply tell you how to do the puzzles. Can't wait for the next one.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant! I prefer the puzzles in most of the games I buy, I skip the conversations, I feel the hidden object games are just padding, and muting the music and voices are the first on my to-do list. I do like the morphing objects too, but Leaves: The Journey is just puzzle after puzzle. The visuals and sound are amazing. There's no skip or help though, which is probably a good thing. I persevered and got a great sense of achievement with each success. I did have to resort to a Walkthrough on occasions though. The story is: Leaves fall off a tree and you have have to find them again. I've now started Leaves: The Return. I will stop sulking about buying the new MCF: Rewind now. Thank you Big Fish.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from spring time in the rockies let the trees, flowers sprout I played both games I really found both to very entertaining and fun
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Sleeper I nearly missed this one the first time through, but I'm so glad I stumbled across it. I'm sure I read the synopsis and thought, "this sounds really dumb." It isn't, it's brilliant. It is very challenging. Like Tiny Bang Story, one of my all-time favorites, it has nearly no information for the player and even movement has to be discovered. The inventory isn't in the standard place and even the Help screen requires a puzzle to be solved to see. That's pretty rough until you get the hang of it. Pros: Charming other-world scenes, a magnifying glass that you use even when you know it isn't going to do you any good because when it does show you something it's always worth the effort. Excellent ambient sounds. Terrific puzzles everywhere. Cons: none, except that the player is really, really on his or her own. This can be frustrating for some who might have been sucked in by the simple innocence of the plot and were expecting a much easier game. Overall, fives all the way across and completely worth the effort. This one offered me days of play, and a feeling of accomplishment at the end that was reminiscent of the early days of gaming - dare I even invoke the holy name of Myst? Yes, like that. I loved it.
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For the first 5 minutes... ...I thought this was a bad purchase decision. I admit I went in search of a walkthrough, which helped me get a feel for how this game worked. (It reminds me of the MYST game from the 90's). Once I got my head around the game, I really enjoyed it! Some of the puzzles are familiar if you play games regularly, some take a bit of lateral thinking. I suggest you keep a notebook handy to jot down clues etc.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a quick or fast game I was not sure about trying this after reading the critical reviews but so glad I gave it a chance. You do not have any instructions, it's a "let's try this" approach. The graphics are stunning and the music soothing. I found it challenging and enjoyable - a nice change from point and click games. It is not one to play to relax - makes you think on different levels. Lots of trial and error but such a feeling of success when you understand it. You use the escape button to access the menu for those that want to give it a try.
Date published: 2017-08-08
  • y_2019, m_12, d_5, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_27154, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Leaves: The Journey

Travel to mystic lands and help the Treefruities recover the lost leaves of their home tree. Search for clues and master puzzles during your journey.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.