Leaves 2: The Return

Leaves 2: The Return

PC

Also available on

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(75.77 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

LEAVES - The Return is an artistic exploration and puzzle-adventure filled with real sculptures in a surreal dreamscape. This sequel to LEAVES - The Journey is a stand-alone addition and playable without any knowledge of the first part. Collect, combine and solve a plethora of puzzles and mini games that will challenge your wit and skill.

The Stony Mountains are as welcoming as ever, but unfortunately, the Treefruities are once again in trouble. Holding onto the leaves of their home tree still proves to be a challenge when the tree is rocked by a giant fit of sneezing that scatters the leaves across the lands of Mononino. Join the Treefruities on this amazing journey through new fantastic landscapes to get their lost leaves back and solve challenging puzzles and mini games.

  • In the tradition of Samorost and Machinarium
  • Explore four vast new worlds
  • Atmospheric soundtrack
  • Composers Gary Marlowe and Daniel Hoffknecht
  • Leaves: The Journey

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 289 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Leaves 2: The Return

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(75.77 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Leaves 2: The Return is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant! A wonderful, fun challenge and a worthy sequel. Review based on: completed game Overall rating: ????? What my rating means: For those who love a challenge, and detest having their hand held. SHORT & SWEET SUMMARY REVIEW The adorable but grumpy Treefruities lose their tree’s leaves again, so you’re off through the surreal landscape of Mononino to gather them up, solving challenging puzzles along the way…with absolutely no hand-holding, hints, sparkles, or strategy guide. YES! More details on the specific elements of the game below the fold… ———————————————————— THE GOOD • Tons of puzzles ranging from medium difficulty to mind-bending. There are no directions, but if you’re observant, you’ll find plenty of clues to guide you. (I’m not going to describe any of the puzzles, because doing so would constitute spoiling the game. Part of the enchantment is discovering for yourself how the puzzles work.) • The graphics and animation are variously bizarrely surrealistic (like a Dali painting), too cute for words (watch for the denizens of Mononino), and beautifully detailed. • The music is soothing and and the sound effects are perfect. THE MEDIOCRE • There are a few puzzles that are repeats from the first episode. I would have preferred all new challenges. • This episode seemed a bit shorter than the first one, but this may be entirely subjective and based on the fact that I didn’t have to learn how to play this episode; I was already familiar with the game mechanics from having played the first episode. • The inventory mechanism is, perhaps, a bit cumbersome. THE BAD Nope. Nothing. THE HORRIBLE Only one horrible thing…I’m already ready for another adventure from this dev. *sigh* I guess I’ll have to console myself by replaying both Leaves games. BEST GAMES BY THIS DEV • This game and its predecessor, Leaves 1: The Journey, which I also gave five stars.
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Puzzle Game. Loved both of the "Leaves" puzzle games. Well written and fun to challenge your mind without getting too complicated. Hopefully they will add more to the Series.
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd time's the charm! I finished playing Leaves the Journey, and went straight into playing this game....I'm hooked. These games are very different from your usual HOG's and Adventures. They are a much slower pace and much higher brain usage! The beautifully rendered graphics and the flow of the game make it very enjoyable.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So often sequels are disappointing.......... So often sequels are disappointing, but not this one! I could not rate the first Leaves highly enough and was ready for the standard to fall for this one, but I am again searching for words to explain how much I enjoyed this game. My advice, as before, is to take your time. Don't be too quick to look at the hints. Search everywhere, cursor every corner of the screen, click everything. Progress will probably be slow to start with but you will soon work it out. Take notes, and if you feel you are stuck then just wander around and enjoy the scenery and the soundtrack for a while! A brilliant game.
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Like This, Please I have to admit I bought this from another game site because Big Fish wasn't offering it yet. Loved both Leaves games and am waiting for more. I'm looking for more brain teasers like this. Hope you're paying attention to all the great reviews, BF!
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging Puzzles, Beautiful Design, Enchanting Story Leaves the Return is creatively designed, with puzzles that will drive you a little crazy, but in a great way. Each scene is beautifully presented, with hidden inhabitants to make you smile. It's going to be hard to go back to regular hidden object games after this one. Big 5 Stars to the creators of this game. Thank you for challenging entertainment. I recommend this game.
Date published: 2017-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The magic continues! I just finished Leaves - The Journey after working on it for the better part of a week, and now the sequel is released! Another must buy game. The developers of these two games must be geniuses. Leaves 2 - The Return is quite challenging once again, but so delightful to play. One of the most imaginative games ever. Such a refreshing game after all of the kingdoms and princesses in trouble or mystery sleuth games. In Leaves 2 one is required to use one's head to solve puzzles in order to collect colored beans that will eventually lead to the collection of dozens of leaves that have fallen from the tree. Some of the puzzles are very difficult, but with the help of video walk-throughs it's impossible to get stuck for very long. I'm not sure I would have been able to finish without the videos. The graphics are very crisp and the artwork amazing. These two games are simply wonderful, so please developers - keep them coming!
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brain Exerciser! I played the demo for Leaves: The Journey and immediately decided to purchase it! So happy to see a second mission to help the TreeFruities. Highly recommend these two if you consistently turn off tutorials and don't use hints. Puzzles are definitely different from the usually adventure games; no hidden objects. I found it refreshing 'cause nowadays they all seem to be the same...sigh! If anyone knows of similar gameplay, please msg me. Thanks!
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from magnificent game What a wonder these two Leaves games have been. I have SO SO enjoyed them. Completely different, puzzling, challenging and engaging. Please lets have Machinarium which I gather is similar. Brilliant brilliant..
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PLEASE "LEAVE" A POSITIVE COMMENT! Can you locate all the leaves? Once we wrap our minds around the game concept, solutions are certainly do-able. Did anyone else notice that the 1st Leaves The Journey has already 80 REVIEWS and that's just within one month of it's release here on BFG? Hmmm. Hopefully, notice will be given that loyal players who appreciate a good challenge are STILL HERE. Truthfully, took me a couple days, however, completed the 1st Leaves feeling somewhat spent but victorious. Brains still intact tho it was a stretch. Yay! Onward we go to face another Treefruities disaster. Enjoy!
Date published: 2017-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A game for those... ...who feel a THRILL at being left to figure it all out! I feel like a kid in a playground, with lots to explore! There's no temptation to hit the Hint or Skip button for direction or puzzle help...because there aren't any! If you prefer having a Hint or Skip button, please enjoy one of the 95% other games on BFG that can offer that. Stylistic and artistic graphics! Puzzles in a weird and wonderful settings! My Favorites: Legacy-Mercy of the Gallows, Untold History Descendant of the Sun, Dominic Crane 1 & 2.
Date published: 2017-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Mind Challenging Game Wow these strategy games are so refreshing. The Hidden Object with robed glowing eyed evil spirits and finding a relative games were getting really boring and stale. Thank you Big Fish for the refreshing games that have us using our brain. The developers provide us with beautiful graphics, interesting creatures, soothing music and out-of-this- world scenes. Puzzles that had me pulling out my hair and others that just seemed to astonish me when I figured them out. Most were fairly straight forward when you looked at the clues. My brain is on overload. Playing the first Leaves helped me with some strategy to figure out the various patterns and logic for the puzzles in Leaves 2. I finally finished. I am sure to play both Leaves games again in the near future.
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Leaves are back! And I am thrilled! The Leaves games hearken back to the original Zork...you actually have to stop and think, look around, and be prepared not to solve everything in short order. What there is to love: the graphics, music and sound effects are enchanting (and not in the current day 'fairy tale fantasy' sense); no twisting of fables, fantasy stories, looking for lost relatives, saving the world/universe, no gadgets or helpers...I could go on and on. As much as I do love many games that aren't of this style, this is a refreshing change of pace from what has currently been offered in my previously preferred genres. It can be frustrating not to have a strategy guide at hand, but there is a hint system that will require some thought to access. Overall, it is just a wonderful escape to another world that is filled with hidden inhabitants and whimsy, and it will require patience and thought to visit each area and restore the leaves to the tree. Not for everyone, but give the demo a try and see if it works for you!
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THESE TREEFRUITIES ARE HIGH MAINTENANCE! Return to the most frustrating, mind bending realm of Mononino, where those adorable Treefruities are once again in trouble. The gust of wind was nothing compared to a tree cold, and when a tree sneezes, poof! The leaves have scattered once again, so you must search for clues, find useful inventory items, and solve tricky puzzles, to earn your leaves back. If you don't enjoy solving puzzles without guidance, you won't enjoy this game, there is no hand holding, no how to's, no tutorial, no hints. However, there are plenty of clues, you just have to figure out how to apply those clues. I'll give you an example, so here's fair warning of a SPOILER ALERT in case you want to discover it for yourself (just a clue, not the answer) -pull down the inventory map, click to get a clue, open the statues head, figure out how to place the keys, figure out what happens when you are correct! END SPOILER ALERT. Not so easy to figure out the puzzles, certainly not so easy to navigate, but if you're patient, and willing to use neurons, then just go ahead and purchase the game, because the demo isn't long enough to explore all the options, and there's so many leaves to find, enjoy the journey!
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Leaves" Me Wanting More The Treefruitees have had the misfortune of landing in a tree with a cold. The tree sneezes and leaves flutter everywhere. It sounds so simple; just click around in the game and find leaves. But first players must solve some really mind-bending puzzles that challenge from beginning to end. This a game you can really immerse yourself in and time just slips away. I only hope the developer realizes what a gift this game is and creates more.
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from `Brain Pain!! OUCH ! I wear this enormous headache as a Badge of Honor which was earned by enduring just the demo. Now that I've stepped out of the box to purchase both Leaves games, I'd better get my old thinking cap out. Hopefully I will survive the shock of true gray matter stimulation. Can hardly wait to find out, after reading all the great reviews for the first one! It seems this is our exciting escape from the world of fairytales and the supernatural, that we have fallen into. Thank you Big Fish for this refreshing, much needed break from the norm! Faith....
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just brilliant! Hands down my favourite series (Leaves 1 and 2) this year on Big Fish Games. Bravo! Would love to see more like this!
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Autumn leaves This is as good as the 1st though I admit to cheating once this time. But what a great game, I am only half way but it is like doing a cryptic crossword in visual mode. A lot of lateral thinking going on. Well done developers.
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More! I love this game. I bought Leaves: The Journey a few weeks ago, then turned around and found Leaves 2: The Return. Bought it from another game site, but it messed up my laptop so badly that I had to uninstall it and delete it from my registry files before my laptop could recover. The game from Big Fish is working great though. Just bought it. Again. That'll teach me to be impatient. Keep 'em coming, Big Fish!
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whew! Well, that was a challenge. Some of the puzzles have straight forward clues, others can’t be taken as shown, and you sometimes don’t know if you will get a clue later or if you have all of what you need already. I had to get about half a dozen hints from walkthroughs -mostly because I thought I had figured out the clues and had tried many approaches and things weren’t working. It was kind of frustrating to see what needed to be done - I did all the heavy hauling with the clues only to be stymied because the top is not the bottom in my world. Also tricky is you can get to the last piece of several of the stand-alone puzzles and be wrong, but that was OK - it just got the brain juices flowing. The stacking rings puzzle, the numbers crossword puzzle, and the puzzles involved with directing the drops were my favourites because, even though challenging, I had a grip on what needed to be done. I just wished there had been more of those linear self-contained types of puzzles rather than the cryptic clues ones where you have to guess the orientation. Did the developers just toss a coin - oh let’s make this one mirror image, or upside down? I really disliked the three coloured squares and Y figure and just gave up. I would have skipped it if possible. But, all in all, despite the game being frustrating at times, it is light years ahead of those cookie cutter, spoon feeding puzzles that dominate the market. I sincerely wish BF would have a better sorting system. I look for challenging games and this one went under my radar for a long time only to be discovered because of someone else's posting.
Date published: 2020-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating and surreal This game is a strange visual experience, with amazingly surreal scenery. The puzzles are hard enough to be a real challenge, but have logical solutions. This game is very different and well worth exploring.
Date published: 2018-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top notch game What a magnificent game, a true challenge based on pure logic. No bells, whistles, frills or gimics ....thank you for providing a proper grown up game that had me captivated, frustrated and eventually totally relieved that I was able to complete it. Some of the puzzles had me totally flummoxed but I thoroughly enjoyed the challenge. Not many of this type of game available......bring on more !!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exercise for the brain! After reading penmom's review I was afraid to try this game (she is such an expert) on one hand, but challenged to give it a go. It took me several days to get it completed, I guess these old brain cells (75) are still working. It was fun, challenging (I got lost a few times), and thought I failed to find all the leaves (no spoiler info). And no grading for english. :-)
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please Add Another to the Series! Like almost every other reviewer, I am a fan of both Leaves games. It took almost a week to complete each one, because when I was stuck, I found the answer after leaving them for a day. And what satisfaction when you FINALLY figure out a particularly difficult puzzle! The hints button can be reached by pressing ESC and then solving the puzzle for a hint. (See below) I think you can only use it a couple of times, so be judicious. The funny invisible characters and strange backdrops were amazing. I hope a new Leaves is in the making. How refreshing these were after so many dreary formulaic pseudo Gothic scenarios. Spoiler Alert: The "hints" puzzle combines both diagrams into one according to the black/white combo image.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the game I think this game has spoiled me from ever enjoying another pc game... I loved the challenge, loved the music, and loved the out of the box thinking behind putting this game together. Played both the Journey and the Return. Now I can only hope there will be a 3rd.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brain Twisting A welcome return to the land of the Treefruties, with more mind-boggling puzzles and plenty of knights-move thinking! The landscape is again surreal and reminiscent of Myst. A refreshingly different game which gives the old brain cells plenty of exercise. You keep making them, I'll keep buying them.
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doable game but have to consult help over and over to advance The game is not playable without having to constantly "Esc" from the game to consult the help - mind you even trying to figure out initially how to get to Help was a task in itself. You cannot move back to a point you have been without laboriously going back through every scene you have already visited and it is required you do this many times throughout the game. Also a bug in the game on top of it all one of the leaves didn't register as being found (the one on the Maze entry) yet is disappeared from the scene and the game would not allow me to complete without starting the game completely over. Leaves 2 has the potential to be a cool game but way to laborious navigating through it. It became very boring very quickly repeating scenes and dragging back through previous rooms to complete tasks.
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No fun getting started This is supposed to be a game that stands alone from a previous game but it gives you no instructions. I don't see why I should have to do my own research to find out what to do - what have they got against giving us some basic instructions.
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stay Away - No Strategy or Instruction I'm guessing that this is an "insiders" game. There are no instructions. A depiction of a tree opens and you are supposed to figure out how to play the game. I removed the Big Fish Game application and all the games that I've bought after trying this. I only opened it and tried for 5 minutes. I hope I don't get Russian hacked, but seems to be the jokes on me, because I couldn't figure out how to get the game open, what leaf to click in order to enter the puzzles, etc.
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Guess I'm not cerebral enough for this one I consider myself to have a decent amount of intelligence and common sense. But this game plays more like an entrance exam for CIA operatives. Seriously, I dislike a lot of hand-holding in fantasy games that involve a lot of mindless tasks as time wasters. But Leaves 2 goes to the extreme opposite. When I have to constantly consult a video walkthrough to advance in a game, it's just not fun or entertaining anymore.
Date published: 2017-08-23
  • y_2020, m_12, d_1, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_27276, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Leaves 2: The Return

Mononino and the Treefruities are facing another disaster. With the leaves of their home tree once again scattered, your help is greatly needed.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.