Aveyond 4: Shadow of the Mist

Aveyond 4: Shadow of the Mist

PC

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(353.09 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Boyle Wolfbane wanted to rule the world. He failed. Miserably. Forced into retirement early, Boyle now spends his days arguing with haunted trees and scaring off the occasional knight. At least he still has Fang, his loyal storm wolf. Things could be worse. He could have been born a hero. Features include a sophisticated battle and menu system. There are also many things to squash, burn, and collect. And... You. Will. Laugh. (Unless you are a zombie, in which case, we cannot help you.)

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 392 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Aveyond 4: Shadow of the Mist

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(353.09 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Aveyond 4: Shadow of the Mist is rated 5.0 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent!! Another great addition to the series. This one is stand alone and played from the opposite side. Meaning you are one of the baddies instead of the good guys. Very cool twist. Menus are in a slightly different format than the others in the series, but the game play is essentially the same. Travel & explore. Complete Quests. Earn Experience and new Skills. This is an RPG, as others have noted. If you're new to the Genre, you will like it if you like exploring every nook and cranny and have the patience to work through a game without a step by step tutorial Love it!!! Makes me want to go back and replay the others after this. Please keep 'em coming!
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Aveyond 4 This is a nice addition to the Aveyond series. It's a stand-alone but does give a few nods to the previous games in the series. It's an interesting story about an unwilling hero (former villain) and his search for his dog. It looks like this game is quite big as I've been playing for a few hours and I've only scratched the surface. The dialogue is well written and humorous. If you like RPGs then you'll probably like this game.
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hero or Villian? You decide! Boyd, the hero/villian of the story just wants to save his dog Fang, but his quest will take him to some unexpected places...Plenty of nods to the earlier Aveyond games here but Aveyond 4 also works well as a stand-alone game, if you haven't played any of the others. A strong storyline with plenty of side quests, lovely music and picturesque visuals too. Best of all, a team of interesting characters and plenty of snarky dialogue! If you're an RPG fan - or even if you're not - Aveyond 4 won't disappoint.
Date published: 2016-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best RPG to come out this year! A whimsical twist to rpg storylines! The Amaranth team has yet to disappoint me with any of the games they've produced. A 'must play' for fans of fun! :D
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boyle The Horrible OR Hero? There are some RPG games I adore, and some that I can't even make it through the demo, but there's never been one quite this comical. I haven't played any of the previous versions of Aveyond, but this fourth edition is really interesting so I'm going to check out the other three. It isn't necessary to have played them because the cutscene at the beginning catches you up to speed. Boyle Wolfbane had a plan, a plan to rule the world, but a group of heroes saved the day and forced Boyle into retirement. At least he still has his faithful dog Fang....or does he? When Fang is kidnapped, Boyle begins to realize that he might have to go towards the light and become a hero himself! Aveyond has three different modes of difficulty, Misunderstood which is an easier mode with less enemies that do 20% less damage and respawn less, and your health restores with each new level. Villain is a normal mode, damage and spawning from enemies is at normal rates and your health is restored with each new level. Super Villain is an expert mode where enemies do 20% more damage, almost all enemies respawn and your health does not restore with new levels. There is a Journal with quests, an Inventory icon and a Fang attack icon available and you can tweak the Keyboard and Mouse settings as well. This is a really entertaining RPG game with decent graphics and a really good storyline. If you haven't played a role playing game before, you should give it a try, and this is a good game to test the waters, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun RPG As far as Aveyond games go this one has to be the best of the lot. Its certainly different to the others. Its certainly worth buying the game you will have hours of fun from it and its good value for money.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I haven't had this much fun since the original Zelda! This game is just plain, old, fun....There is a ton of humor...lots of goodies to find...Ships...dragons...snails ....floating skulls....something for everyone... If you enjoy turn based RPGs then check this out...you won't be sorry...I'm going the buy the other three right now!
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great rpg i already bought the game of another site,but it is a great game, lot of humor, lots to do it is a great aveyond game, but try it for yourself
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ayevond does it again! At first I was sceptical as the storyline does not follow like the previous ones, however I absolutely loved it! The storyline is comical and entertaining, the challenges vary from easy to extremely difficult and I seriously couldn't stop playing :-) I'm a huge fan of this style of RPG and this does not disappoint, I love amaranthia games and just wish BFG could have more of them. This is one of the longest games and has plenty to keep you thinking. There are differences to the others of its type but if you enjoy RPGs then then you will enjoy this.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Aveyond has a hit I have played all the Aveyond games and this one is definitely vying to be my favorite. A wonderful story line and well developed characters make this game a real treat. Some issues with the map but overall a really excellent adventure. Bravo.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Game have played all the Aveyond games, And this one is the Best of them all, I Would Recommend This Game to Everyone I know. the story line Graphics and the Sound is Great. Keep up the Great work Bigfishgames. can't wait until I see the Next Adventure of Aveyond you make.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from old school best reason to like this game; It takes more than two days to beat. It is funny and has heart. I hope there are more of these type of RPG games .
Date published: 2020-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THIS GAME!! I have played and beat all of the aveyond game but this one. I keep trying to prolong the game because it is so much fun.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of fun despite some setbacks Aveyond 4: Shadow of the Mist is the fourth installment in the well-known RPG series. It follows Boyle Wolfbane—a retired villain who almost ruled the world but was foiled by a band of no good heroes and forced to move to Wyrmwood where all washed up baddies go. After his trusted wolf Fang is held hostage by the queen of the Mist, Boyle is forced to mount a rescue mission for the queen’s son who was kidnapped for an evil ritual that threatens the fate of the world. So if Boyle wants to save Fang he must do the unthinkable—become a hero. He’s joined by a cast of eccentric characters, including a witch who has cursed him into marrying her, a mist wraith with a wicked sense of humor that can shape-shift into a fox, and a starry-eyed young knight who’s looking for adventure. Plot wise, this is my favorite of the Aveyond series. The previous installments were far more predictable, making repeated use of the prophecy tropes so often seen in fantasy RPGs. Although I still found those games enjoyable, Shadow of the Mist was more engrossing. While the “villain to hero” trope has most certainly been done before it was such a surprising departure from previous installments that I couldn’t help but find it endearing. The main character is also very well developed, although there are certain questions about his backstory that were never satisfactorily explained. The side characters also get a fair amount of development with exception to the last few who enter the party. Overall, Shadow of the Mist continued on the trend of using humorous cut-scenes to further the story that was implement so well in the previous installment in a very effective way. In regards to graphics, Amaranth games definitely worked very hard on creating clever animations, cut scenes, and in increasing the overall amount of detail in their backdrops. I was, however, disappointed that there were not more diversified environments. While I appreciate the efforts made to make different trees, flora, and fauna for each area, the majority of the map was very green whereas previous installments have used more fantastical color schemes. Furthermore, some long time Aveyond fans might not like the way the icons appear during battle. I personally did not mind, but I can imagine how it would look out of place to other fans. So what’s not to like about this charming game? Well, for starters there is no map—or if there is I could never find it or it glitched and never appeared. And when I say no map, I mean there’s nothing at all—no world map and no maps for individual areas. This is absolutely baffling, as maps are a staple of this particular genre of gameplay. As a result I found myself getting lost more often that I usually do in these games, and it did not help that most areas were designed in a very twisty-turvy way. There were also instances where NPCs would give directions to a certain location in order to further a quest but give a slightly different name (like Windy valley for windy hills), a fact made more confusing when you take into consideration that there’s no map. I’ve read on the Aveyond forums that maps for this game are currently in the works, but I believe that the game never should have been released without them. Did I eventually figure out where everything was? Yes. It was still frustrating however and I had to seek help on forums more than once—which is something I almost never have to do with one of these games. There are also some issues with lag in this game. My laptop may not be the best on the market, but it is certainly capable of handling for advanced graphics than Shadow of the Mist. However, the walking speed of my part changed drastically depending upon the location, with small areas like caves being lightning fast but places like the Dragon Wastelands being painfully slow. Naturally, there’s a lot of backtracking in this game—one comes to expect that in RPGs. But having backtrack one area to area where your progress is constantly changing because of lag issues is really tedious! Now, the game does try to make backtracking easier with the use of Mist Realms which allow players to easily go from the entrance of one area to another—or at least in theory. The Mist Realm itself is a little bit confusing to navigate at first, and it only connects realms on the same continent so if you want to go back to Wrymwood for example from Helania, you have to go back to the continent that Wrymwood is on before you can use your Mist portals. This isn’t terrible, but it was an odd choice to leave the realms unconnected. They’re portals! What does a little bit of ocean matter? There are a few other middling issues I had with the game, like how certain enemies would be harder than others but somehow yield less XP or how some bosses gave less XP than regular enemies. The quest journal feels half-finished as it doesn’t actually record information pertaining to the quest so if you talk to someone who tells you to go to A, you’d better remember what A is because you won’t be told again and it won’t be written down. I have a pretty decent memory but even I struggled with this one, especially on the rare occasion when I would accidently exit a dialogue before I meant to. Like I mentioned earlier, part of the cast is pretty well developed and part isn’t. This is due to the fact that you recruit members at different points of the game. I feel like there could have been a couple more quests made available once the party was full in order to provide more development for the late recruits. There’s also the matter of where this fits in the scheme of Aveyond—we know that this clearly happens in the same realm, and we even get a surprise cameo from two long-lived members of the franchise (although we never get good resolution for their cameo!). I’m torn between liking and disliking the fact that we don’t hear about what happened to Mel and co. directly. It might bother other fans though. At the end of this lengthy tirade there is a perfectly good game. Its loads of fun, the main cast is great, the comedic timing is spot on, and the ending scene is hilarious and very much in the Aveyond tradition. Despite all of the problems that I had with it I still really liked it, but the issues I had keep this from being my favorite in the series over all.
Date published: 2016-02-19
  • y_2021, m_10, d_17, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_24345, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Aveyond 4: Shadow of the Mist

Boyle Wolfbane wanted to rule the world. He failed miserably, but it's okay. Things could have been worse. He could have been born a hero.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.