Mystery Tales: The Reel Horror Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Tales: The Reel Horror Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(694.61 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Domini Games presents the next exciting chapter of their classic Mystery Tales saga!

Your good friend Officer Jefferson needs your help! Use your paranormal powers to track down his sister Maya and colleagues in an abandoned cinema before the ghostly director makes them the star of his latest film. Hold onto the edge of your seat for this spooky hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Delve deeper into Dawnwood's history in the bonus chapter
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!
  • Learn more about Sebastian's life through hidden collectibles!
  • Enjoy exclusive concept art, music, achievements, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1967 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Tales: The Reel Horror Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(694.61 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Tales: The Reel Horror Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ~HORROR MEETS HIGH CAMP IN MYSTERY TALES 10TH EDITION.~ What an incredible gaming experience Domini has developed for fans of this popular series! I This edition may prove to be a contender for "one of the best games in 2018". When businessman Lloyd Collins (owner of several shopping malls in the town of Dawnwood) decides to recruit a team of Architectural designers for an abandoned movie theater purchased at an auction; he gets more than he bargained for when it becomes apparent that the property is haunted by a deceased eccentric movie director named Sebastian Fleming. Enlisting the help of architect Maya Sanders (lead designer who happens to be asthmatic) suddenly goes missing soon after the refurbishing of the movie theater begins. Chloe McGee (who suffers from epilepsy) also works with Maya in the architect bureau and is presumed M.I.A. too. Now it's up to you to take on an investigation that blends elements of horror and a campy story that will make you laugh and cringe from the moment you begin playing until the convoluted conclusion of this enticing new addition to Mystery Tales. You will also receive a little assistance in your enticing investigation from ghostly actor's Veronica Sullivan and Lenny Gilmore...frequently cast in Sebastian Flemings horror flicks who are now deceased due to Sebastian's flare for making horror movies where people actually die in real life. You get to know their stories with your newly acquired "Paranormal Smart phone" since you broke the glasses that Freya gave you in the previous Mystery Tales game. Sebastian meets his demise while shooting his latest film "Night of Evil" when a Frankenstein electrical surge set prop containing too much current kills him. Now he's emerged from the spirt world into the world of the living to finish his masterpiece movie to prove he shall create the most realistic horror film ever! One that promises to feed on the fears of a living audience that will satisfy his creepy cravings and give him enough paranormal power to cross over into the real world forever. Will you be able to stop him??? Mystery Tales series returns with a stellar production, as expected from this seasoned developer. The graphics are some of the best I have seen from this series, perfectly balance highly-saturated colors with mesmerizing artwork details. Furthermore, the quality of the cut-scenes is also very impressive – the smooth animations and stunning visual effects breathe life into this extremely entertaining six (6) hour game. How can you go wrong when you combine an asthmatic who happens to be police investigator Harold Jefferson's daughter, her epileptic co-designer Chloe, and a cast of comedic ghostly characters...it's just so beautifully bizarre, funny and full of unexpected quirky tasks that uses unconventional inventory items too! This is my favorite Mystery Tales installment so far. I love it when this developer surprises fans with such genius. I hope you enjoy this one as much as I did. Cheers! In this series: •Mystery Tales: The Lost Hope •Mystery Tales: The Twilight World •Mystery Tales: Alaskan Wild •Mystery Tales: Her Own Eyes •Mystery Tales: Eye of the Fire •Mystery Tales: The Hangman Returns •Mystery Tales: The House of Others •Mystery Tales: Dangerous Desires •Mystery Tales: The Other Side •Mystery Tales: The Reel Horror
Date published: 2018-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At LAST My review is short and I hope sweet. Yes as with any game there are personal preferences, I feel that for after a very long time this was a game worthy of a CE price. It was longer than many have been for some time and for me a fair challenge with a good storyline and graphics. I don't disagree with some others comments however so pleased that the developers and BF have given a good game worthy of the CE status
Date published: 2018-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT GAME QUALITY, GRAPHICS AND EERIENESS! I am really enjoying this game and stopped only long enough to purchase it! Domini Devs should be really proud of this one!! I love the mood of it and the way the puzzles are presented. Some are very unique and very well done. I've just begun what I know is going to be a splendid and unusual adventure!!
Date published: 2018-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WINNER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! told myself i was not going to like this one, as the other 2-3 from this series have been awful........imagine my shock!!!!!! good game...graphics are beautiful.....a storyline!!!!!!! some of the puzzles were new and different....some old school....no matter..this was and is a good game.......imagine that???!!!!!!!
Date published: 2018-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Movie time? A horror festival! We have to track down Maya and her colleagues in an old cinema, where they were last seen. She is an architect and renovating the old horror movie cinema is her latest project. Her last call to her brother was suspicious, he heard strange noises and saw ghostly figures in the background. Since then, she and her team are vanished. As these are no normal circumstances and the usual police investigation is useless, he asks us for help, as our specialty is the paranormal activity ! The cinema has of course a history: here the famous director of horror movies, Sebastian Fleming has made his films, pressing the last out of his actors to achieve the highest quality. His goal was bringing the real feelings on the reel, showing real fear, not just acting. Rumors will have it, he was mad and drove his crew half crazy as well. During the shooting of his last film ‘The Night of Evil’ he came to death. Police reported it as accident, though it remained suspicious. The fake equipment for the horror scenes had turned out to be real, so he was electrocuted. Maya and her team must have revived his ghost when they entered the building and started their work. The ghostly Sebastian Fleming seems to go on, where he was forced to stop, by directing the ‘Night of Evil’, now with the newly arrived ‘actors.’ The series about the paranormal detective has been modernized: no special glasses but a smartphone will help us, see behind things, detect the paranormal. We use it, discover one or more items and a HO scene is triggered, in which we learn more about the background of the current situation. As always, plot is enfolding fast with a lot of challenging puzzles and creative HOS - and the fantastic story about the horror movie director is thrilling enough.
Date published: 2018-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LIGHTS, CAMERA, ACTION – LET THE FUN BEGIN In a trip to the cinema and a retrospective look at “B” rated horror film genre from past years, Domini brings us the tenth game in the Mystery Tales series – The Reel Horror. Detective, meet Sebastian Fleming a director obsessed with creating a true horror film but one who is having trouble pulling the essence of fear from his actors. Never fulfilling his dream of creating the perfect horror film before his death, Sebastian’s ghost is now haunting the old theater where his films were shown. Your services have been requested by Police Investigator Harold Jefferson whose sister Maya disappeared while completing an architectural survey of the old theater. The theater was thoroughly searched with no sight of Maya and her team to be found. During the search Harold thought he could hear Maya calling him and he even saw a few ghosts but his colleagues laughed it off so Inspector Jefferson knew you were the right person to call for help. Will you be able to help Harold find his sister before it is too late? Although I love the gameplay, length and extras found in Domini games, I am so tired of their fantasy color palette that saturates their games in unrealistic deep purples, blues and pinks. I was hopeful that this game would be different but unfortunately, various tones and shades of purple still drench most scenes. However, in spite of my dislike of the color palette, The Reel Horror is excellent and well-worth playing. If more developers would provide the quality gameplay, HOPs, puzzles, and the LENGTH that Domini provides in their games I am sure more gamers would be willing to pay full price for games from these other devs – just saying – hint, hint! I know I sound like a broken record but HOPA games are so much shorter now and the CEs have so few extras that it should be no surprise that most gamers will wait until there is a sale to purchase them. Since I am sure others will provide all the nitty, gritty details of the game and because I believe that discovery is much more fun, I will only tell you what I like, now that you know what I don’t like about the game. Even though scary films and games have never been my thing I was taken in by the satirical look at the horror film genre of this game. There are many humorous moments and witty dialog to be found as we meet Sebastian and his victims as we play through the game. The HOPs are well-crafted and very interactive with most of them having some mini-games included as we search the scenes. There is one HOP scene that I actually thought was a puzzle until the light blinked on for me. Although I love the list type HOPs the most there is variety included with some silhouette and storybook types as well. If you don’t want to search for items, you can always switch to the match 3 option instead. The Puzzles in the game are terrific and Domini provides the ability to choose either Easy, or Hard for most games. If you select the Custom Setting at the beginning of the game, there is an option included there for Easy or Hard puzzles. If you find the Hard setting a bit too difficult with the puzzles you can reset them and then select the Easy setting before trying again. If you happen to prefer the CE version of a game The Reel Horror is full of extras that most developers no longer provide. I am not going to describe what can be found in the extras since discovery is more fun. IMHO, this is a terrific CE value particularly given today’s sale. Mystery Tales The Reel Horror surprised me because I loved playing the game. I’m still not finished but have no doubt that the Bonus Chapter will be as good as the main story. IMHO, this is one of the best and most enjoyable games I have played this year. I’ve enjoyed the HOPS as well as the Puzzles and hate to admit that I have had very little sleep as I stayed up most of the night playing the game. Even though I find this and excellent and entertaining game, as always, please try the demo to see if this is a game you will enjoy. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2018-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A GAME CAPTURING THE “REEL” FEAR IN MOVIE MAKING – A CRAZED DIRECTOR! – ONE OF THE BEST GAMES OF THE YEAR! REVIEW BASED UPON COMPLETION OF THE ENTIRE MAIN GAME 8 Chapters plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 66 Pages OVERVIEW: Detective! You are off to the movies. As a paranormal detective, you have been called in to investigate some ghostly activity at an abandoned movie theater. While restoring this theater, Sebastian’s Horror Cinema, an architect and her crew disappeared, believed to be the caused by a ghostly presence. Meet the crazed, arrogant ghost of Sebastian Fleming, a director consumed with the passion of capturing the true expression of fear on film. However, his methods of capturing that emotion are unconventional. Unable to fulfill his desire to create a realistic horror story in life, he now wants to create “reel” fear to bring himself back to life. Stop him before he completes his “final” film and creates more victims from his madness. OPINION: This is an academy award winning performance in gaming! If there were only one game I could purchase this year – this would be it! This is a long game, well worth the full price for this game. It should appeal to those who love mildly scary fare with a little satirical humor. There is some witty tongue-in-cheek humor throughout the game. You will receive humorous messages on your phone – a little corny perhaps, but I found some of them rather witty as well. Clicking on the scenes will produce some unexpected movement within the scenes. This is a puzzle-lover’s dream game. However, the HOP scenes are creatively designed as well. Domini is my favorite developer and they always provide more game for the money. The games are longer with extras that most developers do not provide. My only criticism would be the excessive amount of purple within this game. It truly is a case of purple overload. MECHANICS: There are four levels of play which include a customized version. You have the choice to play a female or male character. There are thirty-three (33) achievements. You can set the difficulty of the puzzles within the menu between “easy” and “hard.” You can also change the difficultly as you play the puzzles. Instead of the gimmicky pair of glasses from previous games in the series (which broke), you now use a smartphone to see paranormal activity. Collect fifteen (15) cinema attributes, eleven (11) movie posters and fifty-six (56) tickets. The tickets are exchanged for items to place in an Auditorium Hall. There are moths on the inventory bar to indicate when there is a collectible within a scene. I found most easy to locate. There are ten (10) wallpapers plus casual art along with music and video sequences. You can replay eighteen (18) puzzles and nineteen (19) HOP scenes. BONUS CHAPTER: It is a sequel. After receiving a disk containing movies from Sebastian Fleming, Shelley, the wife of one of the game’s characters, seems possessed – obsessed with watching these movies. What horror is Sebastian planning? I have not completed the bonus chapter due to the length of this game. However, it appears to be a long chapter- well-worth the extra money for the additional chapter. HOP SCENES: There are fourteen (14) in the main game. I have no idea how many are in the bonus chapter. Most of the scenes include lists of items and silhouette scenes, some within a storybook format. The scenes are interactive, and many contain mini-puzzles within the scenes. There are three I found creatively designed. One is a spot-the-differences scene. Another is a rather unsettling one with a creepy doll who chants before you locate silhouette items. I found that one a little chilling! My favorite is one in which you must use sliders along the sides of the scene to align silhouettes of the items with the actual items before you can remove them. PUZZLES: There are thirty-nine (39) puzzles JUST in the MAIN GAME! Most puzzles have the option to be played in either an “easy” or “hard mode. They vary in style and there are some truly amazing puzzles within this game. There are some new puzzles I have not seen in other games. However, I do regret Domini did not provide a replay for more of their puzzles. I believe you can replay all the HOP scenes but less than half the puzzles. SPOILERS: THESE ARE SOME OF MY FAVORITE PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Sequence puzzle. Remove interconnected shopping carts one-at-a time in the proper sequence until all are removed. You must clear them in a specific order to remove all chains binding them. B. Connection puzzle. Create a path between a power source and two lights. Place connectors on a grid so that the ends connect to a plus and a minus. Lights will light up when placed correctly. You have seen this puzzle in other games. The directions are better written in this game. C. Gear puzzle. Rotate four intermeshing grooved gears so that the openings within the gears match up with wires. Moving ones affects the others. D. Strategy puzzle. Place marbles on a moving, winding path in a grid so they match with a given alignment. As the marbles move down the path, they change direction and realign. E. Maze puzzle. Move colored chains on a grid to their proper location. F. Connection puzzle. On a chemistry chart, start at the top and create a path turning all cells blue without retracing your steps. There are only a certain number of moves to do this. G. Sequence puzzle. Follow the directions. A new puzzle not seen before. On a grid, move a test tube using directional arrows to pick up medicine in a specific order. If you do not pick them up in order, you must restart. The test tube will keep moving until it hits one of the items or is stopped at an edge of the grid. H. Connection puzzle. Move a submarine on a grid connecting all checkpoints on the grid. Choose the correct arrow which will maneuver it through the path. Unique puzzle not seen before.
Date published: 2018-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Getting Better I feel like this series is finally going in a new direction. Ever since hangman this series has been a stalled one trick pony but this game explores some new options especially a new kind of story line. The game play is still on the rudimentary side but the new direction kept my interest. In short if they stay on this path the next game should catch the spirit of the older installments. Keep up the good work domini games.
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Much Good Stuff Wrapped in Over the Top Color and Fuzz! Officer Jefferson has called for your help. His sister, Maya, has disappeared with her coworkers in an old theater she was helping to convert into a Mall. The good officer was the single person to notice ghosts in the theater while searching for the missing group. He feels you are the only one who will believe him and find his sister. Good stuff: A good story with good puzzles and a variety of HOPs. Several collectibles and assorted CE bling round out a fine new game in the Mystery Tales series. Bad stuff: Why the over-the-top color? Add to that the other on-going complaint for this series, fuzz outs between scenes and at odd times. I can't give the five stars I would have liked to award when this is the same grievance in previous games in the series. Bottom line: The crazy director, killing off his actors for authentic emotions on screen is a nice plot point for a game set in a decaying theater. It was refreshing to play a game that was not so much of a copycat. And the various items that unexpectedly moved and talked were added creepy when paired with the maniacal director. Try the demo before you buy. I hope you enjoy this new MT game as much as I did!
Date published: 2018-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I finally get a Smartphone! Hello friends! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story line to others. We have another addition to this very long series. As usual, the graphics are excellent, even though we still have the slight blur when going in and out of close ups. Colors started out really nice, but quickly turned to this developer's usual blues and purples. Very over powering and tiring on the eyes. Voices were age and character appropriate, but I noticed we are using British currency, so why don't any of our characters have an accent? We don't have a lot of interaction with the characters in the demo, so hopefully that picks up as the game progresses. You can click through some of the dialog, if you read faster than they speak and not really miss any clues or helpful items that the character may pass on to you. Animation is well done and smooth. I was disappointed in that we don't have much in the way of sound FX, other than a quiet wind and some music as background noise. We finally got rid of those ugly glasses that we needed to use to see past events. We have been upgraded to a smartphone! This time, we get to converse with ghosts through the phone. Sure, why not, they can do everything else, right? Some ghost voices are a bit hard to understand, e.g. too deep, run words together, etc., but for the most part, they are well done. HOPs were nothing new or exciting. We had interactive lists, finding pieces of an item and highlighted words. If you don't care for the HOPs, you can switch to the match 3 game. Puzzles were very simple and took no time or brain power to complete. You can switch between easy and hard, but still no real challenge, and nothing new. Yes, we still have the perfect map, with areas easily identified and it also shows which areas have a collectible that was missed. Hint system is very helpful and opens up to the map to show you where you need to go next. Collectibles are well done and not as easy to find as you may think. We have to find 56 theater tickets that are easy to see, but also easy to overlook. We also have 12 posters that are quite large. Then there are the 15 cinema related collectible items. These can be anything and some are a little small. Even with the awful colors and the blur, I like this series. This story is a little creepy, mostly because of the "bad guy," but I didn't have anything jumping out at me during the demo. It is really nothing new and at times moves rather slowly and becomes a little boring because of it. Hopefully it picks up...usually this series does. The phone tossing out messages now and then was quite annoying and not at all necessary to the story or game play. This addition is not at all challenging or difficult, but I like the collectibles and for some reason, I have the need to play it out and see what this guy is up to and why, as long as I can get past the colors. I think most players will find something entertaining about this game and I believe it is worth the CE price. Yes, I am adding this to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews. Play on!
Date published: 2018-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WELCOME TO THE THEATER OF HORROR - THE DEAD ARE WATCHING! Welcome to Sebastian's Horror Cinema. In its heyday, you could watch some of the best horror-flix ever produced, starring Veronica Sullivan and Lenny Gilmore. Sebastian Fleming was somehow able to capture the true-to-life fear portrayed by the actors, but nobody ever knew his secret to success...until now...now that he's dead! The dead are watching you, so grab a seat and enjoy the greatest fearflix ever filmed, starring your very own fears! Welcome to the year 2018 Mystery Tales! They have finally stepped out of the Ghostly Dark-Ages and into the Present-Age by dismantling the famous Mystery Tales Glasses and installing the lenses into a Smartphone! (actually, I broke them, my bad) I still find it rather amusing that we are finally equipped with a smartphone yet we still need an old-fashioned paper Map, and at one point I used a pad of paper and a pencil to copy down a clue. Is my smartphone a Jitterbug or did I forget I have a camera and a Maps app? Just when I uprighted my computer chair from all the excitement, I realize that for the first time in the past 9 games, (scroll down for the CE series list)I didn't lose my Notes to a rogue wind burst...SAY WHAT?! (well, it did constitute an extra star!) The Hidden Object Scenes were just mediocre. Because the Ghostly Glasses have finally been replaced with a Smartphone, the first HOS looked promising, but they didn't continue with that concept. That particular HOS required you to investigate the ghostly scene for clues, and as you found the items on the scene, a sentence would appear briefly to clarify the clue such as Veronica looks tired, was Sebastian overworking her? Why didn't they continue with this style is beyond me, it was a cool way to "investigate". There are also Silhouetted Shape finds, Keywords in Sentence finds, Multiple Item finds, and smaller zoom zone finds, all of which usually have several interactions available, some even have puzzles to solve. There is an optional Match 3 game to play instead of the HOP as well. The Mini-Games are decent although so far nothing new has been presented (half-way through) Most, not all puzzles and mini-games are available in an Easy or Hard difficulty mode. In the Custom Mode, whichever mode you choose will be presented that way for each game, however, you can still opt for the opposite if you choose. I love this feature, but it would be really cool if they had the option to complete them in Both Modes so you could complete the game in the Easy Mode and then try your hand at the Hard Mode if you wanted! Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1-Navigate the maze finding & using items to overcome obstacles. (Hard Mode: navigate the maze in the dark with a flashlight beam) 2-Press buttons up & down to turn the correct ones green per clue. (Hard Mode: Clicking one button may affect other buttons) 3-Click lock tumblers to match the clue shown. 4-Change the color of tokens to match the hints on the sides. (Hard Mode: Clicking one token may affect others) 5-Turn radio knobs to align the red and white waves. 6-Place the correct symbols in each row and column. 7-Place torn fragments correctly to restore each photograph. This Collector's Edition has 10 Wallpapers, 10 Concept Art pictures, 5 Music Soundtracks, 15 Movie Video Cutscenes, 33 Achievements to earn, 19 re-playable Hidden Object Scenes, 18 re-playable Mini-Games, 15 Cinema Artifacts & 11 Movie Posters to collect, 56 hidden Cinema Tickets which allows you to restore Sebastian's Horror Cinema with 13 Audience Hall items, missing Journal Pages to find, 8 main Chapters +Bonus Chapter and a built-in Strategy Guide, enjoy! MYSTERY TALES SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating  1-The Lost Hope (January 25-2014) 4.0   2-The Twilight World (January 24-2015) 3.5   3-Alaskan Wild (August 29-2015) 3.9   4-Her Own Eyes (February 18-2016) 4.1   5-Eye of the Fire (September 29-2016) 3.4   6-The Hangman Returns (January 26-2017) 3.8  7-The House of Others (June 29-2017) 3.9   8-Dangerous Desires (October 14-2017) 3.1   9-The Other Side (March 17-2018) 3.0 10-Reel Horror (September 9-2018) n/a by: Domini Games
Date published: 2018-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So much reading - may as well have read the book! The volume of storyline detracts from the fun of the game - if I need to read that much I would sit down with a good book. I play for fun and relaxation and a bit of a head-challenge. You just get some game momentum going and a load of really useless dialogue pops up. Just found it annoying
Date published: 2018-10-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WHOOOAAA WAY WAY too much blue and purple, way way too much visually in each scene... it was exhausting, and way way too much cinematic for my computer to cope with... I am exhausted after 5 minutes... No way for me..
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Authenticity? I play these games for the stories and graphics. This game scores on both points. I really get annoyed about the lack of authenticity in games. Most games have a few offences, but this game has them in spades. It is supposed to be set in England' the policeman is uniformed in the English manner, other characters, both alive and dead, are English yet all speak with American accents. At least the police car is right-hand drive but the ambulance displayed signs that are foreign to British ambulance. And all that is in just the first 45 minutes. I will continue to play this game because it is otherwise enjoyable. So please take this review as a plea to all games producers to check, and double check, authenticity especially in real-world games.
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Began with a lot of promise This game began with so much promise and quickly devolved into the usual games we have been served up lately. Four stars to the over the top story but fun factor was nil the further into the game you go. Fundamentally, its the usual story of an evil entity gaining more power and threatening to destroy the detective while doing it. I completed 4 Chapters before becoming so bored with the tedium of finding the usual things that I couldn't go any further. Drawers don't open without keys, amulets, hooks or whatever. At least I didn't find a missing zipper pull yet and I haven't put together a fishing rod. However, I have to look for the usual cans of fuel for the chainsaw and other items. I don't mind puzzles within an HOP because it tends to make it a bit more challenging. There is more than the usual back and forth through garishly purple and blue rooms to find items. Keep the jump map handy. Its absolutely boring to switch from room to room to pick up one thing and return to the previous location or another location to use it. The collectibles were few. Those little bugs that are supposed to light up when a collectible is in the room were not very helpful. At the point at which I stopped, the game had deteriorated to the point that I couldn't take doing the same ole things again. Maybe I'll return to this game one day to try it again, right now, I'm sending it to never land. Of course, try the demo.
Date published: 2018-09-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too many puzzles, Don't want them in the Hops Based on the Finished Game with bonus material. I liked the Frankenstein in the game and thought we would have plenty of creatures but after Chapter 4 ( out of 8). I thought the story suffered and I was bored. It just got to be, put this here and that there. Liked the collectibles. Collect 56 movie tickets to out fit your movie room. Collect 11 posters. Collect 15 movie items. I hate puzzles in the Hops. Isn't there enough puzzles? Way too many puzzles. Liked some but skipped most. I won't be replaying the mini-games but there are 18. The hops that don't have puzzles I may replay altogether there are 19 hops. 15 Videos.
Date published: 2018-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from STARTED OUT GREAT......THEN WENT DOWNHILL FAST What started out to be an exciting and enjoyable game soon turned into an entirely different atmosphere with monotonous and boring activity that was disjointed to the storyline. Your collectibles are not very impressive in quantity. They are not in every scene. In fact, they were not in nearly enough scenes. There are 11 movie posters that are very creative....but there needed to be more of them. Why? Because you then only collect 15 Cinema Artifacts, as well as 56 movie tickets, so that you can buy things for your Auditorium Hall, which isn't a real big deal. There are moths that are on the top of your inventory and they glow when you need to find these collectibles. The problem is, the collectibles are so few and far in between...even for those 56 movie tickets. You don't see glowing moths as expected. This is a CE and I am used to having more to look for in scenes. I am not a fan of morphing objects, but this game certainly needed them. It was a real let down. You can replay 19 HOS and 18 Puzzles. Here's a kicker....There are so many puzzles in this game that I would not have bought it had I known. Sometimes they are one right after another. The demo sure wasn't like this. Everything was well balanced in the demo.....not so, later on. You are only going to be able to replay the puzzles they give you....and the number 18 is miniscule compared to what you will encounter in the entire game. HOS were nicely done, artistically, and were interactive, sometimes a puzzle in them (you can skip). There is also an alternative Match 3. One thing I did not like about the HOS is that there are too many story types. I don't care for them at all, even if these were done well. They are a waste of time and instead of listening to the story, I find myself looking for the irritating items. This is a long game....8 chapters. I am only on Chapter 6 and had to take a break because of all the going back and forth....and PUZZLES. I looked at this info in the SG. The BC also seems to be a decent length.....loaded with more puzzles. The SG is right beneath where you can view your posters on the lower left and they were too close together. I kept accessing the posters instead of the SG, which was annoying. Another issue to be taken into consideration is making the screen scenes bigger in the SG. They are incredibly small.....and there is enough space where they could enlarge them. It is difficult to view them properly. There needs to be a zoom feature...or something to lessen eye strain. The hint is helpful and transports. I found the map to be confusing at times, as well as some of the puzzle instructions. Even though I have just finished 5 Chapters, I do not know that I will finish the entire game. They lured me in with a fantastic demo....then it was a whole different experience after that...and not a pleasant one. I feel the saying is true, "You win some and you lose some." This is not a game I will be playing again.
Date published: 2018-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from How to take a psychedelic trip without chemicals! This could have been a great game, but I guess the graphic designer was having a really bad day. I found the story line, HO sequences, and mini-games, while all being somewhat familiar to any experienced gamer, and for as long as I could manage to play, just enough off-center to make them interesting. But, oh, those graphics! Let me see, what’s the word I’m looking for? Wait, I’ve got it . . . garish! I’ll save you the trouble of looking for that word’s definition: loud, tasteless, gaudy, kitschy! Get my point? I really wanted to play this demo, but oh those colors! About five or six minutes is all that my poor eyes could stand! If you’re old enough to know what ‘tripping’ means, you may just be able to play this game without losing your mind, but you'll still risk getting a severe case of eye-strain. If you’ve got a lot of download capacity, and some aspirin nearby, go ahead, try the demo.
Date published: 2018-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Demo was okay, nothing caught my interest though Something was lacking in the demo. I just didn't get that "I gotta play more to find out what happens next" feeling that some games give me. I felt I kept playing just to play enough to give a fair review of the demo. Not a great way to feel about a game that, really, there is nothing wrong with! Well, it's too purple! What's with developers making games so purple? Is purple cheaper to program!? Choose male or female character. I object! The female is "clever" and "perceives supernatural" stuff. But, the male character gets to be "brave" and he's already known for "saving many lives!" I want to be a brave woman! HOS: a variety. The first was best, it introduces us to the phone with a list. When objects are found, we learn about the characters and setting. Then some silhouettes and story (find the items shown as words - not my favorite). Some HOS include mini-puzzles. Some are introduced with a puzzle. One was find so many ofs, then interactive items where we learn the just WHY the director is doing what he's doing! Nice to know! You can play Match-3 instead, but it isn't a very good version. PUZZLES: Would be easy if some of the instructions were better. Or else it's me. Enter "code" which is just four symbols on a paper. Sort of a maze, collect helpful items to progress. Press buttons to make a pattern (on easy you may as well skip, it's meaningless to play). Match radio waves (once). Piece a note together, the place chips like it shows on note. Too many torn pages to put together. COLLECTIBLES: Lots, which may be the saving grace for me and this game as a CE. I don't think I'd bother with it otherwise, but collectibles are why I buy CEs. Not the bonus chapter and definitely not the other stuff always offered in the extras! * Cinema "attributes" - 15 * tickets - 56 - use to get things for the audience hall. Like seats, lights, popcorn machine... * posters - forgot how many! * not really counted as collectibles, I don't think, we do get "notes" that go into our "task" book. We do get the same sort of tasks and inventory. A rusty lock. A sewn up curtain. A lock pick that once again isn't used for a puzzle (they used to be). A bit too much help in the inventory (like the laser pointer... surely we'd figure out to play with the cat? Do we have to see the image is a mouse?) and via ringing phone. Now and again we get a ring and learn what we are supposed to look for, what we will need (glass cleaner), or how to do things (what will open that rusty lock). No need for the extra help, if we want it we'll ask! If the missing sister is a member of the British Association of Architects, and we drove a car with a right-hand steering wheel, why don't any of the characters sound British? Let's take care of the little things, developers! Players notice! Oh, the GM crashed and the game closed right after I used the glove on the statue, and again when I exited the game. My game was saved, but still... something isn't quite right with it! I will give an unenthusiastic recommendation. As a CE, and with a very good sale, I'll get it. But, I was not overly impressed by any part of the game.
Date published: 2018-09-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Why are all developers releasing the exact same game? There's nothing new here. In 15 minutes, I had a long list of shaped keys to find. Each scene was chaotic, with random items scattered about. Naturally, each one needed a tool, part, or shaped key. No thanks. I already have hundreds of games just like this one. The palette will blind you, especially since there's a bright flash over your entire screen every time something changes. And cutscene animation is blurry and pixellated. I actually started to get headache. Lastly, Domini did everything possible to destroy immersion, including banners every time you moved, notifications of dubious achievements, and loads of unnecessary, lengthy animations. And my hand was held firmly throughout. Why can't you just leave me alone and let me play the game? I'm not five; I don't need a babysitter.
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tangled Up in Blue..and Purple..Again Way too Blue and Purple...again. There are other colors in the palette, why they continue to use blue and purple is a mystery to me. Same puzzles and actions as most of the other games these days. Pick up and place something totally unrelated to open a drawer, a box, a book..and find odd objects that do normal things such as open a door with a toaster instead of a key. (I made that one up, but it's not that different in the CEs these days). It's just silly stuff which is annoying and not even remotely funny or fun for that matter. Feels like it's just a time filler to make the game last longer. I found this game tiresome and repetitive. It gave me the blues...and the purples as well.
Date published: 2018-09-09
  • y_2019, m_4, d_25, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_28959, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Tales: The Reel Horror Collector's Edition

Face the fears in Sebastian's Cinema of Horrors!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.