Nevertales: The Abomination Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Nevertales: The Abomination Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(440.48 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Mad Head Games proudly presents another imaginative tale from their best-selling Nevertales series!

The frightening Abomination is devouring the World of the Four Realms. The Archmage Trevana has chosen you, a young adept, to travel through time and space to meet the mysterious Author himself and ask him for help. Gather ingredients and craft spells to fight against this all-consuming dark force and bring hope back to your world. You must speak, but will your Author listen? Find out in this emotional hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Defeat an evil witch in the bonus game!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs and puzzles and earn achievements.
  • Tons of collectibles and morphing objects to find!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, music, and concept art.
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 790 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nevertales: The Abomination Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(440.48 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Nevertales: The Abomination Collector's Edition is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game. Had fun with this one. Easy navigating, pretty graphics.
Date published: 2019-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Save the phantasy world This fairy tale game, good versus evil, is really well done. Beautiful colours and art work. Good Hop's and puzzles and plenty to collect on the way through. The story line applies to phantasy- and fairy tale lovers; a game for experienced players and beginners. The one thing I didn't like, are the cut scenes . They are well done and voice over is good, there are just to many for my taste. It slows the game done , the remedy for that just skip them . I played the trial and this game is worth playing and having.
Date published: 2019-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Let's create a spell for that... Hello friends! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story to others. Looks like this might be #7 in this series. Graphics are very well done, very clear, with no noticeable blurring at all. Excellent animation, with realistic eye and mouth movements. The body does sway a bit, but not much. Very nice true colors, bright, but not over powering. Game play was very good, no problems during the demo, and the scenes filled my large screen very well. Voices are well done, and are age and character appropriate, with emotion and urgency. Really liked the sinister voice of the "bad guy." Didn't notice much in the way of music, but we did have some. Sound FX were very quiet...the storm sounds could have been much heavier for effect. Map is boring, but useful for jumps to other areas. HOGs are a variation of highlighted words, find symbols, silhouettes and lists. Scenes are fairly clear and items are not difficult to find. We do have the addition of a morphing item in each HOG, for a little extra challenge. Some puzzles were a little challenging, but not really difficult, they just took more time to complete. Hint system is very helpful, but we did not have a transport feature during the demo. We do enough back tracking, where one would have been quite helpful and time saving. Collectibles were okay. We have a symbol that is a "flames" sitting on a star. These are large and pretty easy to see. We also have morphing items in the regular scenes as well. They morph fairly quickly, so be on the lookout for them. We have a spell book, to create spells to use as we progress through the game. We are on the hunt and travel through portals to different realms to find what we need to save our world. Not a new story, but interesting. Even though the game seemed to move a little slowly, it was easy to follow. Didn't seem to have as much action in this one, as in previous games in the series, but enough to keep us moving. This game is not all that challenging, but it does have its moments. The demo was quite short, so it wasn't easy to get a real feel for the game. What I played, I liked, and it was well done. I think this addition will appeal to all levels of players, and I feel this one is worth a 4.5. Yes, I am adding this one to my ever growing collection of CE games. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews. Play on!
Date published: 2019-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from THE ABOMINATION OF WRITER’S BLOCK REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 5 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 37 Pages OVERVIEW: Enter the literary world where the characters from a book series struggle to keep their world, Ballard, from being destroyed. Play Anea, an adept who has been given the responsibility to save this world. The Abomination is encroaching on all four (4) realms comprising this world. Once the last realm, Inspiria, is destroyed, the world of Ballard will cease to exist. You are off to visit the fifth realm, where the Author, the Creator of your world resides Only he can save it from this Abomination. However, due to personal problems within his own life, the Author has other plans for this world he created. Will you be able to save your world from the Grand Finale, the End of Realms? OPINION: I found this game better than the previous ones in the series. The story is ingenious. It is based on the conflict an author faces in discontinuing a series and the characters within that series. The graphics are colorful, and beautifully portray the four (4) realms which comprise the world of Ballard. The game is action-packed as you travel to a different realm with each new chapter of the game. There is a great deal of time spent in locating ingredients to create eight (8) spells which are used frequently within the game. This is a nice easy breezy game. Most of the puzzles are easy, although there are a few which are moderately difficult. MECHANICS: There are five (5) levels of play including a customized version. There are eleven (11) achievements. Collect thirty-two (32) morphing objects within the game and fifteen (15) morphing objects within the HOP scenes. You also collect twenty-nine (29) fiery comets. I found some of the collectibles difficult to locate. There are four (4) wallpapers along with concept art and music and video sequences. You can replay eighteen (18) HOP scenes. Play a jigsaw puzzle and the ultimate HOP scene after completing the game. All collectibles must be located to play the ultimate HOP scene. There is also a more difficult version of the pigeon puzzle from the bonus chapter offered for replay as well. GIMMICKY SPELLS. You receive a book in which to collect 8 spells as you play the game. You must collect and combine items to produce those spells. The spells are: (1) Levitate Objects, (2) Portals, (3) Talk to Animals, (4) Fire Resist, (5) Antidote, (6) Open Door, (7) Mermaid Shapeshift and (8) Muse Shards. The game devotes a great deal of time in creating and using these spells. I feel the spells are overused within the game. BONUS CHAPTER: It is a sequel. Play Jason Ballard, the son of the author. While your parents are on vacation, you are whisked away into one of your father’s books. Confront a witch who wishes to steal your essence, the essence of the creator. I found the bonus chapter somewhat short, and to me, not worth the price of the collector’s edition. The developer crammed ten (10) puzzles and four (4) HOP scenes into this short chapter. There are also two mini-HOP scenes as well. For most of the chapter, it seemed as if I were playing one puzzle after another. HOP SCENES: From what I could assess, there are twenty (20) HOP scenes along with several mini-HOP scenes. I am disappointed in the HOP scenes. Most of the scenes are straight lists of items lacking creativity. There are morphing objects to locate within most of the scenes with those straight lists of items. There are four (4) repetitive storybook scenes in which you must locate items and place them back into their proper location within the scene. There are a couple of matching scenes. There is one pattern scene within the bonus chapter. PUZZLES: There are only twenty-nine (29) within the entire game, with ten (10) of those from the bonus chapter. Most of the puzzles are easy. There are a few moderately difficult ones. There is a new puzzle within this game I found creatively designed. It requires switching rows and columns of two grids so that when combined, a new grid is created with every square containing a stud. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Escape puzzle. Sequence puzzle. Move through a series of traps (aimed to kill you) by copying the sequence in which four arrows light up within 3 scenes. B. Checkers puzzle. Jump over marbles on a triangular board until only one marble remains. C. Maze puzzle. With only the light from a lantern, traverse a maze until you reach the exit. D. Gear puzzle. A variation of a sliding tiles puzzle in which you must slide squares with gears on them, so the gears mesh together from one end to the other. BONUS CHAPTER: E. Connection puzzle. Begin with a hexagon-shaped tile in a honeycomb grid lighting up all cells of the grid without retracing steps. F. Matching puzzle. Rotate the parts on a raven to match a given one. G. Logic puzzle. Place pigeons on a grid so that the number of them in each row and column matches the number at the top and sides of each column and row. (You can replay a more difficult version of this puzzle after the game is completed).
Date published: 2019-02-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was ok If I am comparing other Nevertales then this isnt the best addition. It was ok but thats about it. Worth the Collectors Edition price? Meh...I dont think so. I got this half off but honestly I didnt play the Bonus game. I was over it at that point. It could be boring and confusing sometimes but thankfully the strategy guide helped out. They've come out with better ones. I didnt hate it but didnt love it.
Date published: 2019-03-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great storyline, boring and easy gameplay. Excellent storyline, even though it's not original to Madhead. The idea that an author creates a universe and affects its characters by his writing was, to my knowledge, first proposed by science fiction master Robert Heinlein in his novel "The Number of the Beast." As far as I played, the storyline engaged me. Unfortunately, the overly simplistic gameplay, frequent conversational and cutscene interruptions, and prevalence of intrusions like banners and other animations annoyed me to the point that I couldn't continue. I don't need a banner to tell me what I just did, whether I've collected an item for my inventory, learned a new spell, or accessed a new area. You're stating the obvious, which is a waste of my time and a blatant filler. Not to mention it destroys my immersion by reminding me that it's just a game. The constant hand-holding is also irritating. When you won't leave me alone to explore the world you've created, but repeatedly insist I interact with things in a particular order, it's clear that the game is utterly linear, which is poor game design. Let me decide what to do and when to do it. Exploration involved the usual laundry list: animal to bribe, dust to clear, missing parts to find, broken things to fix...all contrived. HO scenes were pro forma and quickly completed. Mini-games, for the most part, were variations on the jigsaw puzzle. I ran into multiple logical lacunae. There was an item on the roof of a gazebo, so I logically tried to use my levitation spell. Nope. I had to find an umbrella, which would never work IRL, not being long enough. My own strength failed to provide sufficient torque to open a lantern; I had to attach a statue to it, which I had no difficulty lifting and carrying. Makes no sense. My recommendation is that you try the demo for yourself rather than relying on reviews. Other than the storyline, I found this to be a typical cookie cutter game, to my great disappointment.
Date published: 2019-03-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing. I've lost my love of MadHead Games. Once upon a time they were the new kids on the block and their games were innovative and fresh, a beacon of light in a dark world of re-hashed, over-used storylines and game mechanics. Sadly they've now become just another developer whose creativity seems to have dried up. Yes the story is quite unique, although the main character being written by 'the author' and having her world destroyed by his words has been done elsewhere. Not in a game methinks; perhaps I've seen it in a sci-fi programme. Still, it's a clever plot mechanism nonetheless. Unfortunately the rest of the game is just standard HOPA, with the addition of having to create spells for various tasks like 'talking to animals'. Just another ploy to make the game seem longer, although I did love the dog and his voice was perfect! I deleted it after about 30 minutes. Tired of yet another hidden object search and running about finding things to open other things, I just found the game a chore to play. There was no enjoyment in it, no magic ingredient that makes you want to play on to find out what happens. I didn't care about the characters or their world, so why continue playing? MadHead have disappointed me; they've gone from gold medalists to just another one of the pack.
Date published: 2019-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sorry Mad Head, but this game is a big fat stinker! I'm a huge fan of Mad Head games 98% of their games are sensational. The first Nevertales game is one of the best games ever made, that being said this game is not even on the same level as that game! I purchased this game and I'm extremely sorry I did. I've tried playing this game over and over for at least 2 weeks and every time I do I leave the game angry and frustrated. I've now just finally decided to save myself any further aggravation and I deleted the game from my computer, half finished! I found the gameplay to be disjointed, with the goals being unclear and many of the areas you need to click on are in places you'd never ever expect. I was bored, frustrated and angry most of the time which is not how I want to feel when playing a game! I really, really disliked this game! I really miss the quality of the first couple of games in the series. No, sadly I do not recommend this game.
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sooooo Slow, diaglog drags it down Okay HOP games have reached a point of "been-there-done-that" level. Originally (WAY back) HOP games were JUST HOPs and little more. Along came developers that decided to add story lines, dialog and little extras like morphs, collectables and achievements to make things more interesting I really tried to stick it out with the demo but just couldn't do it, I finally admitted defeat and exited the game after 20 minutes and my next step is deleting it and adding it to my list of failed attempts. 90% of my complaint about new HOP games is the ridiculous dragging out with dialog, blinking eyes, cut scenes, flashing lights/lightning/mysterious mists, etc. just to add play time. (The other 10%??? whiney, screeching and repetitive dialog, sound effects, etc. and over the top dramatic dialog.) This game is a prime example of dragging on, and on, and on, and on with a combination of dialog, cut scenes and frankly taking way to long for items to be used. Players new to the genre my like it just fine, but those of us that have been playing HOP games for years will probably find it mind-numbing.
Date published: 2019-03-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bomb Well what can I say 20 minutes in to the game an I quit. I found the magic use not necessary. I don't see the reason for it it just messed up what maybe could have been a great game. The gimmick filler is what I thought it was. Mad Head sorry love your games but this one needs to go in the shredder. Just more of the same we have seen many times in other games.
Date published: 2019-03-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dark Story, Done Again Originally the Nevertales plots were about other worlds. Then they were about authors and the worlds they created. Now we get to watch an author destroy the worlds he created - not a spoiler, as the idea is the opening sequence of the game. This new Nevertales not only has no mystery to its plot, it also has nothing new either. The Author has written over the years about four worlds. Now they are all under attack and guess who's the attacker? You play as the Adept, called in by Trevana, leader of one of the worlds. You will try to stop all four worlds from being destroyed by the Author, their creator. Good stuff: There are the usual game elements along with morphing items and signs as well as a CE bling assortment. The artwork is well done, and everything else is not bad. Bad stuff: Perhaps we were all spoiled by MadHead Games early innovations and fresh approach. This game has the usual stuff and a hackneyed story, leaving me wanting more, much more. I look for a well-crafted story, decent game play, and fun in some aspect of the game. Once again, I've got another game that leaves me feeling as though I'm being dragged around and forced to keep forging ahead. I just don't care for another dark “save my world” story that offers nothing even remotely fresh and vibrant. I found tiles repeatedly, collected and used/lost various tools, and unlocked everything imaginable, including a picnic basket, using keys, lock picks, and amulets/shapes. I danced around the bad guy's study while he sat at his desk. I ran in and out of the rain. Believe me, I was relieved when the demo was over. Please don't take my word that this is another old game in a new bit of artwork. Try the demo for yourself. We all play for different reasons and this may be the game you want. Good luck!
Date published: 2019-03-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not my cup of tea This is just another game from a familiar developer. The scenery is lovely, but that's about it. The map is useless as it doesn't show available actions. The first puzzle made no sense and had almost no instructions. HO scenes are boring list-only searches. Story-line? Doesn't matter anymore as the game play is so terrible.
Date published: 2019-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nevertales-prime example of why I don't do HOP anymore This game was beautifully done, but the story is one of the reasons I no longer purchase this genre of games, they are dark and boring. Another reason I no longer purchase is that these started out being more HOP with fun stories, now they are no more the search fun of before but more into these difficult boring puzzles with dark uninteresting stories, and not why I once enjoyed these games. I took a chance that this one might be more of the older version, but it's not so I uninstalled after about 20 minutes. Not too many games on here for me anymore and I wonder why I stay a member after joining May 2009 and purchasing so many games it takes 82 PDF pages to print out my purchases
Date published: 2019-03-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TERRIBLE!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!!! REALLY TERRIBLE!!! VISUAL AND SOUND TERRIBLE!!! STORY TERRIBLE!!! GRAPHICS ALL OF IT TERRIBLE!!! I MEAN COME ON IT IS 2019 NOT 1989 FIGURE IT OUT PEOPLE!!!
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really stupid plot I'm barely into this game, but this has to be a joke. This is probably one of the stupidest games I have ever tried to play. A writers characters come to life and try to save the books from him. And the talking dog? A talking dog would be fine, but this one is ridiculous. This game HAD to be written by someones 10 year old kids. This game is on it's way to be uninstalled. I'm glad I used freebies to get it, because I'd be upset if I had of paid for this.
Date published: 2019-03-08
  • y_2019, m_5, d_24, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_29752, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nevertales: The Abomination Collector's Edition

The Abomination threatens to erase all worlds from existence!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.