Mystery Case Files: The Revenant's Hunt Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files: The Revenant's Hunt Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(340.17 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

You're off to America! Reports of a supernatural creature terrorizing the town of Avondel have brought you across the pond. This won’t be an easy task as you race against the clock to uncover the dark secrets behind a fiery crash from the 1980's. Do you have what it takes to stop the dead from destroying the living? Find out in this spine-tingling Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“Playing the new Mystery Case Files is one of my favorite after Thanksgiving traditions and this one doesn’t disappoint. Avondel is a unique setting for a MCF game and I can’t wait to see where the story goes from here.”  - Roger, Beta Tester

“What a great addition to the MCF series. The graphics are top-notch, the puzzles are fun. Looking forward to the full release.”  - James, Beta Tester


  • Find collectibles to learn about the Revenant’s history!
  • Enjoy wallpapers, music, and other extras!
  • Never get lost with the Strategy Guide!
  • Save your daughter from a new revenant in the bonus chapter!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 637 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: The Revenant's Hunt Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(340.17 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: The Revenant's Hunt Collector's Edition is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 119.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MCF comes to New England & it's autumn in Vermont :) BASED ON COMPLETED SE -and completed demo to the CE (I didn't complete the CE bonus chapter though.) The game took me 3hrs. 17min. I play on custom at an average pace so it may be more or less for you. This didn’t feel like a MCF to me. It would have been a great new series if they left the title Revenant’s Hunt and had different games based on a different revenant. The more you play, the better this game gets because they explain more and more story as you go and it's really pretty interesting by the end when you learn who is who. There is a great journal/diary that you need to keep checking to understand the story more. It also has a game timer so be sure to check it just before the end of Chapter 6 to see how long it’s taken you. I used the blog WTG to see where I was in the game but the CE version has an in game WTG that is really helpful. The story is so confusing just in the demo portion. I noticed a few reviewers saying the story was hard to follow (and it is) so be sure to read the new entries into the journal to catch up on what's going on. There are also 9 cards to find in the SE portion which go in a silver box on the left of the screen. The cover moves and glows a bit if there is a card still in the scene. I found the scenes were lacking detail and content. Usually MCF titles are fully loaded and this game not so much. Based on the gameplay itself it’s a 4* game to me and based on a MCF title and comparing it to others, like 13th skull, it just doesn’t compare. So you need to go in with an open mind and play the game for just the game—and not the with MCF tag. It has 4 of those super puzzles in the SE. I completed all of the first one but some of the others I was skipping sections. In the last chapter there are some “exhibits” that are interactive and walk you through the story. It has those MCF mannequins like we see in MCF Escape from Ravenhearst. I really liked how they did the VO and effects for these. All in all, I liked this game and it kept my interest until the last scene. Since I purchased the SE, I missed kicking the piles of leaves and missed the collectibles the CE has so I recommend either version depending on if you miss those things. I loved playing this MCF in my neck of the woods. Thank you Eipix!
Date published: 2019-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good This is not the original developer but still the game has value, interesting story line and somewhat complicated puzzles.
Date published: 2018-01-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Slightly disappointed. I love the MCF games. This shouldn't be an MCF game to be honest. The Revenant was barely explained, the plot was kind of dull, and the game was just so short. I finished it within two hours and honestly, it was a bit of a drag. There's no real threat in the game, and the drama comes off as some sort of weird soap opera hybrid. I really don't like Eipix that much any more (I wish Blue Tea still did the DP games) and this is no exception. It doesn't have the amazing storyline like the Ravenhearst arc, it doesn't have the unique setting like Dire Grove or Madame Fate, and the characters are met (Dalimar was a weirdo but he was interesting). The recent MCF games have really dropped in quality and I hope this is fixed. If you want a quick game just to play HOS, then sure, get this if you want, but I think that you should probably find a game which you know won't disappoint.
Date published: 2018-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from MCF Franchise Keeps Slipping I've purchased every MCF game released. The original Ravenhearst hooked me and lead me to Big Fish Games and the rest is history. I agree with all the other reviewers stating how this game series has been slipping the last several releases, and I agree wholeheartedly. Ever since Big Fish stopped producing (creating?) the games, they've been on a downhill slide. I also agree that EIPIX is taking this series on a totally different path, with no relation to the original story line whatsoever. They could name this game any other title since it has nothing to do with the MCF franchise. Also, this game has ridiculously simple puzzle games. There is no thought involved in many of them; they shouldn't even classify as a puzzle. If you're looking to just continue your collection of MCF games, then go for it - it's playable. But if you're looking for a continuation of the MCF storyline, then I'd say skip this one.
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from MCF Disappointment This game is one of the shortest ones I've ever played; the first time I've ever finished a game in one sitting. It's way too easy and cheesy. Stupid story line so no wonder it's so short.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not even close to original MCF games Although I appreciate the efforts by the developer, there is no way I can give anything above 3 stars (would have given 2, but will give 3 for effort). As a long time MCF fan, especially the original games, I am sorely disappointed ... again. I just don't understand the 5 star ratings on this game. Just as I've been disappointed the last couple years when it comes to the annual MCF game. Are people so enamored by the "MCF" title that they give it a pass knowing full well this game is mediocre at best? Trust me, there was a time I was as excited as some of the reviewers when I knew it was close to the latest release of the MCF game. But, nothing can compare to Return to Ravenhurst or other earlier MCF games. I'm giving this game a pass. I will no longer look forward to the annual MCF games because I know it will be just like every other never ending HOG games we are subjected to almost daily on BFG. Can't wait to see the annual holiday game in December. Hope I'm not as disappointed as I was with this game.
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not MCF but JAG (Just Another Game) I would have rated this a little higher if it wasn't presented as an MCF game. It's a mostly linear game with very little backtracking. The humor and game feel we've come to expect from MCF was almost completely absent. nor was the music at all reminiscent of MCF. In fact, take away the clue typewriter and there's really nothing that makes you think you're playing an MCF game. Maybe it's time to retire this franchise. #can'tbelieveIwaitedayearforthis
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not MCF worthy I've had a hard time since MCF changed developers to EIPIX. They used to be really creepy and tons of fun. Not so much anymore. I miss the journal and the really hard puzzles. This was way too easy and short. I used to spend at least double the time finishing the games as the puzzles were hard and engaging. Pretty good for a regular game, but not MCF worthy.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed Here was me thinking we were in for a real treat as the introduction to the game looked gripping!(lol) Can't say this has anything to do with the MCF as we die hard fans know it.To me it's just another game-nothing special at all. Even the puzzles are easier than the usual mind benders we have endured in the past. We wait that long for the MCF games,they should be more spectacular than this Big Fish! We all loved the many follow up games to Ravenhearst so why can't we have more of Madam Fate,Dire Grove etc instead of this utter drivel that doesn't belong in this series.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just not the same I agree with other reviewers this was not MCF...just another EPIX game, although the Rube puzzles were my favorite. It was done too soon, just like all the other games, remember when it would take DAYS to finish a MCF? Hopefully EPIX will read these and work on bringing back MCF to it's former glory!
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing Special :( This was a well done game, but nothing special. Maybe after past MCF games I expected more than just run of the mill. Storyline was a boring cliché, it was extremely linear so no challenge or mystery, and there was literally zero fright factor. It was also extremely short, and just very ordinary.
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I Really Hate To Say This... But Pretty Disappointing I love the MCF series, I've been playing these games since the first one was released years and years ago. I look forward to purchasing each new one in the series every Thanksgiving, I always buy the collector's editions and I don't even "try for free" first, because I've always felt confident that MCF is going to be a great game. Some games in the MCF series have been better than others, but I've always found each of them to be pretty exceptional in comparison to other games in the same genre. I feel like MCF has always "pushed" the genre with each new release and each new game includes innovations in game play and puzzles. I hate to say it, but I felt "The Revenant's Hunt" really fell short of the high quality of previous MCF games. There was nothing new, original or imaginative regarding the game play, puzzles or story line. The game was shockingly "plain" and formulaic. The game play itself was very easy and used the same old puzzles that all of these "adventure" games do. I finished the game in one sitting and when the game ended I literally said out loud "That's it?". As I said, I've always been a huge fan and supporter of the MCF series and I hate giving this release a lukewarm review, but I feel that "The Revenant's Hunt" just really isn't up to the same cutting-edge, envelope-pushing quality of previous MCF games. Hopefully Eipics will put more effort into future MCF releases.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was a entertaining game but......NOT MCF WORTHY Well, like the other reviewers said, It lacks the luster of the old days of MCF when you didn't dare play dire grove in the dark, or you couldn't wait to learn more about the ravenhurst manor, or wished madame fate could read your fortune. It was on the short side, so wait for the standard version if you can. It had potential for a real thriller, but another game waisted for a years wait. There is many other game series that are awesome on bigfish.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Going down hill... I appreciate that MCF has an awful lot to live up. The series has set the standard for HOs since the very start. So this is truly disappointing. It's still good quality compared to other games, but gone are the cinematics; gone is the truly macabre content; and, worst of all, the door puzzles - the one original and imaginative feature unique to the series - have been hastily thrown together and completely lack the cooky antique feel of its predecessors... Really disappointed. Please get back on track with this series!!
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I am surprisingly disappointed I was so excited to see another MCF game out that I bought it without playing the free trial. I have done this with every previous MCF game and until now has not been a problem. Once I started playing I had to check to make sure I hadn't made a mistake and it really wasn't an MCF game but... it was. This game was just too easy. Maybe it's just me but I don't like being told exactly what to do. I want to figure it out myself. The challenges were also far too easy in my opinion. In short, I am very sad.
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not MCF worthy! I quite enjoyed this game as a stand-alone, but not as a MCF game, which I have all of (and the last couple certainly haven't been adequate either). The puzzles were interesting. HOS were extremely easy. I was confused by the bonus game, which had nothing to do with the story. If this series is going to continue, I'd prefer to see them follow in the footsteps of Madame Fate, Ravenswood, etc.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The mystery sadly is what ever happened to MCF.. Standard hidden object . Nothing to connect the classic series with this game. Short, repetitive and similar to many others. Such a disappointment when this Thanksgiving gift use to be the thrill of year.
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not very challenging at all This is - hands down - the least challenging of all the Mystery Case Files games. I really used to enjoy the lock challenges, but it seems they're designed now to cater to the easily frustrated. My yearly new MCF anticipation has been totally wiped away with this game. Highly disappointed.
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Game - Very Short This is a good game. I love all MCF games. My primary issue with it is how short it is. What gives with most BF games getting shorter and shorter? The price to value ratio keeps dropping and I'm less and less inclined to continuing playing these games.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This One Not As Good You off track with this storyline, liked the first few the out but the last couple not so great, so will wait to buy on the next one.
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A very slow soapy game in the DEMO. I only played the demo in the CE. It moved to slow for me. The hops were to dark to see which made it boring. Also to much back and forth. After a while became very redundant to me. This took the fun and the mystery out of the game. The soapy part I thought was a good story line in the demo but lacked good directions in game play.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Only Okay I've come to expect a lot from MCF but this disappointed. I like the mini games and there were only two that were any challege at all. The game was just okay.
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WAAAY TOO SHORT!! It only took me about an hour to beat this. It was not worth buying! Not very challenging!
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Short While I enjoyed this game it was very short. I was done in less than 3 hours. It was almost too easy. Which is saying something because I am very rusty, I haven't played these games in years.
Date published: 2017-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from GOOD BUT SHORT Game was ok but the storyline and length of game was very short for a collectors edition.... feeling a bit disappointed.
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't Live Up to the MCF Name I purchased this without playing the trial first - shame on me. I trusted the MCF name but this one was not up to par. I couldn't follow the story line. Maybe it was because I could only spend a few minutes at a time on it and had a lot of interruptions, I don't know. But I never knew what was going on. The HOS were easy, the mini games were mildly challenging, the door locks with multiple parts (my favorites) were too simple and were solved with minimal effort. The "helpful hints" tell you exactly what to do. I prefer to work it out for myself. The graphics and background music were good, but I miss the cinematics. The best part was the voice actors. They were top-notch!
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Trial: Okay Game. Well-done Graphics. Back and Forth. Graphics were exceptional, sound was appropriate to scenes and music was not annoying. Story line scenes were well done. Hidden Object games were detailed, had lots of objects to explore and provided some variety. Mini Games are abundant with lots of memorization sequences. Also some of the Mini Games were different and I'm sure fans of Mini Games will be pleased. Characters were rather wooden with dialogue boxes on lower screen, but well designed and varied. Hint transports to locations which is good because you go back and forth a lot! For fans of this series I recommend this game to continue the journey. For new players of this series, take a test with the free trial. Worth your time to see how you like this game and if you do, it will open a whole series of adventures for you.
Date published: 2018-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Demo, but very uneventful and repetitive when full version bought! Loved the idea that your answers could vary to the characters and influence the outcome of the game, if indeed it did, as it seemed to make little difference to me, but this was new, some of the games were great, hitting away fireballs to overcome an attack was also new, so much more than HO lists and this enticed me to buy the game at CE...but then it got repetitive and went from a brilliant idea straight into being all very mediocre. Had I known how the main game would pan out, I would not have bought or waited for the SE edition, as there were no collectibles or morphing objects, the Bonus was lame and more of the same games and objects, so it's hard to see why it was a CE in the first place...
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It Was Alright, Except For Its Bonus Game Not as good and fun as the old RavenHearst games though; but its main game apparent abstract storyline at first has an unexpected twist. Bonus game however had a horrible one and could've been more twisted. Next MCF should have Charles Dalimar unexpectedly trying to possess the Master Detective's soul; with Victor being its bonus game in their vengeful return.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A BIG DISAPPOINTMENT! Definitely NOT worth the money. I had been waiting to play this game for a long time, but talk about a big disappointment indeed. Oh, the graphics are pretty good. But graphics alone don't make a great game. The storyline was not original. It was a twist on an old idea, only --- it was such a *bad* twist, it did not even make sense. The dead seeks revenge on the living? In fact, it wasn't even an intentional misdeed! Not even the courts are likely to have convicted the "culprits," so the "dead" had no revenge to seek! Surely, one would know that, at least after one's dead... Now the developers suggest that the game is based on some kind of an old legend. Problem is, if such a legend does exist, only children under 10 or less are likely to fall for it! But this is definitely not a game for children. They (the children) deserve better! Finally, don't fall for any promos, folks! This game is neither scary nor eerie, and not even a mystery. In fact, it seems to have been made only to provide a bunch of HOPs and puzzles (none of which are really even interesting), and a whole lot of achievements (not even really challenging). In short, this is one boring game that I would not recommend to anyone. :/
Date published: 2018-05-29
  • y_2021, m_10, d_17, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_119
  • loc_en_US, sid_27612, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: The Revenant's Hunt Collector's Edition

Can you stop the Revenant before it's too late?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.