Halloween Stories: Black Book Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Halloween Stories: Black Book Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(414.15 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Elephant Games brings you the next spine-tingling chapter in the Halloween Stories series!

It's Halloween night, and you've been trusted to babysit your little sister. Your plans to have a fun night in with her quickly take a dark turn when she's kidnapped by a nightmarish specter! As your physical world is turned upside down, can you uncover the spirit's origins and save your sister in time? Find out in this bone-chilling Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

  • Survive a deadly dream world in the bonus game!
  • Lots of morphing objects and collectibles to find.
  • Replay fun mini-games and HOPs.
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1529 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Halloween Stories: Black Book Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(414.15 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Halloween Stories: Black Book Collector's Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 49.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game! It's perfect for this time of year. If you like to be scared out of your wits at times, you'll love this game. Easy to follow. I really enjoy playing this and I think you will to.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing light or fanciful here! Oh my!! This review is based on the demo only. 2018 game. Exquisite graphics, dark theme and a bit twisted. NOT a fun, cute Halloween game for kids to play!! I think the reason dark themed games are often appealing is because of the solitude that is experienced as you move around from place to place (not a people-packed experience) and because you really don't know what to expect at any moment... What I loved: Elephant games- I really appreciate their comprehensive sound control options and this game has detail that's out-of-this world, both in the scenes and sound-wise. Lights and shadows, gouls and foul creatures... Lots of gray, lots of unseen corners, lots of skeletal bits and pieces reassembled to create monstrosities, but not in a bloody, gross, fleshy way, more in a "that's really weird" way. Sometimes, if the kid in the game seems too familiar to me, I'm unable to play it, but in this case, I was ok. So if you are a family person, you might want to trial it, to make sure it doesn't make you uncomfortable. Best game out for a while!
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Black Book is a very good read A couple months ago I was asked to partake of the beta test. Initially I thought it would probably be a waste of my time since almost all of the holiday based games ( Christmas, Halloween etc.) are not to my liking. I did the test primarily to be accommodating to BFG since the company asked me to be part of the beta. At the completion of the test I could not wait for the final version to be issued since Black Book offered lots of promise. This is the second of the Halloween Stories and the first game left me wanting. The gang at Elephant certainly has upped their game with this latest installment. The story line is very typical as we have a young girl abducted by a spectral entity that comes straight out of the book. Jen is the protagonist here and she is tasked with the girls rescue. The only downside to Jen is her rather blase attitude. One would expect she'd have loads of her own fears yet she acts as if this is but a stroll in the park. Jen is led into a rather sinister old house ( nothing new here ) and as is always the case with HOPA she must acquire various items by picking them up or by completion of puzzles and hidden object scenes.and using them to her advantage by unlocking doors, removing rust, placing certain things in the correct slots, etc. What I found most compelling about Black Book is the fantastic drawing and game scenery, and this is only in the demo stage.I also always am pleased that the demo doesn't give away the majority of the story. Here we are let on that a character named Delilah will be a feature element yet so far we know nothing as to whys, whens, wheres, and hows that ultimately decide the merits of the story. As is the case in CEs, collectibles, morphs and figurines are to be gained. The demo portion is lacking a fair degree of challenge in game play, I can only hope it gets somewhat tougher as the game evolves. The story for me is enough to continue reading the Black Book.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute Halloween perfection! This game is so well done. You can tell the designers put a lot of thought and care into the game. It's so eerie and spooky, just perfect to get you into the Halloween mood! The gameplay is standard Elephant find an amulet to open this or find a key to open that etc., but the story, atmosphere, and the graphics are what makes this game stand out from most of the other games out lately. The mini-games are new and different and a bit harder than normal. It's also just perfect for this time of year! I rarely buy the CE edition of games but for this game, I'm making an exception. I'm having so much fun that I have to have this game now!! It's great to read some of the reviews by others who actually purchased and went further into the game and say it stays spooky and just as much fun after the demo, that gives me even more incentive to buy now! I hope everyone has a spooktacular time playing this game!! Happy Halloween!
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BLACK BOOK ; A SUPERNATURAL TREAT!!! LOVE THIS GAME! THIS MAKES MY HALLOWEEN SEASON COMPLETE!
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halloween scare! The other reviewers have said plenty so I will just add that the visuals and graphics are incredible. This game had me jumping back a couple of times in my seat and that was just the demo. I love EG games so I always purchase the CEs "sight unseen" b/c I know it will be great fun and I was not disappointed. I love the interactive puzzles, scenes...there is so much to do room by room that I feel like get my $$ worth. I was really hoping after last year's game there would be a sequel and happy to see it's even better than the last!
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from :O BOO-LICIOUS Wow. I mean, WOW! Fantastic, a must buy. As one of the other reviewers said, it's going to be hard to top this game. Newbie or veteran - buy, immerse, have tremendous fun.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ~~A SPOOKTACULAR ADDITION TO ELEPHANT'S HALLOWEEN SERIES.~~ What an exciting adventure to celebrate Halloween and just as enticing to play as last year's Halloween Stories: Invitation. This time you play the role of Jen tasked with saving your sister Mary from the ominous wicked witch Delilah. She was brutally murdered by townies who suspected her of abducting children in the community. Now she's back with a vendetta of revenge from anyone who has betrayed her in years past...but why target Jen and her sister? Find out in this tantalizing tell of terror; and what may possibly be the best Halloween game you'll play this season. This tumultuous task will definitely be one party-goers will engage in and Elephant games have made it spooktacular!!! The heart-pounding music and the creepy ambient sounds also help increase the suspense of the game. Most of the HOP's offer a small interactive puzzle to solve. Don't forgot to look for the Morphing Object in each scene. More than worthy of a 5 star rating and a must-buy for me. Happy Halloween gamers!!!
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Halloween Fest with Amazing Graphics All the movement going on with ghosts and other creepie are amazing. I didn't think it was scary but festive. I think Elephant has the best morphs, fragments and collectibles. I always miss something and wish I could go back and retrieve it. So I play again. I would like a indicators for all these things. I noticed now they at least have the fragments on the map. Why not include every thing else? They need larger pictures in the guide also. They included Brightness in the options which is great. The Task stays on the scene too long. I really liked some of the puzzles. Love the Hops. Want Agnes' dress.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Halloween Stories This is by far the most fun I've had with a game in quite a while. The graphics are beautiful; the originality is delightful and - that hint button recharges almost immediately! Seriously, this deserves the five star review from almost all its critics. Wasn't even half-way through the demo when I decided I had to have it. Treat yourself!
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spooky Enough for me Wow! It's going to be hard to top this Halloween game. Everything is done so cleverly it's refreshing. Though not a fan of Halloween this game is an absolute buy. The music is perfect and the graphics awesome. Once you start, it is hard to quit playing. Great job, Elephant!
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Based on Demo Whew a challenging game. Plenty of hidden objects, some are a little hard to see due to the darkness of the sceen. BUT the individual games are great, challenging and sometimes not sure what to do but loved it. There are plenty of ghosties and goulies and things to do, morphing objects and other items to find. I really enjoyed this game. Note, there are ghosts and some goulies are a little frightening so if that scares or upsets you, beware. May not be for younger audiences. I do not have sound turned on so can't rate that portion.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A TOTALLY CREEPY AND SCARY HALLOWEEN STORY Let me begin by saying that I am mostly a fan of the fantasy HOPA game BUT as we approach Halloween we have seen a few creepy games and Halloween Stories the Black Book is by far the best of the best. This is one awesome, scary game. There were times I had to stop and catch my breath as I was playing. I never liked horror movies or even wanted to go near a haunted house when I was a kid even though my dad, being the big kid that he was, set one up in our garage each Halloween. If you love being frightened, and I mean having some great jump-scare moments, then this is definitely the game for you. Although I don’t generally care for this type of game, Elephant Games did such an awesome job creating the characters and the real haunted house feel. While playing the game as Jen, I actually felt like I was walking the halls and entering the rooms of the haunted house and other areas in the game. Never knowing what was behind a door, or hanging from the ceiling kept me playing this game. When I had to stop and play a HOP scene or a puzzle it was almost a relief from the scare factor that I felt as I moved around the scenes. The HOPs and Puzzles were well integrated into the game and they didn’t feel as if they were added to the game as an afterthought simply to have the required HOPs or Puzzles. If you love Halloween, you will most likely love this game. The Black Book is much better than the first game in the series that was child’s play compared to this one. I would not recommend this game for young children as this is a game that really should have a PG-13 rating or at least one of those generally meaningless warnings that BFG once put in some of the games. This is one very scary game that I think most older players will appreciate. I don’t do creepy, but I found myself involved in this well-crafted game and although I can’t say I loved it, I do think it deserves a 5-star rating because the game is everything that Halloween is all about. As always, PLEASE try the demo to see if this is the Halloween game you have been waiting for. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WINNER WINNER BIG FISH DINNER! The second I opened this game I knew it was a winner. The graphics are stunning, and the music puts me in a glorious Halloween mood. I have to go............playing my new game............THANKS! Happy Halloween Big Fish!
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GRAB A SHOVEL TO DIG UP THAT BUCKET, FIND A VALVE TO TURN ON THE WATER BECAUSE THIS DEV IS ON FIRE! Nobody knows for certain if Delilah was the culprit responsible for those missing children all those years ago, but the townsfolk needed answers, they needed a guilty party to end their suffering. In a fit of rage, they chased her to the point of no return, a horrific and tragic death that would not go without punishment. Some say Delilah returns every few years to steal the children of those who wronged her all those years ago, but that's just another urban legend... or is it? I know that many of you are not fans of this creepy genre, but Elephant Games is obviously pushing the envelope to see how far they can go with a psychological thriller. This is what I want, this is exactly the kind of storyline I crave, so please, please, please let them run with it, let them continue to push the envelope even further! HOPA games and HOPA players have evolved, and many of us are no longer content with the same old watered-down storylines of HOPA PAST, we want to be creeped out, we want to be frightened from the comforts of our computer chairs, we want more, we want what Elephant is giving us. Elephant Games-this genre is your niche-run with it! The Black Book is actually a Gadget in the game, but it's not used that often and it's not your usual gadget or helper scenario. When the Book has a blue aura around it, you select the book to tear out a clue and place onto the scene indicated. It will show you how to play a game or what item is needed to overcome an obstacle. Each scene has a Morphing Object and there are Newspaper Fragments to collect that completes a picture in 4 different Newspaper articles about strange phenomena. Twelve of the scenes have a collectible statue that's Halloween related such as a witch, zombie or vampire. The graphics are amazingly realistic and the "horror" scenes are absolutely credible, I don't know what's going on lately, but Elephant Games is on fire! It's clear to see that the team has been rejuvenated and are trying very hard to create top-notched games. The Hidden Object Scenes are mostly Listed Item finds with a few interactions required, but this is the old school style I prefer. Don't let the simplistic nature fool you though, because at the end of each scene, after finding all the items a sentence at a time appears saying "open the window" find door # 21, take the diamond, I found this feature alone a very interesting concept that wasn't as easy as you may think. The items are cleverly hidden, and there are a ton of Zoom Zone Hidden Object Scenes. Some have Silhouetted Shape finds and most combine a mixture of both. I particularly enjoyed the mannequin scene, as you click on a mannequin that has the item, they turn around to show themselves, and someone has a vivid imagination! The Mini-Games are varied in difficulty levels, some are far too easy, some are standard favorites, and some are mind-bending, with just a dash of "selecting one affects others" (ps: I really hate those) I like that the mini-games slowly progress in difficulty, but they still throw in a relaxing "I've got this" quickie now and then. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo and a few worth mentioning afterward: 1-Paint by numbers that appear and disappear in groups. 2-Select columns & scroll until you've spelled the clue word. 3-Click a ball when an opening appears to navigate the maze. 4-Swap tiles to complete the image. 5-Select arrows to slide the bat into the slot using bumpers. 6-Rotate the board & slide gems into their slots simultaneously. 7-Use directional arrows to move colored tiles into matching columns. 8-Guide the ball thru the maze using directional arrows. 9-Rotate & place map fragments correctly. 10-Rotate 2 discs and attach color matching gear sections. 11-Turn all tiles silver, clicking 1 tile moves adjacent tiles. (nemesis) 12-Click 2 bats at a time to find hidden matching symbols. 13-Click to stop each disc ring when they align. 14-Align 3 matching disc sections using empty spaces. 15-Swap identical puzzle pieces to complete the portrait. 16-Slide all symbols to their matching colored slots. This Collector's Edition version has 8 Wallpapers, 8 Concept Art pictures, 4 Music Soundtracks, 21 Achievements to earn, 32 Fragmented Newspaper Articles, 4 Completed Newspaper Articles (8 Fragments required for each) 24 Morphing Objects, 12 Collectible Halloween Characters (vampire, zombie etc.) A Secret Room with 14 Re-playable Mini-Games and 16 Re-playable Hidden Object Scenes (can only be accessed after completing the BC a feature I don't agree with because sometimes the BC is downright boring) 3 Main Chapters (don't let that fool you, they are lengthy chapters & the BC is even longer) +Bonus Chapter (sequel of returning to the Halloween Nightmare..curse that black book!) and a built-in Strategy Guide, enjoy the Nightmare! HALLOWEEN STORIES SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Invitation (October 11-2017) 4.3 2-Black Book (October 10-2018) n/a
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A WONDERFUL HALLOWEEN TREAT TO PUT INTO YOUR BAG OF GAMING GOODIES REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME: 3 Chapters plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 36 Pages OVERVIEW: Big Sis Jen! Get prepared for the ultimate Halloween fright night! When your parents leave on a trip during Halloween, you are left home to babysit your little sister, Mary. You are planning a fun-filled experience with her. However, your fun-filled evening will be anything but fun. While playing, Mary discovered a black book in your back yard – one containing Delilah, a witch out for revenge. After you read her a story from this book, Delilah pops out kidnapping Mary, taking you both into a nightmare world. Now you are off to to the astral plane to save your little sister and to discover the reason Delilah kidnapped her. OPINION: This is a wonderful Halloween spookfest. This game should get you into the holiday spirit. It is decorated with skeletons, bats, ghosts, carved pumpkins, cobwebs, and, of course, an angry witch. The story is excellent. The pace is as well with plenty of activities to keep you busy. The main game is short; however, the bonus chapter is long. You will be running to-and-fro searching for inventory items. I thought the back-and-forth motion throughout the game a little excessive. Nevertheless, this is a wonderful addition to this series. If you are not in the Halloween spirit, this game will get you into the mood. MECHANICS: There are four (4) levels of play including a customized version. There are twenty (20) achievements. Collect thirty-one (31) fragments to complete four (4) newspaper photos along with twelve (12) Halloween characters and twenty-four (24) morphing objects. There are eight (8) wallpapers along with concept art and music selections. You can replay sixteen (16) HOP scenes and fourteen (14) puzzles which are hidden in a secret room. BONUS GAME: It is a sequel. While sleepwalking, your sister walks through a wall, returning to the nightmare realm of the dream world. This time she will meet her alter ego who will stop at nothing to keep her in this world. The chapter is long and in my opinion worthy of a collector’s edition designation. There are ten (10) puzzles and six (6) HOP scenes in this chapter. I feel the chapter is equal in quality to the main game. HOP SCENES: The scenes are thematic and full of Halloween decor. There are twenty-two (22) scenes in this game, which include four (4) mini-HOP scenes in which you locate a small number of items. Most are lists of items and silhouette. There are some storybook scenes and some with morphing objects. There are a few multiple-step ones as well. Most are standard fare; however, there are two which I felt were unique. In one, you must rotate circles to connect two halves of an item before removing it. In another, you must place the other half of a symbol into a grid to remove it. Once it is removed the scene will rotate hiding some of the symbol halves to be matched. PUZZLES: There are thirty-five (35) puzzles within the game. The puzzles vary in difficulty. There is an assortment of different styles; however, most of these puzzles have been seen in other games. In my opinion, the puzzles increase in difficulty after the demo. Nevertheless, there are some easy ones as well. SPOILERS: HERE IS A SAMPLING OF PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Jigsaw puzzle. Rotate and place pieces back into position to create a map. B. Matching puzzle. Match up images under bats until all the bats disappear. C. Search puzzle. Use a magic glass to locate 5 hidden symbols within a scene. D. Matching puzzle. Using two (2) sliders, slide a silhouette of a symbol onto the actual symbol to remove it. (I have seen this as a HOP scene in other games) E. Switch puzzle. Switch tiles to restore a picture. However, you may work on only one-quarter of the image at one time. F. BONUS CHAPTER: On a sliding grid, place a series of red and green tiles into the proper location as per a given code. Use arrows on a red dragon and a green dragon to move them and change their color as well. G. BONUS CHAPTER: Beat the computer. Skipping stones puzzle. In this case, you will remove Halloween symbols. Remove three or more to fill up a power grid. You must beat the evildoer by getting your three (3) power cells filled before he does.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WHY WHY WHY DELIHAH REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS (Sorry, am singing that song while writing this). Yes, this is another terrific Halloween game. In this game you play Jen who has to rescue your little sister, Mary. There are a huge amount of tasks to undertake in each scene, so please get comfortable. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Casual, Advanced, Hardcore and Custom modes; * Interactive map; * 20 Achievements; * Secret room with 14 replayable mini-games and 16 repayable HOPs; * Find 12 character figurines, 24 morphs and 32 fragmented newspaper articles in game and bonus. The graphics are extremely well done. Most scenes are somber and muted, but well defined, and items you need are easy to locate. I loved going through each scene never knowing what to expect next. Sound and music are great with lots of creepy noises and whispering. It definitely added to the ambience of the game and I had it up very loud - to the point that I had family members asking me what the heck am I playing!! There are a good variety of hidden object games - straightforward, silhouette and finding a certain amount of one object. These were fun to do. I enjoyed the mini-games which ranged from easy to medium. Some took me longer to do - you know the ones where you have to rotate rings, tiles, etc to get in the right order. None are too hard or boring. There are 12 figurines, 24 morphs and 32 fragmented newspaper pieces to find throughout the game and bonus. These are easy to spot and you can just grab them on your way. Just as well because you will be locating and undertaking a lot of other tasks. This is a very busy game. The bonus game is about you once again rescuing Mary - or the alter ego of Mary where Delihah ripped them apart and now she serves evil. I enjoyed this as well. All up the game took me about 6 hours to play and I enjoyed every minute of it. There is so much to do in each scene, however you don't wander off too far and its easy to remember where tasks are to do. Overall, a fantastic and creepy game to play for Halloween. Elephant did a terrific job, so well done devs. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Bit of Spooky Fun I enjoyed the storyline and the graphics. The colours were great, and I liked having things pop out at me. But the younger sister's voice was absolutely awful. And the game was way too short. Still, I had fun playing the game, and I would recommend it for those who like scary games.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a very happy halloween to all !!! good game liked the spooky atmosphere the only thing that bug me was the little sisters voice but in all really like playing it.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks Like Fun! :D Although I purchased this game w/ the w/e sale, I've yet to play beyond I assume what was the end of the demo portion, as I rarely play HOPA games anymore, much less in one sitting. That said, I purchased this game sight unseen, based on how much I enjoyed last year's Halloween Story, & so far, this game looks to be equally enjoyable. I personally wouldn't call it scary at all, as I'm not of an age to be frightened by images of ghosts & goblins & the like. That said, it's full of images of ghosts & goblins & the like, & it's all great fun; when I catch myself laughing out loud while playing a game, I know I've picked a winner. The one word of caution I would extend would be to those who find images of spiders disturbing; as w/ last year's offering, they're present in fair abundance, at least in the portion of the game I've played. As for the level of challenge, I'd rate it "midrangy", which is good in my opinion, as I think most people will find enough to enjoy in this game to make the purchase worthwhile, providing their primary objective is to have fun. This series has the flavor I'm looking for in a Halloween game, & as I imagine I said last year, I'm so glad Elephant decided to branch out & do a Halloween series. If in doubt, playing the demo should give you a good idea of whether or not this game is your cup of brew, too. ;) Happy gaming, all, & Happy Halloween! :)
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fabulous Thoroughly enjoyed the game - loads of challenges, incredible graphics and a fun storyline. But really short for a CE - hence only 4 stars
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Fun Halloween Game I'm about 40% through the purchased game. I'm having fun with it. It straddles the line between silly and creepy fun and I think it balances the two types well. I've always thought that Elephant knows how to do high-end graphics better than just about any other developer on BFG. I DO recommend this game if you life fun, Halloween games. That said, here's where I wish Elephant would improve: (1) Graphics too similar to the type used in Midnight Calling (2) enough with the amulet/keys (3) Increased difficulty buy not to the point of taking forever to solve (4) longer games (this is my biggest gripe across all of BFG). As always, I suggest at least a short trial before buying.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was Pretty Good Overall I would play this again and the hardest level. I played the level just below this and it was a little challenging. I think I skipped like two puzzles and used no more than 6 hints. The story is cute and short. For a minute I thought there was going to be a twist in the game(would've been awesome) but I guess it wouldn't make sense. Anyway I wish it was a bit longer and you got a bit more of the story with the other "lost" characters. That way it was feel more personal and gives you a reason to set them free. I didn't like the fact that end was so short. I kept thinking "Wait that's it? What about the other lady you meet?" Visuals and sounds were amazing. Played this game at night and it really gave me that creepy Halloween feeling. It kind of turned my room into a haunted room. Love the little jump scares. Had me laughing at myself a few times. The places you visit were drawn beautifully. I didn't find any part that was too dark or cramped.I could see everything. All in all: Great game, wish the story was longer(which is said for all great games), and I wish they had a more satisfying ending.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Bad! I am always excited for season games. This one not bad. I like scary and weird. The game was short. Exception error occurred during bonus play. Some folks will be thrilled with the game and others like me just think not bad.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A vast improvement from "Halloween Stories: Invitation" Last year I purchased "Halloween Stories: Invitation" after getting hooked from the trial version. I was very disappointment with that game because it was one of the shortest games I had ever played and the spook factor petered off right after the trial time was over. So I was very leery about this game, but I wanted to give it a chance. I played the trial version and noticed it was much better quality than the first game. Still, I was leery. I decided to go ahead and purchase it. I'm glad I did! The spook factor was good, yet comical. Nothing you will have nightmares over. The story wasn't original, but I really liked the lead character and her reactions to the craziness around her. The puzzles were challenging, but very do-able. The HOPs were fairly easy. The morphs were hard to find and some were VERY small. I missed two of the statues (GRRR!) and there wasn't a way at the end of the game to go back and retrieve them. The main story was short, but with the addition of the bonus story, I wasn't too disappointed. There was a glitch at the end of the bonus story that caused the game to quit, but the story was saved when I reopened it. Overall, it the best Halloween based story so far this year. Maybe next year the developers will give us something longer?
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wow! I wish I could give this 4-1/2 stars, only because I initially had a somewhat negative reaction, like the game play was too easy and the graphics sort of silly-scary -- maybe something like a haunted house at Disneyland. But do not be fooled. This is a Seriously Spooky game. So spooky, in fact, that having to stop and solve a puzzle felt like an interruption. Imagine that you're a really fun time going through a haunted house at Six Flags or wherever, but you keep having to stop and play foosball or a match three game. Anyway, by the time I got to the end of the demo, I was thinking there ought to be a PG13 rating on this game. I mean it. I don't buy CE's, but unless there are reviewers who say the game goes downhill after the demo, I will definitely get the SE when it comes out.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Anticlimactic The story was mostly undeveloped and unfolded too quickly mostly because there wasn't much substance in the first place. The mini games were not challenging. The ending was anti-climatic. The graphics weren't all that great, and the jump scares were just annoying.
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disliked it The graphics are correct and yep it is creepy at times but it feels artificially overdone and in your face and that does not create the right immersive mood i look for in a game. As for the gameplay : too many shaped keys and back and forth , that boredom kicked in after a while. A game that does not make a lot of sense (and i don't care what could happen to the characters) and does not seem to go anywhere , or maybe it goes somewhere but at a snail pace that i won't be there to see it.
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from BACK AND FORTH...BACK AND FORTH....I NEED DRAMAMINE There is so much going back and forth in this that it makes you dizzy. It is way too much. The graphics are atmospheric and the game has a uniqueness of its own, but I did not enjoy the gameplay, which was confusing at times. So many things need inventory and I didn't have it until way down the road. There is a jump map, but I found the back and forth to be tiring. I am also adamant about mini and story type hos, which were all I came across in the demo except for one where you are finding dumb symbols again and in an extremely foggy room. They are so cheaply done....like nobody cares. I almost refuse to buy games with them any more. More emphasis is on the numerous mini games, as usual. There is a great deal to look at in scenes which makes it very interesting....quite a bit of effort put into them, but the gameplay did it in for me.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Big ball of confusion I normally love these types of games but this one...just lots of back and forth and I mean a lot! It wasnt always clear what to do so its definitely challenging. I only played a few minutes of the demo and was over it. So I am passing on purchasing. It just wasnt that interesting. I didnt care about the characters and the story was boring.
Date published: 2018-10-13
  • y_2019, m_7, d_15, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_29102, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Halloween Stories: Black Book Collector's Edition

When your world and the supernatural realm collide, can you survive?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.