5 Star Rio Resort

5 Star Rio Resort

PC

Also available on

Match 3

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(64.63 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Lucy, a hotel tycoon's daughter, finally gets her chance to prove that she's a worthy heiress to the family's real-estate empire. Now she has to build her own 5 star hotel resort on a shoestring budget. Will Lucy live up to her family's expectations?

Help Lucy in this colourful Match 3 game to get her 5 stars and enjoy the pure summertime feeling. On the beach and beneath the palm trees many engaging tasks and exciting challenges await you. Earn extra cash in Match 3 levels and Solitaire mini games to make the holiday resort of your dreams come true. Experience all the magic of the South Seas and create the perfect holiday destination!

  • Become a hotel manager!
  • Research and create new helpful power-ups
  • Hand-drawn HD graphics
  • Solitaire mini games for even more variety
  • 100 challenging levels

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 83 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

5 Star Rio Resort

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(64.63 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
5 Star Rio Resort is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMGosh! Love this Match 3. It has all the elements of a fun, challenging game! Money well spent...don't wait. If you enjoy Match 3 games with addicting music...this is it!
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A bit confusing but great game This game has 3 modes. Why they didn't put all three of these in the options button is very confusing. Starting out it looks like only two modes : casual meaning easy with a greater amount of moves, and normal, but it does have a relax mode also. You can choose this option in game at bottom of playing board for unlimited moves. If you want challenge choose normal. I found casual playing best suited for me because you don't have to strategize every move and it was sufficient to win level. It gives you a little less challenge trying to get 3 stars and still enjoy carefree swapping. If you choose the relaxed mode you cannot compete for stars. You will only get one star per level. The amount of coins you win is dependent on the amount of stars you earn. No level is timed but it does have obstacles that grow on board that you need to remove before it spreads. Ex. water tiles will flood your board or chocolate will melt which will give you more obstacles to remove to win level. Another confusing thing is the layout of board. Some levels you need to use the power ups to finish the board or else you can't get at the obstacles that need removing. Ex is level 12. you MUST use the hammer to click the top tile that is offset of the game board. They will have other levels throughout game similar to this where you will have stagnant tiles that have no moves unless you use a certain power up. Third confusing thing is the solitaire games. They are located in different buildings in the hotel scene that you buy with your coins. The janitor room, the balloon stand, the ice cream shop, the bar and the pavilion. After you buy these bldgs. you can click on them and play a higher, lower solitaire, but all of them are the same. I thought you could play for the corresponding power-ups like the hammer, balloon, ice cream, and arrow, but after each win it only awards an undo for the card games and coins. I WANT POWER-UPS TO USE FOR THE M3. Oh well, that is very confusing if it only unlocks them, but yet you can go back and continue to play only for coins. But why do we need 5 SAME TYPE solitaire mini games in 5 different buildings? I played 5 games of solitaire in the balloon shop and thought I would get 5 balloons, but I didn't . If anyone can figure that out can you please state it in a review. I'm confused. But overall it is still a great game. Love the O.J. when it explodes and all the coins dropping. Smooth graphics, colorful fun tiles, contemporary theme, great cascades. Its full of obstacles but not too many to make it tedious. Has good power ups you must drop off board. Mini game to get extra coins is a plus. Story is ok but you can skip if you just want to play M3. Also loved serving the clients by matching 4 or more, that was unique. My only con is not being able to generate more of the power ups except for the orange juice. I guess it adds to the challenge but if you could save it and use wherever you want on the board would of been more fun. The other power ups that drop off the board are limited in number and must save for the stagnant pieces to pass level. So use them wisely or you will be confused how to finish the level.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You need to use strategy I play a lot of match 3's and this has to be one of the best match 3 games which required a definate use of strategy. Playing on "normal" mode you have limited moves and gives you "stars" to shoot for although I have no idea what collecting stars does, but playing in normal mode makes the game much more fun. I played the game twice to try and beat my score and it did seem as if some of the board changed, or maybe I just forget, but I actually had to resort to the "relaxed" mode on one of the levels I had beaten before. I believe it has a lot to do with how you use your powerups. One of the best parts of this game is you get to keep the powerups you acquire despite the fact you "lose" the level and have to replay. Lots of strategy in this game which makes it really fun...with no stress really. When I first started playing, I thought it was kind of a dorky game, but don't let that fool you.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TRULY A FIVE STAR RESORT AND GAME The developers put everything into this game and made it really fun. Very colorful boards and, of course, you get power-ups to help. You also have to get rid of the "guests" on the board which can lose you stars. However, you can played relaxed so you only get one star, or just replay the board until you win.
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great M3 game you are building a resort to prove to your dad that you are capable of doing it. the power ups are not the rechargable kind but you need to drop them to the bottom of the board and collect them. each board provides enough to finish the boards you just have to be careful how you use them and try to be sure to get them all for future use......it does end with a statement of more to come.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Limited Moves Mode Has Its Flaws Having completed this game, I thought I'd share my thoughts on the 'Limited Moves' mode. On the whole this was an enjoyable game to play. However, in Limited Moves mode, the devs have created a difficult game with much challenge. I managed to get through all the levels up to level 57 with a lot of repeat playing of the levels, and by carrying-over power-ups from a previous level. When I reached Level 58, I came to the conclusion that this level was not solvable with the number of power-ups provided. In the end, I resorted to the game forum, where one of the posters had worked out that the difficult levels could only be accomplished by starting the level with the maximum number of power-ups (3) already loaded from previous levels (I got mine each time from the Tutorial levels 22 and 26 - these ones are the most powerful). By doing this, although somewhat cumbersome in that you have to go back to the Map to re-open these levels and get the power-ups, you can actually solve the level. (In the above two mentioned levels, you just play enough in each to obtain the power-ups, which is usually in first few moves, then go back to the level you're playing with your arsenal of 3 pre-loaded power-ups.) At any one time, you can only have 3 power-ups loaded, and this is where there is a flaw...unless you are able to keep a count of what you have (there is no indication of this), you can easily run short for the task needed. It would have helped greatly if the number of each type of power-up you have was shown. You also have to be careful that you don't negate power-ups you already have, by releasing the ones in the level, as you can have only a maximum of THREE loaded. i.e. If you have two loaded, and you release two more, one of them will be lost. Although the above ploy works, I think it is a cumbersome way of playing the game. I believe that there should be enough power-ups provided in each level to actually solve the level. You shouldn't have to resort to replaying previous levels to do so.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable game Saw some negative reviews but think this is from some who immediately go into timed mode on a game - rather than casual - until they're familiar with it. Like the fact you can choose between doing either levels or solitaire (my passion), the music is fun and doesn't detract from the game and the instructions are easy to follow. Can construct buildings, play solitaire and otherwise enjoy it! Don't usually like match 3 but this was worth the cost and am having lots of fun playing it.
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cleverly designed, harder than it looks! [review based upon completed game] Pros: challenging levels, clean interface, relaxing solitaire minigames, multiple difficulty level options Cons: not entirely skill based in normal mode (need a serious luck factor in some boards), building concept's been done before and better elsewhere 96 levels, options to play in limited moves, limited moves with 25% more moves, and relaxed. I only played in normal but you can click on the relaxed mode button at the bottom of every level to change the difficulty level. Fairly standard features with powerups, blocked spaces, chains and a hotel scene to build in between levels. The first few buildings have one-up one-down solitaire minigames to play for more gold as a diversion. The storyline and building theme was OK, but has been done before, nothing particularly special. I do wish the building scene didn't wiggle left and right on its own constantly while in between levels. Typically I play games with music on, but the game soundtrack annoyed me after about 25 levels, finally shut it off. There appear to be a few design oversights such as the tutorial for the solitaire always appearing every time you start a new card game, and on my system the powerups would sometimes auto-trigger if I wasn't careful where I was clicking. Otherwise, the game options were pretty carefully considered so you can switch off things like the custom cursor and bouncing coins (thanks devs!). I really enjoyed that this game is quite challenging in normal mode, but thought some levels were designed more for the player to have to restart over and over before getting lucky enough with a good setup to be able to win. I finished the game in about 10 hours of play time which is average for my M3s. Fun summer game. :)
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't Judge a Horse by It's Color! I read thru everyone's comments about this game. Being an Expert at all Match-3 Games, I played the DEMO first. I've been able to get all the first set of Buildings due to getting 3-Stars for those levels. I must admit, I did have to play one game over (had a short term Brain-Gas), cuz I used the Hammer in the wrong place. Once I figured where to play it, was able to get the 3-Stars. I know playing with Limitations can be frustrating but I was just fine with playing the DEMO. I'm still in the deciding mode to see if I want to use my FREE Game Code to get this one. My recommendation for this game is to try it first, use your own judgement, and if you're like me, make sure you can get thru with the Limited Moves. So, I will not pass judgement on this game. You'll have to try it to see if you like it.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Would like a sequel I really enjoyed the game, but it ended too soon. For someone that likes to accomplish more, I would love to see a sequel or perhaps a collector's edition. Far too often only the hidden item games get collector's editions. How about some more Match 3 (this was a combo match 3 and solitaire) Some more strategy could be added as well, including perhaps the ability to buy or build additional power-ups and/or the ability to buy or level up the current power-ups
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Play - Ugly Storyline The match 3 portion of the game was quite good. A few interesting new twists on Match 3, some very hard levels and overall very enjoyable play. Not very difficult, but it can be tricky. The graphics were colorful and well designed but the idea of the game was fairly horrendous. Take a pristine island paradise and turn it into an ugly, touristy carnival-land that no one would want to visit when you are finished. It started as 5 Star and ended up as a Motel 6 in Hawaii. But you have to build to get the extras you need to win. Unfortunate as it could have been a lovely visual game.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 5 Star Rio Resort I have reached a level and I do not know what I need to do to get past it. Some instructions might have helped, but since I have been there for 2 weeks, I am done. It was fun, but when you have no idea what to do next, the fun ends.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from build a resort match three I love match three games, BUT I do not enjoy limited move ones. I play for relaxation, this game I found did not do that.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh just ok Unlike the other reviews I didnt like this game. The format is same ole same ole and when I got to the Hammer ie Level 12 it was impossible to move forward! I didn't like the daughters face or the dialog. Giving this one a miss.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs Work This game has some nice touches, great graphics/colors (in a "cute" type of way), relaxing music, ok story line. There are at least 100 levels but around level 70, there is nothing left to build, so you just keep continuing to play the levels just for playing time. There is written conversation, but after a while it stops, so no big deal there. There is a casual mode at the bottom of the screen, if you choose it you only get 1 star instead of 1-3 for clearing each level. The power ups are good, balloons are like a bomb, arrows will clear horizontal row, and cupcakes will clear horizontal and vertical row. Power ups are located at bottom of screen but you must be very careful when matching at the bottom of screen cause it is very easy to accidentally set them off. After building some of the shops you can click on them to play solitaire for some extra cash. I hope they fix these issues cause I really think this game could be great, and then I would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from match of 3 took to long to get to play, to much reading, just wanted to get on and play,
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Harder than it should be The demo was great, but enjoyment turned to frustration in the latter half of the game. This is a combo match 3 & solitaire game. 100 levels. Goal is to earn gold coins to build the resort (hotel, souvenir shop, balloon shop, janitor's sleeping quarters, etc). There is no time mode. Instead, you are limited by # of moves, so being strategic is important. Problem is there is no shop to purchase power ups, like most match 3 games. The power ups in the form of bow & arrow, blitz balloon & hammer are available on certain levels, BUT you have to bring the power ups down to the bottom before they can be used AND the maximum number of power ups that can be carried over to another level is 3. Some levels can have 8 blitz balloons, but you either use them or lose all but 3. Some levels really need all the power ups you can manage, but you only have 3 of each and have to replay levels just to acquire the power ups needed to complete some levels. That is what makes this harder than need be. I would have preferred a shop to purchase power ups. The current set up is a pain. Music--excellent. Jolly, lively, with Caribbean flavor Artwork--excellent, but also limited to maybe 10 different scenes Story--a little bit of a story with fun dialogue balloons Other than the rules set for game, this would have been a 5 star game for me.
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Why? Why oh why won't some match 3 developers give one the option of how they want to play it? I don't like the fact that this game has to be played with limited moves, even though they give you 25% more turns if you play it using the causal mode. I would have bought this game had I been given the option of not playing limited moves. I really like match 3 games and have many that gives one the options of which mode one wants to play it in. Here lately there hasn't been that many good match 3 games. We see a lot of hidden objects (which I also have many of) and time management, and not nearly as many match 3 games. So today I was pleased to see one, and not so pleased that you HAVE to play with limited moves, or not play at all. I like everything else about this game, but because of that I won't be buying it.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Five Star Resort Not Five Stars This was kind of fun, but he relaxed mode doesn't show until you've played a few levels. Even then, I didn't realize it was a different mode from the instructions given. Also, the characters are annoying and WAY too much time is spent on their banal conversations. There is an option to play solitaire for more coins, which is nice. Altogether, not really worth buying for me.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 5 Star Rio Resort This should be listed as a time management game. I hate games like this. I just like doing match 3 and relaxing. Not enjoying this game
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I don't usually review games but this one was really disappointing because I've played games by these devs before and really enjoyed them. This game is not on the same level. There's not much of a storyline, the dialogue between the owner and the staff is silly (not in a fun way), and there just wasn't much challenge. I've played all of their Zombie games and loved every one. I even played them more than once. I wasted my money on this game.
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not a fun match game Hated it. Not enough bonuses to help out when stuck.
Date published: 2018-05-27
  • y_2021, m_10, d_16, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_27183, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

5 Star Rio Resort

Help the young hotel manager create a 5 star luxury hotel and turn it into the holiday resort of your dreams.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.