Mystery Case Files: The Countess Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files: The Countess Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(259.61 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Eipix Entertainment proudly presents the next terrifying case of the classic series Mystery Case Files!

Lady Eleanor Codington, prominent friend of the Queen herself, has disappeared while renovating her family’s legendary estate. Explore the crumbling grounds of world-famous children’s author Gloria Codington for clues. A towering black mirror may reveal a secret, but gazing into its depths may bring more than just a few years of bad luck. Can you find Eleanor and escape the manor alive? Find out in this heart-pounding hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Help Gordon seek and uncover the shocking truth of his ancestry! Restore the cursed mirror and seal Shade in it once again!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs and mini-games - and earn achievements!
  • Search for tons of magical mirror shards and morphing items!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, screensavers, music, concept art, and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 633 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: The Countess Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(259.61 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: The Countess Collector's Edition is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 101.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So disappointed I'd read a lot of reviews before committing to buying this game. I saw some negatives, but I really wanted to like it. Unfortunately though, this review has been destined to be one of the more negative ones. I just couldn't engage with the storyline at all and puzzles seemed pointless and endless. I knew that was the case when I just started to use the 'hint' option every time I was a bit perplexed with figuring anything out. So it became a bit of a waste of my time, and a bore playing at all, to be honest. I think maybe I'm jaded anyway with this kind of game. Not many have appealed to me for a long time, but I was always previously loyal to all of the Mystery Case File games, even some of the whackier ones. But I think this may be the end of a beautiful friendship.
Date published: 2019-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from At least it wasn't all HOPS but still Meh. I will never blindly buy another MCF game. I have always waited for the new release of the MCF Collector Editions, so excited but this one and the previous one which was all HOPS were terrible compared to the previous run of amazing adventure games with enormous Masterful Puzzles and limited HOPS, if any. This was an adventure game but the Master Puzzles were short and easy. Still not up to par for a MCF game. What happened to the designers for these games?
Date published: 2018-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't feel like a MCF episode. I have deeply mixed feelings about this episode of MCF. It's not remotely as bad as The Revenant's Hunt, but not as good as the original BFG episodes. The storyline seems fairly shallow: some kind of mirror entity with whom Gloria Codington made a devil's deal to gain her writing talent. That's as far as it goes during the demo, and that's not enough to make me curious about what happens next. I really think Eipix needs to work on their storylines more. Part of the charm of the original MCF episodes was the interaction between the supernatural and real worlds. That's missing here. Also missing is the motivation of the main characters, Gloria and the entity. The gameplay is not well-integrated into the storyline, but sort of tacked on here and there. I could have done with fewer shaped keys and esoteric inventory items. Frankly, it doesn't make sense to carry around an item you don't currently need. How on earth do you even know you need it? If you're a fan of HO scenes, you'll be disappointed. They're few and far between and all minimally interactive lists, except for one storybook. If you're a fan of puzzles, this game is overflowing with them. I think I encountered one every couple of moves. And Eipix worked extremely hard to create lots of brand new puzzles we've never seen before. The few with familiar mechanics were redesigned to make them new. The only drawback is that the puzzles instructions were just awful, the worst I've ever seen. They will not enlighten you in the slightest as to what you're supposed to do. And many of the puzzles were not intuitive, so instructions were necessary. The one Super Puzzle I encountered wasn't really a Super Puzzle, just a screen of unrelated puzzles, totally unlike the Rube Goldberg locks of Charles Dalimar. The collectibles were excellent: slowly morphing objects, and not the usual obvious, out-of-place item either. The mirror shards were difficult to spot, being well-integrated into the background graphics. Production had its highs and lows. The graphics were awesome, with lots of attention to detail, and palette was excellent…no lime greens, hot pinks, or blurples. The cutscene animation was highly pixellated, to the point that it was difficult to watch. I suggest making them a higher resolution or a smaller size so they're clear. The in-game animation didn't have this issue; it was clear and smooth. I recognized the music from previous episodes, a practice I find cheap. If I'm paying full price, I expect all new material, not stuff the dev has already created for other episodes. Lastly, I chose to turn off the in-game pop-ups…and had large red Xes pop up in their place, which was distracting. Seems like something was missed after beta testing. I'm going to revisit this game when the SE is released. For now, it's not a buy for me.
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Ho Hum Game As a fan of the Mystery Case Files games, I used to look forward to Thanksgiving for my yearly fix. The storyline for the game is below average, not up to Ravenhurst or Madame Fate, and the bonus chapter is a complete waste of time and not necessary to the game. For a once a year franchise, this is just nothing special. I love puzzles but found the majority of the puzzles to be boring and easy. I don't really recommend this game. It has taken me almost 2 weeks to finish because I just didn't care about the characters or the game. Maybe next year I will just replay the older Myster Case Games so I won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2018-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from More of the same-based on 1st 90 minutes of game play Ok, this games is just ok. In comparison to many others that have been released in the last year, it hits just a hair above average. It starts out in the ubiquitous scary mansion, with the scary haunting lady who used to be good but gets drawn into the dark side because of a dark object. Everything is pretty much the same as every other game in the series. Many bemoan the lack of games like "Fates Carnival", but I don't, as I found that one long and tedious with too many puzzles and back and forth. For me, so far, this series began and ended with "Dire Grove", the only one I truly enjoyed. I want games where I can vicariously search thru people's medicine cabinets, cook something in their kitchen, root thru their cars, rummage thru the garage, read their mail, etc., even if there is nothing in there I need. This game has none of that, it is just more of find this thing laying in or around something else, put it in that thing so you can unlock this door/chest/object. I already own many of those. As well, it looks like at the end of the demo, you are going into an alternate version of the mansion thru a mirror (sigh), which I also dislike...I have bought many games where the game play switches from "reality" to some fantasy world after the demo, and it is irritating buying one type of game and getting another. Bottom line, it plays ok, kind of dark but not at all scary, easy to play, flows ok, storyline repetitive but makes sense (so far) within the game, characters unsympathetic but not irritating. I played the whole demo, which lately I only manage to do with a quarter of the games released because they are so incredibly tedious. Nothing about the game jumps out and says "buy me now", but I would use it as the second game in a buy one, get one free sale, unless something better comes along...
Date published: 2018-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Saying I Am Wowed by the Game I recall after the blockbusters of 13th Skulls and the first release of Dire Grove I was anxious for another MCF game. Not so anymore the latter released games just simply miss the high bar set by the MCF releases of the 13th Skulls and Dire Grove. How about this who ever takes a stab at the next planned release of an MCF game slow down and think how you can create the excellences of the first games I mentioned. Those represent the bar you should try and attain.
Date published: 2018-11-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Many minigames I really love HOGs and Mystery Case Files were the ones that got me into them. I downloaded the Countess and was very disappointed that it seemed to be mostly minigames (my least favorite part) with only a few hidden object screens. The way the story unfolded didn't really flow. I had to switch to easy mode so I knew where to go. Not what I was hoping for.
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If it wasn't a MCF game it would get more stars Overall it's at quit good game. but i expect more from the creative genies behind this series. This is mediocre please do better next time and all will be forgotten : )
Date published: 2018-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is too boring to be a MCF game The game was close to boring. Maybe I was spoiled years ago by early MCF games - most of us here were, - but, as some reviewers have said here, this is not a MCF game at all. The spirit of the "classic" MCF is nowhere to be seen. This is the first ever MCF game that disappointed me - which means it is really subpar. The creativity and imagination level is very low here. Even the trademark superpuzzles are nothing more than a compilation of same old minigames on one screen. I agree with other reviewers that if you haven't played the original MCF titles, you will most likely find The Countess a decent game. If you were hoping for the great comeback though, I'm sorry to state that it didn't happen.
Date published: 2018-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a great Mystery I've played every MCF and The Countess was a disappointment. I finished it quickly, the puzzles weren't challenging and the game relied on old game play. The last 3 MCFs were not up to par and just not what I have come to expect from the series. I think it's either time to put it the series to bed or go back to what captivated people in the originals - fun storylines and innovative puzzles with multiple levels within the key puzzles.
Date published: 2018-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too hard When games are reviewed as easy, generally they soon get hard. That was this game. It started out easy enough, but the further you got in the game it soon became harder. I have had to skip several puzzles because I did not understand them. While I am not a genius, I am not brain dead, either. I just have problems with comprehension. I started the game over, even though I did not finish it the first time. But, I am using the hint button at almost every turn. If I ever get this game done, it will be a minor miracle.
Date published: 2019-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Where did all the story go? MCF has been my favorite game series since the beginning. And it's still good play, but it's just like so many other games now. Where are all of the striking story lines and environments from Ravenhurst to the Madam Fate, etc.? It's so vanilla now. I buy these without trial but wish I hadn't this time. Oh, it still has the many-part puzzles that are so iconic, but it is like the characters and story just are ABSENT. Takes away a lot of the fun factor for me.
Date published: 2018-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Whatever this is, it ISN'T MCF I played the preview and didn't get one single sense of this being a MCF game. It's simply a puzzle-heavy "scary" tale. I thought the puzzles had a range: from pretty easy to utterly incomprehensible. The dominoes puzzle made no sense to me even after I solved it with random movies. I liked some of the puzzle challenges, but there are plenty of other games where I can get those, have a better story, and avoid the sadness that comes with the decimation of the MCF brand.
Date published: 2018-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's not bad, but not great either Maybe it's because Mystery Case Files really set the standard for me, but I've come to expect better. I expect them to be the pioneers of the HO games today. So this game, while not terrible, just doesn't seem up to par with the normal standard. It used to be if you saw MCF you knew for sure, you were gonna love it. I would just buy it solely on the name- then the last few games are not as good. It appears to be a hit and miss with them now. I'm really sorry to see this because I used to be really excited to see what they're putting out next.
Date published: 2018-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from meh I found this game too short. It is more of a puzzle game than a HOG. Not worth the CE version.
Date published: 2018-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mediocre game not worthy of Mystery Case Files If I had not played Mystery Case Files games before, I might have rated this more highly. The series used to be innovative and challenging. This game was predictable, with mediocre graphics. Further, the puzzle info instructions weren't always very clear. Overall kind of disappointing . . . I would recommend this game for people who aren't big MCF fans and just want an easy, casual game.
Date published: 2018-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another MCF Disappointment This is just another run-of-mill HO game that doesn't meet the MCF calibre that one would expect. It's not a bad game and some of the puzzles were quite good, but no challenge otherwise. I wouldn't recommend it to a true MCF fan.
Date published: 2018-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from too short and easy for the prize The graphic is wunderfull - but the storyline is silly. Very short playtime and not very diffycult.
Date published: 2018-11-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from At least I found out who the Master Detective IS A tad disappointed! Love the Mystery Case Files but this game was BEYOND easy. Like every single level was simple and i played it on hard. Was not challenging at all. Disappointed at that. Graphics and quality were good - story was a zinger at the end! But come on. Make it challenging! Been playing loyally on BFG for 14 years and this was one of the easiest games ever.
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not The Best MCF I'm always excited for a MCF game to come out. The puzzles are the most challenging of all the HOP games. This one is not that hard.
Date published: 2018-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not MCF!! The game was fine, I enjoyed playing it. But to call it a Mystery Case Files is wrong. It is nothing like the MCF games. If MCF is what you are looking for this isn't it!!
Date published: 2018-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Never Thought I Would Say "Too Many Puzzles" I'm really not a Hidden Object person, unless it's a timed game, such as Madame Fate, etc. But I enjoyed the MCFs because the story lines were good and the HOS well done and an integral part of the game. The puzzles were unique, well-placed and always a part of their surroundings. In this and the two previous offerings, it seems that there are puzzles for the sake of puzzles. Before 15 minutes passed from the start, 10 puzzles were presented that required resolution prior to continuation. Really? One can't get a look about the place before the inventory bar has twenty items, and figure out plot or motive. And it all seems so random and disjointed, especially the super puzzles, which seem to be just globbed together - like someone stayed up all night drinking Red Bull. I don't think they are cunning or difficult - only frenetic. The overall result wan't an enjoyable or good one for me. But each to his own. The only way to know for sure is to try it.
Date published: 2018-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So slow, bland visuals I usually love MCF, but this one just did not work for me, unfortunately. I found the game to be very slow and felt like I was dragging myself through it at times. The visuals were so bland as well, nothing interesting at all. Such a shame as well as the storyline looked very promising! I'm really not sure whether or not to recommend this game but I will give it the benefit of the doubt as it may have just not been for me.
Date published: 2020-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but could be better This was my first Mystery Case Files game in years after playing the Ravenwood series. I was disappointed by how easy the game was, as it took me a couple hours to finish. The minigames were thought-provoking, but not that challenging. I definitely think the storyline needs some work, it seemed like it was lacking something. I didn't draw me in like other MCF games and I did not feel the suspense that it seemed like they were going for. The video and sound quality was excellent, maybe if they spent some of that energy on the storyline or making the hidden object scenes harder it would have a higher rating. Overall fun play if you're looking for something easy and not stressful!
Date published: 2019-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Crashes I played and have beaten the game some time ago and I just now realized that there is more than just playing the game. I went into the extras menu to collect the collecables and my game crashed and will not start back up. when it does start up I can not play or go to the extras menu and play the bonus game or to any of the extras content. rather angry at this point because I like to pay good money and be able to play the game all the way through nd cant.
Date published: 2019-09-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from One of the worst Hidden game I played Hidden object games never made angry me before. Until this creation. The puzzles a lot of the times do not make sense at all, you need to click the mouse exactly on the object or it will not accept it: I clicked a meat grinder atleast 15 times before I could put in an object that was ment to go there. The story is flat and I've seen way better graphics and audio in other games in this genre.
Date published: 2019-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Only the complex puzzle locks make this a MCF game This game could be any of the recent mystery games. Same old same old games and puzzles other than the complex multi puzzles. The plot is terrible and poorly put together, not well developed at all. Wow, never encountered a evil mirror world before (sarcasm). The "price" exacted by the evil spirit is ridiculously lame. I don't know about you but I am so tired of the same old presentation of the evil spirit/being. Message to all devs: runny black makeup around characters eyes and mouth is NOT SCARY in the least. Nor are blank red or black eyes. And you can't think of another name than "Shade"? done to death. Go back and play the early Ravenhearsts/Madame Fates if you want a good MCF game.
Date published: 2019-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Couldn't get through the Demo I fell in love with this series but lately their games have been "meh". This one included. Art is dark and dreary and I didn't find the story engaging. I miss Dire Grove!! Now that's a game!
Date published: 2019-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This game makes no sense! I gave up on Mystery Case Files when they initially switched developers. The games are not classic MCF by any means. That said, I tried this game on the demo and liked it well enough to buy it. However, the game rapidly degraded into going back and forth, playing a puzzle here and a puzzle there. The puzzles honestly make no real sense. Plus there is no real logic or intuition involved in finding the solution to the game. I am generally pretty good at these games, but in The Countess I resorted to looking at the guide at each step because I had no idea what I was supposed to do next. Please do us all a favor and end the MCF line.
Date published: 2018-12-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what MCFs used to be... I was so happy to see another MCF game. I bought all of them in the past until these devs took the series over. Having read a couple of positive reviews I d/l it. Couldn't even last the trial hour sadly. The likes of Madame Fate have long gone, and now just another 'same old same old'. Swirling smoke, none scary happenings, boring list type HOPs, puzzles ok but too frequent and uninteresting. Graphics were good as was a the music, but I just couldn't find this game even mildly entertaining. What is happening with HOPAs? I want a scary circus, fairground or hospital. I used to take the day off work to play the latest MCF. I'm so fed up with smoke and unbelievable ghosts and the like. Please devs, give us something new, innovative, interesting and not just rehashes of previous games sigh. As always, try it for yourselves but I'm passing on this one sadly.
Date published: 2018-11-20
  • y_2021, m_1, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_101
  • loc_en_US, sid_29292, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: The Countess Collector's Edition

What lies within the depths of the pitch-black mirror?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.