Harrowed Halls: Hell's Thistle Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Harrowed Halls: Hell's Thistle Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(496.52 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Daily Magic Productions presents the next haunting installment of the Harrowed Halls series!

Your sister is in the hospital with a mysterious illness! Your only clue is her mumbling about an abandoned house that you explored as children. The search for a cure quickly takes a dangerous turn as spirits interfere with your investigation! Can you solve a cold-case about a series of murders in the house and save your sister in time? Find out in this captivating hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“I LOVE this game! Can't wait for the full version. The storyline was great. Different minigames and hos are great. I actually jumped a couple of times from being startled...LOL. One of the best demos I've played with you guys.”  - Samantha, Beta Tester

“Love this game!!! The storyline is amazing. It had me hooked as soon as the ball went through the window the first time and the boy and girl went in after it. Some of the scenes made me jump. I love getting spooked by a game it keeps me wanting to know and see more. This is a great game!!!! Thank you for making this game. Truly fantastic!!!!!”  - Diane, Beta Tester


  • Learn the truth behind the Wantley Family tragedy in the bonus chapter.
  • Find lots of collectible hidden coins and morphing objects!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, concept art, music, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1244 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Harrowed Halls: Hell's Thistle Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(496.52 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Harrowed Halls: Hell's Thistle Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 39.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I bought it before I had finished the trial. Enjoyed it the whole way through!
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy & spooky excellence! Wow, what a surprise! I agree, that a game on this scale of creepy hasn't been done THIS GOOD in a long while!! The graphics are clear and super detailed with enormous amounts of attention paid to the environment. EACH scene of the dark and disheveled house and its yard is top-notch. Dark and light are balanced well, for the abandoned, creaking house to really come to life! Along with all of that and the superb sound effects, I really couldn't fault this game. Character interaction is minimal, but the telling of THEIR life stories and interactions are paramount to the unfolding of the story. The nice thing is, it never made me cringe (they never show too much), however that could just be down to personal limits - but it's definitely not a lightweight story, and certainly not for kids-. The story goes this way and that way, and just when you think you've got it all figured out, you realize you haven't! Beautiful to look at HOPS and lots of fun puzzles too!
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FAMILY FEUD REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS This is a very enjoyable game with plenty to do in each scene. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Casual, Advance, Hard and Custom modes of play; * Interactive map; * 17 Achievements; * Notebook; * Collections; * Find 72 morphs in game and bonus (puzzle pieces). The graphics are not bad but it is very dark in most scenes. However, it is an old house with lots of ghosts and creepy sounds to keep you company, so I suppose it has to be dark to add that ambiance to the game. Sound is good and the music is orchestral and piano. The hidden object games are mainly interactive straightforward which you will do twice. These are easy to do and each one only takes a couple of minutes. Items are clear to see. There are a huge range of mini-games and I enjoyed them all. These ranged from easy to medium. There are a few of my favourite ones in there as well. None are too hard or boring and I'm sure you will be able to conquer them all without any problem. As you go through the game and bonus, you will collect coins. When you have enough coins then go to Collections and play some extra mini-games. These are fun to do. There are 72 morphs (puzzle pieces) to find throughout the game and bonus. In some scenes these were actually hard to spot. There are 6 puzzles in total which you can complete any time you like. I did these are I went through the game. You also have a cellphone with apps to help you. This does not hinder the game in any way and it was fun using it. All up the game and bonus took me about 5 hours to play. I took my time as there was lots to do and it wasn't always obvious what to do next. I enjoyed that. Overall, a fabulous game and well worth putting in your collection. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best. Game. Ever! Now this is worth your money!!! Where do I start? There were so many omg, jaw dropping moments in the game that sometimes I laughed at (or was incredibly shocked) how bizarre, crazy, murderous, psychotic, and devious the villain was...and I loved every moment of it. This was so worth buying the CE! It's nice and long with plenty of scenes to keep you engaged. Those darn morphing puzzle pieces were hard to find sometimes which I also enjoyed. To the developers - you blew me away and I applaud you!! I'll leave it to other reviewers to add spoilers, but if you haven't read the other reviews, you will not be disappointed with this game. Even, when I stopped playing in an attempt to make it last, I would walk away like...dang! Really?! Wow, yep, that really happened! LOL. I'm in Chapter 6 and still trying (and quite worried) to figure out what happened to the kids? Way better than the Hallowed Halls - Lakeview Lane (while also very long, it had a tendency to drag and took me a really long time to finish). Beautiful graphics (quite nice quality), appropriate eerie music, intriguing and often challenging puzzles, which I admit, some i had to skip. Overall, this was game was simply amazing.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best "creep factor" game in quite some time This game has lots going for it. As mentioned in my review title the creepiness is outstanding without being overly gruesome as is often the case in some of the most bizarre games. As a man I really enjoyed having Rick as the main character. The HOPA world of gamers knows full well that we are certainly oversaturated with female leads. One of the best aspects of Harrowed Halls is the story and I am pleased that the demo ended without knowing much of what the tale will unfold. As to game play itself we have a mixed bag of easy tasks and challengers. I can appreciate not having everything handed to me but also not pulling my hair out if most of the puzzlers are mind-numbingly hard. I fully enjoyed the hidden object segments in HT since the level of required interactivity involved being on one's toes to complete the hidden object parts. The only downside ( and I played using the custom settings ) was seeing small sparks guiding me to various areas on each screen yet this aid is not so glaringly a mistake as to ruin the game. Being a CE version there are morphs and collectibles. When I find a game to be of superior quality I generally fail to even look for these items. Such is the case with Harrowed Halls. With 10/31 just around the corner gamers have been subjected to a couple of really good thematic entries. The Halloween inspired game a couple weeks ago is terrific and HT absolutely knocks the ball out of the park. This is a grand slam winner.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best games in a long time Do not listen to who is complaining. This game is rock solid. Amazing storyline and gameplay.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favourite game! This is one of the best games I've played in a long time! I enjoyed the storyline & the different styles of HOG's. There are lots of puzzles and the gameplay is quite long (not including the bonus chapter). I really liked the extra puzzles at the end of the bonus chapter (you buy them using the collected coins from the game). I'm ready to play again!!
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good creep factor! The creepier, the better. Other reviewers have done a banner job on the gameplay so I won't go there. What I will add, is that this game had good creep value. Not out of the ballpark, but good nonetheless. It also offered a lot of rooms to explore, another favorite characteristic of mine.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game!!!!! Game play is so much fun and everything falls into step one after the other. I had a lot of fun and am even going to play this over and over again. The graphics were great and ghosts were fun. Storyline was detailed and written nicely. I recommend you take the time to play this game. Is now one of my favorites.
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not your average ghost story Daily Magic has created an exciting chapter to this series. From the eye that watches you to having a shoot out with a ghost. New HOPS and mini games will challenge you to the very end.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ANOTHER “SPOOKTACULAR” GAME FOR THE HALLOWEEN SEASON REVIEW BASED ON THE ENTIRE GAME: Game Play Time: 5 Hours 6 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter: Strategy Guide: 44 Pages OVERVIEW: Seems like old times, doesn’t it Rick? It is a cold “blast from the past” as you return to memories and old haunts from the 1980’s. Return to an abandoned house you and your sister Dana visited as a child. Now your sister Dana is suffering from an illness, the same illness that affected your mother. Lying in her bed, your sister murmurs something about this house. She is seemingly being affected by events which happened at that house. You are off to the city of Portland to investigate what elements of this house could be affecting your sister. This house is chuck full of ghosts from the Wantley family who were murdered within this home. Learn about the ghosts, Alleta, her twin sons, and her philandering husband, Garth. What happened in that “home, less-than-sweet home,” to cause it to become haunted by its former inhabitants? Get prepared for more twist and turns and a surprise ending in this game! The ending may haunt you for years – well maybe not – but it is still a little unsettling! Boo! to you from Daily Magic. What a great game! This game is LONG with many activities. The game is BETTER AFTER THE DEMO! The HOP scenes are rather blasé; however, the FORTY-FIVE (45) puzzles become more difficult within the game. There are also instances of puzzle-like activities which are not identified as such. Many of these are creatively designed. This is a wonderful creepy frightfest for the Halloween season. The story is well-written. Whoever writes the gaming scripts for this developer is excellent! The graphics are perfectly created to put a chill down your spine. You collect coins to purchase arcade games. Search for morphing objects – jigsaw pieces for puzzles to be played after the game. Is this the last chance to stock up on those Halloween gaming goodies? It may be. I purchased this game knowing this is probably the last one for the Halloween season. CASUAL VERSUS HARD PUZZLES: Toward the end of the main game, you get a few puzzles with the choice between playing them in a casual or hard mode. I hope this developer will continue down this path. This makes the game more enjoyable for those of us who want some challenging puzzles. THE GHOSTS OF INVISIBLE OBJECTS: We have yet another game in which we must search for items invisible to the naked eye. (I guess all the developers got the memo that “invisible items” are now the new WOW factor in HOP games along with runes!) We have another gimmicky device to locate objects not visible to the naked eye. This time you use the camera on your cell phone to see those items. This is another great developer who should throw out all the gimmicks in their games. You will use your phone excessively in this game - in BOTH the HOP scenes and puzzles as well. BONUS GAME – HALLOWEEN EYE CANDY: Find yourself in Vermont with a group from the reality show, “Paranormal Hunters.” Investigate another haunted abode to flesh out the history of the main game's haunted house. I am not finished with this bonus section; however, it is a long chapter filled with more great puzzles and HOP scenes! Zane, your guide in this chapter, is very handsome – so you won’t want to miss this Halloween eye candy! HOP SCENES: The main game has twenty (20) scenes. The HOP scenes are somewhat of a disappointment to me. They are the same generic ones we experience in other games. Most of the scenes are lists of items. There are storybook scenes in which you either look for items listed in highlighted letters or silhouette scenes, both relating to the rather long story about the family in question. There is one unique scene which features a bookcase with emblems along the sides. These items are to be located within the books. Pull out books and interact with the scenes within the books to get those items. Nicely done! However, this is the ONLY scene which I felt was creative. PUZZLES: “MAN – THAT’S A LOTTA PUZZLES! There are forty-five (45) puzzles in the main game! The puzzles are easy in the demo; however, they become more difficult afterward. There are so many I will only list those which give some indication of the types of puzzles within the game. You will have puzzles which are more like HOP scenes than puzzles. A. Matching puzzle. Match up pairs of tokens on a rotating circle. After matching two pairs, the circle will rotate to mix up the tokens. B. Sock it to the ghost! Bullseye. Face some target practice as you try to hit crates being thrown by a ghost before they hit you. Try to hit that ghost to stop his onslaught. C. Switch puzzle. Switch tiles to restore a picture. Only one-half of the puzzle will be lit at a time. D. Con-‘fuse’-d! Connection puzzle. Move four sets of fuses to connect with wires using arrows at the bottom of the screen. E. My brain is out of focus. Tricky puzzle. Use an updated camera with four dials to change the size of the objects but also their positioning in a photograph. Adjust the dials until the items fit perfectly into the photo. F. Ye old book switch puzzle. Switch books to restore an image created by placing them in the proper place and click on disks under the books to match up with highlighted images on the books. G. Maze puzzle. On a wheel, rotate 7 tokens, choosing the correct winding path to lead it to its silhouette. H. Phone puzzle. Using you phone search for 5 hidden ghosts within the scene. (You will use your phone for many of this type of puzzle throughout the game. I. I wish I could “switch” my crazy family! Switch puzzle. Switch pieces within two separate grids to restore two family pictures J. You bug me! Physical puzzle. Using your cursor, direct nasty bugs into a container. K. Stop bugging me! Logic problem. Multiple step. (1) On a “bug” poster, move bugs so they match up with the descriptions given. (2) Perform the mathematical problems to get the code to open a lock. L. Follow directions puzzle. Antidote puzzle. Create an antidote to a poison by following directions given. M. My Crazy Family Tree. Switch puzzle. Switch members in a family tree so they are in the correct location. N. Checkers puzzle. Jump over thistles until only one remains. O. Simon Says puzzle. Casual vs. hard. Follow the sequence. Click on flasks according to a given sequence until only one remains. 3X LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Hard, Custom Hints and Skips: 5 to 300 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game 17 Achievements Your mobile phone which provides a means to locate those hidden objects not visible to the naked eye. Collect coins to purchase arcade games 72 Morphing objects (jigsaw puzzle pieces for 6 puzzles) 14 Wallpaper, 24 Concept Art, Music
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A spooky journey to where it all began…. Our only chance of getting rid of these nightmares is going back, where it all began. 30 years ago Dana explored an old abandoned house together with her little brother. Something there must have traumatized her then. Was it a ghost of those, who used to live here? We play as Rick, the little brother of Dana, who lately fell into a coma and the only cure for her seems to uncover, what really happened so long ago in this old house. Arriving at the place, we see an old, abandoned mansion, barricaded. A flashback in the expedition of our youth shows, the house was abandoned even then and we had to break in – same as now. Step by step we will discover evidence of the former inhabitants and clues to their story. We won’t go alone, May, our niece is with us and she served for clever equipment: We have a phone with several applications, among them a memo pad. This should enable us to detect supernatural presence but also us to communicate even in tricky situations. The house is said to be haunted by ghosts of the former inhabitants, who were murdered. We learn about them by HOS variations (story books). After arriving at the house, the plot unfolds rather fast. The story is not told in a linear way but we have the flashback element to show moments of our first expedition to the house as well as events in the family, who lived and died here. Puzzles and mini games are not too difficult but not just the usual ones, HOS varied and cleverly used for background information. Colors are relatively dark, what enhances a creepy atmosphere, very suitable for exploring a haunted house!
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent i like this game so much This is very intersting Keep it up
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good Mystery with Suspense I really liked the bonus content. I collected 50 some coins. When I went to my collection. It had game machines to buy. Car game, shooter game, checkers game, smasher game, billiards game and floating ball game. So far I purchased the floating ball, smasher, car and shooter games. I'm shy 4 coins for both of the ones' I haven't got yet so only can choose one. Each game has a different price. I have played these more than once, they are short but fun. The Developer Diary has people in scary scenes. I think they are the game crew. Collected 72 morphing puzzle pieces that you put together for 6 jigsaw puzzles. They also have 4 music tracks, 24 concept art, 14 wallpaper and achievements. This is a murder mystery. It has blood spatter and old dilapidated rooms. I didn't think it was scary but some might. Liked a small amount of puzzles. The Hops are plentiful and good. Pretty good special affects. The bonus chapter takes place in Vermont. It adds to the main story. I think they could have ended it better. I didn't like where the main character didn't speak. I was thinking doesn't Uncle Rick speak? Or Zane? It has good pace but you have a lot of back and forth. Has a good map. Getting around isn't bad.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I GENERALLY HESITATE...... ...to give a review after only the demo..... it seems presumptuous as some games build on that, and go up from there. But, the graphics were good, storyline... so far okay, and it did have a fun factor. It's a Halloween offering that has some merit, but there have been much better in the past. For "lighter hearted creepy" try these two: "Charlaine Harris: Dying For Daylight" or "Evil Pumpkin: The Lost Halloween" For a serious "creepy challenge" try the game I listed to the left. As always, try before you buy. Happy Halloween everyone!
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does Anyone Have a Safety Pin For That Pesky Broken Zipper? Dana and Rick entered a spooky looking deserted house when they were kids to retrieve Rick's soccer ball. Fast forward about twenty years and Dana has been having nightmares and is now in the hospital with the same mysterious disease that killed her own mother years ago. Brother Rick arrives and hears Dana mumbling something about the house from their childhood. Could something that happened back then be affecting his sister now? Rick sets off to investigate, leaving Dana's daughter, Maya, to watch over her mother. He will be confronted by ghosts from the tragic past of the house where a family of four were killed in one night. Good stuff: A variety of HOPs, lots of mini-games and puzzles-some with a choice of casual or hard, dark but well-drawn artwork, fairly good characterizations, a not-too-obvious story, collectible coins and morphing puzzle pieces, and CE bling. Bad stuff: There will be the same old broken zipper, a rock to break things, a convenient tool box to plunder, another cellphone as your special tool, more glyphs and symbols to find, and massive amounts of back and forth through the house. There will be the usual logic lapses: A fire starts across the stairs to the first floor, engulfing old wooden boxes around the foot of the stairs. I run all over the second floor, down to the basement, and back upstairs, to find and repair a fire extinguisher. After all that time and effort, the stairs are not even lightly toasted and I walk down them to the foyer! Hence I did not give five stars - but the story was twisty and not as predictable as you might think. If it wasn't for all the bits in this game that we've seen before in other games, I'd have already bought this puppy and tied a bow on it. As it is, I'm going to eventually add it to my collection during a great sale. You need to give this Demo a whirl. It is the longest one I've worked through in months. Just be sure to try before you buy, as we don't all have the same tolerance levels!
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excited to Report, I Loved this Game! Fun play! Development team good job!
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good girl, bad girl Here we have the story of the evil twin sister who is sent to an asylum then eventually manages to kill her nurse and steal her identity. She is truly a psychopath and kills her entire family. We spend the game in another haunted house filled with ghosts. Not only do we have the ghosts of those who were murdered in the house but we have the ghost of the evil twin who murdered them as well! Even tho she is dead she is still trying to kill her good twin. Confusing as to how that came about but nevertheless the good twin is hospitalized and near death with some unknown illness. This nest of ghostly victims and the perpetrator make for a fun, kinda creepy romp through a nice long game filled with puzzles and hidden object scenes. I was happy that there were not dozens of amulets to find. I disliked the rehash of mini games we have seen over and over. Personally, I'm tired of spinning marbles in a circle to line them up by color. I'm also tired of the repetition of things like finding a fishing rod then having to find the line, the reel and the hook. Can't we ever find a complete fishing rod? Furthermore, can't we ever find a key in a lock that doesn't break apart when we touch it? The coins collected throughout the game could be used at the end to "purchase" different games in a separate room. I liked the idea of using the coins collected for additional games instead of purchasing those ridiculous items for your little sidekick in other games. The morphing objects were puzzle pieces. Most were easily seen but some were not. The bonus game was good and ended with a twist which made you wonder if this was a prequel or what. I liked this game but not it is not a great game. It is satisfying in length and has just enough of a creep factor to keep you interested. Once again, try the demo before you buy. I have discovered that sometimes games that get rave reviews may not be to my liking while games with low reviews may be just my cup of tea.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from You don't get scared easily, do you?! Not crazy about the gameplay: to drag a zipper or rotate a picture, where you actually use your mouse to mimic the movement... Not crazy about the artwork either: too rough and gloomey. Puzzle pieces qualify as morphing objects -beats me why. I usually play and finish a HOG within a day or two. With this one, I played a little, then left it aside and then the next day, and the next one. It didn't won me over and this says a lot! So for me, it's a clean 3 out of 5 on every aspect!
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from oh!!! mommy dearest this is an older game it was okay just thouht i give it a shot
Date published: 2020-10-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can't go back for the morphs and collectables I like games that have morphing objects and collectable items scattered throughout the rooms. I don't like games that have those, then don't let you go back in the bonus section and gather the ones you missed. This game doesn't let you gather the missed pieces, ergo, I was not happy with the game.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Please Make It Stop! Enough with the revolving door/mirror image games The last numerous CE games to come out have all been the exact same and they are all not worth the time and money spent. Another reviewer said of this one "step away from the cookie cutter" and I could not agree more! This game has so many of the things that are wrong with games that no matter how you wrap it, it is still a stinker Here we have yet another "find the symbols/runes with view finder(cell phone in this case)" gimmick. I am so tired of view finders and of symbols and runes. Every single game has them now and it is nothing but a distraction for the lack of actual game play. Another bad: So many interruptions! If not for a not-so-scary image popping up, or cut scene, there is conversation (even as brief as they are) that does nothing to add to the story, just repeating what we already know (which is another common thing going on in these games lately - the repetitiveness of the story points). There is simply no flow to this game whatsoever. You just cannot get into it The HO scenes you had to repeat twice. They are easy interactive and normally I would not mind too much but I personally am not a fan of HO scenes in adventure games and this one has way too many, all done two times each - just another time filler to make the game seem longer. I am not taking off points for this, just expressing personal peeve for those who have same peeve. Personally again, I happen to love puzzles and mini-games in my adventure games and this one has a lot comparably, however, they are all easy. They are another way to make this game seem longer because though easy to figure out, t hey are mechanically bad or just very time consuming. The only collectible is the huge puzzle piece in every scene and then a few scattered coins in the pop-up mini scenes here and there (to buy what, I have no clue nor do I care at this point) The graphics are dirty ugly throughout (gross but not in a good spooky eerie way, though they tried) Made everything a little tougher to see and focus on. Story bored me to tears and was a bit confusing due to the frequent past/present back and forth without warning. Again, they tried and failed here. The final straw was the "you knew one was coming" fire. On the stairs in this old house, burning like mad, and you have to do multiple tasks including a full HO scene, a crack the safe, and several others before you bother to put the fire out that in real life, the entire house would have burnt to the ground by now (seriously, like twenty minutes to get back to the fire) and the kicker... wait for it... after these stairs have been burning for twenty minutes and you put the fire out.. you still get to walk down them! That was it for me. I am one who can put aside logic to get lost in an adventure game. I am one who can even deal with the same 'broken zipper' dilemma. If the story is good (even if the same one we have heard before) and the game flows nice and gameplay is not aggravating, I will buy it. This is not one of those games.
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Well, it is Halloween... Hi all! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story to others. This is not my usual long winded review, as I just couldn't get into this game. I did play through the entire demo, but it was very difficult. The graphics were blurry most of the time. Colors drab, but then again, it was supposed to be an old spooky house. Sound FX weren't too bad, but not enough character interaction to even mention. The constant flash backs in the beginning were very annoying. HOPs were highlighted words, interactive lists and straight lists. Items weren't difficult to find. The HOPs were few and far between. Puzzles were nothing new and quite simple. The map was blah and boring, but we did have a transport feature. Collectibles were okay. We had 72 morphing puzzles pieces to find, which were not as easy as you think, then we needed to complete a jigsaw puzzle with the pieces we found. We also find coins to buy games and prizes. These aren't easy to spot, but are not terribly small either. Nothing exciting. I just found this story very slow and much too quiet. It needed a nice combination of dialog and sound FX to keep you interested. A beginner might find this one fun, but not a seasoned gamer. When I beta tested it, I didn't even add it to my beta list. If it's less than a 4, I don't bother. I will recommend it to a real beginner, but that's all. No buy for me. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not up to snuff if you love lots of puzzles and not much else..you will love this game. i had to force myself to finish.....same old song and dance......played this game a hundred times, different titles. sad, i was looking forward to this one.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Same old, same old I agree with the reviewers who are tired of the same old, "find the key", open the cask games which are available of late. I am so bored I am replaying 13th Skull, Mystery Case Files....it is an oldie but such a goodie....give it a try!
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from *yawn* SUMMARY…Based on 18 minutes of the demo, the overwhelming majority of the “gameplay” is just clicking to advance the story. The dev seemed more interested is showing off a variety of new programming than actually developing the story and gameplay. WHAT WAS GOOD…The hint button is a moving eye looking through a keyhole, which is really cool. WHAT WAS “MEH”…The graphics and animation were mediocre and mismatched. Some elements had lots of detail while others were crude and looked unfinished. The palette was mainly greys and blues. The music was boring, and there were only four tracks. The melody that played most of the time was just back and forth between two notes on the piano, monotonous and annoying. The voiceovers were mostly melodramatic and unrealistic. Many things had to be dragged rather than clicked. This must be a new trick for this dev, because they used it constantly. Each one was accompanied by an arrow and the word “drag” that not only held your hand, but led you to the exact action you were supposed to perform. WHAT WAS BAD…The storyline and its pace. There was no motivation to troll slowly through the inane depiction of an abandoned house. There were so many interruptions that the plot seemed fractured and nonsensical. The gameplay was almost an afterthought. There were only two HO scenes and one mini-game in the time I played. All were ridiculously easy. One HO scene introduced me to a gimmick: a paranormal app on my phone with which I had to mouse over the room to find glaringly glittering items that couldn’t have been more obvious if they were on fire. The other HO was a simple interactive find word in the narrative. The mini-game was a version of connecting the like token on a grid, except it was connect the six moons in order. The extras don’t justify the CE price. Besides the bonus chapter and SG, each scene had an huge morphing puzzle piece that was easy to find. There were collectible coins to buy things, performance achievements, and a scanty portfolio of concept art, the dev’s diary, wallpapers, and the above mentioned four music tracks, which were not downloadable. No ability to replay either HO scenes or mini-games. The game mechanics. The game didn’t fill my screen, and the menu bar remained visible, pushing the inventory partially offscreen. Hot spot placement was utterly illogical to the extent that I either thought my action was wrong when it wasn’t because I didn’t click in the exact right spot, or an entire quarter of the screen was a hotspot for one tiny area. CONCLUSION…Maybe kids would like it, but they might be bored too, unless they were new to the genre. And the CE is not worth double the cost. I quit shortly after the inevitable missing zipper pull, since its presence revealed more about the quality of this game than wasting an hour on the demo would. BEST GAMES BY THIS DEV (???? or better) • from this series—none • other game series—Dark Dimensions (City of Fog-2011, Somber Song-2013), Sable Maze (Sullivan River-2012, Norwich Caves-2013, Forbidden Garden-2014, Twelve Fears-2016) • one-off games—Ominous Objects: Family Portrait-2014 BEST GAMES IN THIS STORY GENRE There are, at this point, hundreds of cookie cutter games like this one, mostly released within the past three years.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Enjoying the modern day time period... until... I was enjoying this game more than usual, and was happy to find a modern day setting. Sure, it was ghosts, but at least we didn't enter a portal to a castle! The HOS were fun and extremely varied, and puzzles doable with a bit of persistence (although I believe the solution in the SG was incorrect for one). So, why one star? Because, after playing for hours, we learn the back story of the mother, and yet again the developers resort to a mental hospital to find their "baddie." Most mental patients are more of a danger to themselves than to others. They are not scary. They are only trying to live ordinary lives, with families, friends, and jobs. Let's give mental illnesses the same respect as other medical issues. There are no games with frightening seizure sufferers! Or bald cancer patients... I do not recommend this game.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Experience...don't go here! This is the first time in ten years of playing games with Big Fish that I will submit a bad review. Besides the ridiculous technical issues, which I'm not supposed to talk about here but they impacted my experience extremely, the game was not worth my time. The story line is erratic and hard to follow. I still don't know what it was all about even after completing the game.The hidden object scenes are too easy and some of the tools collected were ridiculously unrelated to where I needed to use them. The bonus game story line had nothing to do with the main story. And on and on...I didn't like this game. I didn't enjoy playing it. I'm glad it's over!
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful storyline I have never disliked a storyline so much. I only finished the game because I had paid for it.
Date published: 2017-10-31
  • y_2021, m_10, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_27433, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Harrowed Halls: Hell's Thistle Collector's Edition

Can you solve an old murder case and save your sister?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.