Dark City: London Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark City: London Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(528.21 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

4Friends Games presents the first adventure in a brand-new series!

London is about to celebrate the opening of the world’s largest clock tower, until a headless ghost appears, threatening to destroy London and murder hundreds at the opening ceremony. Investigate the dark alleys and gather clues to hunt down the killer and unlock the deadly secrets hidden inside the clock tower. Can you save London? Find out in this Victorian hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“This game was OUTSTANDING! I can't remember the last time I adored a game this tremendously. The artwork was so clever with the sketch vibe and the vivid colors in the game play. The character were perfectly voiced. The mini games and hidden objects were inventive. This game was perfection. Well done!”  - Stephanie, Beta Tester

“I thoroughly enjoyed this game! I love the detective! He seems such a skeptic to what is going on around him and I love the case work! Great job on this game!”  - Art, Beta Tester


  • Solve a new case in the exciting bonus chapter!
  • Collect hidden dominoes and morphing objects as you play.
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs and mini-games!
  • Enjoy exclusive screensavers, concept art, and music!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1173 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark City: London Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(528.21 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark City: London Collector's Edition is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 38.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best game I've ever played!!! Based on complete CE game play. Dont let this one slip by!. I have bought and played hundreds, this is a legue of its own. I hope theres more to come from Dark City. This is my 1st ever review. The games are generally not worth the effort or the money.....oh this one is..Finally!!!! Thank you Dark City, next please :-)
Date published: 2017-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best new game of the year! I just finished the entire game (including the bonus game) and I've got to say that I haven't enjoyed a game as much as I enjoyed this one in at least two years. Yes, it didn't have the most challenging puzzles or the hardest HOPs, but it was just plain and simple FUN! I loved the story line and the way the detective investigated the scenes. The graphics and music were very good and the story moved along like a movie. The length of the game was just right as well. I really hate spending CE money on a short game! Nothing scary (although I like the scary games too), no gore, just good story telling. I truly hope they continue this series and I look forward to playing whatever they come up with next!
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's Been Awhile Hi fellow HOP lovers. I don't have my monthly membership anymore because I have my Felix doll and I own soooo many Big Fish games. I stock up on new ones in the story lines I like when they are published. I found this game when I was surfing this website and decided to give it a whirl. I LOVE IT. Just right for me in Advanced mode. The graphics are great and the game flow is excellent. I haven't written a review in years but I have for this game. I hope the 4 Friends game developers come up with some additional versions. Take care.
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Game!...and it's first in the series! The story line was excellent and had more HOS then hidden object games have had lately. I really enjoyed them and liked the fact the the morphing objects were separate. Also liked the fact you had an easy menu option on the side to see if you collected all the morphing and domino objects. The puzzles were unique and challenging enough to make them fun. I completed the regular game and going to play the extras game. One of the best games I've played lately. Can't wait for the 2nd one!
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dark city london extradinarly good this game was interesting and unusual in the hop not just the ho hum hop also the mystery story line was good to the fact never boring the more I played the game the more interesting and fun it was to play we need more of this type of games to play for all level players
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now that's what i call a success! Great story, relevant, fast paced, incredible graphics and soundtrack. Very Sherlock-esque. Everything about it was top quality. I never once lost interest. MCF move aside, your days are over!!!!
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Great new game , just what I was looking for a relaxed afternoon. Collecting morphing objects and dominos throughout the game is what I love. The puzzles are great as well as the HOP's . A real well done game and a great storyline. The game is more on the easy side. Just try, it's really great .
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hidden Object Game One of the best games that have come out There not really anything bad I can say about it.
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Great , So Fresh, So Creative I have only started the 2nd chapter. I purchased based on reviews and playing only 15 mins of the Demo. The others have described the game in detail. I am just tossing in my impressions and say yes, yes, yes, try it. It is so rare to have a real story, good graphics, accents and anything new. I would not want to be a developer, because goodnight!! How many stories and objects can one create that is ALL COMPLETELY totally new that may appeal to all ages and genres? So for the ones that can and do and have quality, well, buy, buy buy for me. Now back to the game, OH BOY, I am glad it is Friday I will not stop until I finish. I am one of the rare people that do not enjoy games that are too long, even if it is good, if it has quality, a few hours is cool, and I never feel ripped off if I have fun and feel good at the end of the game that ends well. so I hope it is just right... Happy weekend gamers!
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game I purchased this game after reading some of the reviews. I was not sorry. I loved this game. Lots of play. Not over quickly. The different types of games was refreshing and fun. Can't wait for a sequel.
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY SHERLOCK HOLMES I haven't written a review for awhile. I only tend to write them about games I really enjoy. I am basing this review on the demo that I just finished. That should tell you how much I liked The Dark City: LONDON. Another great detective is on the job. A slow-paced, but intriguing game. It is very much Sherlock Holmes-like, but without Watson. I enjoy detective, crime, mystery type games and this one fits the bill. I like the storyline very much and the characters are interesting. A headless ghost has cursed the city of London in the19th century threatening to burn the city and leaves his mark on people wherever he goes. London has endured the crisis of the black plague and the burning of the city previously and it endured. I am sure it will again and reign supreme once more against this ghost. There are the usual suspects with HOS, morphing objects and collectables to keep you interested. The mini games are very good and a map is included to make the going a little easier, which you will need as ye old city of London is a big place. I am very impressed with the artwork and visual design graphics. The artists and CGI people have done an amazing job with this game. The audio cannot be faulted. The entire game has been beautifully and skillfully presented. The characters I find interesting in the way that they are very realistic and it is great to actually hear them speaking rather than just having to read the subtitles. I found that as the game went along I began putting myself in the place of the detective and I became more absorbed into the game, hellbent on getting to the truth and wanting to bring the criminal to justice. However, as they say, it's not about the destination, it's also about the journey and this is what this game is. A journey through one of the greatest cities in the world, an intriguing mystery to solve and interesting characters to interact with before reaching the final destination. I look forward to a sequel. Keep up the good work 4Friends Games, I enjoy your games very much.
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Detective on the hunt! Hello friends! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story line to those who can do a much better job on it than. Where do I start with this game? The graphics are excellent, very clear and clean. I really like how the dev incorporated a cartoon-like graphic to tell the story and background of what is happening, and included HOPs in them as well. Colors are bright and true, but not over powering. Game play was awesome and perfect, with no glitches or bumps along the way. Animation is very smooth and realistic in all aspects of play. Voices are extremely well done, being age and character appropriate. Unlike some other games, we actually have different voices for the characters. They all have very realistic emotions, and not just someone reading a script. You can click through most dialog, if you read faster than they speak, and you won't miss any important information. Sound FX are throughout the game and very well done. Music is soothing until that "edge of your seat" moment is about to happen. Very nice. HOPs are exceptionally well done, very different. You often have puzzles within the HOP. Scenes are very clear and items are not difficult to find, but you do have to work for some of it. We have a combination of highlighted words, interactive HOPs, and items related to other items. I love HOP games and I have never seen HOPs this well put together, nor this much fun. I did not see that you could switch to something else, but I really wouldn't want to either. Puzzles are interesting, fun and challenging. Most take a bit of brain power to complete, not a lot, but they do take a little time. You do a lot of back tracking, but not really any long distance. I got so engrossed in the game that I didn't even look at the map. Hint system is quite helpful, but I don't recall a transport feature during the demo. Collectibles are not what they could have been, but still very nicely done. We have to find 28 skull dominoes. These can be challenging, as some are quite small and easy to overlook. We also have 31 morphing items within the scenes. Some have more than one and have a very subtle morph, making them often hard to spot. I really like this type of game, putting together clues and evidence to figure out who is doing what and why. Exceptionally well done! I seldom give a game 5 stars, as it must be exceptional throughout to get them from me. That said, I have not seen a game this good in a very long time. The story is similar to other detective stories, but still different. I got caught up in it very quickly, and was quite disappointed when the demo ended. This dev has spent a lot of quality time on this one and put out an excellent game. I believe all levels of players will find this one entertaining and challenging. Yes, I am adding this one to my collection and I am giving it 5 stars! As always, try it for yourself and see what you think we all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW Amazing game, the voice acting is wonderful, the graphics are great, the story is a typical story line, you, as the detective are called in to solve a mystery and stop the bad guy, however this detective uses deduction like Sherlock Holmes. I like how on the side of the screen you click the arrow and it says there are x number of morphing objects to find and there is x number of collectibles to find. I highly recommend this game. I will be buying the full version of the game soon and will be on the look out for more games from the developers.
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good not to have a cookie cutter game? I have been with BFG since 2007, and obviously I am not a big reviewer. This game has earned it............and I have only played the Demo. I have many 4 friend games; but there are many I have not purchased as the story is just not my thing. I do happen to like the Dark side and this game seems so well done and different from what we are all calling "cookie cutters". I look forward to playing the rest of the game, and enjoying it.
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC!!! ANOTHER GREAT GAME FROM 4 FRIENDS!
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I can say is "WOW!" Based on sample only. I was playing slowly because I was so engrossed that I ran out of time before finishing the chapter. Really well developed game. So far terrific puzzles and story. Visual/sound are exceptional. The usual reviewers (the ones I depend upon) will give more info, but this time I had to put my two cents in :-) Definitely a buy for me. I don't think anyone will be disappointed.
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DARK CITY IS LIKE VERMILLION WATCH MEETS DARK TALES When Big Ben's cursed chimes play, London's sky will burn, the waters of the Thames river will rise and boil, the moon will eclipse to bring forth the Headless Clockmaker to herald the apocalypse of Death! The Headless Clockmaker will spare no one, his fury is fueled by revenge. His vengence is an unquenchable thirst, a thirst for blood from those responsible for his families demise. How can you stop a force as powerful as a dead man's sorrow? Welcome to London Detective, what a case! Not only are you tasked with finding the jealous culprit responsible for the clockmaker and his son's death, but also with solving a supernatural case of a curse as well! Is someone trying to sabotage the unveiling of Big Ben, or has the clockmaker indeed, risen from the grave to enact the unthinkable? You're a Detective, one of London's finest, so you won't be needing a puppet on a pillow, a scarecrow kid with glowing eyeballs, a mysteriuos device that checks the room for glowing orbs, or even a supernatural pair of glasses that let you see past events. Nope, you get to use a case file journal, and good ole' investigative reasonings and deductions! Hmf, imagine that! You don't even have to trace an imaginary symbol without going outside of the line, to draw a conclusion, hmf, imagine that too! Oh, this game is looking better and better to me, 4 Friends has included Morphing Objects and collectible Dominoes in every scene, and sometimes more than one in this Collector's Edition! There is a pull out tab on the left of the screen that tells you how many of each remain, AND they unlock special bonuses and games. Move over E, I've got a new best Friend 4ever, and they don't think it's too much work to offer Morphing Objects in every scene vs. only within a handful of HOP's, and collecting and playing dominoes is way cooler than finding the same old sign over and over in every single game. The Hidden Object Scenes are usually multi-layered, creative and less boring than most, although an alternative would be nice. There are Interactive List finds, Multiples of the same object or Multiples of similar objects such as food items or circus related items. There are several smaller Zoom Zone HOP's and some scenes have a small puzzle to solve. Each time you make a "deduction" you will find items within a black and white scene, to piece together the circumstances leading up to the current deduction as a chain of events. The Mini Games are well done with clear instructions to help you solve the puzzles. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Find and rotate torn picture fragments to assemble the photo. 2) Move the latch to the round hole by choosing various numbers on the padlock, to move the latch that many moves as directed by the arrows. 3) Walk through the maze using the diagram to check your position and possible paths. 4) Drag a chain of 3 or more identical symbols to collect enough of each color to fill up your tubes. Avoid collecting your opponents colored symbols which will empty your tubes. The first to fill all 3 tubes, will take a punch, 3 punches win the fight. 5) Swap valves so each one matches the hole shape by following the twisted pipes. 6) Follow the twisted lines and rotate the outer ring to align the figures, and click to slide them into the outlined shape. 7) Arrange the pins according to the clue, note that the cards position is upside down. This Collector's Edition has 14 Concept Art pictures, 7 Wallpapers, 4 Screensavers, 4 Music Soundtracks, re-playable Movie Videos, 6 re-playable Mini Games, 20 re-playable Hidden Object Scenes, 28 collectible Dominoes (unlocks special bonuses) 31 Morphing Objects, 23 Achievements to earn, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark City: London I beta tested this game and I have to say I could not wait until it came out. This is an excellent game! I loved the story line, tone, characters and challenge level, etc. I'll let others go in depth with their reviews as they are much better at it then I am. I hope everyone enjoys it as much as I do!
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A FANTASTIC “TIMELESS” GAME WITH A WONDERFUL SURPRISE BONUS CHAPTER! REVIEW BASED ON THE ENTIRE GAME – Playing Time: 4 Hours 5 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter- Strategy Guide: 47 Pages OVERVIEW: Celebrate! Sleuth back in time Detective and return to 1859 Victorian London for the unveiling of Big Ben! Also celebrate this fantastic game from 4 Friends which contains a surprise bonus chapter! This game was an automatic purchase for me. It is a vast improvement for this developer. To me, this game is a HOP lover’s dream game; however, there are quite a few great puzzles within the game as well. The pace is excellent with many activities and movement within the game. Travel throughout London with the realistic look of dark graphics of fog-filled London contrasted with that of the garish colors of the circus chapter. The story is excellent – playing on the theme of the vengeful “Headless Horseman” from Washington Irving. As you delve further into the game, you will uncover some current social issues as well relating to women’s roles in society which makes this game socially relevant as well. You collect dominoes and morphing objects. Both are easy to locate and there is a bar at the left side of the screen to indicate if you have located all of them in each scene. You also receive a case book in which to place the evidence you collect. This is the first game in some time which has a couple of new puzzles not seen in other games. The HOP scenes are creatively designed. You can also replay some HOP scenes and some puzzles. NEW IS ALWAYS REFRESHING: This developer provides some fresh approaches within this game. You get a device, an All-Seeing Eye to indicate when you will need to engage in some Sherlock Holmes-esque type deduction. However, unlike playing a puzzle, you play a mini-HIOP scene instead. I feel this was a better fit for this type of game rather than the usual puzzles such as some type of Match-3 game which are just thrown into the mix. The HOP scenes fit nicely into the deduction process of the game. There are some puzzles within this game as well – at least I have not seen them in other games. There are also some new twists to the HOP scenes. STORY: Celebrate the unveiling of Big Ben. However, fogging up the celebration and dampening the spirits of the London society is the appearance of the “Headless Clockman.” Feeding off their superstitions, a crazed person is creating terror throughout London. The victims of this crazed person are the organizers of the event. Blackmarks appear on the hands in the shape of a skull before some tragic event befalls them. However, are all the tragic events divine inspired or the work of an illusionist? And why? Someone is out for revenge. Someone has engineered and masterminded a plot to destroy the festivities and Big Ben itself – but who and why? BONUS CHAPTER: HUSH THIS IS A SURPRISE AND WELL WORTH IT! This Bonus game veers into a whole new direction. From what I have played I do believe most will love this little Easter egg and it is well worth the purchase price to play this extra chapter. It may not be an Easter egg, but it will certainly get you into the holiday spirit. Bah humbug you say? No, not really. The story, from what I have played, is well-written and has all the goodies as the main game. And 4 Friends did bless us everyone with this bonus chapter. HOP SCENES: In the main game there are thirty (30) HOP scenes. They vary in style. You will play a HOP scene when you need to make deductions about a scene. An All-Seeing Eye will light up featuring a HOP scene in which to gather evidence. There are also some multiple-step ones. Many are very creative in design. There are a few panoramic scenes as well in which you must move the scene to locate items. After the demo, most of the scenes in the middle-part of the game are mini-HOP scenes in which you search for a small amount of one item. In many of these scenes, you must also locate pieces to recreate some evidence such as a picture. There are some beautiful storybook scenes in which you search for items within the page of the storybook. My favorite was toward the end of the game. You search for items on two large bells. In one scene you match up Zodiac signs with their symbols and in the other you search for animals. All the scenes are standard ones seen before, silhouette, lists of items, and matching. There is a well-designed one with cryptic clues as well. PUZZLES: From what I could count there are twenty-five (25) puzzles in the main game. They are creatively designed and vary in style and difficulty. Here are some of the puzzles after the demo: A. Switching gears. Gear puzzle. Variation of a gear puzzle in which you switch and rotate gears to restore an image. Unique. B. Where is Daphne du Maurier when you need her? We need help with “Rebecca.” Assembly puzzle. Spell out the name “Rebecca” on a crazy typewriter so that the letters are in the proper position. The order of the letters is not linear. C. Twist me Turn me - Bas Relief puzzle. Move four (4) parts of a bas relief into position using arrows to turn the figures to line up with their slots. After setting the arrows, push a button to move all four at one time into position If they are not turned to the correct position you must begin again. D. Where is Chopin when you need him? Complete three (3) bas relief images which contain “holes” where a portion of an image should be. This creative little ditty requires you to press piano keys which have stamped patterns until you complete the imagery for all three images. E. Digital Age – 1859! Anachronistic tomfoolery! Set a digital code to stop the bomb. Move arrows to create the digital numbers. EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the beginning of the game. 23 Achievements – Some have 3 parts Collect 28 Dominoes 31 Morphing objects Replay 20 HOP scenes and 16 Puzzles 7 Wallpapers, 14 Concept Art, Screensaver, Music, Videos
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SOLVING THIS MYSTERY REQUIRES YOUR EXCELLENT POWER OF DEDUCTION DETECTIVE Dark City London is the first game in what might be a new series for the developer, or maybe it is simply a stand-alone game - only time will tell. The game surrounds the beginnings of London’s Landmark Big Ben and a possible curse to prevent the bell from being rung. The game is a puzzle lover’s delight and an exciting mystery game where you detective will get to frequently use your renowned power of deduction. After the game is off to a smashing start you are off and running, chasing a thief who has made off with a very important briefcase that is central to this story and your investigation. The graphics are quite good with a mixture of styles. While some scenes are presented in pen and ink sketches most of the others are beautiful artwork scenes. The game comes to us from a “Friendly” development team that has recently brought us some excellent games and, IMHO, is quickly becoming a top developer of HOPA games. The 4Friends games have always been at the top of my list and when a new game is released by them it is a definite purchase for me because they pack their games with all of the things I enjoy when playing. The HOP scenes are presented in some very different ways and although most of them are list style the scenes are excellent and well-crafted. I enjoy the way that a puzzle might either serve to open a HOP scene or will quickly follow the actual scene so we get to stretch our brains a bit more. The puzzles seem moderately easy and I haven’t found any that I couldn’t solve. One of my favorite puzzles has to do with changing the valve handles on a set of plumbing pipes so that the valves align with their shapes at the bottom. Another favorite is a puzzle where we must move to the end of a maze in order to open the code lock on the Engineer’s case. This is a fun and tricky puzzle because you must end exactly at the end of the maze in order to open the lock. The CE version of the game offers the standard extras so there isn’t too much new to comment on. We all know there will be collectible items, and this one has morphing objects as well. Then there are achievements, and the other standard fluff. We can replay the HOPS and Puzzles so this makes the CE version worthwhile. Dark City London has a 47-page strategy guide so I am guessing the game is a decent length. When I played the beta for the game and realized the game was from 4Friends I absolutely knew that it would be an instant purchase. Now that I am playing the full game, I know why I love this developer’s games so much. I only quit playing to write this quick review and now it is time for me to get back to playing. If I don’t get too wrapped up I might even get some sleep tonight. As always I recommend that you try the demo of a game before you buy. Hopefully you will enjoy Dark City London as well. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4½ stars! Excellent new series! SUMMARY…Based on the demo, this game has an immersive and engaging storyline, overall excellent HOs and puzzles, superb graphics, professional voiceovers, repetitive music, and a good variety of challenge levels. WHAT WAS GOOD…The storyline. It's not another supernatural ghost story, but a murder mystery set in Victorian London involving a plot to prevent the opening of the clock tower. The HO scenes. Tons of variety in presentation, and the challenge level is fantastic. Scenes in the demo include: • highlighted words in the text, with multiples MEDIUM • interactive list with multiples, plus a jigsaw DIFFICULT • zoom box straight list MEDIUM • interactive list, plus untangle the laces MEDIUM • zoom box interactive list EASY • all in one category DIFFICULT • repeating HO…straight list to gather clues VARYING The puzzles. Lots of original ones and no throwaways! Puzzles in the demo include: • Move the latch through the maze to the hole. The maze includes directional arrows. Choose from the numbers on the clock face to move the latch to the nearest intersection. DIFFICULT • Use the diagram to find your way through the maze of London alleyways. EASY • Fill your bars by matching three or more pieces. Be careful not to fill the bandit's bars, or he'll punch you. Three levels. VARYING • Rearrange the valves to match the start and end points of each pipe. EASY • Open the lid by rotating the wheel to correctly slide each figure to its matching slot. Two levels. MEDIUM • Create a punch card by arranging the shaped pins according to the clue. The card on which you're working is upside down and backwards from the clue. MEDIUM The collectibles. One or more "black mark" dominoes, and one or more morphing objects in each scene. The morphs were done extremely well. The graphics. Gorgeous "live action" and comic book style cutscenes with high quality animation and perfect lip synching. The palette is varied with more subdued colors in a steampunk style. Much attention was paid to details, textures, light, and shadow. The voiceovers. No improvement needed! Each voice actor is professional, and a wide variety of British accents is represented. (I'm unsure whether the British slang used was prevalent in Victorian England, but it did add realism.) WHAT WAS “MEH”…The music. Since there are only four soundtracks, I found that the music became repetitive. The extras. In addition to the above mentioned collectibles, there's a bonus chapter, the SG, performance achievements, the ability to replay only some HO scenes and puzzles. Devs, when we're paying double the price, why not let us replay ALL of them? Wallpapers, screensavers, movies, concept art, and only four downloadable soundtracks. WHAT WAS BAD…Not a thing! CONCLUSION…4Friends is fast becoming one of my favorite developers. I haven't yet decided whether to spring for the CE or wait for the SE, but this is a definite purchase for me! Enjoy! BEST GAMES BY THIS DEV (✭✭✭✭ or better) • other game series—Living Legends (Frozen Beauty, Beasts of Bremen) • one-off games—Bridge to Another World: Alice in Shadowland, Edge of Reality: Ring of Destiny BEST GAMES IN THIS STORY GENRE (murder mystery with or without supernatural elements) • game series—Dana Knightstone (first 4 episodes), Enigmatis, Mystery Case Files (BFG-developed), Mystery Trackers (first 6 episodes), Nancy Drew, New York Mysteries • one-off games—Agatha Christie: The ABC Murders, Cadenza: Music Betrayal & Death, Chimeras: Tune of Revenge, Macabre Mysteries: Curse of the Nightingale, Queen's Quest: Stories of Forgotten Past
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from There are better detective games yet this one is decent based on the story Last week we were given the 2nd installment of Saga of the 9 Worlds which is outstanding due to its very compelling story line. Dark City London also has a terrific story but the game falls short IMO of being a 5 star offering because the graphics aren't great, the game play itself is too easy and the typos ( e.g. asking for a chair rather than a chain in an HO , spelling Cooper as Copper, etc. ) are distracting. While the story lacks originality it is an easy " book " to read. We have a clockmaker whose son is killed and he himself beheaded during construction of purportedly the Tower of London. So said clockmaker seeks revenge on those responsible for his personal tragedy. The best part of the gameplay are the deductions required of the detective to make progress during his pursuit of the evildoer. Unfortunately some of these deductions are given piecemeal to the player rather than forcing the player to do the solving himself. Some of the HO segments and puzzles are clever however there is no ground breaking within them. There are collectible cards and morphs for those who revel in these extras. This is a game that I might acquire when the SE version becomes available as there is not enough meat on these bones to warrant paying the higher priced CE.
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'd Give One More Star Without the Typos and Stumbles! The Big Ben Tower is set to open and there is trouble afoot. The Clockmaker has called you in after threats on his life and dire warnings of disasters to come. You arrive to interview him, only to see him die within a few feet of your carriage. Determined to investigate, you head into the crowd to interview a witness, only to have the Clockmaker's briefcase stolen from out of your hands. The case has begun. Good luck, detective! Good Stuff: Varied HOPs, mini-games and puzzles, good artwork, well done VO's and characterizations, and a good story. There are collectibles and morphing objects hidden throughout the game and additional CE bling. You will have a notebook, with the opportunity to make deductions and form conclusions in it. There's a special matching puzzle for your fist fight. Bad stuff: It would have been wonderful if someone had edited this game before release for things like calling a chaiN in the park HOP a chaiR. Or having the magnesium the detective needed for his camera being hidden in a statue in the park, with the necklace used to open the statue being left where the villain was to pick up the briefcase. So does that mean the villain hid the magnesium? Or did the detective leave it for himself in case he ever needed it in the park? When the detective's hand is marked by the villain, the mark is switched to the opposite hand when he falls in the river. It's these moments that stop the game illusion and bring me up short. Please make them stop. Basically the game is good and will be added to my collection. I found the story and the intricate background interesting and very well done. I just wish they had taken one more look at it before its release. If you want players to investigate a crime, you need to pay attention to details. Please try the demo before you buy.
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Game but..... 4Friends has become my new favorite developer recently. This is another great game from them. That said, they are already starting to show the same "cut-corners" on graphics as other BFG developers....the ridiculous pencil drawing cut-scenes. This is such a cheesy and quality-lowering move on the part of BFG. One of the things that makes an adventure game great are well-done cut-scenes. Come on!
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok, but the strategy guide needs serious help. Puzzles and games are not very difficult, and the game is fun and interesting. I played the first game (guiding the whatsit into the hole using numbers and arrows easily enough) but then I did as I always do, play again using another name and using the strategy guide to see how good it is. Awful, in this particular case. The guide takes you exactly 13 moves into the puzzle then leaves you stranded. Yes, by all means buy. Great game otherwise.
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for me, perfect for others. ​Details, the devil is in the details. There were a couple of typos. Chain was actually chair...something else was close but not the item. There was a puzzle where you needed to look for five clocks, one of these was actually an hour glass; I really dislike mis-clicks and spent my time futilely looking for a fifth clock. In an HO at the circus a monkey isn’t considered part of "a circus related item" but one scene later you have a monkey in a cage to play a game with. I always go for 100 percent accuracy as quickly as I can and find looking for morphing objects within HOPS distracting. I really enjoyed the morphing objects being outside of them for that reason. While It seemed like a map wasn’t really needed (you arrive everywhere you need to be and are within one click of having what you need) it was nice to double check and see if I had all the morphing objects and tiles; I forget from one scene to the next sometimes :-) so I appreciated that very much. I don’t mind the old fashioned graphics at all; they were well done. Wasn’t that the shoeshine boy from Sherlock? I like a challenging game so this isn’t for me. People who want to kick back, relax and not think too hard will probably enjoy it.
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Demo was boring beyond belief I played the demo only. I found this game to be dreadfully boring. Yes, it had some original gameplay, but it failed to make the game interesting. I didn't feel as though I had to do any thinking. Everything was done for me. The HOGs and puzzles/minigames were average. I found the game too easy, much too slow-paced, and drawn-out with filler. Kudos to the developer for wanting to do something new. Maybe next time they'll pull it off.
Date published: 2017-12-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really? How? After reading the incredible reviews, I just had to give this game a twirl...Hmm. Nothing special, average characters, wooden and predictable, colorful but dull graphics.
Date published: 2017-12-03
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_27663, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark City: London Collector's Edition

When the clock strikes, London shall burn!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.