Paranormal Files: The Trap of Truth Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Paranormal Files: The Trap of Truth Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(342.72 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Elephant Games brings you the next exciting chapter in the spine-tingling Paranormal Files series!

Everything is going great in this new chapter of Rick Roger’s life. He’s getting to know Rachel, captivating audiences at speaking engagements, and swapping supernatural stories with his new circle of paranormal friends. But when he stumbles upon a secret amongst his colleagues, he soon learns that someone with uncanny abilities means to expose the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth! Can you help Rick learn the truths that will set his friends free and defeat the mysterious individual that threatens to reveal their secrets? Find out in this enthralling new Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Conquer your fears to escape a paranormal trap in the bonus game!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs and mini-games!
  • Tons of collectibles and morphs to find!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1308 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Paranormal Files: The Trap of Truth Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(342.72 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Paranormal Files: The Trap of Truth Collector's Edition is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from would be great if I could finish it Quite liked this game overall, and had similar comments to other reviewers. Definitely annoyed by the bonus game glitches, as other described not being able to pick up the strange device. I understand there was a fix on other game sites - can BigFish please update?
Date published: 2020-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from REWARD THE HONEST & PUNISH THE LIARS WITH THE FLIP OF A COIN Completed Game approximately 4 hours (including completion of all mini-games & CE Bonus Chapter) 17 Main Game Scene Locations +8 Bonus Chapter Difficulty Range: Beginner-Intermediate We've always been taught that lies have consequences, but did we believe them, really? When we were children, our parents told us to always speak the truth. As we grew older, we continued believing that it's important that others believe us, "mean what you say, and say what you mean" because our reputation is now at stake! Eventually, we have children of our own, and the pattern continues, after all, we have to know the truth! But what happens when we don't tell the truth? It's just a little white lie, I had to lie, it's for the greater good, no harm, no foul, they had it coming, who will ever know? What if those lies really did have consequences? What if someone was actually keeping tabs? Helper/Gadget: There are no Helpers, There are Gadgets sort of...although the Big E has chosen to do away with the constant Rick Rogers Tattoo scenario, as you progress, you are given Coins by The God of Truth that is used to help various characters escape their "lies" or "truths" The coin represents every human's life, the more lies a person tells, the heavier the coin becomes. Morphing Objects/Collectibles: (CE version only) There are 25 Morphing Objects that morph at a decent speed and for a change aren't the size of baby elephants!! There are 25 Collectible Eyes and when you complete the collection they allow you to assemble a 25 piece Jigsaw Puzzle. There are also 12 Collectible Character Statues although the Strategy Guide shows an extra one? Hidden Object Scenes: There are only 20 Hidden Object Scenes +5 in the CE Bonus Chapter, +4 smaller zoom zone HO's that usually precede the main HO scenes. What I am noticing from this developer in the last few games is a marked improvement in the Hidden Object Scenes! The objects are smaller, they are clearly making an attempt to blend the objects into the scenery and choosing objects that will blend into the scene rather than stick out like a sore thumb...when developers try to improve...I always notice! There are Interactive List Finds, Silhouetted Shape Finds, Matching Pairs, Matching Related Objects, Keywords in Sentence Finds, Find & Replace, and one in particular that I enjoyed was having to match two halves of a Silhouetted Shape but you had to wait for clouds to disperse before finding the second half or a related half that matched. There are no alternate games available. Mini-Games: There are 15 Mini-Games +4 in the CE Bonus Chapter. I usually like Elephant Games because most of them are mechanical type puzzles where you tinker with fuses, electrical panels, or gauges and they always seem doable and never frustrating, but they didn't seem to have a lot of mechanical type puzzles this go-round? Here are a few of my personal favorites: 1-Restore the stage decorations by choosing layers in the correct order. 2-Rearrange feathers so both sides are identical. 3-Line each circle's notch along the red line and choose the speed for each circle to rotate. Bonus Chapter (Collector's Edition version only) Everyone knows you don't roll the dice on a game of Jumanji but that's exactly what this group of enlightened BFFs did! Daemon chose to play as The King, Mia chose The Sage, Rachael choose The Wanderer, and Rick is playing as whichever player you chose, and of course, he rolls the dice first in this game that forces the player to Face their Fears, whatever that fear may be...didn't they technically already do that? This is a decent story with a slightly above average-length spanning over 8 Scene Locations with 4 Mini-Games and 5 Hidden Object Scenes. You will search for the remaining 8 Eye/Puzzle Pieces, 8 Morphing Objects, and 3 Character Puppets. Collector's Edition Extra's 8 Wallpapers, 1 Screensaver, 5 Music Soundtracks, 12 Achievements, 12 Replayable Mini-Games, 15 Replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 25 Morphing Objects, 25 Collectible Eyes (to assemble a 25 piece Jigsaw Puzzle in the Secret Room)12 Character Puppets, 4 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter, and a Built-In Strategy Guide. PARANORMAL FILES SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Fellow Traveler (May 31-2018) 4.5 2-The Tall Man (November 15-2018) 4.0 3-Enjoy The Shopping (April 27-2019) 3.6 4-The Hook Man's Legend (September 26-2019) 3.4 5-Trials of Worth (March 14-2020) 3.9 6-The Trap of Truth (November 12-2020) n/a by: Elephant Games
Date published: 2020-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Elephant Improvement, But... <sigh> I guess it has finally come to the point where I must admit to myself that we will no longer see the wonderful hand drawn and colored graphics of a few years ago. Such a shame that technology has taken that away as you can see for yourself the gaming offers we see today. That hand-drawn type of artwork held so much depth and heart. It's like comparing the Disney masterpiece Snow White, unparalleled to this day in its imagery and scope, to Lego Batman. That being said, we have this issue from Elephant Games. Apparently the devs did not get the memo regarding the overuse of pinks and purples. But, Elephant did manage to take the same ol' and turn it into a bit of an interesting story. Granted, we are saving people again, but this has an interesting twist. I did really enjoy the puzzles and the HOGs were actually fun- even without the match-three option. There is a hermetic flair to this game and as Tarotist and Tarot historian I was quite impressed with the presence of an extremely historically significant Tarot deck in one of the HOGs. Barely anyone in the Tarot community knows about that deck, so that was a HUGE bonus for me! The graphics are good and well done (please no more pink and purple), characters could move a bit more fluidly. I love the fact the Asian character has a heavy New York accent! And that is a wonderful point: Elephant made the characters of this game multicultural- bravo! Was the game fun- yes indeed. Great graphics...well, there's been better. I actually cared about the characters as you have to make decisions regarding them. So kudos to Elephant for taking the usual vapid ho-hum and give us something to enjoy.
Date published: 2020-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So many lies! Wrong time for this game since so much propaganda and lies dished out present day. I did not like the character God of Truth. The game was weird to me. Folks who enjoy weirdness this game may offer a good play for you.
Date published: 2020-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Amusing, simple game with good graphics until it crashed Nice graphics and audio, but the HOP and puzzles were rated boring by my family. My son felt the story line rather "lame". Game ran with no problems until the bonus round. Crashed at the same point on two separate laptops. Hoping there will be an update.
Date published: 2020-11-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rick is Back & Saving Rachel Rick is back and giving speeches at a Paranormal Expo. Tonight there was a strange man in the audience who disappeared at the end of Rick's talk. A short time later Rick is alerted to the disappearance of one of the other stars of the Expo. He will try to save several of his new friends from the Expo from the mysterious stranger by bring truth into the light. Good stuff: The artwork is often crisp and evenly colored - except when it isn't. The characters are twenty-somethings with differing paranormal goals and talents. The HOPs and puzzles were good. The CE bling included collectible puppets/dolls, eyes, and morphing objects and a lite assortment of other bling we've seen in these games. The story was fairly straight forward and gave you enough info to work on. Bad stuff: Someday there will be filters on games to allow players to remove excessively used colors like pink, purple, and blue. Admittedly they are primarily used in the paranormal sequences, but a lighter hand on those over-used colors would be appreciated. There were the usual time wasters to complete to move on in the story: At one point you must find tools to repair a windmill to move a large cat on wheels. (I'm not kidding.) There are also some of the routine actions to complete: You must find and repair an alarm clock to scare a crow. (Whatever happened to just shooing them away?) And of course everything, including a wallet, is lock up tighter than a drum. There is also a lot of dialogue. You can skip it but you will lose some of the story. Bottom line: The story line was not unique, but it was still interesting. I suspect I will be trying to save Rick's colleagues in the near future when on sale. Please try the Demo for yourself.
Date published: 2020-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Yet another broken game! I was really enjoying this game, and had nearly rescued all the people when I tried to put the snake amulet on the tree and it disappeared! Couldn't go any further with the game, so I tried to access the forum, but the game wasn't there. This is becoming a bit of a bore, Big Fish!
Date published: 2020-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rushed To Market? Another in what has become a favorite series, but this one needed a good amount more QA before release. This time our hero and POV Rick Rogers is lecturing at a paranormal convention inexplicably held in carnival tents - one might think this would detract a little from the seriousness of the presentation, but in come cases a lack of gravity turns out to be justified. Some of Rick's fellow presenters aren't, you see, what they appear to be. And the lies, large and small, related to their presence will be outed by the God Of Truth, and their purveyors punished - certain of these untruths are on the order of cosmic parking tickets, others, not so much. (Were the God Of Truth to extend his efforts to politicians the game would never have ended). The beautiful Rachel is back and appears to have uttered a fib or two of her own in past games, and so becomes a target of the GOT's wrath as well, and although I seem to recall Rick himself being a little dodgy with the truth on occasion it was apparently not enough to earn his own timeout. Rick's task becomes prying his friends from theirs. Pros: nice art with some spectacular cut scenes. Rick's voice actor captures his character perfectly although this time around he's more serious than wise-cracking. HO scenes in several different formats, a straightforward episodic plot with few complications. Cons: game length is short, with a miserly few scenes devoted to the shorter chapters. I too found coding flaws in the mini-games that made them either untowardly difficult or outright unresponsive. The writing on the shorter chapters was sketchy in the exact meaning of the word: we really don't understand how a reluctance to believe in ghosts on the part of an investigator devoted to debunking them even qualifies as a lie at all. Bonus game: Rick delves into his own past at last, but unfortunately not for long - one beautiful looking plug game simply didn't respond to anything and had to be skipped, and I too encountered a full stop at the puppet show and with no way to skip it and no way to return to the scene, had to quit the game completely. It isn't even a CE at that point because you can't finish the collections. That one cost them a star; the brevity and the writing cost them another one. Overall, this is a might-have-been-great game in a terrific series that was spoiled by lack of QA at the Dev. If it works for you it's a solid four stars, but it didn't for me and so I can't recommend it.
Date published: 2020-11-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from too much chatter.... this was such a chatty cathy game....way too much talking, the graphics were very blurry, and this storyline made zero sense.always things to find, eyes, and morphing...just not up to snuff for me.
Date published: 2020-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not impressed. From a dev of this history this is a poor example. For some reason, although I play lots of huge games, this game played poorly/slowly starting about 1/2 way through the game, so I had to play it in smaller windowed mode and turn off extras like the pointer and enhancement. The story was a retread of old themes. Actually the bonus game was more fun than the main game, with a brisker pace: the main game tended to go on and on until I forgot why I was there. The best in this series, imho, is # 1, Fellow Traveler and #5 Trials of Truth. # 3 (Enjoy the shopping) was a walking cliché and junk pile game, which I didn't buy at all. There you go four reviews for the price of one! As always, Caveat Emptor! Play the demo and decide whether you want to take a chance.
Date published: 2020-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Compairing to the current sad level this one is good. It's not a byte-to-byte copy of some previous game.
Date published: 2020-11-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Glitchy Game Had to play through game 3 times because glitches stopped me each time at a different place. Then finally got to Bonus game and again another glitch stopped me. (Glitch = things disappear when need to use them or can't return to scene to pick up item needed to continue on) Wasn't going to play through a fourth time to get to try the bonus game again.
Date published: 2020-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Broken HOGs. I had some of the worst moments with this game. Some HOGs are broken, and will crash the game if you click on the correct items too fast in a combo(like in Brodie's Trailer HOG). It seems the game struggles to update the profile file(responsible for the progress saving) if you're doing things too fast, so it crashes. Also, the game would crash on me whenever I tried to pick up Brodie's Access Card in Brodie's Tent, and the solution I found was to click on the Access Card, rapidly back one screen before the prompt and then come back and pick up the Card again. Poorly optimized game.
Date published: 2020-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bordon Trap I rarely comment until I finish a game. I am fairly easy to please for the most part. But this...I just couldn't get into it, the characters, the storyline, none of it. I have played a couple from this series and they have been pretty good all around. This one, at least for me, fell flatter than the earth is claimed to be.(No I am not one of those people.) If I can barely get through the demo, its not a good thing. Maybe I expect too much after playing so many top of the line spooky games from the present day to some that are several years old. Ex. The True Fear series, Maze series (except for the last, it sucked) and other freaky horror games. If a game can't grab me within the first hour, it is much like a book. I put it down. Slow burns are okay, but this one didn't even fizzle for me. Sorry!
Date published: 2020-11-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ?? games to short should have looked at game stac better
Date published: 2020-11-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from HORRIBLE Disgusting, playing with occult simbols is not a FUN! Stopped playing and waisting my time....
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Access Violation Errors Keep getting Violation error in the Bonus game, just when you put the belt on the gears. Also found it to be very dark, couldn't see some things in the HOGs.
Date published: 2020-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bugs, couldn't continue I got to a certain point where according to the strategy guide I was supposed to take a clue and put it on a book. Well, I don't have the book, maybe I missed picking it up somewhere. But I can't get to where I need to get it. The hint tries to take me to a tent, but it won't go there, it just takes me back to the hotel entrance. I have never downloaded a game before where I couldn't finish it due to software bugs. I am a software quality assurance tester, and this is unacceptable to me. I wasted 2 game credits on this crap.
Date published: 2020-11-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Buggy to Play I've played the game twice and get stopped at the same place. Second time around I pin pointed the two bugs that were stopping me, serious bugs. I was enjoying it the first time through until I hit the stopping point. I use a computer, PC-type. This is the most buggy game I have downloaded from Big Fish in a long time. I'd like my money back.
Date published: 2020-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Game glitch! I didn't grab the arrow at the puppet show theater before I completed that task and now I can't go back and get it. I can't progress without the arrow for the wheel game and there's no option or hint help to get the arrow. I'd be skeptical that this is a one time fluke if it'll happen this early on.
Date published: 2020-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Trial: Boring. Nothing New or Exciting Graphics are good but same old style. Characters are wooden. Voice overs are good. Story is boring and been done before. Spare me the circus theme. Games are run of the mill nothing new or innovative. Time to go back to the drawing board and use some of those gray cells to come up with interesting concepts, snappy dialogue and an interesting forward story. So much back and forth even with transports it got old fast! Nothing much happens until the trial end and that wasn't all that great. I found the "God of Truth" rather laughable. I don't know who writes these scripts, but this one is just boring. Lots of use of books and pictures to explain back story which I consider lazy development. Hidden Object games are ordinary with lots of movement of pieces to find what is needed. Mini games...I just skipped. I know we there are talented people out there and some presentations have been great, but lately the passion seems lost and just average seems as good as it gets. I'm still waiting for a game that will intrigue me from the get go, move forward with detailed content not story books and a development of exciting characters with great voice overs and a script that is intelligent and well written.
Date published: 2020-12-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The game only plays for 2 minutes I have a Mac and this game just ends after 2 minutes. Big Fish when will you get your act together for Macs?
Date published: 2020-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from One man's trash..... I think my 'review title' says it all. Bad idea for a story line, very bad!! I don't recommend this game at all!
Date published: 2020-12-14
  • y_2021, m_3, d_1, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_32197, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Paranormal Files: The Trap of Truth Collector's Edition

A paranormal festival is held hostage by a mystery man demanding the truth!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.