Grim Facade: A Deadly Dowry Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Grim Facade: A Deadly Dowry Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(453.06 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

AMAX Interactive is proud to present the newest chilling addition to the Grim Facade Series!

The city of Anzio has called for your aid. Townspeople are dying, and reports say that the murderer is a ghost bride! It’s a race against the clock as you track the culprit. Do you have what it takes to save the city in time? Find out in this thrilling Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

  • Stop a devious kidnapper in the bonus game!
  • Find hidden coins and collectible roses.
  • Replay hidden-object puzzles and mini-games.
  • Helpful strategy guide and fun achievements!
  • Enjoy stunning wallpapers, art, and music in the Collector's Edition!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1006 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Grim Facade: A Deadly Dowry Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(453.06 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Grim Facade: A Deadly Dowry Collector's Edition is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Short. This game seemed really short. I am only able to play during my lunch hour and I finished it in a couple days, games used to take three or four. Price hasn't changed but the games (not just this one) are getting shorter and shorter.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing To be honest I shouldn't keep disappointing myself by buying these games. I can finish them in a couple of hours and the cost is simply not justified. I was taken in by wanting to find out who or what the ghost was and I'm disappointed and to be honest, cross that I wasted my money. All of these games are becoming so similar, there is little imagination needed and they are so short for anyone who has played these games before as they are the same formula over and over. Good if you can get it in the deals, but do not waste full price.
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Game was too short. I enjoyed this game. The graphics were clear and the story was good, but I got through the entire game in two days. I thought there had to be something more but there wasn't.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from THE DEAD ARE COMING FOR US...THE DEAD ARE COMING FOR US! Here I go again! I'm on another paranormal investigation, and right off the bat, I pick up a large vase that seems to have something inside because it's rattling. Do I blow it off, because it's probably just chipped pottery? Do I turn it upside down and shake out the contents? Nope, I search my surroundings for something heavy enough to smash it to pieces! This isn't even my pottery, and I certainly shouldn't claim the prize as my own. Guess what I do next, I find an oil container, and yes, it too has magical anticorrosion properties! Then I read the bulletin board and low an behold, Martinez is missing!!! (he's that really scruffy looking cat that shows up everywhere) WHAAAT?!? This seems like a much bigger case to me, who cares about another scorned undead bride, Martinez is missing people! Not to mention there's a 1000k reward which is way more than the chump change I just got for my traveling per diem! On with my case and my first interview with the mother of the undead bride. Turns out her family fortune was squandered by her gambling hubby, which is probably good enough reason to roll over in your grave, but certainly not enough to make you want to get up out of your cozy coffin, so I'll have to investigate further. So I notice some interesting knight statues in the house, and the black bar tip says "I wonder if they are for sale?" Well it's a little too late for helping this poor old woman, and she's been through alot man, am I really going to offer to buy these after the poor woman lost everything? (well technically she still has her daughter ) You all can finish playing this game, I'm going to look for Martinez! GRIM FACADE GAMES AVAILABLE Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Mystery of Venice (June 2011) 4.2 2-Sinister Obsession (July 5-12) 4.1 3-Cost of Jealousy (February 28-13) 4.0 4-A Wealth of Betrayal (April 24-14) 3.2 5-The Artist and the Pretender (September 18-14) 3.6 6-Hidden Sins (June 18-15) 4.2 7-Monster in Disguise (May 19-16) 4.0 8-The Red Cat (October 22-16) 3.8 9-A Deadly Dowry (September 23-17) n/a This Collector's Edition has 16 replayable Mini Games, 13 replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 10 Movie Videos, 4 Music Soundtracks, 4 Screensavers, 10 Wallpapers, 12 Concept Art pictures, 24 Achievements to earn, Hidden Roses in every scene so you can buy flower bouquets for even more undead brides (how many of them are there, it might be a pandemic!)
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Grim Facade of a new game We've seen and done it all before. You know its only going to be a matter of time before a zipper shows up that you need to find a pull of some kind to open it with. Some of my complaints: I personally dislike any game that you requires you search around on the screen with an amulet; this is just a time sucking element introduced to fill in the lack of items they are having you do. Do we really need to buy things from a vendor? It's another time wasting element because we can only buy what we need. The demo was very short. I think it took me about 20 minutes. There was a glaring grammatical error in the demo. No doubt a translation error, but still, it should have been caught. I have had more fun replaying games I played a few years ago than this weeks offerings. I run Windows 10, I had no technical errors.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from FINALLY, I get to pick up an axe head with NO handle.... Playing through the demo, I found this is NOT a supernatural enigma...but like another reviewer said, "Why can't I get that cat?!!" Ridiculous. You might enjoy it, specifically if you have not been playing HOPAs on bfg for 10 years or more. The only reason I wish to continue this game would be to confirm my logical suspicion of who is really behind all this. And it's not really worth the money at this point.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Yuck & double yuck Tired of creepy ghost games! Here's my review! Good graphics! Nice HOs! Good voice overs! Maybe too much talking! Just a shame these talented Devs don't come out w/ lighter games. Don't they read the forums? Its not BFs fault, they just put out whats available! For ones who like this stuff good for you, theirs a plethora of em for you! If you wanna put me down for my opinion, bring it I can handle it! But don't intimidate others for there opinion! I'm a little protective of others whether they like a game or not
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Deadly - not only the dowry A Deadly Dowry is the 8th adventure in the Grim Façade series. Our role is that of the detective, who comes to the aid of good old Lestrade. He asked for assistance in a murder case, where normal police investigation methods wouldn’t bring results. There have been mysterious murders in town and the only clue is an observation of several people, who saw a suspicious person next to the crime scenes: a ghost bride. So the suspect to the murders is a woman, who lies dead in her coffin in the family crypt. It is Amanda Aquille, who belonged to an old family of the town. They used to be rich, but lost their assets with MonsieurAchille’s gambling habit. Another mystery: after a murder, always the picture of the next victim lies in Amandas coffin. So, if there is some truth to the rumor of a bride being the criminal, is Amanda really dead or still alive? At the cemetery we may be witness to a ghostly appearance: a skeleton, dressed in bridal clothes sweeps over the place near Amanda Aquille’s crypt and freezes the undertaker in an ice block. He was one, who took money from the widow Achille for the funeral. The next victim is the doctor. Coincidence? We know, he wanted payment for his services. As it seems, the ghost bride is hunting down, all, who took money from the family. In the course of the game we get the special device for finding memory fragments. These stand for past events, that are now reveiled for your eyes. When it first came into the series, it had a certain charm, only now it feels a bit like ‘same procedure as in every game’. Other special effects:the bride’s performance after using the device, she sweeps through the scenery, dense wisps of fog around her. The ragged cat is placed somewhere in the scene but vanishes together with the ghost after ‘the show’. Puzzles are nothing special, not overall easy, but nothing new. HOS are mostly lists, several combined with dialogue or combination to find elements. Pace could be faster. The use of the device takes much of it. There is no real suspense in this game, very soon it is clear, there is a restless spirit, seeking revenge for the wrong, that has been done during her lifetime.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not exactly a ghost, not exactly a skeleton, just an undead bride Based on completed game. This is a ho hum game. I'm not sad that I bought it, but I'm not glad about it either. It is a time waster that is mediocre at best and turns really ridiculous at the end. The bonus game doesn't add anything to it either. As usual, you go through the game finding items and keys to be used in different locations. There are no standout mini games in my mind except the infuriating driving ones in the bonus game. There are the usual lock pick games, beat up the villain game and slider puzzles. Beating up the villain in the bonus game was not easy however. Beating up the ghost was much easier. But did you know ghosts bleed? Oh yes. That's where you begin to suspect this ghost, skeleton, undead bride may not be either one of those things but someone impersonating her, or it. And to cap it off, hallucinogenic tea is involved too. The HOs are standard lists. Nothing challenging. There are achievements to earn and collectible roses to find and the usual CE bling. Except for the buy one, get one, I probably would have waited for the SE on this one. Try the demo tho. You may be more impressed.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Thrills and chills - yes? No I love this game series but found this game particularly lacking in the thrills and chills and I played the entire game plus the bonus game. Although the main story has 'cut-away' scenes where you locate objects to help you move to the next step, in all there were only 10 'true' locations in the game. Quite short for the money. The bonus game only partially made up for this with 11 locations - still... It's the same ole story of the vengeful ghost wrecking havoc with a human behind it all which make the motivations easy to spot - therefore lacking an element of mystery. As always the graphics are superb and the music pretty good. The puzzles were a bit of challenge. Overall a fun game for a novice but boring for more experienced players and those familiar with the series.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ghost Bride Bleeds and Bounces Back! You are the detective called to the small town of Anzio to help find a murderer. The local citizens believe it is a ghost bride committing the crimes, a young woman named Amanda who died recently. The local police have sent for you. There are a couple more murders committed before you can even get your bag unpacked. And the murderous ghost bride may be coming after you soon. Good luck, detective! Good stuff: VO's are well done, artwork is well drawn, puzzles and HOPs are present, and there is CE bling and collectible roses. Bad stuff: While all the game elements are present and reasonably executed, I have very little story to make me care about the people and the town. A young girl, daughter of a gambler who had lost his fortune, has died. Murders are being committed. As Amanda surely knew her father was a gambler, why would she be taking out his disregard for her future on the townsfolk? I'm passing on the CE, but I'll revisit the SE when it comes out. Maybe I'll see something more then. Please try the demo for yourself.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Definitely not CE worthy... Hello friends! As always, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story telling to those who do a much better job than I. Is this really #9 in this series? No, I do not have all of them. Graphics were actually quite good in this one, very clear and no blurring. Animation is fairly good and movements are smooth. Voice overs were not bad, and we had frequent interaction with characters. The one thing that seems to show up in all the games in this series, is the need to "choose" dialog. This is boring for me and something that really puts me off on a game. If there is only a little, okay, but not with every conversation. Music is exactly the same as in all the others in this series and is fairly quiet. Sound FX aren't bad, but there are few of them. Game play was very good, with no problems during the demo and the scene fit my large screen. Colors were bright but not over-powering, and most scenes seemed to be a night. Guess ghosts only come out at night in this one. Again, you have a "memory sphere" that collects memories. I collected them, but not sure what good it did for me. Again, this was very boring for me and took away from the game play. HOPs were a combination of standard and interactive lists. The scenes were fairly clear and items were not difficult to find. I did not see that you could switch to something else when you got bored with the HOPs. Puzzles were okay and I found some that did have some challenge to them, but didn't really take a lot of time to complete. Hint system is helpful, but you do not have a transport feature in this one. Yes, you can do a jump using the very bland map. Again, the map did not have anything that identified what the location was. Guess that doesn't really matter to some, but it is a map. SG is the standard set up and is useful if you are unable to find the collectible. Collectibles were extremely disappointing. We collect coins to buy useful items to help complete tasks, but so far I only see 3 items to purchase. We also collect very large roses that will allow us to purchase bouquets of flowers for 9 ghosts. There was no challenge to finding any of these items. As I said, extremely disappointing. I keep track of games I have beta tested, along with the rating I gave to each. I do not keep game names on my if I gave anything below a 4 and I don't have this one on my list. I did beta this one and I still do not feel it is worth a minimum of 4 stars. The story is just okay, but nothing new for this series. I think it's time to either upgrade or retire this one. Personally, I do not feel this game is CE worthy, due to the lack of collectibles and a better story line. It was an okay game for beginners, or someone who just wants to walk through a boring game. There was nothing about this one that made me want to buy it. I will recommend it for beginners, but not for a seasoned gamer. I usually will give the SE version a try and often find that it makes a much better game. However, I just don't see it in this one. No buy for me. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This one is titled correctly . . . it's grim by name, and grim to play! From the opening sequence to the end of the demo two words kept popping into my mind, ‘old school!’ The graphics, music, poor lip-sync, HO sequences, and mini-games —all of them, very old school. It seemed as though time had gone backward and I was playing a game from ten years ago. You know, before most of us got bored with this style. Even the plot is old school. A dead, skeletal, bride seeking revenge for . . . well, I’m not quite sure what. Maybe the answer to that lies in the rest of the game but, to tell the truth, I just don’t care! Oh, I’m sure that some other reviewers will hang a bunch of stars on this game, but how they could do so is beyond my comprehension. This game, if the demo is a true precursor, is a yawn-inducing bore. I’m not even going to give you my usual caveat —play the demo and decide for yourself— because my advice is save your time and money for a game worthy of both, which this on certainly is not.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1½ stars...all filler, no thriller. SUMMARY Based on the demo, there’s nothing here except time-wasting filler gameplay recycled from previous games, wrapped in YET ANOTHER ghost vengeance storyline. I already have plenty of games with vengeful ghosts, and the gameplay is much better. THE AWESOME — Animation of the ghost was excellent. THE GOOD — The extras are nearly CE-worthy, excepting the easy-to-spot collectible roses and only four soundtracks. THE MEDIOCRE — The graphics were ok…neither great nor horrible. THE BAD — The gameplay is simplistic and repetitive. The first two mini-games were both of the “slide the tokens to their correct places” variety. Boring. Nothing was hidden in the HO scenes (except objects requiring minimal interaction). THE HORRIBLE — Another gimmick requiring you to mouse over the screen and find invisible things. I’m tired of time-wasting, shallow filler material like this: oil the rusty whatever, poke the key out of the lock and onto the paper you’ve shoved under the door, make stuff following the recipe. This isn’t gameplay; it’s busywork to further the storyline, providing absolutely no challenge or fun factor. BEST GAMES BY THIS DEV • from this series: none • Gothic Fiction: Dark Saga • PuppetShow: Mystery of Joyville, Souls of the Innocent, Return to Joyville, The Price of Immortality • Redemption Cemetery: Salvation of the Lost, Clock of Fate BEST GAMES WITH THIS GENERAL THEME (vengeful ghost) • New York Mysteries: High Voltage • Mystery Case Files…the Ravenhearst story arc • Dark Parables: The Exiled Prince • Phantasmat • Dark Dimensions: Somber Song • Off the Record: Linden Shades • Chimeras: Tune of Revenge • Grim Tales: Bloody Mary • Nancy Drew: Ghost of Thornton Hall, Tomb of the Lost Queen • Fright • Cadenza: Music, Betrayal, and Death • Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest, Hide and Seek
Date published: 2017-09-24
  • y_2019, m_11, d_19, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_27267, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Facade: A Deadly Dowry Collector's Edition

Can you stop a ghost bride and save the city?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.