Grim Tales: Trace in Time Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Grim Tales: Trace in Time Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(264.48 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Elephant Games returns with the 20th riveting installment of the Grim Tales series!

Your heart has stopped! When you wake up after an emergency heart transplant, you quickly find that your health scare was no accident. A dangerous group is going after people who interfere with time. Nothing will stand in their way, including innocent lives! Can you travel through time to stop them from causing irreparable damage and escape with your life intact? Find out if the Gray family is up to the task in this gripping Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Time is of the essence when you race to rescue a friend in the bonus game!
  • Enjoy an exclusive secret room with morphing objects, soundtrack, wallpapers, screensavers, and more!
  • Find tons of hidden screensaver fragments and collect hidden objects!
  • Earn a variety of unique achievements!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 821 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Grim Tales: Trace in Time Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(264.48 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Grim Tales: Trace in Time Collector's Edition is rated 2.6 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I have every Grim Tales I found this to be a disappointment and am hoping the next one is more like the ones in the past. I absolutely love Grim Tales but was disappointed with this one.. very sad.
Date published: 2021-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ZIGZAG THROUGH TIME IN A SHORT AMOUNT OF TIME REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 5 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 39 pages (My Time: Less Than 5 Hours) Zigzag through time with Anna Gray as she battles a secret society, Omen, ran by an evildoer out to annihilate time travelers. It will be a short jaunt, however. As Anna, time will fly by on this time trip – this game is short! I played the entire game completing all activities within less than five (5) hours. This is one of my favorite series. Unfortunately, I am very disappointed by this latest entry. This game lacks the quality and activities seen in other collector edition games. There are few extras. The collectibles are time related, twelve (12) timepieces and twenty-four (24) screensaver pieces. Many scenes only have one collectible. There are only two screensavers and one wallpaper! There is a secret room which is opened upon completion of the game in which to search for morphing items within the twenty-six (26) scenes of the game. There is also an expedition room which allows the player to return to the rooms to search for collectibles missed while playing the game. Some of the HOP scenes and mini-games can be replayed at the end of the game. The story behind this game takes a dark turn. Daddy dearest, Richard, does not appear in this game to provide comic relief as in past games. This game is very dark in comparison to others in the series. I believe Elephant made a mistake by going down a dark path and not including Richard as comic relief for this game. Instead, this game goes into some dark history which I found very disturbing. It is difficult to reconcile the fun and loving relationship Anna Gray has with good ole dad after his sordid history is exposed. I found the game has a good pace; however, it is so short it is not difficult to maintain a good pace. MECHANICS: • Four (4) levels of play including a customized version. • 22 achievements. • Collect 12 time pieces and 24 screensaver pieces. • Secret Room – opened upon completion of the game to search for morphing items within the scenes. You are timed in the search. • Expedition Room which allows the player to return to the 26 game scenes to search for missing collectibles. • One wallpaper along with 2 screensavers, concept art, music, and video sequences • Replay 13 HOP scenes and 14 mini-games BONUS CHAPTER: Play Aubrey, a character from the main game, as she tries to rescue Anna Gray, trapped within a looking glass. This chapter lacks all the adventure of a Wonderland excursion. It is another short excursion into more of the same as within the main game. There are six (6) HOP scenes –two of which are what I consider mini-HOP scenes, searching for six items. There are also five (5) mini-games. Continue collecting the collectibles within this game. I found the story absurd. HOP SCENES: There are twenty-one (21) HOP scenes within the game with seven (7) of these being mini-HOP scenes in which the player searches for only six items. Thirteen (13) can be replayed upon completion of the game. All of them are either a standard list of items or silhouette along with two mini-HOP scenes with matching items. There is one scene in the demo where items are replaced back within the scenes. I wish there were more creatively designed scenes such as this one. There are some unique scenes for some of the searches such as items on a map and on a wall full of family portraits. However, I found most of the scenes lack creativity and to me, are rather ho-hum and boring. MINI-GAMES: There are twenty (20) mini-games, fourteen (14) of which can be replayed at the end of the game. They are the best part of this game. One of the mini-games I have never seen before. It is a puzzle which requires placing tiles into position to create a 3-dimensional image. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE MNI-GAMES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Switch puzzle. Switch pieces on a circular maze to create a path for a wire to travel along it to the opposite side of the maze. B. Sequence puzzle. Slide parts of four tubes to expose numbers; then, press the numbers in ascending order. Numbers are hidden within the tubes and sections of each tube must be slid to expose the numbers. C. Rotating tiles puzzle. Rotate three circular dials on a safe so that the arrow on each dial faces north. D. Connection puzzle. Move connectors on a grid to create a continuous path from the left to the right side of the grid. E. Stacking puzzle. Arrange and stack tiles onto a grid to recreate a 3-dimensional image. BONUS CHAPTER: F. Logic puzzle. Fit all items in a wardrobe onto two grids at the sides so each item is placed and there are no items stacked on top of each other nor any empty spaces. G. Tangram puzzle. Move tangram pieces from the right side of the screen to the left filling in all spaces and finding a place for all items. H. Paint puzzle. Paint a portrait of Dorian by matching a numbered brush with a numbered color and touching the palette to fill the color in **I recommend this game based on the quality of the mini-games.
Date published: 2021-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very disappointed too Loved this series and Richard as helper. No this one! Very little story few voices and no challenge.
Date published: 2021-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I am so confused by the ending. I really did enjoy the demo of this game, enough to buy it in order to find out how it ends. I admit to being a little sorry not to have Alice on hand, and as always I appreciate the brief nod to Detectives United. I still prefer that series over this one. I would say that it held my interest for the first two-thirds of the story, but the final third just left me confused. Richard turned out to be much more of a horrible person than we ever even knew (which is saying something), and it was good to see him thwarted in some of his past evil deeds, but I'm at a loss to understand what exactly happened to him. We also still don't know how he got out of the skull, so I'm hoping for some clarification on that eventually. Not many HOP scenes in this; it's more mini-games than anything, most of which were pretty decent. A couple of them severely annoyed me, particularly the puzzle in Peter and Martha's house which involved the stacked pieces creating a picture. In general I noticed a weird dichotomy in the puzzles - for me, they were either really easy or excessively challenging, no in between. Not the best Grim Tales game I've ever played, but by no means the worst either, so fans of the series will probably want to check it out.
Date published: 2021-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK game It is time to retire this series. At this point the developers are reaching on straws. It's an okay game....don't hate and I don't love it. But this series is getting boring. If they come out with another one in this series I will not consider buying it. Time for this developer to change the game to something exciting and new!
Date published: 2021-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too much the same I only played the demo, so please be aware of that. I'm looking for a hidden object game that I can wind down with after work, but I can't find one that is in any way absorbing. Hidden object games have become not much more than a series of locked things that you need to open. And you need to run about finding little broken pieces to put together to open things, just to find more little random things... and on it goes. This game was no different, and was probably even less creative than others I've seen recently. The look of the game and the graphics are all well done. Except for the people, who always look like some fantasy daytime soap characters who've wandered into a cheesy paranormal adventure. I'm sorry I couldn't say more positive things. I want something intelligent, absorbing and logical. I'd pay a good price for something like that.
Date published: 2021-04-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Story, Too Short I love this series. Even restarted & finished Mystery Trackers & Haunted Hotel after Detectives United came to be. GT is my favorite. I especially like when Richard (the good one) hangs around. I don't love mini games, but finding things, ciphers, and a good story are very important. I'm glad I got this on sale or I'd have been disappointed.
Date published: 2021-03-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Time to say goodbye I do not usually write reviews, especially of favorite game series / developers. In this case, it must said that Grim Tales has reached it's end...about 6 games back. The games are so short and easy now, no challenge to them as when the series first started. There is practically no interaction with characters, limited background noises, no surprises or twists - it's a really quiet game and I start feeling bored by the 3rd scene. The games are predictable and even with the newly arrived Detectives United and Strange Investigations, there is nothing original. I stopped purchasing the games and don't even play the betas when released. Why bother? As a long time fan of Elephant games (love the graphics), the games are no longer are worth the CE or SE cost. I did make it through the demo; the whole time wondering how much longer. Disappointing to lose a series favorite but this will be last game I play, even as a Demo, for any of the series. For new joiners to the series, don't let the "old heads" ruin the game for you; you might find the game an enjoyable and stimulating challenge!
Date published: 2021-03-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Real Story is....There isn't One! Elephant is usually one of my fave developers, but I have no idea what this game is about, and I'm 2/3 of the way through it. To understand this, maybe I need to smoke whatever the devs were smoking when they created this hot mess. At any rate, based on this, I do NOT recommend this game!
Date published: 2021-03-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Who are these people who say they played for 5 hours!!?? What's happened to Elephant Games? They used to be fantastic, but I can barely get to the end of the games these days, and I only finish because they're so short! Some reviewers said they spent 5 hours on it.....really!? I played at a casual pace and only skipped two mini-games, and I was complete in 2.5 hours. The story is confusing too; half way through and I had absolutely no idea what was going on. Sorry, but I do not recommend this game. The two stars are because I've always liked the graphics by EG and enjoy finding, combining and using objects......that's it.
Date published: 2021-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Is This The End of GT? First,I must say, I love this series. Richard Gray, shenanigans, I'm all in! I even read the other reviews and got offended. How dare they say such about this great series. I bought the game. No trial. Just bought it because I knew (or so I thought) what this developer was capable of. Then I played the game. What the what?! I have never felt like a mark before but after buying this game.........
Date published: 2021-03-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so good This is not nearly as good as the others in the series, I did NOT enjoy skipping every puzzle from the beginning. I play on custom which should be easy. It is not, The time clocks your suppose to find blend in too well, Some of them you need to use the guide to find, The screen saver pieces of paper are clear so you can find them easily. Weird story line. kinda makes no sense. So for me not so good,
Date published: 2021-03-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Grim Tale It baffles me how a developer can have a golden egg and toss it away. Anyone who read 20 games worth of reviews would realize that Anna is a colorless, "Gray" figure in the absence of her Dad Richard, who provides humor, sanity, and every bit of uniqueness that the series possesses. Turning him into a cardboard villain wasn't a good decision. Pros: The graphics - they're gorgeous. Some excellent mini-games. The writing up to a point - this is Richard's back story and the origin of his struggle with his daughter Anna. He loves her, of course, he bequeathed his heart to her, after all. Here she opposes him to rescue a victim of his reckless ambition. This is good stuff - her travel in time reveals that yes, there are risks, one of which ends her up in an entertaining disguise, opposing her allies and allied to the opposition. It's a beautiful twist. And then... Cons: And then it simply ends. All of this setup squandered, and we are left with only half of Richard's story and no closure on anything. If the Devs intended this to be a cliff-hanger, it isn't, it's only frustrating. So much potential... Bonus Game: Here we play as Aubrey, one of Richard's intended victims, who finds herself reversing her role and sallying forth to rescue Anna from villains who - wait a minute, if the events detailed in the main story prevailed, that organization wouldn't even exist. That's what Anna was trying to fix, isn't it? Overall, a disappointment, mostly because of half realized, hence half wasted, potential. The game is rich, beautiful in graphics, but simply incomplete.
Date published: 2021-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Zzzzz.... Hello friends! As always, I review on the game play and not the story line, as others do a much better job than I can. Another one in this very, very long series.The graphics in this addition are very well done, very clear, with no blurring when going in and out of close ups. Colors are not bright, but are really nicely done. Game play was excellent, with no problems during the demo. Animation was very well done, very smooth and realistic. Almost no character interaction during the demo, until the end. Very quiet. You can click through the dialog if you read read faster than they speak, without missing any hints or needed information to continue through the game. Music was throughout and quite nice. It did move with whatever was happening at the time. Didn't see Dad during this demo at all, disappointing. Sound FX were almost non-existent as well. HOGs are somewhat varied. We have interactive lists, place picture piece and silhouettes. The scenes are very clean and clear and items are not difficult to find. I did not see that you could switch to a different game. Not too many puzzles during the demo, but none were difficult or time consuming. Hint system is very helpful and it does transport you to longer locations. You do a lot of back tracking long distances in this addition, so this is very helpful. As usual, this map is very bland, but with the transport, who needs it? Not much in the way of collectible either. A puzzle piece in each scene and an additional collectible of some sort. The collectibles are not difficult to find. Very disappointing. I like this series, but this one seems to just be thrown together. We start out weird as well...having lunch, get poisoned, in a hospital bed, then up and going like nothing happened. We had a number of flashbacks during the demo. Not sure what the story is, too confusing and jumbled. Very quiet, no action until the end of the demo, which was quite short, and no challenge. I've demoed a number of others in this series that have not come out yet. All of which were considerably better games. Personally, I'm not even sure a beginner would find this one fun. Not the usual story line in this series. I rarely cannot find something good about a game, in order to recommend it, but this one was extremely disappointing. Gave this one a 2.5. Definitely not a buy for me. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for. Play on!
Date published: 2021-03-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Why Do I Feel We've All Been Thrown Under the Bus? So over the course of Grim Tales, we have learned to know Anna and see her "new" better relationship with her father - or at least his skull/spirit. So this game takes all of that and shoves it into a meat grinder and players are left confused by the crooked left turn in the story arc. What we have left is a game with average mechanics along with the travel in time that is the hallmark of this series. (Except that in this game, Anna just seems to pop in and out of different times without the usual connections to get her there.) The game is fairly short and without the gripping story that would make players want to pay for it anyway. Ah, yes, that story. Anna is poisoned in a restaurant and given a heart transplant. When she regains consciousness, she jumps out of her hospital bed - sans any I.V. - and her husband watches as she investigates the hospital room and disappears into the past - in a hospital gown, presumably. Oddly enough this outcome of a major surgery makes her time travel seem pedestrian. So short average game and sad story leaves me urging everyone to check out the demo first. Think of it as self-defense.
Date published: 2021-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Time to Retire I think it is time that Elephant Games finally retire this serious. This is by far the worst in the series. I do not even fell I will be able to finish it.
Date published: 2021-03-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dull and confusing This series has really gone downhill, which is so sad. It used to be one of my very favorite series, but now it's become just another set of cookie-cutter games. I found this entry to be boring. I had a really hard time sticking with it. I skipped a lot of the puzzles because I just didn't care to spend time on them. The story had some plot holes, but that just seems to be par for the course anymore. And my goodness, can we please use some basic common sense and stop hiding needed items in locations that make absolutely no sense at all?! The ending left me confused, especially since it would seem to implicate that events of almost all of the previous games in the series would be affected. At least the voice acting was somewhat improved from the past few games. I'm glad I got this game for a big discount. It was definitely not worthy of being a Collector's Edition and not even worth the price of a standard edition. I don't know if I'll buy any future games in this series.
Date published: 2021-04-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so fun Hidden Object Game Bought this game as I love the Grim Tales but this one is not so good. Time to retire this series if this is the best they can do. I was so looking forward to a great game but it did not happen. Sorry I wasted my money.
Date published: 2021-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from VERY disspointing. This looked like a good game in the series exept for the minigames... This looked very good, until the minigames...Boy, they are badly designed. Already the first one, pure guesswork. Skipped that crap. The next one with clockfaces just as badly designed, no logic to wich clock faces that shift places...Therefor stopped playing. But if the atmosphere was good, voice-acting, gfx and sounds, and the story line. But when the to first minigames are this appalingly bad, i cannot recommend it. To bad though.
Date published: 2021-04-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fun is gone When you took Richard out of the game it is no fun anymore. Bring him back or I will never buy another one of the Grim series and I do have all of them.
Date published: 2021-03-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from We have played this a million times already I don't get it. Why do they just cut and paste the same game over and over again. I usually love elephant games, but don't know what happened to their games lately, but this one is horrible. Don't even bother with the demo, unless you need some help falling asleep.
Date published: 2021-03-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointing. Far too short for an CE. Story was bland. But most of all Richard was not there to help. Developers really need to go back over the previous games in a series and stick to what made them so great. If you like this series don't waste your money on this one.
Date published: 2021-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What? I'm confused. When did Anna Gray get a husband? I guess I must have missed something. Sorry, but the comments above aren't really a review, but in fact I started out confused and stayed that way until I finally gave up and exited the game. Grim Tales was one of my favorite games to play when she was carrying her dad's skull around and he was making sarcastic but helpful comments throughout the game. This game is not that. Sad.
Date published: 2021-03-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Muddled Based on the reviews, this is the first Grim Tales I didn't just buy outright, I downloaded the demo. First 5 minutes was enough for me. Anna is poisoned, heart stops so she died? But nope, it's Anna so a matching heart is miraculously found and it's transplanted. Like that would happen. She's up, awake and moving right after? Please. Just too, too implausible. I need at least a bit of reality in these games.
Date published: 2021-03-29
  • y_2021, m_7, d_23, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.18
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_32460, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Tales: Trace in Time Collector's Edition

Can you stop a dangerous order from abusing time for their nefarious plans?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.