Frankenstein: The Village

Frankenstein: The Village

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(504.94 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Janet and Brad thought they were going on a peaceful holiday until an unfortunate breakdown stopped them outside Frankenstein Burg!

Brad, who knows nothing about repairing cars, sets off to find help, but very quickly regrets doing so...

Be prepared, the village you are about to discover with Brad and Janet is by far the craziest one on Earth!

Save your couple by solving the riddle of Frankenstein Burg! Every corner of the village is packed with details and characters, each one crazier than the last!

Be careful, the atmosphere there gradually brings you closer to your worst nightmare...

  • Hidden object scenes, mini-games and rechargeable clues
  • Detailed full HD environments
  • Tackle the mystery of Frankenstein in a humorous universe

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 628 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Frankenstein: The Village

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(504.94 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Frankenstein: The Village is rated 2.0 out of 5 by 39.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just misses being a buy for me There are a lot of good things about this if you don't mind basic, old school game play. I like how the dev puts tidbits of history and interesting facts in the game to find, the story was cute and didn't take itself seriously and I thought the graphics in the hidden puzzles was very good and rather challenging. However some of the puzzles were maddening, like a pipe game that reset itself after 30 seconds. I don't like timed games anyway and that was nowhere near enough time for me to figure it out. Another was a fishing game that require you to catch 100 fish. ONE HUNDRED! That's when I stopped. I played 29 minutes and enjoyed it but those two puzzles were enough to put me off the game.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too slow It's seriously annoying because there's no clear way to skip over their many, many 'conversations', Every time you click on an area and there's nothing to do there, he'll pop up again 'talking' to you about it. It may be a good game as it's an interesting idea, but I've played it for 15 minutes and it's just annoying me so much I can't go on with it.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Monster Here Is the Game Itself When they dug this out of the moth balls and offered it up as the game of the day, someone perfectly illustrated a point - we really don't need a game of the day if the "new" game is this old and lame. Janet and Brad have car trouble at the top of the hill, where gentlemanly Brad lets Janet push the car till he gets it started. At the bottom of the hill, it stops again at the entrance to a medieval looking village. Brad goes looking for assistance while Janet refuses to leave the vehicle. First we accompany Brad into the village where a lot of nothing happens. Then we switch to Janet, who finds herself in a strange cabin with a headache. Both times we have mini-games and simple list HOPs. Good stuff: There are the usual game elements done in a very minimal style most suited for really basic beginners. (My grandchildren ages five to ten years have been doing these games for a couple of years now - this is too easy for them.) There are "Frankenstein" faces found in each scene. When you select them you get a pop-up window with some interesting factoid. The artwork is decent, although the characters are more cartoon-like than otherwise. Bad Stuff: EVERYTHING else. The game is a throwback to the beginning of the genre. Scenes and game elements load slowly. Dialogue is read, instructions are less than helpful, and the hand-holding provided by large stark white logos on the screen was overbearing. As for a story-line, you've got Brad, Janet, and the inoperative auto outside a backwoods village and not a lot of anything else. All that said, I gave it two stars since another reviewer made a valid point - this is a good game for a very timid beginner. I just don't know anyone that new to these types of games. Please try the demo before you buy.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from OLD SCHOOL HIDDEN OBJECT VERY DATED!! BORING AND NOT EVEN WORTH A FREE GAME CREDIT. THE ONLY REASON I GAVE IT 2 STARS WAS BECAUSE THE ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW HAVE BRAD AND JANET IN THE CAST TOO. LOL
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too old to amuse I'm afraid I only made it a little over 10 minutes into the game, before I backed out and deleted. Old school is one thing, but I prefer a game that isn't from the "dark ages" of computers. I didn't even see the option to choose "casual, expert, or whatever". Just type in your name and go. The first HO I did, it was difficult to make out the objects. I got down to one item left and hit the hint button. When I saw the area it highlighted, I STILL couldn't make out the shape, So I just clicked where told and went on. Anyway, for those who like REALLY old games, this may be for you. For me, not so much.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for beginners of HO Graphics were okay. Music did not match the theme of the game. I found the dialog between our characters to be distracting and not necessary. I only played for about 10 minutes and was bored. No buy for me.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't bother The endless conversations were distracting and endless. Not necessary. The curser brought you to places where a one line statement was made with no purpose. It is clunky and annoying for the avid hidden object player. I lasted 10 min and got tired of just clicking and clicking to end the conversations.
Date published: 2017-06-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not really an HdO game All the HdO series are of a "love them or hate them' type, and I love most of them, but although this game opens with Microids, Mzonestudio and Solilab like Hdo games do, HdO is not mentioned and the general quality of the game is much poorer. What really put me off was the strange, apparently pointless, flashing gadget to the right of the objects-to-find list - couldn't stand more than 5 minutes of this!
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lame and ridiculous Poor graphics, ridiculous characters and plot, and overall just definitely a miss for those of us used to better quality HOG/puzzle games. Don't waste your time or money on this one.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from boring I downloaded a free trial. Played for less than 5 minutes. Maybe a 3 yr old might enjoy it. Might.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from RUN AWAY from this game There is fairly bad and then there is truly awful. This falls into the truly awful category. Hand-holding to the point where you can't even explore an area, HOS around every corner (I encountered 2 within 3 minutes, at which point I quit#; just bizarre puzzles #why can't I complete this pipe puzzle without getting blown out within 1 minute?# There is more awfulness that would be a dirge to describe and I can't believe I stuck it out for 15 minutes. The Info collectibles are interesting but certainly not enough to save this terrible game. I am surprised that the devs #who are already known for pretty awful games) have not yet been sued for the rip-off of Rocky Horror.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from horrendous possibly, if not the worst game I have ever played!
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hidden Object This game juddered it's way through the whole 1hr trial. It was childish and exasperating. Objects were so deep in shadow or in extremely vivid colours that I couldn't find most of them, had to just keep clicking. The non stop speaking was really annoying and of no use with no way to skip. Hint button didn't seem to actually do anything through most of the trial. Frustrating. Should have left this in the archives.
Date published: 2016-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DO NOT WASTE Your Time It was not challenging, there was nothing exciting about the graphics, and it seemed to drag. I hated this game and wish I could get back the sixty minutes of my life that I gave it.
Date published: 2016-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This Game is an Antique!!!!! Looks to me like this was shelved at some point and for lack of anything to release, they pulled this one out. I hated it. Graphics are okay, but any dialogue is choppy. Hints take forever to recharge, The storyline is ho-hum. Definite no-buy for me!
Date published: 2016-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from How OLD is this? Honestly, I barely played this game. Options are basically "on" & "off". This might be good for someone who never played a HOG game before, to introduce them but, if you play them with any amount of frequency, this game is awful.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from frankly stunned Slow, plodding. It took too long between changes. Story was promising, but game was needing an energy drink. Do not recommend.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Interface I quit playing with 49 minutes left in the free trial. The interface was just clunky and annoying. I hate 'modern' games that insert 'character dialogue' that really doesn't add to the story so the way one has to constantly click on stupid Brad to advance is frustrating. Skip this - you'll be happier.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Monster Game Horrible Graphics, boring story line, no challenge at all and the slowest paced game I have ever played. Skip this game all together.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't fall for the Brad and Janet hook It's not Rocky Horror just a horror. Graphics are antiquated, Moving around was slow and clumsy and sound (what the was of it) was not crisp. I immediately despised Janet and was bored within minutes. I will usually finish a demo to give a game a "fair shake" but I could not endure a whole hour. This is the first review I have felt obligated to submit after years of being a member. I would give a black star. Run for your lives!!!!
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Quit after 7 minutes!!!!!! The conversations constantly interrupting game play was very annoying. Play the game for one step, conversation... click, click, click... play the game one more step... more conversation... click, click, click.. over and over. The characters going from monster to regular people back and forth during the conversations was annoying as well. I played for just a few minutes and just gave up. Not for me.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No. Just No. With the names Brad and Janet, I thought this might be a fun game. AU CONTRAIRE. After all the clunky HO's, navigation, and a supremely annoying pipe puzzle, I clicked out never to return. Did I mention Janet's annoying face? Every time Brad talks to her, she turns red with anger. It's supposed to be funny, but just made me want to offer her up to the good doctor for spare parts. Honestly, the best part of the game were the facts about Mary Shelley's novel. Even though they sounded as though they were cut-and-pasted right from an old encyclopedia, everything else was so dire the Lit 101 quotes were the bright spots.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sorry, worst game I have played I am sorry to say it but if I could of given zero stars then I would of done I played for the free hour just in case it got better, would definitely not buy it Give the game a try, you might like the game, we all have different tastes This game is not for me
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't bother! First time I have ever quit a free trial early. This game is just SO bad. It's ugly to look at. It's slow and clunky. The HOPs are hard to see. The "puzzles" are both confusing to figure out and tedious to play. When I read that the main characters are Brad and Janet, I thought it might be a nod to "Rocky Horror", but apparently not. The mish-mash of Frankenstein details make no sense. Try the free trial if you must, but do not spend money or points on this game.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Aargh! Let me out of this town* *and not because I'm afraid. Very poorly done graphics, constantly flashing "clue" button (not unlike a strobe light). The poor man is so afraid of his wife because he may not find the right tool to open the car's trunk. One of the first puzzles is where you have to "invert" (their description) the pipes. The scene is very dark and you are supposed to exchange pipes. I usually like this kind of puzzle, but not like this. Played 10 minutes and couldn't wait to quit.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from awful! I couldn't force myself to play longer than 10 minutes....it was that bad, at least in my eyes. you'll see what I mean when and if you try it. There wasn't one good thing I could say about this game, but perhaps it's just me...or the full moon..lol
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Slow, stiff, obscure and awful game Almost as bad as that dreadful Coronation St. game. This is AWFUL! Don't waste a moment on it!
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from One Star Is Generous Believe it or not, this game is the second Frankenstein game in this series, Frankenstein: The Dismembered Bride was the first, which was offered in 2011. I have a feeling that this game was released shortly after that and is just now being released, the first one got poor ratings so I can't understand why they would release a second one that's so old school. This is an H2O type HOG where you click, drag and scroll into scenes with your mouse, and each scene is cluttered with giant eyeballs indicating a hidden object scene, a giant jigsaw piece indicating a Mini Game or Puzzle, giant footprints indicating all available directions you can move to and Three giant silhouettes of Frankenstein's monster (who btw was never given a name by arthur Mary Shelley) which indicate funfacts can be read about past and current versions of Frankenstein. Just like the Dismembered Bride, Brad and Janet are the main stars of the show, Brad is portrayed as a bit clueless, while Janet is portrayed with a bit of an attitude. When the couple experience car troubles, Brad enters the nearby village, Frankenstein Burg, to seek help, but when he returns, Janet is MIA. Someone has kidnapped Janet and locked her into a room, the scenes switch back and forth between characters experiencing different types of problems. The Hidden Object Scenes are all the same, simple Listed Item finds with no interactions other than clicking, dragging and zooming in, as you try to find specific items in scenes that are drab and void of color, with minimal graphics (er, sorry I mean truHD) Some objects are difficult to find because everything's basically the same color, and other items are either disproportionately smaller or larger than the rest of the items. The Mini Games are far and few between, and to be honest, I didn't stick around for the entire demo. The first game I played was a game of pipes where you had to arrange pipe sections to allow the water to flow from the left to the right, the second game required you to pair up teeth sections on a lock. There are no frills, no collectibles, no achievements or Morphs available. I'm sure others will disagree with me, but this game is a waste of time.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Old School To The Max I thought the storyline had possibilities, but: No choice of playing mode. No map. Hint takes forever to recharge. Loud awful music that can only be turned on or off. Long delays when moving from scene to scene-pace slow & plodding. Too many, for me, HOS with objects small and hard to find. Mini games have poor instructions and are difficult with skip also taking forever to fill, Played demo for 20 minutes-only because progress was so slow-but wanted to give it a chance. I definitely don't recommend this game and for once don't even recommend trying the demo-it is a waste of time.
Date published: 2016-03-21
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_24560, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Frankenstein: The Village

Janet and Brad thought they were going on a peaceful holiday until an unfortunate breakdown stopped them outside Frankenstein Burg!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.