Roads of Rome: Portals Collector's Edition

Roads of Rome: Portals Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Time Management

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(279.93 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

When a terrible storm overtakes a squad of brave Roman soldiers and workers on their way home from yet another military campaign, their ship crashes upon the rocky shore of a deserted island. But they quickly discover that there's more to the island than meets the eye when they find a mysterious portal hidden inside an ancient cave, where they're faced with a choice – face certain death on the island or step into the unknown. Now it's up to you to help the heroic Romans find a way home by building settlements, clearing paths, and defeating their enemies for the glory of Rome in this fast-paced Time Management game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • 8 exciting bonus levels to keep the fun going!
  • Help the Roman heroes get home with the official strategy guide!
  • Downloadable wallpapers and soundtrack!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 296 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Roads of Rome: Portals Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(279.93 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Roads of Rome: Portals Collector's Edition is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 77.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So-So I love the Roads of Rome games, but this one seems tedious. Takes FOREVER to get the supplies you need to complete the chapter. That said, and the pace aside, I do like the premise of this version.
Date published: 2021-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Roads of Rome-Portals collectors Edition Good game, love all the roads of rome games, but I have came across a few glitches where I cannot finish! Task says clear obsticles when they are all already cleared!
Date published: 2021-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Levels Are Too Long A lot to like, here, but the levels are just too long. Many take over twenty minutes to complete. You may not realize how much of what resources you are going to need, starting out, and if you don't build and upgrade certain resources correctly from the beginning, you'll spend all that time without it being possible to get three stars. Although I do like a challenge and replaying levels to improve my performance, a strategy guide would really make a difference, here.
Date published: 2021-08-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun until it wouldn't let me go further Section 3 level 7, all was going great, I'm enjoying the game (it's a good time killer) then BOOM. Actually, not boom. My little dude with the bombs just disappears. I have used him the entire level until I go through the locked gate and need to blow up the last rock guy, it allows me to click on him, but there's no bomb guy. His picture is no longer at the house, it's like he ran away from home. I can't finish the level because I have to repair the huts. At least Big Fish gave me a free code for another collector's game, but I'm bummed cause I wanted to finish this one. I tend to replay games over and over and now I can't with this one, it's taunting me cause I couldn't finish.
Date published: 2021-08-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but... I love ROR series and this one started out good. But the resources take way to long to generate and it takes too many resources to build or remove an obstacle which makes the game become boring and I loose interest. On at least one level I could not remove an obstacle even though I satisfied the requirements to do so. I closed out and came back later then it worked. I can't unlock the final bonus level that says it is for "experts only" and yet I have gotten all stars, "expert," for all levels except for one. They really are preventing me from playing the bonus level just becuase I missed getting one "expert" on one level for a game I am paying for! Other than that, it is a good game.
Date published: 2021-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too easy but I'll play anything Roads of Rome Roads of Rome, Adelanto and Northern Tales are my absolute favourite games of all time. I play at the hard or expert level and frankly, I still have 2 levels of Aztec 4 to finish. Where Aztec was a combined RoR & Adelanto, this combo of Northern Tales & RoR is not as successful in my opinion. The graphics and play aren't as detailed, it's more like a million other time mgmt games out there. RoR has crisp graphics and challenging play, and moreso in New Generation versions and Aztec 4. I usually start at normal level but with Portals, I started at Hard and handily finish every level in the green timer. I'm not THAT good a player - the game is far easier than the previous games in the series. The hidden objects are way too easy to find, too. Wish they would fix the issues with Mac version, too. I can't get games to work properly on my new iMac so I've been playing on my old iMac. However, Portals is too new and freezes on it because I can no longer upgrade my old Mac. All that said, I still love everything in the RoR line, and this one may be too easy but if I want more of a challenge, I can always try to finish Aztec 4!
Date published: 2021-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from RoR series was great but New Generation RoR isn't I loved Roads of Rome, good time management games that you could play on a variety of levels even if there was a lot of nonsense about a young woman called Valeria having the respect and power over men in the storyline ... someone doesn't know their Roman history very well, but historical accuracy wasn't the aim, they were still good. This is a pale imitation of what went before. It's an OK TM game, nothing fancy, nothing special, has some level of challenge so OK for a quick game. Game play is very buggy, it freezes. crashes or you just can't complete because the items sometimes don't destroy the monsters. The only way around it was to sign out and back in again to restart. The twee rainbow help for finding secrets is somewhat patronising. The buildings and stumps take an age to produce, some levels were well over 20 minutes long, most of the time is spent waiting to get resources. This makes it a lot less fun. The resources are much more oversized than they used to be and the trolls constantly popping up is tiresome. If you love this kind of game, that's great, some do, it's changed too much for me, I preferred it prior to the rainbow tweeness.
Date published: 2021-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Total Click Overload! After 3 levels my wrist was already hurting from all the continuous CLICKING required in this Game. Why couldn't the Game developers just make a swipe to collect the materials or better still, create a SLAVE House where the Slaves come and collects all the materials for you. Now that would have been a good addition to the game as the Roman Empire was built on Slave Labor. Unfortunately the way the game is now, with all the continual clicking every second, I will definitely NOT be replaying this.
Date published: 2021-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Roads of Rome: Portals Collector's Edition I love these games and this one is great! The only issue I see is that the games keeps freezing and unfreezing throughout all of the boards.
Date published: 2021-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lots of resource collecting!! Overall, this is a fun game that has alot going on in each level. However...the inability to upgrade to get more gold and bricks early on is frustrating and makes it hard to get stars. Some tasks require 100 gold and when you can only get 10 at a time from the mine and an occasional pile on a stump (which loads VERY slowly), it makes each level take 20-30 minutes to finish. It just seems like I spent most of my time running and collecting to finish a building, only to discover I needed even MORE gold or brick for the next one.
Date published: 2021-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Changed game play The game itself is fun with one exception This addition to the series seems to be on a track like all the other time management games. For me what made this series fun was the freedom to get extra supplies you needed without having to wait so long for the buildings to produce. I have played all the games in this series and have so enjoyed them all, I was disappointed when the game play changed. Hope the next one is back to how the rest are
Date published: 2021-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed for 1st time with Roads of Rome I was so excited that there was a new Roads of Rome instalment (although was really hoping for a new Britons!), but found this one to be lacking. I own every Roads of Rome game & regularly play them from the original through. For those who know the series, this game has much smaller screen areas (like playing on a zoomed in screen with no panning). And you don't actually do any road building! There's a few other things you don't do - very few bushes for food, and no option to cut trees for extra wood. It also seems the devs have taken a few shortcuts - one of the pre-game tips suggests using the cobbler quickly, but the cobbler isn't available in this game, nor any of the other 'upgrade' buildings like the hammer or pick. The hidden objects (as others have mentioned) aren't really hidden & there is a scroll on the screen to tell you what to look for. While I bought it, I don't love it and hope that the series will go back to its roots for any further chapters. One more thing - what on earth is going on with spaceships in Ancient Rome???
Date published: 2021-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overall good till lvl38 The game didn't disappoint till I got the lvl 36 and it just wouldn't count the last road repair to end the lvl. I tried 3 different times resetting the lvl to no avail. Just wouldn't count it and end the lvl. If they could fix that without me having to restart the whole game over would greatly appreciated.
Date published: 2021-07-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A disappointment I too have enjoyed the Roads of Rome series (have played them all), but found this one fell short of their normal high standards. The extra items (known as caches in previous versions) weren't as fun to find as before, nor as challenging. The game play seemed slower to me than previous versions too, and I didn't find the levels as much of a challenge. I'll probably buy this game, just because lately there seems to be so few offerings of really good time management games lately, but I wish this one was better.
Date published: 2021-07-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can't Get Past Level 27 I have always loved the Roads of Rome games and I was excited to see that a new game had come out. I was really enjoying the game until I got to level 27. There is a glitch in this level and I can't finish the level. I hope that it gets fixed asap!
Date published: 2021-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's ok I much prefer the previous style of game play for Roads of Rome. I enjoyed chopping down trees and collecting supplies that way and being able to go off the path. Also preferred the challenge of finding the hidden caches rather than being shown what to find. A bit disappointed personally, but if you like northern tales you'll like this one.
Date published: 2021-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lost its original beauty - just Smash and Dash now! The early games were exquisite - I have played them all - with beautiful expansive landscapes needing a high level of strategy and forward planning. The hidden objects were devilish to find and the developers clearly respected the intellect of the player and were proud of what they achieved. This edition, now with only a nod at any historical theming (portals!) has reverted to an above average classic Smash and Dash, as I call it, where you just race round each very similar level, gathering stuff at top speed with no obvious storyline or goal. Too few resources end up with lots of time on your hands to find the not very well hidden objects - made even less challenging by the fact they are all listed on the side. How the Mighty have Fallen on this once legendary game.
Date published: 2021-07-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So disappointing I love this series. Sadly, no more. No venturing off track to cut down trees, and it appears to have been designed deliberately to ensure you can never have enough, or anywhere near, the resources you need towards the end of each level, to complete the goals. So you sit and twiddle your thumbs and click, click and click. I seriously nearly lost the will to live, and, did eventually give up entirely towards the end. I appreciate the necessity of "upgrading" a game series to prevent boredom and repetition, but this has been done to the detriment of this particular game. It has now lost some of the little gems that made it great and entertaining. What a shame and so disappointing.
Date published: 2021-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Roads of Rome meets Northern Tales I was surprised at all the pick up and run items I thought I was having a senior moment and got my games mixed up. I actually looked back at old RoR games to make sure I was playing the right game. It reminds me of Northern Tale and they are ok they are just not RoR. I don't like having to run and pick up everything before you can get down to the real gameplay. I am a little sad I did not like the last RoR game it was too cartoony and I will only buy this because there are no real good TM games right now. I don't hate it but I don't know if I like right now or not.
Date published: 2021-07-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so fun as others Is it just me or are these levels ridiculously long??
Date published: 2021-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I couldn't finish the game. It was good until I got to level 3, episode 7 I think, and I couldn't get farther in the game. I liked the game, as was disappointed when I couldn't get further because a key character just disappeared. The demolition guy just disappears. Too bad. It was good until then. For that reason alone, I'm giving it a low rating.
Date published: 2021-08-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Level 38 MAJOR Glitch - Can't Continue I also hit the Level 38 Glitch where it kept saying Complete Last Piece of Road (when there weren't any more left)!! Given at least one other player hit this snag, it is a Glitch. If I can't finish playing a Collector's Edition, shame on the Developers and their Quality Control. Until this snag, I found the Game to be the same challenging Roads of Rome and I was enjoying it. I too had a few "pauses", but they didn't last long enough to interrupt game play. The Guide is worthless as far as I'm concerned because it doesn't allow you to fast forward, go back, or pause. Very, very disappointed. Will be contacting Customer Service for a refund UNLESS a Fix is issued already. The only problem with that is you have to start from scratch. I do enjoy replaying a game, but not under these circumstances. Cannot recommend this game when players are experiencing the above glitches and others that were mentioned. Such a shame!!
Date published: 2021-08-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can't finish was loving this game, until I hit level 40. I sent my workers to build the Triumphal Arch 3 times, it appears finished, yet the task remains on the list and the level never ends. To get so close to the finish line and not be allowed to cross it. -( If this issue get's fixed, I'd give it 5 stars and recommend it whole heartedly
Date published: 2021-07-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from If you hoped for Roman Adventures, you'll be disappointed Like others, I have been eagerly waiting for the next installment of Roman Adventures (after Britons 1 and 2). This isn't it -- it's a sequel to Roads of Rome New Generation 3, which I disliked. It's got all the useless cuteness of New Gen 3, and none of the challenge of Roman Adventures - Britons, which was truly one of the best time management games ever. After playing the demo, I knew I didn't want it -- I'll go back to replaying the original Roads of Rome series and keep waiting!
Date published: 2021-07-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What happened? Nope!!! The devs have taken a wonderful game, and turned it into boring. Graphics are good, but it takes forever to upgrade your resources, cashes with their cool difficulty to find are gone, bonus bar takes forever, cobbler doesn't exist anymore, and it feels like playing through molasses. New generation I and II were so much fun. Please, don't take a good thing and replace it just to make a change.
Date published: 2021-07-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Goodbye Roads of Rome I have played this game to the end and I, like others posting reviews have been a massive fan of the RtR series. Those days are gone as this current RtR game is nothing like the previous versions. In fact it is more like other TM game series I have tried but quickly lost interest. The previous RtR series gameplay, the visuals, the caches and everything in between was why I immediately bought them when they came out. If RtR stays with this format then I am done with anything new that releases in the RtR series. Others have pointed out what is wrong with this new version so I will not repeat their opinions but I do agree with them. A little change can be good but this RtR has A LOT of big changes and for me none of them are what I like in a TM game to hold my interest. Goodbye RtR and I hope you come back to your old self someday. I'll be waiting.
Date published: 2021-07-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from More Northern Tale than Roads of Rome Seemed more like a Northern Tale game than Roads of Rome. Very frustrating that there are so many obstacles that require two people. So a lot of the time is just spent sitting there waiting for two people to finish a job until you can build up the base camp. Finding the hidden objects seems a waste of time too. Maybe if they provided some kind of bonus I would care. I'll just keep playing the old Roads of Rome games instead.
Date published: 2021-07-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I'm right in the middle of playing the series for the first time, therefore happy to see this one, but there is no challenge at all. The screen moves at the sides which is annoying and the tasks are very easy. I wasn't very impressed by what I played.
Date published: 2021-07-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nope Periodic game freezes, less than challenging, story graphics are childlike, resources take too long to generate and too long to accumulate, buildings take too long to build, on and on. Might be good for kids, but I find it a big disappointment. A plea to Qumaron - update Adelantado to work with Catalina!
Date published: 2021-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A new Roads of Rome I jumped for joy when I saw a new Roads of Rome. I have been a great fan. I nearly bought it without playing it first. I am So very glad I didn't do that. I played the first two boards, saw it was simply a snatch and grab game now instead of working and clearing your way through the game like the previous ones. This had 'hidden' stuff that was so obvious a child could find them easily. And maybe that's what this game was created for? for 8 to 10 year olds? Not for adults who liked the old style. If you like this everything on the road that you just pick up type of game, go for it. But if you don't... then it won't be for you. I reply all their previous Roads of Rome games as I love them that much. I never tire of them.. But this. I won't even continue to to board 3 in free trial period.
Date published: 2021-08-01
  • y_2021, m_9, d_15, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_32711, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Roads of Rome: Portals Collector's Edition

A mysterious portal spells trouble for a lost squad of Roman soldiers!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.