Hero of the Kingdom: The Lost Tales 1

Hero of the Kingdom: The Lost Tales 1

PC

Also available on

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(160.19 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Hero of the Kingdom is back with an incredible new quest!

A city has recently experienced a dragon attack, and no one knows where the terrible beast came from. While the people live in fear, an orphan boy named Brent dreams of courageous acts that will bring safety back to his city. Join Brent, delve into a dangerous wilderness, find the dragon and overcome the greatest struggle of your life to help bring safety to the city in this detailed strategy game!

  • Explore a countryside and find the dragon’s lair
  • Help people and complete many fun quests
  • Fight monsters and learn many skills
  • Earn up to 26 achievements
  • Hero of the Kingdom III

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 339 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Hero of the Kingdom: The Lost Tales 1

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(160.19 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Hero of the Kingdom: The Lost Tales 1 is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 70.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only 5 star I give out I've been a member here for 20 years, yet, this is the only game series I've deemed fit for a full 5 stars. Yes, it could have been longer and it could have added a few more new features, but I'm grading it on the fact that it's so refreshingly different than the usual genre here. You don't have to have the reflexes of a Jedi to play but you do have to use your brain cells. I wish more developers would jump onto this wagon. The entire series has been completely bug-free for me and that's saying something.
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! I confess I got tired of waiting for BFG to come out with this game so I bought it back in April from another game site (cheap) and played it 3 times, getting worse each time. I never learn, just make new mistakes. The game is along the same lines as the first 3, nice old timey houses and roads, animals to hunt, fish to catch. They've improved the ways you can get more heart stamina and wood. But animals and berries and things don't renew as in the older games. I did prefer this story as opposed to the damsels in distress, especially that last one with the overblown blonde princess, I did not like her at all. She's gone, replaced by a much more compatible side kick although I think they could have utilized that person a bit more than they did; hope that person continues to be in the next installments, would be nice to see our hero having an ongoing relationship with someone. It is shorter than the previous games but hopefully this is the first installment of several more. I needed to be able to step into this other more natural world during the early weeks of this pandemic since I was stuck inside at home 24/7 so this came along just in time. I have bought the BFG one now too just to have it in my purchase list so it's easy to find.
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT'S A GOOD THING YOU GUYS CAN'T SEE ME DOING MY HAPPY DANCE THIS MORNING I agree with my fellow reviewer, Hero of the Kingdom is like visiting an old and dear friend, it's familiar but it's that familiarity that makes you feel at home. There is no other game quite like this one, the game mechanics are so unique and so addicting, this developer truly has a gift, yet most of us never stop and think about all the hard work that goes into making a game. When you play this game, stop and admire the beauty of the graphics, think about the view or angle of the camera (you are looking down on the village) look at the critters, even the tiny bunnies are incredibly detailed. Now think about how much thought had to go into the dialog, the inventory that was needed, the inventory that would be needed several scenes down the road, what characters would need to be introduced, would those characters be era-appropriate? Think about how the developer had to tie things together (the tasks we have to put together!) there was a huge amount of work that went into making this village filled with tiny little people! You are an Adventurer, a Wanderer who lives off the land and earns his keep by doing odd jobs and favors for local villagers along the way. You will click on various villagers that have exclamation points above them to receive tasks, completing those tasks will earn you Hero points as well as various foods and supplies. A villager may need help finding items such as ingredients, medical supplies, or even lost items. When you have all supplies or ingredients to complete a task, a green checkmark or exclamation point will appear. To find these items you may have to search all available scenes for the necessary items and you may have to Barter with the locals to exchange items you have for items you need. There are also hidden crates and barrels that you can click on to receive random supplies, and helping people often rewards you with a tool that is required to complete another task. Just like in reality, you need to sleep and eat, so you'll need to return to your Camp often to sleep and refresh your Heart score with +10 Hearts (almost instantly) but this requires firewood to make a campfire first. There is also a Backpack Icon located on the bottom left that shows your inventory. The Map icon is in the top left corner which is a feature I don't remember the last game having, the tutorial says you have to go to the map to draw the new locations (automatic) but I found that they were added whether you used the icon or not. You can earn 26 different Achievements as well and have the ability to create several different profiles. There are staple Characters that you will continue to buy and trade supplies from such as the Master Woodcutter for firewood and lumber, the Farmer and his wife who have odd jobs and a place to cook meals or make antidotes or food, and a local Healer who sells various herbs, flowers, antidotes, and key ingredients needed for several of the main quests (reading the tasks for each quest is the key!) So basically, you will need to strategically figure out what items are required to complete a specific task, who to help first to hone specific skills, decide which villager has the necessary items to buy to complete which tasks, when to complete quests, when to sleep, and when to eat, and you have to decide which order to do them in as well. If you don't have food for yourself because you have used your money to exchange for the wrong items at the wrong time, you won't be able to earn health hearts that are required to continue. New supplies become available when new areas open up, but not before you clear paths from hornets and other disasters that strike, so you must manage your tasks and supplies wisely. HERO OF THE KINGDOM SERIES LIST Title***Release Date***Average Rating 1-Hero of the Kingdom I (December 20-2012) 4.2 2-Hero of the Kingdom II (March 16-2015) 4.5 3-Hero of the Kingdom III (March 4-2019) 4.7 4-Hero of the Kingdom: The Lost Tales 1 (July 22-2020) n/a by: Lonely Troops
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fun! This is the first time I have played this series, and I found it great fun! I usually play TM games but saw the reviews for this game and decided to give it a try. So glad I did. It was challenging, fun and kept my interest throughout. I highly recommend this game. Will try the other Hero of the Kingdom games now. Thanks for the change of pace and fun!
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Same game..new story..but OH SO GOOD! It doesn't seem like much has changed in the gameplay here from previous adventures, and that's just how I like it for once! Its like visiting an old friend. You are on your usual wanderings fulfilling tasks for the folk you meet along the way, figuring out how on earth to get the tools and money you need to move on, hidden treasures to spot, foraging, learning skills, (like fishing and carpentry etc)..defeating bugs and hunting..and oh yes a lot of sleeping to get enough hearts which is the main currency of most tasks lol. I have only done the demo time so far, but its an instant buy for me. I cannot think of a more relaxing, fun way to waste my time while I wander around a fabulous land. There is the jump map and inventory easily at hand and the gameplay is very smooth. The areas open up quite quickly in this one and you soon have lots of places to visit and figure out your resource puzzles. There is the usual dialogue to read to understand what is required but it never seems annoying in this game. Its more like giving you your goals. I have loved all this series, and this one seems like another beauty. There seems to be a dragon involved..but that may be part of the mystery..do they exist?..no one has actually seen it yet. Hmmm. Enjoy a fabulous adventure!
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The 4th in this wonderful series I have all these games and they are a sort of mix of RPG and hidden object where locals give you tasks to complete for rewards, sometimes gold , sometimes goods and sometimes just experience. If you have played these games before you will be used to how it works. If not locals will give you tasks to complete, objects to find etc in order to progress There are some differences in this game that seem to make this game a bit more easier. You no longer need to buy baskets when collecting fruit and herbs etc, you just lose some of your heart strength which you can recuperate by resting or eating food. The cooking of the food is easier this time and there is the added feature of a dragon , Apart from that it is very alike the previous games but I found it very enjoyable.. One thing I found in this game different to the other games is that deers, rabbits etc wander around virtually from the word go yet you have to earn the skill of archery or fishing etc before you can get them. This game is shorter and I personally found most items a lot easier to find. I remember in the previous game spending a lot of time finding rings/handkerchiefs etc in order to progress in the game. I still like this game very much and very glad it came out however for me it is not so challenging but it is a SE and not a CE so no extra to pay for a very good game. It is important though to try the demo and see how you get on with it as if you have not played this series before it takes a bit of getting used to.
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my hero After centuries of waiting - so it seems - today was the the day: My hero came back. Played the demo, then the rest of the game and I was very pleased. I had no time for cooking, so my dinner was icecream. You might not feel the same about my hero, but he fullfils my dream of THE GAME.
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too Short...Please make more of these!!! I've been waiting so long for another in this series. I just wish the game had been longer. Weeks go by without true adventure games. I'll probably play again.
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant Buy I was just thinking how we haven't had one of these types of games for a really long time. How pleased I was to see this game offered this morning. Finally a break from the norm. It is just as fun as as the last ones.
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welcome Back! So glad to see another Hero of the Kingdom. Like the previous games in the series, game play seems a little old school but extremely engaging. Beautiful music, great art, lovable characters, and an addictive story line made this a definite buy. The other reviewers' details are accurate especially for Fishies who have never played this series before. The game runs great on my old Windows7 Acer Aspire. As always, try before you buy.
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still my favorite game series of all time! I am so glad they made another version of this game series and (I hope there will be more available later on)! If you enjoy time management/simulation games, you will definitely like this one!!!
Date published: 2020-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cue the Murder Hornets I was so happy to see this and bought it almost immediately. I've replayed the previous games several times and never tire of them. Other reviewers have given detail, so I'll just add a few observations. In addition to getting rid of pests like rats and bats, you now have stinging insects to deal with. I found this incredibly relevant and slightly ironic. I love the option to either sleep in camp or eat food to gain energy. I did guess the ending pretty soon, but that didn't make the game any less fun. I really wish this offering had been as long as the previous games. Quarantine is boring. I want my own dragon.
Date published: 2020-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this series so much! (Well, 3 was a bit questionable but the rest are fantastic!) I can't add much to what others have positively written about this game but I do love this series and wanted to give them their due with another 5 star review. I do like the upgraded options to get health/hearts and the upgraded ways to make/buy potions. I do miss the hint/reminder button - I got distracted once or twice and couldn't remember what quest I was on but it was easy enough to backtrack and figure it out. Definitely play the rest of the series but recognize that 3 was definitely not really great comparatively but still totally worth playing. 1 and 2 are fantastic. More like this please!!
Date published: 2020-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes! Finally, a new Hero of the Kingdom! Love, love, love this game. I just finished playing through the three originals recently for the third time so, I couldn't believe there was a new one available. Ditto on the comments about playing this like visiting an old friend. To the Lonely Troops developers, please keep these games coming. They are so unique and so great. Thank you!
Date published: 2020-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! Need another episode! Anther superb installment of this series. one of the funnest game series. Great relaxing music :)
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An adventure game. This is an adventure game and one of only a few like that. It drew me in and made me play it all day. It was every bit as good as I initially thought. If, however, you don’t like to think or to remember what has happened, you won’t like this game. It is for thinking people.
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutly love this game. I've played all 3 games in the series but this is my favorite. Love hunting for mushroom and figuring out where to get the supplies needed to move ahead.
Date published: 2020-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thoroughly Enjoyed! Huzzah! I have played all of the Hero of the Kingdom games, several times over. I loved the upgrades that the dev's made. No more spending all of my time having to cook or eat or constant sleep/rest. Quick rest/strength process overall. Quick Money-raising: All hunter trophies (with exception of stingers: used in potion) salable, all "Treasures" salable in the Square & not needed for any quest turn-in, including the one pearl conversion at fishing village (no more pearls after that). I also liked that all plants/berries/hunting/fishing/wood-cutting were necessary, without my usually skipping over most, making clearing the screen of everything a logical progression. Per usual, there are a few more things to do after "The End," which is always a bonus. Enjoyed the length of time on this. The only thing that I missed were the hints of what to do next at times, but youtube walkthrough helped me with that.
Date published: 2020-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As usual never disappointed I love this type of game ,it's challenging and like the previous games in this series ,it's entertaining I would recommend this game
Date published: 2020-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's like visiting an old friend I keep replaying the other three, so getting a new adventure is the cherry on the sundae. The game play is just a bit different, but it's still so much fun. It's still rather hard to see things, but that's part of the fun.
Date published: 2020-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!!! This series should never end. My only wish is they would have kept the skill buildup from game 3 as it makes you play it longer. Also I really missed the pearls in the water. I will get the next one the second it comes out.
Date published: 2020-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Make more SOON I've played the first three, loved them and hoped there would be more coming. FINALLY, it's here. Similar gameplay to the first three, but they've made some things easier like buying/selling/cooking in bulk. Great storyline, but wish it had been longer.
Date published: 2020-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hero of the Kingdom: The Lost Tales 1 This game reminds me of a beta version, there was no spawning of flowers or berries, eggs and mushrooms as per the previous games, only one area the fish re-spawned (no pun intended). Can't wait for Lost Tales 2 to be released, let's hope we don't have to wait 3 or 4 years for it. I gave it 4 out of 5 for Fun because of the jumping around looking items that I needed to gather, refer to above re spawning. Great game!!
Date published: 2020-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Usually LOVE This series! I was SO excited to see a new HOTK out, and bought it without even an advanced play. This and Adelantedo are two of my very favorite game series. I love the continued high graphics, good story line, and general fun. I just have a few frustrations... I liked the old series for interaction with people better. The new one is, I think, a little confusing. I also really dislike that things you need do NOT respawn. I miss the cave where I would go to cook food, increase my skills, make weapons, make potions, etc. This is all too money centric, and no matter how careful I am with my supplies, I feel like I am always running behind the money 8 ball. I wish they had kept the features from the last one and just updated the story line. Change is not always needed or positive just for sake of change or "new"
Date published: 2020-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from More More More This game was over too soon. I wish they had packed more challenges and more story into it. I also missed the interface from III where you could make your own, food, weapons, potions, etc. All in all a fun game, but I just wanted more of it
Date published: 2020-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Should have been longer and harder Overall the game is a great return to the Hero series, I bought it as soon as it was released because it is a fun unique type of game. I was disappointed because it didn't take much time compared to the previous games and was easier. When will The Lost Tales 2 be released? Hopefully will be longer and harder
Date published: 2020-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What Took So Long - Instant Buy - But...? When I saw the title it seemed to strike a memory so I downloaded it and when I opened it I went back and bought it, didn't want to play demo and then get kicked out as I knew I would keep playing! This type of game intrigues me now as I'm getting tired, so is my finger and hand, of constantly clicking faster and faster to get tasks done. I love TM games but this type of Strategy game is really the best. Take your time, figure out what to do next and where to go to accomplish necessary tasks to move on. Very playable and I found myself playing on and on. Now the But...way too short! When I saw The End, I couldn't believe that was it. I immediately downloaded the first Episode, which I bought in 2013, and started playing, remembering some but enjoying the game. I'm maybe 1/2 way through that and have more time invested than in finishing Tales 1. So I see that they are setting it up for a series which means you might have to buy 3 games to get 1 of the previous versions. Like Britons Season 1, 2, 3 but those were as long as the original series. In closing, as I seemed to have gone on a bit, a great buy and can't wait for the next one, just give us a bit longer Adventure. (Can't wait to finish 1 then go on to play 2 & 3). Also Devs, I would love to see more of these types of games and yes, I would pay more if you gave me the play time! Cheers Fishies!!!
Date published: 2020-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Where's the other 50% Love this series but this one was way short, at the end only 50% of the map space was used. Maybe the next one will fill it all in?
Date published: 2020-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If you've played the others, you know what to expect. This is the fourth game in the series, of which I've been a fan since the first one launched. I've played them all, enjoyed them all, and knew from the dev's Facebook page that this one was coming. It's... well, it's true to formula, really. Orphan hero rights local wrongs and puts the bad guys in their place. The dragon creates some new upheaval which is fun. I guessed the twist fairly early in the game, but still wanted to see how it would play out and was not disappointed. You sharpen your skills of observation by watching for eggs, mushrooms, flowers, and other items to collect; you run around doing favors for townspeople and bringing them items they need in exchange for things that you need; and along the way you're accompanied by an orphan boy named Brent who has adopted you as his big brother. He's sweet and I liked the addition of his character. I would venture to say that Lost Tales is not *quite* as good as the other three - particularly the third one, which is my personal favorite - but it's still very good and a worthwhile addition to the series. If you liked the other games in the series, definitely give this one a try. And if you're not familiar with the series, definitely give them all a try!
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great series! So glad they are continuing this series! I am giving only 4 stars for two reasons. I felt like the game length was shorter than in previous games. The game also ended without me solving one of the missions. It does allow you to go back in after you are finished though. I highly recommend this game and hope that the next game comes out soon!
Date published: 2020-07-23
  • y_2021, m_11, d_28, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_31984, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Hero of the Kingdom: The Lost Tales 1

People live in fear of the dragon and it’s up to you to embark on a dangerous quest and become the hero!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.