Dark City: Dublin Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark City: Dublin Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(463.20 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Friendly Fox Studios returns with a new mystical mystery in Dark City: Dublin!

It's almost St. Patrick's Day, but a string of mysterious robberies threatens to ruin Dublin's celebration! Witnesses claim that the perpetrator is no mere mortal but a mischievous leprechaun. As you investigate, you find more than just stories behind their claims. With a strange presence tracing your every move, can you find the culprit and save the holiday in time? Find out in this marvelous Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

  • Help Dublin's Constable McDonnell track down the mysterious Banshee who is attacking innocent citizens.
  • Search for morphing and collectible objects in every scene. Earn a bonus when you collect them all!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs and mini-games - and earn more achievement awards!
  • Remember the game! Browse and save screensavers, wallpapers, concept art, and music.
  • Keep your adventure on track with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 951 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark City: Dublin Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(463.20 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark City: Dublin Collector's Edition is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pranksters in Ireland I liked the story, the movies and the graphic are great. Game play was touchy. You had to place it just so and you can't place if you need to pick up something first. I liked the hops but they could be better. I didn't like some mini-games and especially didn't like the bonus mini-game with finding all of the collectibles and morphs. I didn't like the string and picture mini-game, crossword type, circles with numbers, pencil in hand navigating different streets or the adjust circle mini-games. The rest I liked. The morphs are very slow but at least if you know what it is before it morphs they are easy to find. I would have liked to have faster morphs. You find 27 of each of morphs and collectible shamrock coin per scene. The bonus chapter your back in town and there is a banshee problem. There are 5 chapters + bonus and the trial ends at the end of chapter 2. Replay 10 hops and 11 mini-games, 47 movies and 5 music. They have 5 screensavers and 7 wallpapers. I liked that the map gave you access to achievements, tasks and notes (which you can see passed movies).
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light And Easy A seasonal game that is accessible to beginning players. We play as The Detective, tasked with figuring out certain kidnappings performed by what appear to be Banshees, although these don't screech very much. It unwraps to ancient family histories and fortunes in gold. Puzzles are quite easy and violence level is very low, making it attractive for family play. Pros: beautiful graphics, especially in the Dublin street scenes. Straightforward plot punctuated by frequent summations in which we are brought up to date on the plot developments we may have missed in the interim. Cons: plot requires a suspension of disbelief approaching stratospheric levels, but it probably wasn't intended to be taken very seriously. But we are, after all, talking about a kidnapping ring underneath it all so maybe not quite seriously enough. Character development of the villain is late and perfunctory, obviously an afterthought. One suspects that no actual Irish people were involved in the voice acting. Bonus Game: more of the same, really. Adequate game play, forgettable plot. Overall, the easy puzzles and period atmosphere help to make up for the improbability of the thing. Definitely best for beginning or intermediate players as there's little in it to challenge the advanced ones. Still, game play was smooth and graphically and atmospherically it was a fun romp through a fantasy Dublin.
Date published: 2020-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed! I am a fan of the Dark City series. The first 3 were more challenging and the game play lasted longer. This game was fun but it seemed some corners cut. I saw scenes of sorts that was in prior Dark City -- streets/alleys. I personally do not expect the team of developers/creators to produce consistently A+ games in a serious. Next one though produce a blockbuster.
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NO THOUGHT PROCESS REQUIRED HERE FOLKS, PUT YOUR BRAIN ON AUTOPILOT Completed Game approximately 5.0 hours (including completion of all mini-games & CE Bonus Chapter) 19 Scene Locations +8 CE Bonus Chapter Difficulty Range: Ages 8+ I just don't get it! Just a few years ago, HOPA games were amazing, they were challenging, they were fun! Nowadays, the graphics are much better but the games themselves have become foolproof! It's like herding cattle through a chute, they can't go to the left, they can't go to the right, they can't go backward, they can only move in a straight line forward. This game is a cattle chute, you move one scene at a time, you don't move left, you don't move right, you don't go back to the next scene until you find 2-3 items, solve a couple of tasks, and play a mini-game or two. Move forward to the next scene, same scenario, push through the herd, next scene, next chapter, push another cow or two, move forward a few more feet, repeat the process. Your brain goes on auto-pilot, you can't go wrong, you can't do anything wrong, you can't even go in the wrong direction because the game won't let you move outside the cattle chute! The reason the games of yesteryear were so cool was that you weren't confined to just one or two scenes, some games didn't lock any of the scenes and you would search scene after scene, searching for something you needed but missed the first time around. You had to figure things out on your own, solve complex or tricky puzzles, remember codes and clues you discovered (and try to figure out if something was a clue that would eventually be required down the road) Morphing Objects were challenging to find because oftentimes they didn't morph the first time you stumbled upon them, collectibles weren't large and impossible to miss, and Hidden Objects were the basis of the game...they were called Hidden Object Scenes because the Objects were just that...HIDDEN or at the very least, they were blended into the scenery to trick the mind's eye! I haven't become burned out on HOPA games, THEY have fizzled and burned out all the features that made them exciting to play. I can download an older game from my vast library (yes, I own every CE version of every HOPA game BF offers!) and still thoroughly enjoy playing them to this day! I don't want to see this genre disappear, but if the developers continue to create games that are this foolproof, fans will (and have) walk away. It's okay to offer some games for beginners, but that's such a small percentage of gamers, why wouldn't you want to cater to those who have been playing for a long time, those of us who made this genre a commodity in the first place? I urge the remaining developers to go back to their roots, play the games of yesteryear to refresh your memories of how & why this genre exploded in popularity, back to the day when developers of HOPA's were rolling in the dough$$$!!! ?Collectibles/Morphing Objects: (CE version only)? There are 27 Collectible Shamrock Coins and 27 Morphing Green Leprechaun Hats that are too large and easily spotted because they look so out of place in the scenes. The second you "walk" into a new scene, your eye automatically focuses on the huge, shiny gold coin with a green shamrock, the coin is always high, the hat is always low, they are impossible to miss! ??Gadget/Helper?? There are two Gadgets with Icons located on the Right and Left side of the Inventory Bar. The Evidence Folder on the left is used 6 times during the Main Game and 3 times during the CE Bonus Chapter. After collecting evidence, you open this folder and place each of the 4 available Character Cameos onto the correct Paragraphs located below. The photos turn into Names that fill in the blanks of the sentences...don't real investigators use this method? The second Gadget is an "all-seeing eye" Deduction, located on the right side, and is used 6 times during the Main Game and twice during the CE Bonus Chapter. Before making a deduction, you are tasked with playing a Hidden Object Scene by finding a few Listed Items in the room to either piece together a series of events that took place, and occasionally a series of events that will help you escape a situation. Neither Gadget seemed realistic or necessary for that matter and took all credibility away from the plot premise of a detective trying to solve actual crimes. ?Hidden Object Scenes? There are 18 Hidden Object Scenes +5 in the CE Bonus Chapter, including a repetitive Deduction Gadget hidden object variation of finding 3-4 Listed Items in the room that either helps you piece together a series of events or helps you concoct an escape plan. The scenes are clear but not located in interesting locations and certainly not "hidden." In the event that the original scene didn't bore you to tears, they decided to make you repeat the scene for a second shot at putting you to sleep! Clearly, the developers were bored too because, by the time the third chapter rolled around, nearly all of the HO scenes were repeated a second time. The HO scenes are mostly Listed Item Finds (1-3 items may require a slight interaction, such as opening a drawer) but they also include Silhouetted Shape Finds, Finding Listed Items in Pairs, Reverse Finds (take items from the inventory & place them into the scene) Multiples of a Single Object Find, and one scene where you are tasked with finding 6 Items a squirrel eats. Unfortunately, there are no alternate puzzles offered. ?Mini-Games? There are 29 Mini-Games +9 in the CE Bonus Chapter, including a repetitive Folder Clue mini-game where you drag 4 photos onto the correct paragraph clues. I gotta tell you, these are some of the most boring, simplistic puzzles ever offered in one game! The majority of puzzles are no-brainers, swap 4 books to the matching colored slots? Place 6 torn fragments into the highlighted slots? Paint with 4 colors, is the sky blue? Move screws to their matching colored slots along a given path? Rotate pipe sections? Use a magnifying glass to find 9 specified items...which btw are the only items that are highlighted in blue? Really??? I kid you not, several of the puzzles could be completed in ONE SINGLE MOVE! ?Bonus Chapter: (CE version only)? Constable McDonnell has asked you to return to Dublin when a mysterious Banshee wreaks havoc throughout town. Her victims are rendered comatose and nothing seems to arouse them in this average-length, 8 scene Bonus Chapter. You will use your Folder Icon 3 times to Review Clues via a repetitive Mini-Game of dragging 4 photos to the correct paragraphs to complete the sentence, and your Deductive Icon twice to draw conclusions via a Hidden Object Scene. There are 5 Hidden Object Scenes and 9 Mini-Games (including those associated with the Gadgets mentioned above) and each scene have 1 Morphing Object and 1 Collectible. Once all morphs & collectibles have been found, they will unlock a board game to play. I'm not sure if you can return to the scene to collect any missing coins or morphing hats because I didn't miss any and you probably won't either because they are so large and look so out of place that they are easily spotted. ?Collector's Edition Version Extra's? 7 Wallpapers, 18 Concept Art Pictures, 5 Screensavers, 5 Music Soundtracks, 47 Movie Video Cutscenes, 24 Achievements (12 achievements are available in 3 category progressions) 10 Replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 11 Replayable Mini-Games, 27 Morphing Green Leprechaun Hats, 27 Collectible Shamrock Coins, 5 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter and a Built-In Strategy Guide. DARK CITY SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-London (November 29-2017) 4.5 2-Munich (November 8-2018) 4.5 3-Vienna (September 12-2019) 3.7 4-Dublin (March 12-2020) n/a by: Friendly Fox Studio/4Friends Games
Date published: 2020-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from enjoyed the game, but ..... took me a couple of days to do this game. I didn't mind this game, enjoyed playing it over a couple of days (I took my time with it). Nothing to "write home about" though - there's less & less "extras" being added to the HOPA CE games - other than the bonus chapter. One of my main pet peeves, tho, is some of the hidden object scenes were silhouettes - it was really hard to see the items because developers are putting black silhouettes on a dark background - almost impossible to see the item to look for ! AND it makes it very difficult for us "oldies" to see what the item is. It is an enjoyable game to play, but a few toughies - for us older people whose vision is not as good s it was. I recommend this game, but with reservations, because of some of the hidden object scenes and the fact that there is really nothing "extra" added to make it a CE game.
Date published: 2020-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Story Saved the Game for Me First, I agree completely with those reviewers who long for the days of the great games. The genre was young and developers were still experimenting, in my opinion, and there was enthusiasm from players, too. I love this genre (I favor adventure over hidden object) and a game that immerses HOS and mini-games/puzzles into the storyline keeps me playing for hours. Such a HOPA is rare indeed these days. As for this game it was the storyline that kept me going; for me story sets the pace of the game. Overall, that was well done here, with a few exceptions. Some reviewers remarked on the easy play of the game, and I don't disagree. More than once I had to stop myself from making a task or mini-game more complicated than it was. I laughed aloud more than once (at myself). I do wish these developers would use new music, and as they are now a "new" company, perhaps they will. Some music in the HOS I have heard many times. I did like it once. That said, I can play with just the sound and no music (as I listen to something from my own collection). For me the game is more than a 3 but not a 4. Good game for those new to the genre. My review is based upon completed play of the game and bonus chapter.
Date published: 2020-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dublin, Ohio? Game is okay, not outstanding, not very difficult. My main objection, which I tried hard to overcome, was that all the characters spoke with American accents. Maybe it was set in Dublin, Ohio? Pretty sure the game is set pre-independence so sorry, but there would not have been tricolours flying from public buildings. Minor quibbles I know, but a bit irritating for an Irish person x
Date published: 2020-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A fun but simple game The demo is what led me to purchase this game, The Graphics are good, the Storyline somewhat intriguing. It's not very challenging if you are a hard core Hidden Objects Gamer. I was expecting more based on the demo, but it didn't take me long to finish this game. Between the game and the Bonus Chapter I was done in an hour and half. If you like a fun lighthearted game, where the HOPS are not very challenging, this would be a game for you. I however would not use 2 Credits or pay 19.99 for the game, I would suggest buying it when it is half off, which is what I did. I like the Dark City Series, they make you feel like you are taking a real tour of different Cities.
Date published: 2020-04-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun in the first half... ...but it only goes downhill from there. It really felt like they made half of the game and then gave up before it was over. The first half was fun, the puzzles were interesting, the premise was neat. Then, all of a sudden, the game just... gives up. The first part was worth the buy, but don't expect a full polished game at the end of the day.
Date published: 2020-03-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from If You Want A Brainless Nonthinking Game..This Is The One! Oh My. What to say about this game. There is no thinking as to what to do next because you can only do one thing at a time. You cannot even look into the scene around you because it will not allow you to. As for the tasks needed they are the same. You are only allowed to do that one task, No looking around or enjoying the scenery, Just do what they allow you to and move on. I only played 30 minutes of the demo which is sad. What a fabulous game this could have been. The colors are brilliant as are some of the puzzles and HO's. Many have new twists to them and I certainly would have enjoyed further exploration but no can do. 4 Friends should have stayed 4 Friends...they were at the top of their game but not now. Try the demo and see what you think.
Date published: 2020-03-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Yuck! Other reviewers have said much of what I think of this game. Another sleeper. Maybe ok for kids, but I don't even think kids would find this fun. I love puzzles in games, but not these kind. I found myself getting angry instead at how dumb they were. If you want to put puzzles into a game, put some thought into them, and make them fun and challenging or don't bother. Again, as other reviewers have said, go back to when the really great MCF games were out around 8 years ago or so, and see how creative and great alot of these games were. They sucked you in, and were so immersed in the story. Some brilliant games back then. So I find myself playing these over and over again with the same enjoyment. Maybe that's why they don't want to make games like that anymore, because they were too good, and don't want you to be able to replay them. Just a thought.
Date published: 2020-03-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dublin??? I have, like many others, been desperately waiting for a good HOG. I really wanted this to be it: I tried it, and I tried to give it a fair go. No use, despite my determination I soon gave up about the time I left the tailor's shop (I don't think this is a spoiler.) Why? There is little fun to be had in the allotted tasks. The HOGs are fairly good, as far as I encountered them, the puzzles/mini games less so. Why run around to find a jug, to get water from a hot water tap, to put out a fire, when there must have been an extinguisher present? even in a fantasy I like things to make sense. Mainly it's just tiresome to keep playing through a game with such a ridiculous scenario. We have been invited to Dublin by "the Constable": WHO? When we encounter this character we see that he is indeed a lowly constable. The city of Dublin is policed by just one single officer, of the lowest rank! There isn't even a police station, just an "office". No wonder there's a wave of robberies being committed that he can't cope with. We appear to be working at the end of the 19th century from the clothes. The local newspaper states that many "citizens" will not take part in the annual parade: the first St Patrick's Day parade in Dublin did not take place until 1931. No local character has an Irish accent, mainly they are American. The "Constable" comes closest in that he does not have an American accent; one of the female characters occasionally veers into something from the Scottish Highlands - and out again. Then we have the cab driver who asks for and gets £2 for a fare in an era when the annual salaries of even many professional men were often as little as £100. It's very difficult to continue playing through so much nonsense when the game-play offers little compensation.
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from puzzle overload... the plot in this game never comes....puzzles at every turn.....lots.....i played the demo...this could have been a good game...if you like puzzle at every scene, this is the game for you....
Date published: 2020-03-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Well, It Had Potential. . . . . A Leprechaun is behaving badly. Don't take my word for it. I'm sure the player is told that simple fact often enough in the beginning of this demo to pound it into our heads. I eventually felt as though there was some major misdirection going on, but I didn't care enough to stay awake for the whole demo! Yup, that's right. This one is a real sleeper, folks. After being led around carefully from the beginning, I got so tired, I fell asleep till the end of the demo. Believe me that was more fun than the game! I won't say much about the sound, voice acting, or slightly fuzzy artwork and lack luster game play. I will say that this is another example of the worst that HOPA games have become and we need to get someone's eyes on the problem I will say that you need to play the demo BEFORE purchasing only games you really enjoy. That pay off, or lack of same, is the ONLY way we have to get the attention of the Devs and their companies. They will need to feel it in their wallets before they decide to treat us as adults and go back to turning out the games that lured us to HOPA games in the first place. Please try the demo.
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another cartoon for the younguns I'm in absolute agreement with the top reviewer who talks about these games coming out being practically done for you. There's no challenge here. You click on a puzzle piece and it turns itself without you having to think a second. It nearly completes the game for you. I also go to my library, which is extensive, for old HOPA games for any kind of satisfaction now. And even that is problematic now because I can no longer access all of them. Anybody else here being told their library is too extensive and that's why they can't download old games they've already paid for? I don't know what the thinking is at the top of Big Fish but I'm dismayed. I haven't deserted them yet. But for the first time I've started looking around for other sources. And it all seems so unnecessary. I was told by a quality control guy while being an in person tester of games that HOPAs are primarily the choice of the older generation. Hope this isn't an anti-boomer movement.
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Maybe it's for young children Perhaps this game is for a much younger set; because I found it insultingly simplistic. The dialogue, animation, and even the puzzles do not get a passing grade in my book. I kept saying "Oh come on. Really?" For example: all of Dublin is in an uproar because someone is stealing their shoes? Are you kidding? If you have two digits in your age, or three digits in your IQ this is not the game for you.
Date published: 2020-03-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I love the main narrator's voice. If only he could have done all the other voices. His voice is always a major selling point with me and these games, but this time his dulcet tones are just not enough. The side adventure with the thieving monkey was dull and pointless. The repetition of SAYING what we just DID was irritating and pointless. The puzzles were the most common, and most boring, of all the puzzles we have ever played in casual games. Sad to say that I could not even care about the orphans, as they were also dull and pointless. What a waste of everyone's time.
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Distractingly Bad Voice Acting I only played the demo, and I can't imagine that I would ever pay for this one. The 4Friends Games have always been plagued by sketchy, over-the-top voice acting (and the same actors appear in game after game) but the acting has never been this appalling. Some characters sound like they are reading their lines for the first time, and others sound like they have no idea what's happening in the game, so have no idea what their emotions should be. It's really embarrassingly corny and over-the-top most of the time. Not to mention that the characters veer from really bad Irish accents to a total unwillingness to even attempt one (for which we should probably be grateful.) I can't even imagine very small children enjoying this.
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tiocfaigh Ar La This game was WAY too easy, For a collectors edition, it could have been alot better...IMO
Date published: 2020-03-17
  • y_2020, m_4, d_6, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_31351, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark City: Dublin Collector's Edition

Can you catch a magical culprit behind a string of strange robberies?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.