Phantasmat: Insidious Dreams Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Phantasmat: Insidious Dreams Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(338.63 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Eipix Entertainment proudly presents the newest addition to the Phantasmat series!

After a recent accident, you’ve lost your memory. Luckily for you, your husband is there to help. But nothing is as it seems at your farm house. Things quickly take a dark turn as ghostly apparitions appear and you begin the fight of your life! Can you uncover the deadly history behind local dream research and save yourself in time? Find out in this chilling Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“I absolutely LOVED this game. It had all the elements of a great, spooky, story. I felt extremely involved in the plot, and actually feared he would catch me. I didn't want it to end! I feel this game is as good as the 1st Phantasmat. I have all the others, but the 1st game and this game are definitely my favorite.”  - Marisa, beta tester

“I loved this game. Creepy, with an original storyline. A selection of challenging puzzles and a range of hidden object scenes. This will definitely be a buy for me!”  - Jack, beta tester


  • Stop an insidious presence from another dimension in the bonus game!
  • Collect hidden dolls and find morphing objects.
  • Earn all the achievements using the helpful strategy guide.
  • Fill your souvenir room with hidden goodies!
  • Enjoy replayable HOPs, mini-games, concept art, soundtrack, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 686 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Phantasmat: Insidious Dreams Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(338.63 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Phantasmat: Insidious Dreams Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS IS NO DREAM IT'S A NIGHTMARE It's no secret that this is my favorite series of all time, and that the original Phantasmat game is my all time favorite HOPA game. There has never been a game that has a better storyline, or more entertaining. The reason the original Phantasmat is so good in my opinion is that it was produced by Codeminion. Phantasmat games are not about life or death per se, they are about whether or not you are alive or dead, or just somewhere in between the phantasmal realm of reality. In Insidious Dreams, Ashley probably wishes she were dead, after a car accident that leaves her with a severe concussion and amnesia. Is her mind playing tricks on her, or does this old farmhouse really have otherworldly residents? Ashley tries to fit the missing pieces of the past together, but whose past is it? More importantly, what's in her future? This isn't one of the best Phantasmat games in the series, but I love the creepy, psychotic vibe, of not knowing who to trust, similar to The Town of Lost Hope. In this Collector's Edition, there are 35 collectible creepy Dolls (should have been clowns) and there are Morphing Objects within 9 of the Hidden Object Scenes (you know how I feel about morphs only being in the HOP's!) I'm not convinced this game is CE worthy, so I'll wait until there's a $6.99 sale on CE's, even though I'm anxious to find out more of the storyline. The Hidden Object Scenes are really lengthy and entertaining, something I rarely say about HOP's nowadays. Most offer two types per HOP with Progressive Interactive Silhouetted Shape finds, Interactive List finds, and Multiple Object finds, some even have smaller Zoom Zone HOP's within the main HOP. There is a Morphing Object within 9 of the scenes, a feature I'm never thrilled about in the first place, and why only 9? There is an optional Match 3 game to play if you're not into hidden object finds. The Mini Games are decent as well, they aren't really difficult, but some of them are difficult to complete on the first attempt. Below are brief descriptions of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1-Place sliders on the corresponding disks by selecting buttons to rotate the sliders around the board. Select the slider when it's at the beginning of the inside rail to move it to the disk at the end of the rail. 2-Use directional arrows to move the slider to pick up 2 tokens at a time and place them on their corresponding slots, by retracing tangled wires. 3-Select left and right flippers in a game of pinball. 4-Remove all but one sphere by jumping spheres to remove them. 5-Place the padlock pins into the four center spaces using directional arrows to move the chains in the direction indicated. PHANTASMAT GAMES AVAILABLE Title Collector's Edition Release Date Average Rating 1-Phantasmat (February 8-2011) 4.5 2-Crucible Peak (December 6-2012) 3.8 3-The Endless Night (January 10-15) 4.0 4-The Dread of Oakville (July 9-15) 4.2 5-Behind The Mask (December 17-15) 4.4 6-Town of Lost Hope (April 7-16) 3.5 7-Reign of Shadows (October 6-16) 4.3 8-Mournful Loche (April 13-17) 3.7 9-Insidious Dreams (September 14-17) n/a This Collector's Edition version has 8 Wallpapers, 8 Concept Art pictures, 8 replayable Movie Videos, 9 Music Soundtracks, 12 replayable Puzzles, Alternate Hidden Object Scenes, a Souvenir Room, 35 hidden Dolls, 9 Morphing Objects within the Hidden Object Scenes, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phantasmat: Insidious Dreams Collector's Edition Absolutely one of the best games I have ever played!!!
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A spooky ghost story I feel that this game is amazing, Eipix really improved the intro, games and overall look of the game compared to the other chapters in the series.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ‘Drive carefully..’ through this thrilling game, as a killer is after you! In the introductory movie we see a group of children around some rocks. One boy has climbed the biggest and the others applaud him. In his attempt to climb down, he loses his grip, falls and dies. The other children leave him in awe – had this been a dare, gone wrong? The initial game scene shows us in a car, radio casts the weather report, predicting thunderstorms and heavy rain. Already a hard rain has started, another car appears out of the mist – and we have an accident. Next we see a doctor in a hospital telling a man, that his wife suffers from a serious concussion combined with amnesia. She may leave for home but should rest for some time to overcome the memory loss. The man promises to bring her to their farmhouse, in the quiet and lonely countryside. This turns out to be the house, we saw at the end of the introduction, a dark building in a wide landscape with nothing but wilderness around. We play as the alleged wife, alleged, as we have no idea, this would be our husband. First we just believe, it is the concussion but slowly we realize, something is wrong: we find prove, he is not who he pretends to be. He left us in our room to help him make the house safe for the coming storm. When he is outside, we leave it, to look around. Piece by piece we find little things, hinting at the big ‘something is wrong here’. First, a wedding photo and ID-card - you realize, you don’t remember the wedding, nor the name on the card. Down in the hall you find a bag, on it stitched another female name, the same, you saw before on a sign plate, hefted on a coat in the closet. When confronting your ‘husband’ with these peculiarities, he doesn’t give answers but seems angry and sends you back´ to your room. You will go on with your discovery tour and end up in the basement. There he suddenly reappears and closes the trap door, imprisoning you. He mumbles, your behavior is much more difficult than that of the others. The others? In the basement we finally realize, there is not just something wrong, but this man is about to kill us. An ominous atmosphere underlines the suspense of the player’s being practically a prisoner in a lonely house with some man, threatening his life. Flashbacks to the origin of all this make the story easily understandable, but that doesn’t hurt. We know the facts and are off to our fight back a killer. A very well made game with mostly multilayered HOS, several not too difficult puzzles and minigames in the demo. Most impressing the ghostly appearances of a boy and the laid out pieces to find by the player to slowly but surely detect what his role is in this.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not to shabby! I was really impressed with the story line. I felt the games weren't a huge challenge, but I still enjoyed them! The graphics were amazing as always with Epix. I did not expect this story line at all, so I was very pleased where they went with it! Well done!
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ANOTHER PHANTASMATIC THRILLER FROM EIPIX REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME TIME: 5 Hours (45 minutes for the Bonus game) 4 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 38 Pages OVERVIEW: What scares you, Ashley White? Welcome to your worst nightmare, your own illusion-filled Twilight Zone in this “phantasmatic” horror game. Suffering from amnesia you are off to a house, nestled away in the cornfields of rural Illinois to be cared for by your beloved, caring husband, Stan. Get prepared for a dark storm filled night in a ghost-filled house with memories. “It” will welcome you with a broken clown doll in the hallway, ghosts running through the halls, and the memories of 1996, when Stan’s brother was involved in an accident. As you regain your memories, the past is going to come back to haunt you. Exploring this broken-down rat trap (one you will soon want to escape), you realize that nothing is as it seems, including the story and the game mechanics. The graphics are dark and the broken-down house adds to the creepiness of this game. The pace is excellent. Ghostly images keep popping up to add to the décor of this dilapidated farmhouse. You collect creepy dolls and morphing objects within the HOP scenes. All are easy to locate. There is at least one Easter egg advertising the upcoming MCF game by EIPIX. It is easy to locate. The Bonus chapter is related to the main story but is VERY SHORT!! One of the final puzzles with seven parts could be viewed as time filler in the Bonus chapter! AFTER THE DEMO – DON’T JUMP TO CONCLUSIONS – THE DEVIL IS IN THE DETAILS! As one of my high school teachers used to say, “the devil is in the details – so don’t jump to conclusions!” After the demo, the game changes somewhat, which is consistent with the developer. Think you have this story figured out? Well – hold on – because that is NOT the case! EIPIX throws a new element of surprise into the story which changes it somewhat. Be prepared! “It just ‘ain’t’ what you think!” EIPIX is going to take you through a “corny” maze of subplots in this game. In one way or another, you are going to be traversing many mazes in this game! HOP SCENES: There are sixteen (16) in the game and five (5) in the Bonus Chapter. You can also play a SUPER-DUPER MATCH-3 GAME in lieu of the scenes. The ones in the demo are excellent. Most of those are multiple-step, creative and interactive. Most of them are multiple-step as well. There are interactive scenes in which you must move clothing and other items to locate items on the list. There are lists and silhouette items. In one of the scenes you must locate the replace items back within the scenes. There are cryptic clues and in one you must search through 3 computer files to locate the items. Impressed? Well you won’t be after the demo! DID THE HOP CREATOR TAKE A VACATION AFTER THE DEMO? After the demo, these wondrous creative scenes – POOF! – disappear! Be prepared for scene-after-scene of repetitive lists of items which are NOT interactive. There are six scenes which are straight lists of items. There is very little creativity in any scenes after the demo. Also returning is the standard EIPIX HOP scene in which you must locate five each of two items following by a list of items. PLEASE GET RID OF THIS SCENE, EIPIX! There is one rebus scene and one matching scene. Very disappointing EIPIX! Yes, there is some HO HUM in this game! PUZZLES – I AM TRULY A-MAZE-D: There are sixteen (16) puzzles in the game and two (2) in the bonus chapter. They are all creatively designed. (Guess our EIPIX “puzzlemeister” did NOT take a vacation!) Be warned – there are some difficult puzzles in this game. Most of the puzzles I would rate as moderately difficult to difficult. However, I would not miss this game just because of the puzzles. It is a well-crafted game and you can skip all the puzzles. The story behind the game is excellent – and after all, you still have all those HO-HUM HOP scenes which some people like! FAVORITE PUZZLES: A. Twisting and Turning the night away. Switch tokens by pairs so they match up at both ends of a series of twisted tubes. What makes it difficult is that it is NOT linear. You must trace the path of each tube to figure out the placement of each token. B. Pinball Wizard. Move a ball through a pinball machine. If you move the ball correctly, you will get a sling shot and a star. C. Checkers puzzle. Jump over a grid of marbles until only one remains. D. Drive the Texas Two-Step. On a modified radio, move a car using arrows to avoid obstacles in your path. You can control the speed of your car by using the radio dial. However, true speed demons will have that turned up all the way E. Strategy puzzle. Move playing card symbols – Heart, Spade and Diamond to the bottom of a maze using only spaces with like symbols. The tokens change once one of these symbols lands on them. F. Maze map. Do a hoe down through the corn. “Dosey doe” through the wonderful cornfields of Illinois using a map to get to a campsite. G. Maze Map Part 2. More corn! This time go through those same Illini cornfields and look for buried items. MORE CONFUSING PUZZLE DIRECTIONS: EIPIX – is it possible to get someone to write directions for your puzzles? I had difficultly figuring out exactly what I was supposed to do in some of these puzzles. The worst puzzle for this involves a phone puzzle in the Bonus game, (with seven (7) scenes. I still have no idea what I was supposed to do - so - I just skipped it.). LEVELS: Easy, Medium, Hard, Custom Hint: 10 to 120 seconds Skips: 10 to 400 seconds EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the beginning of the game. 13 Achievements – Some with 3 sections Collect 35 dolls and 9 Morphing objects (within the HOP scenes) Replay 13 HOP scenes and 12 Puzzles and the Super Match-3 game as well 8 Wallpapers, 4 Concept Art, Music, Videos, Souvenir Room
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IN -SID-I-OUS ........................ PROCEEDING IN GRADUAL , STUBTLE WAY, BUT, WITH HARMFUL EFFECTS ! AN EXCELLENT WAY TO DESCRIBE ANOTHER EXCELLENT PHANTASMAT!!
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LESS IS MORE! Insidious Dreams has an interesting and unique story line. With mysteries especially, it's best to skip reviews and avoid spoilers intended for players to experience, not read. Opening scenes immediately draw players' attention and spark an interest to know more! The Phantasmat team is creative and talented and has outdone themselves on this newest release. Thank you, Eipix and BFG. Enjoy!
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from pretty good problem I had with game is after awhile you were running around from place to place and forgetting where you were suppose to go. It was very good visually thank goodness for the hints
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Completed Game + bonus I was able to purchase the CE at SE prices and am glad I did. I felt like this was the first Phantasmat by Eipix where I felt like I was playing a Phantasmat game. Great spooky atmosphere and intriguing story line.. (the ghosts appeared as though they were actual people ?? I loved that.. real people makes the game more real for me) Nobody does silhoutte progressive HOs like Epix. I usually breeze through them but often have to use at least one hint to progress. Especially loved the one in the boys room. Puzzles.. hate them anyway but was able to do a few. More than a few steps (in guide) and I opt to skip. Knowing that the bonus chapter has been criticized, I wasn't expecting much and that's what I got. I was especially interested to see what was in the extras, however. Pleased to see match 3 until I realized it was just an endless loop with no end. (I like some satisfaction of completing a level !!) I still miss journals from most developers but especially miss "the making of" in the extras where we get to meet the gang who worked on the game. One more thing... this game was high on my creep factor.. as all Phantasmat games should be. Please, Eipix, be consistent! The next game should not be a step backward!
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good story The best part of this game is the story, which is actually pretty engaging. It felt like the supernatural element was a little tacked on though. The worst part was the weird animation with the people's mouths and when they do that thing of blending animation and real people. It just looks so awkward. Otherwise, game was pretty good, if a little on the short side.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved it I enjoyed the level of difficulty of the mini games and the storyline was better than most. I didn't like the ending otherwise it would be 5 stars
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved the game but.... I must confess to avoiding Eipix games over the last couple of years, as really don't like them anymore. This game however I did give a go (as I like the series) and was pleasantly surprised! No joining dots, looking for symbols and so on. The graphics were fantastic and the game was creepy and music in keeping with the spooky atmosphere! I actually loved the HOPs, innovative, beautiful graphics and easy to complete with no need to squint or get a magnifying glass either. The puzzles I had issues with as couldn't understand the instructions and therefore had to skip most of them. I've been playing this genre for ten years and not had this issue before. My gripe is that the game was overly short. I liked the demo hour so bought game, and started from the beginning as I kept getting interrupted when I first played demo. I've never ever replayed a game from the beginning before, but wanted to reread the story from the beginning. The entire game took less than 3 hours, and whilst I skipped puzzles it was still very short. My biggest disappointment was the fact that it only took 30 minutes (or less) to finish the bonus chapter! Bearing in mind we pay double for this I don't think it's on. Can't believe anyone pays extra just for concept art etc. I really think it's about time devs gave us more for our money. It wasn't that easy to find the bonus chapter either. Had I known I would have waited for the SE. Collecting dolls wasn't difficult and only morphing objects were in the bountiful HOPs. Once again in the bonus chapter there were way too many 'filler' HOPs. So, all in all it was a very good game but IMO not worth the money for the extras.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, lousy bonus chapter Enjoyed the game - some will find it too dark and scary. But what a letdown in the bonus chapter - barely a few minutes long and hardly any games or challenges. Really lazy of the developers. Definitely not worth buying the CE
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Haunted House Game with Challenging Puzzles Based on Main & Bonus Games Glad to see Eipix is contributing to the pre-Halloween games, because I love haunted house themes. The atmosphere is great: music, sounds, scenery, suspense, etc. Puzzles are somewhat new, and increase in difficulty. HOs have traditional and interactive themes. Adventure challenge is good, though when you're confined to two rooms at times, it's not very difficult. Collectibles are voodoo dolls, that aren't hard to spot. Morphs are in HOs, and can be tricky. Match-3 is an alternative to HOs. The main game lasts about 3.5 hours in hard mode, and bonus lasts about 45 minutes. The latter carries the main story a bit further, but was weak on story & substance. CE bling includes collectibles that you can go back & find if you missed them, the souvenir room (a mini-collectible hunt), achievements, replayable HOs & puzzles, match-3 game, and the usual. Is it worth a CE? I don't think so. The main game is much better than the bonus game. Unless you have to have CE bling, the SE would be enough.
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i guess hubby had a problem not a bad game jepeers creepers where's a marriage councilor when you need one
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Where am I and why? Hello friends! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and not the story line, as others do a much better job of that than I. If my count is correct, we have #9 in this series. I have all of them, but not all are CE versions. Graphics are very well done, right down to the wrinkles, but we still have a little blur in the scenes. They could be much sharper. Very nice colors throughout the demo. Game play would be nice if they fix the glitches..the cursor disappears if you don't want the custom, which I do not care for. They are always way too big for the scenes. Game also froze in one spot, which is extremely frustrating. Voices, although few and far between, are well done, with some fear, urgency, etc, and the "bad guy" has a really creepy voice. You can click through dialog if you read faster than they speak, without losing any part of the story, or any helpful information. The sound FX are very well done and realistic, with mostly great storm sounds. Music is fairly quiet in this one too, which I like. Animation is really nice and smooth for a more realistic feel. As usual, things do jump out at you now and then. HOPs are nicely well done, with a variation of interactive lists and interactive silhouettes so far. Scenes are clean and clear and items are not difficult to find. You can switch to a match 3 if you prefer. We do have to find a morphing item in the HOPs. These do morph fairly slowly, so it is not as easy to spot as you think. Be on the lookout. Puzzles are a little challenging now and then. They are not difficult, but they do take some time and thought to complete. The hint system is usually helpful, although it sometimes just tells you to move on, and it does transport to longer locations. I didn't bother with the map, since we have the transport feature. It's much more of a time saver anyway. Strategy guide is the usual and is very easy to follow. Collectibles were a little better in this one. We have to find 35 dolls, some of which are quite creepy looking, but none have been difficult to find. They are fairly large in most cases. We also need to find 9 morphing items in the HOPs only. The story seemed to move very slowly, and since there was very little character interaction, it was a little boring for me. However, I found the story somewhat interesting, but not really anything new. For some reason, I do find the need to see what is going on and why. This game isn't challenging, but as I said, some of the puzzles were. I liked the other games in this series, so I will probably get this one as well, once they fix the glitches. Hopefully it picks up as the game progresses. I think most all levels of players will find something they like about this one. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Try, But That's All The game had a great beginning. It was so dark and mysterious, raising so many questions. Unfortunately, the developers revealed too much, too soon. There was still enough suspense to carry my interest I would say halfway further into the game. But then, it just got too repetitive. I especially disliked the, shall we say, unusual uses of some objects. You collect so many objects and have to go trying it on different items in so many places. It just really slows down the game, and takes out all the fun. The graphics were good at least. But I don't recall too much of the music, so that was obviously not so memorable. I did like some of the hidden object scenes and puzzles. But others were rather boring, like those multi-level Hidden Object Scenes that Eipix seems to love so much... And, yes, there *is* a Bonus Chapter. You have to look carefully though in the Extras, which is set up in quite a weird way - like an attic with different objects, but no labels. You have to move your cursor ever so slowly on every object to find the label, if any, of an Extras item. Thus, you will find the Bonus Chapter by putting your cursor on the mannequin on right. But don't worry if you miss it, because you may well regret having found it after you have played it! Aside from being quite short, it is also quite redundant and unnecessary, apparently added only because this *was* supposed to be a Collector's Edition, after all. I think it would have been more worth our money, however, if the developers had done a better job on the main game, and totally dispensed with the Bonus Chapter. Finally, the Achievements. Having now played so many of the EIPIX games, I would say that the Achievements in this game are just the EIPIX's "standard" set of Achievements. And, yes, I still like their idea that you can get almost all of their Achievements even after you have finished the game. [Note: The only Achievement you usually cannot get afterwards is where you have to play a Match-3 instead of a HOP somewhere in the game. There was only one game (I forget which one it was) where you could still get that Achievement even after you finished both the main game and the Bonus Chapter. But none of the other Eipix games allowed you to do so. So it is best to try to get that achievement before you do finish the main game and the Bonus Chapter.] To be honest though, I am starting to get a little tired of the same old Achievements that are neither that interesting nor very challenging. That "Supreme Achiever" Achievement, for example, which you get for finding the shown object in one scene after another, is probably the worst and most boring achievement of all. In short, this was not really that great a game. The main idea is neither original, nor too sophisticated. Too much is revealed way too soon; and the rest of the game is just a slow and tedious drag to the finish line.
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too short! This game isn't as good as some of the other recent Phantasmat games. I liked the puzzles and most of the HOP scenes, but the story line is weak and game play is barely 4 hours.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Remember the First Phantasmat Game? This isn't it. The cut scenes start with Kevin climbing rocks. He falls. You are driving down the road. Your car is hit on the driver's side by a truck coming from a side road. You are in the hospital and wake to hear your doctor tell your husband that you have amnesia and need a long rest. You are at an old farm house and Stan is going to secure the windows against a heavy storm that is moving in. You see the ghost of a small boy in the hall. He runs into a locked room. Good Stuff: HOPs and good artwork, along with the usual CE bling. Bad stuff: Most of the story is there if you care to see it - and it isn't pretty. The mini-games are down right wicked - I'm not sure if they are as unsolvable as they seem or I'm just aging faster than I'd like to admit. It is a fairly scary game, until you stop to put two and two together. And then you find that you did not want to see the four! Bottom line: I am so wishing that there was more to this game than I saw. I have enjoyed the series till now. But I am not sure I really want to know Stan any better. Please play the demo. Do not purchase until 5 minutes after you finish the demo. That will give you time to see the story and judge the game play calmly. Good luck.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It,s OK! Not a fan of this series! Following behind "Pennmom" (my go-to girl) bc she loves series; so I wanted to see for myself! Played 3 so far, and I think that is it! The first one I had a problem with and had to do over!! I am not a fan of HOs; I think that she loves them, which explains!! The most that I like about series is that the puzzles are pretty good! I do like challenging puzzles. Everything else is OK. I still recommend for the HO fans.
Date published: 2018-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from KEVIN WILL HAVE TO GO IT ALONE ON THIS ONE AS I AM OUT OF HERE Let me start by saying that Phantasmat has never been anywhere close to being my favorite series. After the last Phantasmat game - Mournful Loch, I swore that I would never buy another game in the Phantasmat series. Well here we are it’s another day and for some odd reason I just had to indulge my addiction to purchasing CE games. What a mistake, particularly when I should have known better and shackled myself far from my laptop and that “buy” button. In the game’s opening video we see a young boy named Kevin being urged by his friends to scale a mountainside and then when they realize he is in danger, they tell him he has gone too far and that he should climb down. Well with the series name being Phantasmat it doesn’t take a genius to know that the boy will slip and fall; and with that we have the beginning of another game in the Phantasmat series. You play the game as Ashley White (or do you?) who has suffered a severe concussion in a traffic accident and now must recover from a bad case of amnesia. The doctor tells your husband Stan that you must have a quiet environment in which to recover so he takes you to his farm in the country. I guess with a bad case of amnesia you didn’t happen to notice the rain stained pillows or the decaying environment. I doubt I could relax in a dirty and rusty bed but hey anything is possible in game land. At any rate, it isn’t long after you arrive for your relaxing recovery (and yes there is a raging storm approaching just to add to the ambience and make matters a bit worse) when Stan informs you that you must first secure the windows from the storm before going to bed – yep in that filthy bed no less – even though he realizes you are injured and tired. As you are securing the windows you happen to see the reflection of a young boy who seems to beckon you and you have an urge to follow him. Kevin (yes the very same boy who fell from the cliff) leaves some clues and help for you as you find your way through the decaying farmhouse. As we learn bits and pieces of the story we begin to see that loving Stan definitely has another side to his dark personality. So the question for me is do I really want to suffer through the tedium of the game in order to find out more about Stan and our relationship. In my case the answer is no but that is just me. Where the game falls apart for me is with the HOP scenes that are simply dreadful. There is a progressive scene early in the game where I had to use the hint button several times to simply get started. The scene made no sense and the items were ridiculously difficult to find. I know there has been a huge outcry from some gamers who want more difficult and challenging games but I am not one of them. However, I guess this developer has heard that call because their last several games have been so tedious and boring that I doubt I will ever purchase another. I remember when the Eipix name once equated to awesome, gorgeous, and wonderful games. I found the gameplay to be fun, if not challenging, with HOPS that were creative and where I could actually identify the items to be found. Recently this developer has resorted to using unidentifiable blotches, parts shrouded in glaring light or hidden behind dusty webs, or worse yet – items that are so infinitesimally small it would take a magnifying glass to find them. That is not what I want in a HOPA game. Part of the enjoyment for me is a relaxing search for items that can be found without too much effort. That does not mean that I don’t want some challenge or creativity in the scenes because I certainly do. I just don’t want tedium and frustration when I play since I don’t find that fun. If this game has any redeeming qualities they turn out to be some excellent mini-games that I actually enjoyed. Unfortunately, the game is so bad that not even the excellent puzzles could get me to stick it out past the game’s demo. Unfortunately I purchased the game without trying the demo and that was a huge mistake. This is a game that will sit in my purchase history without ever being played. Well maybe one day when I want a dose of punishment I might decide to suffer through the game which might not take too long since the game appears to be very short with only 12 HOPS and 13 min-games and a very short strategy guide. Even though this game was not my cup of tea, I am sure that many out there in Big Fish game land will find the game to be just what they are looking for. As always, please try the demo because you might just be one of those gamers who love the game. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Least favourite Phantasmat game so far The puzzles were super hard and HOP's too easy. But the bonus chapter was the ultimate let down - what a cop out!
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Say Boo and scary on! An interesting thriller, on the grotesque side, lacking finesse... You Collect dolls! A very dark scenario and an even darker interface of a game, which can be played only at night! And that's its biggest downside.
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from There’s only ONE Phantasmat. And this ain’t it. Review based on: 51 minutes of demo. My character’s rank stupidity made me quit. Overall rating: ? What my rating means: Needs work on gameplay, storyline, and logic. SHORT & SWEET SUMMARY REVIEW Sparse storyline interspersed by too easy gameplay and no logic whatsoever, all wrapped in excellent production. Suggest the dev spend less time on cinematic effects and more time on story and gameplay development. More details on the specific elements of the game below the fold… ———————————————————— THE GOOD The Production: It’s Eipix’s usual top notch graphics, animation, and music. The Extras: Bonus game, strategy guide, performance achievements, collectible dolls, morphing objects in the HOs, replay both puzzles and HOs, an extra HO, a souvenir room, and the dev’s portfolio of wallpapers, concept art, videos, and downloadable soundtracks. THE MEDIOCRE The Storyline: What kind of half-rate hospital lets you go home after you’ve suffered a concussion so severe that you can’t remember who you are? But you have no problem running around a farmhouse with a serious head wound? The plot was transparent nearly from the beginning, mainly because the “husband” was such a horrible actor. The idea had promise, but the pieces were not integrated well at all. And the creep factor was missing completely, especially when compared to the original Phantasmat. THE BAD The Gameplay: The usual offerings including sliding tokens to their matching spaces, swapping tokens to match the spots at the other ends of a tangle of strings, jump over tokens until only one remains, copy the clue that’s right in front of you, etc. The HO Scenes: Presentation was mostly lots of badly-drawn silhouettes. No objects were hidden (except for those requiring a minor interaction). THE HORRIBLE The Lack of Logic: The inevitable coin used as a screwdriver. It must have been the concussion that prompted filing off an antler to reach stuff under the bed. I couldn’t take the teapot off the stove to fill it with water; I had to find another container. Have you ever encountered a dart stuck so tightly in a dartboard that you couldn’t pull it out? If so, did the thought “I’ll oil it” cross your mind? Award for most inane use of a nutcracker that no sane person would think to do. Oh, and why didn’t I lock the car doors? BEST GAMES BY THIS DEV (???? or better) • from this series: none (by this dev) • from the Amaranthine Voyage series: The Living Mountain CE, The Shadow of Torment CE, Winter Neverending CE • from the Dark Parables series: The Swan Princess and the Dire Tree CE, Requiem for the Forgotten Shadow CE • Myths of the World: Black Rose CE • Off the Record: Linden Shades SE • Saga of the Nine Worlds: The Gathering SE • Sea of Lies: Mutiny of the Heart CE BEST GAMES WITH THIS GENERAL THEME (???? or better) I’m just going to call the theme a ghost story to avoid revealing the plot. • New York Mysteries: High Voltage CE • from the Mystery Case Files series: The 13th Skull CE, Fate’s Carnival CE • Timeless: The Lost Castle • Phantasmat (the original by Codeminion) • Dark Dimensions: Somber Song CE • Gothic Fiction: Dark Saga CE • from the Redemption Cemetery series: Salvation of the Lost CE, Clock of Fate CE • from the Nancy Drew series: The Ghost of Thornton Hall, Secrets Can Kill • Fright
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Yaaawwwwn I own all of the Phantasmat games. I am like 'Pennmom' in that the original Phantasmat was my favorite in this series. This 'Insidious Dreams' game is undoubtedly of high quality in graphics, mini games and h.o. scenes. However, I felt this game had an extremely boring storyline and alot of the tasks you perform seem mundane...kind of like doing chores in your house...how NOT-interesting is that?! You purchase a game as kind of an escape and entertainment venue. So if you cant keep someone interested with the story it is difficult to have the mini games and h.o. scenes compensate in entirety for that. And I honestly felt it was not of the usual level of 'creepiness factor' you get with most of the other games in the Phantasmat series. I couldnt wait for this game to end. I usually dont take the time to write reviews but I felt I had to take a few minutes and perhaps save some people the extra $ of this Collectors Edition. Wait until the S.E. version comes out if the storyline really does matter to you. Something told me not to get this one in the series and the sale they had going enticed me to purchase it. Now with regrets!
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This one's all over the place! Others have gone into great detail about game play, including spoilers. But I'm not about that, so here's my take on this latest Phantasmat offering: While playing the demo for forty minutes (that's all I could stand) I had the distinct feeling people on the development team never talked to each other while putting the game together. The story line sort of jumps around a lot and has big holes in the plot. Just like another reviewer here, I also found it easy to figure out where the story was going. While the cinematics were okay, I laughed out loud when I saw the paper cut-out demons pasted onto the screen. Whose bright idea was that? For me, that was the end of game play. And the really difficult mini games also added to my quick un-install. I couldn't wait to hit the 'skip' button. The Phantasmat series has steadily gone downhill and probably should just roll away.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worst Phantasmat game ever! Just a boring game all around. Epix has gone back to real actors in their games, let the bad acting begin! Won't be playing the next one. Bonus chapter was a real let down too. Shame, this was a really good series.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from How can I play without a cursor? I tried to play the trial of this game, but it was nearly impossible. I find that large cursor icons move slowly in some games, so I usually switch to the system-supplied one. This time when I switched, the cursor disappeared completely. I couldn't even find it using the Ctrl button. I managed to click around on the options menu until I could change back, but this glitch makes the game very unappealing. Too bad, since I do have several of the other games in this series and they work without problems.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from figured out plot in 20 minutes I am one of the people who think...or as other believe over think suspenseful movies and games to sort details out in my own brain and usually figure out key details before shown in game or movie...and red herrings usually do not stump me either sometimes this is fun cause im sometime but rarely stumped or made to question my thoughts as to what is coming...i usually know before the end of the game or movie...and way in advance who is who and why such and such is happening as i have a keen eye for the fine details many over look but i figured out this whole game plot in the demo...disappointed so i didn't want to buy...i played it on a friends computer who already purchased it...i was also disappointed because i love Eipix games...also love hearing the same voice in different games...yes i can pick out voices as well...that part is fun lol alas i was not surprised by anything cause i had already figured the plot...more of a cure than a blessing id say to have my over analytical brain as i love suspense...but only when I'm actually puzzling something out...not when i know the plot before the 20 minute mark
Date published: 2017-09-15
  • y_2021, m_9, d_22, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_27294, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Phantasmat: Insidious Dreams Collector's Edition

Can you delve into a dangerous past and escape in time?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.