Ghost Files: The Face of Guilt Collector's Edition

Ghost Files: The Face of Guilt Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(395.41 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Young police detective, Emily Meyer, is assigned to solve a serial killer case "The Guilty Man" when a mysterious woman calls stating that she knows the identity of the killer. Follow Emily on her quest to trace the mysterious woman, elude death and ultimatly catch the killer in Ghost Files: The Face of Guilt.

  • Re-playable puzzles and Hidden Object Scenes
  • Downloadable Music
  • Downloadable Wallpapers
  • Extraordinary collectibles

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2703 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Ghost Files: The Face of Guilt Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(395.41 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Ghost Files: The Face of Guilt Collector's Edition is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Investigation beyond physical It wasn't hard to get hooked on this game since first minute when we get mysterious call by person who claims to know important info about our case and in the same time we are offered help by psychic. I don't want to spoil anything for those who did not played it yet so I'll just say that whatever I expected was toped by very clever storytelling and finest details by which story reveals to us. I enjoyed forensic kit and adored hidden object scenes, especially one in refrigerator. Whole rooms - scenes are well thought out and for curious and devoted player there's more than plenty rewards. One part of investigation is really delving into paranormal circumstances and proofs from beyond as name of the game predicts and it was challenging as much as it was fun.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game! Great who did it plot! Real detective work. Nice graphic, but sometimes bleary and crimp. Soun was good. Great animations and good effects. Great extras! Overall, nice hidden object game!
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I likes this game. Playing as a Detektive was fun and a paranormal case that turned out more normal than expected - with a twist in the bonus part - was really nice.
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely Crime Game! Overall I thought this game was pretty solid. The beginning screen with the buttons on the buildings as neon signs was very unique. The art was great throughout, and the voice actors fit their roles well. The addition of a forensic kit felt realistic and made me feel more immersed in the character as I worked towards solving the case, The alternative game for the HOPs was fun, and I liked the powerups. I wish there was some variation to the boards, but otherwise I liked that option instead of the HOPs when just couldn't find an object or wanted a change. At times I felt that my actions were delayed, or the hints would lead nowhere (sent me to the forensic kit then after another hint would tell me to exit out of it without doing anything), but overall this was a nicely done game. Very enjoyable and felt realistic.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A dark tale, told well. The graphics, background sounds, and voice-overs are all very well done. The music is a little slow, but that was probably done to add dramatic effect. The storyline is not really new —you’re a detective chasing a serial killer— but there is enough of a twist to make it interesting. HO sequences are challenging, without making the hint button your best friend. Likewise the mini-games. Others have described the play-by-pay and so-called special features of this CE game, I won’t duplicate their work. I’m not a fan of CE games, as you already know if you’ve read any of my other reviews, so I’ll wait for the SE version and get that. If you like CEs, get this one.
Date published: 2017-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One of the best detective games out there This is one of the best detective HO games I have played. Takes place in Boston in contemporary setting with the help of a psychic, who guides you through a parallel world requiring the use of runes in the Element of Forge to unlock blocks in your passage. OK, it sounds corny and so what? But it's a fun game to play and you really feel like a detective in CSI, comparing fingerprints, looking at bullet shells and blood samples under the microscope, etc. The storyline is well written and even plausible, despite the paranormal side story. The HOS are the standard list of objects with interactions for certain items and a few morphing objects that change their appearance. A few items are hard to find, but most are straightforward. Mini games are not difficult and appropriate for the theme of the story. The CE version has 20 tarot cards, 5 forensic instruments, and 10 polaroids of victims to find. The bonus game is decently long, but ends abruptly. It also has the usual wallpapers, replayable video cut scenes/HO games/puzzles etc. I liked that you still get Hint, Skip and helpful messages even when played on Expert mode. The extras in CE version aren't extra special, but the bonus game is better than average. This is a very enjoyable and engaging game that would be fun to play again. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good Game I normally review graphics quality in games, but I will begin by saying that the story has some original elements that give it some uniqueness; however, there are some long spells with not a lot going on and it becomes a bit boring at times. Now graphics....while it won't win any awards in this area, in many cases the cut scenes are better than most BFG games these days. It does use a "washed out" color palatte and I'm not a big fan of that technique. That would be OK in some instances in the game but it's overdone in this game. An aside, while most of the BFG developers seem to be cutting way too many corners these days, these smaller developers tend to focus more on quality. I only hope more and more of these new guys come along!
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I TRIED IT AND LIKED IT! WHILE THIS GAME DOES NOT GIVE YOU A WHOLE LOT TO GO ON BY WAY OF INSTRUCTION, I STILL FOUND IT INTERESTING ENOUGH TO BUY AFTER THE DEMO. WHO DOES NOT JUST LOVE BEING TRAPPED BETWEEN WORLDS AND TRACKING SERIAL KILLERS?
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did Anyone? I started out liking this game, it had what I wanted Detective, clues, serial killer, murder. Then it went into the supernatural aspect, Really? How many times have we seen this? Why couldn't they have just left it out? Also noticed a lot of grammar issues, missing words in the text dialogue and spelling errors, didn't anyone that was testing the game or checking for issues notice this and the voice acting wasn't that great.
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from DID THE GUILTY MAN KILL A GHOST? WHAT DOES THIS GAME HAVE TO DO WITH GHOSTS? I was really excited when I read the title of this new series, Ghost Files: The Face of Guilt. Awesome, says I, a new paranormal game series about Ghosts! After downloading the game, my anticipation starts mounting, first things first, let's check out the "extra's," contain yourself says I. So I gather my excited wits, surely there are ghostly beyond objects, says I, aha!, er....wait a minute, where are the Collector's Edition extras? Well, turns out that you have to Buy the Game, Play the Game, and Yes, you actually have to FINISH THE ENTIRE GAME before you have access to anything! Now I understand what that stupid saying means that my Grandma used to always say, "you wouldn't buy a pig in a poke" I remember asking her, Grandma, what's a poke? Her reply, it's a bag, my next question, but Grandma, why did they put a pig in a bag? Her response, "exactly!" Hmf!?! Now that the proverbial pig is out of its bag, or is it still in the bag? Anyway, let's just move right along to the story, Ghost stories! Wait, what? Ghost Files is about a serial killer? Okay, maybe I just haven't progressed far enough into the game, I'm betting that the serial killer has been dead for about 50 years, but he thinks he's still alive, I says to myself, keep playing! Nope, it still seems that the "Guilty Man" is very much alive. Ooh, ooh, I know the answer, Emily Hunter, the lead detective, is really dead, but she doesn't know she's dead and keeps coming to work, that's why she just ditched the Psychic, Julie Sanders, right? Wrong, she's apparently still alive too! So I keep doing my detective thing all over the city, suspecting that everyone I see, is just a ghost, but they keep disappointing me with their living, breathing, aliveness! By the end of the demo, I've come to the conclusion that I'm not going to see any ghosts, until.........I FINISH THE ENTIRE GAME, am I right? The Hidden Object Scenes involve finding several ghosts. Actually none of that was true, they are just normal junk piles, consisting mostly of Interactive List finds or Progressive, Interactive Silhouetted Shape finds. You can opt to play an alternate Monaco Card Game of matching pairs of identical cards with ghosts on them. Okay that part isn't true either, there are no ghost pictures. You can make matches vertically, horizontally, diagonally or ghostly. The Mini Games don't involve ghosts or files. Below are brief descriptions of some of the ghostly games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Turn the safe dial to the correct numbers and the correct direction, right, left or ghost. 2) Compare the 2 finger prints by dragging the microscope lens across the ghostly sample on the right, searching for unique marks given on the left side. 3) Compare the DNA of two ghostly blood samples by finding 3 pairs of matching microbes. 4) Use the ghost mouse to drag the ghostly chain along the line until you reach the ghostly hole on the right. 5) Select the 3 ghostly flowers from the fridge clue magnets on the padlock sliders. This Collector's Edition has 22 Achievements to earn, 10 Collectible victim Pictures, Collectible Tarot Cards, 5 Forensic item collectibles, Wallpapers, Concept Art pictures, Movies and Cutscenes, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, and lots and lots of non-existent Ghosts!
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WOULD YOU BUY A CE WHEN THE EXTRAS ARE “HIDDEN” UNTIL THE GAME IS PURCHASED? A serial killer is on the list and the body count is growing with the latest discovery of victim ten. Each victim receives a pieced together note containing only one word – GUILTY. You play the game as Emily Meyer a top-notch crime detective. As you begin your investigation another detective introduces you to Susan a psychic detective who has proven very helpful to the department in solving other cases. Of course, your attitude towards Susan is rather dismissive and you brush her off since you don’t have time for all that psychic mumbo-jumbo. When the department receives an emergency call from Bethany Stenward saying she knows who the killer is, you rush to the scene but arrive too late. Little do you know but you might just change your opinion of Susan and call on her to help after an unexpected turn of events requires help from someone with her abilities. Game Quality including graphics, voiceovers, and sound is very good with the main character’s voiceover excellent. Modes of gameplay include: Casual, Advanced, Expert, Custom Hints: 2 – 240 seconds Skips: 10 – 120 seconds Along with a map you have a forensics kit that will allow you to collect and test samples that you will collect at the crime scene. The HOP scenes are the best part of the game, at least for me. I enjoyed the variety and the interaction required in the scenes. The items were not difficult to identify so the scenes were not so difficult that they became tedious. Since they seem to be plentiful, it is good that they are fun. The puzzles are fairly easy and nothing jumped out at me as so difficult that I had the desire to skip them. The puzzles are nothing new but those I did find were interesting and seemed to fit well into the game. I presume the CE version of the game includes the standards extras such as collectibles, achievements and other items that we have come to expect. HOWEVER since all of the extras are locked and the strategy guide in the demo version does not allow us to see the extras it is rather like buying a pig in a poke. A note to developers: if you expect me to buy the CE version of a game, you must allow the extras to be seen. I am assuming that since they are locked there are not very many extras to be found. Although some might feel that the game is very easy it was perfect for the way I like to play. I have heard others say the game might be short but again, I tend to take my time when playing a game and have to look at everything and click on the little details to see what happens. As a result, a game that might be short for others is my perfect game. Some games are so long that by the time I reach the end of the main game, I have no interest in going on to play the bonus. Even though, I find Ghost Files the Face of Guilt to be a wonderful game I don’t recommend the CE version since the developer has chosen to lock its extra content until the game is purchased. I am also giving the CE Version of the game a much lower rating than I normally would give a game I like. As always, I recommend that you do try the demo to see if this is a game you will enjoy and then you can make your own decision about purchasing the CE version of the game. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not pleased! Lot of work went into this game. Although I recognize the work I remained not pleased. I did not like the changes to weird space in between worlds. The load times were annoying. I am not a fan of political correctness so punching out some character in real life situations ok but the many fights and avoiding obstacles while driving was b-o-r-ing. When I find myself taking hints and skips to just get it over with that means I'm not entertained nor drawn into the game. I try to not knock games lightly. This game however deserved my ere. I think I would recommend to each make up your own mind/
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a bad game for beginners... Hi all! As always, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story to others to explain. The colors in this game are really pretty nice. Graphics are clear and nice as well. There didn't seem to be much in the way of animation during the demo, but some, and done well. Voices were nice, but our detective was a little boring in a monotone way. Music wasn't bad either and did get interesting now and then. Sound FX weren't too bad, but the game was fairly quiet, even with them. Game play was good, with no glitches or problems during the demo. HOPs were silhouettes and interactive lists. Scenes were clear for the most part, but some were a little cluttered with background items. I accidentally found a morphing item in the HOP, which I believe was one of the listed items I was looking for. Didn't see that we could switch to a different game or puzzle. Puzzles were extremely simple, nothing new and nothing that took any time or thought to complete. Jump map was very bland, boring and cluttered. It seems this game is a bit older than we think. I couldn't get anything in the SG to open to see if I was getting all the collectibles or not. You have to buy the game to do much of anything, including see the extras. The hint system is quite helpful, but there is not a transport feature, which is something that would have been quite nice. You do a lot of back tracking to multiple areas to find one item or complete one objective. Collectibles aren't bad at all. We need to find 21 tarot cards, Polaroid pictures of serial killers and various forensic evidence which could be anything. None of these jump off the page at you, so you really need to pay attention to what is in a scene. I think we might be in for a surprise as to who the "real" bad guy is in this one. It is nowhere near challenging and I think is geared more toward a beginner than anyone else. If you just want a no brainer, rainy day kind of game, this is it. I do have a number of those, but this one just didn't excite me at all. It moved very slowly and was just too simple. I'm sure it will appeal to a lot of people and I will recommend it only for beginners. No, I will not be adding this one to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Playable - but ... This game has some VERY good elements, but does get weird at times. It is fraught with spelling errors - always a sign to me the developers aren't paying as much attention as they should. I couldn't find all the tarot cards - but the bonus chapter was unlocked anyway.
Date published: 2019-10-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Major Tech Issues! I have a touchscreen computer, which works very well with most games, but not this one. Every time I touched the screen (to collect the items in the safe for my forensic kit) it left a small square in the spot I touched...they reminded me of multi-colored sticky notes with writing on them....small, but annoying...and they remained there from scene to scene! I even exited out, and replayed, but they are still there. I'm sure an update will come out to fix the issue, and I quit using the touchscreen, but since they remained, I gave up trying to play. Here's my review from the short time I played: The graphics are very poor, IMHO. Grainy, blurry, and hard to know what is what....pretty much everything I don't want in a game. I read two previous reviews stating there are no collectibles in demo...there were collectibles in mine...hard to see, but there! I also read a review that the finger print couldn't be lifted from the lock, but I believe this player missed putting the fixative on, before trying to dust it. I made the same mistake at first, too....but then lifted the print when I added the step I had missed. Even if the update fixes the problem with the graphic squares, I would not purchase this game...just feels as though it was put out too early...with poor graphics, glitches, and maybe even by "newbie" Devs? I really couldn't tell you if the story line is any good, or not, as I only got to the second scene before the technical difficulties made me quit. If you try the demo, don't use your touchscreen!
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from "Ghost Files?" I didn't see any ghosts. Did you? Review based on: full demo Overall rating: ?? What my rating means: Slow, boring story and easy gameplay. SHORT & SWEET SUMMARY REVIEW Oddly disjointed storyline, extremely easy gameplay. Extras are locked, so you don’t know what you’re getting. Also, that’s not what Boston looks like, and that’s not what Bostonians sound like. More details on the specific elements of the game below the fold… ———————————————————— STORYLINE Detective Emily Meyer hasn’t a clue about the identity of the serial killer known as “The Guilty Man.” Finally, she gets a lead when a woman calls, claiming she knows his identity. Detective Meyer violates every police procedure in the book in her zeal to catch the killer. I couldn’t figure out why a murder mystery was entitled “Ghost Files.” Now that I’ve played the demo, I still don’t know why. The storyline was rather disjointed. Given the computer on her desk, Detective Meyer should have suspected who the killer was and been able to set a trap to capture him. Instead, she goes off without backup and without a clue…and, apparently, without having cleaned her gun. GAMEPLAY The forensic kit provides for a set of repeating puzzles involving fingerprints and blood samples. Fingerprints: find five patterns within the print (really just wave your mouse over; it’ll find the patterns for you). Blood: find three microbes that the two slides have in common. Other puzzles include quite a few where you’re just copying the clue, matching the notes to the marked keys on a piano, moving a chess knight to unlock a box, and other extremely simple tasks. HO scenes included interactive list, silhouette find and use, find multiples, and find the capitalized words in the narrative. Each scene has a morphing object, and you can play a matching card game instead. Other than that, there’s lots of back-and-forth problem solving, obstacles to overcome, and locks to unlock. There was a refreshing lack of shaped keys. PRODUCTION While the graphics were fairly good, 19 Congress Street is not a seedy, rundown residential neighborhood; it’s a stunning stone building in the middle of Boston’s financial district. I get that this is fiction, but if you’re going to use a real world setting, it should be true to life. None of the characters sported a Boston accent. The music was repetitive and I was forced to turn it off. EXTRAS The extras were locked, but as far as I can tell, they include a bonus chapter, downloadable music and wallpapers, replayable HO scenes and puzzles, performance achievements, and several types of collectibles (Polaroid photos, Tarot cards, and forensic equipment). There may be more than that. CONCLUSION To me, the two most important aspects of a game are an engaging storyline and challenging gameplay. Since this game had neither, I can’t recommend it.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOISE POLLUTION I will not even finish the demo. Once again, and even worse than ever, they have decided to add an EXCRUCIATINGLY ANNOYING NOISE to now EVERY move of the mouse! This means you cannot play with sound. I didn't really enjoy the gameplay either as the scenes were too dark and action/objects were disjointed and confusing.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Expensive HO Game! I just did not like this game due mainly to one HO moment after another, after another and 2 x seconds later, another one! With the quality of CE games being released nowadays, this was sadly "lacking" and reminded me of the early days when this genre of gaming first became popular. And to boot, the HO games were just that ... whereas today, the top DEV's are making them more interesting, different and thought-provoking. I did not feel this was worthy of a CE release but they have potential and need to make their games more exciting, interesting and challenging rather than continually having to play HO games! I don't recommend this as a CE game but worth purchasing as a standard game.
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Spent all my time looking for a ghost or a Guilty killer. ??? Spent most of the trial time on endless meaningless task most used up all my time before even getting on an elevator to someone claiming to know who the Guilty killer was. Not enjoyable. How do some games with low reviews get a big fish flame and a game like dragon scales #3 with 5 stars from everyone get nothing. Lots of better games out there than this one. Don't even think it's worth waiting for the standard version. I give very few bad reviews but sometimes one needs to.
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Demo does NOT include the CE bling I thought the purpose of a trial period was to allow a gamer to experience all the sights and sounds a game has to offer. Unfortunately, the developers of Ghost Files locked all the added content. Bad mistake on their part. While the graphics are okay, the story line is a bit weak and for me, that's what keeps me interested in a game. I played on the easiest customized settings and found the game flowed okay with the puzzles being easy and the hidden object scenes just as breezy. I played for only 25 minutes since there was no point, if I couldn't access the extra content. I'm guessing the developers didn't include many CE extras in this game and that's why they weren't offered in the demo. So I'll wait for the SE and demo it for the full hour.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The game needs to be Ghosted Very poorly done. This game could put me to sleep. Poor visuals, Not very good characterizations, game flow was so so, Forensic kit could not be used on lock for a finger print so I quit at that point. Sorry but no finger playing this game for me.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Everything is Bad It took all I had just to get through the demo because this is one of the most slow paced, boring and lifeless games I've seen in a long time. There isn't really anything to praise about this game. The plot is predictable, the story takes ridiculous turns that make the serious plot laughable, visuals look horrible when animated, music is so forgettable you may as well have it off, the voice acting is bad but that may be due to the incredibly poor script writing. I give the creators a C+ for effort but that's because they at least showed that they gave up on the concept of making an interesting game in the demo. Take out the spirit world crud and this would have made a better story, maybe even a book.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Boring!! Far too easy, and plodding. Find something in a room, use it somewhere near it.... bleh...
Date published: 2017-06-27
  • y_2019, m_11, d_18, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_26481, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Ghost Files: The Face of Guilt Collector's Edition

Follow Emily on her quest to trace the mysterious woman, elude death and ultimatly catch the killer in Ghost Files: The Face of Guilt.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.