Darkness and Flame: Missing Memories Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Darkness and Flame: Missing Memories Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(504.82 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Your uncle Colin is haunted by nightmares of a familiar woman begging him for help. Convinced that he will find answers if only he can remember, he calls on you for help. Now you must set out on a dangerous adventure to find a healer who can restore your uncle's lost memories. But you must hurry - the Darkness is hunting you! Together, you will need to face many trials, solve dozens of puzzles, and ultimately face the dark army threatening the whole world! Will you succeed in time?

  • Play as a different character in the bonus game!
  • Collections, achievements, morphing objects, and bonus puzzles
  • Wallpapers, concept art, soundtracks, and more!
  • Use the integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1039 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Darkness and Flame: Missing Memories Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(504.82 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Darkness and Flame: Missing Memories Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did you see the fallen Statue of Liberty? I also seen the fallen Statue of Liberty in the first game in this series. I loved this one so much more than the first. 4 Long Chapters + a Long Bonus. Eighty items to collect. Thirty of them are Morphing. I'm so happy I bought this. I Love a female Hero. I Love the respect the uncle and niece have for each other. I Love that the uncle taught her to drive the dune buggy. I Love that they respect other people's opinions. I Love the storyline. But you don't have to understand why I gave it 5 stars, equaling that I Love the game. Because this is my review and opinion. I like the collector's edition for the things to collect, guide, video and wallpaper. Some might like to replay puzzles which this has.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game I've been waiting for a game like this. Loved the storyline, the characters, the artwork, puzzles, bonus game, - everything was great. Thank you!
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FABULOUS, JUST FABULOUS REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS I had an amazing adventure with this game. Honestly fishies, don't let this one pass you by. The main game is about Colin and Alice and the bonus is about Steve and Kiara. Both stories are separate. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Casual, Advanced, Hard and Custom modes of play; * Interactive map; * Diary; * 22 Achievements * Find 30 morphing objects (in game only). The graphics are spectacular - well defined, crisp and easy on the eye. The devs put a lot of effort in this game and it shows. I loved roaming around everywhere and checking everything out. The music is orchestral and very beautiful. I had it on very loud while playing. The hidden object games are highly interactive silhouette. You find one item to use to find another item, etc. You do each HOP once. These were fun to do and there are also little mini-games in them as well. Each one takes around 5 minutes or so. There are a great variety of mini-games to play and I loved them all. Some don't take long to do at all, while others I spent some time on. You know the ones - you've got to get them in the right order and/or colour. There was my old nemesis - putting the clock numbers back in their right place. That one took me ages! For the first time ever I was able to turn off the morphing and collection items so that I could find them myself without the hand coming over it. What can say - I was in heaven. I played in Custom mode and turned everything off as I wanted the challenge and I got what I asked for. So thank you devs. As well as the 30 morphing objects to find in each scene, there are also 7 signs, 8 scorpions, 8 dogs, 7 pinecones and 8 scrolls to find in the main game. There are also 12 mushrooms to find in the bonus game. These are pretty easy to spot and grab. The morphing objects were a lot harder to find as some blended well into the scenery. Find them all and you get an achievement and an extra puzzle to play. I didn't use the interactive during the game, but had a play around afterwards and it worked well. All up the game, bonus and extras took me well over 10 hours to play. I could have played 10 more given the chance. Overall, an action packed adventure game with plenty to do in each scene and you will never be bored or frustrated. Happy playing fishies, this is a gem.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute Best This is THE best adventure hidden object I've played in years and I have played thousands! I don't usually care about the story line but this is fantastic! I think it would make a great fantasy movie. Excellent artwork, beautiful scenes. Each hidden object scene is different. Incredibly fast paced. Great map. Extras to find in each scene. A definite buy for anyones collection!! Way to go devs! Want to see more like this.
Date published: 2017-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY AN AWARD WORTHY FANTASY ADVENTURE !!! From the dream team that brought New York Mysteries and Lost Lands comes another epic master piece. Darkness and Flame: Missing Memories. This sequel to Darkness and Flame: Born of Fire is an awesome adventure equally as stunning as it's predecessor. This was a must buy for me. Another excellent episode in the Darkness and Flame series, and although it doesn’t actually continue the same story, it certainly features the same main characters and just enough familiarity to make old fans feel welcome. However, the mechanics are anything but original. As far as the story is concerned, it all revolves around Alice and her uncle Colin, who is suffering from nightmares in which a woman is asking for his help. Unfortunately, he cannot remember her name or anything else, so it’s pretty frustrating, which is why he decides to send Alice on a quest to find a healer and recover his memories. Even if the plot is pretty predictable and simple, the adventure is quite fun and enjoyable. There are a few surprises in terms of puzzles, but most of them should be familiar to the fans of the genre. Most of them challenge you to spot the right pattern and apply it until the lock is open, but there are hidden object sequences as well, and quite a few variations on the theme. The graphics are particularly nice, especially when it comes to level design. The attention to detail makes every scene appear more lively than it really is, not to mention the nice soundtrack and the decent cut-scenes that present the story. All things considered, Darkness and Flame: Missing Memories has what it takes to be fun for a couple hours. In addition, it’s quite colorful and nicely designed, which helps with the overall atmosphere. I love the genre this adventure falls under and I really hope this series continues with more editions. Cheers! ????? ????? ?
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Full game and Bonus Loved it, just what I expect from this developer. If you love the first three House of Thousand Doors, the Lost Lands and Born of Fire and Flame series, you won't be disappointed. The morph's are not always easy, the games are familiar but different, the story is good, this is everything I like in a fun relaxing game. Great Job to everyone involved.
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the game Was a purchase right away. Love this sequel and enjoyed every minute of the game. The Story is great, gameplay is smooth and love the graphic. Could not stop until the game was finished. Can't wait for the next one.
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Battle the darkness and save the girl The premise behind the story may be cliche but the game is not. Yes, there is a woman to save and dark memories to heal but the path through the game to achieve that is not so mundane. I see from the reviews that some were not impressed with this game but for me this is one of the most enjoyable games from Big Fish in quite awhile. Other reviewers have commented on game play and story line so I won't do that. I just want to complement the developers on a good game that gave me hours of fun. Try it for yourself. You don't have to buy it but at least give yourself the pleasure of playing the demo. I think you'll want it for your collection if you do.
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game played in awhile It held my interest and had great follow through story line I really liked this game and can't say that about too many that have come out lately.
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow BF! You're on a roll! GOOD SHOW :) Forgotten Fairy Tales: Spectra, Bonfire Stories, and now this Darkness & Flame edition. Dynamite. I was so immersed in Darkness & Flame I forgot I was playing the demo. When it ended, my first thought was that my computer was on the fritz. Frustrated as all get out. I'm buying all 3. Can't wait for your first CE sale next month!
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Thoroughly immersive; high quality graphics; great cut-scenes; challenging puzzles; interesting story-line; excellent voice actors - you've got it all! I had the pleasure of beta testing this game, and couldn't wait for it to be released. There really isn't anything bad I can say about it...although, warning! Make sure you have plenty of time, because once you start playing, you won't want to stop!
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been hete before. This is a great game, but it is the identical game I purchased last July. Then it was Darkness and Flame: Born of Fire. I think its very misleading to issue this game as if it were brand new. I thought "oh good, a new one". I started to play the demo and realized it was the same game under a different name. Shame.
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Darkness comes but the light is stronger! I'd really like to give this 4.5 stars. Great game - the one negative I found (and it's not really a big deal) is that the mouths of the characters in the voice overs are weird! But if that's my only complaint - so what! This game is LONG. And it never drags. I'm one of those that plays for 30-45 minutes normally and can quit. I didn't want to quit this one. I played the first game in the this series so I was familiar with the story but you don't have to be. They give you enough of the back story. Give it a try. You'll be pleasantly surprised!
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plucky girl saves uncle and fights evil. I enjoyed the first in this series, and am happy to see the new story. For me, the story is most important. the games and puzzles make sense for the story line. The video game approach to the animation is excellent. In the demo, the car ride was one of my favorites. The main idea I like is that these are real(ish) beings in an unreal situation.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular Journey What an amazing sequel this chapter is, they cleverly work in the previous chapter to remind us of what happened. The opening trailer grabs and shows a world that could be earth and what is needed to survive. Great job!!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my rare 5 star reviews I knew this was going to be a pretty good game when I saw the opening cut scene. It drew me into the story and I had to find out what's next. I was not disappointed. Colin and niece Alice start their trek to save the world. The story never falters and everything you do advances them along the path to victory. There is the usual collect things to do something but it is not the annoying constant back and forth so prevalent in games these days. When you do have to back track it is to get something or complete a task to help you move on. Graphics are excellent with good detail and nice color. Nothing is washed out or blurry and there is a nice contrast and blending. The main characters actually look like people and when they talk their lips move in a believable manner and the voices match their persona. All the characters are similarly drawn and animated. Alice is especially nice. There is an interactive map available and the hint button actually helps. Didn't have to hit the strategy guide once. There aren't an abundance of HOGs but the ones you do play are needed and advance the story rather than send you on a useless back track somewhere. The mini games are a blast and I enjoyed them immensely. Again, they advance the story. There are so many pros to this game that I could go on and on but I despise long reviews. I like to keep it short and just encourage gamers to play and not ruin it for them. I highly recommend this game and it will be my next buy. Play the demo and if you don't agree that's fine. Have fun!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OHHHH, how I LOVE Darkness and Flame: Missing Memories!! The graphics in this game are fantastic and the activities required to collect items are fun to do, though fairly easy, so far. There is a great storyline that gets you absorbed in poking around to find what you need to continue on. I commend the devs on everything about this game. I'm really looking forward to seeing where the story leads!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No criticism from me! I rarely give 5 stars to any game and certainly not when I have only played the demo but here is the exception - Darkness and Flame - a fabulous game that improves on its predecessor in every department - and I really enjoyed that one too! I was impressed immediately by the Options available such as whether or not I wanted a pointer on morphing objects and collectibles, and then straight into the action with clear graphics and good v/o's. The previous episode is briefly described so there is no need to look that one out before you play this game and I feel the characters have been nicely expanded here. The HOS were not ridiculously difficult as some have been lately and the numerous puzzles were both easy and challenging so suitable for a wide range of players. I will purchase this little gem later today and strongly urge you all to at least give the demo a try - I think many of you will like it!!!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Post apocalyptic world I just LOVE these games from this dev...This is the second or third instalment of this story and it has not worn thin. There is masses to do, the puzzles are great, loads of collectables and morphs but the best thing is the travel map. Frankly I forget occasionally where to place things and it is a bore to have to keep looking so the transport map is very helpful. I think the graphics are great even if the characters move a little stiffly.. it is after all a game,, Have not checked the length of this game but the last ones were really long and worth the money..
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CAN YOU HELP COLIN REGAIN HIS MISSING MEMORIES You play the game as Alice, a young girl who is now living on the run with her Uncle Colin. Alice has been blessed or she might even think cursed by the Mark of the Firebird after she found its egg in a chest one day. Since then all has changed. Alice’s father was killed and now she and Colin are moving on once again after she thought they had found sanctuary. Colin has been having recurring nightmares in which he sees a woman calling out to him for help and Colin knows that he must find her in order to save himself as well. Colin confesses to Alice that he is missing the memories of several years and knows this woman must be a part of them. Continue the story of Alice and Colin in this second game in the Darkness and Flame series. I love games from this developer and buy each new one as it is released knowing that I will find a great deal of enjoyment with each new game. This developer still knows how to create an excellent gaming experience and certainly gives us a lot of “bang for our buck” when purchasing the CEs. IMHO, the graphics are excellent and show some improvement from the original game, Born of Fire. Alice has an updated look in the game now wearing shorts instead of a mini skirt – lol. The game includes an interactive, transporter type map that is divided into “tabs” and each segment indicates where there might be collectibles or morphing objects to be found. Your firebird is ever present and can be used to protect you when danger is present. HOPS are interactive and I am thankful to finally see some diversity in the scenes. Yes there are still the silhouette scenes but I am a fan of the old-school list type HOPS so I am happy. The puzzles or mini-games are quite good and some seem different and even a bit more challenging. This excellent CE game includes a plethora of collectibles that include 5 different sets of items to be collected – Dog Statues, Road Signs, Scorpions, Golden Pinecones, and Mushrooms. Each scene in the game includes one type of collectible as well as a morphing object. The remaining CE contents is fairly standard with achievements, bonus game, strategy guide, wallpapers, concept art, videos, music, bonus puzzles, replay of mini-games and HOPs. I love the storyline and the gameplay even though the gameplay is a bit easy. I purchased the game as soon as it was released and so far find the game terrific. I am very happy to see that the developer continued the story of Alice and Colin so we can learn more about Colin and his past. Even though I love this game, please try the demo to see if it is a game you will enjoy. Thank you BFG for bringing us this excellent CE game on a Tuesday.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from UNCLE COLIN AND SIDEKICK NIECE ALICE SAVE THE WORLD! UNCLE COLIN AND SIDEKICK NIECE ALICE SAVE THE WORLD! 4 Chapters plus a Bonus Chapter OVERVIEW: Enter a post-apocalyptic world, where pollution, wars, and overpopulation have destroyed the planet. However, if that is not enough, this same world is menaced by the “Darkness” brought to Earth by a meteorite. Yikes! A double whammy! Help Uncle Colin and his “tween” sidekick niece, Alice, traverse this “Mad Max” world - fighting off scorpions, snakes, and harsh terrain. Help this noble uncle regain his memory, stolen by the “Darkness.” Along the way, battle the tentacles of this evil menace as it reaches out for this intrepid duo. Niece Alice will help by invoking a firebird tattooed on her arm. It arises when needed to duke it out with that dark entity. Trek through various landscapes, fighting off the evildoers with the help of others you meet along the way. This game will appeal to those who love adventure games. It is a great game as well for “tweens.” Being more of an adventure game, there are few HOP scenes and more puzzles. The game mechanics are old-school with graphics which are one-dimensional, cartoon-like and somewhat blurry. The story is a well-written sci-fi, family-oriented game. There are plenty of activities within this game, including puzzles within the HOP scenes. There are a variety of collectibles – 42 items and 30 morphing objects, some of which are not that easy to locate. Another collectible, 8 scrolls, also tell the story about the post-apocalyptic world. Locating all the items opens more puzzles in the bonus section of the game. The demo revolves around two activities – locating items to prepare an antitoxin to save a hermit, Steve, from a scorpion bite and hunting for items to unlock a chest. This is a GREAT sci-fi lite adventure game! However, it will be a pass for me. I like a little more challenge in my adventure games. However, enjoy all you sci-fi lovers! HOP SCENES: There are only three in the demo. They are interactive lists of items and a silhouette scene in which you must find the items and then return them to the scene to interact with them. PUZZLES: All the puzzles are easy. However, they are thematic and fit into the story nicely. Most of the puzzles are situated on a box which you must open. The puzzles include matching puzzles, sequence puzzles, assembly puzzles. There is one physical puzzle in which you avoid obstacles while driving. There is also a maze puzzle in which you must click on arrows to completely cover a grid with tokens. LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Hard, Custom Hint: 5 to 90 seconds Skips: 5 to 150 seconds EXTRAS: Strategy Guide – 33 Pages Map is given to you at the beginning of the game. 22 Achievements Collect 42 items. (8 dog statues, 7 road signs, 8 scorpions, 8 pinecones, and 12 mushrooms) 30 Morphing objects. Collect all of them to open an extra puzzle in the Bonus section. Collect 8 story capsules. Collect all of them to open an extra puzzle in the Bonus section. Replay 25 Mini-games and 7 Puzzles (HOP scenes?) 10 Wallpapers, 13 Concept Art, Videos, Music HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: (A) List of items. Somewhat interactive (B) Silhouette. Locate and replace items back into the scene. There is a matching puzzle in this scene. (C) Locate 15 feathers. PUZZLES: (1) Easy 2) Moderate difficulty (3) Difficult A. Matching puzzle. Match up 6 butterflies so they match up with their silhouette. Rating: 1 B. Matching puzzle. Match up plants. Rating: 1 C. Search puzzle. Locate serpent eggs in a picture. Rating: 1 D. Matching puzzle (within HOP scene). Place flowers into their proper location as per a given code. Rating: 1 E. Sequence puzzle. By trial and error, configure the correct settings for switches. Rating: 2 F. Sequence puzzle. Open flowers in correct sequence until all are blooming. Rating: 1 G. Match-3 puzzle. Connect 3 keys with 3 chests while matching items. Rating: 2 H. Manual dexterity puzzle. Using arrows, allow newbie driver Alice to drive while avoiding obstacles in her path. You go Alice! Rating: 2 I. Assembly puzzle. Not really a puzzle. Just click until you assemble all lions together. Rating: 1 J. Sequence puzzle. Press crystals in correct sequence. Rating: 1 K. Maze puzzle. Find a path to the hidden temple. Choose those paths which are least taken. L. Maze puzzle. Click on a series of arrows to completely cover a grid full of empty cells Rating: 2 M. Assembly puzzle. Place fish into proper location according to the silhouette on a box. Rating: 1 N. Sequence puzzle. Press hieroglyphics in correct order according to a code Rating: 1
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from There were sparks but it didn't really light my fire to warrant a 5-star rating! I completed the entire CE and must say bravo to the developers because they created so many fun and innovative things to do in this game. But thank goodness for the map because as one reviewer pointed out you are all over the place--back n' forth. But that's not to say I didn't like this game. I just don't think it warrants a 5-star. More like 4.35. I am thrilled that I was able to find every morphing object; all the collectibles as well. Silhouette items instead of the boring and constant hidden objects are preferable to me. Some great and clever puzzles were fun to complete. The game flow was pretty good, although I found myself clicking on items to no avail, but the game moved rather well considering. The characters were wonderful and voiceovers were great. I loved the graphics, and for the first time I didn't really pay attention to the music only because this game will draw you in due to the wonderful storyline. In my opinion, this CE game is worth buying and I'm so glad that I did. Yes, I happily recommend it.
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable I almost never give 5 stars, and this game doesn't quite qualify. That said, I really love the way the main characters drew you into the story. Even though they are animated, they appear more realistic with very fluid human-like movements exactly as in the New York Mystery games (to which I did give 5 stars). This is a better game I think than the "Editor's Choice" which didn't grab me enough to finish the demo.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Add a bit of Flame I like the little flames in the jump map to show where activity is. This game is a nice sequel to the one last June 2016. If I remember right the demo end or story end with her ending up at her Uncles. So here in this story we continue the journey. This game had nice HO's and puzzles, Good characters, nice game flow, Nice continuance from the sequel, Nice jump map, critter action, collect dogs, collect some sort of red sign with a minus symbol in a white circle, find Morphing objects, and Nice inventory list. Things that are not so great was all the dogs were the same, and The signs or whatever they were made no sense to me at all.
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good thing she had tweety on her side excellent game liked every thing about it ! I liked the first one also hope they come out with one more I think that would be enough to finish of the story.
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from darkness and flame This game is great in visual detail and is fun. It is a bit on the easy side with very few hops. It has a lot of dialog in it. Its rating should be T for teens. It is not something that I would buy, but If you are young at heart, around 15 years old, I think you"ll like it. I realize I have not described the story line, but the fun in this game is not knowing the story line. I recommend for many will like this.
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Do You Want to Find The Memories??!! This game kept me intrigued. Which can be a tough job for a game. {lol] The story line developed well as you went about your search. Graphics and sound were very good. The characters were realistically done. The only draw back I felt was the red in the HO scenes. The color red used or how it was used was very hard on my eyes. I kept looking away from the list. Now, that was me and my "young" eyes. If you like morphing objects and collectables then this would be a great game for your collection versus waiting for the SE version. But then if you pass this one up you will miss the Bonus Chapter too. What to do? Please try the demo .It is definitely worth a try and you will get an idea if this game is for you,
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed bag - sometimes enjoyable, sometimes tedious Available at BFG since 2017. Review based on completed main game (not bonus). There was so much potential in this game, but it just wasn't consistently enjoyable. During several parts,I felt like it had ground to a halt! The story IS there, it just isn't executed in a way that developed mystery, tension or motivation. Overall, I was disappointed. PROS -Some outstanding scenes in this game carry it through to the end. For example, some desert and unkempt, deteriorating city scenes., and 1 or 2 of the snow scenes. -Good division of sound. CONS -The characters feature A LOT, but they are completely expressionless, and this is a NEW game! The voiceovers sound like Scooby-Doo characters and their personalities are robotic. To make matters worse, you can't even move the dialogue along many times-probably because it's a cut-scene, and there were so many of them! -I found the interactive HOPS tedious (8 in the main game). The lack of visually interesting detail in most of the HOPS was the main factor. On top of that, I'm not a great fan of HOP silhouettes anyway, which they all seemed to be. I've enjoyed games where there have been 20-30 HOPS and thoroughly enjoyed them, but these were boring. I was glad when this game was over. All the modern features of a 2017 game otherwise.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The main game is great, but I wish I waited for the SE. Review based on: completed game + bonus chapter + extras Overall rating: ???? for the main game only. My ??? rating is specifically for the CE version, because: • the bonus game was short, • you couldn't replay the HO scenes, and, • all 8 soundtracks were exactly the same as the 8 soundtracks from the first episode, Born of Fire. SHORT & SWEET SUMMARY REVIEW I’m always happy to see a new game from Five-BN. Their storylines are always engaging, and they consistently offer a terrific variety of gameplay. The post-apocalyptic setting of Darkness and Flame offers nearly infinite possibilities, especially with Alice’s firebird. And this dev has presented both world and story quite imaginatively. I only wish they had offered new music with this episode, and made more effort in the bonus chapter. More details on the specific elements of the game below the fold… ———————————————————— STORYLINE Alice and her Uncle Colin have arrived safely in the Forbidden City and been granted sanctuary by the Sacuum, the tribe that lives there. But Colin has begun having nightmares, and begins to realize that his past is a blank. So he and Alice set off for a temple hidden in the mountains, chasing a legendary stone that will heal all ailments. Along the way, they meet new allies and face new enemies, including the Dark Knight, who hasn’t given up on subjugating the people to the Darkness. EXPLORATION Since it’s a post-apocalyptic world, most of it’s abandoned and decayed, so you’ll need to forage and MacGyver tools and supplies. Fortunately, most of the denizens are friendly, helpful, and more than happy to share what they have. Initially, you find a box with a complicated lock, the pieces for which you’ll find periodically; each initiates a brief puzzle. HIDDEN OBJECT SCENES These are mostly silhouette lists that require you to find and use objects in the scene sequentially, and they take considerably longer than any other type. There are also a few where you find 15 of the same object, a couple where you must find all pictured items within 60 seconds, and one find and replace. PUZZLES These range from “not really a puzzle” to quite challenging, and many are original. My favorites ones: • Choose from the directions available to direct light through every chip on the grid. Periodically, crystals of varying lengths will move into the grid, blocking your path, so it’ll take a few tries, as well as remembering which moves trigger the crystals. • Rotate the fragments to create a continuous chain lighting up all the mushrooms. • A Match-3 that required moving three keys amongst the gems to three chests. • Choose from the directions available to move the token and fill all cells in the honeycomb. I would have preferred fewer jigsaw puzzles, copying the given clue, and random guessing. DESIGN Well-designed inventory panel; the arrows moved to the beginning and end of your items, rather than one item at a time. The map was divided into sections, and the section titles also showed available actions, collectibles, and morphing objects. PRODUCTION Stunning cutscene animation and excellent poser work, right down to the facial expressions and blinking of eyes. Backgrounds had beautiful depth of field and lovely natural light. Items close-up were intricately detailed. The music consists of the same eight soundtracks as the first episode, so I have to subtract for reusing an entire soundtrack in a “new” game. Voiceovers are about half extremely well-done, and half woodenly read off the script by untalented amateurs with no affect whatsoever. EXTRAS In the bonus chapter, take the role of Steve and help a nearby community fight a deadly monster. Replay puzzles, but not HO scenes. Earn performance achievements and use the strategy guide. Collect six categories of collectibles to earn extra puzzles, and morphing objects to earn a bunch of brand new puzzles. Check out the developer’s portfolio including wallpapers, concept art, movies, and downloadable soundtracks. CONCLUSION To be honest, unless you absolutely love collectibles, I’d wait for the SE. The bonus chapter wasn’t really that long, and the soundtracks are repeats from the first episode, so I don’t feel it’s worth double the price. But the main game is good, with a compelling storyline and enjoyable gameplay.
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Close to the First One, But .... After the first chapter of Darkness and Flames, it was only a matter of time before the next installment showed up. Don't worry if you don't remember or didn't play the first game as the diary and game itself will give you enough info to proceed on your adventure. After several close calls and battles with the forces of Darkness, Alice and her Uncle Colin have found a place to rest. They have found a hideout from the Darkness in the remains of an ancient city, but Colin is plagued by nightmares he can not explain involving a woman he almost remembers. He is convinced that it would be better to leave their refuge and seek the hermit, who Colin hopes can restore his lost memories. The way to restoring his memory after it was lost to the Darkness will be long and hard, but they set out anyway. Good stuff: More of the game play that made the first game so well received, along with the familiar game elements and good artwork and the many, many maps, plus CE bling. Bad stuff: This is like playing the first game with new artwork. As you proceed there is a certain amount of "Been there, done that" in what you need to accomplish to further your journey. I think I would be more open to working at this - because the second time around it feels like work - if I didn't suspect that we will keep on to a third installment and possibly more chapters in the future. And in their eagerness to tell this new section of the adventure, the Devs felt they could slack off trying to be original. If you have played The Lost Land games and the first Darkness and Flames Game, you've experienced most of the game elements here. I really don't know what to recommend here as I am stuck on the proverbial fence. Please play the demo and decide for yourself. I think I'll replay the first chapter and see if that helps my decision.
Date published: 2017-05-26
  • y_2019, m_5, d_18, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_26679, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Darkness and Flame: Missing Memories Collector's Edition

Can you win the battle between Darkness and Flame?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.