Hero of the Kingdom: The Lost Tales 1

Hero of the Kingdom: The Lost Tales 1

PC

Also available on

Strategy

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(160.19 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Hero of the Kingdom is back with an incredible new quest!

A city has recently experienced a dragon attack, and no one knows where the terrible beast came from. While the people live in fear, an orphan boy named Brent dreams of courageous acts that will bring safety back to his city. Join Brent, delve into a dangerous wilderness, find the dragon and overcome the greatest struggle of your life to help bring safety to the city in this detailed strategy game!

  • Explore a countryside and find the dragon’s lair
  • Help people and complete many fun quests
  • Fight monsters and learn many skills
  • Earn up to 26 achievements
  • Hero of the Kingdom III

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 339 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Hero of the Kingdom: The Lost Tales 1

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(160.19 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Hero of the Kingdom: The Lost Tales 1 is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too Short...Please make more of these!!! I've been waiting so long for another in this series. I just wish the game had been longer. Weeks go by without true adventure games. I'll probably play again.
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant Buy I was just thinking how we haven't had one of these types of games for a really long time. How pleased I was to see this game offered this morning. Finally a break from the norm. It is just as fun as as the last ones.
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welcome Back! So glad to see another Hero of the Kingdom. Like the previous games in the series, game play seems a little old school but extremely engaging. Beautiful music, great art, lovable characters, and an addictive story line made this a definite buy. The other reviewers' details are accurate especially for Fishies who have never played this series before. The game runs great on my old Windows7 Acer Aspire. As always, try before you buy.
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! Need another episode! Anther superb installment of this series. one of the funnest game series. Great relaxing music :)
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOOVE these games. I was so excited to see a new Hero game out. I love this series of games! These are the types of games a lot of people love, but they sadly don't seem to get made much anymore as they are probably much more work then a simple match 3 game, etc. The graphics were better, more clean this go round, they story is still fun and the challenge was enough to keep you interested, if a bit easier than prior Hero games...I don't think that is bad at all as it just makes the games more playable for everyone. I love these games so much that I want everyone to play them and fall in love with them as well! There were a few times that I felt that the travel time from one area to another was a little excessive and time consuming, and normally I would be free to gather items along the way such as food, furs, eggs etc. but this time around it seems these items did not respawn very fast, or at all...so there was not much breaking up the back and forth travel, (even if using the map to fast travel),and it got a bit tedious the higher in the game that you leveled. But not enough to kill the joy! ;p
Date published: 2020-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's like visiting an old friend I keep replaying the other three, so getting a new adventure is the cherry on the sundae. The game play is just a bit different, but it's still so much fun. It's still rather hard to see things, but that's part of the fun.
Date published: 2020-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!!! This series should never end. My only wish is they would have kept the skill buildup from game 3 as it makes you play it longer. Also I really missed the pearls in the water. I will get the next one the second it comes out.
Date published: 2020-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rushed cut down version way too SHORT! There are wonderful honest reviews here with lower star ratings that are worth reading before buying. These low reviews are from genuine fans who are rightfully disappointed in this particular release. This is a 2 star release from a 5 star developer and very disappointing. I gave it 5 stars here because a) well thought through critical reviews are being buried by default and b) because the developer has previously been great and I want to continue to support them. You can support them too without buying this dud, but by buying the previous versions instead (I, II, III). They were brilliant and I still play them routinely. Like other fans giving low ratings, I too am a massive fan of the 'hero of the kingdom' series. This however is unbelievably short (3 hours), simplistic and boring in comparison. I was so excited for the release of this I must admit I bought it from another site who released it months ago, however it was so short I presumed the other site had released a beta-test version and I felt ripped off. Now I see this was actually the full version. Some of the special touches (regeneration of resources, more side quests) from other versions are also missing and the overall feeling was that the developers rushed an incomplete version out, released way ahead of being ready with a few hasty finishes to get it out. Many scenes are a copy and paste from previous versions with a few cheap changes on top, much easier than previous versions making it really unsatisfying. I can't recommend this one at all (but do go and buy their others!)
Date published: 2020-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this series so much! (Well, 3 was a bit questionable but the rest are fantastic!) I can't add much to what others have positively written about this game but I do love this series and wanted to give them their due with another 5 star review. I do like the upgraded options to get health/hearts and the upgraded ways to make/buy potions. I do miss the hint/reminder button - I got distracted once or twice and couldn't remember what quest I was on but it was easy enough to backtrack and figure it out. Definitely play the rest of the series but recognize that 3 was definitely not really great comparatively but still totally worth playing. 1 and 2 are fantastic. More like this please!!
Date published: 2020-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still my favorite game series of all time! I am so glad they made another version of this game series and (I hope there will be more available later on)! If you enjoy time management/simulation games, you will definitely like this one!!!
Date published: 2020-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Make more SOON I've played the first three, loved them and hoped there would be more coming. FINALLY, it's here. Similar gameplay to the first three, but they've made some things easier like buying/selling/cooking in bulk. Great storyline, but wish it had been longer.
Date published: 2020-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hero of the Kingdom: The Lost Tales 1 This game reminds me of a beta version, there was no spawning of flowers or berries, eggs and mushrooms as per the previous games, only one area the fish re-spawned (no pun intended). Can't wait for Lost Tales 2 to be released, let's hope we don't have to wait 3 or 4 years for it. I gave it 4 out of 5 for Fun because of the jumping around looking items that I needed to gather, refer to above re spawning. Great game!!
Date published: 2020-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cue the Murder Hornets I was so happy to see this and bought it almost immediately. I've replayed the previous games several times and never tire of them. Other reviewers have given detail, so I'll just add a few observations. In addition to getting rid of pests like rats and bats, you now have stinging insects to deal with. I found this incredibly relevant and slightly ironic. I love the option to either sleep in camp or eat food to gain energy. I did guess the ending pretty soon, but that didn't make the game any less fun. I really wish this offering had been as long as the previous games. Quarantine is boring. I want my own dragon.
Date published: 2020-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Want More!! This series are gems among many so so games. Hero of the Kingdom 1 (HOK1) was released in December 2012, HOK2 released in March 2015 (three years in the making) HOK3 relleased Mar 2019 (4 years ) and now HOK Lost Tales 1 released July 2020 ( just over a year - I hope this is a sign of more things to come.) Thankfully the gameplay remains much the same in each of the series - perform tasks , make money , gain reputation. The story changes but the mechanics are the same . Just when you think that you can't find the last object , after doing another task the desired object appears. The only thing I would suggest is that revisits to a particular area produces a new lot of items. You can go to an area and remove all the mushrooms but when you return later no new mushrooms have grown - come on now , we all know that mushrooms are recurring - they just need a little bit of rain to renew. I hope this developer keeps producing more of these games and look forward to the series getting up to 10 or so .
Date published: 2020-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes! Finally, a new Hero of the Kingdom! Love, love, love this game. I just finished playing through the three originals recently for the third time so, I couldn't believe there was a new one available. Ditto on the comments about playing this like visiting an old friend. To the Lonely Troops developers, please keep these games coming. They are so unique and so great. Thank you!
Date published: 2020-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An adventure game. This is an adventure game and one of only a few like that. It drew me in and made me play it all day. It was every bit as good as I initially thought. If, however, you don’t like to think or to remember what has happened, you won’t like this game. It is for thinking people.
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What Took So Long - Instant Buy - But...? When I saw the title it seemed to strike a memory so I downloaded it and when I opened it I went back and bought it, didn't want to play demo and then get kicked out as I knew I would keep playing! This type of game intrigues me now as I'm getting tired, so is my finger and hand, of constantly clicking faster and faster to get tasks done. I love TM games but this type of Strategy game is really the best. Take your time, figure out what to do next and where to go to accomplish necessary tasks to move on. Very playable and I found myself playing on and on. Now the But...way too short! When I saw The End, I couldn't believe that was it. I immediately downloaded the first Episode, which I bought in 2013, and started playing, remembering some but enjoying the game. I'm maybe 1/2 way through that and have more time invested than in finishing Tales 1. So I see that they are setting it up for a series which means you might have to buy 3 games to get 1 of the previous versions. Like Britons Season 1, 2, 3 but those were as long as the original series. In closing, as I seemed to have gone on a bit, a great buy and can't wait for the next one, just give us a bit longer Adventure. (Can't wait to finish 1 then go on to play 2 & 3). Also Devs, I would love to see more of these types of games and yes, I would pay more if you gave me the play time! Cheers Fishies!!!
Date published: 2020-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If you've played the others, you know what to expect. This is the fourth game in the series, of which I've been a fan since the first one launched. I've played them all, enjoyed them all, and knew from the dev's Facebook page that this one was coming. It's... well, it's true to formula, really. Orphan hero rights local wrongs and puts the bad guys in their place. The dragon creates some new upheaval which is fun. I guessed the twist fairly early in the game, but still wanted to see how it would play out and was not disappointed. You sharpen your skills of observation by watching for eggs, mushrooms, flowers, and other items to collect; you run around doing favors for townspeople and bringing them items they need in exchange for things that you need; and along the way you're accompanied by an orphan boy named Brent who has adopted you as his big brother. He's sweet and I liked the addition of his character. I would venture to say that Lost Tales is not *quite* as good as the other three - particularly the third one, which is my personal favorite - but it's still very good and a worthwhile addition to the series. If you liked the other games in the series, definitely give this one a try. And if you're not familiar with the series, definitely give them all a try!
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great series! So glad they are continuing this series! I am giving only 4 stars for two reasons. I felt like the game length was shorter than in previous games. The game also ended without me solving one of the missions. It does allow you to go back in after you are finished though. I highly recommend this game and hope that the next game comes out soon!
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Additional game for Hero of Kingdom series I agree with Joybelle_2 that this game is very much like the others in the series. I find no issue with the game play and its functionality. However, the previous editions from these series resources were replaced on at least 2 occasions, this did not occur this time. You will need to bear this in mind when you need to gain energy. Use the overnight stops by the fireplace (using firewood) rather than food. Though I enjoyed this game, I did find it to be very short as it only took a morning to play through the game. In comparison to the previous editions (Hero of the Kingdom, Hero of the Kingdom II and Hero of the Kingdom III) this was like the first act in those games in the series.
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Prequel! I love the Hero of the Kingdom trilogy, so I didn't bother with the trial, I just bought this one. Others do a much better job of actual game play than I, so I will leave that to them. My only complaint, which cost a star, is that the game is Far Too Short! I would have happily played for hours, like you can with the others in the series. Fun play, but it didn't take long to play it all the way through. Fingers crossed the dev does more of this sort. Strategy that isn't about fast clicking, but actual planning.
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Should have been longer and harder Overall the game is a great return to the Hero series, I bought it as soon as it was released because it is a fun unique type of game. I was disappointed because it didn't take much time compared to the previous games and was easier. When will The Lost Tales 2 be released? Hopefully will be longer and harder
Date published: 2020-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Where's the other 50% Love this series but this one was way short, at the end only 50% of the map space was used. Maybe the next one will fill it all in?
Date published: 2020-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One of my favorite series I agree with all the positive reviews, I love the continuation of this series, that it keeps the same character, and the same perfection in details as challenges. But this one is far too short in comparison with the previous ones ! Tears !
Date published: 2020-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Why do I like this series so much? There are so many things I would change about these games, but I buy them every single time. I wish they last longer, I can usually finish one in a couple of hours. And it would be nice if there were a place to find all of your current objectives and what you need to find/do for each one. I would also like it if they small things to find, like eggs and mushrooms, would refresh themselves. I do love the gameplay, it is so different from other games I've found, and I wish there were more like them, but would last a lot longer.
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game, but SHORT! This game was much like the previous ones, but was FAR shorter. I still enjoyed it, but was certainly disappointed by the lenght.
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New Chapter--Yay! I found the original Hero of the Kingdom several years ago and immediately bought the 2nd one. Glad to see a new chapter. Kind of a throwback RPG with lots of quests and people to help on your way. Graphics aren't the best, but helps to give it the retro feel. A great game for some relaxing play, not stressful. Would like to have had a quest log, as once you get farther along in the game it's hard to remember who/what the quest involves so you have to retrace your steps a lot. Luckily they do have a map to hop to your desired location. Talk to everyone and explore, explore, explore! Not to everyone's liking, I'm sure, just try the demo.
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Short & Boring! No Challenge! The review title says it all. I have been a member of Big Fish Games for many years and this was one of my biggest disappointments. I loved the Hero of the Kingdom Trilogy. They were all challenging and took hours/days to complete. This one was way to easy and boring. It was easy to complete in about three hours! Will certainly put some thought into buying a follow up to this game. You need to up your game!
Date published: 2020-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like but frustrating I like this game but it is frustrating to play. I have all the Hero games so this is the latest in my collection. I took a while to figure out how things work because they changed the format a little. My frustration came from the fact that once you collect a resource it does not reoccur. You sometimes have to sell some resources to get money to continue and if you guess wrong or sell too much of a resource you are out of luck if you need more. It seemed like I was always out of money or sleep. And I couldn't always go collect some more high value goods. I played this through a few times because of the learning curve but still like Hero 3 the best. This game is relatively short and ends rather abruptly for my liking..
Date published: 2020-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wanted to give five stars but ... I just can't. I absolutely love the Hero of the Kingdom series and have played 1 through 3 multiple times. I am not sure I will return to this one. First off, it was far too short. Secondly there was no regenerating of mushrooms, eggs, flowers etc. Which meant you really did have to think of good ways to use your resources. * I would call that a plus in this episode, because it did give you something to think about. That said, I always enjoyed the little thrill of finding regenerated items in games 2 and 3. Let's put it this way. I'm glad I had a "free game" coupon for this one. And I hope Lonely Troops takes some hints from the fans. We LOVE the game, but this Lost Tales missed the mark. So, yes I'll still recommend the game, but be prepared to be slightly disappointed.
Date published: 2020-07-27
  • y_2020, m_8, d_8, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_31984, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Hero of the Kingdom: The Lost Tales 1

People live in fear of the dragon and it’s up to you to embark on a dangerous quest and become the hero!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.