Bonfire Stories: Heartless Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Bonfire Stories: Heartless Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(345.23 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Mariaglorum is proud to bring you another terrifying tale in the Bonfire Stories series!

You were only a child when a red mist appeared in the woods and your father was murdered. What started as a quest for answers has since become an obsession. For the last five years, you’ve returned to the same campsite where your father died in the hopes of finding answers.

Now, the mist has returned and another camper has been taken. Can you solve the mystery and save them before they meet the same grisly fate as your father? Find out in this chilling hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“I enjoyed the trial - lots to do. Thanks for the transport map - I would have gotten lost without it. I was too interested in the story to pay attention to my location:) the hint button was a big help as well. I want to know how things turn out.”  - Eddie, beta tester

“Loved this game, the hidden object screens were brilliant, not just a list of things to find but little puzzles in themselves. Really liked the voiceovers & background ambient sounds. Excellent game and definitely on my to buy list.”  - Shana, beta tester


  • Find out if truth is as strange as fiction in the bonus game!
  • Find hidden hearts and collect character figurines.
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!
  • See if you have what it takes to unlock every achievement.
  • Enjoy exclusive soundtrack, concept art, wallpapers, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 667 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Bonfire Stories: Heartless Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(345.23 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Bonfire Stories: Heartless Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game to play Love the game fun and I some cases makes you jump like a good scary movie
Date published: 2018-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not your usual HO game Tried the trial and had to buy it. Loved this game. Can't say enough about it!
Date published: 2018-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heres Comes Halloween!! This series is getting better and better. The story was captivating and the mini games took some effort. This is a series that so far gets better than the last and Gravedigger was already an excellent game. I advise everyone to get the CE edition of this game for the start of their Halloween season. Can not wait for next years!
Date published: 2018-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Want to Play More! I really enjoyed the 38 minutes of the demo I played! I didn't play more because I didn't want to "spoil" anything for when I play after purchase. The story is nothing new when you get right down to it. Mist, kidnapping, masks... But, I like it nonetheless. Great graphics and realistic items. Really nice. Yes, many inventory items are the same things as always. But, I didn't mind putting fuel in a lantern and lighting it, because that is what you really do when you are camping, and that is the setting of the game, camping! We find an axe, and it is NOT dull! That was new. Yes, there is a broken zipper pull, but hey, it's well done, on a tent flap, and that happens more than one on a purse! So, I'm okay with the same things if they make sense. HOS: They make sense. The first was a bit junky, but only in the way a mess would have formed in the bed of a pickup after driving on dirt roads to a campground! It was well done. So was the other I encountered, where you have to refer to the diagram to know what to find next. Very interactive. PUZZLES: Not hard, but they didn't seem like time wasters either. Maybe because they were more part of the story than some. Press buttons in the right order. Rotate symbols to show related images. Press buttons, pressing one affects others. Jump a horse over obstacles (here I was so glad the perspective was different from the usual!). COLLECTIBLES: yes, but I forgot about them! I did find a few figures, which say "collection" of 12. There must be more? If anything was negative, it was the text whenever there was dialog. I can tell there was laughter! I could tell the woman was crying. I could tell the grunting was "unintelligible speech." I even recognized "flirtatious" laughter! I am not sure why this was included, but it was a bit off-putting. I like the game. I like the story enough to overlook it not being terribly original. I'll remind myself it's a campfire ghost story, being told by the "boys" to scare the "girls." There are only so many ghost stories to tell around a campfire!
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CAN YOU SOLVE THE MYSTERY OF THE HEARTLESS? Yes, folks as we enter autumn it is time for BFG to delight us with a bunch of scary games to fit the season – after all Halloween is right around the corner! Bonfire Stories Heartless is the second game in the series and for me it seems much better than The Faceless Gravedigger. This time around you play the game as Tom Gilbert who has been seeking answers for his father’s death during a camping trip to Calispell Forest. Year after year Tom, who is still haunted by nightmares after seeing his father captured by half-human beasts with the heads of animals. When Tom arrives at the campground he soon realizes that this year he might find the answers when another camper is dragged into the swirling red mist by the same creatures who took his dad years ago. Since other reviewers have provided in-depth details of the game I will only tell you what I did or didn’t like about the game. For me this game is all about the storyline that grabbed me right from the beginning scene. It is not often that I am so engrossed in the storyline that when the demo ends I am totally surprised by how involved I was with the game. For me at least the game was a bit difficult because it was not always easy to figure out what my next step should be. Of course, there was always the obvious item that would be used right away but there is a lot of back and forth between scenes to find items and then remember where they fit. I don’t mind the back and forth between scenes as much as some gamers because for me it makes the game far more interesting when I must remember where I can use a specific item. As much as I loved the storyline and trying to solve the mystery, for me the HOPS were a major disappointment. Although the HOPS might have been creative, or at least an attempt at something different, I think they are the weak point in the game. I disliked the scene after scene of finding twelve of a specific item or even finding sets of specific items. I much prefer the old school and more traditional HOP scenes where there is some interaction and a variety of items to find. The puzzles were good and some were difficult but none, IMHO, were super challenging. Recently, I am seeing more of those toggle type puzzles in games and I dislike those particularly when there seems to be no consistent pattern to the sequence. There were some puzzles that I enjoyed such as those where you must remove posts in a particular sequence, or the one where you must move tokens simultaneously on different sides of a grid. All in all the puzzles were not horrible but I hope to see those toggle type puzzles go away! As I mentioned above, for me the game was about the storyline and about the gameplay. I felt that this was an excellent game with terrific graphics and just the right touch of fear factor. There were times when I found myself holding my breath because I wasn’t sure what was behind the next door or hallway. The story was told in a very consistent manner and I wasn’t left feeling like it skipped all over the place and half was missing as happens with some games. As another reviewer noted, kudos to the script writer because they did an excellent job with telling this this Bonfire Story. The gameplay had me very entertained as I tried to rescue Margaret and get both of us out alive. Even though Bonfire Stories Heartless is one that I had to buy, please try the demo to see if this is a game you will enjoy. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best games yet. I really enjoyed this game. The others were good but this is even better. Enjoyable and easy to follow story, with interesting characters. Keeps you on your toes. Will definitely buy.
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very special hunt! Our friends are sitting round the camp fire again, telling stories - horror stories and finally it is time, Tom tells his tale. A story of the crimson mists in the woods. When he was a child, his father took him on hunting trips and one day the crimson mist rose, his father vanished and was found dead the next day. He could never forget it and always tried to find out, what had really happened on this day long ago. As a young man he had the chance, when working as a guard in a youth camp in the woods. Toms's tale begins with his arrival. He is looking for a girl, chatting with some others - all good and quite normal, but then the crimson mist rises and it is Toms's task to find out, what lies behind it and find the vanished girl. Playing as Tom, we follow the track and soon discover a group of masked figures, who seem to perform a special hunt. They wear animal masks, hunting not the deer or wolf but ........ A dark adventurous story, creative HOS and puzzles - a must have for me.
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely Something Creepy Going On! I quit the demo with 21 min of play remaining. Became very bored and tired of looking for so many things! Just didn't get past the hospital and left Tom hiding behind the tree. He is on his own, trying to catch up to the sinister, scary looking bad guys. From what little I did finally see of the storyline really disturbed me, so I know I will love this game. Camping in a dark forest, people disappearing, a vanishing rider on a black horse. The cult of disguised kidnappers! Oh my gosh, you just know something very wicked is about to happen once again!!! I love the anticipation of events and my being scared out of my wits with this kind of story! And camping has a huge creep factor, to me anyway!! The scenes in the demo were all pretty dark so I found only 2 collectibles. But truly I was too engrossed with the tasks at hand to look for more. I really liked the few games and HOPs I played, The characters and voices were pretty good. I hope the scenes in actual game are not so dark, The previous Bonfire game was great fun, so I will be purchasing this new mystery thriller when a good sale comes along. I appreciated the custom settings as always, the game ran smoothly. Looking forward to the extras I was unable to find in the demo, also I love the bonus chapters in the CEs. Length of game doesn't concern me, I'm just wanting some quality entertainment. I recommend this game, if you like "getting the willies" as we use to say back in the day! God Bless....
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHAT LIES WITHIN THE CRIMSON MIST? A CAMPFIRE STORY WITH A SURPRISE ENDING! REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 6 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter - Strategy Guide: 40 Pages OVERVIEW: What happened to your father on a camping trip many years ago? As Tom Gilbert, you are off on your yearly pilgrimage to Calispell Forest to continue your search for the answer to that question. On the night of a crimson mist, your father was kidnapped; the next day he was discovered murdered. It appears that this year your question will be answered when the same crimson mist reappears at your campsite. Screams, lights in the forest, shadowy animal-head masked men, and ghostly visions of your father will be part of this year’s camping trip. Is the same nightmare happening again? When one of the fellow campers, Margaret, is kidnapped, you are off to investigate. What is the mystery behind these woods? Let the hunt begin to uncover the mystery! OPINION: I have mixed feelings about this game. I gave it 5 stars because of the story and the puzzles. There is a fantastic story behind this game – a well-written spooky tale which engages the player. The player will not have the complete story behind the mystery of this game until the end. There are some unexpected surprises awaiting within this game! This game should appeal to those who love ghost-filled mysteries. Kudos to the author who wrote this narrative! Nevertheless, I found the game to be short. You spend most of the time wandering around the forest trying to figure out the mystery behind the crimson mist and the masked hunters. Dark graphics add to the creepy ambiance, adding an element of suspense. I did find it somewhat irritating listening to the protagonist, Tom, narrate the entire game. I would have preferred the game with less conversation from talkative Tom. It is a decent, but not outstanding game. It is missing those little extras other developers provide within their games including a replay of the puzzles and HOP scenes. I would have liked to replay some of the more difficult puzzles. I liked the first game in the series a little better than this one, but it is still a decent game. MECHANICS: There are the usual four (4) levels of play including a customized version. There are nine (9) achievements, all with three (3) parts. Collect twelve (12) figurines of the characters from the game and twenty-two (22) hearts. I found most easy to locate. There is an indicator bar showing the number of collectibles you have received, but not one indicating if there are any within the scene. There are fifteen (15) wallpapers plus concept art, music and video sequences. BONUS CHAPTER: It is a sequel. While our story telling campers are hiking through the woods, one of them falls through a hole into an underground bunker. This camper is in for a terrible surprise. Can the ghost story told around the campfire prove to be real after all? The chapter is very short with only three (3) HOP scenes and two (2) puzzles. There are no collectibles within this chapter. I found the story rather boring after the fantastic one in the main chapter. To me, this chapter is not worth the extra money to purchase this game as a collector’s edition. HOP SCENES: There are only fourteen (14) HOP scenes within the entire game, including those in the bonus chapter. Many of them require searching for a specific number (ten to twelve) of one item such as ghosts. birds, or traps. There are junkpile lists of items with some interactivity. There are a few storybook scenes with items in highlighted letters to locate plus a couple of matching scenes. I was somewhat disappointed in the lack of variety and creativity of the HOP scenes. PUZZLES: There are twenty-four (24) puzzles within this game, including the bonus chapter. They are much better than the HOP scenes, with most creatively designed. They vary in style with most of them being of medium difficulty. There are also some which are not designated as “puzzles” but probably should have been designated as such. There is a jigsaw puzzle which requires placing the pieces into position on a grid. Afterward, you must turn it over and enter a code as per symbols on the back. I did not feel this was an easy task, but it is not designated as a puzzle. It is also necessary to write down codes to open doors and safes because they are not written down and placed within your inventory. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Maze puzzle. Using a handle, move a latch through a maze to open a door. Move the arrow up-and-down and across the maze. There is a grate which covers the maze making it a little more difficult to see the maze itself. I found this puzzle a little tricky B. Tangram puzzle. Place boards into position on a grid so no spaces remain between the boards. C. Logic puzzle. On an electrical panel, set the number for each of four (4) dials to correspond to the number of capacitors and lights attached to each dial. D. Strategy/maze puzzle. Move a hunter and his prey through a maze along paths of the maze so that both pick up their designated colored tokens (green for the prey and red for the hunter) at the same time. Continue until all the tokens have been removed from the grid. E. Map puzzle. On a grid, toggle arrows so that the figure is led from the beginning to a bridge at the left end of the screen. You only have 11 moves. F. BONUS CHAPTER: Battle scene. Simon says. Repeat a sequence on lights to defeat an evildoer. 3x
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely game The graphics just keep getting better with the Bonfire stories. I would play this game again.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from CAN TOM STOP HEARTLESS? REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS I really enjoyed the game. There's plenty to do in each scene and there is a sense of urgency to find out what's going to happen next. In the main game you play Tom Gilbert to rescue Margaret and to find out what had happened to your father. The bonus game carries straight on from the main game and I think you play Daria. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Casual, Advanced, Expert and Custom modes; * Interactive map; * 9 Achievements (6 with 3 circles each); * Find 12 characters; * Find 22 hearts (in main game only); The graphics are very good, with each scene clear and precise to find the items needed. Sound is good and the music is fast orchestral. The hidden object games are slightly interactive straightforward, finding pairs and finding 12 items of the same thing. These are very easy to do and each one only takes a few minutes. The mini-games ranged from easy to medium and I was able to do them all without any problem. I enjoyed doing these and, if you are a beginner, then these mini-games will be good practice to gain experience. There are 22 hearts to find throughout the main game. FINALLY, a game where there was a good challenge to them. One could be etched on a board, a rope on the floor or a leaf. So look for something that looks like a heart. Some of them took me ages to find. Get them all and you get an achievement. Finding the 12 characters is easy and you will get these without any problem. This time, I managed to get all the achievements. The last achievement to get is to put together a jigsaw puzzle which only take about 5 minutes or so. All up the game took me about 4-5 hours to do. I was sad when it finished because I was really enjoying it. Overall, definitely worth having a look at. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprise Ending! Short game, but that's ok, compared to some of them that seem to go on forever. I lose interest if they're too long. From the very beginning, my attention was held! The twists and turns in the story are wonderful! Great game!
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thinking ...... . . . that Heartless didn't come close to the fun and enjoyment of The Faceless Gravedigger. That game I have played over and over. Nonetheless Heartless is a good game. I would love to see this series be creative with a more bonfire story that left amulets in the dark misty forest with the Hunters.
Date published: 2018-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hunt Club I liked the story and the suspense of it. I wanted to know what was going on. It has 6 Chapters + Bonus. It doesn't have replays on any thing but the nice 31 Videos which I always like. It does have a jigsaw in the bonus material when you are done. I was able to pick up the one missing heart and figurine I missed. You collect the missing figurine by clicking on it in the collections area. The missing heart had to be collected by going to the achievements and clicking on the heart. The guide is available by hovering over the compass and clicking the ?. It has 14 hops and I wouldn't want to replay these because of the subject matter wouldn't have pretty ones. I didn't like the story hops. The matching hops is more puzzle like. Some hops are very cluttered. The game has questions in the later chapters. I did like the achievement three questions. The bonus is in Bunker 72. Mariaglorum also makes the series Mystery of the Ancients and League of Light. Like I said I liked the suspense and the mystery of the game.
Date published: 2018-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from better than the first this one is a vast improvement over the first one....still too short. some of the puzzles were a twist on the old, but,there is lots of room to improve....and way too much chatting....graphics were wonderful. i never detail any game to death, think it ruins it .
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Hunt of who lives and who dies I have mixed emotions about this game, I'm not fond of a story line of who lives and who dies. But I do love campfire stores. Finding the collectible hearts were hard to find. many times I had to use the guide to find them. I do have to admit, it is a very interesting story
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LET THE HUNT BEGIN! Grab your marshmallows, chocolate and graham crackers and pop a squat on a nearby log in front of the campfire, it's time for another Bonfire Story. You survived "The Faceless Gravedigger," but can you survive "The Hunt?" This particular Bonfire Story has haunted you for years. Memories of that fateful night consume your waking thoughts and sleeping nightmares, and tonight you have returned to the scene of the crime in search for answers. As luck would have it, the Crimson Mist returns, and so has the Heartless. Let the hunt begin! Although better than the first game, I wasn't "blown off my computer chair" by this game. The storyline has been told hundreds of times, and each location has at least one HOPA-Cliche, broken zipper pull, bone-dry lantern, objects wedged in every crack, niche, or tree root, and billboard, every drawer and door has a missing handle or knob, animals viciously guarding precious objects until fed (and they always point to their mouth or belly so you'll clearly understand they are hungry) blown fuses, thorny vines covering everything, I realize that's HOPA-World, but wouldn't it be cool if you didn't know exactly where an area of interest was going to be when you entered a new scene or knew where every inventory item would be used the second you picked it up or what part you'd need to finish a combination item? There's got to be a different way to hide inventory items besides hanging keys from a tree branch or fishing something out of the water after you find a fishing net, and then repair the net, because broken fishing nets are everywhere right? The graphics are really well done, with just the right amount of darkness, although I thought they could have chosen a different color for "The Mist" Pink mist takes away from the credibility of a true horror or sci-fi theme, I think a grey mist or even a green mist if it had to have a color contrast, would have been more believable, at least for me personally. This Collector's Edition version has 12 Character figurines to find but it's impossible to miss them because they are located within Zoom Zones that don't close until you click on the collectible. I will say though that they have done an excellent job of blending the 22 Hidden Hearts within each scene. I found myself having to stare intently more than a few times before spotting some of them so nice job on that one Mariaglorum! The Hidden Object Scenes are mostly Multiple items finds such as 12 Matches, 12 Arrow bolts, 12 Nuts etc. Some of the scenes are Progressive or include a small puzzle to solve, but for the most part, they lack creativity. I will admit that some of the items are well blended so I have to give them credit for that feature. The scenes are clear and fairly bright as well. The Mini-Games were just okay for me personally. I found them to be rehashed games that weren't very challenging, in fact, they can easily be solved on the first attempt. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo portion to help you decide if this game is for you: 1-Press the buttons in the correct order. 2-Select the 4 related images on the flute. 3-Push in all buttons, clicking one may affect others. 4-Click to make the horse jump obstacles, 3 lives available (poor horse) 5-Slide the tokens along tracks to their matching slots. 6-Select triangle and/or square tokens & directional arrows to move a dial to the images shown above. 7-Click when the lines are inside of the target circle. 8-Remove the bars in the correct order. 9-Place the various shaped boards to fill the grid entirely. 10-Use the arrows to guide the handle tip through the maze. This Collector's Edition version has 15 Wallpapers, 48 Concept Art pictures, 6 Movie Video Cutscenes, 8 Music Soundtracks, 9 Achievements to earn in 3 categories, 22 Hidden Hearts, 12 Character Figurines, 6 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter and a built-in Strategy Guide, enjoy the hunt! BONFIRE STORIES SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-The Faceless Gravedigger (May 18-2017) 3.9 2-Heartless (September 20-2018) n/a By: Mariaglorum
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not The Best, But Not The Worst I have to admit, from all the current reviews I expected something great. But ultimately (even though I have 48 minutes left of my free run through) I'm finding this game lacking in several aspects. BUT, the voice acting and the atmosphere is very well done, and so far the majority of the puzzles are good. It's just a shame I'm not so much a fan of the plot. I might have a go at the previous game in the "Bonfire" series.
Date published: 2018-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting storyline, monotonous gameplay. The storyline intrigued me, but not enough to recommend this game, because the gameplay is simplistic and boring. So many shaped keys! So many broken things! Additionally, it's not CE-worthy, as there's no additional gameplay except the bonus chapter and not much in the way of collectibles. I may try the SE version when it's released, however.
Date published: 2018-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from But is "OK" Good Enough? Each year, Tom returns to the forest where his father disappeared. He desperately wants to understand what happened years ago. He hasn't even reached to his campsite this year when a pink mist steals across the grounds. Margaret, another camper, is kidnapped by men in large animal heads and wearing long robes. Tom will try to come to Margaret's rescue. Good stuff: The usual puzzles and HOPs are here along with a slight assortment of CE bling including collectible hearts and statues. The story remains to be determined. Bad stuff: As Tom, you get to run back and forth, back and forth, back and forth..... You will find not one but two face masks to protect you from the pink fog, along with fixing a broken zipper pull and feeding animals. The biggest question in my mind is why the fog put the ranger and two other campers to sleep; but Tom needs a face mask to be able to breathe in the fog, while Margaret was unaffected. You will get glimmers of the story and it sounds promising - at least it did till the umteenth time I walked from the asylum gate through the forest. It reminded me of all those old horror movies and the fun people make of the characters who go toward the danger instead of trying something smarter! As Tom, I kept tramping around close to the Bad Guys, even opening the front door of the asylum after noting that I could hear voices on the other side of the door. How stupid is Tom? Bottom line: You may want to find out what is going on in the Calispell forest. I'll admit I'd like to know, just not by buying the CE Lite version of the story. I'll wait for the SE and revisit the game then.) Please try the demo. It's fairly clear from the reviews that some players had little tolerance for some facets of the game.
Date published: 2018-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Slow, very slow... Hello friends! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story to other who do a much better job than I. This addition has excellent graphics, very clear. Animation is quite well done, very smooth and no choppy body movements. Game play was excellent with no problems during the demo and the scene fit my large screen quite well. Voices are very well done, but frequently we have rather silly dialog, e.g. Tom finds Margaret with her leg stuck in a trap and says, " your leg must hurt pretty bad." Duh, really? There really wasn't much dialog during the demo, so hopefully it picks up as the game progresses. There isn't a lot of music in this game, even for background noise. Sound FX were nice when we had them, but there was a lot of dead air. The story was a little different, but not much. Be aware that there is some swearing in this game, but not much, since there isn't much dialog. HOPs are not many, and nothing really new or exciting. We mostly had "find this many of that." The scenes are fairly clear and items are not that difficult to spot. I did not see that you could switch to anything else, which was too bad, it needed something extra. Puzzles were simple, and took no time or brain power to complete. I was surprised at how few HOPs and puzzles there were in the demo. The hint system sometimes tells you to move on, but otherwise, it is helpful. Got almost to the end of the demo before the transport feature showed up. You do a tremendous amount of back tracking to the same couple of areas in this one. The strategy guide is the same as usual. The jump map is rather boring and plain, but it does show if you have missed a collectible. Collectibles were disappointing. We have to find 22 heart shapes to find. Some do blend into the scenery and can be of any texture, e.g. leaf, silhouette, etc. We also have to find 12 character statuettes. These are fairly well hidden and easy to miss. None of the collectibles are easy to find. This is the only challenge to this game. We spend way to much time in one or two areas, finding one item here and another there, before finally moving on to one or two more areas. It got boring very quickly. The progress was very slow, and the game is very quiet, with not much character interaction. This would be a nice game for a beginner, or someone who just wants a no brainer game. I have a number of those rainy day games. As I said, this would be a nice beginner game, and I will recommend it only for this reason. I just couldn't get into the slow story and game play, so it's a no buy for me. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for. Thanks for the reviews. Play on!
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trial: Triple Lame Graphics are well done and options offer Gamma to adjust color saturation. That said the rest was lame! Lame Concept! Lame Characters! Lame Story line! The animal characters are almost comical but supposed to be sinister. The mist theme is so old and tired. The story line is rather predictable and nothing new. Involves lots of running back and forth instead of forward game play. Just shook my head and gave up not worth my time and effort to complete the trial. But, to be fair take a trial run to form your own opinion.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Why? Others out there are better in depth reviewing then I am but suffice it to say, I can say this: this game is boring. After 30 minutes I quit. Here we go again, broken zipper, lantern for some light, pink fog, water and bucket to douse fire, but the worst is the narration of the main character. Over and over and over. I used to like Maria Glorum. Have her games but not this one. The characters are trying to be too cutezy. That is not a bad thing but can be over done. I have to agree with others, this is not CE worthy. There is one part where the chain to lift the gate breaks, oh good, I just happen to have a rope to get the job done. Boring. How about something creative like having to find 3 big men and convincing them to lift the gate. But because these are bad men, let the gate drop on them. Hey, there BAD. Why not? Better than pink fog.
Date published: 2018-09-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Liked the different story line but it's not Collectible I'll let those certain others tell you all the different puzzles and give away the story as they ramble on. I played for the trial period and will quickly sum up my experience. The only reason I gave Heartless two stars was because of the story line. It's a bit different and the writers did a fair job of weaving their tale. There wasn't a ton of dialogue but there were still some comments that were silly or not needed. It's a well put together game as far as graphics, voice overs and game controls. However, the lack of music and ambient sounds actually hurt this game. More audio drama would have improved game play and helped hold my interest. And finally, once again, this is another offering that is NOT CE worthy. There's not much to collect, nor are puzzles or hidden object scenes re-playable. I may buy Heartless when it's released as an SE, though; I would like to find out what happens after the demo period.
Date published: 2018-09-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A DRAG There is nothing here that warrants this to be CE worthy. No replay of HOS and Puzzles. Your collectibles are 22 hearts and 12 figurines of the characters....no big deal and leaves much to be desired. The indicators for your map, the hearts, tasks and SG are located by the hint on the lower right and are hidden unless you hover your mouse over the compass icon. Not very good. You have access to the collectibles in the SG, which I did use because some of the hearts are hard to find because of the cloudy and hazy graphics. There is also a pop up on the left side whenever you gain an achievement or find a collectible. It is an atmospheric game, but the graphics could have been much more defined with better lighting and less fog. The Gamma can be adjusted in the Options which helped immensely as some scenes are very dark and eye straining. The map is cheezy, but one plus is it does show you if there is a collectible still to be found in a scene by showing an outline. I found this to be for the hearts and cannot say for the figurines because those were fairly easy to find. The women's voices have got to go. They are so phony and a chore to listen to. The men's were more professional and convincing. The gameplay is very slow and boring....wearing a gas mask gadget at times. Uh oh, we need to find a zipper pull. AND after finding a lantern, fuel, I then come across the first HOS and have to find 12 matches in order to light it....that was it for the 1st hos. What a wonder. The HOS are really cheap and I won't go into the puzzles except to say you are not overwhelmed with them. They were stupid. I hated the one with the buttons where you have to light them all up and touching one affects the others. And how about that horse arcade game? Forget it. There was another thing I noticed and that is I couldn't find where to change the player mode options. I looked everywhere. Maybe I was missing something, but it looks like once you choose, that is it. I might be wrong, but thought it was worth mentioning because I was playing on custom and it was taking forever for the hint to fill even though I set it to the lowest. I wanted to check it and could not find where to do so. I quit the demo as soon as I had to sedate a barking dog by finding a can of food, a can opener, then a bowl. And to top everything off, I then was supposed to find something to feed a squirrel. That was it. There are other things I would rather do then ridiculous tasks such as the ones I came across in this game. It was a drag.
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bored too short, waste of money, wished I would not have bought
Date published: 2018-09-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Blah I made it through about 10 minutes of the demo before deleting it. The problem? A tired old storyline, mysterious pink fog that requires a respirator that must be put on/taken off, the number of people who must be spoken to with each scene, and (as another reviewer stated) the usual dry lantern that you have to search for various items to light it, all the usual stuck/broken things you have to run around to find pieces for. The only way to mute the voices is to turn off one of the sound controls, so you won't get to hear either the special effects or ambient sound (I forget which it was) and, instead of relying on the actual voice of the character speaking to convey their emotions, the large, added subtitles also print what emotion is being conveyed! Really?? Then there are all the banners and pointers that continually block your view as you are told every single objective, place you should look, how many of what you have just collected...nothing is left for the player to figure out. I managed to get to one HOP (find 12 of each of the listed items), and it was nothing new or special. Add to this that there are just two things to collect and no morphs, and there are only a small number of achievements to attain...this is not CE worthy, even if I were to waste credits on it. Definitely try before you buy!
Date published: 2018-09-20
  • y_2019, m_3, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_28950, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Bonfire Stories: Heartless Collector's Edition

Solve the puzzle of the red mist and save a missing camper before they meet a terrifying end.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.