Cave Quest 2 Collector's Edition

Cave Quest 2 Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Match 3

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(396.78 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Step into a fantastic world in Cave Quest 2: Collector's Edition!

When someone steals an important relic from the abbey in the middle of the night, the abbess assigns you, her trusted right hand to follow the thief to the cave city of Ermin-tara! It's a race against time to recover the mysterious relic before it falls into the hands of those that intend to merge our world with the demon world! Fight back against the underworld by acquiring powerful talents and spells on your journey to save your friends in this exciting and clever Match 3 game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus chapter!
  • 40 extra levels to keep the action going!
  • Stay on the relic's trail with a strategy guide!
  • Downloadable music, wallpapers, and concept art!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 415 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Cave Quest 2 Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(396.78 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Cave Quest 2 Collector's Edition is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cave Quest 2 Collector'sEdition A Super game ! Variety and fun.
Date published: 2021-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plesantly Surprised I am usually not a fan of Match 3 as they seem to be a little "cheesy" at times. However, this Match 3 game is fun with all of the sub-quests that you get to do along the journey to get into your final destination of the cave.
Date published: 2021-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME GAME!!! I am LOVING this game!!! I wish there were more games like this!!! I have been playing it all day and I still haven't finished it!!! I am playing it with no time limits and no move limits. I hope the makers of this game will make a Cave Quest 3!!!!
Date published: 2021-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love this game I have the earlier Cave Quest and really enjoyed it so I was thrilled to see this new one pop up today. I played the demo and immediately purchased it. I won't go into a lot of detail since that has already been done by others. I really like M3's where you have to clear a path, but they seem to be few and far between. I don't usually like to pay the CE price for games like this, but gladly did that for this game since there are so many extra levels to enjoy. I also hope that we don't have to wait for such a long time to get another Cave Quest game.
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A long awaited return. A hybid winner! Its been many years since cave quest 1 and I was thrilled to see number two after such a long time. This one is far superior for all the waiting. But also one has to ask about the game itself, what is it exactly? Well I call it a hybrid. Part M3, part adventure game, part hidden object, and part puzzle. You will visit many locations all requiring you to either perform an action, find an item, collect items, use your items and solve puzzles. It has a map that depending on your choice of difficulty will show you where tasks are or not. You will travel back and forth performing your tasks. But many involve you playing an M3 game where you move along a path, (sometimes collecting an item you need)..towards the end. In this one you sometimes get a choice of direction, so you can travel around the path in different ways..(handy when collecting several mushrooms or other items scattered around) There are bonuses to help you along the way such as bombs and hurricanes tile removal and even speed up..but the real joy of the game is figuring out which tiles to remove in front or behind to get your path to clear so you can march forward.. You can have moves, timed or none. And you can choose easy, normal or hard difficulty. (I actually thought my game was glitchy, and tried changing my cursor option..still lagging..then I changed to 'easy' difficulty, and it began to run smoothly!) That may or may not help someone. I am now playing in easy difficulty/timed mode and moving gracefully. Do leave your hints on for a while..some obstacles need all coloured tiles cleared to remove them or matches next to them..and you only get told once..but there is a guide, and a very handy hint button for the tasks. Do try the demo. It may be a bit overwhelming at first, but its only the M3 that is timed (if you choose).and you can take your time with the rest. Its fascinating, it makes you think and its exciting when you solve your puzzles and quests. I loved the first, but this one is even better. Enjoy!
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm Diggin' This! So I grabbed the demo of Cave Quest 2 Collector's Edition a smidge after midnight and ran it out. I knew before it was over I was going to buy but didn't want to stop playing! Went right back in and just now sort of surfaced to realize: !. I was hungry 2. I had to go to the bathroom 3. FIVE HOURS had passed! It has been a long loooong time since a game has so engaged me it's done that "time travel" thing. I LOVE THIS GAME! In fact when playing the demo I said, out loud, "This is so cool!". I don't think I've ever encountered a more savvy translation of Adventure Gaming into a Match-3 structure. Exploring, Dungeon Crawl, Battle, even Crafting and Potion Making are represented by different styles of Match-3 boards all interesting and fun. I really feel like the developers both play and enjoy both style of game so they understand the pluses and minuses and how to make the most of the good stuff. I am playing on both easiest settings (there are 2, one for the adventure aspect and one for the puzzle) with no timers. Music is good, graphics are clear and bright and pleasant, tutorial type pop-ups are timely and helpful. If I have any concern going forward it's that either the battles will get too hard to stay fun or the spiders encountered in dungeony type boards will get too numerous to proceed (you clear them by basically clearing webs around them until they can't run). So far that's not been an issue. ANYWAY love it and give it ALL the stars! First 5 hours of it, anyway.
Date published: 2021-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY CAVE QUEST CONTINUES! There aren't many games lately that I become so engrossed in the demo that when the demo ends, it takes me by surprise and I'm scrambling to hit the "Buy Now" button...but this game did exactly that! There are so many different aspects to this game that one can't help but be entertained. It is a Hidden Object game, a Match 3 game, a Battle game, a Quest-based game, an Adventure game, and a Strategy game all in one. You can play in an Easy, Normal, or Hard mode of difficulty and you can choose to play the Match 3 games in a Limited Time or Limited Moves Mode as well. You begin your journey by walking which is in the form of a Match 3 game that requires you to make matches on a path to move the character (shown as a hat) along the path to the top of the board. This scenario was my favorite part! After completing the Match 3 game, you'll continue your adventure by searching for Inventory Items in each scene along your way. You'll have to figure out how and where to use those items to progress, for example, you may have to remove cobwebs, open doors, and move carts, but the tasks aren't necessarily easy to figure out because sometimes the solution isn't obvious. Once you solve a task, a different variation of the Match 3 game will open up with obstacles that are theme-related to the task, such as cobwebs or spiderwebs that block some tiles. When you make a Match 4 or larger, you will gain an extra move or time. As you progress, you are given the opportunity to "Learn" a new Skill which is basically a power-up that places bombs on the board or allows you to remove a single tile, or pushes tokens out of your path like a hurricane. When you come across a Beast or Demon, you'll first have to figure out which inventory item is necessary, then you play a Battle Mode Match 3 game where you take turns against your opponent. Collecting Red Crystals drains your opponent but it also drains your energy if the opponent matches red crystals. This Collector's Edition version has 15 Wallpapers, Concept Art (available after completing the game) 15 Music Soundtracks (12 regular and 3 CE Bonus tracks) 4 Records Trophies (shown in %'s) 16 Characters, 15 Beasts & Demons, a Bonus Chapter and a Strategy Guide. I don't know if the CE price is worth the extra's you get on a Match 3 game, all I know is I was going to continue playing this highly entertaining Match 3 game today, there's no way I was going to wait for the SE version! Join us at my new forum to discuss this game and so much more, thewoodsforum.boards.net ...hope to see you there!
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lets hope we don't have to wait another 10 years for the next one. I took my time on placing my review as I wanted to get further in to the game as some games have a habit of changing or becoming boring the further you get in to the game. Not so with this one in fact it gets more interesting the further you get in. Others have explained the ins and outs of this game so will not dwell on that. I was interested to see that some were finding the game lagging on harder modes, I did not have that problem on my 64 bit machine so out of curiosity I loaded it on to my older 32 bit machine and it worked fine until I went into a timed mode then the lagging started and it became almost unplayable. I switched back to easy and no trouble at all. I am now back with ny 64 Bit and this is such an amazing game. What I love about this is you can switch modes after each level so if you find it too taxing you can change for an easier mode without having to start again As you get further in to this the battle scenes become more interesting and yes you can replay that level harder or easier depending on where you are. This is a great challenge even on the easier mode and so well thought out. I even like the music, The guide is very comprehensive but not sure if it is available in the SE. Is it worth a CE ? It states 40 extra levels plus an extra scene, one would assume though that the 40 levels are in the extra scene. I just could not wait to buy this, this is a match 3 made in heaven for me with so much more than the normal offerings in a match 3. Try the demo and see what you think. Personally I would start in easy mode just so you can get as far as possible. Regarding the comment about getting no extra time, at first you may not realise it but when you match 4 you get 3 extra seconds which when you match 5 should give 4 or 5 seconds but can't be sure of that. This time is automatically added which you may not realise. All in this is one gem of a game and Dev's please can we not have to wait nearly 10 years for the next one.
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am not a Match 3 fan, but I love this game. One of the members of a Big Fish group on Facebook raved about this game so much that I decided to try it. I normally avoid Match 3 games because I like my games to have a story, and most of them don't. This one DOES. It's basically a mashup of Match 3 and the old point-and-click adventure games from Sierra, and it really works for me. It's a super long game, so don't expect to play this in one sitting (which I usually do with my BF games). There are secrets to uncover, items to collect and use, characters to rescue, battles to win, and hidden paths to navigate through the foggy forest. I was about twenty minutes in when I knew this was going to be a must-buy for me. If you love adventuring games but don't normally go for Match 3, I urge you to try this because it completely blew my expectations out of the water.
Date published: 2021-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A rare match-3 worth the collector's price I have never purchased a collector's edition match-3, reserving my money for the HO/adventure genre because M3s are pretty much same-old, same-old. Not here. This is M3, puzzle, HO, and adventure with a good storyline all in one. Like another reviewer I was surprised when the hour was gone so quickly and couldn't wait to purchase since 40 extra collector levels of this fun is worth the cost (less on sale, yay). Aside from a couple hour break, I played from noon until 2am, ignoring my midnight reminder to go to bed lol. I'm not sure how much time is left in the main game but I'm guessing I'm halfway through and that's playing on easy (which isn't all that easy). Love this game and hope it doesn't take another 10 years for a sequel.
Date published: 2021-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The sequel was definitely worth the wait After 10 years, here is a sequel to the great match-3 game Cave Quest. Cave Quest was always on my top-ten list of favorite Match-3 games and I approached the sequel with some trepidation as I was worried that the developers might have tried to fix what wasn't broken. All I can say is - thank you, developers! - because they kept all the good stuff that made Cave Quest such a fun game while still managing to enhance it and make the experience even more interesting in the sequel. For this, I give the developers huge thanks and a round of applause! And for me, the CE is worth it, as we get forty bonus levels too. I hope you have as much fun as I am with this game. Happy gaming! Let's hope the game sells well enough for there to be a third installment. :-)
Date published: 2021-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't buy it fast enough Decided to do a trial first which is something I don't usually do (don't know why but I buy games off reviews generally). Boy - as soon as the trial ended I couldn't purchase fast enough. Not your usual match 3 - this is match 3 on steroids. It's an adventure with a quest so you have to use logic. It's match 3 which gets more complex as you go but you get aids/powers to help you out. It's conquests against monsters. So very much fun I sat for literally 5 hours playing before I could drag myself away and I still have so much more of the game to play. Don't hesitate...buy this game!
Date published: 2021-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Imagine waiting 10 years for a sequel to happen. This game was developed by MD Studios, the mastermind behind Bato: Treasures of Tibet and the original game, Cave Quest (2011). Cave Quest 2 is not a typical match 3 games, it is a multi-genre game where it combines Role Playing Games (RPG) and Adventure with varieties type of Match 3 board. The game started with an adventure style match 3 board where player make matches to allow the protagonist to move forward the finish spot. Then, the adventure side of the game started where player can interacts with its environment such as collecting inventory items, interact with its inhabitants, and collecting “secrets” knowledge. Every interactions can triggered a match 3 board such as: 1. The combat match 3 board by using a long wooden stick to fight a giant evil rat. 2. Removing a seal by breaking the tiles in the Match 3 board. 3. Removing impurities by matching the bubbles with percentages of the impurities in the potion’s match 3 board. 4. Removing coals in the wooden cart. 5. Collecting Amanitas by playing an adventure-style match 3 board. 6. Crushing the Green Gems into Green Powder by playing the match 3 to drop the gems and then to crush them (yep, 2 steps). -Please note that some interactions does not require to play the match 3.- -The listed above are what I encountered during my playtime.- The RPG side of the game is where player get Experience (XP) after completing a match 3 board. Once leveled up, player can use it to obtain and upgrade power ups that will be use in the match 3 game. The Secret knowledge is also included in the XP and player need to seek out hidden scrolls, books, or an ancient inscriptions. There are 3 difficulties to choose from so I started with Easy because I’m not a big fan of a match 3 game (but I really love marble popper type of game). The CE Extras included are Guide, Bonus Chapter, Wallpapers, Music, Concept Art, Collections and Records (high score). The uniqueness of this game is astounding to me and it is a time killer, especially during this time (or anytime). There are varieties of Match 3 boards to play so I don’t feel bored. All I can say is this game is worth it because I enjoyed it so much and there are so many aspects that I want to describe here but I believe that other reviewers have much more intricate details that you can read. Have fun.
Date published: 2021-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, Worthy C.E. Game! Love this game so far (completed most of demo) and can certainly see why a Guide is included after reading part of it. Something like, "the only defense against the guardian's lightning is to cover yourself with a magic shield" is probably something I'd either take a long time to figure out my own without it or possibly never figure out. There are just so many power-ups, tasks to accomplish, obstacles to defeat, items to find and use, etc that I'm sure I'd soon get frustrated without that guide to help me. The Extra Time "bug" another reviewer mentioned isn't a bug. Even gaining time is different in this game. At first, when watching carefully, I could see only 1, 3 or 5 seconds added to the timer -- big deal, useless, I thought. But a few boards down the road I ran out of time and a msg popped up asking me if I wanted to use 35 seconds of the extra time I had accumulated. I clicked yes and away I went, finished the board a few seconds later rather than dying and having to replay. There are so many interesting features in this game; it's definitely no ordinary Match 3 and well worth the CE price in my opinion. You can play Easy, Normal or Hard and choose which for the Adventure part of the game and the puzzles separately. At the bottom of that options screen there's also a box to check for playing the game in timed or limited moves mode if you didn't choose "Easy" mode of play. What a delight to have such a challenging, fun and interesting game to play! This is so much more than your usual M3 game that you can just pick up every now and then after a long time not playing it just to play a few boards. This one has tasks to accomplish, places to explore where you use items that you found while playing the M3 boards. If you're looking for something new and different and are an M3 game fan, I highly urge you to give the demo a try. I can't wait to get back to playing it.
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unique mix of adventure and match 3 I bought the first Cave Quest in 2011 and I had a lot of fun with it playing it several times through the years. So I downloaded this sequel right away, prepared to be disappointed, because too often a sequel has nothing to do with what made the previous game so attractive. But this game really delivers the same fun as the first game! It offers the same mix of adventure and match3, both very well done. So I understand perfectly well this can be a CE, although I thus far only played the demo, I decided to buy it/
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lotsa FUN OMG.....Had to make myself stop to come and add my 5 stars to this game. Will let others describe the details but I have been waiting for YEARS for another Cave Quest game and this one is worth waiting for. Talk to everyone, click on items you see on the ground..use your inventory. Map so helpful as are the hints. A very different Match 3 game that has been so craftily created.
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Game of the Year Contender I'm a match-3, hidden object, puzzle solving loving kind'a guy and think this game has blended all three perfectly into a fun, challenging adventure. Even the music is spot on, tranquil yet mysterious sounding, fit's this game to a 'T'. Of the many games I've played, this one ranks as one of the best.
Date published: 2021-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long And Awesome Just HAD to give a shout out for this game!! Been playing for 2 days and it is still a strategic combo of Everything that makes a great game with great graphics and conversation. Very intriguing. Wanted to add my 5 star review so that Devs Know and understand what we like. Couldnt be more Pleased since Puzzle Quest. Didnt play the first in this series but from the reviews Just might go check it out. The length of this game makes it so worth the CE price.
Date published: 2021-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sequel 10 years in making-- I bought Cave Quest 1 Feb. 21, 2011. This sequel was 10 years in the making (I believe it's this studio's first game since #1). I very rarely re-read books or replay games once through--and I read a lot--life's too short. But Cave Quest has always been a game I've moved from computer to computer and replayed over the years. So far this has been a worthy trip down memory lane. I figure few will remember #1's wobbly moves through the caves or the piano rift when you finish a level--this has it all. But also has nice new music, graphics, and gameplay for a casual game. You can choose from limited moves, timed, or relaxed. I've been playing limited moves and have cut it close down to 1 move a couple of times but the option's there to go relexed if you want.
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cave Quest 2 successful sequel Finally!! it's been a long time, but i can still remember the first part of cave quest, exciting story and a great gameplay and this is where the 2nd part starts. thanks bigfish for the really great 2nd part with additional levels. i'm really happy about this, even the music is worth listening to
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought It Right Away! Wow factor: Thought this game would go on forever! I like a game when you don't know what to do or where to go. About time BF!
Date published: 2021-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST MATCH THREE GAME EVER please make more like this.I Love This Game lots of fun to play and Love the Different things to play in the Game.
Date published: 2021-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from finally finally a game worth staying up late for.im hooked.best in a long time. i haven't reviewed a game in months or longer so this has got to be good.thanks bf.
Date published: 2021-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At last! I really enjoyed Cave Quest 1 and I was reluctant at first. What? No snow and ice? But I am pleasantly surprised and I have to say that Cave Quest 2 is an excellent sequel. The gameplay is similar enough to be enjoyed and different enough to be challenging. However, I wish BigFish would have mentioned in their description that this is certainly no game for people suffering from arachnophobia. I would imagine that some players might find the spiders quite difficult to accept.
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and different! Strategy adventure mixed with Match 3. I played demo on normal mode which is straightforward and easy. Bought game (on sale now) and am switching to difficult mode. I've not played the original Cave Quest but am installing demo now!
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun little adventure This was a fun match 3 game with a little adventure intertwined.
Date published: 2021-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do You Remember The Original? It was some years ago. I still play it occasionally and still love it. If you are unfamiliar with the original Cave Quest, give it a look-see and I think you will find a bunch of fun to satisfy your need for a great Match 3 game. There are so few good ones these days that I am forever falling back on my older collection. This one has it all, as other reviewers have stated, including the need for strategy to move you through the game. It will keep you busy with tasks that require you to hang on to your thinking cap to overcome obstacles, complete the quests and battle your opponent. It is really a good, entertaining Match 3. I'm eager to continue the journey after enjoying the demo so much. I highly recommend this and Fishdom: Depths of Time Collectors Edition if you are hungry for top quality Match 3 entertainment. I don't feel Cave Quest 2 should necessarily be a CE, not a whole lot of extra content to justify the extra $$. But today's sale was good enough to entice me to purchase. For me, sometimes waiting for the SE is only a momentary glimmer of common sense.
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from engrossing and entertaining What a fabulous game, I did not want it to end, luckily it was fairly lengthy and even the bonus chapter was worth playing rather than being a rather irritating adjunct to the main game. Could we have another one please!!!
Date published: 2021-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Match 3 In a Long Long Time! I have played match 3 games for a long time and I have to say that this game is the best I have played! Talk about getting your monies worth! Wow! Is all I can say. It went on and on and on. I couldn't believe it. Don't get me wrong it was never boring and I hated it ending. Wouldn't it be great if we had new games on the same level as this to look forward to? There is rarely even a match 3 offered and the majority of the time they are no good. Not this one!!
Date published: 2021-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not your typical Match 3 or HOP This game is unique. It is the ten year follow up to a specific type of game that some of us love. There is some repetition, but also a lot of searching in the game play. if you like that in a game, you will probably like this. I won't say that everyone will love it, but I will say that for me, this sequel was very enjoyable.
Date published: 2021-02-23
  • y_2021, m_2, d_28, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_32352, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Cave Quest 2 Collector's Edition

A quest to recover a mysterious relic has surprising implications!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.