Dark Romance: The Monster Within Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Romance: The Monster Within Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(490.44 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Domini Games, creators of the Enchanted Kingdom series, present another romantic tale in their classic Dark Romance series!

Your beloved Sybil receives a stunning painted portrait of herself, but something is wrong. The painting is slowly transforming into a monster, and Sybil is changing with it! Someone is out for revenge against you and your closest friends. You and Sybil must work together to uncover the culprit and find a cure, before she becomes a monster permanently! Solve puzzles and uncover clues that will reveal the villain behind this scheme in this charming hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“Loved this game. Interesting story line...great ambience...super graphics...This game totally drew me into the storyline and it is fun to play as 2 characters.I also loved the HO scences...and the fact that I didnt have to look for a screwdriver when I had a perfectly good knife to use.”  - Jamie, Beta Tester

“A truly amazing experience! Lots of great puzzles and some new, exciting ones to explore, too. I highly recommend this game.”  - Quin, Beta Tester


  • Catch the villain and save your sister in the bonus chapter!
  • Find hidden magical brushes and morphing objects.
  • Replay hidden-object puzzles and mini-games.
  • Collect cursed paintings to unlock the entire collection.
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, art, and music!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1448 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Romance: The Monster Within Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(490.44 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Romance: The Monster Within Collector's Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 21.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yep! Not Bad. The game was pleasant to play and the scenes clear and attractive. I found the characters pleasing and the story line easy to follow. I gave it four stars because I did get very tired of all the games that "move one piece and it could move others." There seemed to be a lot of them and you can get very tired of pushing buttons and watching everything you had set up change yet again. There is such a variety of mini games nowadays it didn't seem necessary to have so many of these. Other than that the game was entertaining.
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shapeshifter? Monster? Human? Hello friends! Well, we now have 7 in this series. As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story to others who do a much better job than I. The graphics in this one are fairly well done, even with the blurring when going in and out of close ups...why can't they fix that! Game play was very good, no problems during the demo. Colors are very bright and clear, but not over-powering. Again, you can switch players in this game, which is fun and breaks the monotony. Also allows the devs to incorporate more story into the game, rather than having a lot of story boards. Music was either too soothing or too quiet, as I didn't hear much. It helps a great deal that we have exceptional sound FX, very realistic and pretty much constant. Voices are very well done, age and character appropriate and we seem to have a little more character interaction than in the previous game. Animation is well done and fairly smooth. HOPs are well done and varied, with interactive silhouettes, interactive lists and find the highlighted word. The scenes are clear and items are not difficult to find. If you don't want to play the HOP, you can switch to a match 3. Personally, I prefer the jigsaw puzzles rather than Match 3. You can still switch from easy to difficult when playing puzzles. I found none of the puzzles all that difficult, but one did take me a minute to think through before I made my move. Basically fairly easy. Hint system is very helpful and when you need to travel a long distance, the map opens up and you transport through that. Ah, my favorite map is back. Very clean and areas are well identified by picture and name, and it tells you if you missed a collectible. I love the varied collectibles. We need to find 15 morphing items, which can be small and difficult to spot. We also have 64 paint brushes, which are not easy to see, even when they are right in front of you. I did note that even if you find everything in a close up scene, the screen will not close if you still need to find brushes. Sort of a cheater. There are also 12 paintings. You can't see them up close, so not sure what this does for us in the end. These are very easy to miss, because you have lots of pictures around. Collectibles are nicely done and do add a little challenge to the game. I don't remember beta testing this one, but I like it. I seemed to be pulled into the very different story line very quickly. The challenges here are the collectibles, and the story is very well done and interesting. The story and game play flow very well and is so easy to follow, you don't have to even look at the strategy guide. I think all levels of players will like this one for one reason or another. I gave this one a 4.75 on my scale. Yes, I am adding it to my CE collection as well. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from HELLO KITTY Surely everyone knows by now, not to open that last wedding present, that nobody ever knows where it came from. Sure enough, it was a cursed gift, a portrait of the new bride, that's slowly morphing into a beast, and causing Sybil Vane, to morph as well! Nigel and Sybil aren't the only newlywed's hexed by a curse, because this is a very Dark Romance, this couple must work together to find out who and why, they are being targeted, before the beast within takes control, and Sybil is gone forever. In true Dark Romance fashion, you will solve this mystery by playing both characters, Nigel and Sybil, which gives you a different perspective, from both characters point of view. In this Collector's Edition version, there are 3 different collectibles, with icons above the inventory bar that open up whenever there's an available collectible. You can choose to disable this function in the custom settings, there are 15 Morphing Objects, 12 Cursed Paintings (with a background bio) and 64 collectible Paint Brushes, which allow you to purchase animals for portraits in the Menagerie. I though this game was going to give us a break with the gimmicky tool feature, but it turns out that the only thing papa left, was am Amulet. What does the amulet do you ask? Well, it somehow gives us the ability to turn into a falcon and fly! This part leaves me with so many questions, why do I need a real falcon if I can just turn into one using my amulet? Why can't I find an amulet that turns me into a panther and we can both live happily ever after changing into a cat? How does an amulet such as this work in the first place, voodoo, dark magic, alien technology? How do I return to human form? Do I carry the amulet around my falcon neck? Do I eat rodents when I'm a falcon? The Hidden Object Scenes aren't all that impressive, and you can opt for a Match 3 game, but these alternate puzzles rarely offer a really good Match 3 game. There are Interactive List finds, Progressive Interactive Silhouetted Shape finds, and Keywords in Sentence finds requiring you to find and replace items correctly. There are also Multiple finds in smaller Zoom Zone HOP's as well. The Mini Games however, I found to be creative and somewhat lengthy. Most games are available with an Easy or Hard difficulty mode option. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Eliminate all but one token by removing tokens located between two matching tokens. 2) Point each dial to one of the symbols shown on the clue, by pressing the blue arrows to rotate the dials the total number of times shown on them. Rotating one dial may affect others. 3) Guide each flower to its matching corner without intersecting paths. 4) Perform first aid on Benjamin logically. 5) Press icons in the correct sequence. 6) Guide Nigel to the gates, avoiding the black hawks. DARK ROMANCE GAMES AVAILABLE Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Vampire In Love (February 8-14) 3.9 2-Heart of the Beast (April 23-15) 4.0 3-The Swan Sonata (October 17-15) 3.4 4-Kingdom of Death (April 21-16) 3.4 5-Curse of Bluebeard ( October 13-16) 4.7 6-Romeo and Juliet (February 25-17) 2.7 7-The Monster Within (September 7-17) n/a This Collector's Edition has 15 Wallpapers, 20 Concept Art pictures, 5 Music Soundtracks, 10 replayable Movie Videos, 30 Achievements to earn, 12 Cursed Paintings, 15 Morphing Objects, 64 Collectible Brushes to buy 12 Animal paintings in the Menagerie, 19 replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 19 replayable Mini Games, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DO PEOPLE CHANGE AFTER MARRIAGE? – JUST ASK THESE NEWLYWEDS! Art comes to life in this latest sequel to the Dark Romance series. Newlyweds, Sybil and Nigel Kane, will be spending their honeymoon apart when a wedding gift, a painting, transforms our blushing bride into a wolf-like creature. An old childhood friend, Basil Hallward, is behind the transformative artwork, blaming Nigel and fellow friend, Henry Watton, for his impoverished condition and the bankruptcy of his father. He is using his new “artistic talents” to extort money from these two old childhood chums. Henry’s wife, Angelica, has turned into a panther and Henry is now a bull. Play the tag-team newlyweds, Sybil and Nigel as they both work together to stop their misguided friend from turning their village into another “Animal Farm.” I do not find this game as well-crafted as the previous games in this series. I believe it will appeal to all the hopeless romantics out there. The game mechanics are excellent; however, I find the story and the gaming script poorly written and somewhat absurd. Unlike the previous games in this series, this game seems slow-paced. You have an assortment of collectibles which include paint brushes and paintings. You will exchange an amount of brushes for a menagerie of animals. There are also morphing objects hidden within the game. As in previous games, the inventory bar indicates when there are collectibles and morphing objects to be found within a scene. You will tag-team between the characters Nigel and Sybil. Eat, drink and be merry as food and drinks abound in this game for you to ingest. HOP SCENES. There are more HOP scenes in the demo than in previous games. They are innovative and creative, with most of them being highly interactive. I felt the first scene was very creative. It is an interactive silhouette with a mini-puzzle at the end of the scene. However, after that scene, the scenes in the demo are the usual ones seen in every other game. They include mini-HOP scenes to locate a small number of one item, a storybook scene which features items in ROSE COLORED letters (to match the love theme) and lists of items. You have the option to play a Match-3 game in lieu of the scenes. PUZZLES: This game does not have the number of puzzles as in previous games. Most of the puzzles offer the option between “Easy and Hard” versions. The puzzles are decent, but not as good as in previous games. I did not find any of those “hard” puzzles to be truly difficult. Most of the “hard” puzzles are of middle difficulty. There were only two puzzles I liked in the demo. I did enjoy the thematic maze puzzle leading our “hawkish” Nigel through a maze while avoiding black hawks. Other puzzles include matching puzzles, rotating tiles and switch puzzles to create images, sequence puzzles, and connection puzzles. Not all these puzzles are thematic, however. FAVORITE PUZZLE: PUT OUT THE FIRE! Put out the fire – but hopefully not for our newlyweds. Play against a “fired up” computer who is trying to light up more tokens than you do on a grid. Take turns by moving your tokens into the grid to eliminate the fire tokens and increase your water tokens while the computer is trying to do the same with its fire tokens. Success consists of extinguishing the fire by eliminating the computer’s fire tokens. LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Hardcore, Custom Hints and Skips: 15 to 90 seconds EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the beginning of the game. 20 Achievements Collect 64 Brushes to use to purchase animals Collect 12 Cursed Paintings 15 Morphing objects Replay 19 HOP scenes and 19 Puzzles 15 Wallpapers, 20 Concept Art, Music, Movies, and a Menagerie HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: You have the option to play a Match-3 game in lieu of the scene. (A) Silhouette. Interactive scene in which you must locate items which are then used within the scene. There is a puzzle at the end of the scene (B) List of items. (C) Mini-HOP scene. Locate 8 herb leaves. (D) Storybook scene. Find items listed in ROSE-COLORED letters (E) Silhouette. (F) List of items PUZZLES: Most games have the choice between Easy and Hard versions A. (Within HOP scene). Matching. Remove tokens by clicking on a token which is between matching tokens. B. Rotating tiles puzzle. Rotate three rings so that each ring is pointing to a symbol on a given code. Rotating one ring affects the others. C. Connection puzzle. Guide four (4) flowers to their matching locations without crossing lines with each other. D. Play nurse. Follow directions to perform first aid on your driver. E. Sequence puzzle. Press animal buttons in sequence as per a diagram. F. Maze puzzle. Guide Nigel through the maze (as a hawk) avoiding the black hawks. G. Switch puzzle. Switch tiles so that the symbols on the three tiles combine to create the image on a rune. Must match the runes in both the row and the column in which they are placed. H. Play against the computer. On a grid, try to fill more spaces with water than the computer does with fire. You will keep score as to the amount of hits each of you has. Play until one of you is destroyed I. Sequence puzzle. Remove belt straps in sequential order. J. Matching puzzle. On a cello, move strings so they look like those on a given diagram. K. Maze puzzle. Move in sequential order from left to right landing on the correct symbols as indicated on a diagram.
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from REALLY???? Could have really been a good game....but wasn't...again!! :o( Dev's these days just don't seem to know how to 'create' 'monsters'. They're either downright pathetic/childish or, as in this case, laughably ridiculous!!! Oh come on...puuleeeease; a lion/panther in a dress??? Really???? I tell you, the quality of games are really going down hill; although with the technology that's available now, you'd think it would be the opposite. Not so though!!! I can't recommend this game but I do say to try the Demo; you just might like it. Cheers!! :o)
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sloppy Romance, is more like it If found this game to be a bit disappointing and without any originality whatsoever. You get to collect: cursed paintings, brushes, and morphing items. There is the diversity that you play both the roles of Sybil and Nigel, a newlywed couple, by interchanging heroes and their actions. But this change in the roles occurs somewhat too often. Also, the game, to me, is a bit slow: both the reaction time and speech are quite slow.
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful Intense Colours but that's about all ... The Story is lame and bordering on the ridiculous. Too many Puzzles that go nowhere, with poor instructions. Skipped through most of them. Couldn't wait to finish the Game which is a real pity because the Graphics were really stunning and beautiful. Could have been a 5 Star Game if only the Story was better and if the puzzles made sense!
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok game! The PUZZLES ARE GREAT!!!! If you want a challenge of puzzles, this is for you! Everything else is OK!! I only recommend for the puzzles!!
Date published: 2020-08-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Play The Demo BEFORE purchase! **Spoiler Alert** This may let the cat out of the bag - pun intended! Nigel and Sybil are newlyweds with a big problem - Nigel's psycho friend, Basil. Up until fairly recently Basil, Nigel, and Henry were friends - we know this from a portrait on the wall of Nigel's home. It shows the three grown friends together. Apparently though, Basil has decided to blame Nigel and Henry for Basil's Father's gambling addiction which led to Daddy losing the family fortune when Basil was a child. I guess it took him a while to go over the edge mentally. So Basil is taking his crazy out on his friends and their young brides. Luckily, another friend, Dr. Benjamin, will try to help Nigel and Sybil after Basil's wedding gift of a portrait of Sybil starts to turn her into a monster. The good Doctor will hide her in the woods with Henry's wife, the panther. Good stuff: There are the usual game elements and a story along with art work that varies wildly between clean sharp lines and a blurry fuzz of over-colored shapes. The background noises are good as are the VO"s. There are morphing objects and other collectibles and a Match 3 alternative to the HOPs. Bad stuff: Not only does the artwork fuzz out, but the characters’ movements are laughable as they often look like dolls in a stop motion cartoon by small children. The background sounds - birds in the forest, the crackling fire in the hearth, dripping water - will be drowned out by overly loud orchestral music that will suddenly invade a scene, thunder dramatically on and disappear abruptly. Beyond the irritation of all those bits, is the glaring lack of logic - Nigel transforms into a hawk to find Basil's house in the forest. When he lands, he is still carrying the hacksaw and rope he picked up at home! When Sybil and Dr. Benjamin are attacked by Basil's henchmen, she not only bandages Dr. Benjamin's wound, but does a little cardiac massage and a shot of adrenaline to his heart before he rides off bareback on his way back to town! Luckily the craziness provided an irritant that kept me awake long enough to finish the Demo, as the beginning was slow enough to set me nodding and there seemed a chance I'd doze off at one point. You may enjoy this game and I leave you to it. Just, please, try the Demo before committing to this chapter in the Dark Romance series.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1½ stars...solely for the polyjuice paint Review based on: A scant 17 minutes of mostly cutscenes and conversations. Overall rating: ?½ What my rating means: I couldn’t even last through the demo. SHORT & SWEET SUMMARY REVIEW Loved one in danger via a ridiculous revenge scheme. Cutscene or conversation every other click. Puzzles that were old five years ago. Shaped keys galore. Banners for everything. And all this dressed in psychedelic neon. More details on the specific elements of the game below the fold… ———————————————————— THE GOOD • The Characters were well-drawn. THE MEDIOCRE • The music (only five soundtracks) got repetitive only 17 minutes in. • The voiceovers were the s-l-o-w-e-s-t ever, lengthening the already frequent and long conversations. • HO scenes were typical for 2017…nothing hidden unless an interaction was specified. THE BAD • Ridiculous storyline. Nigel’s former best friend turns his new bride partially into a cat using…polyjuice paint? As part of a blackmail scheme resulting from a situation that wasn’t even Nigel’s fault? Yeesh. • Same old puzzles. Contrary to what some people might think, puzzle design is not limited to sliding tokens, jigsaws, matching pairs, and Simon Says. Truly, it isn’t. THE HORRIBLE • Screamingly loud highlighter colors graced every surface, including ambient light. • The animation was laughable, with characters floating in stop-motion movements from place to place. At one point, I unscrewed some screws, and the knife merely wiggled back and forth while the screws didn’t even turn. BEST GAMES BY THIS DEV I have no recommendations from this dev, since I’ve only bought one game from them and I didn’t care for it. However, if you like games that include both romance and dark themes, I do recommend the following: • Abyss: The Wraiths of Eden CE • Subliminal Realms: Masterpiece CE • Surface: The Soaring City CE and The Pantheon CE • Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart CE and The Blacksmith’s Daughter CE • the Nevertales series
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Should've Listened to Granny Gruff! ... Again, Lol. This one sat in my game manager for a few months before I got around to playing it. Bought it on a BOGO day without trying the demo 'cause, you know, Dark Romance + Editor's Choice has to = great game, right? But, no. This game put me to sleep inside of an hour. It drags, very slow development. Slow voices in the VOs. Too many moments that defy my ability to suspend disbelief. (Panther chick's house is on fire and she just sits in a chair and waits for you to save her?) Terrible artwork and floaty characters. I usually soldier through a game if I've spent my money on it, but I can't with this one. So maybe I'll go back to it some time in the future because it might get better. I've had that happen before - Lord of Statues put me to sleep in the beginning but turned out to be a great game after the first hour or so. But for now, this is going back on the shelf. Definitely try the demo for yourself.
Date published: 2018-03-18
  • y_2021, m_10, d_17, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_27173, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Romance: The Monster Within Collector's Edition

Mysterious portraits are causing their subjects to transform into monsters!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.