Grim Tales: The Heir
Exclusive

Grim Tales: The Heir

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(381.17 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Elephant Games proudly presents the next gripping installment of the popular Grim Tales series.

You've been called to the Gray's Castle to help your nephew Brandon. His son is missing, and his wife's fallen into a mysterious coma! It's up to you to discover what dark forces are at play in your family's castle. The past and present collide as you look for answers. Do you have what it takes to change the outcome of the future before it's too late? Solve puzzles and find hidden objects to help you along the way.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 860 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Grim Tales: The Heir

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(381.17 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Grim Tales: The Heir is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 28.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A worthy sequel to The Vengeance The overall plot is good, but quite complicated and much more involved than The Vengeance. The visuals are excellent with movie-like animation. I didn't much care for the Goth looking grandfather and his s-u-p-e-r s-l-o-w way of speaking. The mini games and HOS are more difficult than The Vengeance. I had to skip several mini games and used the Hint button more than usual. Overall, a very well developed and thought out game, but did not like the abrupt ending--maybe this is deliberate as an incentive to buy the CE version. This is quite a long game if you attempt to complete all mini puzzles. I look forward to another Anna Gray adventure in the future.
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game When I first started playing these games I thought the Elephant developers were the best. I think EIPIX has overtaken them. Elephant is still good but they don't have enough original ideas. They still rely on the old valve, hammer, key, and rope far too often. I did enjoy this game, however. Some of the puzzles were outstanding and very challenging. Music was fine, graphics were good, HOP's were fun. Just a little more originality would have given them the 5th star.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from another great game in the "grim tales" series aunt anna needs help to figure out what is going on at the castle. brandon's son, billy, is being tormented by nightmares of a shadow man that he sees. the man takes on different forms. there is a custom level and a good hint system.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Highly entertaining I thoroughly enjoyed this game. Graphics, music and lip syncing were excellent. Not many HOPs but a LOT of mini games. Occasionally they were too close together and i was ready for a break from them. I had to skip 2 -3 of them as i just could not complete them but the majority were fine. It was quite a long game, for me anyway, I did not play the CE version as i rarely find them worth the extra cost. The reason i have not given 5 stars is because I found the storyline confusing. I still dont know who was behind it all and why. Perhaps I am just slow on the uptake. I was also confused by the sudden and abrupt ending which was the real spoiler for me. I do hate games that just seem to stop abruptly. this series is bad for that. I have recently played "the Colour of Fear" in this series and that had the same unsatisfactory conclusion. A great pity the developers don't spend a bit more time to give a clear conclusion to thier games. However I did enjoy the gameplay and definately recommend it
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grim Tales The Heir Great game but I really did not like the end...too abrupt.
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Loved the story line but disappointed not enough hidden object games and other games tedious I guess someone who made the games for most of the games I have played lately are all the same, tedious, oh sure I can solve them, but what happened to playing games shouldnt be miserable, the best games I have played out of hundreds, is House of a 1000 doors, not miserable and tedious but truly a cool and fun too. I loved the storyline in this game awesome, and the graphics are gorgeous, the play was great but there arent enough original hidden object games anymore, they put more tedious puzzles but I buy these to play hidden object game with a story line, not for t hose other time consuming but tedious puzzles, please what happened to hidden object games, I began playing all I could find about two years ago and the newer games have less and less of original hidden object games a lot of us love. I do recommend this game, but I would give it more stars if it really had a lot of hidden object games in it and not so many silly tedious ones.
Date published: 2019-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from a bit boring Not quite sure if it qualified for the title of Hidden Object Game. There were hardly any HOSs and far too many puzzles. In fact once the 25 years forward scene started with Bill Graham there were 6 puzzles in a row. I got fed up of them and started skipping the puzzles. As for the story line it got a bit tedious and boring. Why do we always have runes and magic and ghosts of ancestors?
Date published: 2018-08-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Heir's Been Taken Out The Grim Tales series is a puzzler for me because there's plenty of good things going on in each game, but a couple frustrating elements that really prevent most of them from achieving the level of great game for me. As with the rest of the entries, you play Aunt Anna Gray, one of the members of the strange yet supernaturally gifted Gray Family. Your mission this time is to help the next heir in the line, a young child, to resolve his issues with both family and past. Your other mission is to consistently receive mercurial advice and helpful pieces of objects from the spirit of your dead father. So there's that too. The game plays more like an adventure than a standard HO, although you will have a few of those scenes also. Puzzles range from very simple ones, like uncrossing ropes and putting a jigsaw together, to complex ones with multiple elements. Overall I found it mainly on the easier side. The game is gorgeous, with the animations well done and the voice acting particularly solid. You will not be disappointed in either of those. Where you might have more of an issue is the ending of the game. I have noticed most of the GT games seem to just drop off into a weird conclusion, particularly in the standard version. There's also quite a bit of time hopping around the castle, which is all well and good in its own way but becomes rather confusing when it's all said and done. And during the late stages you'll be met with gathering a bunch of stuff in revisited scenes for the simple purpose of just extending the game. Unfortunate. All in all, it's a solid entry and you'll spend some time figuring out the mystery such as it is. The cryptic ending and forced errands fail to bring this to the level of some of the previous entries in the series for me.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dissappointed Loved all the other Grim Tales games, but was vastly disappointed in this one. The story line was flat and very confusing with an abrupt and unsatisfying end. Also, while I do enjoy the mini puzzles, I found it a little off putting that there were so many in this game and so few hidden object scenes. The HOS were varied and fun when they did appear.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's a Grim Tale Alright This is posted after playing the entire game. I swore I wasn't going to purchase anymore supernatural games, and I wish I had stayed with that promise. I bought this because there was another game I wanted and it was a two for one sale. I have the others in this series and enjoyed them, so I thought this would be like them. I was wrong. It wasn't near as much fun as the previous games. I am chalking it up to the fact I'm tired of the the supernatural themes, but this game really lacked what the others offered. There were spelling errors, and grammar errors and the list goes on. It wasn't a horrible game by any means and I don't want to come off like that, but this lacked the quality of what I have come to expect from Elephant. It was a great way to spend a rainy Florida day. Graphics were good as were the voice overs. They seemed to lack the voice overs as in the previous games, but what they had were well done. Colors were good and the scenes were clear. The music went along with the action and was't too bad at all. There are an over abundance ... WAY TOO MANY .. mini games. I'm talking one right after the other. They weren't difficult, but enough is enough. It was like a broken record. Thankfully I played in the custom mode and could skip quickly. I really don't know what they were thinking when they put this one together. The hidden object scenes were varied. There were silhouettes, lists and a variation of each. There were many more minis than hidden objects hence the low rating on the challenge. You have different levels of difficulty of which to play. As I said I chose custom for the quick hint and skip recharge. The interactive map was very helpful. It would transport and show where there were actions to perform. I was a bit disappointed in the story. I'm going to need to play it again, because I simply cannot tell you what was going on. I got lost in the beginning and then it just became a desire to get through the game. Surely it is something I missed. I can't believe Elephant would put out such a poor story. If you are one who loves mini games this one is for you. As I said, this wasn't a terrible game, but it sure didn't live up the the previous versions. I'm not sorry I bought it, but I sure wish these designers would get off the ghosts and supernatural stuff.
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Glad it was free!! I don't review many games although I've been playing for years, but this game is without a doubt the most frustrating game I've ever played. Without the hint or the map I didn't have a clue where to go next or what to do. This is the absolute worst game at hopping around I've ever played, and call me crazy, but the mini games were the best part. Sorry, Big Fish, but except for the mini games, this one is a dud and I'm glad it was a two for one so I don't feel like I completely wasted my money.
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not This Time I played almost the entire demo before feeling that I would turn to stone with boredom. There is nothing new here -- not that there always has to be something new as long as the story development and action keep moving you forward and hold your interest. That isn't the case here. It's all just so slooow and dull. Even the butler seemed bored to death, possibly literally so. I have all the previous Grim Tales games, but it's been a while since I played them and there was little to really bring one up to speed (cough, cough) on the back story of the Grey family, who the spectral villians were, and how or why Anna could help.
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from didn't like the heir This game started off promising but soon turned into an awful mess. As I went on playing I couldn't even remember what the objective was, only as I kept passing Brandon's unconscious wife back and forth did I remember that I actually need to save my family. My favorite games are HOG but I just didn't care anymore as the game got quite tiring and boring. I hate using the skip button for puzzles and would rather prefer to use the strategy guide but kept using the skip button as I was bored. I didn't feel like I had a mystery to solve like in The Legacy, The Bride or The Vengeance - just felt like I had such a lot of things to do as the game kept me very busy. This might be fine for those who are starting out with HO games but for those that want to feel like they're solving an actual mystery and they're working towards something, I'd say give it a miss.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another old CE being passed off as new Come on, really?? For as much as I've paid to be a club member and on games..revamping CE's to SE's and visa versa is getting old! Do the site owners really think us long time members won't notice? NOT HAPPY with the games they are coming up with for the pretty penny I pay!!
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from . Terrible! I have never skipped so many puzzles! The final puzzle was the worse. I wanted to skip just one section but it reset the entire thing and that's when I completely lost it. Cannot recommend. 2016
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from grim lack of excitement!! I bought it for the 2 for 1 special without playing the demo first.. yawn.. yawn...boooorrriinnngggg!....zzzzzzzzzzzz. absolutely nothing new or fun. I too expected more from the dev.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Take My Name Out Of The Will I Definitely Do Not Want To Be An Heir Another rehashed storyline with deceased family members haunting the living relatives. You have to prowl about this musty castle trying to get a child back who is trapped by the ghosts/spirits & bring his mother out of a coma. Game is slow moving & plodding with a lot of back & forth. Graphics are colorful but old school. Characters are the usual wooden, one dimensional variety but the mouth movements are quite accurate. HOGS are varied & interactive. The mini-games were also varied & I enjoyed most of them. The music was ok but got annoying quickly. Didn't try the map as the hint button let you jump between scenes. Just found the game boring & some what tedious. Definitely will not be added to my game collection.
Date published: 2016-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tedious, boring, repetitive, and monotonous. Might be a cure for insomnia. I'm fairly sure the plot synopsis is wrong. Brandon's son went missing after suffering a psychotic break resulting from the plethora of locks in the castle, all with shaped indentations requiring matching shaped objects. He was rescued by child services, received therapy, and is now happily living with his foster family in a home where the only locks are on the exterior doors...and they open using regular keys. Brandon's wife fell into a coma after struggling through the nth tedious puzzle in Castle Insanity. Her brain is now permanently turned in on itself, living in a fantasy world where puzzles are challenging and fun. Brandon is doomed to eternal despair for dragging his wife and child into this untenable, madness-causing environment. Had he visited his local home improvement store, purchased tools and supplies, and immediately retrofitted the castle with normal locksets, none of this would have happened.
Date published: 2016-08-26
  • y_2019, m_10, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_24583, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Tales: The Heir

Some family heirlooms are more trouble than they're worth...

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.